User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2466 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    My friend and I used to play spec ops and took turns playing the multiplayer...All I could say was EPIC. Diss me as much as you want, but this is my opinion. The multiplayer had some disgusting servers with several lags within them, but they worked out fine. Yes, the noobtubers and campers are the bed bugs in this case, but ignore them; either God or Karma's gonna kick their ass. The controls are smooth and silky as well as the weapons and their sounds. The campaign is kinda out of the topic, but spec ops is very entertaining especially when aided by a friend. A lot of missions completed, a lot more to go. Overall a great must-play game that definitely deserves its title. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Admittedly very little has changed since the first Modern Warfare but at the time the Call of Duty formula still remained fresh. For me the heavily scripted campaign is not quite a match for the original but to this day I would argue that it contains the best selection of multiplayer maps of any game in the series. Add in an excellent selection of co-op missions and you have an excellent overall package.

    The series has come it for a lot of (somewhat justified) criticism but there is a reason it has become so popular.
    Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    The most awesome game in every single aspect on the CoD series . The gameplay is very smooth,the story is a little hard to follow but Epic , the multiplayer is addictive as coca-cola,the special ops is great for offline users not the best iteration but nice. The maps on the multiplayer are very well designed.
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    By far the most fun I've had on an FPS. This game hasn't been thought through properly like Black Ops- as evident by the extremely flawed multiplayer. But if you're playing with friends and can see through the imbalances, it is very fun, fast-paced action which is rewarding however you play it. Single player is not as good as CoD4, but Spec Ops makes up for it. In contrast to Black Ops, this is enjoyable when you do even slightly well. But when you join a laggy game and there's people with SPAS-12 and chopper gunner spawn trapping you on Scrapyard, feel free to dashboard and break the disc. As an experience this game beats all other shooters. But the enjoyment is short-lived. The only thing that kept me playing for 14 days online is playing with people I know rather than on my own. When you're in a team, it's fine. Otherwise it's just frustrating. The same goes for Spec Ops. While it is very well done, the experience is greatly enhanced when played co-operatively. The campaign is good but not one of my favourites. Spec Ops is a better rendition of the campaign. Overall, this is an extremely fun and immersive shooter, but it's not the one I'd happy to spend playing much on my own. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    MW2 continues the great story telling experience of CoD4, but greatly expands the multiplayer landscape, making Modern Warfare 2 perhaps the best FPS experience of its time. Levels are a bit bigger, more playlists are available, tons of cool killstreaks are available and the level designs are some of the best & most interesting to launch with a game. It's hard to imagine how good this game would be if it were "perfect", but the good news is it doesn't have to be. I could warrant a "10" on this game if it carried dedicated servers and could push the graphics envelope a bit more, but in the end these would only push the experience a bit further. Sans dedicated servers, this game plays well online almost all of the time, and I can only think of Halo 2 when considering a game I've put this much online time in, ever. Like CoD4, MW2 is a must-play for fans of the series and fans of the FPS genre as a whole. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    So fun with friends. Late night games back in '09. Those were the days. After Modern Warfare 3 came out, I really appreciated MW2 and even Black OPS and how much better they are than the new game. This deserves a 10 for sucking a lot of my hours .
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    While it didn't innovate that much it's still a great game the campaign it short but intense the spec ops mode is actually very well done the multiplayer is still very addictive and the new killstreaks add some more depth but they are a bit stupid. The graphics were updated and so was the engine. There are lots of new guns and equipment and some really good characters (Ghost) but it just wasn't suppoted after release the glitches and the hackers Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Game that actually has had a huge impact on me for once!! This game would be a ten if it didn't have it's noticable flaws, but nonetheless this game is one of the best games of all-time and one that I still play!!
  9. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 shatters the old standard of excellence and has raised the bar for what it means to be an epic shooter. With a mind-shattering campaign, superb co-op play, and the deepest multiplayer experience on Live, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the greatest shooters in gaming history, and a must-own for fans of the genre.
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    It's probably the best Call of Duty game yet, tops the first Modern Warfare in every way. Even though multiplayer seems to be where it's at for everyone, I however very much enjoyed its single player campaign the most. It's a highly entertaining epic war-field. Loved it.
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    MW2 is a great game, the single player campaign is entertaining and the multiplayer is awesome. The single player campaign is great although with a tears in it but still worth 6 hours of your time and then the multiplayer is addicting, you can do so much that the fun never stops. Special Ops is a nice feature as well because it is thrilling to see how many stars you can earn and will definately entertain. Overall, MW2 is a great game, it keeps the elements of MW 1 that made it so great but throws in its own elelments to make itself unique. Breakdown for Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2: Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 9.7, Sound: 9.6, Playability: 9.5, Entertainment Value: 9.8. Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Best Call of Duty game in the franchise!!! At least this is better than the stupid Call of Duty Black Ops . The fun thing about this game is the multiplayer and Spec Ops which is very addicting. The Campaign is really fun too 10/10.
  13. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Oh dear, users below are so wrong. There's nothing wrong with the game. It's perfect. If the unparalleled online multiplayer experience wasn't enough, you have the awesome (but short) campaign, and a kick-ass co-op mode (Special Ops). There's no reason to not buy this game. I run multiplayer with the wireless adaptor and rarely experience lag.. There are obviously PS3 fanboys at work below.
  14. May 22, 2011
    9
    I think that it's a little obvious that the first half of the beginning user critics page is nothing more than a bunch of raging kids who are upset because they cannot win by camping on this game's multiplayer. My only response is that I'm glad that you hate this game, because judging by the way that I guarantee you play, I hate you too. This review is obviously more than a year late and I realized that I just had to write my piece on this phenomenal shooter. Call me a COD nuthugger or whatnot, but when you discard your flaming nerd rage and begin to see clearly, you realize that this really is the top notch pinnacle of military shooters in modern gaming. And yes, it far exceeds Battlefield in almost every aspect. To start, the single player is most definitely and undeniably short, ranging in the neighborhood of about 3 hours or so. But those 3 hours are so remarkably jaw-dropping that it somehow forces you after completion to return to the first level and do it all over again. The voice-acting is tremendously well done, and the graphics, even by today's standards, are simply fantastic. The storyline is extremely believable and the campaign contains some of the most exciting set pieces and action sequences that I have ever witnessed in a shooter. From the very beginning stage, all the way up until the final firefight, I was completely mesmerized at the attention to detail the developers gave this game. The intense gunfights that take place on U.S. soil left me completely wowed, and never once was there a stale moment on the campaign. The Spec Ops co-op mode is a great addition to play through with a friend, providing a host of exciting short missions to blast through. Moving on to what really amazes me is the multiplayer. Every time that I enter another match, it reminds me that this really is the king of all first person shooters. The hit markers are near flawless, aiming is extremely smooth and tight, and the arsenal of weaponry is about as close to completely balanced as you can get. Most of the maps are fantastic, save for a few camper-oriented ones that I veto on sight. The sheer amount of perks, upgrades, weapon attachments, and challenges to unlock is almost overwhelming, and never ceases to be addicting. There is literally always something to keep playing towards to unlock. The newly added unlockable titles from the first game always has me working towards something new, and the emblems as well are a pure blast to unlock. The game keeps track of a huge array of statistics, ranging from obvious headshots of a gun, all the way to the number of times you killed someone with a direct flashbang impact. However, there are still some things that should be tweaked, such as the Danger Close perk and Commando perk, which are both noob-friendly and overpowered. I am a LEGIT level 70 tenth prestige, so I believe I have enough experience to voice my opinion on this. Also, the UMP45 could use a little toning down in terms of damage, accuracy, recoil, or anything else associated with it. The killstreaks are absolutely revolutionary, since you have wannabes such as Medal of Honor and Black Ops that straight up copied the majority of them. The amount of noob campers that are crying about how trashy this game is have absolutely no idea what they're talking about, and are simply there to hate because this game is so popular. And it's popular for good reason too: it's the best military shooter on the market without a doubt. Even though the game infuriates me to no end (at times), I just take a step back and tell myself that despite all of my irrational rage, it's still the best there is, and I know that I'll go back to playing it the next day. And since the game is at a much lower price at the present, you cannot go wrong with this purchase if you enjoy military shooters or shooters in general. Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a step up from the original in every way, and given MW1 was a sexy fps beast, that really is saying something. The graphics have become much sleeker and maintain a certain sheen absent from previous Call of Duty games, gameplay has become a much smoother experience, and the new maps, weapons and slightly re-worked perks in multiplayer give the game a heightened sense of balance. The campaign is hard to put up compared to MW1, but aside from that, the best in the series, with several F^CK YEAH! moments and more than enough heart-tugging, emotional surprises, a reunion with a lost friend and the death of two others, plot-wise, still brilliant, Infinity Ward's writing is really coming into its own. Special Ops is fiendishly difficult, but in a challenging way, rather than in a "Mega Man" way (you don't feel like blowing your brains out after a half-hour of play) and will keep you and a friend coming back for months and months until you've collected all 69 (lol) stars. The Multiplayer is also an improvement, more maps, more weapons, more perks (and pro perks) and a vast array of tactics to choose from, all of which award the player in accordance with their difficulty, a Call of Duty game topped only by its sequel Expand
  16. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This can be interpreted as good or bad, but I finished the short but sweet campaign in nearly one day (not a continous day, I just played for around five hours that day). The multiplayer tries to bring new things but ultimately it becomes unbalanced, but theres no doubt that its a lot of fun. Highly recommended, but treat it like a Bond film, think about it and you won't like it (why does every faction have an arsenal of nuclear missiles?...).
