Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vengeance includes four new Multiplayer maps (Cove, Detour, Rush, Uplink), the new Zombies adventure "Buried," and a new bonus Zombies weapon, the Ray Gun Mark II.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    87
    With everyone’s attention being steered towards Call of Duty: Ghosts, it’s great to see that Treyarch still have their eye on the ball. Buried may have finally ‘buried’ my interest in the Zombie mode, but let’s not forget the real reason why people are still playing Black Ops 2 online; the amazing selection of maps, and Vengeance has just added four new killer ones to the mix.
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Vengeance offers one great map, two really good maps, one decent map and more Zombies stuff for the players who still understand what Zombies is about. That's enough to call it a win, but it'll be interesting to see if the formula holds once Ghosts is out.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    80
    Vengeance has become a really zombie centered DLC. With four new multiplayer maps, of which only two of them are really worth it, and an awesome new zombies map called Buried, you can have hours of fun shooting. The Ray Gun Mark II is the cherry on the pie, and summed up Vengeance is worth every penny.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    An awkward, inconsistent mish-mash of styles. [Oct 2013, p.71]
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    67
    If you’re still playing Black Ops 2, and let’s face it, you probably are, Vengeance is worth picking up for the multiplayer maps. If you’re primarily a fan of the Zombies mode I’d say you could save your points/money, but this is the strongest collection of multiplayer maps the game has seen since it launched.
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    60
    Another overpriced DLC for Black Ops II. The maps are well crafted (the "Wild West" themed "Buried" is a definite highlight here), but cannot justify the price tag.
  7. 50
    You've already played the best bit. [Sept 2013, p.102]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    I can´t understand negative critics about this exciting new DLC. There are 4 new maps and a new zombie adventure.
    Uplink Remake of the map
    Summit in Black Ops, which has really great graphics and make lots of fun to play (like in BO 1)
    Detour Interesting idea of making a map on a relatively thin bridge and many "secret" ways to get from one side to the other make this map perfect for team-based games
    Cove wonderful looking map on a little island on the sea where you can have many fun with snipers, but watch out for campers (only negative about this map)
    Rush best multiplayer-map in BO 2 because its´ size seems to be perfect for Call of duty and the way of playing on this map is unique (very strategic)
    Buried (Zombie): Wow... so many details, so many funny and creative ideas make this zombie map to the best of all. The idea of a western town under a desert seems to fit perfectly in this part of BO 2.
    These are five reasons to get the new DLC and DO NOT hear on the other critics of Call of duty haters.
    I am sure they played this only one time and did not see those details which make this Map Pack to something special.
    Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The user reviews are dipping lower and lower, because of practically nothing. Every time, I see at least a couple of reviews saying that Call of Duty is getting a lower level every time, when those people probably haven't even experienced much of it at all. How can you leave a rating on it when you've barely played it for only one or two days? Obviously, it is not much more than just blind hate, not appreciating the effort it takes to make a game like this. Critics are often much more fair on this topic, not blinded by all the minor errors in a massive shooter game, and a score of around 65-75 or so for them is sufficient. It is often more of the same, I agree, but it was good to begin with. I'm leaning towards an 8, which for me means a good but not great game. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    As you can tell, not many critics are enjoying this latest installment in the Black Ops 2 DLC collection, and I can see why sometimes, like the sub-par multiplayer maps, with the exception of Uplink but Buried could be one of the greatest zombies maps ever. Not because of the layout or the new items mind you, but the amount of Easter eggs and arriving to the beyond epic closing of the COD zombies story-line. And that alone is worth buying this DLC, but as the others, it is overpriced, and lacks replay value. But total it is good, but not great. Collapse
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty: Black Ops II's Vengeance DLC provides the usual four multiplayer maps and one Zombies map, with another bonus weapon, the new Ray Gun Mark II, for Zombies. The multiplayer maps were decent, with Rush being my favorite, but the maps didn't quite interest me as much as the previous DLC did. When the Uprising DLC provided the map Studio, which was a remake of the Firing Range stage from Black Ops, I thought that was a cool idea, but I did not want Treyarch to get in a habit of recycling old Black Ops maps and setting them out new DLC. They had done so again with the map Uplink, a remake of the Summit map without the snow and in a futuristic setting. If Treyarch are going to add Black Ops remade maps they should at least provide 4 original maps and then the additional level. Buried, the new Zombies map, is a fun new addition to the Zombies series. While still not as good as the older Black Ops/World at War maps, this map makes it less confusing/easier to understand, and the new Ray Gun weapon is fun to use. Overall, Black Ops II's Vengeance has two below average multiplayer maps, two good maps where one is recycled from the original Black Ops, and an entertaining, easier Zombies map featuring the new powerful Ray Gun weapon. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    5
    Whenever you watch the YouTube ads for these DLCs Treyarch has to offer, you really are only paying for what you see. What does that mean? Is it overpriced? Absolutley. The maps are fun, but now it becomes a burden, as the multiplayer fans are thinking "Who really cares?" The zombies mode offers a little more game than last time around, (and a big improvement on the "Turned" section of it), so zombies fans have a bit more to buy this for, also there will be no zombies in the average-looking "Call of Duty: Ghosts." Venegance is a lot of fun, but for multiplayer fans, it's the end of the road. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty has a lasting impression on a first person shooter fans. Aside from the faults the game has in general the map pack vengences falls short. Bringing back an original map from black ops one, uplink, a map that I loved. While it is an exact mock up of the original something about it just doesn't feel right, It could me. Next map cove, takes place on an island in which a plane has wrecked and seems like the island Tom banks spent 4 years on, Wilson is no where to be found but one of his rafts is left to questioned. The map in general is poorly put together. With so many paths and no cover it is a difficult map to defend a flag or hold a point. The one cool thing is the boat from hijacked can be seen off the coast. The next map rush is one of the finer points of the dlc. A quaint paintball arena, an arena that I think would be cool to play at in real life. Lots of cover, tight corners, with an inside area and outside. However I feel it's out of place, not sure if paint balling in the year 2025 is likely. I assume the future of speedball will be played with lasers that hurt... But not leathal. Then comes detour... This map had a lot of potential but fell short. The map is cluttered, an annoying amount of clutter.

    Zombies. Continuing the story of our travels the new zombie map is fun. Those looking for all the secrets should have a lot of time on their hands. Adding a new mobs and bosses to fight with a brand new type of ray gun.

    Over all, one decent map: rush, a remake of a map that didn't live up: uplink, cast away fail, and getting stuck in traffic. Zombies of course, for those fans.
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    3
    DO NOT BUY THIS DLC. The new zombies map, buried, is only okay and I will probably forget about it in a couple weeks. It's kind of confusing and doesn't feel like zombies at all. The multiplayer maps a terrible. Uplink is a lazy reskin of summit, and the other 3 maps are poorly designed. Rush is just shotgun sniper spawn trap, the highway map is just plain bad, and cove is a re-skin of part of crisis from black ops 1 with one side having an overpowered height advantage. the ray gun mark II is a bad gun unless you have double tap, and you rarely ever get to use it. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews