User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8480 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The multiplayer is so awful that after I sell it, I'm going to pirate it and beat that because I started the campaign and it seemed somewhat worthwhile.
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Sadly this itteration of CoD: MW is the same game you paid for a few years ago with the 2nd installment. Same engine, same gameplay, same "feel and effect". There is nothing new and MP is still so hectic that you need to be on speed to last even a second when you first start playing it. After a brilliant BF3 which pushed the genre, the visuals and sound this game feels like a ripoff. Paying premium price for a re-hash of a game I played two years ago pisses me off. Its not a bad game, its solid but it already was in past version, here you are paying for a new set of textures and 5 hours of "Duckhunt" style shooting in a convoluted story that feels flat and tired. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I have played all the CoD games and decided that I would get MW3 thru my gamefly subscription. As I expected, it is another mundane reproduction of MW with a lackluster campaign that was forgettable by the end. In fact, towards the end of the campaign, I questioned why I was even playing it because it was so boring. Moving on, I went on to multiplayer on live. Same uninventive BS with no substance and the same graphics as past CoD games. The CoD genre is stale and I am so happy that I didn't purchase this game. Off to some other poor sap you go! (Mailed it away today) Hopefully an enraged 12 year old finds it so he can flame people with his mic on live. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I have played modern warfare 2, and i must say that this game is virtually no different!, i am extremely disapointed and think this game is a joke, the men look like plasticine and the animations make the guy look like hes paralysed from the waist down. The graphics are out of date and there is a lack of any innovative new changes. Online is repetitive and the single player campaign is very short. Wait for it to be in a bargain bin before you even think of buying this game Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3 is little more than another $59.99 map pack for Call of Duty 4. It's really time that Activision did more than just employing 2 game developers to move building around on maps, change some textures and some minor tweaking of features and then calling it a new game. So lame.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    If you want the truth about this game here it is... Bottom line it's a great game. It is very similar to MW2 but it's been improved in so many ways. Hit detection is great, lag is non-existent, maps are phenomenal, weapons are balanced. Why many are rating this game low is probably because they think it's too similar to MW2. It is similar but it's also way better. I'm loving this game and i'm 100% sure everyone who gave this a 0 are actually playing it as we speak and probably enjoying themselves. When it comes to the engine i really think the whole if it ain't broken don't fix it mantra applies. MW2 engine was great so there's no need to go and implement a whole new engine but just tweak the existing one, as far as CoD games go, this is pretty much the best it gets. All the balancing issues from MW2 are non-existent. Good job IW don't let all these haters discourage you. MW3 is a great game and i would buy it even if it were labeled as MW2.5 Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    same old song and dance my friends , i cant believe they just keep putting out the same exact game year over year over year why cant boby kodikd stop being such a **** head
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    This game is nothing different from years gone by. Had a go and noticed nothing had changed apart from the graphics have been tweaked a bit more. But still millions of under 18's will have a lot of fun playing. I seem to know of more kids playing this game than adults, is it just me that has noticed this??
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Its amazing people can give this piece of trash a 10. The story mode has to be the worst story mode in a game I have ever played. It is so bad I was laughing throughout the story and couldnt even finish it because I was so bored. All you do in story mdoe is continues shooting building going down, falling off cliffs. I killed 9 guys in a minute with just my knife. WTF is that, how is that even possible. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    The people who have been writing these negative reviews are trying to play devil's advocate hardcore. Sure, I was disappointed that the game was extremely similar to MW2, but is that really so bad? MW2 was an amazing game, on top of that, the only similar thing is graphics... You have to realize that the graphics of this generation can't get much better. This has been one of the longest generation's of gaming, the graphics are starting to get very limited and we won't see big improvements until the next generation of consoles. MW3 does still introduce some new things that make the game a bit new, and fun. MW3 definitely doesn't deserve anything below an 8.0. Anyone who rates it lower are people that have these wild ass expectations that every game is going to introduce a new fashion the the video gaming world when in reality... that's not going to happen often. MW3 is a great addition to the series, I get a good amount of enjoyment out of it, as should any fan of MW1 and MW2. Please don't listen to some of these people on here, cheers and happy gaming! Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had some high expectations for this game leading up to release. And, as it turns out - the game delivered. Yes, there were many of the same things from MW2 in the game. Yes, there were also plenty of new additions as well. The single player campaign was excellent, with several exciting moments and a great amount of detail that easily outdid Black Ops' somewhat lackluster campaign. You can tell that they put a lot of work into making the environment as alive and realistic as possible. Multiplayer also received several welcome upgrades. The best parts from MW2 and Black Ops were kept, while it was clear that they made a point of balancing the game and removing other overpowered or stupid pieces (nukes). Spec Ops, a favorite of MW2, returns, bringing with it enjoyable missions and different perspectives from campaign missions. Along with that, the new Survival mode is one of the most fun additions to the game, and is both challenging and fun to play through. Overall, the best parts of the last few games were kept, and the new additions and detail make this an excellent title. Yes, it will feel a bit like MW2. But I say that in a good sense. MW3 delivers CoD fans what they want. It's a great example of how a vocal minority (irritated BF3 fans, lol) try to bash a great game. Also important: the number of people who are irritated about its similarity to MW2 is minuscule compare to the number of fans who would be pissed if the game was redone to something else entirely. If you're a fan of the series, or someone looking to try it out for the first time, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This is exactly the same as MW2! Really if you want something NEW, go on and buy Battlefield 3, I'M NOT A BATTLEFIELD FAN! but I played it and it has a lot of new stuff, but well gotta go, I'm playing The Elders Scrolls V: Skyrim right now.
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game , fantastic cinematic experience. I only play SP Campaign mode so can't comment on Multiplayer which most of you seem to be griping about! Still the top FPS up there with Halo. People saying its the same as the previous games......well its the continuation of the story so of course its going to be the same stuff with slightly different scenarios ie the Presidents Plane mission. Dont understand what some of you guys expect to be honest. Graphics are good if not brilliant and the whole story sucks you in................giving it 0 is mental. Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    When you put this against Battlefield 3 ....battlefield will take it every time bc they had the guts to innovate and come up with some of the best graphics and best multiplayer ever! But modern warfares campaign was amazing and kept me interested and on the edge of my seat. If you compare MW3 by its self it is a solid game but it feels like an expansion of mw2. Very disappointed infinity ward. Very disappointed! Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    A game with an exciting campaign mode and new and inventive on-line game play. MW3 keeps you on the edge of your seat during campaign mode with its breathtaking action sequences and sharp shooting. While the on-line mode is more challenging and intense than its predecessor, it tends to lag from time to time which makes things slightly more difficult. All round a good game with no major flaws.
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    This game is just stupid. I hate it. Don't get it seriously. You idiots that bought it are just supporting Activision. Because all you morons bought it, another copy paste cod game will come out next year... Get a good game like Skyrim or Gears of War or deus ex or Metal Gear Solid HD collection. I did not buy this crappy game because I knew it would suck like every other cod after cod 4.
  17. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    Its amazing how people think this game is a legitimate shooter. I cant believe I paid $90 for this skilless, hitbox jockfest of a game. Do people actually believe that you "quickscope" in this game? Have you ever played a shooter that required aim and didnt have explosions? Holy balls this series is a pathetic retardation of a game that proves that console users are just mongoloids rolling their faces on inaccurate joysticks. Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2011
    4
