User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8483 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    One of the biggest problems were the maps. When MW3 advertised that you would be fighting around all of Europe, I was expecting Europe. Some parts look like Europe, but you might as well call them a different place and we would buy it. The novelty of playing in Europe is fighting in famous areas. Why not fight in the Eiffle tower or something? Black ops had much more creative maps. A Space shuttle launch, a atomic bomb test site. These maps are absolutly nothing. Nothing special at all, no variety. That was the worst of them all. Metal gear evolves dramatically with each jump. This will forever be the stump in COD's evolution process. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Has anyone ever hear"if it isn't broke then don't fix it?"Well There first two games were nothing short of amazing and gaming at it's best.The third game just tweaks little things and adds a ton of new content to make this the best in the series and when I say that i also mean Black ops.This game goes above and beyond any war game ever made and in my opinion it was the third best game made in 2011.This was the best shooter, though, made in 2011.There formula was perfection well they tweaked perfection and came up with a game that eclipses ALL of the war games ever created and a game that will be played 10 years from now.Just look how there is still 3000-7000 people playing the first COD modern warfare and that was made back in 2007.This game just went beyond my expectations and I LOVE IT ! Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Not much of an improvement on MW2. Should've been called Modern Warfare 2 and a Half........

    With their resources! Their talent! Their knowledge! This is a shameful dissappointment from Infinity Ward. Fvckin Idiots!
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I am ashamed at all of these haters. Think of the game in a professional way, it provides copius amounts of gameplay for copius amounts of people. Activision don't give **** about your reviews, and why should they. MW3 is (as of the review date) on 90 metacritic score. And rightly so. All of the things that angered me and a lot of people about Modern Warfare 2 have been adressed and changed and the new interface is refreshing. The campaign is just amazing, with nothing new or revolutionary offered, but something that we have all come to love and expect from the series. Anybody who hates this game because of what their friends say, or because of this pointless feud between BF3 and MW3 or just because they think it's **** is a sheep and SHOULD be disregarded. 88/100. (I had to put it up to a 10 to counteract the ridiculous amounts of 0's.) Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    awesome game, don't know why it's getting such low user score.I am enjoying the campaign and of course the multiplayer.spec ops is my favourite mode ,but i wish they had bots in splitscreen mode other than that the game is awesome worth it's $60 price tag.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Good....Good...Let the butthurt flow through you. Seriously fan girls, whats wrong with you? Its not battlefield so it sucks. Same can be said the other way around.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Even though the game uses the same engine, there are changes to the gameplay that make it the game that it should have been two years ago. After playing Battlefield 3, I realized that COD is my game of choice. No other game gets the adrenaline pumping and my palms sweating like COD. The best multiplayer of the bunch, and as always the campaign is loud and brash enough to have the hours whizz by. Spec Ops is a good time waster, and the new survival mode can be addictive. Don't listen to all the trolls who are knocking this game. This is a must buy for COD fans and a great place to enter the series Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Why don't we start rating games by how many copies they sell? If people don't like the game, then they shouldn't buy it. (There's enough game play videos online to get a real good feel for a game before you buy it.) Since MW3 broke all sales records, I think its safe to say the game is amazing. Most fans essentially wanted a balanced MW2 with new maps and features. This is exactly what we got.. and its great. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    There are way too many haters on this site. This game is definetley not bad. This game is so much fun. People have to calm down and enjoy it for what it is, A VIDEO GAME. 9/10 is my real score but these user reviews are getting me mad.
  10. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    5t4t45tkyuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuklhjlgkj,gggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghj,jh,g
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    if it is not broke do not fix it, this is the same COD that everyone loves with more surprises and support options, just keep being the best. not complain that you are putting 0, I think they are frustrated lovers Battlefield.
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I cant believe the reviews i am seeing! This is the best game to come out since Black Ops! Spec Ops...Multiplayer that keeps on giving...Improved campaign...what is the problem??? I have played this game for over 100 hours and I am still hooked! This is a must FPS!
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    These scores mean nothing so I might as well donate my 10 to the mix. Hey 0's, go play BF and quit complaining about a game that you are biased against from the beginning. I didn't go give BF a 0 because I like COD because I'm not a petty child.
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Got home from an awesome midnight launch to read dozens of zero rated reviews (including one guy who said already he'd finished the single player on veteran in only 6 hours but it was only 1:30am at that time - an hour and a half after release). Amazing how many ppl claim to have finished the game within an hour of it's release. Right. And they give it a zero. All I can say is that after playing for several hours now, that this will be the disc in my 360 for 95% of the time until the next COD. It is that good. (Okay maybe I will swap it out for a bit more for GTA 5 when it is released - LOL).
    I thought MW2 was a 10, I thought Black Ops was an 8.5, and MW3 is a 10 again.
    It's pretty clear that when the pro reviewers are mostly all giving it very high marks, the users giving it a zero within minutes of it's release are as credible as the claims they are making about finishing it as quickly.
    Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    MW3 is what every CoD fan should want. A polished version of the great game we all love. I'm surprised how many negative user reviews they are? How many of the bad reviews were written by disappointed BF3 players???? There's no such thing as a CoD killer.........
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I love this game. All of these haters are BF3 fans that can't stand to admit that MW3 is better in every single way. I have both games and MW3 blows BF3 away. It's the truth. If you enjoy shooters you have to try this game.
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 to offset all the haters but it's probably more like a 7 or 8. I am giving a lower score because they did not use the best features of black ops: rotating challenges and "buy your gear and perks" model.