    Just a word of advice however, avoid the PC version. If you have an Xbox 360/PS3 and a high-end PC, and MW2 is $100 on the Xbox 360/PS3 but $2 on the PC, I would still recommend you get the console version over the PC version.
    Expand
  17. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    this game is good. the campaign was excellent with epic story and excellent plot twists and gameplay. as for the multiplayer, it is alot like the previous cod games, but with new killstreaks and perks, it keeps you hooked. There are still many bad things with this game like boosters, cheap perk combinations, stuff like that. but this is not game breaking as this is a truly excellent gmae.
  18. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Pretty decent game when it came out. Overall its still better than Mw3, Blops 1 and 2. I hate how comanys make something new and then make a Triplet called Mw3 with the same Engine and Graphic as Mw2 and we call it 2.5 not 3. I hate how they make this game Mw2, a awesome game and ruin it 2 years later.
  19. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    My personal favourite Call of Duty title. A step up from Call of Duty 4 in most ways, but that also means its relative simplicity is lost in the process. Singleplayer is short but full of action and set pieces, before everyone got bored to death of them. Special ops is a simple timesplitters esque challenge mode for coop play. Multiplayer is still buggy to this day, but my oh my, when its played as it should there will never be an experience as fun or action packed as this. Highly doubt that Ghosts will surpass the game Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    MW2 is the most realistic and intense shooter I have ever played, more so even than the first game. The story takes place just a year or so after the first game's ending. The fury that consumed Russia has been restarted by a new insurgent, and as the game unfolds his terrible plan comes to fruition. If you haven't played the game yet then I won't spoil it for you, but I can tell you that much of the setting is far more domestic then in the first game. Prepare for shock and awe as what you never thought could ever happen happens. The gameplay is virtually unchanged from that of the first game. There are some new abilities like tactical missiles, but that's about it. Multiplayer is much the same in this regard. There are some new variants and playlists, but not much that different to speak of. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and definitely recommend it to all shooter gamers. Expand
  21. May 14, 2012
    10
    Just simple awesome the campaign is so so so so so good
  22. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Nothing short of an FPS Wonder, MW2 Truely delivers a unique sense that only its predecessor (Modern Warfare) can match. With heart stopping, adrenaline pumping single player, A new and unique Co-Op Spec Ops mode, and an online mode fit for the king of modern FPS, with a wealth of ranks, unlockables and experiences. MW2 is a wonder of video games, and is sure to sit there for a long time.
  23. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    This game is simply world class. In my opinion it's the best call of duty game ever. The campaign may be short but is still great and the multiplayer is also fantastic, simply the best.
  24. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Time and time again i say that this is the definitive CoD game that set the standard for all the future Call of Duties. Excellent campaign, great multiplayer with a variety of maps, and a very fun and addictive Special Ops mode which if played by the right people, can create hours upon hours of gameplay to get all the stars. If you were to buy and play only one Call of Duty, make it Modern Warfare 2. Expand
  25. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Don't know how this game could get a 6.1 but Modern warfare 2 is easily the best call of duty game of all time. Til this day I still prefer playing MW2 than any other CoD game. CoD Ghosts has nothing on MW2. Infinity should have kept west and zampella. Titanfall will be CoD's downfall.
  26. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good single player. A bit short but good. Despite the airport massacre mission. Spec Ops has lots of nice missions. Graphics are very good for 2009 but acceptable as of today. Multiplayer is as addictive as other games. Forget about the negative reviews and Ghosts! Go and buy this! Expand
  27. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    A whole lot of content to be seen here, from the guns and the perks this game has great gameplay plus great lasting appeal. I also like it cause my dad plays it sometimes and I love watching him get his butt kicked online.
