User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1823 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    2
    Another bland rehash of MW1. Multiplayer is an absolute mess: the netcoding is still atrocious, assault rifles are still more accurate than snipers, most shotguns are useless (unless you use full auto), riot shields are useless, the perk system is a clusterf***, and most weapons now kill in three hits regardless of where you get hit. Pistols are a bloody joke; despite being able to fire them as fast as an assault rifle, it takes 5-6 bullets to kill someone, despite the higher caliber round inside a pistol. Might as well not carry the damn things if you are handicapped for using a pistol. Players still have that crackhead level of speed, meaning that due to the horrendous latency, you'll get killed by someone storming a staircase before you can fire a round off. The hitboxes are also garbage: you'll hit someone 6 times with an assault rifle dead on and they'll still turn around and drop you in 2 rifle shots to the chest. The spawn system is absolute garbage, literally throwing you to the wolves as cannon fodder to the opposing team. Other times, an area you just checked and cleared will suddenly have an opponent warp in and kill you from behind. Killstreaks are pretty bland, and the devs managed to mess up iron sights of all things. The graphics are nice level wise, but the character models sometimes look like they were modeled on a gamecube. The single player is low quality drek and should be avoided. In fact, avoid this game all together. Rent it if you must but save yourself some agony and stress--don't buy this piece of crap. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    After 2 months of playing Ghosts, I really can't seem to find any reason for the franchise continuing on like this other than for the sake of easy money. CoD Ghosts' campaign is a super slow starter that does peak a bit to the point of being interesting and worth finishing, but the methods of which this franchise's storyline will be carried on were pathetically scripted and made for a cheap excuse to continue on. Honestly, why bother with over-theatrical endings with impossible outcomes when you could just end it here and start fresh like just about every other company? That leaves us with the multiplayer to rally what has become a bothersome and uninspiring series over the last couple iterations. Like Black Ops 2, the multiplayer of Ghosts copycats its predecessors heavily but strips out a lot of the best things about the glory days. Gone are cool killstreaks like the AC-130 gunship, nuke strike, predator missiles, and such. Instead, we have things like rockets that are near impossible to nab kills with and high-end killstreaks that are incredibly tough to acquire. The setup is hilariously bad at times and saps some of the arcadey fun that we used to have back in Modern Warfare 2 and 3. Also noteworthy is the poor spawning system that seems to be setup for much larger maps but instead gets squeezed into the maps at hand and ultimately screw you over as players will literally spawn behind you, leaving you unaware and defenseless at random. Also, the dedicated servers that were promised are still missing in action. Infinity Ward have gone on to comment that they're coming, but no date has been given and it's been confirmed that they aren't even available for most platforms. Xbox One owners should eventually have access to them through the support of Xbox Live, but it's entirely possible that by the time they're implemented, we will all have sold off this mediocre excuse for next-generation gameplay and be on to something more promising like TitanFall or Destiny. If you are buying an Xbox One, or any other next-gen console, for a better experience, this is not where you want to end up. Try Battlefield 4 if you must have a shooter now, or try something else completely. Or... wait until March 11, 2013 for TitanFall, which is made by the guys who designed and helped write the first Modern Warfare game and made CoD great. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Simply not good, unbalanced as usuall, nothing new, rehash, 12 players?....come on, even BO2 had more than that, IW is dead and jumped ship to Respawn to work on Titanfall, Titanfall is your next gen shooter, not COD Ghosts
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I'm sorry but this is yet another stale Call of Duty annual release. It's the same game released over and over each year. Tacked on single player campaign? Check. Same multi-player formula for YEARS? Check. Same old out-dated engine? Check.

    Seriously, this game is stale and boring. People will still buy it, and Activision will line re-viewer's pockets, but this game is nothing good
    AT ALL. I might play multi-player 5-10 days out of the month, but it is definitely not a GREAT GAME. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    Multiplayer Review Only:

    Positive: Ghosts appears to have the best connection of all the COD's, very little lag. The game runs smoothly.

    Negative: Maps are too large for 12 players resulting in slow paced and mind numbingly dull games. A couple of the maps look nice but the rest feel very rushed and lacking polish. Many of the games I have played don't even reach the score limit. The
    muddy textures and shadows often make camping enemies invisible. The color palette for me is cartoonish, moving the series in more of a Black Ops direction visually. The character models are generic. The lighting engine looks ancient, very little detail and reflections off of objects such as your guns. It's astonishing that the majority of COD gamers vote smaller and faster maps as their favorites (Crash, Dome, Nuketown, Backlot, Wetwork, Firing Range, Summit, Terminal, etc.) yet IW went in the complete opposite direction. There is very little air support this time around, so leave your rocket launcher at home. For hardcore gamers, there is no map when you hit start which makes navigation through these horribly huge maps very confusing at times. The guns are run of the mill and lack any guts in the sound department. Some grenade launchers, like the Thumper, prevent the player from aiming down the sites. COD needs to either allow or just scrap certain weapons and attachments, I am sick of each installment trying to dumb certain things down and add perks to counter. Just have some guts and stand by your decisions IW! There is very little in the game to write home about as MW2 and BOps2 played a lot better. It is painful being provided with so many cool futuristic gadgets and features in BOps2 only to have them taken away in Ghost. The whole experience feels gutted, generic, and lacks love and polish. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    I got this because all my friends were getting it even though its metacritic ratings have been steadily dropping year by year, but I regret it now because its crapper than last years CoD which was really crap. Another waste of money I could have spent on something else. Perhaps I should broaden my horizons a bit and play some different games rather than CoD all the time which actually... when I think about it is exactly the same as MW1 and even CoD1, just with a slightly different story and setting. OMG they've been selling me the same game for the past 10 years!!!! WTF?! i'm a complete sheep and dumb ass!!! What was I thinking? Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    Ghosts was a great game. It had good graphics, Kool new weapons and the characters are good. It just sucks how there was a cliffhanger at the end. The multiplayer is better than ever, with more things to do and good maps, and the extinction mode is fun.
  8. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    What a horrid game, sometimes I even think modern warfare 2 looks better and that game is really old. I don't understand why people buy this game anymore, it's dead.
  9. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    The game is very good. So good that, if it were on the Ipad it would get 125 across the board. The simmering simps that call themselves professional game reviewers will, of course, knock it down to the mediocre rung because we're dealing with children and their tempestuousness antics of knocking something not on it's merits rather than their prejudices. You just can't get honesty in writers anymore. They are pretty much the bottom of the barrel nowadays. Thanks for reading. Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games and the best shooter game this generation. Very action packed, great visuals on ultra, especially in 3D, interesting campaign (much better then BF4), the dog is real deal and very fun to watch, many memorable moments and great shooter mechanics. What else to say? Masterpiece. I highly recommend this game to anyone.
  11. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    Users write the worst things about this game, and its true. Multiplayer is the worst experience you can get out of 60 bucks. Spare your money!

    Cod MW should get better with each release, but its only a money making thing of the companies behind it., in fact its getting more with each release. I really hope there is another company with better ideas to make fun out of this genre.