    To all the people who say the campaign blows I'd like to let you in on something. THIS IS MULTI-PLAYER GAME. If you're buying this game for the campaign please save
    your money and stop writing the crap reviews saying the campaign sucks. We know this already.

    The game is very similar to MW2. So if you like MW2 you will be happy. This is my impression after 2 hours of play on several maps. The map complexity and detail is much improved over black ops with several good sniping lanes and multiple tiers for height advantage. I played over 250 hours of black ops and I think the hit detection is much better. The new "kill confirmed" game mode is interesting. In this mode you have to collect a dead player's dog tags to score points for the team. You can also collect your teams dog tags to keep the other team from scoring points.
    Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This is jsut plain pathethic with all these fan boys. Let me start off by saying Mw3 and BF3 are both great games. I give MW3 a 10 not because it deserves one but because of all the 0's I see, how can a game even get a 0 hahaha, not even Viva Pinta. But I mean what is it expected from people that gave a 10 to BF3 lol If you don't believe me click on each of there names and more then half have rated BF3, while the other half probably jsut made a new account so people would say what I am saying. But To be honest with you I would give this game an 8.5 out of 10. The game is solid good graphics, great moment. The Campaign is awesome just like previous Call of dutys. Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    How do you rate this game a zero? Seriously.. the game does what it's meant to do.. entertain. I don't enjoy multiplayer games all that much, but CoD happens to be one of the few games that I do enjoy. Battlefield 3 was just as enjoyable. This whole CoD vs BF thing is so beyond stupid. Both games are great, I own them both and play both regularly. Honestly, I enjoyed Uncharted more than either game, but they are both equally enjoyable. Call of Duty, like it or not kids, is the game of this generation. You don't like it, then don't buy it. Six Million copies sold in one day does not happen to games that are zeros (though they certainly don't deserve a 10 by copies sold alone). This is a great game, a great series.. if you don't like it.. then don't buy it. =) Expand
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    all the haters are merely terrible at the game, and want to jump on the bandwagon. If you actually have good reflexes, the game is amazing... I stomp all over people online and it is a lot of fun.. Just because you have no skill, and cannot get a good score, does not mean the game sucks. BF3 had more problems then MW3 does... with all the glitches, terrible servers, **** attachments like the flashlight, which blinds you even in a super bright environment, Keep in mind this GOES AGAINST THE LAWS OF PHYSICS! In a bright area, the flashlight would be worthless, and even in a dark one it would not blind you so much... even your own teammates blind you with their flashlights, it is ridiculous.

    BF3 WAS NOT EVEN FINISHED or POLISHED, MW3 is better, and the destruction they run their mouth about is still simple and not used on half of the buildings, reallllllyyyy cooool.
    Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. To top it off is the vastly improved Spec Ops co-op that is now fine-tuned to be an equally enjoyable solo experience to the campaign with Survival discovering how to balance solo and co-op where Zombies et al could not.
    People may argue that the game runs on an old engine but briefly ignoring the fact that this is a very nice-looking game with a silky smooth 60FPS: since when have engines been the be-all and end-all of a game's success... Ocarina of Time 3D is still one of the best games of the year despite running on an engine from a decade ago so that cant be a detrimental factor to MW3.....
    The highlight of the series and the most fun I've had with an FPS since Portal 2 (and there have been many in between you'll all note) :)
    Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    do u people think anyone cares whaqt u have to say u are the idiots that watched the footage and seen the game play months before the game came out and you still gave the $50 to activision. you dumbasses are probabbly the same people who bought battlefield 3 and thought it was an-amazing game even though its still loks the exact same on console as battlefield 2 did. either way modern warfare 3 sold 9 million copies in the first 24 hours so do u really think any one cares about the troll reviews on here. and i love the way u complain about it being like mw2 but give no good ideas on how to improve it your like those sad occupy wall street bastards who complain that theres a problem but have no solution Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Well, everyone who actually played the game agree, that this is a very good game. But they also agree, that this is kind of a DLC to MW 2. 60$ for a DLC? That's why i give this game a 0.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    There was a time when I was a hardcore COD fan. Back when it was still a WWII game, and dwarfed by EA's Medal of Honor series. But I still loved that game, because it was new, refreshing, and overall a much better game than MOH. And even ignoring the at best average COD:3, I still loved the series, and loved it even more when they dropped COD:4. Sure I was still playing BF2, but there was nothing like Modern Warfare, and in many ways it was better than BF2. But now, I can only sigh when I see another COD being released. For all of their influence and reinvention of the FPS genre, they have fallen completely stale. I would not recommend buying MW:3, unless you are really in love with the series. The campaign has turned into something so ridiculous I don't even think the worst Hollywood action movies could out do it, and while the set pieces still bring a slight bit of excitement, it all just feels like I've done this before. The only solid part about the whole thing is that it closes out the series storyline.( I hope, anyway) The multiplayer has some nice tweaks in it and I have to say the co-op is also very well done, but once again, it all feels the same. It's still the corridor, run-n-gun, twitch reflex, no-scope, game. And despite all of the small, and well done tweaks, the game just seems to be all too familiar to keep me interested. I can honestly say that I tried, I played with a bunch of friends, tried to re-light that fire that kept me playing COD:4 for years, but it's just not there anymore. Honestly, I would say this game is worth the rental, especially if you played COD:4, and MW2, just to close out the story. However, I would absolutely not recommend buying MW:3, it's just not worth the money anymore. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    En efecto, es más de lo mismo. Pero, por qué camiar algo que funciona tan bien?. Alguien intentaría cambiar el sabor de un buen jamón?. La fórmula funciona, y aunque los gráficos no son punteros, a cambio conservan los fundamentales 60 fps en este tipo de juego. Nunca entenderé el por qué de tanto hater. Aunque sea un tópico, vive y deja vivir. Tanta historia con el Battlefield 3, como si no se pudiese disfrutar de los dos. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    For the longest time, I forgot that I was playing MW3 and thought I was still playing MW2. New weapons + nothing else new does not = worthy sequel. Seriously, the developers cut and paste exact buildings and structures from past CoD games onto this one.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Sure it's similar to MW2, but that doesn't make it a bad game! I'm enjoying it, and i'm really liking the changed they DID add, such as proficiency's, strike packages, point steaks instead of kill streaks, etc.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    ANSWERING GLEN SCHOFIELD'S CALL OF DUTY! I bet 3/4 of the 0 scores came from butthurt BF fanboys who didn't even buy the game. I actually played it and though the game isn't perfect, it deserves a 8 or a 9 if you ask me, but to counteract the 0's by the butthurt no-life retards that is the BF community, I will give this game a 10.
  29. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is amazing. I love the story so much. I actually got sorta sad when soap died. and survival was really fun. I like survival way better than zombies! Multi-player is really fun too. I wish they included the money system from black ops. But kill confirmed made up for the wager matches though. Expand
  30. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Does the franchise proud. From the opening battle, to the final showdown, this was an absolute blast to play. I look forward to next fall and the next launch...
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 comes to us by way of an older engine, but still looks great. Sure, it's not among the very best out there nowadays, but it performs well. At any given time the screen appears ready to burst with effects and visual madness. Entire battles are waged before you; buildings burn and crumble while a steady flow of explosions batter your senses. This is Call of Duty, and Modern Warfare 3 collects these moments of boom in abundance, presenting them in all their 60 frames-per-second glory.

