User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2076 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2017
    5
    After coming from Black Ops II, I was rather disappointed with Ghosts. It takes concepts already implemented in the Call of Duty franchise, and recycles them without much improvement. Despite the sharp graphics, the environments and level design were bland as a whole. The multiplayer gameplay is decent, but nothing out of the ordinary. Extinction is interesting; I did enjoy it sometimes,After coming from Black Ops II, I was rather disappointed with Ghosts. It takes concepts already implemented in the Call of Duty franchise, and recycles them without much improvement. Despite the sharp graphics, the environments and level design were bland as a whole. The multiplayer gameplay is decent, but nothing out of the ordinary. Extinction is interesting; I did enjoy it sometimes, although it felt like a grind getting past certain stages. The campaign wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, in fact there were some captivating moments that kept it fresh. Ultimately though, it was rather predictable and I wasn't very invested in the plot or characters. Call of Duty: Ghosts is not a particularly bad game, but a mediocre one. It has its moments, but it doesn't try anything new or innovate from past titles. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2017
    0
    bueno,personalmente ya tengo un desprecio a la franquicia en si el unico motivo por el que tengo el juego es porque me vino con la consola y bueno es jodidamente aburrido y predecible graficos malos jugabilidad que parece calcada de los demas (cosa que no puedo confirmar porque solo juge a este pero he visto como son las mecanicas de los anteriores cod) una historia pesima un multijugadorbueno,personalmente ya tengo un desprecio a la franquicia en si el unico motivo por el que tengo el juego es porque me vino con la consola y bueno es jodidamente aburrido y predecible graficos malos jugabilidad que parece calcada de los demas (cosa que no puedo confirmar porque solo juge a este pero he visto como son las mecanicas de los anteriores cod) una historia pesima un multijugador que la verdad no puedo profundizar mucho en el pero que es entretenido hasta que simplemente me aburro todo esto ya es suficiente para que mi respeto que se gano con modern warfare pero decidi perdonarlo un poco y ver el modo zombies y me lleve la sorpresa de que fue sustituido con algo llamado "extincion" al principio pense que seria como el modo zombie pero con los modelos cambiados pero no es muy muy tedioso he jugado al modo zombis con unos amigos y era divertido pero aqui lograron arruinarlo con una mecanica terrible de mantener el taladro funcionando para avanzar y es necesario avanzar porque hay mas y mejores armas adelante y me tengo que aguantar la parte de proteger el taladro si quiero sobrevivir
    sobre la campaña es simplemente pobre es algo que los cod despues de black ops tienen casi por defecto no voy a dar spoiler por mala que sea la historia pero el final me parece terrible despues de terminarlo te dejan con un final abierto que tranquilamente pudieron poner un cartel que diga "secuela" y no importaría
    conclucion
    si te lo regalan vendelo y amergalé el dia a alguien mas
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2017
    8
    I don´t get it why CoD is getting so much hate. It´s like the sommerblockbuster for the videogame industrie. If you don´t like, leave it. In my opinion it has a entertaining, fast paced, Single Player Campaign, with a story (i guess). i don´t care about multiplayer so i coudn´t say much about this aspect of the game. For 5 Bucks, and if you had fun with any of the other CoD SingleplayerI don´t get it why CoD is getting so much hate. It´s like the sommerblockbuster for the videogame industrie. If you don´t like, leave it. In my opinion it has a entertaining, fast paced, Single Player Campaign, with a story (i guess). i don´t care about multiplayer so i coudn´t say much about this aspect of the game. For 5 Bucks, and if you had fun with any of the other CoD Singleplayer parts, you can´t do anything wrong, picking this up. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2017
    6
    I bought for u equivalent 5 euro. And i have to admitt that since Modern Warfare nothing change. Sometimes its even worse (graphics), campaign is very poor, i prefer black ops and both MW 1 and 2. Anyway multiplayer is still good and there is a lot of modes, guns. That why i give weak 7.
  5. Dec 4, 2016
    0
    I played this game back when it first came out, during that time I was slowly moving towards PC gaming and away from the franchise, after this game came out that slow movement turned into a hard shove as this game completely destroyed my faith in the franchise, boring, unoriginal and terribly balanced, the best thing about this game is the campaign which even that is pretty terrible.
  6. Nov 20, 2016
    8
    While the real reason I got this game was to play as female soldiers(I'm a guy), the most unique and individual part was the great campaign. After playing through the poor single player of infinite warfare, I think Ghosts was Infinity Wards last great game. A final sendoff of the true Call of Duty way unless they make Ghosts 2 up to the same quality. And I see that, along with a possibleWhile the real reason I got this game was to play as female soldiers(I'm a guy), the most unique and individual part was the great campaign. After playing through the poor single player of infinite warfare, I think Ghosts was Infinity Wards last great game. A final sendoff of the true Call of Duty way unless they make Ghosts 2 up to the same quality. And I see that, along with a possible 3rd person vietnam game made by Sledgehammer as the last hope of another good COD game. It's a stretch, but what Roorke said about hope is a fitting comparison to the state of the once dominant and excellent franchise. "When a man has lost his hope and sees his fate for what it truly is,only then can he except death. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2016
    10
    The best call of duty ever tied with cod 4. if you don't like this game, go suck drift0rs **** because you probably don't have a single thought of your own in life. complex maps? yeah no they are not that hard to understand if you are not stupid. snd in this game is amazing, killstreaks are way better than people say they just require skill and map knowledge instead of free kills forThe best call of duty ever tied with cod 4. if you don't like this game, go suck drift0rs **** because you probably don't have a single thought of your own in life. complex maps? yeah no they are not that hard to understand if you are not stupid. snd in this game is amazing, killstreaks are way better than people say they just require skill and map knowledge instead of free kills for noobs, hit detection is the best ever in cod, at the same time they lowered autoaim across the board meaning killing people actually requires aim skill. so yeah this is pretty much the counter strike of cod and best since cod 4. **** the haters Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2016
    8
    I like this game ! Ghost is one of the best Call of Duty's I ever played ! The story is interesting, the musics are great and the character's cools.
    I like it ! 8/10 -Metacritic
  9. Apr 25, 2016
    7
    This was a fun game. While not the greatest first person shooter, it's not as bad as the reviews lead you to believe. I do see why people didn't like it though. The story wasn't that strong, it was linear, a bit short, and the AI left something to be desired. But that said, I was not really bothered too much by these flaws. I had a good time shooting the baddies. There are lots of weaponsThis was a fun game. While not the greatest first person shooter, it's not as bad as the reviews lead you to believe. I do see why people didn't like it though. The story wasn't that strong, it was linear, a bit short, and the AI left something to be desired. But that said, I was not really bothered too much by these flaws. I had a good time shooting the baddies. There are lots of weapons to use, and play with, and you get to do a variety of things. You can drive a tank, a helicopter, command a dog (really!), go scuba diving, and even visit outerspace.

    Pick this up if you can get it for a fair price.