    The
    "professional reviews" are great, but the user scores show the truth.... Expand
  12. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    I've been saying it since MW2. Same thing every year. Nothing innovative at all. Activision has figured out how to exploit addiction. Do yourself a favor and stay away from Activision and Bobby Kotick.
  13. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    Again after 7 years the problem continue to immerge in this blockbuster serie....the same again even after all this time. Single player is not the reason to buy the game, there is a reason maybe for replayability in the aliens mode but that ends here. The multiplayer is complete trash I don't even understand how they could go from epic MW1 gameplay to this... the only reason you will play call of duty ghost multiplayer is because you can't run Battlefield 4 on your pc or you don't know how to play it on console/pc. Treyarch and Infinity ward you need a new engine for the Call of Duty serie you are stealing people. Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    Didn't play the single player. I only bought this for the multiplayer. I wouldn't mind another COD iteration, but this one feels clunky and I just don't have any draw to it. After about an hour that was enough. In particular most of the maps play too large. Most of them are just a LOT of intersecting corridors with no line of sight beyond one or two rooms. As a result you spend way too much time roaming these corridors and kills just seem to be one player stumbling up behind another. Also, why are there no merc matches anymore? COD has never compensated for parties in their matchmaking algorithm, so for those of us who can't wrangle up a full squad you'll get dominated. Expand
  15. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    Luckily i rented call of duty ghosts, mainly because i knew it wasn't going to be up to standard due to the previous game (excluding call of duty 4, MW2). I can honestly say call of duty ghost may be one of, if not the worst game i have played on any game console. everything about it from the graphics to the actual game play is lazy and lacks any sense of creativity or imagination (especially the map creation) the maps are just a mess and seems to be recycled aspects thrown together and the graphics are a feeble attempt and are as bad as blackops 1 & 2 I have said the call of duty franchise is over since black ops one but call of duty ghosts puts the nail in the coffin. In conclusion Call Of Duty Ghosts is a huge abortion. Expand
  16. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Completely copypastes the ending of Modern Warfare 2 (and really, steals it frame by frame). Don't reward this company with your money. They're the joke of the industry.
  17. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    Laughably terrible. I find it funny how Infinity Ward started the franchise and now Treyarch is the top dog when it comes to the new COD games. Let Treyarch take over the Production of COD games. Infinity Ward is the laughing stock of the video game industry. Same game every year just with more BS in the multiplayer.
  18. Mar 12, 2014
    1
    What is hilarious is that you have these people giving this franchise low numbers, and yet they buy the games anyway hoping that the next will be better.... I will tell you right now that if a game only takes 1 year to come out, then chances are that the game will be very similar to the last, it's not rocket science.... I played this one at a friends place and it's no surprise that it's the same thing.... opps forgot they added a dog that you can play as for a couple missions, oh and those fish physics......that has never been done before right>?? You idiots complain every year but you are the first one to put money in the pockets of the one of the worst companies (Activision) Ohhhh Activision, I remember the days where you use to work for Atari back in the 70s and got sick of working for a sweat shop and were sick of bad business practices... Now Activision is a company that became the thing they once hated..... Greed.... You keep dising out the money like that, they will keep making the same stale POS game, and anyone who gives this game a positive review.......please try and play other games other than COD because if you give this game a good score it is evident that you do not play many games... I think the reason why people do like this game is because it's a casual shooter that everyone can play and takes no skill... 10 year olds play this game..... I'm not saying Battelfield is the holy grail of shooters either, Battlefield use to be good but now it is following a grim path aswell.....Now you guys can buy titanfall and have an orgasm for 2 months because it's just like cod but the bots are worse and its only multiplayer online..... CoD should be buried, this game is popular for no reason, it's the most generic shooter ever and has not brought anything but BS to the gaming industry since coD 4 Expand
  19. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    I am counting pixels in 2013...
    I am counting pixels in 2013...
    I am counting pixels in 2013...
    I am counting pixels in 2013...
    I am counting pixels in 2013...
  20. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Not saying this is a bad game. However, I am extremely pissed at the practice of coming out with the same game every year which effectively make my old COD and related purchased DLC content obsolete since all friends/other people would move onto the latest COD.

    Improvement? Yes, minor. Charging another $60 with god knows how many in DLC? Go to hell!
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Very similar to the last game, which is to be expected. The real surprise for me is how generous they are with multiplayer maps. 15 including the bonus one! Considering how much money they make on DLC map packs, I was expecting the suits at Activision to scale back the content in the initial release to milk this franchise like Gears of War did. Pleasantly surprised.
    If you like CoD, then
    you'll like this CoD. If you want CoD to completely change things up to freshen their formula, then you should just switch to another shooter. There are lots of great ones out there. Expand
  22. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    HONEST REVIEW: They finally made a game with bigger maps! Finally you can actually SNIPE instead of running and shooting with a sniper gun. They took out tactical insertion (BOOO!!) Some maps actually change due to Kem Strikes like BF4. Great guns that really PUNCH. They started a new line of guns called Marksman that's in between Sniper and assault. You don't gain XP on weapons but you gain Squad Points that serves as currency and added "Operations" in 5 categories that gives you mini-missions or things to do like 120 kills with no attachments or with Red Dot sight or fall without damage using Resilience Perk etc. Those give you big XP and a Point. It's a huge improvement over-all with new stuff added. Quite Honestly I cannot figure out why anyone would not be VERY HAPPY playing this game. Expand
  23. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This crap is utter garbage. Campaign's quality went down from Black Ops 2, multiplayer is the same as ever, graphics are the same, and the game feels cheesey. Just don't buy the game. It is a waste of money.
  24. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Utter crap. They release the same game every year, pay reviewers to give it a good rating and mass idiots buy it every time. This sucks balls. The worst thing is they pull the whole gaming industry to the same with them. Everyone wants to be more casual and accessible, even Battlefield has copied Cod, in all the bad ways.

    And, yes, I have played the game for several hours. Utter crap.
    Have to give special award to the Remote Controllable Dog! That is hilarious Expand
  25. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Keep hating kiddos. This game is the class of the FPS genre for this year. Hands down. If you're debating Ghosts vs BF4, it's a landslide for Call of Duty. No question.
  26. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    The campaign is boring and like 3 hours long.

    They ruined multiplayer by making search n destroy a respawn game mode. The whole point of search n destroy is one life per round that's what made it intense and different. The new game modes they added are garbage in place of good modes like demolition, headquarters and ground war.