    Modern Warfare 3's singleplayer campaign hits many of the same highs and lows as its predecessors. Amazing setpieces serve as backdrops for giant firefights yet again. This is no understatement. Few games retain the crazy roller coaster pace that this does level after level, with brief moments to breathe set between the next eruption of gunplay. The shooting feels extremely responsive and well-tuned, and the battlegrounds challenge your awareness at all times. You're always given different situations that mix-up the gameplay just enough to keep things interesting. The game presents a formidable challenge, as always, on the Hardened and Veteran settings â
    Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Right, firstly I've not got on board with BF3 yet, I've always been a COD fan, so stick with what I know best, and enjoy (saying that, I am going to get BF3 as well). I can see there's probably a lot of people on here who are BF3 fans and obviously feel the need to slate another game. There isn't anything wrong with MW3, certainly doesn't justify the ZERO rating many people have given it. I played the single player last night (having already played multiplayer a few nights before), and I was blown away by the way the game drew me in, it just feels like classic COD... yes, not much in innovation, but if it ain't broke don't fix it. The hardcore fans of the series love it for all it's core gameplay and style... so this game, may feel like an expensive add on, but it's still bloody good! I really enjoyed what I've seen of single player, and also enjoyed the multiplayer side of things... seriously, if you love the MW, then just get it, judge for yourself, it's everything you loved about previous editions. And yes, I'm going to try out BF too... but not then going to go on the BF review wall and leave a nice big zero if I don't like it. Peace. Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 is the best in the series. If you played MW2 you will love MW3. The first thing you notice when you play is that there's a lot more ways to play the game. If you're not the type to get a bunch of kills in a row then the Support Package is for you. Your "streak" doesn't reset when you die. All of you other Pro COD players will probably stick to Assault Package since its similar to what you're used to. Once you hit level 20 you can pick the Specialist Strike Package. This has no killstreaks. Instead the more kills you get,the more perks you get. I recommend this for only the most expert of players. This package has no deathstreaks so making a comeback will be especially difficult. There are 2 new modes in the game that are really cool. Kill Confirmed is basically Team Deathmatch but you have to pick up these dogtags to confirm the kills. You can also pick up your own dog tag and deny the other teams kills. Team Defender is a fun twist on Capture the Flag. In Team defender the objective is to play keep away with the flag. The longer you have it the more points you get. If you play with your friends and have a strategy you will have a good chance of dominating. Expand
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    "The game is exactly what was expected. I guarantee that if Activision/Sledgehammer/Infinity Ward changed the game, there would be more people pissing and moaning about how they preferred it before and that they shouldn't have changed what was not broke"
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    The most overhyped piece of trash I've ever played. Every Call of Duty game has been identical since 2007. The developers make very little effort to make the games exciting and this is no exception. If you already have MW2 or any other COD game for that matter, you certainly don't need this. There's absolutely nothing new on offer. Avoid like the plague.
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The game is exactly what was expected. I guarantee that if Activision/Sledgehammer/Infinity Ward changed the game, there would be more people pissing and moaning about how they preferred it before and that they shouldn't have changed what was not broken...blah blah blah. Somebody call a "whaa-mbulance". The game provides a continuation of a series, not an entirely new game.
    As the gaming
    industry progresses, gamers will undoubtedly continue to **** about how they are let down by publishers and developers and how they disappointed they are with their new releases. Well you bought it, why don't you try enjoying it, or go back to your Angry Birds, oh wait, Angry Birds Seasons is the same as the previous version, what a gyp... sod off.
    The game is enjoyable and can definitely pass the time. It does possess all the same characteristics that made you buy the previous versions (shocker).
    Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable that anyone would give this game a zero. I sense some shenanigans here.
    This game is consistent with the quality we have come to expect from Call of Duty, and it is not only a progression of the franchise but also a new benchmark for the industry. It is an undisputed masterpiece.
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I love it, people here giving it a lot of hate, I dont know exactly what they are expecting. Does the campaign suck? Maybe, but I will never know because I don't buy these games for crap single player, that is what RPGs are for. Played for about 5 hours so far and the gameplay is tight, maps are nice, guns and perks have been rebalanced which I feel is a vast improvement over MW2. As far as people calling this a map pack or an expansion, what call of duty hasn't been such? If EA wanted to invest money and time in a huge engine upgrade for BF3 then so be it. I have that too and it's also quite enjoyable, but I'm not going to blame a developer for not dishing out a bunch of cash to upgrade an engine on an outdated system when new consoles are around the corner. Four of us purchased it and played it last night. The extra gun damage was a little bit of an adjustment but all in all we love it. I noted the people giving it 0s are taking extraordinary time to post across all platforms, really EA employees and fanboys? Metacritic cannot be trusted because of this crap. If you loved MW2 but couldn't stand all the BS danger close/commando, or felt Black Ops fell short because you had to pump a full clip into someone, you will like this game. Is it like an extension of MW2, yes completely, the fixed version. Expand
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    a 2.8? really internet? have some respect for the people who worked hard on this game and stop trying to troll call of duty. It's a fun game. Millions of people buy it and love it every year, thats all that should matter. Please rate this game a 10 and try to get the score up to a respectable level.... seriously... this is awful
  40. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I hate it when if you hate something you are called a troll. first of all when CoD 4 came out I liked it. But it's the same game they release everyyear and it sucks now. No the people that are complaining about this game are not trolls,they are giving REAL reasons on why they hate this game. Activison is a spammer, they spam the same game at you every year. It's funny how they do not take long to make CoD games, it's because they copy and paste everything... from sounds,guns EVERYTHING. By the end of this year we will have 17 or 18 Call of Duties... They will come out with A PS Vita version too, they are comming out with Black Ops 2, Pretty soon you wont know which Call of Duty came out first... Why don't all games just be called Call of Duty? Pretty soon you will buy a different game, and Call of Duty will be in the box.... there's no escaping Call of Duty. Activison is ruining the gaming industry, and you guys are letting them... How about we have a kinect version aswell? Call of Duty needs to die, and if it doesn't we probably will have another videogame crash, like we did a long time ago when E.T came out for the Atari... Everyone should take there CoD games and fly them to a hidden desert and bury it. Better yet, how about we take all C0D games and spend a few billion dollars and fly them into the sun. I'm guessing that wouldn't work either, the sun would get sick of playing C0D all the time too and explode... Mark my words... I bet when everyone gets tired of Call of Duy..Activison will keep making them, but call it something else. From now on they should just call it Re-call of Duty... And on the box it should say " Now with more of the same" 2 weeks later out comes Re-call of Duty 2 Pink Ops. And Super Call of Duty brothers. Expand
  41. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Do not listen to the hipocrites who are giving this game 0s out of 10. They complain that Modern Warfare 3 is just the same game as last year but with a new coat of paint. This lie is far from the truth.

