Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8711 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    Hi. I would really appriciate that this gets sent to the creator or who ever conrols cod mw3. I like the game but i am extremely pissed off that we cant use any of the letters on the other screen when making a clan name. Whats the point of having them there if u cant use them. I no way either, i tried spelling my name useing one of the letters from another page and it comes up as beingHi. I would really appriciate that this gets sent to the creator or who ever conrols cod mw3. I like the game but i am extremely pissed off that we cant use any of the letters on the other screen when making a clan name. Whats the point of having them there if u cant use them. I no way either, i tried spelling my name useing one of the letters from another page and it comes up as being illegal? I expect to see them working again soon. Have you forgoten that the game first off is meant for mature audiences, meaning we should be able to spell out anything we want as long as its 4 letters only. Its like youve made it for litle kids now. Second. If you were that made that people found out how to create a glitch or glitches with the clan tage, if it even was a glitch. Why didnt you just block that? Look alot of people are dissapointed that there clan tag has to be so original. So if u understand and care than stop making games that arent originaly meant for kids a kids game. Stop blocking everything like its gonna really effect you. I hope u understand and i really hope you either change the clan tag block. WHoever controls this site needs to send this to whoever cntrols the game. Ill be on everyday to see if i get a message back. my email is Champion432@aol.com. I better see a responce. Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    7
    Giving this game a 0/10 isn't a strong effective opinion, it's brain damage. The gameplay is still very solid, with the typical control scheme being unchanged. The new campaign is filled with fun set pieces but the overall plot is lacking in comparison to Call of Duty 4. The multiplayer is largely unchanged in terms of gameplay,with only minor additions and changes, but the game stillGiving this game a 0/10 isn't a strong effective opinion, it's brain damage. The gameplay is still very solid, with the typical control scheme being unchanged. The new campaign is filled with fun set pieces but the overall plot is lacking in comparison to Call of Duty 4. The multiplayer is largely unchanged in terms of gameplay,with only minor additions and changes, but the game still plays very well. Let me explain how ridiculous the complaints of being the same are. It's very hard to improve gameplay as solid as Call of Duty's and if they had completely reinvented it, you useless haters would be the first ones to be saying "Eh, it's not as good as it used to be. 0/10". Do not bother reviewing anything without any proper perspective. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    7
    Overall not a bad game, just an unpolished attempt at making money by Activision. However, I can't deny that it was fun. Singleplayer was mediocre, I really grew to hate the constant enemy spawning and there weren't any memorable characters like Ghost or Gaz from the previous Modern Warfare games. The story wasn't emotional like Call of Duty 4 nor full of 'oh my God' moments like in ModernOverall not a bad game, just an unpolished attempt at making money by Activision. However, I can't deny that it was fun. Singleplayer was mediocre, I really grew to hate the constant enemy spawning and there weren't any memorable characters like Ghost or Gaz from the previous Modern Warfare games. The story wasn't emotional like Call of Duty 4 nor full of 'oh my God' moments like in Modern Warfare 2 (aside from the massive building getting blown up here and there) and I just didn't care in the end. Environments were bland and monotonous, but as said before, I can't deny that it was fun.
    After Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer was where the Call of Duty series was at. Following past Call of Duty titles, Modern Warfare 3 seems to try to push everything from the singleplayer campaign to the multiplayer in the form of killstreaks, which are as crazy as ever. The multiplayer mode was addictive and I found myself enjoying new modes like Kill Confirmed, but being a PC Battlefield player I found the fact that you don't know where the enemy is half the time and the constant sprinting annoying (I've never not known where the enemy is or needed to sprint for really long distances that much in Battlefield 3 on the PC). However, the multiplayer was a step up from Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops, though it failed to improve on Call of Duty 4 chiefly because of all the gimmicks that as well as being useless were sometimes discouraging. Whenever I got a deathstreak I always thought 'I must be going badly', and I started dying even more.
    So to sum it all up, Modern Warfare 3 is worth a bit of your time, but if you have a decent PC then I'd go with Battlefield 3.
    Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    5
    Ok It has been three months since MW3 was released. I made a review and then I believe it was deleted by Metacritic because it was too harsh. Here's my second attempt. I am giving this game a 5 now, before it was a 3. I will not talk much about the campaign expect those who think the campaign is worth playing are deluded. My first question why are there infinite amount of enemies in allOk It has been three months since MW3 was released. I made a review and then I believe it was deleted by Metacritic because it was too harsh. Here's my second attempt. I am giving this game a 5 now, before it was a 3. I will not talk much about the campaign expect those who think the campaign is worth playing are deluded. My first question why are there infinite amount of enemies in all Call of Duty games, I ran into several spot in the game where I would clear and area of enemies reload and look back to see new enemies magically appear; and repeat and repeat. Other times I was able to go through entire missions without even firing a shot. Why wouldn't Infinity Ward make it so theyâ Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Campaign was very interesting and fun along with a great story. However, the xbox live multiplayer is a completely different story. I have high speed broadband internet connection and always find myself being shot well before I can even move my crosshairs over the opponent. On their killcam, it shows that I was in their field of view for quite sometime but for me less than a second. ThisCampaign was very interesting and fun along with a great story. However, the xbox live multiplayer is a completely different story. I have high speed broadband internet connection and always find myself being shot well before I can even move my crosshairs over the opponent. On their killcam, it shows that I was in their field of view for quite sometime but for me less than a second. This game seems to have terrible lag compensation issues resulting in poor multiplayer gameplay. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2012
    5
    Call of Duty MW3 has barely any difference to its previous titles. Sure new additions like hybrid Scopes and juggernaut suits are welcome, but much of the games core gameplay is starting to show age. MW3 even uses the same old graphics engine. If your a die-hard Duty head you'll be able to put up with it; but for anyone else might I recommend Battlefield 3. For any other game to copyCall of Duty MW3 has barely any difference to its previous titles. Sure new additions like hybrid Scopes and juggernaut suits are welcome, but much of the games core gameplay is starting to show age. MW3 even uses the same old graphics engine. If your a die-hard Duty head you'll be able to put up with it; but for anyone else might I recommend Battlefield 3. For any other game to copy and paste its formula so much it would receive incredibly low scores, but for Call of Duty it different. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    Singleplayer was alright, with some enjoyable parts to it, though it wasn't quite as exhilarating or gripping as MW2, and the crucial points just weren't quite strong enough or dramatic enough. Spec ops is good, I like survival mode rather than zombies, I hate zombies. Multiplayer is both good and bad. I notice that they've done a good job of making the game fairer for everyone, which isSingleplayer was alright, with some enjoyable parts to it, though it wasn't quite as exhilarating or gripping as MW2, and the crucial points just weren't quite strong enough or dramatic enough. Spec ops is good, I like survival mode rather than zombies, I hate zombies. Multiplayer is both good and bad. I notice that they've done a good job of making the game fairer for everyone, which is why the 'good' players are getting unhappy because they don't win all the time. I like the class setups, and how you can have different killstreaks assigned to different classes; nice touch there. However I'm not a huge fan of the failure that is 'extreme conditioning'. Yes I understand no-one can have unlimited sprint realistically, but the amount of sprint extreme conditioning gives is pathetic! I would like to see this buffed up a bit. Also MW3 lacks a few great features from Black Ops, for example combat training: a great way to play the game and enjoy it because you can just set it to easy and relax, and also it's good for those who suffer from terrible internet (e.g Me)! Also Black Ops had way more ways to customise custom game modes, for example you could edit perks' effects, which was awesome.
    Overall this game is good, all the singleplayer is fairly mediocre, they've done a good job of making multiplayer more equal, but the game just lacks that snappiness, that edge that MW2 had which made the gameplay so much faster and action-packed.
    Expand
  8. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    I'll be honest. I play both Battlefield and Call of Duty. I grew up playing CoD. CoD4 was by far the best of the series. It changed everything...then the developers got **** and though they could be lazy and still make a great game. Most of the people that bought it, bought MW2, BO, and MW3 for the hype. MW2 wasn't too bad, but it was horribly unbalanced. Black Ops wasn't unbalanced THATI'll be honest. I play both Battlefield and Call of Duty. I grew up playing CoD. CoD4 was by far the best of the series. It changed everything...then the developers got **** and though they could be lazy and still make a great game. Most of the people that bought it, bought MW2, BO, and MW3 for the hype. MW2 wasn't too bad, but it was horribly unbalanced. Black Ops wasn't unbalanced THAT MUCH but it did have game breaking flaws and I got bored with it after a few weeks. MW3 though...sad but true, this game DOES NOT live up to the hype. The store isn't as good as the previous ones, survival doesn't feel to be such a big change and this could of been DLC for MW2 for $15. The multiplayer...how can I say this? Well...it's not what we all expected. It's not unbalanced as MW2, but it's more unbalanced than Black Ops. The spawn system, after YEARS, is still horrible. The weapons overall are still as easy and powerful as ever. Most, if not all, have perfect accurate and little to no recoil. If you want a challenge, Modern Warfare 3 won't give it to you. The killstreaks, now called point streaks, are unbalanced as well. Some are horrible and require a ridiculously high amount of kills/points to obtain. Some are just TOO DAMN GOOD and TOO DAMN EASY to obtain. You still have the typical Call of Duty players as well. Half of the players will be trying to do 360 no scopes and trick shots or half of the players will be camping on a dark corner. The map design is just bad. Horrible. The sound design is just as bad. You feel like you're shooting a stapler and not a weapon. The game doesn't promote as much teamwork as I thought it would. There's more, but not enough. 70-80% of the players still just go for the kills and don't care about the objective. There's also no dedicated servers. Hundreds of millions of dollars, but yet they can't make dedicated servers. This is how lazy and careless the makers of this franchise are.

