User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1307 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Ha, I find it totally hilarious how people say that the reviews are bribed because they aren't good at the game. They do bad, get angry, and then smash the industry for giving the game good reviews. That's what the angry do these days, write bad reviews (such as ebay, this website, amazon, RT). Well guess what, I would probably give this game a 9, but that would be biased as I HAVE NOT FINISHED THE GAME YET!!! And I bet most people who did put reviews haven't finished it either. The people saying the video game industry is corrupt are basically talking about themselves. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    AMAZING GAME. This is what modern warfare 2 wanted to be, a great game all around. The single player is nothing short of heart stopping, the multiplayer is at least 10 times better than mw2 and i still have no idea how you people dont like this game!
  3. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Bottom line, if you've 10th prestiged in MW2, chances are you love that game, and are not gonna like Black Ops. Black Ops is a perfect game. So much options in multiplayer, so many different game modes, so much to unlock. It plays awesomely. I keep hearing :"they've copied MW2." Isn't that what happened from MW1 to MW2? W/e. You can't please anyone. Change it, people get mad, keep it the same, people get mad. Hey everyone, spoiler here......it plays like a Call of Duty game should......nuff said. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Great and deep, well put together and unique, on the other hand it is more COD and not much is to different. So dont expect a new revelation as apposed to a build on a great pre exsisting franchise. The single player is a little hyper active, almost to the point of stressful. At one point I drove a motorcycle through a prison camp shooting people wiht a shot gun then hijacked a truck only to dive from said truck onto a moving train! Yeah a little much... But online definately worth the money. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This game is AMAZING. Graphics, Music, Gameplay, Voice Acting - all perfect. The multiplayer is as challenging and rewarding as ever, though it may seem a bit jarring considering certain changes (to perks for example). The story mode is a rush, with barely any break in the action. The constantly changing set pieces keep a fast pace while jumping between classic Vietnam to slightly more modern scenery. Its unfortunate that Call of Duty haters are too stubborn to pick up a copy of Black Ops and embrace it for what it is. 10/10 Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    10
    This is definitely a great game. i am espescially surprised at how well Treyarch did with the campaign. it was one og the funnest that i have played in years. and multiplayer as always, is amazing. i also like the new zombie mode.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    We all know what we're getting when we buy a COD game cos there's been one released every year in this gen of consoles so I came to this game expecting a lackluster story and an awesome multiplayer but what I got was an incredible story that is easily the best I've played in a COD game followed by a very flat and unexciting multiplayer that felt far to similar to previous instalments. All in all I think the whole call of duty expariance is starting to stagnate and as good as this game is a can't score it more than a seven it's not a bad game it just feels to much like I've played this game before. Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Call of Duty Black Ops has a rich and fun campaign. It is a step in the right direction from the prior COD series. Most of the low scores for this game result from multiplayer. The multiplayer is actually excellent and more difficult than the line up my kill streaks and nuke way. It is actually more frustrating for good COD players but better for novice and intermediate players since you will not get hammered with Pavelows and Tactical Nukes and Stopping Power Perks. Nazi Zombies is unbelievable and is very fun to play in multiplayer mode. Give this game a fair chance and you will love it! Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Black Ops is amazing! The campaign story is meh, but with zombie mode, and extremely great graphics, im surprised with these users! Go Black Ops!! :-)
  10. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    I don't understand why so many people are complaining about this game. The multilayer is more balanced than in any installment in call of duty. They got rid of stopping power, martyrdom, danger close, and juggernaut. For that reason alone this title is better than MW2.
  11. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    I can't put my controller down, the awesomeness got a hold of me. Single player and multiplayer is just the best i've seen of any fps nuff said; good job IF!!
  12. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Not sure what people are talking about. This game is amazing. Been a COD fan forever, and this game is by far the best Multiplayer experience I have had with the COD series. Buy it. You won't be dissappointed.