  28. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  29. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    My review for the last good call of duty game. SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. carries on from COD 4, great moments with a lot of twists and turns. but it is short GRAPHICS: 8.5/10. improved graphics from COD 4, but no significant differences. still not bad looking, though SOUND: 8/10. good quality, but nothing outstanding MULTIPLAYER: 9.25/10. take COD 4, and improve it in every way. brilliant. didn't work so well for MW2-3
    GAMEPLAY: 9/10. 60 FPS, tight controls, few glitches, and good maps. what else could you ask for?
    FUN FACTOR: 8.75/10. fun game, but won't change haters minds
    TOTAL: 9/10
    Expand
  30. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Ok yes I know there is one highly controversial mission but you can skip it if you want to so I'm not including it in my review
    Also yes I know you can call this game overrated but it it still a very solid game.
    So: call of duty MODERN WARFARE 2 or at least that's what my game-box says. Whilst the single player isn't quite as good as COD 4 it is still very well paced and intriguing with
    in my opinion the best Call of Duty villain in the whole series to be found in Vladimir Makarov. Also I like the way the ending of COD 4 causes severe problems for the protagonists in this game. Whilst the setpieces can get a little too IN YOUR FACE!!! it doesn't get as bad as later instalments. Also there are some great twists which I didn't see coming. This game also has a lot of commentary on wars and opposing philosophies as well as showing what effects the loss of soldiers can have of commanders. It's also a shame that the sequel really doesn't have much payoff for the ending of this game (But that's another review). However a couple of things don't really make sense in this game's campaign but I can suspend my disbelief.
    Finally multiplayer is really fun and balanced and Spec Ops adds an interesting couple of missions in.
    In conclusion whilst not reaching the perfection of COD 4 this game is still really good and definitely gets a recommendation.
    Expand
  31. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    8/10
    This game deserves that, but there are too many trolls in the comments giving this game zeroes that i have to give it a 10. the single player was short but sweet, as with spec ops. the multiplayer had the potential to be the best in the series, with great maps and guns, but the community ruined it by using cheap tactics. search and destroy was extremely fun though because of the
    other people and the crazy times you had. Expand
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This is one of my favourite multiplayer games. It love it. I had huge amounts of fun playing with my friends and what not. Did you know that I hate Call of Duty? I love Halo. But MW2 was one of my favourite games. You should also know that I gave MW3 a 0. It is nothing like MW2.
  33. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think its a great bad-ass game that, even though it doesn't really innovate the series or the genre, but it is driven by a great and polemic, worst-case scenario plot. It also has a very short campaign and at times you get bored just shooting at Russians and makes you wonder what the level designers were doing or if they were doing anything at all. But I almost didn't notice because the writers did such a good job I just wanted to know what was gonna happen next. The controls are easy-flowing, the action is great, and the characters are awesome which is why I think this game is at the same level of the first game. Expand
  34. cfh
    Jun 28, 2012
    9
    I don't know why people are so down on this game. I mean, when the Call of Duty series first got popular when MW2 came out. I think it's a great game. Really good Campaign that was very suspenseful. The Spec Op Mission are great to, they have modified missions from the Campaign and other missions, too. Xbox Live is fun, with a variety of guns, maps, killstreaks, and modes. At the end of the Campaign they have a level called 'Museum' where there are a bunch of guns in glass cases and key levels from the campaign on display. If you push the button on the desk that says 'do not press' the figures will come alive and kill you. You can play co-op on Spec Ops and split screen where you kill the other person you are playing with. The co-op is not as good as Black Ops or MW3 but it is still fun. If you are thinking of buying MW3 and don't have MW2; buy MW2 first so you kind of know the storyline. I just think MW2 is a great game. Expand
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Campaign was intense and very epic even if it was a bit short. Multiplayer was a mind-blowing experience.Spec Ops was awesome, The variety of missions from stealth missions to time trials are absolutely amazing. The graphics are very realistic and very awesome Amazing Game
  36. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 was honestly... Overrated... The campaign was fun, but if you use human logic, half of the things that they do to perform their job are impossible: such as waiting till an enemy isn't looking so you can shoot the other one standing three feet away from him. The only reason the campaign was any fun was the fact that I now know what happens after the first flunk in the Modern Warfare series. Spec Ops was a whole different issue... The producers apparently didn't know that two US Army Rangers cannot take down the whole Russian SWAT Force. (Me and friends laughed for days over their stupidity.) Most of the missions were overrated, but more than that: all of the missions were edited from the main story line and then put in like they were gonna be speechlessly better, a BIG fail on the producers part.