    I think the worst thing in the game, well in the series, is the community. It makes me want to puke. The game is supposed to be M for mature and not K for kiddy land. Half of the players are little kids, one third are complete jerks and, excuse my language, complete **** I know every game is bound to have them, but wow. Call of Duty has the worse fanbase in gaming.

    I do play the game once or twice a week, but I'd rather be playing previous Call of Duty titles simply because they added more punch for your buck even though they had an enormous amount of game breaking flaws.

    This game is NOT Mw2.5, but it's NOT Mw3. I give it a 6/10. Does not live up to the hype, developers are lazy and greedy, map design and sound design are horrible, unbalanced, good story line but not better than the previous, slightly more balanced than Mw2 but still unbalanced, community is horrible and last but not least, Call of Duty Elite. Now you can see how greedy these guys are.
    Expand
  9. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    If you are looking for refreshing new game play then this is not the game for you. It feels like a more polished version of older versions with worse maps. Even the new DLC maps weren't very good, I would have rather seen the return of a few favorites to be honest. It is very obvious this game was rushed out of the gate from day 1 and it is pretty evident from a couple of things like theIf you are looking for refreshing new game play then this is not the game for you. It feels like a more polished version of older versions with worse maps. Even the new DLC maps weren't very good, I would have rather seen the return of a few favorites to be honest. It is very obvious this game was rushed out of the gate from day 1 and it is pretty evident from a couple of things like the fact that the model shotgun has an attachments proficiency even though it has no attachments to begin with. Another thing why is there no hardcore free for all when it was such a fan favorite in previous titles, and why did the hardcore team death match not have ricochet (where you can't kill your team mates) from the start when in Black ops they finally decided to add it to stop people from team killing the whole game. Why has it taken so long for them to get Elite up and running like they said they would in regards to clan competitions. Aside from these problems MW3 is one of the most polished shooters on the market and fans of the series will feel right at home. I would just like to see a map pack with more than 1 or 2 maps in it, I know they spread it out so Elite members would feel like they are getting something every month like they promised but even with releasing 1 or 2 maps a month the game is starting to feel stale quick. The campaign was alright if not a bit hard to follow but I defiantly wasn't as impressed with it as I was in the previous two. It is time for us to take a stand as gamers and demand innovation because if they keep selling more of the almost the same game every time they would be stupid to stop. Why improve a game when they can slap a fresh paint of coat on it and break even more sales records than the one before. How about releasing a map pack with 5 favorites from older versions just a sign of good faith to the audience that has supported them from day 1, I think its an insult to people who bought elite to say sorry we haven't made Elite the experience we promised but thanks for your fifty bucks here's a prestige token. The thing is why try to support a game right when you already have the next 5 games to be released underway to be shipped in under a year. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2012
    5
    I managed a 3.0 k/d ratio and hit my 6th prestige before I got bored with this game and traded it in. The game play is as fast and fun as it ever has been. The problem lies in that same concept though. It's more of the same. I could go on and on about this game but this is the bottom line about it: if you are not tired of the previous CoD games, and still find them fun, you are going toI managed a 3.0 k/d ratio and hit my 6th prestige before I got bored with this game and traded it in. The game play is as fast and fun as it ever has been. The problem lies in that same concept though. It's more of the same. I could go on and on about this game but this is the bottom line about it: if you are not tired of the previous CoD games, and still find them fun, you are going to like this game. If you are starting to get tired of the series, this is not going to change your mind. At all.
    To be clear here: I don't even like Battlefield 3. The game tried too hard to be like CoD. The maps for MP are not scaled properly and seem too empty. Neither offering was all that impressive this time around.
    Expand
  11. Feb 14, 2012
    6
    Disappointed, same old game, which is good, but with far less modes to play with, compared to last years cod's, I only recommend it to hardcore Call of Duty fans or 1st person shooters gamers. If you are not one of these, you may as well stay away from it and play something else.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    Call of Duty seems to have an inverse relationship between sales and gameplay. The better the sales, the more basic the gameplay. Gone are the expansive maps that offered strategic gameplay. There is not even a need for sniper rifles in the multiplayer because the maps are boxed off into small areas. I'm going to take a pass on the next one. The game is just overhyped and over marketed. ICall of Duty seems to have an inverse relationship between sales and gameplay. The better the sales, the more basic the gameplay. Gone are the expansive maps that offered strategic gameplay. There is not even a need for sniper rifles in the multiplayer because the maps are boxed off into small areas. I'm going to take a pass on the next one. The game is just overhyped and over marketed. I purchased 3 of the elite versions because 2 of my sons and I used to like playing multiplayer with each other. It's good for running and gunning but that gets boring on these maps. I also think that Activision's money grab is going to force future releases to require external activation like the elite to bypass XBOX Live. That was a complete disaster and ruined my experience. It was a real hardship to register and I couldn't for a month. What did Activision do? Give an extra 30 days, no consideration for the grief of their customers. They should have given 90 days or an equivalent compensation. This forces me to give them a goose egg. I still feel bitter about it. Expand
  13. Apr 17, 2012
    6
    This is a RENT for the single player experience in my opinion. The campaign, while containing some plot point that I personally did not care for, was enjoyable. All the mechanics of the series that you loved, such as slow-mo breaching, vehicular rail shooting, and sometimes stealthy, but mostly guns blazing action are back in this installment. Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Studios' specThis is a RENT for the single player experience in my opinion. The campaign, while containing some plot point that I personally did not care for, was enjoyable. All the mechanics of the series that you loved, such as slow-mo breaching, vehicular rail shooting, and sometimes stealthy, but mostly guns blazing action are back in this installment. Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Studios' spec ops survival mode is an interesting answer to the zombies mode brought to us by Treyarch. The spec ops missions and the multiplayer maps may as well have been a DLC pack for Modern Warfare 2. The guns may have been retooled a bit (also knifing is best it's ever been), but it is largely the same experience, even down to the titles and emblems you can earn. The content is largely recycled from previous games, which would have been alright if it were mixed in with an appropriate amount of new unlockables. Overall though I would stick with Black Ops or Modern Warfare 2 for your multiplayer experience. Expand
  14. May 14, 2012
    7
    It's call of duty, nothing has changed. While there is no innovation besides a survival mode(zombies are better) you can't completely bash a game because nothing has changed especially if the thing that didn't change was good. The online play got stale pretty fast. However, the class making is perfected now. The spawning online is terrible. You will find yourself spawning in the worstIt's call of duty, nothing has changed. While there is no innovation besides a survival mode(zombies are better) you can't completely bash a game because nothing has changed especially if the thing that didn't change was good. The online play got stale pretty fast. However, the class making is perfected now. The spawning online is terrible. You will find yourself spawning in the worst places because your team-mates are there. Just saying not all team-mates are smart. I find myself picking two people who know what they are doing and go together. The story is full of hard to follow, but fun game-play. Total time invested STORY: 7 HOURS MULTI-PLAYER: 10 HOURS SPEC OPS: 18 HOURS Expand
  15. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One thing has to be said before I start the actual review, the game is decent, not excellent. Now with that out of the way, let's delve into the meat of the game. The campaign is one of the best of the Call of Duty series, (the best of the Modern Warfare trilogy). The gameplay is your typical FPS, run, shoot, run again, shoot again. However, there are ocasional stealth parts, but last for all of a minute, and then you go back to the basic mechanics. As I said, the story is one of the best in the Call of Duty series. This campaign ties up all loose ends in the series. We find out the problems that have occurred from the previous games (in the story) and leaves you with (of course) a cliffhanger ending. The story is only 5-7 hours. This is no longer acceptable. You can probably get through this game in one sitting. Now the multiplayer. If you are like me, you have played every Call of Duty since Call of Duty 4. The game get's very old, very quickly. With very few new weapons (with different features). There are however, many more gameplay types (most of which are addicting and fun). This does not save the multiplayer at all. For those who want to experience Call of Duty first hand, pick this up. For those who are achievement hoarders, you may just want to rent this and kill a few hours on a Saturday. Expand