    P.S. Since I came so late to the party, I played this with all the updates, and bug fixes. So my review is not the same as the people who bought into this early.
    Expand
  10. Apr 14, 2016
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game fails... Campaign **** itself sideways, Multiplayer died, Story doesn't work & Gameplay is something so crap it disappoints me more than disappointment, this game angers me, I wish I was kidding, apart from that, nothing to say, it's the same boring **** again, GOODBYE! Expand
  11. Mar 24, 2016
    8
    While the game does not have a long campaign, its surprisingly fun, with an ending I won't spoil. The multiplayer does get boring though. Extinction is decent.
  12. Mar 12, 2016
    8
    People seem to rate this call of duty poorly just to fit in with the other... I enjoyed the campaign, sure the ending was kinda crappy but it was fun and i spent alot of time online in the infected mode. I really don't understand all the hate, i'm pretty much a casual cod player so maybe that's why but i never regretted buying this game, i even got the next gen version. I think it's a great game!
  13. Feb 24, 2016
    6
    o jogo call of duty ghosts tem algumas qualidades como: boa história e boa jogabilidade. mas foi muito inferior ao black ops 2. o modo alien não chega nem aos pés do modo zombi. não da mais pra jogar quatro jogadores no multiplayer local, coisa que me deixou muito frustrado. tem itens inovador, porém não são interessantes.
  14. Dec 21, 2015
    8
    I really do not understand the hate for this game. It's just another CoD game and the CoD fan base is just salty about a couple of things about the game that they don't like. I like this game, but I have since stopped playing Call of Duty, but I honestly do like this game.
  15. Nov 10, 2015
    8
    This game receives a little too much hate. The game is solid but the large, slow paced maps hurt the ADD side of Call of Duty. The terrible score streak rewards limits replay ability.
  16. Oct 27, 2015
    5
    The game isn't as bad as most people say. Yes the guns are very powerful and some of the maps eg Stonehaven were God awful but the DLC is good. If y ou want to get a Call of Duty game wait for BO3 of buy BO2 as they're still a huge amount of people playing the game.
  17. Oct 20, 2015
    5
    Really just not a good game. Bought this for $20 just to play the campaign which was decent. The online was just bad; not one good thing I can say about it.
  18. Oct 12, 2015
    0
    Cod ghosts is best gahame best game best game!. It's my favour the Coll of duty game ever tso YouT shouldn get to it's really hood thanks bye bye haha
  19. Sep 21, 2015
    8
    This game got ripped a new one by whiny "day 1" players who pitched hissy fits when it was launched with bugs. Granted, that's a big no-no, but it's the norm today with all the crooked game publishers using customers for final beta. I enjoyed Ghosts, but only played solo campaign, not multiplayer. Apparently 95% of players only play online so I'm the minority here, but I enjoyed the RileyThis game got ripped a new one by whiny "day 1" players who pitched hissy fits when it was launched with bugs. Granted, that's a big no-no, but it's the norm today with all the crooked game publishers using customers for final beta. I enjoyed Ghosts, but only played solo campaign, not multiplayer. Apparently 95% of players only play online so I'm the minority here, but I enjoyed the Riley missions and the graphics and the story was pretty good. Expand
  20. Aug 25, 2015
    2
    MY GOD Infinity Ward, what happened?! Have you given up?? I'm going to start with the single player campaign. The campaign is awful, the story is decent, but the delivery is awful, it feels like MW 2 because IT IS! They literally took cutscenes and changed voice clips and models. And the game's gameplay and story tie ins are bad, your literally spongebob or a living sheet of metal becauseMY GOD Infinity Ward, what happened?! Have you given up?? I'm going to start with the single player campaign. The campaign is awful, the story is decent, but the delivery is awful, it feels like MW 2 because IT IS! They literally took cutscenes and changed voice clips and models. And the game's gameplay and story tie ins are bad, your literally spongebob or a living sheet of metal because you take lots of damage, but you can be stopped by a revolver or explosion. And the ending is **** The main antagonist apparently can last a gun shoot to the heart and survive five minutes deep underwater, because that happens, and then he takes you hostage. Next is multiplayer... I hate multiplayer in Ghosts, there are too many over powered guns and the multiplayer feels the same besides character customization. And extinction mode feels like search and destroy with aliens and TF2's Man Vs Machines. Also the grafics are bad, they look like grafics from CoD World at War, and this is FIVE years after it, I'd have a better time playing Doom on SNES if I only cared about grafics. Your better off waiting for CoD Black Ops 3 or buying CoD Advanced Warfare than playing this broken down mess. Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2015
    0
    call of duty ghosts is yet another unwanted fetus that sledge hammer games has ripped out of its vagina and put inside of the game case and then you take it home and put in the disk trey. As you can expect call of duty ghosts has not even tried to improve on anything in the call of duty franchise and is just quick cash grab by sledge hammer. The story is short, boring, and a pain tocall of duty ghosts is yet another unwanted fetus that sledge hammer games has ripped out of its vagina and put inside of the game case and then you take it home and put in the disk trey. As you can expect call of duty ghosts has not even tried to improve on anything in the call of duty franchise and is just quick cash grab by sledge hammer. The story is short, boring, and a pain to play through and instead of focusing on making the game interesting they just wanted to focus on the dog character model cause the dog is the only interesting thing in the game. Multiplayer is the same so don't worry you can still listen to people call others **** or listen to little kids talk about how they had s e x with your mom and how they go positive in every game of team death match. Like i said the campaign is short and boring which i am glad because if i had to play through that any longer i would have went brain dead with its predictable story and its god awful dialogue that was most likely written by a the developers son who had down syndrome. Call of duty is like a cancer we have done nothing about it so it has spread and grown throughout gaming. I hope the call of duty fan boys are happy Expand
  22. Jul 27, 2015
    1
    I've just bought this game and played it for two hours. At one point you're in space shooting people in a space station (whilst wearing a spacesuit) then you're an Dog jumping on people and killing them. But most of the time you're on a roller coaster and you're strapped in very tight - absolutely no chance of you going anywhere but where the roller coaster wants to take you. Enemies areI've just bought this game and played it for two hours. At one point you're in space shooting people in a space station (whilst wearing a spacesuit) then you're an Dog jumping on people and killing them. But most of the time you're on a roller coaster and you're strapped in very tight - absolutely no chance of you going anywhere but where the roller coaster wants to take you. Enemies are killed with a minimum of five bullets (when you're permitted to fire at them) when you shoot your gun the recoil is such that you can't see the target. If you try to veer off the prescribed path you are killed almost instantly.

    And to think, lots of people were paid lots of money to make and publish this game.

    I'd rather play Pong on the Atari.
    Expand
  23. Jul 18, 2015
    5
    Ah yes, CoD Ghosts. This game is barely ok. Gameplay is alrite, only complaint I got is the guns sound like sh2& when shot. I wish they did better on the guns, cos they sound like **** I bought this game for Ps4 but i'll write my review here since I clicked on it lol
  24. Jul 2, 2015
    3
    If you want to play this game for it's multi-player, you shouldn't, it's repetitive and boring, graphics look bland and old, it doesn't look like a "next-gen" game as they claimed it to be, the time to kill is too fast for the game itself, the standard maps are too big and look awful, the guns have barely any variety, there is no incentive to "run & gun" due to the time to kill being tooIf you want to play this game for it's multi-player, you shouldn't, it's repetitive and boring, graphics look bland and old, it doesn't look like a "next-gen" game as they claimed it to be, the time to kill is too fast for the game itself, the standard maps are too big and look awful, the guns have barely any variety, there is no incentive to "run & gun" due to the time to kill being too fast, encouraging alot of players to take a stationary position (usually with a LMG) and wait for other enemy players to pass by, getting killed by these kinds of players may cause a lot of frustration and can lead to "rage-quitting".

    Single-player isn't anything new either, it tells a boring story with only a few levels that stand out from one-another and doesn't make much use of it's specialties, even if you want to play this game for the trophies/achievements only, I suggest you don't, even that isn't worth playing it for.