    This franchise keeps changing in all the wrong places,
    and its no wonder fans are turning elsewhere. Expand
  27. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    As someone who isn't a fan of the Call of Duty franchise (most of the game's effort being put into the lame and repetitive multiplayer levels rather than the campaign itself), I began Call of Duty: Ghosts thinking it will be nothing but the same formula which many of fans and gamers alike are growing tired of, but I was a little surprised by this instalment and in my opinion is not as bad as what people may state it is. The first few sequences of the game are very well structured (the first space level mostly) and gorgeous scenery is presented throughout the game, albeit some unfinished textures here and there which I guess will be cleared up on the next-gen versions of the game. There has also been some nice editions and changes to the game such as the addition of Riley, an animal companion in some levels of the game, who is always a joy when appearing on screen. There is also a lack of the repetitive breaching scenes as well as improvement on the "knifing" skills in which rather than a lame little slice, it is now a violent stab hence improving this. The game also features a great soundtrack, which not many reviewers touch upon and in my opinion, I think it works well with the game. The game certainly does have some drawbacks such as the game's storyline and story-arch which isn't necessarily terrible, but it is rather derivative, cheesy and quite messy and never manages to be as interesting as the first Black Ops storyline, which matches the fact that hokey dialogue is present as well. Other drawbacks include it falling back into generic Call of Duty territory as it delves further into the game and it does certainly get a bit repetitive at times in true CoD fashion. Overall, I kind-of enjoyed Ghosts albeit its flaws and I certainly expect this review to get plenty of dislikes due to the reasons stated prior. An underrated game. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I can't for the everliving understand why people continue to act like call of duty is this new game every time it comes out. It still has a Playstation 2 level graphics engine, the game play is terrible beyond human comprehension, it has absolutely NOTHING going for it and yet people act like it's a been a 6 year anticipated release. It looks exactly the same as the game you bought last year it's literally like buying a new WWE game or NBA game NOTHING HAS CHANGED! It still looks like it did 4 years ago. not to mention from what I've seen looks like it has THE EXACT SAME STORY PLOT as it had since modern 2 "durr attack on the united states because we have encountered a terrorist hundreds of times and every single time he managed to outsmart us because we can't just shoot him on the spot so now he's destroying America" It's sincerely a ****ing heaping pile of steamy that gets bigger with every single brainless purchaser. I've no reason to purchase this game since I own all the others and I'll let you know why. Every 7 months down the road I have obtained these tier games from gamestop dumpsters or from my friends. All in which have been scratched up bad to make the game not work anymore and not able to be played. In which case, I rent the game from family video and install the working game on my harddrive. Child's play quite honestly. But as I was saying I don't need to purchase this game to give it a rating as I have seen it myself this game NEVER OFFERS that makes it a good game. Just new weapons and attachments THAT'S ALL YOU GET EVERY SINGLE TIME. It's ****ing BRAINLESS and the fact this tier video game series is still continuing is MIND BOGGLING. That's all I have to say you go and blow 60 dollars on what has quite honestly become the same as the WWE games. Expand
  29. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    It feels like I played this game 4 years ago. The netcode is broken, with folks rubberbanding and sliding around. The level design has taken a step backwards and the overall experience is..."lesser." I've played the campaign and I've played hours of the single player and I am done. Back it goes to Gamestop; I am moving on to Battlefield 4.
  30. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    campaign is not as good as black ops 2, but multiplayer is fresh and very different. big maps will take a lot to get used to and could be a flaw, but the guns feel very good and the hit detection has no problems. i'm skeptical about removing search and destroy or hardpoint, and i recommend playing kill confirmed if you want to rank up fast. it is flawed, but it's still a good installment. it reminds me of cod 4 a little bit which is a good thing. i liked black ops 2 more than most people, but i feel people who had complaints with that game will find this much better due to it's slower pace and low recoil gunplay. Expand
  31. Dec 2, 2013
    0
    A truly awful multiplayer game. Even IW came out and said cod players are not gamers! That their way of saying we're a lazy bunch of so and so's, who couldn't be arsed designing anything other than crud. Apart from a few maps, the level design is just awful. The guns sound like air guns and you dont even know if the have a silencer on them or not. The sound is the worst i even heard, and no options to change any of it. And last of all you get rewarded for having terrible aim. Just spray and pray cos accuracy doesn't even come into it. And i can never remember a cod game picking such terrible hosts, and then sticking with them for the entire match. All in all, i'm sick that i spent 60euro on the crap. I have never said that about a cod game before. I have been playing it since the beginning. COD4 and MW2 were the pinnacle. It's been downhill ever since. Only nazi zombies saved the Treyarch editions. You're nmo different to FIFA or TW golf at this stage. IW, you should be ashamed of yourselves! Expand
  32. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    It appalls me because I had such high expectations for this game to somehow manage to pull itself out of the bad rep this series has. But nope. It proved to be the complete opposite. If had the same mindset as the elementary schooler fan base that love this game, I'd be crying my eyes out. The game feels exactly the same as MW2 from 4 years ago. Copy/Paste. Copy/Paste. Talk about innovation since 4 years ago, huh? I know that I'd be making much more use of my time playing with actual garbage from my trash bin at home.than this excuse for a game. Besides this game being a 6 year old kid's wet dream, I just cannot comprehend why the average gamer still falls victim to this robbery. Activision should be put on trial for crimes against humanity. They just take the same dump every year, slap on a new title, and call it a game. And it still reeks since Black Ops 1. It's time to flush this same familiar turd down the toilet once and for all. Please keep playing this game if you're still in grade school so that real gamers can enjoy the true high-end games that are yet to be released. Expand
  33. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    Removed defining Call of Duty game modes (s&d, demolition, capture the flag, ground war, headquarters). 3 hour long campaign. Miniscule health in core. Party chat in search and destroy. Absolutely atrocious maps. Invasion mode fun for about 3 games. Every song in the game sounds like a refrigerator rolling down a mountain at different speeds. Every gun sound sounds like a man groaning edited at different pitches and speeds. Promised dedicated servers nonexistent. Second main character played by worst voice actor I've ever heard. First mission uses reskinned animation from mw2. Multiplayer graphics worse than mw2 (just look at pictures intensely hexagonal tires). Fun new innovative sliding and wall peeking!? Straight from medal of honor series. Explosions look like cartoon fart clouds.Worst purchase of 2013. Biggest money waster of 2013. Almost completely turned me off to video games. Never buying call of duty again. Expand
  34. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    Decent CoD game. Some old, some new, some welcomed. The campaign is the same old, same old. The best looking CoD to date... looks marvelous on PC and next-gen. The multiplayer is the classic, addictive CoD everyone knows with some tweaks to the loadout scheme and addition to Squads. But probably the most underrated and least talked about feature is the new Extinction Mode.--Think... Zombies, except with aliens. Very satisfying. Overall, the game is solid. But if you're bored with CoD, don't buy it. And don't downvote it if you haven't played it. Don't trust anyone who gives this game a "zero" or "ten," lol. Expand
  35. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Multiplayer feels like CoD 4 and MW2. Its not dominated by killstreaks, and you have to really have to earn new weapons. Unfortunately, in order to unlock new stuff you have to complete challenges that are ridiculous, and squad points take forever to earn. That said, extinction is great, and squads is an interesting concept that I hope they continue to develop.

    Single player campaign is
    the typical cinematic goofiness you'd expect, but at least it does have an interesting new background story.

    8/10 Good, but not great
    Expand
  36. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    bsolutely disappointing game. The campaign was a total joke that lasted half as long as the previous campaigns in the other call of duty games (I beat the game in 3 hours, really????) To make matters worse, the ending was horrible and was a "cliffhanger" that I expected the moment I started playing the game. Multiplayer is ridiculous, the maps are enormous and leaves the player running around searching for enemies instead of playing the game. And I thought Call of Duty could sink no lower... Expand
  37. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    Listen its not great but how anyone can think this is worse than last year's unplayable rubbish is beyond me. The spawning sucks but at least I'm not watching killcams of myself dying in a position I ran past 10 secs before. Its a stepping stone and I hope it gets updated in aid to fix some issues and reinstalling some old game types would be nice.
  38. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is so bad that I'm doing my first ever metacritic user review. The muliplayer severely lacks variety and its maps are very similar recycled components of earlier 'COD' games. The singleplayer is a scripted exercise in boredom and cliche.

    This is what 'widening' the game audience had led to, a CRAP game. Bring back COD4 type COD games, simple and with variety in places where
    it's needed Expand
  39. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    I was so excited to play this game after waiting months! I am deeply disappointed. There are several things that need to be improved.

    First, either the bullet damage, multipliers, or the health needs to be adjusted. When I watch the kill cam after dying it shows the guy pumping 4-5 bullets into me then I die. On my screen, however, i take about 1-2 shots then I'm down. Not sure
    what the reason for this is but it is a HUGE flaw.

    Second, spawn systems. I don't know what infinity ward does to the spawns but it's like they gave the 'spawning' division over to a group of disabled monkeys. Playing in a FFA match (although applicable to all game modes) I decided to stay put for about 15 seconds before running around to see if someone ran into my field of view. Well, I didn't have to take ONE step (not ONE STEP) before turning my head to my left, and seeing a player who had just been killed SPAWN WITHIN ARMS REACH of where I stood. This is a HUGE flaw.