    Another reason I got this game was for the multiplayer. I tried to have fun with it, but when you find out just how bad the anti-cheat system is for Xbox LIVE you will go nuts. A casual, everyday multiplayer match goes as the following: Spawn, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, aim, shoot, sprint, sprint, knife, knife, throw a grenade through a random window, knife, and so on. Activision didn't focus on making the multiplayer combat realistic, it's too fast, too confusing, and overall just plain annoying. Quick-scoping, no-scoping, random "noob-tubes" were very annoying, and didn't keep the multiplayer action enjoyable for me.

    Overall, I think Activision got themselves a hobby of making sloppy games, only suitable for retards who want to cuss each other out on Xbox live day in and day out. (Not to mention all of the **** who like it too. LOL)
    Expand
  37. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I know a lot of people hate this series. However, this was back when this series was actually enjoyable. Despite the hackers, annoying prepubescents, trolls, etc you will always have moments that you will always remember. This game wasn't made for the story it was made for the multiplayer experience. In fact, this is the only game in the entire series where I actually got to the max level without asking my sneaky friend to help me out a bit (hehehehe). Anyhow, go try it out and forget the new Call of Duty's. Expand
  38. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This game has all the ingredients that a shooter-gamer wants. The single-player campaign is an experience which any gamer will enjoy, even though they're not fans of games like this. When campaign finish (and this will happen very soon) you can choose to play alone, with a friend or online the special ops and you will spent a lot of your time in this, I can promise. After this, however, the most interesting part of the game comes with a playing-time that overtake the one of campaign and special ops together and this is the multi-player. I hope that you can play online because this is the special reason that Call Of Duty is famous. Great graphics, sound and gameplay for you to enjoy and a beautiful way for new shooter gamers to love more games like this. Expand
  39. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Almost as good as cod 4. The campaign was amazing and this was by far the best multiplayer. The maps were great and guns were great. No complaints about this game whatsoever. Idfk what this 6.1 bs is about
  40. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    This is the most addictive game i have ever played. Campaign is great and after you have that finished the multiplayer NEVER gets old
  41. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Once you start playing this game online, its hard to play any other, you feel at home when you pick up the controller and barge into the familiar maps, using your custom made classes and skins on your guns, this trilogy has created millions of fan-boys like myself that find this game one of the most entertaining on the market, (except for portal 2)
  42. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    The final true Call of Duty game. Major downsides to this software were the hacked leaderboards and countless cheaters/hackers that played. For some reason IW continues for the most part to ignore these glaring issues. Otherwise a fantastic and addictive game.
  43. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Looking back, this was most likely the most well thought out COD to date. It successfully built on an already great game, while expanding the series to its full potential. As it only the second of its kind, it's hard to categorize it as the "same old annual COD" that the franchise has become today.

    This game provided countless hours of enjoyment, and since the series was far from its
    current popularity, it benefited from a lack of immature children and a-holes, at least during the earlier half of its life. As such, I am also reviewing this game by its audience at the time; it wouldn't matter if a better Call of Duty was released in this generation, as the infuriating, disrespectful and childish audience of today would strongly deteriorate the enjoyment for the old dogs (I mean OLD dogs, as in COD2 & COD3 old). A game is only as good as the experience it delivers, and if this means that a 10/10 games is thrown to the wolves due to the unpleasant experience delivered by whining, excessively aggressive and confrontational players, then that is the rating it will receive.

    Frankly, the end of this game's life cycle marked the beginning of the end for COD in the eyes of many players, despite its gaining popularity, which mostly came from the younger generation.

    The campaign was a masterpiece, this coming from a gamer who has quite honestly despised every COD installment following WaW. The addition of Hans Zimmer for the soundtrack brought the game up many notches, and the Hollywood-style cinematics was somewhat of a first for video games (one which has, at this point, worn out its welcome).

    To wrap things up, this is one Call of Duty that certainly deserves higher than the 6.1 user rating, at least for its time. The 9/10 rating I give it is only contextual to the 2007-2008 time period, and if I were to review it as a new game today (one which follows the crank-out-another-every-year formula) it would snag closer to a 4/10.