    I'll be honest here, at first before the game even comes out, i would give it a 1 or 2, but the game does deserve more than 1 or 2 so i decided to give it a 4, on the good side, IW did a good job on ending the triology and added some unexpectable twist on the storyline, the spec ops survival is really nice IF you play it with a friend along with all the spec ops mission, the multiplayer gives off a whole new customize system with i'd say is alot better than MW2's, with new guns, kill steaks, challenges including the gun challanges the multiplayer does offer a large variety of customization for everyone to choose from as well more gametypes that forces you to change you style of gameplay such as kill comfirmed, campers can camp but they wont get a point for their team if they dont go and pick up the dogtag them self. Now to the bad side, the campain ending is really predictable and unfinished, they didnt even talk about where did nikolai or the others goes or what happens afterwards. Everything in the campain feels the same as MW and MW2, fighting russians, fighting terriost, terriost attacks/bombs, its just like they are reusing the same killing russians and chasing makarov idea over and over again which leads to an really expected storyline, it feels unfinished considering its the last of the triology, spec ops is really, and when i say really, i mean REALLY boring when you play alone even with a stranger, your partner runs everywhere leading to fails and frustration really messes up the whole spec ops experience. The multiplayer does have a great variety of customization but it lacks a great variety of new, refreshing gameplay experience, anyone who play any COD have already player MW3, still the run and gun experience, still alot of campers, alot of people frequenly quiting games in the middle of a match, and alot more. The maps are really the same maps from MW2 but repositioned and remodelled, you will find all the maps really similar to the maps in MW2. MW3 still have the one-sided feeling for every match, the team that wins one game, most of the time will keep winning untill someone left or someone joined. What really brings MW3 down to a 4 and not a 5 or 6 is that when i search for a game such as TDM, i see more than 100 thousand player that specific gametype and it can tell me no game are avaliable, then i try kill comfirmed, domination, and other gametypes, none, i can search no games at all, not even one, that is really dissapointing. Well if you are a fan of the COD series and feels like nothing needs to be changed from before, than you will find much satisfation out of MW3 but if you feels MW3 is a quntity over quality, then you should pass. Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Here's the deal. It's not the greatest game out there, but it is still an addicting game as usual. The little tweaks that either Infinity Ward/ Sledgehammer or Treyarch do to every CoD game every year does a HUGE difference to the multiplayer, which brings all of us back to a retail store every year to but the newest one. And yes people you are all complaining about graphics this and graphics that. Cut the guys slack. Yes it is using the IW engine which is now looking outdated, however unlike Battlefield 3 MW3 still holds up 60 fps amazing well as usual with a lot going on. Also with the graphics well comon people you obviously do NOT know how extremely difficult it is to create a new game engine do you? And with the entire Activision and IW issue that happened about a year and half ago well they spent more time recruiting a new dev so time was super constraint and couldnt bump of graphically. As far a multiplayer it is addicting as ever with co-op survival modes and spec ops being the cherry on top. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    having played both modern warfare's before this one i found that this new installment to the series was a fine way to end the trilogy and has only set the bar higher for Battlefield to try and top it.
    the multiplayer is again excellent and the new additions of kill confirmed, team defender, juggernaut, infected, drop zone plus one in the chamber and gun game from Black ops made this much
    better then MW2. Spec ops is even better this time and the survival mode seems to be really fun even if it did rip of Gears of War's horde mode. people its the third game in a trilogy ALL BETS ARE OFF ON WHAT TO EXPECT AND DON'T BLOODY CRY ABOUT IT IF YOU DIE 50 MILLION TIMES IT JUST MEANS YOU SUCK AT THAT MODE Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 3 is a great game. It finishes off the modern warfare story line, although a disappionting end, it is still a great end. The multiplayer section of this game is amazing as per for a Call of Duty title. It does have similarities between modern warfare 2 but overall the changes out weigh them. It is a fun and fast paced game and relates back more to the classic Call of Duty 4 with the playing style. A lot of complaints have been made about how it has not changed much, but if people took the time to stop and look at the successful areas of the game, they might understand what has been done here. Overall this is a great game, very much worth the hype over the past year and a definite recommend buy for those that ar not shallow and troll an amazing game! Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    I have never been a fan of the CoD series. I think they take the great idea of custom classes, intriguing perks, and weapon upgrades, and slam it into an arcade-style shooting game. I played around 6 hours of this game, at times, enjoying it. The more I played, the less I enjoyed it. Half of the time, I feel like the game lags. Watching the kill cams, I notice the player sees me much sooner than I see him, although that wasn't the case on my screen. Maybe that is just me, but not why I dislike the game. The players make this game awful. There are people who play this game NONSTOP, so for almost a week, players have been able to level up, get great perks, and totally ruin the experience for novices like myself. The unrealistic aspects of this game really bother me. The constant summoning of UAVs, helicopter strikes, and missile attacks just do me in. This is simply not a shooter that is my style, and the people who consume the multi-player servers make this game even more non-enjoyable. Didn't take the opportunity to play the campaign, so I am not going to comment on that. I did like the missions part of the game, where you are given an objective to complete within a time limit, either alone or with a friend. That was both challenging and fun, and survival is pretty neat, but there is only so much of that you can play. If you were expecting a ground-breaking multi-player experience with MW3, don't get too excited. It is just ok. Expand
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Total over hyped trash, same game different year. Save yourself $60 and play the Call of Duty game you already have! This game should just be sold as a MW2 expansion pack. The game literally reuses textures and models from past CoD games, including CoD4.
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Well I see the BF trolls reviews are in, now listen to a rational review. If you enjoy the other Modern Warfare games, you'll like this one. Sure, not a whole lot different going on, but the campaign is amazing and the game is still fun. Screw the haters, if you like COD this game is for you.
  25. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    I certainly agree that the game as a separate unit from multiplayer is good, specops and survival mode was a unique and great idea, campaign was good enough. I am a good player because i do good in ALMOST every game in B.Ops & MW2, i do not like to wait for people so i can cowardly kill them, i love to rush and its not as easy to do and end up with a really good score if you dont know how to play well. I gave this game a 1! because like others im VERY dissapointed in the mltpyr, there is still LAST STAND!"oh wait its only a deathstreak, but u get BACK UP if u can!!??? after so many complaints! this shows they give no importance to their fans and sadly infinity ward are the most popular in the industry. The way the low health is and the map designs...makes matches a hide and seek game, 5/10 camp and the others actually play fair, like others said the weapon damage is unstable in many, and i can never play this game the same way i used to play mw2. Halo isnt the best game nor B.Ops, but the way Bungie & Treyarch listen to their fans is amazingly satisfying. Unlike i.Ward is always focused on their own opinions and making $$$. (Heck Treyarch gave their fans the last DLC FREE to whoever had Hardened or prestige edition!) something that really you guys at i.Ward would not have the heart to do or think of...That said im trying to get my point across not to hate but to express my true thoughts of mw3 and because im not the only one. I just really hope people vote with a clear reason and if your score is 80 or above you have not played mw2 or B.Ops to sincerely judge mw3 the right way Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    1
    How anybody would rate this above a 3 is beyond me. It's recycled crap. I work hard for my money, I'm not going to buy the same thing over and over. Reward **** and you'll just keep getting **** The quality of our products, including our entertainment, has always been in the hands of the consumer. Seriously, being an intelligent consumer that rewards quality rewards us all.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    I'm very disappointed. This is the same game, again. No better graphics, no better gameplay, no better multiplayer from MW2. No multiplayer across multiplatforms.
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    è veramente uno dei giochi più brutti mai visti è identico a mw & mw2 spendere 70 euro per una patch di mw è da idioti. questo gioco non vale nulla.
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    This is a game for magpies. You get a shiny every few seconds for everything you do. Even for when your doing badly. Yes, you get rewarded for doing badly! Graphics are exactly the same as MW 2. Even the story is boring and less interesting then MW 2. If you aren't sure about buying this game or not. Don't, pick up Battlefield or at least warfare 2. It far excels this.
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Terrible campaign, enemies infinitely respawn, and run past your AI partners just to kill you. The spec ops mode is uninspired and dull, and the maps for online multiplayer might as well have been a download map pack. Definitely not worth 60 dolars and its getting old really fast releasing a game year after year, running on the same graphic engine and not changing any of the gameplay mechanics.
  31. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    How did this Game pass any sort of Quality control standard! infinity ward have used the whole online gaming community (especially the young) to promote and sell this unfinished rehash! Building graphics are the same as mw2, graphics are dated.respawning an instantly dying multiple times is a joke,the detection is dire .. the maps are tiny ,gameplay is unrealistic. this company earned 1 BILLION DOLLARS from us last time .. WHAT DID YOU DO WITH THE MONEY?? Black ops is far superior in every which way, those who disagree are still caught up in the hype!
    Question for MW3 fanboys "would you still be playing it if it didnt have COD MW3 on the box"
    Expand
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Where do i start. Activision realy punched me in the face this time. I loved MW1, then MW2 came and the CoD series was coming to an end. Now with the release of MW3 i think it's over, for me atleast. This game shows no innovation, no tech upgrades. I mean the textures and some models used in the game are copied from previous titles. This game is bad to the core and doesn't deserve to have such a high rating. I think the milkcow is empty now. Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    To tell you the truth the game really is not as bad as people say it is. You have to get used to it and let it be what it is. Just because it's just like MW2 doesnt mean you have to rank it so low. I love every minute of live that i play and im pretty sure once i get to the campign, i'll love it to. I'm not saying MW3 is better than Battlefield 3, cause to tell you the truth, the graphic's are the same on MW3 as MW2 but Battlefield 3's graphics are outstanding! That doesnt mean you have to rank MW3 so low, it's still a fun game. i Give it a 9 for one reason only, i'm still impressed by it's big community and online gameplay! Expand