    Thirdly, I thought I bought Call of Duty: Ghosts. Not some cheap wal-mart rip-off attempt at a franchise behemoth. It is FAR too different from the past CoDs that there have been. I mean, sure, I get it. Make it different, that's fine. But keep the staples in the game. The game modes, and kill/reward streaks that we've all come to love (or put up with). They've changed far too much for this to be called Call of Duty. The squad point system is a HUGE flaw. First off, getting so few squad points, and the finding out that you don't even have any default classes so you're stuck spending your precious squad points on attachments/perks/guns/kill streaks/equipment/lethals?! GOOD GRIEF! Instead of having a point system that basically says, "Just pick what you want to play with because you ain't getting it all" they should have just left it a simple unlock system...I digress.

    Why did so much have to change? Change is not good, at least not in this context. Why can't both companies brainstorm on what the BEST parts of the game are? Or better yet, ASK THE COMMUNITY!!!!!!! We're the ones paying your bills, the least you could do is build us a game that we want. (I know nothing is unanimous but majority rules here).

    To sum up. Shame on you Infinity Ward. You turned an annual tradition into a disappointment.

    I will wait for the patch to come out before playing this game and before giving two thoughts as to whether or not I'll buy it for my Xbox One on the 22nd. There will be a patch. It will fix these issues. Or they're going to lose a LOT of their supportive, loyal, fan base.

    If not, I'll buy BF4.
    Expand
  40. Nov 13, 2013
    3
    NOTE: This review is for the campaign ONLY. My LIVE subscription ran out.

    I did not like the campaign because it committed one very big crime. It wasn't that the story had the tone of a B Movie plot. It wasn't that it painted the US as being victimized (really!? The US makes a WMD and it's only bad if the Latinos use it? Come on!) and it wasn't even because the game uses the same old
    'follow the leader linear path' formula that COD always uses (surprise, surprise).

    No, its biggest, worst crime, is that it is BORING.

    Say what you will about the previous games, but they knew how to make a campaign. They had great pacing and great action. Always kept me interested. This campaign has NONE of that.

    For a start its storyline was REALLY bad. I mean, I was expecting a B-Grade Action Movie plot from Call of Duty, but this was terrible even by those standards. Firstly, I rarely had an idea of what was going, or even what anyone's motivations were. The Federation? Who were they why did they do what they do? I sure as hell didn't know! Secondly, is that I wasn't able to give two damns about ANYONE in the story. The Ghosts have the personality of robots, everyone had bored voice actors, and all this talk about them being of almost supernatural background comes off as really dull. Like a grandad trying to spook an adult with a kids story. As for Rorke, he comes off as being an unreasonable dick rather than as this badass Spec Ops version of Bane (You'll know which level I refer to). And thirdly, is that the story is disjointed. We jump from the Jungle to the arctic to Fricken SPACE with little to no explanation. For all the talk about the US being on the defensive, you're never given that impression from the amount of hardware the army always fields. While invading Chile.

    The sound design is also just plain terrible. There's hardly ANY music ANYWHERE. I only realize it now, but the lack of music really drains any drama out of the scene. It's incredibly dull as a result (the helicopter level is a good example of this).

    But surely the gameplay, while still unchanged, still makes it a fun experience? Wrong. It's just plain dull. There's no intensity, no hooks, no drama. You're given all these cool toys, but they only last as a one mission gimmick. There's two vehicle levels, but they're poorly designed. And to make matters worse, all of the cool stuff introduced in Black Ops 2, like branching storylines, the ability to pick loadouts and the more interesting level design is gone, with nothing new to replace them with.

    And finally, even the big set piece moments suffer. I'll admit that there were two, maybe three levels that were pretty cool (including a mountain base raid involving disguises and a level with an arctic oil platform) but everything else is, well... ordinary. There's the level where you command drones, there's the level where you shoot from the back of a moving car, there's the one in which you push back an enemy army. It's all stuff we've done before, with little in the way to revive it.

    Overall, I hate Call of Duty Ghosts not because it's the same old crap. I hate Call of Duty Ghosts because it is WORSE than the same old crap. It feels like a massive step backwards, a sign that Infinity Ward is bankrupt of ideas, and is now rehashing old crap in an effort to make a yearly release for the franchise (seriously, they ripped off a scene from the Dark Knight Rises. And although the series has always taken scenes from old action movies, to take a scene from something released so recently feels different). The Call of Duty series may have always had the same tired formula, but it has always had the same solid level of quality propping that up. Now even that is gone.
    Expand
  41. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    My review is based solely on the multiplayer aspect of the game. I did not buy the game for the campaign. This is by far the worst in the series. Game has been getting progressively worse since the first black ops game. The dedicated servers they added do nothing to combat the over blown lag compensation the game has that severely punishes those with good connections and low ping. Having a low ping puts you about a half second behind all players in the game. You also die in this game with absolutely no time to react which I credit 100% to the messed up lag compensation.
    I went into the call of duty community forums to discuss my displeasure with the game and within minutes my post was taken down by a moderator. The forums are being flushed of negative comments to help sell a few extra games which is completely disgusting to me.
    The textures, skins and graphics in the game are recycled from past COD games. It seems like a very lazy made game with tons of copy and paste stuff from previous COD games. This game will quite possibly go down in history as one of the worst games ever made.
    Expand
  42. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    Disapointment, game needs some fresh ideas. Not worth the purchase. The multiplayer maps are a let down, not as good as previous CODs. The weapons layout and perk system follows a guideline from the previous games but a lot weaker in regards to weapons selections.
  43. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The game is a big improvement it has a interesting campaign,but a even better multiplayer with great game modes which are enjoyable,the graphics on xbox360 are decent for the console but will be better on the xboxone so cant wait to upgrade,the 10 is to even out the scores as people are trying to put people off with low scores as these are the ones who dont have the game and never played and leaving unfair reviews. Expand
  44. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. No CoD since CoD4, mw2 and mw3 campaign was ok, black ops was amazing, black ops 2 was good, and omfg this one sucks balls. Expand
  45. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Campaign is fine... same formula as the rest. Multiplayer, for me, is just unplayable. The lag is awful and you will constantly spawn in the middle of action or right in front of someone. There is virtually NO indication you are getting shot at... I figure maybe this is lag? You get hit and your dead... but then replay shows enemy hitting u up the usual 3-4 times. Maps are way big and cluttered with no flow... only MAYBE 3 decent ones. Unless you are a camper or sniper, the MP is terrible. I've also gotten horrible headaches every time I play. Expand
  46. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This game is an absolute joke and a total rip off. Call of Duty has been the same exact game ever since Call of Duty 4 with an exception of World at War, welcome to Call of Duty 4.5. The game has used for the graphics engine for years now. The multiplayer has been dry and stale ever since black ops 1. Don`t even get me started on the 3 hour long campaign, its even worse than previous games. Call of Duty Ghosts should have just been a map pack for $20 and not a completely new release with a $60 price tag. Expand
  47. Nov 15, 2013
    1
    At what point do you tell yourself, no more? Call of Duty Ghosts promises to revitalise the ailing franchise, but instead of injecting new blood into it, it exposes itself as the worst Call of Duty title yet. It never reaches the highs of Black Ops 1 and repeats the mistake of Modern Warfare 2 and 3. In fact, it even borrows animation from the latter.