    Extinction is literally the only good thing about this game, it's fun, challenging and actually has a good story unlike the standard campaign, but is it worth buying and/or playing this game just for this game-mode? No.
    Expand
  25. Jul 1, 2015
    4
    Então comprei na estreia bom , achando que ia ser bom , mais depois desse nunca mais vou gostar de cod como antes , podre demais , Infinity Ward podia vender o cod .-.
  26. Jun 23, 2015
    5
    MW 2 was better but this is little bad short story bad multiplayer not many guns CHARACTERS SUCK this has better fish AI new dog modelsMW 2 was better but this is little bad short story bad multiplayer not many guns CHARACTERS SUCK this has better fish AI new dog models whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh REALLY so it must be the best game because of that I QUIT that's IT I AM D-O-N-E ! Expand
  27. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    I like this game so much.Why people don't like it?Good multiplayer,music,gameplay.Campanign is intresting.In campaning you can be in space,under water,or command rockets.And the end of this game is show us,that will be sequel.Maybe,engine is old,but only "gamers" watch on this.Real gamer watch on gameplay amg campaning.I reccomend this game for all normal gamers!
  28. Jun 14, 2015
    5
    Pretty much the same as every other Call of Duty. But the one thing making it better is the game modes online many different ones than before that makes it better.
  29. Jun 6, 2015
    8
    I have had this game practically since it came out, and I have to say that it is a good game. For me, the multiplayer aspect of this game [that tends to be a slightly tweaked carbon copy of every other COD game] makes a solid entry. I find that Ghost's multiplayer tries [and not necessarily] tries to mix Battlefield and Call of Duty. While it was a valiant effort, it did somewhat impressI have had this game practically since it came out, and I have to say that it is a good game. For me, the multiplayer aspect of this game [that tends to be a slightly tweaked carbon copy of every other COD game] makes a solid entry. I find that Ghost's multiplayer tries [and not necessarily] tries to mix Battlefield and Call of Duty. While it was a valiant effort, it did somewhat impress me, it was still a little disappointing. The campaign aspect of the game is tells a good story of a family that tries to combat the forces that are trying to dominate the globe. Expand
  30. May 17, 2015
    5
    Ghost at the end of the first mission ,attcked by wolves ,one gets me and a big flashing x. Appears and the attack keeps repeating itself.unabled stop or fight off ??????
  31. May 1, 2015
    10
    These are ideas of mine that I want to share. I wish there are places that we can go that we can't go as well as the good places that were blocked. If call of duty does these little things like this. For the new call of duties there also needs to be much more than just new maps. For example on advanced warfare, there was new maps and double jumps. There can be much more added to make callThese are ideas of mine that I want to share. I wish there are places that we can go that we can't go as well as the good places that were blocked. If call of duty does these little things like this. For the new call of duties there also needs to be much more than just new maps. For example on advanced warfare, there was new maps and double jumps. There can be much more added to make call of duty more famous and more addicting. For most people, the game is addicting at first then call of duty blocks areas out and there are limited levels and limited prestiges. One good thing about the maps is it is realistic. For instance Detroit looks realistic :) as well as adding the monorails. As well as recovery in team death match. But at least don't block any places out. For instance infected, the infecters then can have more advantages since the survivors can go in the places. One example of a good map I'm thinking about is a large tall building and a bomb blows up in the top with gas bombs and things like that. The smoke and debris can slowly go down and it kills people. In the map people can go anywhere around the building. After black ops 3 comes out I urge you to take these ideas for the next call of duty. It will probably be a big advantage for call of duty and a big launch in the technology graphics and art of the game. I hope this helps you. Expand
  32. Apr 20, 2015
    9
    To be honest, I really like this game. I played the Campaign and there was a lot of action and explosions... So if you are more of I single player guy, well you should buy it. :D
  33. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is not very enjoyable on Xbox 360. The framerate consistently drops, and there are serious connection issues that should have been fixed.
  34. Mar 9, 2015
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! It is seriously the worst Call of Duty next to MW3. Its graphics looks like someone wiped Vaseline all over my screen. The story is God awful. It solely relies on slow motion and explosions to even keep me somewhat awake through this horrible game. And the voice acting is terrible. Everyone sounds like they had Stephen Hawking doing the work. Now, lets get to theDO NOT BUY THIS GAME! It is seriously the worst Call of Duty next to MW3. Its graphics looks like someone wiped Vaseline all over my screen. The story is God awful. It solely relies on slow motion and explosions to even keep me somewhat awake through this horrible game. And the voice acting is terrible. Everyone sounds like they had Stephen Hawking doing the work. Now, lets get to the multi player. It tries so desperately to be a Battlefield/ MW2 mix, which it miserably fails at. They're so called "destructible environments" is a joke! And the maps are way too big for 6v6. The only thing i give it credit for is there perk system and there character creator. Besides that they bring nothing new to the series. A serious waste of $60. I wouldn't even recommend renting the game like I did. Seriously, stay away from this dreadful game. I would rather stick a toothpick under every one of my toe nails and kick a wall than play this game again. Expand
  35. Mar 5, 2015
    1
    If you actually bought the game for a full $60 bucks, you REALLY need to get your money back. Thank you JESUS one of my friends let mr borrow it for the weekend. I only played it for about 3 hours before I got so bored of this piece of **** This whole game is recycled from other COD's and it took out all the bad things about them and put them in COD Ghost. The last amazing COD game isIf you actually bought the game for a full $60 bucks, you REALLY need to get your money back. Thank you JESUS one of my friends let mr borrow it for the weekend. I only played it for about 3 hours before I got so bored of this piece of **** This whole game is recycled from other COD's and it took out all the bad things about them and put them in COD Ghost. The last amazing COD game is Black Ops 2.... Advanced Warfare is alright and is by far much better than this abomination of a game. Seriously guys trade this thing in for a MARIO game trust me it'll be way more fun. Treyarch.... JUST **** STOP YOU"VE ALREADY **** UP AWHAT USED TO BE A GREAT GAME SERIES Expand
  36. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    Call of duty ghosts is a really cool game, if you've read my previous review you'll know i'm all about the graphics and this has amazing graphics its a really interesting and fun game with a brilliant story mode that keeps you busy.
  37. Jan 14, 2015
    7
    This game is ok. The story is really masculine, in a stupid way though. The plot was pretty dumb but enjoyable. The visuals were fine. Noted a couple of texture glitches. Gameplay is ok. Nothing great. The same stuff expected in a COD game. Definitely not as bad as people are saying, but compared to many other gaming experiences, it's just not worth it.
  38. Jan 13, 2015
    7
    After hearing all of the mixed opinions related to this game, I was a bit unsure about whether I would like this game, however, I am ready to give an opinion.

    Pros: EXCELLENT Controls Maintains 60fps at all times Interesting Setting Fun new multiplayer modes Squads mode Cons: Single Player campaign suffers from traditional CoD "tropes" Multiplayer maps are too big Extinction
    After hearing all of the mixed opinions related to this game, I was a bit unsure about whether I would like this game, however, I am ready to give an opinion.

    Pros:
    EXCELLENT Controls
    Maintains 60fps at all times
    Interesting Setting
    Fun new multiplayer modes
    Squads mode

    Cons:
    Single Player campaign suffers from traditional CoD "tropes"
    Multiplayer maps are too big
    Extinction was disappointing
    Graphics seem slightly dated

    All in all, Ghosts has many problems, but it is only just good enough for a recommendation from me.

    7/10
    Expand
  39. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    Created this account SPECIFICALLY to write a review for THIS game. I have heard SO MUCH HATE and I honestly had to just know for myself what the hell everyone was so pissed off about.

    This game, in my opinion, beats the hell out of Advanced Warfare, Black Ops, Black Ops 2, and MW3 by far.. Maybe all of your errors have been fixed by this TRUSTED RELIABLE SUCCESSFUL company or maybe I
    Created this account SPECIFICALLY to write a review for THIS game. I have heard SO MUCH HATE and I honestly had to just know for myself what the hell everyone was so pissed off about.

    This game, in my opinion, beats the hell out of Advanced Warfare, Black Ops, Black Ops 2, and MW3 by far..

    Maybe all of your errors have been fixed by this TRUSTED RELIABLE SUCCESSFUL company or maybe I just can find fun in things I spend my money on better than you can.