    Yes, most of the core mechanics remain the same, but underneath the illusion of it being just another CoD game lies a fantastic shooter. The campaign is probably the best Call of Duty
    campaign yet, with a gripping story, great levels and a ton of explosions to keep you occpupied all the way until the ending. Yes, it may be pretty linear, but I think that the best way to enjoy CoD campaigns is by thinking of it as an interactive movie, then you'll enjoy it best. Besides, it's a more than refreshing change from Black Ops' extremely dull campaign.

    The multiplayer has experienced quite a few changes that improve it, such as reintroducing Deathstreaks and adding Strike Packages. While the multiplayer remains largely the same addictive action that we're all used to, Battlefield 3's is still a lot better.

    Spec-Ops, on the other hand, brings us something more or less fresh: Survival Mode. While it follows the same basic principle as Zombies does (fight waves of attacking enemies that increasingly grow in size and power with a buddy), Survival Mode surprisingly emerges as the stronger component out of the two. Personally I hated Zombies; it got so repetitive struggling to kill these brainless enemies in a range of dull maps, only ever getting to something like Level 12 on my own. Survival Mode, however, can be as accessible as you like, as you instead fight off soldiers rather than the undead. Survival Mode is a deeper, more balanced experience.

    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't change many of its core game mechanics, and its' multiplayer is not as good as Battlefield 3's, but as a shooter PACKAGE, this is one of the best.
    Expand
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    People can either listen to a bunch of angry fan boys for a franchise being popular or you can listen to people who actually play games and review them for a living. Sure this game feels like more of the same but if it aint broke dont fix it. The game is meant to be fast paced and addicting. And it does just that. However it also feels like more of a complete package. A good not great campaign. And co op modes that can be really fun. Even if you dont like call of duty you cant deny that they still can make a solid game after so many years . the question is where does it go after this and after MW will call of duty ever be the same again? Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    It's the same COD formula you know and love just with a whole new outlook on it. My suggestion, Buy it.
    People say it's the same thing every year but if that's true, isn't every sequel? Ignore them and play it for yourself, if you don't like it fair enough.
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Just like when BFBC2 came out I opt to rather put in the COD disc, because it is just more entertaining period. Sure they are both great games, but COD outshines BF3 in all areas. So I'm sorry BF3 fanboys, you lost your battle so stop giving 0 scores here and go back to being a jet or chopper hog in that other game, where pretty much vehicles are the only fun thing about it.
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The reason why this game is getting so many good reviews from critics is because they are reviewing just this game. If you take away the fact it's a copy of Modern Warfare 2 I think you have a pretty decent game.
  46. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    All of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on all ports and add's some neat features to keep the fans happy. Not to mention the gritty campaign we have all come to appreciate from all of the Call of Duty titles. It's not perfect, dedicated servers and added pc features such as FoV etc would have been nice. However I'm going to give this a 10 to compensate for all the thoughtless 0's I'm seeing. Good job Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer! I look forward to your next installment. Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Does it feel like mw2? yes, does it feel like dlc..a little. Is it the same fun and consistency you expect fomr cod yes. 60 bucks a year for new maps and new features seems fair to me, I think it is just "cool" to hate on this game right now.
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I'm countering idiotic battlefield 3 fanboys giving this game a crap rating when they've never even played the game. This is the best one of the modern warfare series by a longshot. I'm glad I reached puberty so I don't need to go over and give bf3 a crap review for no reason
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    ALL the negative ratings for this game either comes from EA's employees that are on the firing line, or just BF3 fanboys. Lets look at the numbers. BF3, after 2 weeks has sold only 1 million copies. This is a disaster for EA games!! They needed over 3 million just to break even. MW3 however, sold 6.5 million copies and is easily the number one game for FPS's. MW3 uses the same engine as MW2, but that's no surprise. Its still a great game and keeps on getting better. MW3 is great simply because it has always been great. BF3 has major slowdowns, hardly gets to the desired 60fps, and looks choppy. BF3 has better graphics but with the slowdowns, it simply sucks by comparison. MW3 runs at 60fps and never slows down once. Its FLUID!! And still looks great. BF3 is a wide-open gaming that has huge maps. You get in, and it takes a long time just to find someone to shoot at.

    Bottom line: MW3 is a familiar close-encounter game that is far more fun. The low ratings here are simply people at EA trying to destroy the competition by giving it a low rating. EA games suck. They have always sucked, as evidenced by many games. Especially Crysis 2 when EA made Crytek release an Alpha to the public to make money.

    Now we have to deal with Origin on computer's? Say no to CRAPWARE, say NO to EA. EA is going down the tubes... the faster the better.
    Expand
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A disappointment on all levels. Same as MW2. Nothing new will be added to this series. The developers are mediocre at best. There is no more creativity from these people.
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    If you want a drastic change of game, you will be disappointed. If you loved CoD4, this is a great game. I have only played online, and I haven't had this much fun since the first Modern Warfare. I think the low average score here is very misleading and shows a flaw in the metacritic system. If you don't belong to the Cult of CoD4, by all means skip it. If you do, then welcome back, brother (or sister). It's the best of both Modern Warfares with some much-needed changes. Expand
  52. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Just finished the game. I was hoping more, it really sucked.
    Filling 150 characters! asdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdasdas
  53. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the haters. If you liked MW2, which was ace, then you'll love this. Story continues where MW2 leaves off and delivers more of the same epic modern warfare we've come to love.

    Multiplayer has massively improved this time around and lots of new co-op goodness as well.

    More of the same in 2 years please IW.
  54. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    If Modern Warfare 3 reeks the smell of disappointment to you, then go play Battlefield, it might suit your selfish and disparate need for long runs, but if you're a gamer who thinks outside the box, Modern Warefare 3 is enhanced in so many different ways, casual gamers won't even notice. Graphics are improved but only that the experience won't feel any different, a lot more colorful and intact. Frame rate not noticed yet was obviously increased along the more responsive controls and character animation. Multiplayer takes you deeper into the most competitive online experience with the new set of weaponry and strategic tools and the new adaptation of the most addictive Zombie kill fest, the Survival mode, is nothing short of challenging and sheer fun. Expand
  55. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    buen juego!
    nada que decir
    cumple su prometido, no prometen nada que no haga =)
    larga vida mw3
    quizas en una proxima generacion de consolas podamos pedir algo mas, para que pueda seguir manteniendo esos fluidos 60 fps que no los cambio por nada!
  56. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Will all you haters shut the f*ck up? The only reason you say it sucks is because you suck at the game. Go Get a life and give this game what it truly deserves why don't you?
  57. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I rated this an 10 for a couple reasons:

    a) So many people bashing one **** game's Metacritic score is a pathetic waste of a paragraph. If you want something changed about multiplayer, see the official forums. If Spec Ops wasn't to your liking, well you're a **** moron. And if it's single player, well grow up and buy a real game. This was a multiplayer purchase first and foremost. If you
    didn't realize that when you bought it, I really do feel bad for you.
    b) The little tweeks that make CoD come out year after year, the reason they keep making as much money as they do is because the fanbase is there. Hell for a radically different example, look at Halo. Halo has not **** changed at all over the 10 years it's been out. Shield, healthbar, death. And hell, they're upgrading the pistol to its original form here soon! They're reverting back to the old ways and that particular fanbase is PAYING to play that!? Seriously though, CoD comes out with a different game every year. If you're expecting big, radical changes, you're into the wrong game series.
    c) As someone who took a year off after MW2 came out because I hate **** Treyarch and because 3 months after MW2 came out the Tac Nuke was being overused in my typical gametype, Hardcore TD, I **** love this game. This game took what was good from MW2, mashed it with what originally worked in MW1, and put it in a nice little bow where they improved upon the hit boxes online as well as the 60FPS frame rate.