    My final verdict? Dire! Stay away
    at all cost. Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    5
    For being AAA series quality is sub par. Sound is bad, the U/I is very rough and the game is a bore to play. This is unacceptable for COD. I'm not hating because it's COD, I'm hating cause it's poorly thrown together. It's all the little things that add up to make this game bad. We all thought MW 3 was bad...that game is leaps and bounds over ghost.
  49. sud
    Nov 14, 2013
    0
    just another rip off from activision, halfhearted story and feeble multiplayer, this company is so out of touch with the gaming community.PROFIT OVER PRODUCT@ activision
  50. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The same game rehashed year after year with bringing nothing new to the table. Gamers deserve better and with lazy developers unwilling to push their own boundary's of the game you will continue to see the same crap year after year.
  51. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I thought COD Black Ops 2 was a very enjoyable game. COD "Ghosts" is reprehensibly bad! I really wish I could get my money back. The characters are flat, the campaign dull, and the graphics simply unremarkable. Nothing special about this at all. If you are really bored and have no other game to play, then this game might serve as a temporary distraction until you can get your hands on an actually good game! Do not waste your hard-earned money on this sack of scheisse. Expand
  52. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Same S*** Different Day. If you played one Call of Duty, you've played them all. Nothing innovative or different about Ghosts, don't waste your time. Or money.
  53. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    People are idiots here, most people have 1-2 reviews and give this a 1 or lower. You've never seen a 0 game if you say this is 0. It's a pretty fun game with average graphics and little innovation.
  54. Nov 17, 2013
    5
    Look, I've bashed the last few Call of Duty games without mercy, but personally felt like BO2 provided glimmers of hope for the franchise as it had just enough ideas to elevate above all other recent offerings. But here comes Infinity Ward to wash all that away in a tide of garbage. Totally linear, same multiplayer, mediocre graphics. At this point, you get what you pay for people who buy this know what they're buying. So if you want to then by all means do so, but if you found previous incarnations lacking, particularly since mw3, then steer clear, and wait to see if Treyarch continues to push the series forward next year.

    This is why I give it a 5; at this point the people who play this game enjoy it and those who don't will absolutely hate it. A mix between a n 8 and a 0 is a 4.
    Expand
  55. Dec 11, 2013
    0
    Yeah, so, uh, there's some crap in here about astronauts and guns and space battles and satellites but it's supposed to be cool and modern and edgy. What the f*ck is this?
  56. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    the statement "it doesn't reinvent the wheel" is really putting it much too mildly for this new installment in the COD franchise as it is exactly what you would expect the same game, same formula, same mechanics as all previous entries but with new maps (none that stand out btw) and a polished engine. Yet another cash-grab that everyone just can't seem to stop falling for. Luckily I played at my friend's house and didn't spend anything but my time on this game. THIS IS THE SAME GAME we've been playing for years now. Get a clue people. GTA 5 nailed it with their in-game advertisement of Righteous Slaughter 6 lol that is exactly what this franchise has devolved to. Expand
  57. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    Another year, another COD. I buy it every year and have loads of fun but this year, it's all gone to pot. I love the MP but whoever designed these maps needs taking outside the IW offices so all the other members of staff can throw stickies at them. They are too big and too cluttered, I've gone through a whole TDM match and have seen 5 people! The best map on it is Stonehaven and that seems to have been stolen from Halo!
    This could be the last IW version of COD I buy, those maps have ruined it. This could even be the last COD in this format we see for a bit. The next gen with games like Titanfall and even BF4 make this look as old as the concept is. I wanted it to be the game that carries me through the winter, but it's just not the same anymore. Avoid this and spend your hard earned cash on something more worthy. Hell even BF4 is a better option and I've never got into Battlefield games.
    Expand
  58. Dec 21, 2013
    2
    This only for the single player. I gave up on multiplayer back when they decided knife trumps all. Is not a complete loss but only rent. Game looks great. A.I. is absolutely terrible. Occasionally kills you for strange events ("Avoid getting hit by car" is my favorite.) they paid for a big Hollywood screenwriting to make the story; they deserve a refund. Parts are lifted from different movies that did it better. I don't expect much from a cod story, but please don't let every line be cheesy as possible. And don't let the villain devolve into Friday the 13th style schlock. We know you're planning to sell dlc centered around it, you're not being clever. Dog is cool but under utilized and is used as an obvious pull-the-heart-strings. I've was around a military dog once and have talked with guys how've worked with them; they are not friendly creatures like the one in this game is.

    I think I would've given this a higher score if it was a midway decent game by a new company. Instead of a midway decent game from the leftovers of infinity ward. Don't pretend you're the same company as before in an effort to sell games and then claim it was a decent first effort at the same time. From what I saw, 10% was brilliant and the rest was either tired or substandard. I think the ten percent was from work done by infinity ward before they dissolved.

    Kudos for getting a game out under such difficult circumstances. Hopefully next year's will be better.
    Expand
  59. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This series needs to end,i mean come on,reviews for the game have contuined to go downhill with each installment.Battlefield is the new king of hill. Just look at all the negative review's and you can tell that.
  60. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Surprisingly this is one CoD game I feel doesn't deserve the amount of hatred it is getting. While it is the old tried and true method of CoD which has been seen in the past this time around they tweaked the game and made it better. No longer do the maps follow the same 3 lanes of passage formula of past games and they have even increased the size of the maps, net code and hit detection have been tweaked and made better, no longer are you darting around a corner to suddenly die behind cover. Any gripes I had about previous titles has been fixed. However with the next generation of consoles release here next week and another a week after that CoD has to do alot more than update their graphics to continue to compete with the power house that is Battlefield, a look at the reviews are all you need to see to know reviewers are no longer satisfied with the same formula and scoring below an 8 or 9 will be common if nothing changes. Expand
  61. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    As many of us know, the Call of Duty series has gone on a solid decline since MW2. All educated gamers know that Call of Duty has used the "copy and paste" formula since 2008. The games have slowly gotten old, repetitive, and in general, extremely boring. While I liked MW2 and did not completely hate BO2, MW3 and BO were terrible games. Now we have Call of Duty: Ghosts. This is the first time that I did not buy a Call of Duty game; instead I decided to rent Ghosts and see how it was. After playing Ghosts for a couple of hours, I can officially state that Call of Duty: Ghosts is not only the worst Call of Duty game in the franchise's history, but the worst FPS I have ever played. This game's visuals are atrocious in motion, there are extremely rough textures as well, and the gameplay is horrible. The hit/miss marker is horrific, just like BO2 and the maps are poor as well. The story mode, unlike the previous CoD games developed by Infinity Ward, is terrible. The story is extremely short and I lost interest 30 minutes into it. Do NOT buy this undeveloped atrocity of a game, even when it goes on sale in about a year! Expand
  62. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The same bad game with no innovation. This old dog hasn't learned any new tricks. Spend u r valuable money and time elsewhere unless u r 10 then please play this game so I don't find u in other games
  63. Feb 20, 2014
    0
    it is garbage. played it on and off for first two weeks.. i couldn't stand playing longer than 1 match usually before i'd turn my xbox off. even winning wasn't satisfying. it just wasn't a fun game to play. It's just more of the same. I haven't played it since the launch. this is the absolute worst. squad mode is a joke. ai is horrible. using the same builds i use to mop the floor with the enemy on my squad members produces poor results. characters i customized tend to play worse than if I had not unlocked them and tweaked them to begin with. the game doesn't make u feel like your hard work pays off in the end.. it just pushes you to waste more of your free time. blizzard activision is really going down the toilet.. wow expansion fails, starcraft 2 fail, diablo 3 fail, and now this. i can't trust anything they do anymore. Expand
  64. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    Call of Duty has been one of my favourites for a long time, maybe thats the problem. I am so bored with having such linear campaign games, just feels like you never have the chance to change direction of events. Why after all these years csnt we have AI which works, its just the same old, with each one just feeling like a map pack. I wont bother again and that pakns me, maybe I should have learned my lesson before. Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Not the best game of the franchise but not a bad game at all, you can clearly sense that this game was made for the Next Gen due to some lack of online features, The single player campaign is not the most original and the voice actors make it feel like low class movie.
  66. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This isn't your first game Activision, the lag online is terrible, you never learn. Nothing new brought to the table, generic campaign, terrible online gaming experience,
  67. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 Dogs and Fishes mod This. Congratulations, Infinity Ward. You successfully released another craptacular game, fooled kids, subordinated the gaming media, and made yourself even richer. Well done!
  68. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    I see the usual spam reviews from people who don't even play CoD but just come here to hate on it are in full force for this CoD just like all the rest.