    This game had the best campaign I've ever played, VERY fun. Multiplayer gives several options to customize things and maps are very well designed. LOVE the game. HIGHLY suggest it.
    Expand
  40. Jan 6, 2015
    0
    The worst Call of Duty ever to be made. I am still wondering how this piece of **** got on the shelves of stores. Infinity Ward and Activision are obviously trying to suck the money out of people's wallets for a horrendously bad game that is not worth the $60 price tag at release! 0/10 (Horrendous)
  41. Jan 3, 2015
    4
    Enjoyable, but fun multiplayer modes like gun game can't save this train reck. Let start with the story. It stars a 2 sons and some bald guy who go around shooting South Americans who are trying to dominate the world.. Blah blah blah typical call of duty crashing planes explosions, un relatable flat characters etc. Same old same old. The mission underwater feels clunky and horrendous, theEnjoyable, but fun multiplayer modes like gun game can't save this train reck. Let start with the story. It stars a 2 sons and some bald guy who go around shooting South Americans who are trying to dominate the world.. Blah blah blah typical call of duty crashing planes explosions, un relatable flat characters etc. Same old same old. The mission underwater feels clunky and horrendous, the space mission only allows you to use one gun that's a three round burst and there's no other weapons in space. I found the helicopter mission very enjoyable however and same with the stealth mission where you creep around with a knife and a motion censor on your arm. It has it's fun moments but the fun is generally out weighed by flat-un fun combat and a strong sense of been there done that. Multiplayer is more terrible than ever before aside from gun game. The maps are humongous and not a whole lot of fun to play on. Non really stick out. At least on the non dlc maps. I never bothered purchasing any of the dlc maps because it would be a total waist of money. The net code is also crappy. The game is less than decent and id consider it infinity words worst game. But it's def not the worst game I've ever played though and it has it's fun moments. Expand
  42. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    The multiplayer of this game was the most fun multiplayer I've ever played. Its campaign, was, honestly, not the best, but still good fun. This is the most underrated game I've ever seen. Admit it, whether it was a great game or not, you spent hours and hours on it knowing it was the "same thing again". The multiplayer will always be very similar, and the gameplay too. But it will haveThe multiplayer of this game was the most fun multiplayer I've ever played. Its campaign, was, honestly, not the best, but still good fun. This is the most underrated game I've ever seen. Admit it, whether it was a great game or not, you spent hours and hours on it knowing it was the "same thing again". The multiplayer will always be very similar, and the gameplay too. But it will have huge campaign differences and slight differences in the multiplayer each time good enough to be worth buying. full price. Expand
  43. Dec 30, 2014
    7
    COD ghosts is great game (for multiplayer). I wasn't much interested with the story mode. but you probably know that the multiplayer the big thing about the series now.
  44. Dec 27, 2014
    9
    FIRST this game was not made by treyacrh who made bo1 and bo2 so its different the multiplayer is awesome with sat coms the guard dog/wolf dlc's to expand the gameplay sniping/quickscoping is harder then bo2 which alot of snipers like me got mad but i was up for a challenge it took me a while but i learned to snipe fast you can be an astronaut so thats cool and you can customize yourFIRST this game was not made by treyacrh who made bo1 and bo2 so its different the multiplayer is awesome with sat coms the guard dog/wolf dlc's to expand the gameplay sniping/quickscoping is harder then bo2 which alot of snipers like me got mad but i was up for a challenge it took me a while but i learned to snipe fast you can be an astronaut so thats cool and you can customize your guy/girl i give this game 9 little sqeakers outta 10 Expand
  45. Dec 27, 2014
    7
    WOW! I cant believe all the hate this game gets! the people who gave it a two or three only played it for two or three minutes! Now its not perfect but...its a great Call of duty game! i love the customization options although its a bit shallow. all in all not too bad!
  46. Dec 16, 2014
    3
    Hmm WHY is it that the YOUTUBE PROMOTED VIDEO IS NOT TWILIGHT PRINCESS, SMASH OR HYRULE WARRIORS BUT this stupid game the ONLY thing its got going for it is the GRAPHICS THAT's IT the game is a SNOOZE to watch all you see is a guy just shooting stupid enemies that don't fight back the fighting is NOT EVEN DRAMATIC WHICH SUCKS the enemies are just as bad it does not look challenging at allHmm WHY is it that the YOUTUBE PROMOTED VIDEO IS NOT TWILIGHT PRINCESS, SMASH OR HYRULE WARRIORS BUT this stupid game the ONLY thing its got going for it is the GRAPHICS THAT's IT the game is a SNOOZE to watch all you see is a guy just shooting stupid enemies that don't fight back the fighting is NOT EVEN DRAMATIC WHICH SUCKS the enemies are just as bad it does not look challenging at all and EVEN THE GUY PLAYING IT HATES THE MAP. The game does not seem to have any puzzles in it WHATSOEVER and the minimap is terrible looking and I agree with other bad reviewers that the game is WAY TOO CAMP FRIENDLY.
    OVERALL TERRIBLE can't BELIEVE my COMPETITION pays attention to this COMPLETE GARBAGE Vs my videos.
    Do yourself a favor and get Smash, Twilight Princess and Windwaker great games I would recommend Hyrule Warriors over this game but is not very good recommend smash or a Zelda classic over Warriors any day of the week
    Expand
  47. Dec 7, 2014
    3
    This game sucks this game shouldn't get anything higher than a 3 or 4 it's just that bad, and this game isn't even broken just shows how bad this game is. I'd rather play a pre patched fall version ( The fall update that the game) of Battlefield 4. The single-player and extinction are what save this.
  48. Dec 3, 2014
    3
    Another year, another map pack for the same game. Same formula, same result. Everyone uses the same guns, or sits back and snipes. Gets boring real fast. If you've already got a CoD game, just keep playing that, you'll be happier, and still have your money.
  49. Dec 1, 2014
    1
    why make call of duty like halo, what soldier in his right mind would jump about in full view of enemies, the live play is the worst cod ever, and that's after blackops2 .the maps are awful and graphics hard to view for extended game play. the game itself is ok, some good levels but a bit too easy. think i'll go back to MW2 or MW3 for decent live play. The spawning in live play is reallywhy make call of duty like halo, what soldier in his right mind would jump about in full view of enemies, the live play is the worst cod ever, and that's after blackops2 .the maps are awful and graphics hard to view for extended game play. the game itself is ok, some good levels but a bit too easy. think i'll go back to MW2 or MW3 for decent live play. The spawning in live play is really puzzling, the amount of times I've been shot in the back immediately after spawn is really beyond frustrating. anyone for my copy on ebay. Expand
  50. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Let me start by saying Ghosts is my least favourite Call of Duty. Yes I still am giving it an 8 and as I have mentioned in previous reviews, I am not a fanboy for COD or Battlefield. I like both series and simply believe that while Ghosts is not the most innovative entry in the series, it still provides plenty of fun and it certainly shows the strength of this series when my leastLet me start by saying Ghosts is my least favourite Call of Duty. Yes I still am giving it an 8 and as I have mentioned in previous reviews, I am not a fanboy for COD or Battlefield. I like both series and simply believe that while Ghosts is not the most innovative entry in the series, it still provides plenty of fun and it certainly shows the strength of this series when my least favourite entry gets a high score. The real reason that Ghosts doesn't impress me as much as other entries- it is the first COD to come to new gen systems and it completely messes up this opportunity. Rather than bringing revolutionary new innovation to the new platforms like the original MW did, we get the same old multiplayer, the same old campaign and the same old co-op modes. But that doesn't mean it sucks...

    As per usual, I will start with the most important part of the game- the multiplayer. It retains the scorestreak systems of BLOPSII which is great, but the lack of the excellent Pick 10 system feels like a step back. That said, the Create A Class options are greatly expanded and now you can have multiple characters with each one having up to 6 loadouts. While it will take a lot of time to unlock all of these options, the progression has now been enhanced so that a new Squad Points system rewards you per game and per achievements. With the points you can unlock plenty of gear which is similar to the BLOPSII points system, but it all feels more accessible. Back to the customization and now you can finally pick the uniforms for your characters, their names, their tags and best of all... their genre. I had a great time creating my dream soldier and while the options still have room for improvement, the amount of content on display is even more enriching than per usual. What else is new? A companion app gives you even more options when it comes to creating and customizing your clan and the online features encourage eSports greatly. The maps are probably the most advanced part of the MP with the new dynamic events ranging from cool to gimmicky. There are plenty of good maps, but I am yet to find an instant classic after playing every one of them. The new modes are fun, but will hardly affect the great amount of TDM, FFA and CTF matches. Blitz and Cranked are fun, fast paced modes that take advantage of the mortality of the player, but I still prefer the standard modes. Along with this, Field Orders are now a part of the game and these challenges show up after the first kill. Obtain the blue, floating briefcase, complete the feat (headshots, 3 consecutive kills etc.) and you'll earn a care package. I like the idea of this, but it isn't a game changer. In the end, Ghosts is the same old COD MP and that is alright because it is some of the best multiplayer on the market, but it certainly leaves you feeling like the series is in need of a rethink... that's why we have Advanced Warfare I suppose, but anyway back to Ghosts and the mixed results of the campaign...

    In the previews for it, this game seemed to display something COD rarely achieves- a good campaign. Apparently you would play as the same character for the whole game (not true), the dog Riley would be a big part of it (uh-uh) and the story would be a family drive drama (I'm gonna laugh at that!). Ghosts doesn't try to be something it's not, but I'm not sure if I support that. I would have liked to see a bit of depth in the characters, even if it did feel forced, but the hollow shell of a protagonist and the cliched story makes this feel like a compilation of every average shooter campaign across the course of the last five years. The locations and set pieces are still inspired and I like the idea of a crack military team called the "Ghosts", but the weak story and repetitive design make this a campaign that won't stand out as a COD favourite.

    There are four modes in Ghosts instead of three, with the ambitious Squads a mix between multiplayer and co-op. I still don't get the entire premise. Basically you and your clan build a squad and spare spots are left to the AI. You take your squad online to fight others after that and level up. It's a nice premise but it isn't fleshed out enough to be a worthy diversion from MP. However, it is your gateway to playing the returning Survival mode which is always a great option.

    The final mode is called Extinction and its a campaign that sees you fighting off waves of weird aliens to defend a drill that completes your objectives. It's a little Left 4 Dead, a little COD: Zombies and its can be fun with three other friends, but it isn't as accessible as the Zombies mode and the lack of a feeling progress when you die is annoying. Best of all however, you can rank up, unlock weapons and gadgets and also purchase skills for your select class. Nice!

    Ghosts is fun. However, the lack of innovation and fleshed out ideas in every mode shows why this series was in desperate need of change before Advanced Warfare...
    Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2014
    2
    In all honesty, I have played cod since mw2. Ghosts however is the worst yet. Originally, I thought black ops 1 was the worst, however playing it again it's not as bad as I thought. I'm going off topic here but there are good and bad points about Ghosts.

    Good Points 1. On multiplayer, the guns are fun and really good to use. 2. It's the first cod to customise your own soldiers which
    In all honesty, I have played cod since mw2. Ghosts however is the worst yet. Originally, I thought black ops 1 was the worst, however playing it again it's not as bad as I thought. I'm going off topic here but there are good and bad points about Ghosts.

    Good Points

    1. On multiplayer, the guns are fun and really good to use.
    2. It's the first cod to customise your own soldiers which is quite cool
    3. Some new original killstreaks are added onto this game including the maniac, guard dog etc.