  34. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Modern warfare 3 is the same old lame game just the rest of the call of duty franchise, it annoys me when theses game developers expects us consumers to buy their game when they absolutely make no innovation in the game. Every year they make another Cod game and it is always the same. Since the user score us so low, that should be an indicator that the game suck and needs to be revamped, their graphics engine needs to be revamped and their online capabilities,not to mention their new elite service is down and they expect people to pay for service when they can not even get their network servers up and running, if they new that the game was going to be a huge game release, then they should have prepared themselves before the game was released and wait until the game comes out and then decides to fix the problem, while a lot of elite members are pissed off, including because i am not getting my money worth. Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3, despite the moniker "modern," manages to be archaic. If you are a fan of Call of Duty 4, then you will be delighted to find the some of the same building models in multiplayer. On the plus side, you can expect a future installment next year if you miss out on Modern Warfare 3. Joining the annual release of Madden, Call of Duty has become a yearly event. We can only hope for Call of Duty: Grenada in 2012. Expand
  36. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    We are at the pinnacle of FPS games, we are really seeing some neat stuff right now, enjoy it! Modern Warfare 3 is the complete package, anyone who has played it with half a brain would know that this game is an excellent investment. Multi-player is the best of the COD series, Spec ops is truly amazing, and the single player is worth a play through, only takes four hours. It is an experience all its own. Comparing FPS games nowadays is not fair, they are all awesome! After a hard day of MW3, I will fire up BF3 and smoke some people, jump into Halo, and guess what it makes me better at Call of Duty. Don't miss out on a really cool game just because some troller wants to put it down. Get it! Play it! Love it! Be a FPS fan, not a franchise fan. Expand
  37. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    With probably 2 months of my life spent playing Call of Duty multiplayer , i can say i'm not disappointed in this game nor excited about it, their are new features, but nothing refreshing, and is definitely not my dream Call of Duty game, i do enjoy playing Modern Warfare 3, but i feel i will be bored of it extremely soon, the next Call of Duty really has to surprise me to keep me hooked and as a note i do prefer Infinity Ward CoD games to Treyarch's. Expand
  38. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Why are you going to pay for a game that is exactly the same as its predecesor? FAT CULO AMADEO plays this game. (gamertag - THE OCTOPUS 88). He is the freakiest guy you'll meet and has the biggest ass this planet will ever know about.
    Amadeo CULOCTOPUS, a.k.a. CULOofDuty, CuloField, FatCulo, the Culisher, LordCuler, Culo of the ring, Culo's creed, Gears of Fulo.
    FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO,
    FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO, FULO!!! Expand
  39. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    MW3 is the best in the series. The campaign is solid and a fun experience. Multiplayer has recieved a huge overhaul and improved in every aspect. This is the most responsive fast paced FPS on the market. If you enjoy first person shooters, this is the game for you. Ignore the Battlefield fanboys, they aren't real people.
  40. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Have u seen how dated the graphics are. Everything is the exact same. Its a $60 map pack. Activison is just milking the Call of Duty series after all. People get ready for the next 6 map packs in a 2 months!
  41. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Crap, this is buggy and terrible and should never have been released. The biggest waste of money I have ever spent. Shame on the company and shame on this game for bothering to release this waste of a game!
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    I must say, the lads at Activision are simply brilliant. Figuring out a way to make schmucks pay $60 for a game that came out 4 years ago. Not only that, they are able to repeat year in, year out. It's the same game so expect the same noob tubing, cheap knife kills from 20 feet across the room, lack of vehicles, crap graphics and everything else that accompanies every CoD game.
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Infinity Ward have taken a backwards step after Black Ops. Treyarch took a step in the right direction by adding COD points and eliminating Quickscoping. IW has created a circus for children with the ridiculous ways to which u can 'snipe' in this game. Sniping used to be a skill from range, not a few quick clicks of a trigger from 2 meters away. The graphics can be excused as nobody expected anything more than black ops. The Audio is so poorly mixed, my ASTRO A40's sound like a cheap pair of Turtle Beach XLC's. Black Ops had varied recoil pending on different gun types, MW3 has next to no difference in gun types. Weapon perks are the stupidest things implemented in a game since the Wii remote. An MP5 only shoots so far, why add something to allow it to shoot further? Kill streaks used to be just that - KILL streaks. Even the worst player can get a spy plane on COD4/BOp's, it's only 3 kills. Now U can only capture a few objectives and you've gained reward. This makes sense, but if you die, this should reset. COD 4 redifined innovation and took the world by storm. MW2 was a mistake that the world could've done without and MW3 is the icing on the cake for IW and the reverse of progress. Treyarch got it right, in evey way. IW had sat back in their gold office chairs and smoked some mind altering drug and produced nothing but rubbish. In summary, too many kill streaks, dumb weapon perks, sniping is a joke, matchmaking is stupid and it's designed for 12 year olds. We would've been happy with COD 4 expansion instead of this over-hyped tragidy. Expand
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This game is rehashed garbage. If anything, it should have been DLC for Modern Warfare 2. Activision is just grabbing people's money. The graphics are exactly the same as MW2, and the story is cliche and boring. Waste of time and money.
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Oh COD: Mw2 got a 60 dollar dlc i think ill pass on it. Don't repackage the same game sell it for $60 and expect people to be happy. Also why did you decide to award noobs we dont need the guy that gets 5 kills over 5 different lives to get a killstreak.
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    The single player aspect of the game, while predictable, was miles better than battlefield 3's. Battlefield 3's campaign just ended up feeling awkward most of the time with rampant unnecessary QTEs. There were actually very few in MW3 by comparison. The action set pieces of mw3 i feel were pretty well done, though there were only a couple of parts in the game that you might actually remember post-finishing the game. On the other hand the multiplayer is basically what you've come to expect from the call of duty series. It still plays great but there isn't a "ton" of new things to check out. Which is basically my only real problem with the game-the lack of new stuff. Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Unlike many people, I had a lot of excitement going into Modern Warfare 3. I greatly enjoyed the campaigns of CoD 4 and MW2, and could not wait to see how Captain Price and Soap's journey ends. Unfortunately while I believe the campaign was still good, I walked away feeling unfulfilled and disappointed. In Modern Warfare 2's campaign when the Russians invaded the United States and you fought through the backyards of rural Virginia, that gave me the feeling of "Woah... holy **** this is kind of awesome!" just because it was so different than your traditional military shooter missions. Modern Warfare 3's campaign just didn't deliver any of those moments for me. It felt as though the campaign just went through the motions, and hit on way too many of the cliche shooter moments. I have always been someone who has greatly enjoyed the Call of Duty multiplayer experience, and committed hours of my life to it. I was excited to see some of the changes they were making, such as strike packages and weapon leveling because I felt it would mix up the flow. However, after playing eight hours so far of multiplayer, I feel it is more broken than ever. Perhaps it is just me, but it feels like weapons are far too overpowered now, and matches have turned into killstreak fests. For instance I remember in MW2 and Black Ops when getting kill streaks such as a stealth bomber and EMP were difficult and rare. However with the support strike package, these are frequent events in games such as domination. Overall Modern Warfare 3 still a good game in my eyes, but the campaign and changes to MW3 just do not live up to the hype they received. While many people may be complaining about the lack of innovation /change or that it's MW2.5, I am complaining because of the unbalanced feel to multiplayer and the campaign that is such a major let down after what I feel was an absolutely terrific MW2 campaign. As much as I love Captain Price and Soap, this game just wasn't able to do them justice. Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    This game is a copy and paste of last years version. There is no real new gameplay or add ons. Its just a new addition to the continued story. The story seems like it was called in. No real thought or creativity to it. With all the great games to come out this one isnt a must buy. Go play Arkham City or Uncharted 3 instead.
  49. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    It continually gets worse and worse, and Modern Warfare 3 is no exception. It is by far the worst installment in the entire Call of Duty franchise, even more disappointing than Black Ops. There's really not even a reason to go into detail about it. Nearly every aspect has taken a dive compared to Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2. It's more of the same, and even less impressive.
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I rate this one an 8 because of what it is and what I expected out of it. It's the same old same old, and that's what I expected. I only picked it up because I have friends who play it and I thought it would be fun to play.
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    i cant believe i wasted my $$$ on this piece of #####.
    game plays the same feeels the same.
    this should be dlc rather than a full game. this is the last time you got my $$$ activition.
  52. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    I'm not what you would call a cod fanboy in any way or respect, in fact for years I have been on the fence watching on and secretly agreeing with the outspoken minority that Activision's cash cow release lacked any sort of innovation and delivered lifeless characters and plot-lines in the process. But this perspective has subsided with MW3, but before I continue I have to admit that I have already played and completed Battlefield 3's campaign, and I have to admit both BF3 and MW3 impressed, but I do prefer BF3 overall - but this is my review of MW3 so I'll highlight what I enjoyed during my latest Call of Duty experience, and also what I feel lets it down.