    Overall not the best CoD ever but close. The campaign is easily the best one yet although as has been the case with the past 3 or 4 CoD games the campaign on veteran just keeps getting less and less difficult. Extinction mode is
    alright. It's doesn't hold a candle to zombies but still it's enjoyable although far to easy once you level up and unlock things like the sentry gun. As for the multiplayer let's face it it's the same as always. That being said when you've perfected easily the best multiplayer experience ever made there really is no reason to change it. Expand
  69. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    It receives so much hate (and deservedly so) and yet still makes $1 Billion on it first day. Another mediocre game and another billion dollars, this has gone on for far too long.
  70. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    Another year, another Call of Duty title. The campaign's good as any, really, but the real deciding factor is multiplayer. Just like other CoD titles, you play different game modes, get XP and unlock weapons, camos, etc. Squads Mode offers offline players a chance to experience online play while unlocking new weapons and gear for their characters (which can also be used online). Customizing your characters' appearance and gender is finally an option, though it's not nearly as deep as, say, Halo 4. Extinciton's an interesting addition, tasking you and up to 3 other players to destroy alien hives while fighting off waves of aliens. Despite all of this, it's the exact same game engine we've been playing for nearly a decade, just with prettier graphics (especially if you're playing it on Xbox One or PS4). At the end of the day, this Call of Duty game is just like any other Call of Duty game: there are going to be people who like it, and there are going to be people who hate it. And from the looks of things, I don't expect that to change anytime soon. That said, it's still a decent game. Just don't expect it to re-invent the wheel. Expand
  71. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Its like a pirated DVD of a game it looks rough plays like a games from 2004 and is just bad this is not a new engine total BS lazy cash in yet again some good ideas but the choppy story and ugly graphics and 1980s story line.
    This will be traded in for BF4 i gave COD one more chance they are ripping the piss now.
  72. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Good game as usual keeps us entertained:) ignore all the Cod haters. The core elements of the game are greatly improved .The game is more realistic Sound is great guns look good Game has way more depth then previous versions aswell. So I support the game fully and will playing till I get my ps4 on current gen which then I will buy on ps4
  73. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IW's first bad game. I normally look forward to the IW release every other year over treyarch, and I thought after the fairly disappointing MW3 launch in 2011, that they'll step it up again in 2013. Well, I was wrong. They took a step back this time. 3 steps back to be exact. They focused way too much and the tiny details rather than focusing on the main idea. It was rather boring to be honest. The campaign seemed to just drag on and on. One of the worst things about the campaign was that it felt more like some copy and paste things (just retextured and more dog in it) from the MW series, but get this, it felt like a goddamn WW2 game during some parts. I mean WTF? This game is set during 2023 (I think). Not only that, I'm pretty sure they got somebody from a previous WW2 COD game to voice Rorke, I mean he even sounds exacly like the Sgt. from COD 2:Big Red One, except louder. And the trenches too. Yep, there's trenches, I was thinking that they retextured that from a scrapped WW1 or WW2 game a while back, I mean it feels like the Trenches in COD 2:BRO. And another thing too... physics doesn't seem to apply much in it, as you can shoot guns in space, and as far as I'm aware of, oxygen doesn't exist in the vacuum of space, so how do they fire? In the underwater level, the sharks are way too aggressive, actually I don't even think IW knows about sharks. For example, sharks in real life are way more scared of us then we are of them. Should you shoot 1 shark once, instead of swimming away, every shark in the whole goddamn ocean decides to swim faster than a bullet at you and attacks you. How does that work??? And even if you shoot it, if it comes within 15 feet of you, every move you do will freeze, and the shark commando lunges (MW2 reference if you don't get it) you, and you can't even defend yourself. And even if you kill one, another pops out of nowhere and does the same thing. Another thing too is that Riley, the dog/STAR of the game is soooo annoying. It's Riley this, use your dog for a really long part of the mission that if you fail you have to start at the beginning of that part again, or just plain carrying the poor thing. It's just annoying. Then back to Rorke. So IW, what if you're shot by a .44 Magnum round in the heart? Shouldn't you die? Yes of course you should, escpically when you're 10 feet away from the gun too. Yeah, so you shoot Rorke at the end underwater with that gun, and yet he magically lives. And what's better is that there's no way he could have come up from 50 feet with a bullet wound underwater and live.So basically if you wanted there to be a Ghosts 2 or whatever (Oh god please no), you could've done something more believable at the end. Moving to Extinction mode. It's short and sweet. It's very boring. For MP... Poor map designs, bad support, and just too many campers (which I guess it the same thing as the map design.). Well that's it. Expand
  74. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Wow. So many people hating on this game. I wonder, how have all of these haters had the time to truly give the game a fair chance before bothering to bash it so terribly??? It seems to me that a lot of these people are getting their panties in a bunch because the maps are bigger and they don't already know every little nook, cranny, and camping nest out there on the virtual battlefield. News flash: You will die a lot learning the new maps. Big deal. Grow up. Yes, the campaign is more of the same old thing. Lets be realistic though...the multiplayer is what motivates most people to rush out for the next COD installment, not the campaign...and the multiplayer is on point. GHOSTS multiplayer is far more in depth than any previous COD game. Customization abilities are far more extensive than ever before. Both soldier customizations and weapon customizations are plentiful, to say the least. The larger maps are welcomed too. If you spent $60 on GHOSTS and expected night/day differences between it and previous COD installments you're simply an idiot. B*tch yourself out for being stupid; don't blame the game. If you like the COD franchise and you aren't expecting night/day differences you wont be disappointed in GHOSTS. My only significant complaint is that it lacks Spec Op missions. Personally, I would prefer another nice list of Spec Op missions over the new Extinction Mode, which is just a generic "survival" mode that gets old pretty fast. If "survival" is your thing, GOW Horde mode is still the best survival mode around. Anyway, the morons on this forum that are giving this game a "0" out of 10 are nothing more than internet trolls; many of whom probably haven't even played the game for more than a few hours, if they've even played it at all. I admit that GHOSTS is not a perfect game. It deserves at least an "8" though. I'm giving it 9/10. If there were Spec Op missions I'd give it a 10. I hope this review was helpful. It is intended to be informative; not to childishly berate the game as so many others have done on this forum. If you're one of the people who's hating on GHOSTS, don't despair; there are plenty of Halo clans out there that could really use your help. Lmao. Expand
  75. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This game is a big pile of s***. It fails so badly to keep you entertained. Already returned my copy, doesnt deserve a higher number than 0. Forget that this game exists.
  76. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great game!! Ignore the low scores from both user and Critic Reviews. Bunch of haters! This game is even better than modern warfare and blackops! Can't wait to play more when I am back from work.
  77. Nov 15, 2013
    1
    REDUCED SCORE: After a week of 'getting to know' COD Ghosts I am reducing my score by 50%. Another year, another HACKED TO PIECES piece of crap game. Tonight I shot someone, who had juggernaut on, I couldn't kill him but my rounds rickochey'd and blew me up? Hacked code. Aimbots, wall hacks, all easily available if you want them. Cheaters and campers all accommodated. Honest, good players totally screwed. Bored of little kids on a supposedly 'mature' game. Bored of Playing HardCore Kill Confirmed where everyone camps. NO ONE IS PLAYNG THIS THE WAY IT WAS INTENDED. What a waste of money. Expand
  78. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    People complain because they think COD has gone stale. It's not stale. It's just bad. The game tries to be innovative and has made progress with larger multi level maps. But it all comes down to gameplay, and whoever has the upperhand because of connection wins. Skill plays little to no role in most online games I've experienced.