    Bad Points

    1. As I said before about the killstreaks in one of my good points about the game, however these killstreaks are actually worthless they hardly kill anyone. Support killstreaks should have not been in the game to begin with,
    2. There are not enough maps in the game and most of them are too big, they suck and basically requires you to waste more money on dlc map packs which apparently are really good. If they sucked big time then playing multiplayer is basically pointless. The game has some of the worst maps in cod history including whiteout, siege, stormfront, free fall and chasm (which is the worst out of the lot)
    3. Infinity Ward added a new game mode called extinction, I only played it once I thought it was really bad and never played it since. This is basically a rip off version of black ops zombies. I find black ops zombie to be one of the best game modes in history it's so fun and addicting. It also saved black ops 1 from being a disappointing instalment in the cod series. In a cod game when would you be coming up against frickin' aliens, from the trailers it looked cool but playing the actual game mode it is one of the worst game modes I have ever played, but that's not the only game mode I find terrible which brings us to the next bad point.
    4. Search and Rescue, don't even get me started on that game mode. This is one of the main reasons I hate cod ghosts, they combined search and destroy and kill confirmed into one game mode it doesn't work that way. Many times when I play team tactical and when s&r pops up everyone votes for it, most of the time I would leave the lobby so I can avoid it and even when playing the game mode, when you kill an enemy Infinity Ward thought of the idea of having dog tags lying around and to confirm the kill you have to pick up the tag, however when trying to retrieve it about a second later you are dead because of some enemy decides to camp and makes me rage and spitting out "Stop camping you **** play the game properly" and stuff like that. If it's one ghosts 2 in the next couple of years, then that game can just go by the waste side.
    5. There are a couple of other game modes that were added into the game, Infinity Ward put Blitz and Cranked into this game. Why? them game modes are really boring and gamers would tend not to play on these game modes. The thing that annoys me a lot this that they replaced Demolition which in my opinion is the best game mode on cod multiplayer history.
    6. The graphics look really dull and depressing, where is the colour and texture? I find it really hard to see your enemies on the screen because they are basically camouflaged in the background, buildings, anything
    7. I said before the guns were really good, however they are the same guns from black ops 2 but with a few new guns featured.
    8. It's just the same as mw3 but a lot worse.

    There is not much to say about campaign, in general I think it's ok could have been longer but nothing special just an ordinary campaign mode.

    Overall, this game was a huge disappointment. Infinity Ward should have just stopped making more COD games because when they made mw3 it was not as good as mw2 but I could tell that Ghosts was going to be worse. For Ghosts 2 please do not make a copy of mw3, take out support killstreaks and in general just take killstreaks out overall and bring scorestreaks in, take out extinction because it is a waste of game data and design much better maps and have a couple of small maps to begin with.

    If Infinity Ward fail to do that then it's bye bye to the cod games that Infinity Ward make. If you want a cod game that has good guns this might be the game for you. But if want a cod game that is copy of another cod game, STAY AWAY!!! save your money on a cod game that will actually be good.

    Fingers crossed let's hope Advanced Warfare will be good.
    Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2014
    1
    This is an extremely poor game. The campaign is bland and boring, the multiplayer is bland and boring and the co-op is bland and boring (seeing a pattern emerging?). The graphics are hardly next gen, the colours look washed out and the lighting is pretty poor. The audio is okay, but nothing special. The game-play is none-existent, you will hate every second of this game no matter what gameThis is an extremely poor game. The campaign is bland and boring, the multiplayer is bland and boring and the co-op is bland and boring (seeing a pattern emerging?). The graphics are hardly next gen, the colours look washed out and the lighting is pretty poor. The audio is okay, but nothing special. The game-play is none-existent, you will hate every second of this game no matter what game mode your playing. The only time i'd recommend playing this game is if someone paid you. What is the 1 for you ask? It works. It's the first Call of Duty game that worked on launch and still works properly. Expand
  53. Nov 6, 2014
    0
    I don't really want to give it a zero out of five but I feel like If I give it anything higher than that the nerd brigade will have me killed. Honestly the shooting and gameplay is ripped right out of Titanfall which isn't a bad thing. I felt the shooting in Titanfall was fine other than the fact that it was very shallow. Call of Duty AW is a bit more advanced but guess what. ITS STILLI don't really want to give it a zero out of five but I feel like If I give it anything higher than that the nerd brigade will have me killed. Honestly the shooting and gameplay is ripped right out of Titanfall which isn't a bad thing. I felt the shooting in Titanfall was fine other than the fact that it was very shallow. Call of Duty AW is a bit more advanced but guess what. ITS STILL **** BECAUSE ITS CALL OF DUTY. Just buy the COD 4 the last good one in the entire series. If you are some brain deficient child you may derive some entertainment but anyone more intelligent stay away. There are better games to be had for less that 60 dollars. Expand
  54. Nov 5, 2014
    0
    one of the worst games in the world .
  55. Oct 24, 2014
    7
    this game is a great improvment from games like mw3 first off this game has the funnest campaign in a cod game ever the multiplayer is horrid but bots are fun and extinction mode is mediocre this game is a seven eight and i feel bad for infinity ward because so many people hate this game quickscoping is hard in this game
  56. Oct 24, 2014
    1
    Great job, Infinity Ward. You just messed up this game. Here's why.

    1. I read the back of the box, it says "Redefined Multiplayer." I don't see "redefined" changes. I'm getting lag issues even though my internet is completely compatible with other games. 2. The community. Every time I go into a lobby, there is always one camper and one little kid who can't shut up. 3. 500 Squad
    Great job, Infinity Ward. You just messed up this game. Here's why.

    1. I read the back of the box, it says "Redefined Multiplayer." I don't see "redefined" changes. I'm getting lag issues even though my internet is completely compatible with other games.

    2. The community. Every time I go into a lobby, there is always one camper and one little kid who can't shut up.

    3. 500 Squad Points for a Squad Member? Why do you need 10 slots of Squad members when you only need one.

    4. The game is too repetitive. All you do in Call of Duty is shoot, kill, curse, camp, get a kill streak, throw grenades, get killed, win, lose, scream, kill again, shoot again, knife and worst, camp again.

    I hope AW is a lot better than this piece of junk.
    Expand
  57. Oct 23, 2014
    4
    Call Of Duty Ghosts is just another regurgitated uninventive game introduced in the COD series, the multiplayer gameplay is repetitive and felt cheated most of the time i was killed, Single player is just as bad with a boring and predictable storyline, the only real fun i actually got out of this game was versing bots but that became a bit repetitive as well and the AI are just as dumb asCall Of Duty Ghosts is just another regurgitated uninventive game introduced in the COD series, the multiplayer gameplay is repetitive and felt cheated most of the time i was killed, Single player is just as bad with a boring and predictable storyline, the only real fun i actually got out of this game was versing bots but that became a bit repetitive as well and the AI are just as dumb as the other Call of Duty's. The Graphics are great but gameplay is awful, unfortunately the Call Of Duty is slowly but surely Dieing off because they have not got any other ideas in which they can incorporate into there new releases. Activision needs to create a game in which is excellent in order to replenish my faith in the series. Expand
  58. Oct 21, 2014
    0
    This game feels like a copy/paste of all of the past games in the series. I don't even consider new CoD games as new, just the past game with some tweaked maps and new guns. The big question is why are we shelling out all of this money when there are better FPS's that are free.
  59. Oct 19, 2014
    5
    1st off I don't know how much they paid those critics but it has to be a bribe. This game is the WORST Call of Duty I've ever played. The Story was awful, and The Multiplayer was the same old un-innovative piece of garbage. Activision needs to shelf this series for about 5 to 10 years and try again then.
  60. Oct 18, 2014
    0
    this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blowsthis game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass this game blows **** ass Expand
  61. Oct 16, 2014
    5
    This game doesn't deserve a 10 or a 9, but it doesn't deserve low scores either. It's sort of good, but not awsome either. Nothing's feels different, and feels like a step back behind COD BO2. It feels like MW3, (But with crappy Mechanics) and hate Modern Warfare. The graphics are sort of crap. The programmers, in the depatment really need to step it up in this department. The gameplay isThis game doesn't deserve a 10 or a 9, but it doesn't deserve low scores either. It's sort of good, but not awsome either. Nothing's feels different, and feels like a step back behind COD BO2. It feels like MW3, (But with crappy Mechanics) and hate Modern Warfare. The graphics are sort of crap. The programmers, in the depatment really need to step it up in this department. The gameplay is good. You know shoot, slide shot, all that **** LOL. The maps they're not so big, but since you're running on foot all the type I feel the map's are pretty normal size. They're not so small like BO2. The issue that I have with the maps are there isn't really anything to them. They feel to bland. The lack of realism, is my concern here, I don't want into detail, but when comes to physics it needs to be improved. The game's just too average, COD Black ops 2 out shines in nearly every aspect. Expand
  62. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    The game is basically the same stuff as before except for a new mode that will last you around 2 hours max of fun. Single-player is just a 2-3 hour stinkfest full of over-climatic moments, boring and forgettable characters, and guns that all feel the same. The story is basically this: shoot people, shoot people, shoot people, annnnd SHOOT PEOPLE! It is THAT repetitive.
    Multiplayer is the
    The game is basically the same stuff as before except for a new mode that will last you around 2 hours max of fun. Single-player is just a 2-3 hour stinkfest full of over-climatic moments, boring and forgettable characters, and guns that all feel the same. The story is basically this: shoot people, shoot people, shoot people, annnnd SHOOT PEOPLE! It is THAT repetitive.
    Multiplayer is the same every year so i'll just skip that.
    Finally, the new mode exctitction. The entire mode is this: carry around a big drill to hives, buy guns on the ground (two of which you'll actually use), shoot aliens, and level up to get power-ups. Buuuuut! You'll never beat the mode or get all the power-ups because you will get really bored after 2 hours because you will either get stuck on a part and get to bored trying to beat it, or you will barely beat it and quit.
    2/10 is the score. The only way it wasn't WORSE (1/10 is MY worst rating) is because of those 2 hours of exctition.
    Expand
  63. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    Single player is garbage; the story is beyond implausible as to border on the absurd. Multiplayer doesn't fare much better, and seasoned COD and FPS players will certainly notice that skill no longer plays a part in the outcome of games, leaving Ghosts with nothing to offer to its fans.
  64. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    This game is the best COD that have ever played the story has me on the edge of my gamer chair every second the characters are the best thing about it. Amazing graphics amazing characters . The multiplayer in this game is absolutely amazing with a fun and friendly place to go when you need to have some fun over all this game is 10/10 and amazing and all of you should go get it
  65. Oct 3, 2014
    1
    Okay what happened infinity ward? What the **** happened. This game failed in so many ways that made it what it is now. The graphics I mean why are the graphics bad. Then why did you put the horrible DLC out, the 2nd DLC in ghosts is that snowy alien map. That map lacks a lot of details. All you can see is just white snow. U made a great game called MW2 and then u make this bullsh*t. OkayOkay what happened infinity ward? What the **** happened. This game failed in so many ways that made it what it is now. The graphics I mean why are the graphics bad. Then why did you put the horrible DLC out, the 2nd DLC in ghosts is that snowy alien map. That map lacks a lot of details. All you can see is just white snow. U made a great game called MW2 and then u make this bullsh*t. Okay that shows how careless and lazy you are infinity ward. Expand
  66. Sep 27, 2014
    6
    Well as a CoD player for the past 4 to 5 years. I have to say this game has sunk low for me. But that CoD gun and run formula is still there and had plenty of fun getting to 10th prestige. But I have to say...... this is a bad CoD and definitely the worse one I've played. The story in Ghost is dull and uninteresting. I only played it for the easy achievements. The Ghost is just boring andWell as a CoD player for the past 4 to 5 years. I have to say this game has sunk low for me. But that CoD gun and run formula is still there and had plenty of fun getting to 10th prestige. But I have to say...... this is a bad CoD and definitely the worse one I've played. The story in Ghost is dull and uninteresting. I only played it for the easy achievements. The Ghost is just boring and the reason they called it that is because of the popular Modern Warfare 2 character named Ghost. Seemed like they couldn't come anything interesting and that is sad.