  16. Jul 24, 2012
    5
    The Modern Warfare series has finally wrapped up. So how good is the last installment. Well if you've played the previous Modern Warfare you'll have an exact picture of what the new one is like. Nothing much if not anything at all has changed in this game. The story is uninteresting and the spec ops mode still didn't meet its potential. Th. Infinity Ward has added a new feature calledThe Modern Warfare series has finally wrapped up. So how good is the last installment. Well if you've played the previous Modern Warfare you'll have an exact picture of what the new one is like. Nothing much if not anything at all has changed in this game. The story is uninteresting and the spec ops mode still didn't meet its potential. Th. Infinity Ward has added a new feature called survival mode. This is where I give them credit. Survival mode is addictive and fun but at times it seems impossible. All though Firefight and Horde mode from the Halo and Gears franchise are still much better survival mode is still a great game mode. The multiplayer is where Modern Warfare 3 shines. But the multiplayer doesn't shine at all. Like all other parts of the game the multiplayer is still "been there, done that". Same guns and same layout nothing new there. Overall I'll give the game a 5/10 because back in the day this would be considered an expansion pack. Expand
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    The campaign was actually really good, and I enjoyed playing it just like I enjoyed playing the prequels, however multiplayer felt more or less the same as Modern Warfare 2, if not worse, it felt slower and it didn't even really have the 'new' element to a game that a new call of duty installment should. But hey, its Call of duty, I still play it.
  18. May 4, 2013
    6
    It works, but it's not as good as the others. A slight shame to the Call of Duty series, but not as big a mess as Declassified. 6/10 Sentry Busters riding on horses.
  19. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    As a package, Modern Warfare 3 isn't as hideous as these scores suggest. Sure, multiplayer is a massive let-down and really deserves no credit whatsoever as it is a step backwards; with very little additions and worse maps. The gameplay online is completely ruined in every, and we all have our reasons to justify this. However, the campaign is still good and spec ops/survival is stillAs a package, Modern Warfare 3 isn't as hideous as these scores suggest. Sure, multiplayer is a massive let-down and really deserves no credit whatsoever as it is a step backwards; with very little additions and worse maps. The gameplay online is completely ruined in every, and we all have our reasons to justify this. However, the campaign is still good and spec ops/survival is still better than what Battlefield 3 has to offer. My biggest problem with spec ops and survival isn't the fact that they are exact copies of the campaign missions and survival is effectively combat training on multiplayer maps, but that you can't compete on the leaderboards for survival and spec ops missions if you don't have Xbox LIVE Gold. If you can find it for a decent price I would recommend it since it doesn't have online achievements so like the other CoD games it's an easy 1000G in the bank and the achievements are well designed. Because I can't credit the multiplayer, I can only recommend this based off campaign and spec ops. Obviously it's got nothing on CoD4 but in my opinion the campaign is on par if not better than Modern Warfare 2's, purely because it plays slightly more like Call of Duty 4 and is a bit more varied and has a better story. It also concludes the trilogy whereas MW2, while it was good, felt more like a filler. It is short and easy, but not astronomically aweful like the multiplayer. Since spec ops and survival aren't anything special either (but they are still decent) MW3 isn't very good value for money. So overall, bearing in mind that it's a sequel to one of the most critically acclaimed games and Sledgehammer/Infinity Ward only had a year to develop it; on balance it comes out as a 5 out of 10. However, it is perfectly acceptable to rate this game much lower based on expectations and its multiplayer. Certainly the graphics are not improved, but this is mainly due to the low resolution required to maintain 60 frames per second. I didn't buy this game on release and after reading reviews and watching gameplay I knew what to expect. I'm really struggling to give this game a 5 out of 10 because there has been so little creativity in virtually all areas, but if I ignore the title it's what I believe the game deserves on its own merits. Expand
  20. Aug 28, 2012
    5
    CoD is not necessarily a bad game; I can see why people play it. However, anyone wanting anything original will be vastly disappointed. It requires little thought. While this may seem quite normal for the modern FPS, CoD is just run at person, pull trigger. Nothing Else. The campaign is exhilarating though, and the multiplayer does tap into some sort of primal instinct which makes you wantCoD is not necessarily a bad game; I can see why people play it. However, anyone wanting anything original will be vastly disappointed. It requires little thought. While this may seem quite normal for the modern FPS, CoD is just run at person, pull trigger. Nothing Else. The campaign is exhilarating though, and the multiplayer does tap into some sort of primal instinct which makes you want to keep going. However, as mentioned earlier this game has a lot of issues; firstly, it completely lacks any originality. Generic military FPS guns, the usual gametypes with only one or two unique to the game and the same gameplay. While the last may seem a little unfair since it is part of a series, at least most game series try to mix things up each time (Bioshock, Assassin's Creed, Borderlands etc.) Mw3 has not budged an inch. Also, the community is awful. Lots of small kids screaming into the mic over a game, campers and spawn killing are all in great abundance, which mars the multiplayer a lot. However, if you can stand the community and are looking for a simple, mindless game experience then by all means get it. For anyone looking for something original or complex, leave it. You won't regret it. Expand
  21. Sep 3, 2012
    6
    Overall I must agree that this game is a disappointment. It is not a bad game, just very disappointing. When people pay $60 for something, which in today's economy is a nice hunk of change, they do so to get something worthwhile out of it. If you spent your $ on this game, your most likely going to feel it wasn't worthwhile. This is surprising too do to the fact that Infinity Ward is not aOverall I must agree that this game is a disappointment. It is not a bad game, just very disappointing. When people pay $60 for something, which in today's economy is a nice hunk of change, they do so to get something worthwhile out of it. If you spent your $ on this game, your most likely going to feel it wasn't worthwhile. This is surprising too do to the fact that Infinity Ward is not a joke company. The game is just way too similar to 2, pretty much NOTHING new is offered, and anything that is new including guns/perks, aren't good. I would like to say however that this game does not deserve a 3.2 user score, that number is definitely nerf-trolled. There are still people plenty of people playing the multiplayer and I still think co-op with a friend online is a blast. I no longer own a XBox but I will most likely be getting Black Ops 2 for the PC, IMO they are a much better game all around and BO2 looks promising. Expand
  22. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    MW3 has not been the best COD ever made that expected to be before it was released, the cooperative mode entertains for some hours but it finishes to boring you, i'm not saying is a bad co-op mode but it doesn't surpass zombies. The campaign is the surprise of the game, an unexpected good thing of that game. The multiplayer is not bad, but it gets stressing and with a terrible respawn,MW3 has not been the best COD ever made that expected to be before it was released, the cooperative mode entertains for some hours but it finishes to boring you, i'm not saying is a bad co-op mode but it doesn't surpass zombies. The campaign is the surprise of the game, an unexpected good thing of that game. The multiplayer is not bad, but it gets stressing and with a terrible respawn, upgrade your weapon killing people stills a good idea.
    Conclusion: Still playing it but less than before and waiting for BOPS 2
    Expand
  23. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    I didn't like it. It shares the same gameplay with all the other CODs. Nothing new. I didn't have fun. I gave it a 5, because of the cool multiplayer and the awsome graphics. But the only thing that changes in the COD series is the graphics.
  24. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Thought I would give this game a brief review, I've been a fan of the series from Day 1 but in all honesty the series has been progressively getting worse with each new addition. To begin I found the campaign actually more enjoyable than the multiplayer which as you all well know by now is the complete opposite of their intentions. Usually the campaign is just a quick throw together withThought I would give this game a brief review, I've been a fan of the series from Day 1 but in all honesty the series has been progressively getting worse with each new addition. To begin I found the campaign actually more enjoyable than the multiplayer which as you all well know by now is the complete opposite of their intentions. Usually the campaign is just a quick throw together with ideas and see what they come out with.
    The controls are just excellent in this gaming series so there is no need to review that at all. The other noteworthy mentions are the graphics, the faultless running of the game and the soundtrack are always excellent in these games too.
    As for the campaign itself, storyline isn't the next Dan Brown book but it's satisfactory and just gripping enough (if you've bothered to follow it throughout the series) to see it to its dramatic conclusion. So I will give the campaign a solid 7/10.

