User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 59
  2. Negative: 23 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing onCall of Duty Black Ops II's Revolution DLC offers the ordinary 4 Multiplayer Maps and a new Zombies Map, but this time, they are adding a new SMG gun "The Peacemaker" and a new Zombies co-op mode "Turned". The Multiplayer Maps: "Hydro", "Grind", "Mirage", and "Downhill", are all good, well designed maps but they don't add that special feeling that would make me want to vote on playing on that map again. The all new Zombies map "Die Rise" is a great addition to the Black Ops II Zombies series and an improvement over the original map "TranZit", plus the lava and denizens (goblin creatures from the fog) do not return which is a big relief. Die Rise features a new perk "Who's Who", and a new buildable Wonder Weapon "The Sliquifier" and a few other buildable items scattered across the map. Die Rise will take some time for players to get adjusted to it, but when they get a good sense about the map, and are playing with friends or at least good people online a Public Match, then you'll have the best experience, also WATCH YOUR STEP! The brand new weapon, that is a first for Call of Duty DLC, "The Peacekeeper" is a decent SMG that is easy to use, but a seems to be a bit overpowering, and it's pretty annoying when your in a game with everyone using the same weapon. "Turned" is a competitive co-operative mode that pits four players against each other on the Diner map of TranZit. While this sounds fun and all which is, I can't help but feel this game mode is very limited due to the fact it's only 1 human vs 3 zombies and the only playable map is the Diner, hopefully Treyarch will expand this game mode to bigger and better maps for the best experience. Black Ops II's Revolution offers the decent multiplayer maps that unfortunately don't give you that special feeling that makes you want to play it over and over again, a well done Zombies map that will take time to get adjusting to but a big improvement over TranZit, a nice but bit overpowered new SMG, and a fun but very limited new Zombies competitive co-operative mode. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    6
    The maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array and it's at a ski lodge this time. Grind was good the first few times, but now if you go into the Revolution lobby it's going to be selected almost every time. The map set in the temple is really easily dismissed. I enjoyed the environmental shift ofThe maps are a complete blow off, and really not all that interesting. The best one is probably Downhill, which is just a remake of Array and it's at a ski lodge this time. Grind was good the first few times, but now if you go into the Revolution lobby it's going to be selected almost every time. The map set in the temple is really easily dismissed. I enjoyed the environmental shift of the water in Hydro, but it's still pretty bland and renders the multiplayer still pointless. Die Rize is actually quite well done and is extremely interesting and has a lot of layers that are fun to play through and expose, along with several cool achievements. Overall Revolution is only worth the Zombies, so it should really only be worth about 5 bucks. I have the season pass and will be getting all further DLC's, but I would wait on reviews until you purchase the next DLC if you do not have the season pass. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    The revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive you to this pack, but the new map called "Die-rise" is a top seller for me. I'm a huge zombies fan and this map is amazing and makes me excited to see what else they're working on.

    On the multiplayer side you get a few new maps, the map that stands
    The revolution pack adds a new zombie mode where you play as a zombie and adds a new gun called the "PeaceKeeper", that alone should drive you to this pack, but the new map called "Die-rise" is a top seller for me. I'm a huge zombies fan and this map is amazing and makes me excited to see what else they're working on.

    On the multiplayer side you get a few new maps, the map that stands out to me is GRIND. Grind takes place in a skate/bmx park and has a hard to hold down middle section but the outskirts lead to plenty of kill and die opportunities.

    The peacekeeper I feel is a big over powered but in a game with weapons that hit hard and shoot fast it's easy to counter the peacekeeper.

    Pick up this map pack if you have not.
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    ew.....just.....ew. It's just one map that i like, and 1 that's ok and 2 that just stink, i love the peacekeeper, but it makes me so mad how everyone in a game pelts me with it and how half the maps just aren't that great, i just don't think it's amazing and i don't recommened it, but Die Rise on the other hand is a real treat, it's very fun and has some great content for the zombiesew.....just.....ew. It's just one map that i like, and 1 that's ok and 2 that just stink, i love the peacekeeper, but it makes me so mad how everyone in a game pelts me with it and how half the maps just aren't that great, i just don't think it's amazing and i don't recommened it, but Die Rise on the other hand is a real treat, it's very fun and has some great content for the zombies franchise, but don't buy it for multiplayer's sake, buy it for zombies, and screw all the campers out there, just cuz your over prestige 9 doesn't mean you can sit in a corner and pick off people who have no chance, douchebags.... Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    NOTE! I am not reviewing this DLC with my opinions on DLC considered I am only reviewing it on it's actual quality.
    Revolution gives us two good multiplayer maps with the rest being fairly average and an excellent return to form for Zombies. Also for the first time we get a new weapon (Which I recall they said they would never do) the Peacekeeper. It could be considered OP with the range
    NOTE! I am not reviewing this DLC with my opinions on DLC considered I am only reviewing it on it's actual quality.
    Revolution gives us two good multiplayer maps with the rest being fairly average and an excellent return to form for Zombies. Also for the first time we get a new weapon (Which I recall they said they would never do) the Peacekeeper. It could be considered OP with the range of an Assault Rifle but it has the range and recoil of a SMG so it kinda balances out. Also we get a shallow mode in which you can play as a Zombie (Another thing they said that they would never do) and have to hunt down a human and if you kill the human you become it, ultimately though it's nothing special.
    So yeah this DLC just gets a recommendation especially if you were a Zombies fan and were't satisfied by Tranzit (Transit).
    Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    Revolution is a solid DLC from Treyarch, offering 4 new fun maps to the game's multiplayer, the problem being none of these maps stand out to the money's worth, but that changes with the new zombies map "Die Rise," possibly the best map added to zombies since Verruckt, it adds exciting gameplay and a fantastic layout. The other feature added to zombies was "Turned," this is the worst ofRevolution is a solid DLC from Treyarch, offering 4 new fun maps to the game's multiplayer, the problem being none of these maps stand out to the money's worth, but that changes with the new zombies map "Die Rise," possibly the best map added to zombies since Verruckt, it adds exciting gameplay and a fantastic layout. The other feature added to zombies was "Turned," this is the worst of the pack's lot, with boring gameplay and tiresome goals, it's actually pretty terrible. Finally, the Peacekeeper SMG is a superb weapon that is sure to keep the little kids crying over their mics. This is money well spent if you are a fan of this year's Call of Duty. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 15, 2013
    75
    It's same old, same old. There's nothing truly special about the new Revolution maps, but nothing truly wrong with them either. Having never really enjoyed Call of Duty Zombies, the new zombies content leaves me cold. By pitting three zombies against a single survivor, the new Turned mode makes a complete mockery of a true zombie apocalypse. [Apr 2013]
  2. Games Master UK
    Mar 24, 2013
    86
    For great maps, and another epic Zombie campaign. [Apr 2013, p.79]
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Treyarch has done a great job with Revolution. It's the biggest package of content ever before in Call of Duty history and the overall quality is remarkably high. The only bit of the DLC that isn't that exciting, would be Turned. The multiplayer maps are well designed and Die Rise is a brilliant new zombies map, filled with Easter Eggs. Fans of the Call of Duty series shouldn't hesitate and buy this DLC instantly.