    I refused to buy another COD game after MW3 without
    renting it first. This is MW3 all over again. If you hated MW3 because of their network code, this is exactly the same if not worse. One shot kills, bad hit registry, players being 5 steps ahead of you, etc. If you don't know what I'm talking about, then you might be one of the lucky ones and enjoy this game. If you know all to well these experiences with COD, spend your money on something else. Expand
  79. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Absolutely appalling. Recycled garbage once again. I mean, these guys have had countless opportune windows to make this franchise feel alive again, and thet just cant. Theyre clearly thinking "if it aint broke dont fix it". No, please do fix it. And wtf did they do with search and destroy?? Dont buy this game. If you are reading this, allow me to convince you just not to buy it. Please. Buy battlefield 4 or something. Its atleast better than this trash Expand
  80. Mar 24, 2014
    6
    Atleast this game works right, I'm having a much more pleasant experience playing this than Bf4.

    Call of Duty Ghosts and Battlefield 4 demonstrates that there are pros and cons to everything, but when a game is worse than the other but works right, it's a better game and has a big advantage. Three months ago I went to play Ghosts, still playing it now and I'm done with Bf4, sorry EA.


    However I judge COD and other franchises in their own rights, I'm just making a point the people at EA needs to see.
    Expand
  81. ECU
    Apr 18, 2014
    5
    Suprisingly bad. Some ore elements of the CoD franchise still existing like solid gun-fights and exciting set-pieces like the train level(which *is a cliche) but that's it. There is nothing more to this game. The whole campaign is worse than a B movie. Cliche dialogs, cliche over-used moments are everywhere. A hint to the producers: If you use "last moment jumps", "slow motion scenes", "one bullet-one kill" moments every damn level, like every five minutes, it WILL NOT excite the players. I have to say again the story feels like it has been written by a 15 year old who's seen 5 or 6 war movies in it's entire life. The graphics looks worse than Black Ops 2 and I think it's meant so to make the next-gen version look way more better. Sound design also lacks the quality of the CoD series. IW, Neversoft and Raven are all respectable and talented studios but they wasn't ready to work together it seems. Activision should cancel the "one CoD every year" policy and start thinking about a fresh start with a lot more time and creativity. Expand
  82. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I don't understand the continued draw for call of duty... This is the same thing as last year! The campaign is a huge disappointment, while they took out my favorite game type (headquarters) from multiplayer. This is a day 1 trade in for sure
  83. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    This games campaign was cheesy but not terrible in my opinion. Multiplayer is just pathetic. Game modes like sabotage , demolition gone? Epic fail... I can say i am done with this franchise. Long live demon/dark souls / 2
  84. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    COD Ghosts is a joke of a game, every year the same piece of crap. I would rather ride on my awesome donkey all day along instead of playing this garbage.
  85. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    utter garbage all of backgrounds and maps have been re-hashed again in multiplayer which has had hackers a week before the game released IW ignoring it >now multiplayer is officially ruined due to lil kids 15 and younger thinking its funny to hack a video game and make everyone elses experience hell !!!

    Infinityward have been trying to hide the fact that there are hacks
    (aimbotts,wallhacks etc.) already in Ghosts

    by the way this is a legit review as in no way have i been paid by infinityward like critics have to do this review!!

    campaign was mediocre best but CoD has always been about the multiplayer!!

    thankfully i played a friends copy (he lent me cause his xbox got RROD and didnt waist $60 on this trash your better off buying Splinter Cell Black list its a fairly new title and it only costs $40 you save $20 if multiplayer is your thing go with BF4
    Expand
  86. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    I bought BO2 as my first ever cod game. I fell in love with multiplayer. I never got really good but I loved to play. Each game was a rush and I never got tired of it. As soon as I could, I preordered Ghost and I couldn't WAIT to get it. I didn't know that the games were made by different studios so I thought they would be more alike. I didn't care for Ghost at first so I kept chasing the high that BO2 gave me and I never found it. I traded this game in today. I only play multiplayer and it just didn't seem as fun to me. I'm actually much better at this COD but I don't have near the fun I thought I would. For me, the maps are too big for how strong the bullets seem to be. I can't trash the game but I think Bo2 is much better than this in almost all aspects of multiplayer. The one aspect I like better in Ghost is the unlock system. Other than that, Ghost felt very blah to me. This is my first review and I know it wasn't very in depth but I wanted to write it to help anyone that wanted to buy Ghost just because they enjoyed BO2. Expand
  87. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    this game is so horrible,i cant believe that battlefield 3 has better graphics than ghosts,the history is boring as hell,in 4 hours you can finish the game
  88. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    The funny thing in my mind is that if Ghosts actually went by its apparent ideas of guerrilla warfare, of laying traps, using stolen enemy weapons and approaching enemies with more thought than shooting anything that moves, that it would be a cult hit for those longing for an expansion of CoD4's All Ghillied Up missions Unfortunately, in the hands of a post Zampella/West Inifinity Ward, it is bizarrely as bad, even worse than its World War 3 styled predecessors in terms of bombastic set pieces, and about as stealthy as a truck with giant amps blaring out nu-metal full blast at the enemy.

    The graphics may claim to be better, but such bland art direction makes it look worse than Black Ops 2's near future style. Gameplay is as recycled as you can get, and new ideas seem to be taken as jokes by the devs, who would much rather stick with their formula than try anything remotely new, in case players have a weird fear of change.

    The campaign is very forgettable, and considering that an oscar winner wrote it that's a surprise. It is just as racially insensitive as MW3 when it comes to depicting anyone other than the U.S (come on, South america this time?), and there is no emotional connection to the player character. Crucially, it takes itself far too seriously, so there is no fun to be had at its own silliness the way Blops 2 had.