    To all you who are mass producing the 0 grade, you're review should be thrown out because it serves no purpose but to bastardize a great game. Wanna make a statement next time a CoD game comes out? DON'T **** BUY IT AND STAY OFF THE **** SERVERS.
    Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Incredible......beautiful, the best Call of Duty yet, one of the years greatest games. I wasn't just impressed with MW3, I was BLOWN away! The campaign alone is enough reason to call it 2011's best shooter, and maybe even "Game of the Year." The multiplayer and Spec Ops are just as good as they ever were, if not, better. But what's really truly amazing and best about MW3 in my opinion is it's single player campaign experience. The cinematic moments were awe inspiring, unforgettable. My jaw literally dropped when I saw the Pairs Tower fall, and everything else. The scale of MW3 is just so much larger then any other Call of Duty game yet, and it's so beautiful. Now I'm not one of those super huge COD fan boys that thinks COD is better then anything else and everything else sucks. I've always liked the Call of Duty games, but I've never been obsessed over the series. I was already excited enough for MW3, with it being all about World War 3 and continuing a story line that I was already very in too. So like I said, my expectations were blown away! Although MW3 may have nothing new to offer when it comes to gameplay, that is no reason not to love this game and everything else it has to offer. Those who are just in it for the multiplayer are coming in short handed and not even experiencing half of what MW3 really has to offer and the amazement that comes with it.

    Hands down, MW3 is more then worth buying. It's a game the other game designers should really envy. The only reason the ratings are so low for most of the gamers here, is because they only play the multiplayer and are not getting MW3's full experience. (Not that the multiplayer is something anyone should be disappointed about.) Either that or the Battlefield 3 lovers. Or the COD haters all around. **** you guys. You don't know a good game when you see one. Trust me, play that campaign with it's incredible story, cinematic beauty, and overly entertaining missions, and you'll call MW3 one of the greatest games ever made, I grantee it.
    Expand
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Great game! I bought BF3 on launch, and I loved it. Then when MW3 came out, I decided to go buy it, I was not disappointed! Keep in mind this is the first Modern Warfare game I have purchased. The campaign was amazing, online is spectacular, and spec ops is sweet, especially survival mode.
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The game is great!!There are waaay too many trolls on this site!!If you dont like CoD dont buy it,for that matter,dont even play it.Im enjoying this game a lot,one of the best to come out this year,right next to Gears 3,and Deus Ex!!
  61. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Easily the best CoD game ever created. excellent solo campaign, addictive co-op in spec ops survival/missions and the best fps multiplayer ever created in my lifetime.
  62. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I honestly don't see how anyone can say that this is the same game as MW2. Improved graphics, new story, new modes, new guns, new leveling system for weapons, strike packages, new killstreaks, new maps, need I keep going? Id like to hear one thing about this game that is exactly the same as MW2. Besides, saying this game is similar to MW2 is a compliment in my opinion. I am a fan of COD and BF myself. They are both great games but I am tired of all the hardcore BF fans coming here just to hate on this game. EVERY negative review mentions BF in some way. It is obvious that all the negativity is coming from supporters of BF which is a very biased and unfair way to judge a game. The fact is, this game sold 6.5 million copies in the first 24 hours and id bet most of those people love this game and are probubly playing it right now. This game is a great addition to the series and will always be loved weather some people want to hate on it or not. Maybe if BF3 was more fun, some of you would be playing it instead of coming here to hate on MW3.... Expand
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So many trolls, all i can say is gtfo and go play your own game? i've played all of the cod instalments through the years, I actually started from 2nd. The gameplay may be by the same engine and what not, but this does not mean that it's just the same cereal in different packaging. There's been implementations of a variety of new weapons, weapons level system, mods, modes, killstreaks and so much more, that it's not the same as previous installments. How would you like to make it different? make it real life? i'm sorry but unfortunately the worlds already in such a state, and you trolls aren't helping it's cause. Expand
  64. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    If it's not broken, don't fix it........excellent game so far. I have only played through about half so far but it is cod all the way. There are people that love run and gun games and this series is the best there is for that.