    My main criticism of past cod games is that they never seem to have memorable characters, and even though the primary characters in MW3 are for the most part familiar I think during the course of the campaign they are far better developed, which helps immerse you deeper into the story and gameplay. Lets face it the story is so far fetched beyond comprehension, but it had me wanting more and keeping me on my toes with the different surroundings and locales - which were very impressive.

    From a technical perspective MW3 doesn't break any new ground in the visual department, but that's not to say it's not a pleasantly looking game. It is however technically sound with regards to textures and non existent screen tearing, plus I didn't experience any slow-down during the more epic battles, but I do think the overall pace and weapon sounds need some work. I like a well presented game and feel the menu system, as with previous cod games, lack in presentation. The font used in game and each of the menu screens is related to the series but I feel it needs revamping as it feels cheap and outdated. But this is a minor criticism and doesn't impact on the gameplay whatsoever.

    I'm not big on multiplayer these days, but what I have played is pretty much what I expected. It's solid, although like with many other people it is the habits of other players rather than the game itself that make the experience less enjoyable. The term 'camper' is what i associate with any Call of Duty release with regards to muliplayer, and yet again I have had to put up with their lack of gamership. I'm sure they could devise a playlist or gametype that could eliminate this plague and make the experience a more fulfilled one?... On the positive though the familiar ranking and experience system remains, meaning if you are unlucky enough be listed with a bunch of gamers that can't rack up the kills for the team, then you are not penalized too heavily for carrying your team to another glorious defeat.

    All in all I enjoyed the campaign and have the need to play through it again on the highest difficulty, so I will certainly get the full value from the £25 offer Tesco sucked me into!
    Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2011
    3
    COD 4 was a good game. It had every aspect for a good few years. The problem with the sequels is that there is not much to update or add. MW2 was good as well but i though that the game play was getting repetitive. Its basically COD 4 with new guns and a new campaign. At this point infinity ward is having a 4 year hangover thinking that as long as it has the Modern Warfare name, it will sell. I am not the only one thinking about leaving COD for Halo or Battlefield. The campaign was disappointing because it was highly predictable. The multiplayer has become boring. Plus since there was a minimum change in mechanics, the best players are still the best and there is no chance for new players to play and enjoy it. There is absolutely no reason to pick up this game or the next to come if it will be the same year after year. Expand
  54. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    What happens in most new COD releases is that the excitement of the limited cool new features (in this case survival mode spec ops and...i guess elite) seem to wear off after the first week and then I'm just back to playing COD the same way I have since the release of COD4: Modern Warfare. COD seems to have fallen into the Madden franchise habit of making each new release seem little more than an expansion pack for COD4. It's unrealistic to ask each release to be as game changing as COD4 but eventually a huge gameplay change needs to take place before I can give a new COD game more than an 8. In closing: The graphics are great, the campaign is fun but short and the multi-player is addicting as always but same old same old. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    MW3 had its work cut out trying to be half as good as its brother MW2 and it did not try as hard as it should have the multiplayer is not half as addicting as MW2 and gets boring after 1 to 2 hours of gameplay the maps are horrific and the campaign is twice as bad within five minutes it seems like you have been playing for hours. all in all it is a waste of £40 - Xbox360Critic
  56. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    After paying yet another £40 for the SAME game I won't be buying another. Modern Warfare 3 should be thought of as Modern Warfare 2.5. It is exactly the same game re-packed, yet CoD fans are happy to keep handing over the money. With all the money that these games make you would think they would actually use some to improve the game (for example, improving their engine). This game is completely deprived of any innovation. Games should be about pushing the boundaries of technology and attempting new things, instead they simply stick to the same formula and recycle the same game, yet get more millions and awards every time. Its games like Skyrim in which developers like Bethesda try and push the limits, increase innovation and thrive to not only simply tweak things but completely overhaul their engine, put their profits into making something new, more immersion and deep in order to create these stunning environments which capture the player and feel like an entirely new game. Though CoD isn't an RPG it could take some pointers from a company like Bethesda in order to not keep providing the same game but come out of the 'safe' zone and try to make something better/new. I think if this franchise keeps going like this it will meet the end of its product cycle. I for one will not be getting another, I already have one and some spare copies. At least its a good feeling knowing if Modern Warfare 2 breaks I have another copy of it (Modern Warfare 3).