    For multiplayer, the first thing you'll notice is poor color and details. All the color seemed to be suck and everyting is just bland. Making it harder for you spot anyone because they blend in with the background easily. To make it worse, when you aim down the sights there is too much crap all over the place. Like trees, bushes, rubble, building materials, etc. This has always been a problem for me in Infinty Ward games. Okay speed things up a bit in this review. The maps are to big and you're constantly running. The kill streaks are hardly any good as you don't see any amazing kill streaks being used online. Theres too many perks its just a mess. The Cod points ruined the leveling and reward experience as you can get the best gun at the moment you prestige.

    Extinction mode is okay but never good as zombies but it is better spec ops or survival modes.
    Expand
  67. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    I literelly love this game! The campaing is full of exciting action and awesome visuals, I am not a big fan of COD but this game is outstading, I love the skill set menu and how your character communicates with you and your team in the multiplayer. Also I really enjoy the big maps, it really gives you the ability to take the match into a different way. Just wish it wasan't so easy to getI literelly love this game! The campaing is full of exciting action and awesome visuals, I am not a big fan of COD but this game is outstading, I love the skill set menu and how your character communicates with you and your team in the multiplayer. Also I really enjoy the big maps, it really gives you the ability to take the match into a different way. Just wish it wasan't so easy to get all the weapons and such. But the game is excellent Expand
  68. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    I remember waiting for call of duty ghosts to be released back in 2013 and when being so impressed with black ops 2 i expected so much. Little would i know that i wasted 60 dollars and stayed home for nothing but complete **** garbage. They spit out a mix between mw3 and mw2 THERES NO **** DIFFERENCE!
  69. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    Practically your average Call of Duty game, dry copied and pointless. Over powered and unrealistic weaponry with enough "Hackers" (By hackers I mean they just installed a virus USB) with enough little kids screaming calling you every racial slur you could imagine. And that's just the beginning, there are your little "Faze" and "Optic" players who think they are bad ass just because theyPractically your average Call of Duty game, dry copied and pointless. Over powered and unrealistic weaponry with enough "Hackers" (By hackers I mean they just installed a virus USB) with enough little kids screaming calling you every racial slur you could imagine. And that's just the beginning, there are your little "Faze" and "Optic" players who think they are bad ass just because they saw a video of people spending their days clicking away at some triggers. People will always make their Gamertag XxX_Pu$$y_$layer_MLGXxX or something like "Shadow Critical" or "Silent Runner" like some four year old out of a Comic Con Convention. Let's not forget how everyone's player card is either a girls ass or some Faze emblem or a 420 BLAZE IT **** one. People will just buy the Weed skin pack and Snoop Dogg pack so they seem "Hardcore". Anyway's the only people that play this are overreacting fan boys that can't stand criticism Do everyone a favor and go play either Dark souls or Battlefield and not this dried up copy **** Expand
  70. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    I really like this game. I know people hate on this game because of it's lack of innovation but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. If you've never played a call of duty game before or if you're like me and not sick of this franchise, I suggest you check this game out. Judging by my name you would probably think that I'm a call of duty fanboy or whatever but I'm not. I've played up fromI really like this game. I know people hate on this game because of it's lack of innovation but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. If you've never played a call of duty game before or if you're like me and not sick of this franchise, I suggest you check this game out. Judging by my name you would probably think that I'm a call of duty fanboy or whatever but I'm not. I've played up from call of duty 4 to this and I'm honestly not tired of this series yet. Hope this helped. Expand
  71. Sep 11, 2014
    5
    This is a standard CoD game with some useful updates and innovations. Better than both Black Ops games in my opinion. Perfect for people who like Call Of Duty the way it is with new weapons and more advanced maps. People giving this game a "zero" or "one" rating are out of there minds. If this game was a stand alone game without the reputation it has, it would be an 8,but with the Call OfThis is a standard CoD game with some useful updates and innovations. Better than both Black Ops games in my opinion. Perfect for people who like Call Of Duty the way it is with new weapons and more advanced maps. People giving this game a "zero" or "one" rating are out of there minds. If this game was a stand alone game without the reputation it has, it would be an 8,but with the Call Of Duty lineup in mind I give it a 5.

    The campaign was forgettable.

    In my opinion, CoD has diluted the experience that used to be so fun back in the MW2 days when killstreaks were actually worth getting, your skill with the sniper was unlimited, and map design was at an all time best. Everybody may have been "overpowered" in that game, but it made it so much more enjoyable. I had some fun with my friends playing this game but ultimately the way the game played was not fun enough to keep me coming back.
    Expand
  72. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    A ton of People hated it, and to be honest, I don't like it aswell. The Campaign is...meh. it's okay, not the best though. The Multiplayer COULD be good, but the players ruined it.
  73. Aug 28, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Horrible who would make a game like this this must be a poorly developed game.Poor quality,poor weapon damage.This is the 2nd worst i ever played i got it for my birthday and i thought it would be a good game but nope.I get owned every time and i will never play this game ever again! Expand
  74. Aug 18, 2014
    5
    COD Ghosts trailers prior to launch showed a graphically superior experience, which the led me to believe that they have improved from Black Ops II. Wrong! COD Ghosts has only graphics to rely on. I only play COD for the multiplayer due to the fact that I am a husband and father and I have to sneak late at night to play a session or two of multiplayer. My biggest complaint in Ghosts isCOD Ghosts trailers prior to launch showed a graphically superior experience, which the led me to believe that they have improved from Black Ops II. Wrong! COD Ghosts has only graphics to rely on. I only play COD for the multiplayer due to the fact that I am a husband and father and I have to sneak late at night to play a session or two of multiplayer. My biggest complaint in Ghosts is how the class setup system works. I can’t even setup a pistol only class; it won’t let me setup a class without a primary weapon. This system is a huge step back from Black Ops II and should be overhauled be a massive update that fixes the issue. In addition to the inferior class setup; squad points are completely bull crap. Infinity ward should have kept the progression of weapons dependent on use because I suck at COD and it takes ions to earn squad points. I have gone three or more games straight going positive without earning a single squad point. If you haven’t purchased COD Ghosts already, don’t. Unless you really want to play a different COD story, if not wait until Advance Warfare comes out. Until then Enjoy Black Ops II. Expand
  75. Aug 9, 2014
    7
    Very fun game. Only problem is the constant lag, and the bad side of the community. By that I mean, the people who judge others skill by KD, take the game so seriously, completely bully anyone they can that is worse than them on the game. But overall, its a decent call of duty title. Not better than MW3 or BO2, but it is still good
  76. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    If you want to know what this is. Its copy paste repeat again and again. Remember when cod was good until they started making one per year? Thats why this is bad. 8 months is not enough to make a game which is why call of duty ghosts sucks so much. 007 Legends is a better game than this crap. To sum it up COD sucks TF2 and Halo ftw
  77. Aug 6, 2014
    1
    This game is the worst $15 I have spent.