    Expand
  44. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    COD designers have said they think a lot of players didn't like the choke points of the map and it made it hard for players to adapt to the style of play they gave, however unlike previous installments of the series the maps followed a formula of choke points on most (not all) maps. The major downfall of the online experience was initially boosting where players boost their stats or for titles, and not everyone was able to catch on to common hiding spots. However, the multiplayer experience gave players a wide range of unique ways to play the game through its perks and weapons. Campaign was on the edge of good but is still mediocre. The main focus of this game is its online play, the ability to have kill streaks count toward another and level up and complete challenges that gave you tags and boards that showed publicly between games in lobbies was fun. From a personal standpoint playing search and destroy on a map with choke points was very fun because you had to strategize with your team on how to capture/defend the objectives. This in combination with choosing different styles of playing the game (yes.. including noobtubes w/ D close) forced players to have to use a competitive mind set to be aware of their position while occasionally rewarded skilled players who could beat the enemy to the trigger made for hours of fresh play. Expand
  45. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    After 2 years this came out I'm still playing the online as I did 2 years ago. Glitches/bugs are in every game, in this one they are just a minunum part. I love this game.
  46. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    There is something perfectly special when it comes to the Multiplayer of Moder Warfare 2. Something exotic. Simply fits my taste. The Singleplayer ist good though.
  47. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    The standard by which all other FPS games should be judged. Infinity Ward nails it as compared to the awful Treyarch COD games. The single player campaign is a little brief, but it's very, very good. The multi-player is awesome. Great maps, great weapons, great graphics, great shot recognition, etc... Awesome!
  48. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    I really enjoyed CODMW2. It has got great graphics and a nice gameplay. The shooting mechanics are awesome. it feels like you are totally immersed in the game and wished it had some more hours of fun, unfortunately, the game is quite short. All in all, it's a great game you'll probably enjoy
  49. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I expected this game to get a lot of negative user reviews. It's an amazing game. The problem is that Modern Warfare 2 is cleverly designed to be an addicting experience. It's like amphetamines. People try it, love it, but as they keep playing it they need more and more to satisfy themselves. People played an obscene amount of it. It's amazing that people played it so much before getting tired of it. The problem is that the people are too stupid to realize that they are just tired of it, and start turning hostile towards the game. If it weren't such an addicting experience, people would get tired of it faster and eventually come back to it and get tired of it again in a comfortable cycle. Instead, they have played it madly every free second of their lives for months on end until they absolutely hate it. Yet they still play it. With that said, I would like to say that it's only logical to acknowledge that the game is extremely well crafted. You can't really go wrong when you have two developers constantly improving and building on such an extensive series. The multiplayer is very fun, although gets a little too hectic and dynamic at times. A lot of things are packed together, jets and helicopters and bombers simultaneously at work. I still find this game to be one of the two best multiplayer experiences one can find in an fps game. As for the campaign, it was awesome. It was a little less believable and a little more hollywoodish than the previous games, but in that actually draws more emotion from the player. It's happy ending brings a certain fact to attention: This game is less a work of art and more a carefully crafted machine picking all the most efficient routes to please the gamer. It wouldn't take the chance of having a less happy ending, it answered to many demands from the cod4 players, and overall seems to be a more superficial game than others. Expand
  50. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    awesome one of the best games ever the story is great but a little bit short i got to admit that i found cod 4 kind of bad but this is just awesome everything is perfect except by online which has some hackers but that is what makes it fun now that is one of the most addicting games of all time if you dislike this game you either a halo ,bad company or half life lover
  51. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    AWESOME game love everything that its about the story is great and the online like wow but it take long to lvl but its cool and i love quick scope and no scope when i was playing game but know Ive moved to BF3 its soooooo much better and funny and offers a lot more then any of the MW s
  52. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's hard to see the majority of people wanting to play any other multiplayer shooter until the next Cod is released, such is the quality of what's on offer here...Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 takes everything that was great about CoD4 and takes it up to the next level. this game has been hyped many people want to buy and play the game you can play many modes in this game there are many in people in the world who like to play call of duty most people play online with other people from around the world there are so many weapons you can unlock as you complete the levels and do all the missions on the game. Then there are people who donâ Expand
  53. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i think that this is great and should at least give it a go. 10/10
  54. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Incredible game from start to finish. People complain about how short the single player is but I think it's fine and the Black Ops thing is really fun, quite a challenge. Still wish they would have a co-op main story play through like Halo. Oh and those people who give this game anything below a 7 like some of the ones I can see from the screen like FlaMinG TaCo or JeffD wow a 2 and a 0 you people and people like you are the reason why User Scores can't be taken with a grain of salt games should be reviewed by graphics, content, controls, and game play. Your review of this game and any other shouldn't even exist because of the sheer ignorance of the creator of them. All the Critics review are all positive so I'm wondering what's wrong you guys. Expand
  55. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best games on Xbox. A breathtaking campaign and a stunning multiplayer. Great graphics with good sound. A brilliant game for Xbox gamers and CoD fans.