    Bare in mind this review is only to make a point, I am sure much hard work goes into the campaign side of things (story, acting, etc) but my review focuses on the lack of 'new' features and innovation which equate to it feeling disappointing.
    Expand
  57. Nov 26, 2011
    5
    I wanted to like this game. I really did. I've been playing call of duty since call of duty 3, and i liked every one of them. But MW3 is _much_ worse than MW2. Killstreaks are overpowered, guns are unbalanced as **** hit detection is slow, spawns are **** general fluidity is lacking, and it's just not fun at the end of the day. Campaign was good, though, so here's the 5.
  58. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    campaign is vastly improved over mw2, a slightly longer length but a much more believable story, multiplayer is the same but still addictive only thing is graphics could be improved other than that overall a decent game and this review is coming from someone who is not a fan of the series
  59. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    Not worth the hassle. It's like they tried to put a game in a game that was never meant to have set game, you know? It doesn't belong in the Call of Duty franchise and it should never have had the number 3 in it, because it is a fake game.
  60. Dec 2, 2011
    9
    Modern Warfare 3 is a solid game that i would recommend to any fan of fps shooters if you have never played cod before it will give you a new very competitive game that has good graphics and is built on a very solid engine but for you return players you will find that there hasnt been very many changes from Modern Warfare 2 besides that it has maybe a little better graphics some new kill streaks some very good new maps and new ways of unlocking attachments and perks for your guns Expand
  61. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    I have to say it is disappointing not only that this game really has no real innovation whatsoever from the previous MW2, but how much it steals from every other shooter out there. And what is up with this silly Elite thing. Man other shooters offer this for free. Talk about milking the cash cow. The game itself is not terrible, but the bad spawn system, bad maps, over powered weapons, and lag don't present a good case for it. The game doesn't deserve a 0, but I'm giving it a 0 for a number of different reasons. 1) The franchise deserves better and trying to pass this off on the loyal fans just to dupe them out of their money is sad. 2) The fact that Glen Schofield tweeted to the fans to come on here and give it a 10 to counter balance the bad reviews is really sad. 3)The fact that it broke sales records not for it's quality, but on name alone is the saddest thing of all. The 0 is not for the game, it's for the lack of integrity both Activision and Infinity Ward possess. Pulling this kind of crap will kill the video game industry again, just like E.T. did in the early 80's. Charge people for hype induced crap. Expand
  62. Dec 20, 2011
    1
    Fairly enjoyable but they keep making the mistake of making the last chapter irritating hard, decide what is veteran and stick with it. Played Battlefield 3 and that got a rating of 8 from me
  63. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I love how the bf3 fanboys come to troll like this changes things for them, bf3 will remain to be garbage no matter what you say, with that said,besides the shooting from head and lag issue that is being worked on now the game is solid! Ricochet has been added and they are doing lots of updates, i am elite premium and the fact that it kicked off with a hitch was nothing compared to me buying bf3 and not being able to play PERIOD! sounds are amazing( no bf3 pellet guns here) and of course in any single game with every person that plays...if you are good at it then you enjoy it...to a extent then comes in personal preference.I dont constantly get spawned,no scoped(thank god),or teams that stay a mile apart i play to be in gunfights not rush a half mile to die from some 9 yr old prone in the corner of the map, horrible horrible bf3 players blend waaayy too much it is very hard to distinguish although i did love the story and location of bf3 i felt like i was in black hawk down or somethin..MW3 movement is smooth graphics are clear and gametypes(new) and regular are everything i expected..if i wanted bf3 i should have kept my MEDAL OF HONOR!! mw3 is exactly what it should be... same steak different sauce!! Expand
  64. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the best games of 2011, although BF3 has nicer graphics, i think MW3 is a better game with a bigger fan base. The maps are less opener than in Black Ops. The battles are more semi-close and close combat. Expand
  65. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Okay, so we have a bunch of angry people saying they didn't change anything... okay they put perks in the game from MW1, they added new kill streaks, my only problem with this game, is the how short the campaign is... the Multiplayer in my opinion, is gold, not only do you rank up but your guns rank up as well. Despite the setbacks with the layoffs and the firing of 2 major people that worked on MW2 I think IW out did themselves, with MW3, I will admit it isn't perfect, but then again, what is Expand
  66. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    This game is practically the same game as before. But if it isn't broke don't fix it. the campaign is a little stale but it's still very enjoyable. It had an amazing story line way better than mw2. The multiplayer is very fun, but I wish they brought back some of the new features that were added in black ops. Survival is exciting too and adds a great new addition to the game. My favorite so far and will continue to play. Hopefully next time they bring more innovation. Because by then it will be over used. Other than that a great game Expand
  67. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    I'm not entirely sure why so many people are rating this below 4. I agree that the game engine is very similar, the graphics are basically unchanged, and the sounds are reused - but this still a decent game! The plot was excellent, and I loved seeing what happened to all the characters we've all grown to love over the last couple of Modern Warfare games. The multiplayer is nothing drastically overhauled, but still great fun. It might be better if there were less 12 year olds acting like war heroes, but whatever. I can't offer more than a 6 though, simply because, like others have said, its TOO similar to be fresh enough for those high scores. Worth playing though! Expand
  68. Jan 11, 2012
    5
    First of all, during my time with the game I was unbiased as possible and tried to see it from a critic's perspective.
    Does the game live up to the massive hype generated when the brand name is mentioned?
    Did the quality of the game cause the sales to be what they are?
    Disappointingly, no to both.
    This is simply a mediocre game that feels unfinished and rushed, and, as to avoid beating
    around the bush, just not very fun.
    I am an optimist so I will start with the good first.
    -Survival! It is decent, but once you hit that wave you can never get past you realize you won't ever pass it, so it isn't fun anymore after you unlock everything.
    -Leveling up! You don't go 5 minutes without increasing your weapon level or getting promoted or completing some kind of challenge.
    -Customization! My classes are unique to me, and that is a great feeling.
    Now for what isn't the greatest.
    -Visuals. For a blockbuster title, it falls way short of expectations, especially considering the developers' nearly unlimited budget. It isn't necessarily that the graphics were sub-par (but were beginning to show their age), but that the color palate and the lighting was atrocious. I could barely see anything, even after adjusting brightness because of the monochromatic nature of the included maps. Every map has the exact same "ruined city" theme, and they all seem far to similar to get a new experience all the time. That leads me into the next topic, maps.
    -Maps. I have never played a game where the maps were this poorly made and dull since 2003. Not only are they too cramped for sniping, if that's your niche, they are also far too large for many CQB encounters, making shotguns and sniper rifles completely useless. Every building has a similar design to the next, and lack of effort is apparent. Each CoD had its own Nuketown, a community favorite map of some sort. Modern Warfare 3 lacks even that. Arkaden in particular was utterly terrible.
    -Campaign. Other games do it better. The AI is dumb as bricks and aren't any sort of fun to fight. The only redeeming feature of the campaign may be its length, but I didn't even feel the will to play it to the end because it just wasn't fun.
    -Sound. I have NEVER gotten a headache or gotten frustrated with sound in a game before, and to make matters worse, it was all directly imported from Modern Warfare 2 or was a generic noise only slightly tweaked. Sound effects were weak in general, and the guns all sounded like toys. Explosions were like firecrackers, which is even worse for a noise you will hear 24/7 in this game. -Recycled. At least I give credit to Treyarch for doing something different with their switch from World at War to Black Ops, giving the two games a different feel while the 3rd installment in the Modern Warfare series feels too much like the second, especially in multiplayer which is ridiculously broken.
    -Multiplayer. The weapon leveling system is pretty nice, but besides that it gives me deja vu of the days of MW2. Heck, sometimes people weren't sure which one I was playing! The mechanics of multiplayer are simple and the same as always, not really any notable new gametypes. As if it couldn't get any less of a downer than that, the spawning system is atrocious, and don't even get me started on weapon balance. I have a 5.7 K/D, and that was because I found I could exploit the weapon unbalances to the extreme to get that insane ratio, not because I am a good player. If you owned MW2 and loved it, never got bored of it I'd wait another month or so until the huge price drop then you will probably enjoy it. If you are new to CoD, I would stay away as it isn't worth the money right now.
    If you make your purchases only after a ton of research and are 100% sure you think it will be worth it, then it is in your best interest to avoid this altogether.
    This game felt like a low-budget project, and the lack of effort from the dev team was obvious. Overall, 5.1 out of 10.
    Expand
  69. Jan 12, 2012
    0