    The multiplayer aspect however is where I feel lets this game down, if you've played every other call of duty online I feel this is the worst. Just the same core mechanics and yes some skill is involved but I've found that if you've got a better internet connection than your pretty much amazing at this. The other let down side of this but it's not really the games fault is the lack of teamwork involved... I feel the game could have encouraged this more but your pretty much Lone Wolf in the arena, if you play against a group who actually communicate than you are literally just going to get destroyed and quickly.
    Finally and this is a personal gripe which I have for a few other games, the whole DLC idea is rather annoying.. if I pay £45 for a game I don't want to be seen throwing an additional 30 odd quid for a couple of new maps, the whole concept of that is a con.
    So multiplayer I'm going to give a 6/10 as it does have it's enjoyable moments when you actually get some teamwork involved.

    Finally I thought a mention of the Spec Ops missions is deserved, I found this to be extremely addictive if you get the hang of it and encourage people to give that a go! The survival mission in particular is what I have spent the majority of time playing on this game.
    Expand
  25. Oct 16, 2012
    7
    The single player is generic but is still alot of fun. The multiplayer is the same call of duty we all love but i can't help thinking that they need to mix it up a bit, it feels like the same game every year.
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    I really thought this game was going to be great. I thought it was going to have the addictive smooth gameplay of MW2, but without **** exploiting half the stuff and playing unfairly, and without OP things. I was wrong.

    The singleplayer is the only reason to even play this game. While the singleplayer is a blast, featuring very fun missions and awesome action, it suffers story wise. The
    I really thought this game was going to be great. I thought it was going to have the addictive smooth gameplay of MW2, but without **** exploiting half the stuff and playing unfairly, and without OP things. I was wrong.

    The singleplayer is the only reason to even play this game. While the singleplayer is a blast, featuring very fun missions and awesome action, it suffers story wise. The campaign is also the most linear to date, and is the shortest, even shorter than MW2. Although it has great action scenes (The airplane level blew my mind) some of them are just plain dumb and predictable. It seems that every corner you turn something is going to blow up, your guy gets knocked onto his ass, and something collapses. That's half of the action scenes. Plus there is one for every mission. MW2 found a perfect balance to the action scenes, and they were awesome and unexpected. The story is filled with plot holes and bad writing, although there are some memorable moments and quotes, and some parts were rather interesting, but overall it was terrible. All of the stuff is unrealistic as well. The soundtrack is okay, compared to the godly soundtrack of MW2, and the story ends by basically killing off almost every main character instead of coming up with a meaningful ending. It felt empty and unfulfilled, and it just cut to black afterwards. I feel a lot more could've been done. However it still is a fun campaign that I did somewhat enjoy.

    Special ops isn't that great. The missions in MW2 were a lot better and just felt more fun and varied. These ones just felt dull and boring, and it's not even really worth playing. And Survival mode is fun at first, and surprisingly refreshing, but it gets boring after a while, because of two fatal flaws. Enemy's get too tough too fast (At round 40 dogs take like an entire LMG clip) and it's only for two players. It's fun for the first few times though.

    And finally multiplayer. It's basically MW2s multiplayer (which is great) with some changes and upgrades that I really like. However, I later learned that it caused more problems than it solved. The new killstreak system is better and more advanced and offers a greater variety, but it's annoying that support users can use an EMP or Stealth bomber after dying 50 times. The specialist bonus is probably the best new addition to the call of duty franchise since create a class, and it gives you so much more freedom. Instead of always using scavenger or some other perk that you can't play without, you can earn them through killstreaks and aren't limited to the perks that won't put you at a disadvantage.

    There are two new attachments, which is the hybrid scope for ARs and SMGs. They aren't used at all and are not needed. The new weapon proficiency system I like, especially for the ability to have to have two attatchments without not using scavenger.

    Overall, that's basically all the major new things. The multiplayer would be great though, if it weren't for the terrible maps that are the worst maps in call of duty to date, lag compensation which just breaks the game for me, still OP killstreaks, **** who camp and do **** things, and OP guns like the MP7. That just breaks the MP, which could've been so good if it weren't for that. These changes should've been what MW2 had to offer aswell, but it didn't.