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    All fan boy and anti CoD aside. I feel like the attempted innovation was the "vertical" maps. The first thing I noticed was the fact that I was looking up and down more than left and right. There are hardly any flat maps in this installment. The graphics have been enhanced and they look great. Most of the character movement meshes well with the background (although sometimes the people look like they are epileptic). Overall the game play feels just like the predecessors with a few tweaks. Due to the fact that there's no new bells and whistles that particularly wow me, I probably will not clock as many hours on MW3 as I did on MW2 and CoD4, but It will hold me over for a while. Final thought: Not a bad game. People burned out on MW probably won't care too much for it. Fans and newcomers should have a blast though. Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Campaign was absolutely epic and the ending is excellent. Spec Ops survival mode is immensly fun and the missions are very fun. The multiplayer is absolutely amazing with the completely overhauled and brand new killstreak rewards and new pointstreaks. Only complaint is the campaign being a bit short.
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    òtimo Jogo.. realmente não pq as pessoas não gostam dele! ele tem graficos incriveis um história muito boa é tuuudo muito bom! Então.. só pq Batlefield 3 ta na area e ta bombando não quer dizer que o CoD é menos do q ele, CoD é um Classico e merece concerteza um 10.
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Reading through all these reviews I remember not 16 hours ago reading on **** /v/ how they were going to "downvote the **** out of it" I was going to give this game a 8 but I'll give it a 10 since the number's are so skewed
  69. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I actually would give this game an 8 or a 9, but haters have to hate so I feel like I have to give it a 10. Yes, it is similar to the other Call of Duty games. But if it ain't broke, don't fix it. The real Call of Duty fans know that the changes made in this game are huge, even the really subtle ones. As a COD fan myself, i believe this is the best and most balanced multiplayer yet. The new weapons are welcome, as well as the new perks, equipment, and the brand new point streak system. I'll be playing this game til the next one comes out... It dissapoints me that we live in a world today that when anyone hates something, they have to show it to the world. Keep hating haters, hope it makes you feel better about yourself. Expand
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Game is fantastic, campaign had amazing set pieces, while the multiplayer was the best rendition in the entire series. Survival mode is a great touch, and the best GoW Horde mode iterations I've ever seen.
  71. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    A terrific game I just absolutely love it. There is so much to do such as multi-player (and the modes) survival, missions and campaign. I definitely have to give this game a 10/10 its just amazing
  72. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This game definetaly deserved more praise then it got, just because it didn't redefine the generation, didn't make it a zero. Solid gameplay mechanics, and a incredible campaign will keep you pushing to the end. The multiplayer is nothing really new, but it has great hit detection, and fast paced maps with new ones coming out all the time. Only a moron would rate this game a zero. Don't be a moron. Expand
  73. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is great the campaign is amazing and the multiplayer is as awesome as ever if you like the modern warfare series then you should pick this one up
  74. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    It's funny how BF3 fans give it a 0 even when they haven't played the game. Are you mad that it got 90 on CRITIC REVIEWS while your game got 86? That shows which game is better. Anyway, game actually looks like MW2 but that's no problem, that game had beautiful graphics. Great Survival mode and Spec ops also. Campaign wasn't as great as COD4 and MW2 but it was really good. MP has been really improved. Expand
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. Some people are giving this dumb user reviews like 0 and 1, but if you read there review, some of them are just telling you to buy bf3. Some of them which are even dumber talk about mw2!!!! This is a game review, not a whole franchise review dumbasses. You should be only focusing on the game you are reviewing, and not on other games like mw2 or mw1.
  76. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    DO NOT LISTEN TO THE HATERS! What you love about COD:MW returns. Better campaign. Better online experience. Graphics and story will stun you once again. Do not hesitate to buy.
  77. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Shouldn't people have known that this game wasn't a huge improvement from MW2. Well I knew that before the release so I knew that it wouldn't be revolutionary and extremely incredible. With that knowledge I looked at this game different, and didn't have my hopes as high as they usually would be for a COD game. With that said, I think the gameplay is a lot like MW2 but much, much more BALANCED. Balance is the key to a multiplayer game and MW3 does a great job with it. The maps do suck but other than that, there is so much depth in the game. Don't forget about Survival Mode because it is also really good, but doesn't compare to Zombies. People need to stop critiquing the game for being the same, "What more can they put in?" I would give it a 9.5 if that was possible. And the free version of Elite is a must-have. Expand
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I purchased this game with an open mind. Willing to forgive the previous two debacles if they could only retain what made COD 4 great. Regrettably this failed. The same engine as four years ago, the same formulaic OTT campaign and the same twitch shooting that rewards caffeine fueled twelve year olds and punishes anyone trying to play as a team.