    In the expansion pack for the wildly popular game Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, all too much has changed, they have ruined the core mechanics of multiplayer, encouraging quick scoping, drop shotting and the ever popular camping. The multiplayer requires absolutely no skill, however if your parents checkbook is brimming with cash, you are in
    This game is the worst $15 I have spent.

    In the expansion pack for the wildly popular game Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare, all too much has changed, they have ruined the core mechanics of multiplayer, encouraging quick scoping, drop shotting and the ever popular camping. The multiplayer requires absolutely no skill, however if your parents checkbook is brimming with cash, you are in luck! if you buy all the dlc guns and add ons, you instantly because a machine at this game! the multiplayer is atrocious, way too much air support in the air at once, making moving impossible, let alone respawning which is another cluster of crap. BF4 may be a broken game but it is much better than this overpolished garbage. save your money
    Expand
  78. Aug 4, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who would've thought, this game is actually good. Finally infinity ward tried to make the franchise better, I mean, not being a fanboy, but this game is really fresh, not mentioning the "same old" multiplayer.
    But the story, the gameplay was so interesting. I wasnt so hyped for this game, and I dont know why, because this is the best COD game since Black Ops.
    Expand
  79. Jul 26, 2014
    0
    As usual, online spoiled by hackers. Ban these knob heads for life and it would be an ok game. Not a scratch on Battlefield though. Loved Modern warfare 1&2, but the glitchers have ruined it for most people nowadays
  80. Jul 21, 2014
    4
    Did I ever tell you, what the definition of insanity is. Insanity.... is doing the exact same **** thing, over and over again, expecting **** to change. That is crazy. But the first time somebody told me that, I don't know , I thought they were bull****ting me so, boom, I banned him. The thing is, okay....... he was right. And then I started to see it everywhere I looked, all these ****Did I ever tell you, what the definition of insanity is. Insanity.... is doing the exact same **** thing, over and over again, expecting **** to change. That is crazy. But the first time somebody told me that, I don't know , I thought they were bull****ting me so, boom, I banned him. The thing is, okay....... he was right. And then I started to see it everywhere I looked, all these **** fanboys, everywhere I looked, doing the exact same **** thing, over and over and over and over and over again, Thinking "This time it's going to be different, no no no please, this time it's going to be different. Expand
  81. Jul 19, 2014
    6
    Call of Duty: Ghosts was a small disappointment to most people.
    Ghost is a Black Ops 2 clone to most people and some think it as a new and fine addition to the franchise.
    Ghost was okay by my standers and I played the entire Modern Warfare and Black Ops series, Ghost fells like a rushed game but has a small selection of entertainment hidden in it. If you watch Rooster Teeth's let's play
    Call of Duty: Ghosts was a small disappointment to most people.
    Ghost is a Black Ops 2 clone to most people and some think it as a new and fine addition to the franchise.
    Ghost was okay by my standers and I played the entire Modern Warfare and Black Ops series, Ghost fells like a rushed game but has a small selection of entertainment hidden in it. If you watch Rooster Teeth's let's play videos there a fun game type they created called sensitivity training where you and some friends have to set the sensitivity to the highest or the lowest. There's two way you could do it a Free-For-All match or in a Team-death match make one team have the highest sensitivity and the other team the lowest.
    However Ghosts can get boring if you play it like an other Call of Duty, some games require a small amount of creativity to enjoy it.
    In the end it get a reasonable score of 6 or a 5.
    Expand
  82. Jul 17, 2014
    1
    got this game for 10 bucks off ebay and ill say it, i over paid. its a tired, regurgitated game thats just plane boring. poor game play, poor extras, poor multiplayer. over all its not worth a buy. borrow from a friend if have to play it but DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!!!
  83. Jul 16, 2014
    0
    this game sucks. activision infinity ward trearch wants your money that is about it. open your eyes to the bs you fan boy pricks. just because call of duty was good doesnt mean every single one actually is dum as bichs
  84. Jul 16, 2014
    6
    for all you people out there rating it two and zero you are right and wrong. the single player is average but not as bad as say cod 3 but that is not saying much. the multi player is the same friggin thing again extinction is intresting enough and i found myself ingnoring squads after a while. and the game has some outdated visuals sometimes ghosts a 2013 release looks worse than mw3 afor all you people out there rating it two and zero you are right and wrong. the single player is average but not as bad as say cod 3 but that is not saying much. the multi player is the same friggin thing again extinction is intresting enough and i found myself ingnoring squads after a while. and the game has some outdated visuals sometimes ghosts a 2013 release looks worse than mw3 a 2011 release. all in all ghosts is average it is not the worst cod ever but it is not the best one either. and the facial animations are awful. and the multiplayer learning curve is way too high. if you want a good cod game from IW get cod 4 or mw2 those are better games and are worth more of your time than ghosts Expand
  85. Jul 11, 2014
    3
    This is not in my opinion ,"The Worst Call Of Duty". This is a another Call of Duty for 60 dollars that everyone hates but this is maybe one of the cheapest excuse from a company that has allot of talent. The Campian is a sad excuse the ending is a cheap cut from a bad movie like Far Cry or Max Payne. The Muitiplayer is god awful no the maps are too big I can see that it's for "Next Gen"This is not in my opinion ,"The Worst Call Of Duty". This is a another Call of Duty for 60 dollars that everyone hates but this is maybe one of the cheapest excuse from a company that has allot of talent. The Campian is a sad excuse the ending is a cheap cut from a bad movie like Far Cry or Max Payne. The Muitiplayer is god awful no the maps are too big I can see that it's for "Next Gen" but at least make an point saying that it would be difficult but that's a poor excuse. The Graphics are terrible World at War had better graphics then this. It I would Rate this it would be really a D because I had fun for the first two days at least but it made laugh allot . Expand
  86. Jul 7, 2014
    2
    Oh my god this game sucks.. Cod started downgrading after MW2 and led to this.. campaign sucks..Multiplayer maps are huge and designed for camping making this game impossible to enjoy.
  87. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Let's be honest, this is not the best Call of Duty, but it is better than most people will say it is. The campaign is good, the multiplayer is good, extinction is good, but not many things are truly great about ghosts.

    In multiplayer the guns kill fast simply because the hit detection is nearly perfect, something that was not existent in other games in this franchise. The maps are
    Let's be honest, this is not the best Call of Duty, but it is better than most people will say it is. The campaign is good, the multiplayer is good, extinction is good, but not many things are truly great about ghosts.

    In multiplayer the guns kill fast simply because the hit detection is nearly perfect, something that was not existent in other games in this franchise. The maps are bigger, which was a risk that didn't necessarily work. There are also lots of flank routes. Another risk that is helpful and yet annoying at the same time. Cranked is a fun anti camp tdm variant and blitz is a ctf variant, each of these bring a new element to the previous game modes. The DLC has some re-skinned maps, which is fine with me. There are plenty of gun camos that you can buy and some are worth the money. There are new voice packs, new customizable player models, new game modes and smooth online matches with little lag. The multiplayer is up to par in this game.

    Extinction is not my favorite, just a zombies spin of, but it can be fun to play on occasion.

    The campaign is one to play through that you will enjoy, but it is not worth replaying.

    Squads is something I personally love. Yes, playing bots is boring, but there is one game mode hidden away in the squads menu I will recommend to anyone. This is safeguard. There have been survival modes in cod before, but something about this one is better. Putting it in words will not do safeguard justice, just play the mode with three or friends and you will see how fun it can be.

    Ghosts is a under rated game, but some of the hate it gets is for good reason. Some textures are below average, extinction is below expectations, but the multiplayer modes are definitely good enough to last until the next game of this franchise
    Expand
  88. Jul 5, 2014
    5
    I have been a long time Call of Duty fan, all the way from the beginning. With that being said, I will have to say that the current game, Call of Duty Ghosts, has made an enormous plummet in the series. While the graphics are amazing as always, and the campaign is great, the multiplayer aspect of the game has lost its edge. I feel that the developers have attempted too hard to add featuresI have been a long time Call of Duty fan, all the way from the beginning. With that being said, I will have to say that the current game, Call of Duty Ghosts, has made an enormous plummet in the series. While the graphics are amazing as always, and the campaign is great, the multiplayer aspect of the game has lost its edge. I feel that the developers have attempted too hard to add features (in hopes to prevent people from crying that this game is only an expansion pack), and focused less on game play.

    I am all about "If it ain't broken, don't fix it" approach. While it is definitely important to update the game to keep it from feeling repetitive, it's also important to make sure to not steer too far away from what makes a game to be part of the franchise. While playing Ghosts, I feel that I am not playing Call of Duty anymore, but a knockoff wannabe.