    Simply put, doesn't live up to its promises, and instead sticks to a far too worn path that most have got sick of at this point.
    Expand
  89. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    Even though i have been a dedicated COD hater since MW2 I have to say that this game is a heartbeat in the dying franchise. The campaign has characters i liked even though elias is a little cliche. Ending isn't too great but i had a lot of fun and I really enjoyed the environment and the idea altogether. Not too shabby IW but you have a bit to go until getting back to MW glory
  90. Nov 8, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty: Ghosts
    Average User Score: 2.1
    Nov 8, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty: Ghosts ImageAs the old saying goes with the "Call of Duty" Franchise, "If you played one Call of Duty game, you played them all!" That unfortunately is TRUE. The only Call of duty games I have ever played are Call of Duty 3, Call of Duty Black Ops (Just a little bit of the story), Call of Duty Black Ops II and now
    Call of Duty Ghosts. Every Call of Duty fanboy and etc. has already talked about the game's FAULTS! I actually want to talk about how Infinity Ward can make this game BETTER and now a cash in! First, give the fans a more LONGER/ engaging story with emotion and dark elements with branching paths. Second, give us a more enhanced customization mode with a weapon creator, more ethnic races to choose from, more colors to choose from, more variety of weapons and any other suggestions Infinity Ward's dedicated fan base. Call of Duty fans need more elements like better Fish A.I, more levels without having to buy them but instead, UNLOCK them, better ways to trap campers, more innovative ways to destroy buildings, ride helicopters, save citizens, RPG like elements where we can intereact with NPC's and give us something else to do besides run around and kill people by making it more innovative like Battlefield but at epic proportions! Third, NO MORE POINTLESS DLC! (Make it an option for us to buy the dlc or complete tasks to unlock certain weapons and etc.) And Lastly, Give the fans more OFFLINE and ONLINE multiplayer modes! (Come up with something new!) I am tired of hearing everyone saying, "Call of Duty sucks and it is overrated!" Prove all the nay-sayers wrong! MAKE CALL OF DUTY BETTER.. NOT WORSE! STOP BEING LAZY and put more effort into your GAMES!!! 7/10! Expand
  91. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Guys what did i just played? I received copy for free and ghost ruins all cod series into pieces. Really shame into all gaming critics who made so high ratings, they all been paid by Activision for advertisement. Really disappointed by the game and all game critics wont trust them to review games again.
  92. Nov 5, 2013
    1
    Same old crap. The multilayer well what is there to say about it, 'just insert mw3 review here'. Review done Nothing new about this game, hopefully CoD dies with this.
  93. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    Prolonged and boring, COD GHOSTS is the new blastingly bad sequel in the epic series. The graphics are great, the physics are annoying and the acting is crap. Ghosts gives you a nice pet dog for the gaming expreriance but it's just bad. The dog is unresponsive and gets YOU killed. This game is very boring and bad but can be forgiven for good multiplayer, average guns and awesome graphics. Avoid, even if you are a die hard COd fan. Expand
  94. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Call of duty is awesome the single player is epic and the multiplayer is the same as always it's a Good fast paced high action shooter I'd recommend it to any true gamers to play
  95. Nov 18, 2013
    4
    Ghosts is disappointing because it doesn’t fix the myriad of problems that have plagued COD for the last several games. Its predecessor, Black Ops 2, is a horribly imbalanced game that failed to accomplish the one thing Treyarch promised would be emphasized: teamwork. Low incentives to achieve goals inevitably led to lone wolf behavior. The waves of insanely overpowered scorestreaks brutalized average gamers. Snipers run around the maps quickscoping while people with smg’s camp and snipe. However, Black Ops 2 delivers fun and frantic gameplay that rewards players for sticking it out.
    Is Ghosts better than Blops 2? No. Infinity Ward addresses some of the balance issues. Score streaks have been nerfed (well partially). The improved hit detection is INSANE. On the downside, health is low. So players kill quick and die quicker. Average gamers and COD newbies will not have the reaction time necessary to respond to incoming fire. So if you don’t fire first, game over. Blops 2 was more forgiving. Blame it on lag, but I like having the opportunity to evade fire. Not here. Expect to see the kill cam without knowing bullets were coming.
    Weapons balance is still off. Shotguns are a joke. The range and spread damage is the worst and most inconsistent I’ve seen. C4 has virtually no splash damage and will not always detonate, so don’t rely on it in a crunch. SMG’s spit out rounds fast, but lose all their teeth at midrange shots. On the flipside, assault rifles possess extreme stopping power and range. Other than sniper rifles, assault rifles trump all other guns at any range. LMG’s have large clips, but they have no other advantages which renders them useless. Knifing lunging is back!! In close combat don’t shoot. KNIFE KNIFE KNIFE!! Players who knife lunge are invincible. So just accept it and die with dignity. Or rage because knife lunging is freaking ridiculous. Like Blops 2, map design and poor weapon balance has once again led to the emergence of only 2 preferred weapon classes. In this game its assault and sniper.
    The upgrade system is different, but not innovative. Players can unlock guns and perks as soon as they have the points to do so. No more waiting until level 55 to unlock a favorite weapon. Play a few rounds, earn “squad points”, and unlock it. I like this, but COD loyalists’ opinions are mixed because it reduces the need to rank up. Except for a handful of perks, most are superfluous and don’t provide enough tactical advantages.
    The large maps are another point of contention. Compared to Blops 2, these maps are huge. But they aren’t strategic and lack choke points. So expect to be shot or stabbed in the back—a lot. Spawn points aren't randomized, so spawn deaths are already ruining the fun. I’ve already spawned on IED’s and been sniped multiple times by the same players who’ve memorized spawn points. Oh yeah, people I’ve just shot spawning directly behind me isn’t fun either. The 6 on 6 matches are entirely too small. Games regularly timeout before all objectives are complete. Camping is rampant. At least 8 on 8 is necessary for the larger maps. Players can run around for several minutes without glimpsing a single baddie. Developers say that current gen systems simply can’t handle larger matches. Xbox One and PS4 will have larger lobbies which will hopefully speed up the tempo. PS3 and Xbox 360 are just SOL.
    The scorestreaks are more ground based and none seem insanely overpowered except the companion dog. It’s unlocked at low score levels and the benefit lasts too long. Dogs will not go away even if their masters are killed several times. So a dog can remain alive for an entire match. Also, the dogs seem to endure 4-6 times the damage of combatants before dying and they suffer no splash damage from lethals. Their high health and persistence is irritating. They kill instantly too. I don’t see how this is any different than a combat drone or VTOL warship.It adds nothing but frustration to the game because it’s merely a different overkill killstreak.
    My biggest complaint is Ghosts’ graphics. The game textures are washed out and game elements are hard to see. Gamers will be shot by someone standing directly in front of them or bump into enemies without noticing. Traps are also hard to discern. Some maps are worse than others. Infinity Ward wanted the environments to look “real”, but the limitations on the 360 and PS3 are just too obvious. Textures look bad, colors are muted, and aliasing is painfully noticeable. Blops 2 has an arcady look, but the visuals are crisp and sharp. Seeing cloaked players on Crysis multiplayer is easier than spotting a camped sniper on Ghosts.
    The campaign is typical COD fare. But I’ve seen it all before. Literally, some of the scenes have been ripped straight from previous COD installments. The squads mode is a confused attempt to "push" multiplayer someplace new. Extinction is OK, but brief.
    Ghosts is merely an obligation to meet a yearly deadline. Pass on this game.
    Expand
  96. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The same stupid crap every year. I really, really didn't think it could have got worse than Black Ops 2. WOW was I wrong. This game seriously plays just like MW2 with a dog. The dog is basically a drone that was in Blops 2.

    I wish people would stop buying this garbage so they can make some innovation.
  97. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Worse in the series. Graphics and textures are dated maybe 8-10 years, mechanics are just not there, the game was WAY overhyped and not even close to a "new" gen game, this one takes a huge step backwards from its predecessors. MP was already hacked first day (see all the vides and screenshots).
    Stay away and wait for the next Treyarch release, if the franchise recovers from this mess.
  98. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I gave this game a nine because you know what I hate Call of Duty its the same stuff every year but it keeps all the little kids and holes off of the good games and I'm fine with that.
  99. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I feel like I played this back in 2007. Oh wait. I did.

    Nothing in this franchise has really changed in the past 6 years. Guns feels the same. Maps feel the same. The community online (yuck) feels the same. Campaign is clearly worse.

    Not sure why I keep buying these games, but it won't happen again next year.
  100. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    An entertaining romp, it annual release is welcome and most gamers are used to it by now. However compared to last years black ops II its a step backwards unfortunately, the singleplayer is fine. Online fine. Nothing has been pushed uniquely added. No risks have been taken. The story is boring but gets better(crazier) towards the ending.

    Better luck next time, think about a combination
    or eras next outing, Call of Duty: Time at war. Feature Ww1 ww2 Vietnam 80s now and the future. That would be epic, we had a taste of it in black ops 1/2 Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    64
    It's strange for Call of Duty: Ghosts to be released so close to the next-gen console launches, and in a way, it feels like it was rushed to the finish line.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    72
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a good game but something feels missing.