    Sorry to post again but I wanna know how much the critics were paid to give this suck a high review, did you guys see this? Yeah, I'm calling you guys out. Glen Schofield referred to user reviews as suspicious, the only thing suspicious is the critic reviews!
  70. Jan 15, 2012
    3
    I remember MW2 a boring game,i could play like 2 matches but then it got boring,I didnt understand what everybody liked about it,And now the sequel is here And its exactly the same,I thaugt,right this is a sequel,maybe its better then mw2.But i was wrong,so wrong,i liked cod 4,Was a mediocer game.5/10 by me.and now,Call of duty is the most overrated game series of all time. I dont get it,why does everybody like these kind of games?What happened to us gamers? Did something happen? its weird with kids growing up these days,They will be like when they are old
    -Remember when we were kids and played that call of duty game?
    They will never get nostalgic by cod games.
    Call of duty is so overrated..
    Expand
  71. Feb 25, 2012
    4
    I am surprised it took people this many games to realize call of duty wasn't going to change... I got tired of these games back when MW2 Came out, which was hardly 2 years ago. Theres alot better games out there. I dont understand how activasion can make so much money and then just not change anything.
  72. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    I dare say that most of the uber negative reviews on here were written by people who've logged 5 or more days in MW3's multiplayer alone. But, I digress. MW3 is a fine game with nothing inherently wrong with it. The problem with cod nowadays is not the games themselves, but the community. Having been a cod vet since 2006, I can categorically state that cod has, by far, the WORST community in all of gaming. The community is selfish, lazy, stat-obsessive & far too shaped by Youtube. If you're looking for a skill based, objective oriented shooter, skip it, just move on down the aisle & find another title. But, if you're just looking for some mindless fun & you couldn't care less about stats because you just want to shoot some people in the face, pick it up, because there's nothing wrong with the game itself. Expand
  73. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    It's kinda like Maple Story, but with guns.
    The graphic is cool and I HELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLOHELLO HELLO HELLO
  74. Feb 7, 2012
    2
    Same game, different year. There is nothing in this game that you haven't seen in the previous ones. The story is ok, all 5 hours of it!! and the online actually got me addicted for about 3 days, these are the only reasons its getting a 2/10 from me.
  75. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    If you are looking for refreshing new game play then this is not the game for you. It feels like a more polished version of older versions with worse maps. Even the new DLC maps weren't very good, I would have rather seen the return of a few favorites to be honest. It is very obvious this game was rushed out of the gate from day 1 and it is pretty evident from a couple of things like the fact that the model shotgun has an attachments proficiency even though it has no attachments to begin with. Another thing why is there no hardcore free for all when it was such a fan favorite in previous titles, and why did the hardcore team death match not have ricochet (where you can't kill your team mates) from the start when in Black ops they finally decided to add it to stop people from team killing the whole game. Why has it taken so long for them to get Elite up and running like they said they would in regards to clan competitions. Aside from these problems MW3 is one of the most polished shooters on the market and fans of the series will feel right at home. I would just like to see a map pack with more than 1 or 2 maps in it, I know they spread it out so Elite members would feel like they are getting something every month like they promised but even with releasing 1 or 2 maps a month the game is starting to feel stale quick. The campaign was alright if not a bit hard to follow but I defiantly wasn't as impressed with it as I was in the previous two. It is time for us to take a stand as gamers and demand innovation because if they keep selling more of the almost the same game every time they would be stupid to stop. Why improve a game when they can slap a fresh paint of coat on it and break even more sales records than the one before. How about releasing a map pack with 5 favorites from older versions just a sign of good faith to the audience that has supported them from day 1, I think its an insult to people who bought elite to say sorry we haven't made Elite the experience we promised but thanks for your fifty bucks here's a prestige token. The thing is why try to support a game right when you already have the next 5 games to be released underway to be shipped in under a year. Expand
  76. Feb 13, 2012
    0
    This game is just terrible. It's basically a DLC for MW2 that costs $60. The guns are terrible, the maps suck, the spawns don't make sense and every gun has Instakill built in. Everyone camps for killstreaks and no one plays the objective, it's sad to see what has happened to the call of duty franchise. Hopefully, Treyarch can improve these problems in Black Ops 2.
  77. Feb 15, 2012
    3
    Ok. Had this game since release date but wanted to give them some time to fix possible bugs. I think 3 months is more than enough but OH, BOY... I won't argue about the "old mechanics". We all knew it was more of the same. Just cause of that, it deserves a 6 score. But the bugs... mainly the lag compensation thing and crazy spawns did it for me. Just giving a heads up: If you live in a country where most of the people have a connection that is 10% of what you have DON'T EVEN TRY this game. You'll end up having to nerf your connection and using it on "Moderate" Type in order to play anything. Expand
  78. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Same 'ol garbage game. Yes this is MW 2.5. This could've been offered as dlc. IW just rehased MW2 and made it more noob friendly. Being more of a hardcore gamer myself I was really disappointed this time around. The multiplayer is trash and here is why. The spawn system is atrocious. The lag compensation is ridiculous. The weapons are very unbalanced. IW had a chance to get this one right and they failed miserably. Campaign and spec ops is pretty much identical to mw2. I was really hyped about this game, but after playing mp for about an hour I realized it was the same 'ol trash. Don't waste your money. Go play outside. You'll have a much better time. Expand
  79. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Ugh. Didn't buy this game, just borrowed it from a friend (thank god). I don't rate the multiplayer, as it is absolutely identical to the past 4 games, which I also disliked. The campaign was dull, being the exact same garbage as the previous two modern warfare games. Call of Duty is like the Skrillex of video games: poor quality, but everyone knows about it and plays it. However, the ending was better than Mass Effect 3's. But that's not saying much.â Expand
  80. dzy
    Apr 24, 2012
    8
    This is the first Call of Duty game that I've really played since Modern Warfare 1 so I can't really comment on what it seems to be the repetitiveness of this series.. The single player campaign is solid, lots of action for me. Multiplayer... at times can be frustrating. Kinda dislike some of the guns ability to kill quickly or instantly, but oh well just got to deal with it . The online can be funny as well. I'm talking about the people who run around with the riot shield and picking the right moment to light you up. Don't know why, but I find it funny and I'm the one who always die to those people. To me, it's a good game to play when I'm taking a break from school work and just need a bit of online gaming action. Expand
  81. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    The Call of Duty franchise is a worldwide phenomenon, it's games inspired us for generation. I was a 13-teen when i first played Call of Duty. Over all favorites is the Modern Warfare series, to see the different point of view in the series from their creators were a blast. Despite the graphics in MW3, it's story from the campaign is great, spec ops is much fun with Survival mode( but more players beside two.), and of course
    the multiplayer was much better in MW3, plus lots of fun with the elite( helps you play better as a player in multiplayer.). the game sold over million copies on sales of last year. In my opinion MW3 is one of the best shooters and top 100 favorite games of all time to me.
    Expand
  82. May 28, 2012
    0
    ...I can't be arsed to type my utter disgust about how much this game sucks. Oh boy, it's the same game for the 4th time in a row. Of course, idiotic COD fanboys will fall for it, but not me. This game is nothing but a money printer for Activision. Nothing more.
  83. May 24, 2012
    7
    It's a fair game. And this is a completely fair review. I've loved the Call of Duty series for a while now, though this game is fun and very popular, it's pretty good at best. It's not a bad game, if you will.
    The campaign is not believeable at times because of how predictable or linear it is with cliches from this genre, but who cares. The one thing that pulls millions of people to MW3
    is the multiplayer. Yes, it is innovative for the most part when considering the killstreaks, game modes, and small things here and there to keep that "Call of Duty multiplayer" pace going, but it's nothing new. When being developed it kept a "if it ain't broke don't fix it" idea to the max. If you wanted to be completely critical you can say it's simply Modern Warfare 2 with a fresh coat of paint on it. Fixing the small things here and there from the MW2 game, and chainging a few killstreaks doesn't make it entirely something new to embrace and delve into. All in all, it's a fair game for awhile but then it loses it's fun. Expand
  84. Aug 4, 2012
    1
    i should bash my head with a brick after playing this game!!! its broken, knifing system is bad , and it is so dame hare ( that's what she said ).i can't believe that my friends like this crap. the people that made this game should be a shamed of them selves.
  85. Aug 25, 2012
    1
    You know, when people said "Mw3 is a copy of Mw2" I figured it just had some similarities to it, in sense the Megaman series, you all had to fight 8 robots ect. I was wrong. I was so wrong. The moment I started the game. The freaking MENU is THE SAME! The ONLY difference being the damn background is a darker green. I decided to start off with the campaign. Couldn't finish it. It was so predictable and run-of-the-mill I named off the events before it even happened. I honestly didn't care about the story enough to finish it,