    The developers need to revisit the core aspects of CoD 4: Modern Warfare, and go from there.
    Expand
  89. Jul 5, 2014
    3
    This Game is pure trash…. I love COD, but this is definitely NOT COD. The Story is pure trash.
    The multiplayer is the most boring thing since… I don't know to remember such a boring thing.
    The game probably was made for 6 year olds?
  90. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    at first this game was decent at best. unfortuneantly things like an abismal amount of lag, campers, and the most annoying thing i have ever seen in a call of duty, IED's, have made this game go spiraling downhill. There is no sense in gun balance. i only see about 4 or 5 guns being used at any time. I will say that the graphics are very good on the xbox one but more or less the same asat first this game was decent at best. unfortuneantly things like an abismal amount of lag, campers, and the most annoying thing i have ever seen in a call of duty, IED's, have made this game go spiraling downhill. There is no sense in gun balance. i only see about 4 or 5 guns being used at any time. I will say that the graphics are very good on the xbox one but more or less the same as cod 4 on the 360. There is nothing innovative about this game it is just recycled ideas from previous titles. Black ops 2 is by far the best call of duty i have played and is far superior to this. I will also say that because of how dissapointing this game is i will not be getting any call of duty games made by infinty ward anytime soon. At least we have Treyarch... Expand
  91. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    this game was thought to be good but i knew it was bad from the start and guess what it was bad this game sucks becuase ghost as a character sucks and so does infanty ward who almost killed call of duty with this **** piece of a game.
  92. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    This game kept me entertained for a little bit until I started to play online. It's just... How do I put this... Bland. It felt like a sequel more than a new game. All the maps are really big which I dislike and the Campaign doesn't have much depth. Now the good parts. The guns are amazing. I loved there choices for the guns and I did have fun on some maps. The Campaign doesn't have muchThis game kept me entertained for a little bit until I started to play online. It's just... How do I put this... Bland. It felt like a sequel more than a new game. All the maps are really big which I dislike and the Campaign doesn't have much depth. Now the good parts. The guns are amazing. I loved there choices for the guns and I did have fun on some maps. The Campaign doesn't have much depth but it is fun for the shortness that it is. If you want this game just for the Campaign DO NOT GET IT. If you want it for online, okay get it just don't expect it to be like Modern Warfare 2.

    Call of Duty: Ghosts gets a 6/10
    Expand
  93. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Call of Duty Ghosts was great fun but I think the Ghosts Hacks like these caused an issue with the game. If the new game isn't any better I'm not sure what I'll do.
  94. Jun 12, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My PROS and CONS list about how I feel about Call of Duty: Ghosts
    Pros:
    - 60 FPS Goodness on Current Gen Platforms
    - Soldier Customization
    - Next Gen COD Engine
    - Squads mode behave like real COD players
    - Extinction Mode
    - The Graphics brings back that MW2 feeling on Current Gen only
    Cons:
    - The Campaign is dull and did a lazy job on creating a narrative on COD Ghosts
    - That copy and paste scene pissed me off
    - Multiplayer makes you rage a lot when a dude shoots you out of nowhere
    - Too much large maps makes this game very slow, I prefer fast paced maps as MW2 or BO2 please!
    - The same devs of COD from MW3 shows up and f#cks up the Infinity Ward COD Franchise again...
    - Infinity Ward doesn't feel like Infinity Ward to me no more.
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is the best casual shooter on the Current Generation consoles but it doesn't suit very well on Next Gen when it comes to the lack of Story, the repetitive multiplayer and the quality of the game. Still the graphics and the 60fps in this game is a surprise though..!
    Expand
  95. Jun 11, 2014
    4
    When I first got the game out and started playing I enjoyed it. About a week later it was boring as explict. The game just became boring after a while. Not only was it getting boring people started to use the same gun. Over and over after I got killed they were all using the same gun. Now im not gonna say the specific gun name but, all I know is that it was OP and everyone used it.
  96. Jun 7, 2014
    6
    The game itself isn't too bad, but the people who play online are the problem. You go into a room and most of the time you would get sprayed down by someone sitting in the corner. People generally only use the over powered guns. You rarely encounter any snipers in the game.

    I like extinction though and it I think they should look at adding more stuff to that. In my opinion, it is an
    The game itself isn't too bad, but the people who play online are the problem. You go into a room and most of the time you would get sprayed down by someone sitting in the corner. People generally only use the over powered guns. You rarely encounter any snipers in the game.

    I like extinction though and it I think they should look at adding more stuff to that.

    In my opinion, it is an improvement on black ops 1 and 2 and mw3
    Expand
  97. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Eh, the game is okay, Black ops 2 was A LOT better than this. The campaign was cool, but after a while it just got super BORING. I mean I thought this was a stealthy game after the trailer, but then I realized it was just like any other call of duty, just running and gunning. The multiplayer in here is just to berserk, I mean there are so many corners and turns, that no matter what you doEh, the game is okay, Black ops 2 was A LOT better than this. The campaign was cool, but after a while it just got super BORING. I mean I thought this was a stealthy game after the trailer, but then I realized it was just like any other call of duty, just running and gunning. The multiplayer in here is just to berserk, I mean there are so many corners and turns, that no matter what you do you ARE going to get shot. And your health in the game is pretty dang pathetic, not to mention the QUICKSCOPERS. My gosh, just stop making snipers seriously just stop, and then you won't have to worry about that. Extinction was a nicely done job, that's probably why this game isn't in the negatives, the story is pretty well set out, but the game play is just to dang impossible, I mean who's idea was it to make it so hard it is unbeatable to most people. Would recommend this? No not really, it was good, but not worth the 120$ that I paid for it. I really liked call of duty 4 modern warfare, I liked the whole modern warfare series. This just kind of made me lose everything I liked in call of duty, I mean seriously, make something new, don't just make the same thing YEAR after YEAR. It get's really boring playing the same thing again and again, just paying more money for it. Seriously, do something creative, I've about had it with this crap. And I am pretty sure that "Advanced Warfare" is going to have the same thing in it. Expand
  98. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    before people come and hate on my score i want to make something clear, i am not a cod "fanboy" i rarely play cod games. so ghosts starts as a usual war game there is a war between usa and the federation which actually got me picked in because i aint fighting rusia or middle east people (looking at you mw3)
    i am fighting south-american people (im half brazilian so i got kinda mad but not
    before people come and hate on my score i want to make something clear, i am not a cod "fanboy" i rarely play cod games. so ghosts starts as a usual war game there is a war between usa and the federation which actually got me picked in because i aint fighting rusia or middle east people (looking at you mw3)
    i am fighting south-american people (im half brazilian so i got kinda mad but not that much) the story is (by the first time in cod history (since mw1-mw2) pretty good, i liked the characters and the way of the performance each of one did and i kinda played the story in a spree (lastly did on mw2) because it is good and actually makes me feel good/bad about the characters, let me tell you that the villain is a super a$$h0L and makes me wanna kill him so dam bad but careful because i do not want my squad killed (riley too he is a dam good dog) but at the end i just felt a bit unsatisfied (*SPOLIER* well not actually because the end is a f0k!ng cliffhanger)
    multiplayer: oh boy here is the hard part i will just sum it up
    the multiplayer brings something fresh but bad at the same time, big maps ? horrible, bad and a FaZe wannabe battleground, weapons are kinda balanced but you need to play OptIC style to figure it out
    extinction: not bad but not the best boring 50% and good 50% so its a 5/10 for me
    overall dont trust the battlefield fanboys that hate this game, gta zombies hatin and overall the usual trolls
    if you are looking for a decent/good story then buy it and if you are looking for aliens hard to beat and working together then buy it anything else it is up to you
    Expand
  99. May 21, 2014
    0
    They need a major update 1. It just feels so wrong the story is good but the multyplayer is just trash. 2. Why are these maps so big 3. Why is it that you left out one of the best game modes for example (all or nothing, and MITD. Last 4. ITS JUST A GAME TO BE EXPLOITED WITH WORTHLESS DLC 3 DOLLARS FOR A TRASH CAMO ITS MUST MONEY W******G
  100. May 17, 2014
    9
    Underated game.
    very good looking
    excellent shooting
    nice story and missions
    fun and entertaining

    come on... that user score.. really? COME ON
    if you're getting bored with fps games, try something different !
  101. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    It's just poor, the game itself lack of immersion, It's always just about the same multiplayer and a throw-in singleplayer, the story script is just cheesy, the whole game feels cheesy, the character animation are over used since many many years ago, such a game isn't really bad at first, but after al these years, seiously, we are tired of it
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    64
    It's strange for Call of Duty: Ghosts to be released so close to the next-gen console launches, and in a way, it feels like it was rushed to the finish line.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    If a deep and compelling single player experience is what you crave, look elsewhere. If you just want to get online and go up against the world, then join the hordes of ghosslings already invading your online network of choice.
  3. Nov 25, 2013
    72
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a good game but something feels missing.