    Graphics wise, they are slightly tweaked from MW2, and look nearly the same. Sometimes levels look more detailed, and sometimes they look downright worse than Cod4. The water is improved and looks good, they finally made new effects for things like the rocket smoke trail and explosions, which look great. The lighting they slightly tweaked, which is the biggest graphical mistake they did. The lighting makes environments look so much less colourful and it makes it look ugly, it's ridiculous. Some levels though I was quite surprised at it's detail, although it still doesn't look that great. The sound effects are great for the environment, like things blowing up, infact they are really good, but the gun sounds sound so damn bad. Overall, if you're a hardcore fan of cod, especially the first two and just totally rape in them, MW3 should be worth your money. Otherwise, it is known to many cod fans to be the worst in the series, but it's not a bad game overall, but not a very good one either.
    Expand
  27. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Call Of Duty formula is very overused these days, and it appears in several different clones of the mightily successful franchise. This is a pretty decent use of that formula, and fans of the series will enjoy this game thoroughly, even if it is very reminiscent of previous installments.
    The most obvious thing to start off with is the graphics, as they are the first thing one sees in the game. All in all, they are good, but suffer from some abysmal textures and mild graphical glitches. The motion capture is extremely detailed, but facial movement is very basic.
    The sound design is excellent in this game. As you fight through the streets of Paris, jets soar by, machine guns blast away and explosion rattle in your ears. Although the music is not particularly memorable at all, there are points in the game when the score complements the mass destruction around you, giving you a chill down your slouching spine.
    Now, the campaign. The story of Captain Price, Soap, and Yuri is a reasonably enjoyable romp through various linear set pieces. There is, however, a terribly scripted howler thrown in to make you cry, but amounts to absolutely nothing emotionally. This spoils what would otherwise be a fairly enjoyable, if very cliched campaign, with some of the most excellent linear levels you will ever play. For example, where else can you have a zero-gravity, sub machine gun shootout in a crashing jet? The linearity may annoy some players, with almost all commands to be "kill this, run here, collect that, get to the chopper." Overall, a silly, if enjoyable, Russian-filled rollercoaster.
    The attraction to many people is the multiplayer, where the Call Of Duty formula mentioned above normally shines. It is surprisingly disappointing. Though levelling up is addictive and exciting as per usual, it always seems as if people of a higher rank are at a strong advantage to a newer player, which undoubtedly can be justified by the "if I level up then I get all of the guns" system that the multiplayer is based on. The maps are usually just messy, everything-dies-in-this-bit fighting arenas, but they provide enough of an interesting set piece to be enjoyed. Killstreaks also return, in even more powerful and impossible-to-defeat forms, such as the Osprey Gunner, Predator Drone and the Mother Of All Bombs. These can make matches very frustrating, but when you score a killstreak, it is satisfying nonetheless.
    Game modes are almost exactly the same as before, but Kill Confirmed, a newbie, can provide a jolly distraction for half-an-hour or so.
    Spec Ops is a cooperative mode for Call Of Duty, and returns with missions and Survival, a wave-killing (if unoriginal) joy. The missions vary in length and difficulty, but only give you the incentive to play through them a couple of times. Survival is a COD-ified version of Gears of War's Horde Mode, in which players level up, buy new items and defend themselves from endless waves of enemies, which span several different classes. These Survival mission vary in difficulty and are all maps played in multiplayer, making it feel a little like a cut-corners job, but it is fun played with a friend.
    Altogether, this is a good game, the highlights being the campaign and the cooperative modes.
    7/10
    Expand
  28. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    "Call of duty: Modern Warfare 3 is different from CoD: Black ops but it only differs in preference" There isn't much new to MW3 then it is changed from CoD:BO. MW3 does add some different and interesting ideas but replaces the the ideas from CoD:BO and it causes its own flaws. To get started, MW3's campaign is of course, short and by far, the worse in the series at lest in my view point."Call of duty: Modern Warfare 3 is different from CoD: Black ops but it only differs in preference" There isn't much new to MW3 then it is changed from CoD:BO. MW3 does add some different and interesting ideas but replaces the the ideas from CoD:BO and it causes its own flaws. To get started, MW3's campaign is of course, short and by far, the worse in the series at lest in my view point. The story covers and plays a new protagonist name Yai but he doesn't make him self important besides just to witness the events with Soap and Price. You also play as american name Frost but his story seems lest important to the main plot besides witnessing the war in Europe. With out spoiling, characters will die and it can be pretty cliche and out of nowhere. To replace Zombies from CoD: Black ops, MW3 adds a different mode called Survivor mode. You fight waves and waves incoming infantry and helicopters. You can play this mode in all multiplayer maps as a basic horde like mode but that's about it. MW3 still also brings Spec ops as short campaign missions for 2 players. The multiplayer in MW3 comes close as the most balance Cod game yet since CoD4 but that's change the cheap flaws such as Death Streaks and some overpowered Point streak rewards. Cod:Mw3 adds a point system instead just kill streaks. This is good idea for supportive players being rewarded for doing their objective. MW3 adds 3 different reward streaks such as Assault for offence rewards, Support rewards for small supportive rewards(Death doesn't reset the streak), and Perk rewards players extra perks until death. This is step up for progressive players but not all that much. That's about it when it comes to new in MW3's multiplayer and the rest is just different from CoD:BO. I enjoy the weapons a lot better in MW3 having a set recoil to learn from each gun and perks are well set besides a few a being a tad Overpowered. There is a 4th perk for guns in MW3 but they seem more like invisible attachments then special perks. The major down sides to MW3 compare to Cod:BO and Mw2 is the terrible to decent maps in MW3. The maps are smaller and cramped with narrow hallways and buildings and small open areas that lead to more narrow areas. The DLC maps may look better that also means paying another 50 bucks for them. I do like some of the changes and very few of the new ideas in MW3 but they also come with there flaws. I suggest picking up MW3 if skipped Cod: Black ops for the wait of MW3. Other then that, you really enjoy Black ops, give MW3 a rent or best just pass for the next Cod, Black ops 2. Expand
  29. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    There is nothing revolutionary here, the multiplayer is enjoyable. The SP campaign is ok. The map variety (with the overly-priced DLC) is alright. MP games devolve into folks just hip-firing everywhere with SMGs and akimbo pistols; it gets old fast. Graphics and Sound are what they are; these games are being developed for rapidly aging consoles. If they included the DLC maps in theThere is nothing revolutionary here, the multiplayer is enjoyable. The SP campaign is ok. The map variety (with the overly-priced DLC) is alright. MP games devolve into folks just hip-firing everywhere with SMGs and akimbo pistols; it gets old fast. Graphics and Sound are what they are; these games are being developed for rapidly aging consoles. If they included the DLC maps in the original game, it would approach the retail price, the vanilla game does not. Expand
  30. Feb 27, 2013
    5
    Each new Call of Duty release has now become a truly global event as the hype machine builds towards its launch. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise will be getting exactly what they expect for their money. The campaign is as action packed as ever but even at just four hours long it became a bit of a chore to play through as it offers little that hasn’t already been seen in previousEach new Call of Duty release has now become a truly global event as the hype machine builds towards its launch. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise will be getting exactly what they expect for their money. The campaign is as action packed as ever but even at just four hours long it became a bit of a chore to play through as it offers little that hasn’t already been seen in previous entries in the series. Other criticisms that could be levelled at any Call of Duty game, such as an over reliance on scripted events and sections with infinitely respawning enemies, also still apply here. On occasions it is easy to get wrapped up in everything that is going on but for me these instances were the exception rather than the rule.

    Online multiplayer has also changed very little aside from a few new perks. The maps themselves are however rather disappointing this time around, none of them are downright poor but none could really be considered a true classic in the same way as Crash or Overgrown from previous games. In fact there is a distinct lack of variety in the maps with none really offering the opportunity for sniping or long range combat (although some may see this as a good thing I suppose). The Special Ops missions from Modern Warfare 2 also return and provide a good selection of challenging co-op game. In the end, despite the fact that the formula is now starting to wear a little thin, it seems as though the majority of people aren’t disappointed with Modern Warfare 3 as sales yet again reached record numbers.
    Expand
  31. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    the graphics hadnt change the story its normal but boring i think the last mission was the best online is good i like prestige and golden guns only online saves this game from bad vote
  32. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Predecessor of MW2, MW3 is a next rung on the COD ladder, giving us access to more of the life Cpt. Soap as we continue on our quest to hunt down Makarov all within an action packed storyline to match. MW3 might have its downsides within the game such as the spawning system for its multiplayer in which I can be playing be killed only to be then shot 2 seconds after spawning again and its many bugs such as outpost wall-breaching glitch, this all adds to the thrill and adventure to the game-play or so I have found it that is.
    Developed by Infinity Ward, MW3 shows that IW really know what they’re doing when it comes to producing one hell of a game, just goes to show that you don’t need a huge development team to produce a game like MW3 unlike that of BO2. Which failed in comparison to MW3 as regards to feedback. We see a return to dedicated servers in MW3 whilst still providing us with the multiplayer lobbies we experienced in MW2 unlike that of BO1 which simply did multiplayer lobbies and no dedicated lobbies and BO2 which just did dedicated lobbies instead of multiplayer lobbies when will they learn to add both of them instead of 1 or the other.

