Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    90
    From the joke-ridden Studio and Magma, to the surprisingly refreshing Mob of the Dead, there's a lot of solid content on offer here in Uprising. In terms of raw layouts, pretty much every map on offer here delivers solid FPS action, and there wasn't one arena in particular that I outright disliked.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    86
    Uprising once again proves that the Call of Duty multiplayer game is very safe in Treyarch’s hands. There isn’t a dull map in there, and Zombie mode continues to improve and add to the experience. If there is something to moan about, it would have to be the cost of the DLC. Picking them all up can run you as much as the original game.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    85
    Treyarch continues building on it's DLC-train with Uprising. With four new Multiplayer map and a solid new Zombies map you can, again, have hours of fun. With Mob of the Dead, the developer let's see that it still has got a lot of exciting and original ideas for the franchise. Once again, Treyarch shows that it's the king of DLC-making.
  4. May 14, 2013
    85
    Serving up a healthy dose of multiplayer action, Call of Duty: Black Ops II - Uprising is a worthwhile purchase both as a stand-alone download (1200 MSP / $15 USD) or as part of the larger season pass. The standard maps are fun to play, while Mob of the Dead is engaging enough to pull in players of all stripes — even those who always ignored zombie mode in the past.
  5. 85
    Celebrity cameos by Ray Liotta, Michael Madsen, Chazz Palminteri, and Joe Pantoliano are fun perks, but what really stands out is how expansive and enthralling this hour-or-so mission is.
  6. 80
    A gimmicky but fun mix of fan service. [June 2013, p.103]
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Even though Activision hasn’t really changed much of their formula, Uprising succeeds at delivering a complete package that almost any multiplayer shooter fan can enjoy.
  8. 80
    The Uprising DLC is certainly not the most innovative piece of DLC we have seen from Activision, but it certainly follows a successful formula and manages to bring in enough new to the table to keep the CoD faithful happy until the next batch of new maps drop.
  9. May 30, 2013
    77
    The highlight of which is the excellent and star-studded Mob Of The Dead zombie map. [July 2013, p.75]
  10. Apr 26, 2013
    76
    Call of Duty fans will certainly get their play value out with this new DLC. An add-on more innovative than its predecessor.
  11. Apr 24, 2013
    75
    I definitely feel like Uprising is a piece of DLC that’s worth your money, if for no other reason than the Mob of the Dead mode.
  12. Apr 27, 2013
    73
    Don't get me wrong, Uprising offers a lot of hours of extra fun and gameplay, but at the same time there are so many things they could've done to make this DLC more refreshing. It's good, it's just not surprising in any way.
  13. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    The usual mix of the mundane, the inspired, and the not quite fully-formed, but at least two of the five maps are minor classics.
  14. Apr 17, 2013
    70
    "Clumsy stew" is a good description for Uprising in general. The multiplayer maps are decent but a little too interested in goofy novelty over core mechanics, and Zombies mode continues its slow and awkward evolution towards something interesting. Everything contained in this package has its moments, but in the long term I suspect players will gravitate back towards the maps that play to COD's inherent strengths, rather than its reputation for high-concept bombast.
  15. Apr 18, 2013
    69
    It’s hard to justify the maps in Uprising, because as a whole they lack several appealing aspects from the first DLC pack, Revolution. Mob of the Dead on the other hand, is going to be an essential add-on for zombie fans. There’s a moment of brilliance present here in Uprising, but it's fleeting.
  16. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    With Uprising Treyarch has tried to create something different from the usual Call of Duty's Map Pack, but the final result is not that good. Two out three new maps don't show the best level design around and one is a remake from the first Black Ops. 1200 MPs is too much for a single, very good, multiplayer map and for a great new zombie experience.
  17. Apr 17, 2013
    60
    It’s nice that the developers get to play around a little through these map packs and let off some steam, and as they stand, these maps and the Mob of the Dead mode are engaging deviations from the jingoism and machismo, but is it not also a shame that developers are reduced to using map packs to go a bit hog wild, rather than hedging their bets on something new?
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    6
    Uprising offers four new maps for multiplayer and the Alcatraz-themed zombies mode. I don't spend a lot of time playing zombies (even thoughUprising offers four new maps for multiplayer and the Alcatraz-themed zombies mode. I don't spend a lot of time playing zombies (even though it is quite the challenge and can be loads of fun), so I weight more of my score on the maps. None of the new maps are bad, which is nice, but I also don't feel like they are also amazing either. Studio is a rehash of the first Black Ops' Firing Range, and serves as one of the more memorably experiences this time around. New maps are welcomed, if for no other reason than to mix things up a bit more as the original set of maps aren't all that great to begin with. If you're pouring time into BO2's multiplayer, this is a good buy. If you've cycled the game out already and were just wondering if this would bring you back for another go-round, I'd say you're better off putting your money elsewhere. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    I love the DLC and would recommend it to anyone. The maps are fantastic and there are some great new elements they have added into game play.I love the DLC and would recommend it to anyone. The maps are fantastic and there are some great new elements they have added into game play. The only downside is the zombies which is awesome apart from having a long process to build the plane and get to the pack a punch. I also enjoy the new designs they put on the pack a punched guns Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    I really like this DLC. Studio is just like Firing Range from Black Ops 1, except more colorful and it was easily enjoyed. Vertigo is hard,I really like this DLC. Studio is just like Firing Range from Black Ops 1, except more colorful and it was easily enjoyed. Vertigo is hard, because you can easily fall off. Magma is also difficult due to the magma around the whole city, and if you step in it, you'll burn alive. Encore (I believe) is a very colorful map that is salon fun to shoot people in. Mob of the Dead is also fun! You play as one of 4 mobsters in Alcatraz, and the setting is very dark and eerie. You also are able to go into the afterlife to turn on power and inaccessible areas where the main character cannot go. This map is the best Zombies map on Black Ops 2, and will definitely be a map I play a lot! Full Review »