  56. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Activision's Modern Warfare 2 sets the new standard for FPS multiplayer. Its looks great, sounds greats, and plays spectacularly. Reasonable balance and fascinating map design keep the multiplayer mode something players can come back to again and again and again to this day. Modern Warfare 2 also revolutionized killstreak design, just one of numerous gameplay mechanics it improved on from its predecessor.
    The campaign is, again, improved from Modern Warfare. It looks great, and some missions even attempt an open-world-esque aesthetic with large open environments that force you to traverse from building to building, defending objectives from enemies that attack from land and air. Again, the campaign has great visual and sound design, and gameplay is varied enough to keep the player entertained. Story is told fairly well, with the most intense climax of any military shooter to date.
    Special Ops, Infinity Ward's answer to the Zombie mode of Word at War, is a standard mission mode. It can only be played with 2 people, something that prevents it from being as silly and "rompy" as zombies. This mode is enjoyable, but nothing more,
    Expand
  57. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    I just got this game and I will admit I am VERY impressed. but there are some bad things if you are a semi good gamer like me you should not play online the players there are EXCELLENT. unless you are an awesome gamer do not play Xbox live. But campaign is fantastic: snowmobile chases, ice climbing. turret manning. sniper missions. It will never get old I think MW 2 is the best COD game ever beside BO2 Expand
  58. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    I had great fun with that review below me, being a 10th prestige yet he/she gives it a 4 which clearly is laughable since he/she has clearly spendt a ridiculous amount of time playing the multiplayer. As for this game it is an absolute blast to play, the single player is short but soo sweet, spec ops is great playing with a friend especially in split screen, and multiplayer is even better. Sure it's not completely balanced but if you get into a match without douchebags the game is probably the most fun you can have in gaming. Expand
  59. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is an amazing game that should be bought by gamers of all types. Many reviewers on here are biased towards the negative, and anything below an 8 is absolutley ridiculous and extremely biased. This game would be a 9.5 in my opinion, but I rounded up for a perfect score of 10.
    Gameplay: The gameplay is unbielevable. I have never played a game that works better on an XBOX
    360 controller than this game. Shooting a gun is so fun it's unreal. pick any gun up in this game and you will have fun shooting it no matter what. The multiplayer is great and balanced but does need some fixing in some areas. Throughout your multiplayer expierience, you will see many different guns because all guns have some pros and cons. There are about 6 different attachments for each primary weapon and about 8 or more camos for each primary weapon. You can earn a TON of challenges that will take you 20 hours of gameplay to achieve all of them. Even after that, you can still have fun and prestige. This game has almost endless replay value. The single player is short but sweet. I got through it in 4 hours on Recruit, 5 hours on Regular, 6 hours on Hardened, and 8 hours on Veteran. Even after that, there is co-op in which you can play solo or with another player online or split-screen. That takes maybe 6 or 7 hours to complete on Regular, and 10 hours to earn all stars. The gameplay is a 10.0
    Presentation: The in-game music never gets old and I say that after playing this game for 2 years. The menu navigation is swift and convenient, and the color scheme is great but simple. Not much else to say, 10.0
    Graphics: This game has smooth visuals and amazing lighting effects. The multiplayer maps have been worked on for hours and it's evident because the visuals are top-notch even out of the map. Single player is even better and there are no bugs or gaps in the graphics at all. The graphics are a 10.0
    Expand
  60. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! hello! Expand
  61. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    It doesn't matter how much controversy revolves around MW2, it's still an awesome game. The short, but awesome campaign, and the really good multiplayer. Even though it has a very short singleplayer and a spec ops that fails to impress, it's still great. Such a shame it was copied and pasted two years later in what became Modern Warfare 3
  62. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game has to be the best new call of duty ever because do you remember all the new editing you could do with your class compared to WAW and Cod 4 this game is bomb the only problem with this game i would have to say is the famas, one man army danger close and maybe shotgun as a side arm but really in real life you could have a shotgun on your back so i think thats ok but mw2 has to be the best COD ever escpecially the b2 airstrike i rembember getting on and holy it was awesome even if it doesn't kill anyone its still sick Expand
  63. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Cannot criticise this game at all, completely enjoy all the game modes and guns. Really easy to understand how to customise classes and I enjoyed the campaign even though it was a bit short. The multiplayer is absolutely outstanding and I bloody love it. Best Call of Duty game so far!