    Spend your money on something else.
  79. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    is this an update? yes, but a great ! the mp ist fantastic. the best i ever played at cod mw ! fast gameplay meets big maps. the weapons looks amazing.
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best CoD to date, no doubt. The Multiplayer is similar to MW2 but all the annoying things are fixed. This game is just what i was hoping for. This game is leagues ahead of any other shooter on xbox 360 and i don't want to start a flame war but this includes BF3. All the trolls on this site giving it a zero just look pathetic.
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I can promise you more than half of the red ratings are from BF3 fanbois. They probably haven't even played the game. So if you want to get that COD4 feeling again, buy this game and try it out. Ujelly fanbois?
  82. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    BF3 fanboys shouldn't be allowed to post, really this is just to counter act them. It's a solid 9.5 game though. I own both games and I almost sold bf3 within first 30 minutes after having huge lag, server connection, and rediculos downloads dor graphics, 2 disks retarded! Mw3 had nothing like this and blew me away at how smooth and how much anoying stuff they fixed from old games. Love new kill streak system. Buy the game and you bf3 looses stop posting horri.ble reviews Expand
  83. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The most polished gameplay shooter I have ever played, the weapons balance is perfect, the multiplayer is addicting, obviously the main objective was invest on polishment, it pays each euro.
  84. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is an intense, action packed, and fast paced fps with a few small flaws. Battlefield 3 fanboys are a bunch of insecure B*TCHES using the metacritic user review to feel like their unreasonable and unfair COD bashing is making a difference, while everyone else is playing the game and having fun like gamers are supposed to. That is all.
  85. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    good game, irregular conexion and killstreaks too much... 10 to compensate bad score
    great sequel but no innovation and seem an expansive to mw2. but the game isn't for 3,2 user score
  86. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Building on a tried and tested formula, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the strongest Call of Duty yet with a deep multiplayer and crafted campaign. With plenty of twists and turns along the way, the 3 game story arc certainly pays off - but doesn't leave much room for a sequel. But the highlight is Spec-Ops, particularly Survival mode - the ultimate Horde mode. Expand
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Great game. people knew it's CoD and wasn't going to change much yet still going to complain, in the end it's your fault for hyping yourself up so much it is fun though.
  88. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    played this for a few hours now with a friend we both have mw 1+2... he loves it because its more of the same.. i don't for exactly same reason . trading standards should be able to intervene on what is basically redrawn graphics.... i cannot for life of me understand why people fall for it ? interesting too after playing both this and bf3 that the journo's praise mw3 for the single player in which bf3 is VERY similar yet freely criticised !! somethin stinks if u ask me !! at least the journo's will have a nice xmas...
    should have been dlc for say 15-20 pound... just cannot see how activision can justify any more....
    can hear the cash cow moo from here..... disappointing
    Expand
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Its so obvious how butthurt BF3 fan boys are for having their game get a lesser score then CoD:MW3. Don't get me wrong, I am not siding on either front. I've played both BF3, and CoD:MW3 multi-player, and i'll be honest, they each have their strong points. This review is SOLELY over multi-player for both games (sorry, i ain't spoiling anything). BF3 for instance is gorgeous and features great use of large maps and vehicles to pit large groups of players together in spectacular, coordinated assaults. CoD:MW3 specializes in smaller, quicker, fast paced team, or FFA matches, that hardly fair worse. IMHO though, if you must get a console based shooter, go with CoD:MW3. Why? Because the campaign is undoubtedly more rock solid, and the multi-player (while not necessarily better) is hands down funner and notably balanced. Now, on the other hand, if you want the next big PC shooter, look no further then BF3. Its going to be much more beautiful, and a keyboard and mouse are the only controls to do it justice. You have to use EA's lackluster origin service, mixed with an in browser based launcher; but its a small price to pay. For me, MW3 may not be as pretty as BF3, but it feels much more familiar, polished, and just plain fun. Expand
  90. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Got this last night and have been having a blast ever since. Improves upon MW2 in every possible way. I'll be playing this for a long, long, long, long time.
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Gotta love people coming on here saying MW3 is simply the same ol game ( everybody hates what is on top ).. Call of duty is the best because all they have to do is refine the multiplayer just abit every year to keep it on top of the competition. Simply put the single player is the best story you will get with a fps, while it may not be quite on par with games like TES series it is still an awesome experience. The multiplayer is more fun then ever before! the gameplay is by far the smoothest around, Battlefield 3 is a great game but Call of duty just takes the cake once again Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty has a good thing going and is wise not to reinvent the wheel every iteration. There is a lot of strength in starting with a fantastic game and making it better. Starting from scratch with new tech, new engine, new assets,etc, never goes the way you'd expect and you end up spending lots of time just getting **** to work. Polish is key. These guys did just that... The game is polished and tight. Read the professional reviews. I've so far agreed with most of their comments. And I've not red one yet that seems insincere. I think they're legit. These negative user reviews are all haters. Expand
  93. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is dangerous, will leave you without sleep for many hours... been just amazing sofar (9 hours straight) and still does not fail to surprise in both scenes and gameplay.
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, Infinity Ward have done an excellent job in ironing out all of the flaws and annoyances in MW2 and Black Ops, and created the perfect sequel to MW2.
  95. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game may not exactly break new ground, but it's polished and smooth--which is what we've come to expect from Call of Duty. And until Metacritic wakes up and realizes they need to filter the fanboy hate with these ratings, I'm forced to give this high rating to balance out the clearly fraudulent "zero" ratings on here.
  96. srp
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I've played all MW incarnations extensively and this is the finest overall.