    I moved on to Multiplayer, and half the guns were taken from MW2. (Including the guns that are the same, with one letter switched.) The map layouts were very poorly designed and I found myself spawn-killed easier than in MW2 (Didn't think it was possible).

    I moved onto Special Ops. This part was probably the best part of the game, and if I were to rate it, I would give it a 4. The missions were less-than "Meh" and the survival mode was simply unplayable by yourself. (Unlike the much better Zombie survival on Black Ops). It's kind of hard to live when you have 5 supershielded gunmen with suicide bombers on your back while a chopper is shooting you from the sky.

    Td;dr: Predictable story, Bad multiplayer mechanics, Too little change from MW2, Survival is dumb on your own and the Spec Ops missions are below meh.

    1/10. Good job Infinityward, you remind me of EA
    Expand
  86. Jun 16, 2012
    0
    This feels like a rushed and crappier version of Modern Warfare 2. I honestly feel that a zero is even too much. Both Sledgehammer games and the community ruined this series. The graphics are from 2005, the maps are full of rubble/camping spots, the knife is unpredictable, shotguns are terrible, assasin/blind eye, deathstreakers are annoying, and killstreaks are just rediculous. Campers, little kids, headglitchers, no life tryhards, MW3's got it all! THIS IS AN INSULT TO THE COMMUNITY. Expand
  87. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    I wouldn't give this game the time of day if I were you. Between clunky game play and a terrible storyline, the latest installment in the Modern Warfare series flopped for me. The campaign is semi-short and really doesn't end the series well, the matchmaking system is slow at best, and when you finally do get into a match, all you get is a bunch of camping noobs or addicted, swearing 18 year-olds who spend all of their time sitting in their parents basement for 10 hours a day playing this fail of a game. I bought it on sale because all of my friends got the MW3 Edition xBox for Christmas and we all wanted to play some matches together. One of the worst mistakes I've ever made and THE biggest waste of $40. Expand
  88. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    This game was probably the biggest waste of money in my entire life. I bought it because my friends were saying, "Oh, this is gonna be awesome! Way better than Black Ops! You should play it with us!" While I said it looked exactly like Modern Warfare 2, one of my friends claimed, "Don't fix something that isn't broken." Unfortuantely, I had forgotten how broken Modern Warfare 2 was, and how desperately it needed to be fixed. So, while Black Ops got a lot of things wrong, Modern Warfare 3 got hundreds more things wrong.

    Campaign: Probably the most plot-hole riddled garbage I've ever had the misfortune to play. While the level design is decent, the actual setting and story was horrendous, even worse than Modern Warfare 2's campaign. What happened to Infinity Ward making good stories? COD4 had a brilliant story. Modern Warfare 3's story sucked.

    Multiplayer: This is where the real bashing begins. Since Multiplayer is a copy-paste from MW2, everything that Infinity Ward got wrong in Modern Warfare 2 is also wrong in this game. Balancing is off, the spawn system is broken, and griefers and hackers run amock trying to troll players. They even failed to get the thing they tried to emphasize in this game:gun-on-gun gameplay. Point streaks are the only thing I don't disagree with, but you'll hear hundreds of gamers complaining about how point streaks, "Take no f***ing skill."

    SpecOps: Fun for 3 weeks. After that, whether or not you've unlocked everything, I guarntuee you will lose interest.