  64. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Un juegazo. Ya estoy esperando modern warfare 3. Yle pongo el 10 por los gilipollas que le ponen un 0. A ver si empezais a aprender a puntuar que si no esto no es serio. Es un juego que envuelve grandes emociones, con una historia bien ligada AUNQUE PREVISIBLE. El online es brutal, ofrece mas de lo mismo pero aumentado. Espero que los zanganos que se dedican a poner ceros y unos se coman una mierda. Expand
  65. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is the game of the decade. The game's deep storyline, which captivates the very thought of the games capacity to generate fun which is in fact endless, is quite different to many other games. It is a mixture of emotions of anger, happiness, revenge and sadness. From the start where you put on a show for a few newcomers, to the end when you save Captain Price, the game is captivating. I believe that this game has the potential to wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition Every single second of campaign had me demanding for the next. The Multiplayer is just revolutionary. It brings a whole new meaning to the word 'multiplayer'. Modes such as Free-For-All and Team Death match, will leave you sitting in front of the television for hours together. Special Ops however was the downfall for the whole game. It to mix up both the multi-pIayer and campaign game modes but, inevitably failed. It still was fun though.

    I believe that this game can overpower any other game that will challenge it. it will wake up other Video game companies and remind them of the competition that they are in. After that, the other video game companies will stop releasing good-for-nothing games and start thinking of games that we actually want, not games that will just make them money. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has the potential to do so.
    Expand
  66. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing this game, including a sad yet accomplished tenth prestige, I feel that I am in a position to properly review this game - much unlike most others who simply give a review of the multiplayer and ignore al other aspects of the game. One of the comments on the page that claims to discover large plot 'holes', however these are only holes in their intellect as they were unable to grasp the high octane storyline. The only hole - and a slight one at that is (Spoiler Alert) when the prisoner is broken out of the Gulag to use as bait for Makarov as he is the only one who will turn Makarov's head turns out to be Price. This is incorrect as Price did not kill Imran Zakhaev - Soap did in Modern Warfare one. Besides this small plot hole the single player is fun and enjoyable although is slightly short, but this is only if you play it on easy and run through the levels whilst not paying proper attention to the story. The special ops section of the game is a new feature to the series of games and is thoroughly enjoyable with a sense of achievement after completing them. However, I believe that the game comes into its own light during multiplayer. Despite clear faults the game was released early - Activision wanted it pushed through where Infinity Ward wanted more time to complete the game fully - and had plenty of bugs that players were able to exploit to get easy kills. The killsteaks are innovative and although there may well be other games that introduced this first but they are on a different level to other games. The tactical nuke - annoying for those who are simply not good at the game and fun for those who are tactical about their play or who work as a team - is a great feature that I enjoy trying to achieve. The perks online can also be frustrating - commando is a normally hated perk but if the player uses this I dont see a problem as they may find your perks as annoying as they are all beneficial to the individual. The spawning system may well be a pain but how is it you would like it to be changed? Being a programmer I understand the difficulty of creating such a system and no matter what way you create it, there will always be people complaining about it. Overall I would say that this is simply one of the best shooter games ever created and although many people find its flaws, look at the critic reviews, not all of them can be wrong can they? Expand
  67. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played with a explosive single player and addictive multiplayer. You may hear that this game is all hype but there is a reason why it is so popular. After investing more time than I would like to mention into it and buying other shooters such as Battlefield 3 and Gears of War 3. I would still highly recommend this game.
  68. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game and i also love quick scoping. If you play PS3 or xbox add me on PS3 I am woodley423 and on xbox i am going to be also woodley423 some time in march 2012so see you when i get it. i will also post a comment saying that i have live.
  69. May 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the best of all of the Call of Duty series. The campaign set the bar for all high-production value FPS games, and in my opinion is still yet to be surpassed. It has great set-piece moments, strong and likable characters that evolve over time, and scenes that stir up genuine emotions. On top of all that, it has the cleanest, most crisp and responsive multiplayer, with the most straightforward and effective killstreak system in the series. The only thing that mars it from perfection is the ridiculously overpowered Danger Close perk, but that isn't as big of a problem with the community that is still playing the game. This one's in my top 10 games of all time (the only other COD in there is the original Modern Warfare). Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Anyone who already has issues with the single-player ‘style’ of IW’s games will still find fault with the scripted, linear experience, but in terms of sheer drama and show-stopping set-pieces accompanied by laser sharp FPS controls, Modern Warfare 2 is your daddy. And that’s without Spec Ops and Multiplayer.