    With dedicated servers in place MW3 brings the party, allowing players to experience MW3 like no other game before it, things like High Jump servers and Infected Shop servers bring even more action to the player that wants the thrill and adventure of a fire-fight in mid air or the exploring of new places within the maps. Like come on who doesn’t want to reach the Eiffel tower on Resistance? Cause I certainly want to, so what if I can’t get there fully it still adds to the fun of the game.

    Along with the main game of MW3 of course comes the ever increasing collection packs ranging from 1 to 4 these DLC’s offer new maps for players to dominate and master, new spec ops to blast through like the veterans they are.

    A new game mode hits the scene within the MW3 collection DLC’s, named Chaos mode; it says exactly what it does on the tin. In which players can either solo or blast it out with a friend through their favourite maps against a limitless amount of spawning enemies.

    Designed to test the player/player’s logical thinking, Chaos mode is the perfect mode for testing strategies/strength of the player. The amount of times I tried to get past 5 juggernauts all charging at me at once was very filling for my taste of adrenaline and thrill as I ran for my life like the coward I am.

    Overall I feel MW3 even with its ups and its downs is a 7/10 from me.
    Expand
  33. May 7, 2013
    6
    I cannot play MP since it felt like However, still like the SP, the story sometimes made no sense, but the missions self just getting better and better. I gave it a six, because I remember at one time I was like, OK, the storyline of the cod MW trilogy is still better than Mass effect, at least at the end Makarov got killed, his father didnt show up and told me how misery of MakarovsI cannot play MP since it felt like However, still like the SP, the story sometimes made no sense, but the missions self just getting better and better. I gave it a six, because I remember at one time I was like, OK, the storyline of the cod MW trilogy is still better than Mass effect, at least at the end Makarov got killed, his father didnt show up and told me how misery of Makarovs childhood and I should feel sorry for him, then the father gave me three choices to, 1. kill the father, but in the meantime somehow kill all the people with horrible childhood, 2. transfer&merge to the father, and use my love to change Makarov and everyone lives happily afterwards, 3. replace Marakrov as the leader of the gangs.... so, yeah, as the end episode of cod, it is not that bad. Expand
  34. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    *sigh* i remember the good old days of modern warfare 2 so much fun, modern warfare 3 tries to revive those old days by using the same things that made moder warfare 2 so succesful, but it is starting to show it's age, it doesnt go as far as to say it is all copy paste but overall it feels the same, for some it´s gonna be great and for some it's gonna be copy paste, for me it is great, i*sigh* i remember the good old days of modern warfare 2 so much fun, modern warfare 3 tries to revive those old days by using the same things that made moder warfare 2 so succesful, but it is starting to show it's age, it doesnt go as far as to say it is all copy paste but overall it feels the same, for some it´s gonna be great and for some it's gonna be copy paste, for me it is great, i like the excitement of leveling up and getting new guns, those thrills are still here but modern warfare 3 isn't gonna please all the fans, i liked it but it kind of feels like modern warfare 2, nevertheless modern warfare 3 is still a good experience, but i prefer modern warfare 2 Expand
  35. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Giving this a 6 because of the campaign, and co op was fun. I didn't like the multiplayer because of the connections to the servers. The gun took a different direction, except for some of them. I just like it because of the campaign pretty much. Finally got to kill Makarov Expand
  36. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    HONESTLY IT DOES HURT THE GAME INDUSTRY THAT THESE REDUNDANT COD GAMES SELL 30MIL COPPIES EACH. People buy 20-30mil copies of CoD and miss out on truly unique games like metro 2033 or the darkness 2 and these are in the same genre they are FPS's and damn good too. How many people can say they truly bought call of duty black ops AND Metro 2033 Not many if any and at least metro is an FPSHONESTLY IT DOES HURT THE GAME INDUSTRY THAT THESE REDUNDANT COD GAMES SELL 30MIL COPPIES EACH. People buy 20-30mil copies of CoD and miss out on truly unique games like metro 2033 or the darkness 2 and these are in the same genre they are FPS's and damn good too. How many people can say they truly bought call of duty black ops AND Metro 2033 Not many if any and at least metro is an FPS too. Can anyone say black op2 was actually pound for pound better than Deus Ex H.R.? Now i don't always agree with critics but even they thought deus ex was much better than black ops2 and look how deus ex sells maybe 2 million including pc and Call of doody black oops2 sells 10 times that on xbox alone. Even worse a great immersive FPS with ten times the heart and story Metro 2033 sells under 500,000 copies, yes it sold in the ball park of four hundred thousand copies...shameful that a quality game like that sells all together less than what CoD sells in one day. Is this because CoD blows ops2 is soooooo much better than metro....? NO, it is not but brain washed sheep buy the same game with the same engine in it with the same graphics every single year, they just change the name or put a creative (1),(2),or (3) next to it and the lambs come running to shell out 60$ instead of getting a truly unique experience and maybe having some taste or style or any uniqueness of your own. Even a mega hit multiplatform game that in my opinion might be the best of all time the vaunted "Fallout 3" pales in comparison with around 8mil sold while each CoD game more than triples those sales. Can even a CoD fan name any CoD game that even comes close to being as great as Fallout 3....wait i forgot to say that modernwarfare 2 doesn't count........just kidding that would be too cruel because that is what you were gonna say right CoD fanboy you original gamer you, and i bet you play CoD on your XBOX too how original and i bet you don't even play the 4hr campaign do you? All you 14yr olds and 40yr olds alike just grab a slim jim, take a swig of Monster if you are 14 and of course Budweiser if you are 40 and start on that CoD multiplayer with all that great story and non repetitive MP gameplay, of course you do this while waiting in anticipation for bungie's next sterile, super unique( i.e. halo 3 odst) game. Oh wait bungie is actually doing something good now (i.e. Destiny) so i guess 343 or whatever their name is will be copy and pasting a new label on the same old halo game, but at least halo doesnt come out twice a year. Good luck on not being as good as Battlefield 4 Call of Doody Ghosts (scary ghosts) but hey there are enough dumb people out there so you will outsell them even with last gen graphics and the same exact engine as model warfare. Greedy, Greedy Activision shoveling crap and calling it caviar when will you stop buying it. Expand
  37. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    A very safe play by Infinity Ward and Activision. It looks very similar to Modern Warfare 2, and it plays fairly similar as well (just without the noobtubes). Gun balance is iffy, but everything else is on a fairly even playing field. Best played with a group of friends, pub-stomping is prominent in MW3, and mediocre players will have a very hard time leveling up on their own. DespiteA very safe play by Infinity Ward and Activision. It looks very similar to Modern Warfare 2, and it plays fairly similar as well (just without the noobtubes). Gun balance is iffy, but everything else is on a fairly even playing field. Best played with a group of friends, pub-stomping is prominent in MW3, and mediocre players will have a very hard time leveling up on their own. Despite these flaws, multiplayer remains a fun romp with recoilless guns and devastating killstreaks.
    Single-player campaign is only worth touching for those interested in the story of Soap and Captain Price. While gameplay is hugely boring for long-time fans of the series, the story is told adequately and will excite those looking for more Modern Warfare fiction.
    Spec Ops has been revamped, but still pails in comparison to Treyarch's Zombie mode.
    Expand
  38. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a decent game, The story was amazing, but it's in the multiplayer where the game starts to disappoint. It literally is the exact same as modern warfare 2, some of the weapons are the exact same as in modern warfare 2 but with a new look slapped on. There is only 1 new mode, and it's the common hoard mode. But there are some really good multiplayer maps. AndCall of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a decent game, The story was amazing, but it's in the multiplayer where the game starts to disappoint. It literally is the exact same as modern warfare 2, some of the weapons are the exact same as in modern warfare 2 but with a new look slapped on. There is only 1 new mode, and it's the common hoard mode. But there are some really good multiplayer maps. And killstreaks, even if some are cheap and impossible to avoid if the enemy gets one. Plus when you think of a sequel you think of innovation, there is very little found in this game. In the end it is a solid game. Expand
  39. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    My review for MW3