    DLC: Downlodable content from Call of Duty is usually lacking in quality. MW3's DLC are no exception. And, with the inclusion of COD ELITE, Activision is trying to drain even more money off of their consumers. Honestly, what is this world coming to?

    Final Verdict: Awful, awful game. I don't know why all the mainstream critics say this game is good, and I'm actually starting to suspect Activision bribed them all to give MW3 a good score. While the formula for a Call of Duty game can still work, for me, it completely backfired and the experience feels exactly the same from Black Ops and even from Modern Warfare 2.

    0/10. Do not buy this game! Seriously! One of the worst mistakes I've made when it comes to buying video games!
    Expand
  89. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    I can't for the life of me understand why anyone still buys Call of Duty games!
    They've pumped out virtually the same game every year since everyone realized how awesome COD4 was. Do people not realize that this is the same game that they've bought 3 years running now? Madden sets out to make the same game every year, and even THEIR games have more of a difference year to year than COD's....
  90. Jul 17, 2012
    0
    It would be easy to skip the campaign and just assume the Russians were up to no good again... So I did skip it. It would also be easy to skip learning the new weapons attributes and go with the perennial favorite of hardcore and casual gamers alike, the UMP45 again... So I did (most of the time). It would also be easy to be able to ingore the very minor improvement in graphics and messy killstreaks setup and just play MW2 or BlackOps some more... So I do. The only reason to play this instead of the last two CoD releases is that there is a certain portion of fellow CoD gamers that have moved on to this release and you want to keep playing with those gamers, learning new maps and slightly different builds just to keep things fresh. However, I recommend trying different types of games altogether if you think mastering MW3 is as fun, if even worth your time, compared to playing MW2 or BlackOps some more. CoD has just become a foregone conclusion to me. Every year we will see some new twist on it that keeps the revenue train rolling but like a girlfriend you've grown tired of over time, it doesn't matter how many different positions or costumes they try on, things get stale and depressing until both parties move on with their lives. I see all the other mediocre user reviews as symbology of a bitter end to what used to be a grand love affair. It makes me sad to see you go CoD but I just can't stand to be in the same room with you anymore. Maybe I'll call you in a month or two when I get really desperate but for now let's just try to make this a clean separation. Expand
  91. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Well, I saw all low rating that users wrote, but my rate is high because I never played CoD MW serie. I really dig it.

    If they do the same game that other MW I really don't know. But I liked the gameplay, the story and other features. The multiplayer game have glitches other FPS give us a best experience. But for a quick and fun shoot play, it gonna well.
  92. Aug 12, 2012
    2
    This game is a joke. It feels, looks, and plays like a MW2 clone. I'm glad i didn't buy it myself but borrowed it from a friend, to try it out. I did finish the campaign, (which was the only thing i found enjoyable) even though it was kind of short. You would say they would've been able to put more work into the campaign since they obviously didn't put any of the work into the multiplayer, it's like they just did a quick copy/paste. Anyhow, the multiplayer feels broken. Everyone is using the same freaking weapons, running around with akimbo FGM9's, MP7's, or any assault rifle. And what's up with the same old stuff you used in CoD4? I still see the same wooden crates, car's, and other stuff. And that's not all of it. All the voices, noises, and sounds are also just copied from previous games. And survival mode? A terrible attempt at creating something as enjoyable as Zombies. Expand
  93. Nov 14, 2012
    2
    If I continually brought the same essay to school, my teacher would fail me. When Call of Duty releases the same game every year it is rewarded with 9/10 reviews and record sales numbers. If I changed the font it wouldn't make a difference, so I can't see why fans and reviewers are time and again fooled by new gun skins and tweaked gameplay mechanics.
  94. May 1, 2013
    3
    I was all hyped for this game because modern warfare 2 was so addicting even with it's flaws and i was expecting the same addiction that i had before but was disappointed and after 3 prestige's called it quits and couldn't handle the crappyness anymore and sold it at gamestop
  95. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is a decent game, The story was amazing, but it's in the multiplayer where the game starts to disappoint. It literally is the exact same as modern warfare 2, some of the weapons are the exact same as in modern warfare 2 but with a new look slapped on. There is only 1 new mode, and it's the common hoard mode. But there are some really good multiplayer maps. And killstreaks, even if some are cheap and impossible to avoid if the enemy gets one. Plus when you think of a sequel you think of innovation, there is very little found in this game. In the end it is a solid game. Expand
  96. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    I can understand why people hate this game. However if you can manage to escape all the **** that is akimbo fm9s and dead mans hand this game is terrific. Fast paced, rewards good players (and sometimes bad players) and nice graphics. I recommend this game to all CoD fans.
  97. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    I have played every COD this generation. I've really enjoyed most of them (COD3 being the exception). But I was finding myself growing a bit tired of the formula. Thinking I wanted something new, I entended to skip this COD and pick up Battlefield 3 instead. Then I played the BF3 beta and found myself struggling to get into it. So when BF3 hit, I decided to rent it instead of buy it outright. I beat the campaign, it was decent. But again, I struggled to get into the multiplayer. It was well crafted, but just didn't gel with me. So I canceled my BF3 order and ordered COD MW3. And despite my earlier feelings of wanting something different, I found myself in love with the series all over again. The campaign is possibly my favorite so far. The multiplayer, while familiar, adds enough to make it feel exciting again (I especially love Kill Confirmed mode and the way points help unlock support packages...)! I've not spent much time with Spec Ops or Survival yet... but that just speaks to the wealth of content available in this title. There was much doubt that the "new" Infinity Ward could bring the quality that the founders were known for once they departed Activision. But the truth is, I find Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 to be a better game all around than Infinity Ward's last game, Modern Warfare 2. And since World at War and Black Ops turned out solid (in my book), between the new Infinity Ward and Treyarch, this franchise is in good hands. Yes, one could still argue that this series hasn't taken many risks this generation... but at the same time, they must be doing something right. I'm not the only one who keeps coming back for more, and having a great time in the process. Expand
  98. Jan 2, 2012
    3
    Having played all incarnations of COD, this one really doesn't change much, nor bring anything new to the table. Rather than a few minor tweaks to the multiplayer when it comes to killstreaks, and weapons the game is not an upgrade or a downgrade, it's just the same. If you are looking for a very quick and pointless game of shoot'em up, where you die almost as much as you kill, this game is for you. If you want to play a game that it's maps are qso compact that it promotes camping, this game is for you. The gameplay is tired, and the sound is sub par...but it is fun for about 2 to 3 hours, then it gets boring and repetitive, fast!!! I can't give it a zero, because it does have some fun gameplay, but that gameplay is short lived. Expand
  99. Nov 11, 2011
    3
    The review I was going to write was going to be longer than 5000 characters, so I am just going to list the positives and negatives of this game.

    Positives:
    â
  100. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This is jsut plain pathethic with all these fan boys. Let me start off by saying Mw3 and BF3 are both great games. I give MW3 a 10 not because it deserves one but because of all the 0's I see, how can a game even get a 0 hahaha, not even Viva Pinta. But I mean what is it expected from people that gave a 10 to BF3 lol If you don't believe me click on each of there names and more then half have rated BF3, while the other half probably jsut made a new account so people would say what I am saying. But To be honest with you I would give this game an 8.5 out of 10. The game is solid good graphics, great moment. The Campaign is awesome just like previous Call of dutys. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.