Call of Duty: Black Ops Xbox 360

Call of Duty: Black Ops Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    100
    Treyarch's game is exhilarating and beautifully orchestrated, but it feels like a full-stop, it needs to be a full-stop, because toward the end of the campaign, bombardment fatigue begins to set in.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine
    Dec 10, 2010
    95
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Although Call of Duty: Black Ops may have a lot familiar to fans of the series, Treyarch has pushed a lot of the right buttons and has made the best Call of Duty game to date.
  4. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  5. Dec 16, 2010
    87
    Black Ops is a solid addition to the Call of Duty franchise that really puts Treyarch on the map. You won't get anything original out of it, but if you liked what came before, then you will have a blast.
  6. Dec 10, 2010
    81
    Treyarch really brought their "A" game here with Call of Duty: Black Ops.
  7. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    There are games that deserve to be relegated to the bargain bin, or played when there's simply nothing else on the shelf. This is one of them. It's not broken, it's just bad.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    This is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated andThis is by far the most complete and deep gaming experience in history. The balance in the multi-player maps and weapons will be imitated and praised for years to come. This is the BEST game ever. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    I played the F out of this game. The only reason I quit playing was because Black Ops 2 came out. Honestly some the maps were better thenI played the F out of this game. The only reason I quit playing was because Black Ops 2 came out. Honestly some the maps were better then others but they did get creative with the maps. Ghost was probably overpowered in TDM, but that was fixed in Black Ops 2. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Call of Duty Black Ops has made the largest strides of created a new and improved Call of Duty experience, and succeeded with flying colors.Call of Duty Black Ops has made the largest strides of created a new and improved Call of Duty experience, and succeeded with flying colors. The gameplay finally is balanced, no more will you die via UMP across the map. All weapons are balanced, but automatic weapons have a sight advantage due to the more shots it takes to bring down and opponent, but the M16s are best for long range shooting anyways. Also, the fact that killstreaks do not stack anymore focuses more on the shooting nature of the game, as CoD4 did. This is a huge relief, and rises out of the killstreak heavy MW2 gameplay.

    The best addition is the way you buy weapons. They are unlocked regularly, but now you can buy the attachments, instead of playing countless games, slaving to get fmj for a weapon. This addition helps the game focus more on the gameplay. The addition of diving to prone is also a helpful addition to get a jump on the enemy.

    The addition of theater mode is a nice touch as well, giving players the halo treatment. Also, custom matches finally organize private no scope matches. Also, the ability to personalize weapons and emblems really gives the player a larger sense of creativity.

    Finally, with the addition of split screen online multiplayer, players can also entertain their friends with an online experience that was only provide before by halo. This is a feature that fans screamed for and someone FINALLY listened.

    The campaign in this game is much better than the previous games. The player is put into the middle of a grand mystery of the main characters mind. The government is trying to exract information that was wiped after your character went missing in action. The player goes through their characters past experiences and finds unique twists.

    The Zombies mode is slightly bumped down from WaW, with the addition of wierd crawling zombies that disorient the player. It seems Treyarch tried to complicate this mode more than it should have been. But the fact that players can control Presidents JFK and Nixon against Nazi Zombies is as humorous as it is fun. The downfalls of this game happen in the multiplayer maps and graphics department. The half the maps are fine, but some maps are too large for simple team deathmatches. Expect games to go on for the full length of time due to the large amounts of places players can hide. No one finds anyone for 30 seconds sometimes. Also, the graphics seem like a major step down from MW2. This game lost MW2's realism, but that does not mean that the game looks terrible to any extend. Just different.

    All in all, Call of Duty Balck Ops is the greatest of the series so far. The improvements shadow the minor glitches and out dated graphics. But the largeness of the maps, typical in Treyarch games, really bring down online gameplay. If you are looking for a strong predessor to the worlds top selling game, look no further than Black Ops.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    What did Treyarch do with all the Hardcore modes? Also, why do I have to wait until level 19 to play Hardcore? I know it's only 19 levels,What did Treyarch do with all the Hardcore modes? Also, why do I have to wait until level 19 to play Hardcore? I know it's only 19 levels, but playing on Hardcore on previous CoD installments has made me accustomed to that style of play. So I play 19 levels (screaming "!#$@ Core!" countless times) and unlock Hardcore just to find out there are only 3 modes: S&D, Team Deathmatch and FFA. WTF? Where's HQ? No Ricochet modes in Hardcore at all? I give it a 7 because it's great fun (like most CoD games) and the soundtrack is awesome (reminds me of Dynasty Warriors). I also like the purchasing of attachments so you don't have to sift through a pile of **** just to get the one you want. All in all it's a great game so far I just hope to God they add more Hardcore modes. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    This was the first mediocre CoD game introduced to the franchise for me. It barely changes a thing from MW2, and the game just looked and feltThis was the first mediocre CoD game introduced to the franchise for me. It barely changes a thing from MW2, and the game just looked and felt terrible. I grew to like the game a little more as I progressed, especially with the improved and interesting Zombies mode, but it was still just an average game with many flaws for me. The weapons were really lazily created by the developers, with a lot of 'clone' weapons of just copy/pasted statistics but with a different skin. Famas was also overpowered beyond proportion. The technical optimization on this game was also executed horribly. They did fix quite a few problems with previous games in the series though, so I'll give them a point for that. But then again, they've just spawned some entirely new problems of its own. Overall, a 'meh' game with a few extra selling points, but still nowhere up to the standard of previous instalments in the series. Disappointment. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    Audio sounds like MW2 playing out of speakers in a tub full of water.
    Graphics don't measure up to MW2.
    Campy remote control car and SR71.
    Audio sounds like MW2 playing out of speakers in a tub full of water.
    Graphics don't measure up to MW2.
    Campy remote control car and SR71.
    Gameplay is choppy/rigid/frustrating.
    Can't figure why all the critics say it's a 9 and all the gamers say it's a 6.5
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    I cannot believe many of these reviews for Black Ops. Treyarch must be paying you for putting up such B*&& S&^% for such a Lousy, yes LousyI cannot believe many of these reviews for Black Ops. Treyarch must be paying you for putting up such B*&& S&^% for such a Lousy, yes Lousy game. I was really looking forwards to this game coming out, what an unbelievable disappointment !! . I tried to like it but its so poorly made, so in the garbage it went. Modern Warfare 2 still tops this god awful piece of crap ten times over. If your a real first person shooter gamer, no more needs to be said. Save your money. â Expand

See all 518 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.