    A really tight campaign with only a couple of minor blemishes and the usual immaculate high standard MP experience. Add in Spec Ops and you have a fantastic package.

    The best MW experience to date - a must buy.
  97. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Amazing campaign and best multiplayer in the generation. The 3rd in the Modern Warfare saga, the best one. This game destroys BF3 and makes it look like a girlie game.
  98. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I made an account just to say all the negative reviews are just from BF3 fanboys or people who are convinced CoD2 was the last good CoD

    MW3 plays nothing like MW2, the pace the games run at is completely different, the perks and weaponry works in completely new ways which does make the game play a lot different. The maps are of different size to previous CoD's and the gameplay I would say
    is improved in every aspect.

    Survival is kick ass fun and the campaign owns
    Expand
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Honestly you Battlefield fanboys are sad. If you are a fan of the Call of Duty franchise you will be insanely impressed by MW3. Or as the fanboys here are calling it, MW2.5. The multiplayer is what good multiplayer should be. It is challenging but still amazingly fun. It drives you to keep playing with multiple unlocks. I have seen zero flaws with the multiplayer so far. If you are a Battlefield player you will find it very difficult to be competitive with MW3. I have a friend that is beast mode in BF3 and I only think he went positive once tonight while we were matchmaking. Keep in mind there is a learning curve but it is worth every minute. Sadly I have to sleep now since I have been playing non stop since release and have to get some rest before this adult goes to work tomorrow. Good luck! Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 11, 2012
    85
    Ultimately, Modern Warfare 3 feels similar to it's brethren, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great game. The single player element is still exciting, and multiplayer has more options than ever – if you're a fan of Call of Duty, Modern Warfare 3 is a no brainer.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    84
    Modern Warfare 3, while still an excellent thrill ride in its own right, feels far too similar to MW2 or even Black Ops for my taste.
  3. I never expected Modern Warfare 3 to go toe-to-toe with EA's juggernaut this year, but it came out of the gates with a tour de force campaign and co-op mode. It loses points with a perhaps too-familiar multiplayer that caters to the juvenile on Xbox Live; though don't be mistaken, Modern Warfare 3 is one hell of a shooter and a highlight for a series that just won't die – no matter how much we wish it bloody would, at times.