  13. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic addition to the Call of Duty Franchise, The Story is Excellent, Multi-player is addictive, and Zombies is awesome! BUT I must warn you, this game can be so frustrating. So if you have a short temper, or a good throwing arm, I'd be careful playing on a expensive TV...
  14. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best video game I have ever played. the campaign's story line is engaging and new. It feels like you are in a movie, which is a good thing. This is done while maintaining the action that we're all expecting from a Call of Duty game. Online game play has also improved. The new weapons, maps, and game modes are awesome. I highly recommend this game.
  15. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This review section shows what happens when a piece of entertainment gets popular. Whether it's Call of Duty, The Dark Knight, Avatar, or LOST, there are always haters. These people hate things that get popular and want their voices to be heard so that they can influence other people to hate it. They will come back and literally give an unhelpful vote to every review that doesn't agree with them. Whether this userscore is 0.0 or 10.0, this game will sell despite your opinion. I'm sure Treyarch is very concerned with Metacritic's user score. If this game was never hyped it's userscore would be much higher. As you can see, Cod 4 has a very high user score because it wasn't hyped much, but as time goes on more haters join. Another explanation is the inferior Battlefield fans, who always try to make it clear that everyone is missing out, except for Battlefield players. I also love all of the "These reviewers must get paid by Activision" statements. Yeah, maybe Activision is paying reviewers but do you know what is more likely? Maybe the Cod games are just good games, did you ever think of that? I would bet at least half of the Cod nation has never even looked at a review for these games. Cod games are known for their great graphics, sound, and gun mechanics. For these 3 alone a single score should never be under a 6.0. Um, I'm going to go play Black Ops now... Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Wow, Ngoing must have a cut down fetish, he's downed every version of Black Ops ps3/360/pc. I doubt he bought all three as he rated them each 0 and rated kane and lynch higher!!!! LMAO! This is a great buy and will definetly hold you until next years big hit. Sounds like some of the Medal of Honor crybabies didn't get what they wanted and are trying to bring down the COD franchise's ratings. Treyarch gives you more for this year and leaves you wanting more for the years to come. Thanks for thinking of the fans guys and keep on truckin'! Expand
  17. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    I detect battlefield fanboys in these reviews. a 0 without any reasoning to back it up? Disregard these reviews, I think it's best to go with the critics in these ones.

    Even the ones that do provide explanation don't seem to understand how a rating system works... mediocre=/=0
  18. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Haters are gonna hate. This game might not be the best call of duty game, but in my opinion it has so many things in it that keep me entertained that it's definetley worth the $60 price tag.
  19. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Call of duty black ops its one of my favourite games that I play nearly at all the time with my friends. The first time I played it my felling was this is the best game in the world and thereâ
  20. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Based on the multiplayer only, this game is a no-brainer for fans of FPS games. Why are you even reading this? You know it's good. And, I hate to say it, Infinity Ward fanboys, but Treyarch makes better maps. My only gripe is that the matchmaking system still suffers from the same problems as before. Why is it still so hard to get into a game when I play with more than three friends? Getting kicked back to the menu repeatedly is not what I'd call fun! Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    This is by far the best COD that has been released. The new COD points available is an excellent upgrade to the series
  22. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before the release.i thought Black ops could never top Modern Warfare 2.. boy was i wrong.
    Although campaign is a tad short.it has more diversity then Modern warfare 2 had and its just a little bit more appealing. although the lack of Campaign co-op is disapointing,the addition of zombie mode co-op makes up for it. but enough about that,lets talk about the multiplayer!,there are the old modes like capture the flag and such. but the new game modes in the wager modes is where its at. with games like sticks and stones,Gun game & one in the chamber among others,especially sticks and stones came across as one of the more fun modes,in sticks and stones you only have a crossbow with exploding tipped arrows,a hatchet and a ballistic knife to use in battle. and this can lead to various situations you can hardly get anywhere else. the game is just so much better then any of the predecessor already and then i havent talked about other things like Dead ops or theater mode. COD:Black ops has enough content to satisfy the shooter needs for awhile IMO.
    Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    By Far the best Call of Duty Game I've ever played. The Campaign is Excellent, The Multiplayer is Outstanding and any game that lets me play a JFK killing zombies is just freaking Epic ! And if its not enough you get lots of secrets giving you more solid extras for a $59.99. It might not be a MW2 but when it comes to to a SAW-scenes, Hours killing people around the world and dead politics killing for some reason Nazis dead people you can't ask for more. Expand
  24. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Simply put, Call of Duty: Black Ops is a thrilling and phenomenal ride. This may be the best of the franchise. The single player experience (like it's predecessor) is sharp, immersing, and thrilling. Each cut scene makes the prospect of taking a break near impossible. As for multiplayer, fans of the franchise will blown away. Prepare to spend hours of your life on the hunt. If you are a fan of gaming this is an experience you must have. I'm sure all of the fans that waited in hour long lines for the 12:01am release of this game on Nov. 9th played well into the early morning. A masterpiece that you must add to your collection!â Expand
  25. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This game is over hated! This has the best campaign over any other call of duty game even though it still is quite short. It is interesting ot see many historical people such as Fidel Castro and John F Kennedy. The voice acting is impressive Sam Worthington (Avatar) being the main character Alex Mason. However there are plenty of other game modes to keep you busy. Combat training is extremely addictive and it helps you get better at the game. The online multiplayer is very fun. The maps are nice but personally I prefer the maps on modern warfare 2. Zombie mode is alot of fun. Black ops has more modes than any of the games in the series which is why recomend you buy it. Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    From a guy who has played every Cod game from Modern Warfare to now (except Wii versions or classic) and this game had a lot of moments that really amazed me, it might no amaze veterans who stuck with it from begging to end, but it still has a satisfying story. The multiplayer feels a lot better with the currency system, but waiting for that one gun to unlock to bu it is still the same as waiting through levels to get the gun. The gameplay feels solid and good, the secret guns are awesome, and Zombie Mode is a excellent addition. All in all, this is a must buy for new Cod players, and one veterans should try out. Expand
  27. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Damn, this is a great game! Ok, let's get serious. MULTIPLAYER is the STAR here and raises the bar for all subsequent games. Not only are there loads of new features, but all the details are well thought out and the gameplay is SMOOTH and WELL-BALANCED. It is WAGER MATCH, however, that blows everything out of the water. INGENIOUSLY CRAFTED and BRILLIANTLY EXECUTED, the WAGER MATCH MODES are INCREDIBLE FUN and SERIOUSLY ADDICTIVE. The single player plot is intriguing and suspenseful and keeps you guessing until the last revelation. Altogether, Black Ops is an outstanding piece of work and NOT TO BE MISSED! In my opinion, this is the BEST CALL OF DUTY YET! Expand
  28. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    With a much improved campaign, expansive zombie mode and a deeply enriched multiplayer, Call of Duty: Black Ops not only delivers as an excellent addition to the series, but maybe the best among the other CoD games.
  29. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    While the single player campaign is as short as you would expect from a COD game, there is almost too much else on the disc that simply shadows it. For example, zombies have returned for some fun with friends but the MP experience as a whole is spot on with new and tweaked perks, kill streaks, and weapon selections. Removing One Man Army and Stopping Power were probably some of the smartest moves that Treyarch did for this release. The option to buy the upgrades you want allow the casual gamer to enjoy all that the game has to offer. With all the content, getting the game for $60 is the best bargain since The Orange Box. While it likely won't win the fans of Halo that have dedicated their lives to getting the perfect armor set-up in Reach, this will grab the attention of anyone who has the skill to play a game that polishes and nearly perfects the game play type that millions love. One can also expect some health DLC down the road since this title has so much attention. This one is a must for the library. Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. A short campaign which is never spectacular and never very clever, but always solid enough. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    By dint of obstinacy, Treyarch delivers probably its best with Black Ops Call of Duty to date - but probably not the best in the saga.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!