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. high point in a lackluster game. continued from MW2, it ends the modern warfare saga with a satisfying end GRAPHICS: 4/10. S.S.D.Y. SOUND:5/10. S.S.D.Y. MULTIPLAYER: 6/10. some small additions, but this could have been a map pack for MW2 GAMEPLAY: 7/10. no problems OR changes here FUN FACTOR: 7/10. COD superfans will still like this, but it
    My review for MW3

    SINGLE PLAYER: 9/10. high point in a lackluster game. continued from MW2, it ends the modern warfare saga with a satisfying end
    GRAPHICS: 4/10. S.S.D.Y.
    SOUND:5/10. S.S.D.Y.
    MULTIPLAYER: 6/10. some small additions, but this could have been a map pack for MW2
    GAMEPLAY: 7/10. no problems OR changes here
    FUN FACTOR: 7/10. COD superfans will still like this, but it just more of the same, and in this case, its bad
    TOTAL: 5/10
    Expand
  40. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a good game, but there are certain glitches and the Multiplayer is not much organized, as well for the spawns. But for the cause I give this game a 6 rating for addicting content such as Chaos Mode or Survival, and polished graphics. Those must be all I guess.
  41. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    It would be highly pointless of me to write a review on this because the same reasons have been given but I'll jump in.

    No, it isn't innovative. It's the same gameplay as before. Doesn't make it overall horrible, we liked the game we played before, and so on. But at this stage do we really need to throw in such high expectations? The people complaining are the same people who bought
    It would be highly pointless of me to write a review on this because the same reasons have been given but I'll jump in.

    No, it isn't innovative. It's the same gameplay as before.

    Doesn't make it overall horrible, we liked the game we played before, and so on. But at this stage do we really need to throw in such high expectations? The people complaining are the same people who bought it. You knew what to expect, unless you never looked up any footage prior to purchasing it.

    Nonetheless, it's enjoyable, and very addictive. But yeah, something needs to change. Maybe Call of Duty: Ghosts will try something different but I will expect the worst and be a pessimist. At least then I'm not as disappointed when I'm presented with the same recycled gameplay.
    Expand
  42. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    I am a fan of the Call of Duty franchise but, man, did this game let me down. The campaign in every other Call of Duty game was short and sweet. The story mode to Modern Warfare 3 was still short, but terrible. I beat like 4 missions and then moved to the multiplayer and never played the campaign again. But the multiplayer is decent fun. There are so many unlocks and the gunplay is fun.I am a fan of the Call of Duty franchise but, man, did this game let me down. The campaign in every other Call of Duty game was short and sweet. The story mode to Modern Warfare 3 was still short, but terrible. I beat like 4 missions and then moved to the multiplayer and never played the campaign again. But the multiplayer is decent fun. There are so many unlocks and the gunplay is fun. However, the killstreaks are unbalanced. The game is decent and clearly doesnt deserve a "0" overall. Expand
  43. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Cod MW3 is only good at multiplayer The single player is not so great Multiplayer on the other hand it's deep cuztomizable and good .the major flaw is the single player and the games presentation they're not presented well
  44. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    W3 is best described as 'meh'. The on-line multi player is ok, but as usual, the community destroy any chance of me and others enjoying it. The campaign is the usual modern shooter affair...dull, short and explosions everywhere. I did enjoy the survival mode, especially with friends. I was lucky to pick it up for £6 and its worth that £6, i would not pay any more for this. I thinkW3 is best described as 'meh'. The on-line multi player is ok, but as usual, the community destroy any chance of me and others enjoying it. The campaign is the usual modern shooter affair...dull, short and explosions everywhere. I did enjoy the survival mode, especially with friends. I was lucky to pick it up for £6 and its worth that £6, i would not pay any more for this. I think the franchise needs to change itself up to survive. Expand
  45. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Modern Warfare 3 was not as good as I had expected it to be. Infinity Ward had so much potential in making this game PERFECT, but the game just did not live up to the hype. Aside from the lack-luster campaign to which I shall not spoil, the special ops is pretty fun including the 'survival' option. Multiplayer is basic and really has nothing special other than 'kill confirmed' which hasModern Warfare 3 was not as good as I had expected it to be. Infinity Ward had so much potential in making this game PERFECT, but the game just did not live up to the hype. Aside from the lack-luster campaign to which I shall not spoil, the special ops is pretty fun including the 'survival' option. Multiplayer is basic and really has nothing special other than 'kill confirmed' which has brought a new view on game types for Call of Duty. Aside from everything, this game was average. Expand
  46. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    MW3 is easily the worst Call of Duty to date. The campaign is short (and story is absolutely terrible), multiplayer is more of the same, and the game's overall feel just seems like a slightly beefed up MW2. The original Modern Warfare had one of the best campaigns of any game and MW3 continues the trend of the very cheesy and ridiculous story that MW2 had. It is very disappointing sinceMW3 is easily the worst Call of Duty to date. The campaign is short (and story is absolutely terrible), multiplayer is more of the same, and the game's overall feel just seems like a slightly beefed up MW2. The original Modern Warfare had one of the best campaigns of any game and MW3 continues the trend of the very cheesy and ridiculous story that MW2 had. It is very disappointing since the original Modern Warfare was so incredibly awesome. MW3 multiplayer is not even nearly as fun as the previous Black Ops. I played probably hundreds of hours of online Black Ops and couldn't get into MW3's at all. Expand
  47. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    Well, the best summary I can give is, it's not like it's generous to call it a game, but it's nothing special. I'm not much of a CoD fan, and as such, I can't give this game high marks. I did enjoy the bulk of the singleplayer game, even if a bit short. The multiplayer, once again, isn't that great. At least they nerfed explosives, no more "noob tube" spam. However, it is the same grind asWell, the best summary I can give is, it's not like it's generous to call it a game, but it's nothing special. I'm not much of a CoD fan, and as such, I can't give this game high marks. I did enjoy the bulk of the singleplayer game, even if a bit short. The multiplayer, once again, isn't that great. At least they nerfed explosives, no more "noob tube" spam. However, it is the same grind as it is for MW2, which is only slightly better in my opinion. I do feel, once again, that the game could've been a lot better with a bit more play-testing. Really, get a guy to level up his character to 80. I doubt he would make it far before the controller goes through the television screen. Then again, it did give a few hours of good fun, and that was nice while it lasted. However, if you must get this game for whatever reason, wait until a sale. Expand
  48. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    I plan to give an honest review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, I have seen very in the middle reviews, most are in the extremes of either 10s or 0s, 0 being the more prevalent. My review will be broken down in three branches, one for each of the three main sections of the game. As everyone else giving a review has pointed out, MW3 was built using the same engine was MW2, and because ofI plan to give an honest review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, I have seen very in the middle reviews, most are in the extremes of either 10s or 0s, 0 being the more prevalent. My review will be broken down in three branches, one for each of the three main sections of the game. As everyone else giving a review has pointed out, MW3 was built using the same engine was MW2, and because of that, the visuals aren't what you'd expect from the third game in series (I'm talking Modern Warfare series, not the Call of Duty series in general) . The graphics do look a bit more polished, but that is most likely do to the artists, then the engine drawing them. Campaign: I just finished the campaign on Veteran difficulty. The campaign in terms of story is by far one of the best I have ever played in the Call of Duty franchise, but that is not to say I couldn't predict it either. On the final missions, the music is so perfectly made for the scene that it boosts up what would otherwise be a lackluster finale to the series. All together though, the campaign took me for a ride that I will never forget, at the end of it, I did actually feel very entertained and amazed. However, the atrocities that has plagued every Modern Warfare game still exists in MW3, by which I mean, enemies will disregard their own safety to rush past your A.I teammates and charge for you, and only you. The enemies know where you are, and if in view will shoot only for you and not at your other A.I teammates. Your A.I teammates aren't intelligent by any means, even on Veteran difficulty they are terrible accuracy. Perhaps the most annoying thing though is the fact that the enemies will infinitely spawn from doors and behind buildings unless you continue to move up, if you sit back you eventually will die from running low on ammo. Special Ops:Special Ops was a new feature to MW2, and it was a brilliant innovation to the series, Infinity Ward and Sledge Hammer Games didn't break the imagine barrier here, they added their own version of Zombies, a Treyarch signature. MW3 has taken that idea and brought it into the Modern Warfare perspective by instead of zombies, it's wave after wave of increasingly difficult soldiers. They added a couple new features like being able to buy perks and artillery, but it isn't anything new to the franchise, it's a mix from Treyarch's zombies and GOW's Horde 2.0 fortifications in my personal opinion. The rest of Spec Ops allows you to either go in alone, or team up with a buddy to do a variety of missions taken from the campaign or specially created for Spec Ops and try and beat them for, both to earn stars (get all stars to get an achievement) and beat times set by your friends. Multiplayer: Obviously if you're buying a CoD game, you aren't just buying it for the story line, you are buying it to play some good old competitive multiplayer. As one reviewer put it, it looks and feels like MW 2.5, and I'd agree, I do feel like I dropped 60 dollars for new maps, that's about it. Sure you do have some new guns and perks, but that doesn't constitute the money I put down for it. They tried to do too much with the maps this time around, their are about five different ways to go to any one spot, or in any one alleyway you may be running down and the the chances that someone isn't waiting for you, or will spot you is low, and it gets aggravating very quickly. Two of my personal problems with the game are, they split up the Sleight of Hand Pro ability from Modern Warfare 2, and put it's base ability and pro ability into two separate perks. They also took out Stopping Power, my personal favorite perk, why I don't know, perhaps to balance the game, but even still the game is very very much unbalanced. There are definitively certain guns that are better than others, and without Stopping Power if it's a bad gun, unfortunately it's a bad gun now, because without extra damage you won't kill anyone. Lag is a problem this time around, I've shot at a guy with the same gun as me, only to hit him first, but still die because my other bullets didn't register. The Strike Packages are terrible and not thought through at all, the Support Package where your kill streaks don't reset on death is a nice idea, but bad implementation. UAV's are CONSTANTLY being called in a match, it's very aggravating, also stealth bombers are apart of the Support Package, I don't understand that implementation either. If the Support Package actually did only Support it'd be nice, but with stealth bombers and advanced UAVs, not using it when you know you can get at least 9 kills a game is stupidity. When you think about it, a new CoD has come out yearly with the same fast paced action formula, so the fact that the latest in the series didn't change much shouldn't be that big of a surprise to anyone. I'm giving it a 7 out of 10, for being what MW2 should have been. Expand
  49. Jul 14, 2014
    5
    It's one of those call of duty games that are not that great but it has something to do with an extra feature like for example: Spec Ops. Spec Ops is got me interested in this game more than the campaign and multiplayer. Multiplayer felt too similar to mw2.
  50. Aug 25, 2014
    5
    Call of Duty is an OK game at times, but it just sucks that gameplay is just so incredibly linear you more or less do the same thing throughout each game. I'd probably go as far as saying CoD is the most boring, popular video game franchise around. Makes me sleepy.
  51. Nov 2, 2014
    7
    A worthy successor to the Modern Warfare franchise, but not exactly trailblazing. The campaign was a nice book-end to the MW saga, and the multiplayer was serviceable. MW3's multiplayer introduced the "Specialist" system as well as the "attack" streaks and "support" streaks. These were big additions that have helped shape the CoD multiplayer. MW3 was a good CoD, it just wasn't the best.
  52. Nov 23, 2014
    5
    Call of Duty is declining in popularity due to its repetitive nature and cliche characters. The story line in this game is the same in any other COD game. Although you can do 'Special Ops' with other people I still want to do cooperative campaign, like with COD WAW. This game still satisfied me as there was lots of shooting but in other places it dragged out.
    Think of something else Activision
  53. Dec 6, 2014
    5
    MW3 lacks the iconic Call of Duty feel that we have become accustomed too. It feels at times like some cheap Call of Duty rip off, this limits it's potential and makes for an irritating lack of identity. The multiplayer maps are poor but the conclusion to the trilogy's story makes this instalment worth playing.
  54. Oct 20, 2015
    7
    A step back for call of duty. Essentially was MW2 level graphics with worse gameplay and maps. Campaign was satisfying though, especially at the end...
  55. Feb 5, 2016
    7
    Once again Sledgehammer and Infinity ward has farted out another lackluster Call Of Duty title, Modern Warfare 3, MW3 barely improves upon MW2, the HUD is exactly the same, the guns are exactly the same, and the campaign, is kinda interesting, but not enough that you'd want to slog through it. Don't buy this game, you will regret it. Buy Skyrim instead.
  56. Apr 22, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILERS AHEAD:

    This is one of the most disappointing games I've ever played! After the masterpiece that was MW2, I expected MW2 on steroids, but instead I got this crap! The worst part of this game is, by far, the Campaign! The campaigns of both previous Modern Warfare games are legendary! The story is dumb, generic, and forgettable. What's worse is it doesn't feel like Modern Warfare at all, until the Third Act. After Soap dies, the campaign actually has weight, but oh my god!!!

    The multiplayer is laggy as hell, and the maps are terrible! They nerfed some of the best guns from MW2 including the UMP45, Barrett 50Cal, and ACR! WTF! The IMS is ridiculous, the graphics are worse than MW2's, and maybe even the first MW game! The spec ops missions are lazily tacked on, but Survival mode is a nice addition, IMO.

    It's not a bad game, but the hype and disappointment is why this game gets such terrible reviews!

    It's mediocre, forgettable, dumb, and basically a copy-paste of MW2 but with more BS, like the IMS, Juggernaut, etc.

    By the way, the original Dev team that created the previous Modern Warfare Games were either fired or quit! The new Infinity Award team is a bunch of noob developers! After this game, DO NOT BUY ANY IW COD AGAIN!!
    Expand
  57. May 16, 2016
    6
    This game is alright overall. My favorite game was infected and drop zone, but some of the other modes I didn't enjoy as much as previous games. this game could have used some more effort in production.
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Very much dissatisfied with this game thus far. The MP graphics look identical to MW2 which was a surprise for me. The multiplayer offerings are the usual fare. It seems as though they did not want to risk changing much or adding anything new, and wanted to play it safe. The game plays as well as any of the other COD's out there. My score is indicative not of the content, but the lackVery much dissatisfied with this game thus far. The MP graphics look identical to MW2 which was a surprise for me. The multiplayer offerings are the usual fare. It seems as though they did not want to risk changing much or adding anything new, and wanted to play it safe. The game plays as well as any of the other COD's out there. My score is indicative not of the content, but the lack of ingenuity and impactfulness of this game. It is much more MW2.5 than an actual sequel. I was very bored playing this game the 2nd day and am not sure how much more I will be playing. I have prestiged 7 times in the last 2 COD's, and doubtful I will get close to that this go round. The game is just getting stale.

    The end.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.