Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Xbox 360

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8720 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    100
    Like a divorced parent trying to win the affection of an only child, the game dishes out rewards with every breath.
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    95
    The multiplayer is the strongest it has ever been, and the coop mode has been expanded from an addition to a full-fledged mode. Modern Warfare 3 won't blow away anyone looking for anything new, but it will deliver enough thrills and quality to keep players engaged and coming back for more.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    92
    Modern Warfare 3 is what the fans expected - fast paced multiplayer action with some new twists and game modes that are a definitely a fresh breeze. But there are also a great campaign and the usual challenging Spec Ops.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't do anything new, but it also doesn't do anything wrong. For better or worse, this is a slick and well-metered trio of modes that make an entertaining package, but Sledgehammer Games and Infinity Ward are simply looking to augment previous games rather than expand the series into pastures new.
  5. 88
    Largely feels like an iterative title...This isn't to say that Modern Warfare 3 is at all a bad game-it's an attractive and polished effort with tight controls, addictive multiplayer, and the sense that one is truly on a battlefield, rather than carrying on a miniature war behind the scenes.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    85
    This is an exciting and rewarding game, but the series' signature thrills have lost some of their luster. Modern Warfare 3 iterates rather than innovates, so the fun you have is familiar. Fortunately, it's also utterly engrossing and immensely satisfying, giving fans another reason to rejoice in this busy shooter season.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    MW3 is what every CoD fan should want. A polished version of the great game we all love. I'm surprised how many negative user reviews theyMW3 is what every CoD fan should want. A polished version of the great game we all love. I'm surprised how many negative user reviews they are? How many of the bad reviews were written by disappointed BF3 players???? There's no such thing as a CoD killer......... Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    COD MW3 is the best multiplayer game in the series. The gunplay is easily the best on any console first person shooter. It runs at a veryCOD MW3 is the best multiplayer game in the series. The gunplay is easily the best on any console first person shooter. It runs at a very smooth 60 frames per second ans has little to no lag. This is very much an improvement over Blops. Ignore the trolls and haters this game is as fun as ever. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Ok so what is going on, usually it;s the critics that are really harsh and the users that aren't.

    Anyways, I think that they have done it
    Ok so what is going on, usually it;s the critics that are really harsh and the users that aren't.

    Anyways, I think that they have done it again. Without a doubt this game is an all round improvement on the previous titles which we all thought couldn't get better. The single player takes off straight from MW2 and had me glued to my seat until I had finished it. The story line is like that of a movie that keep you interested to the point where you say to yourself: 'I'll just play this next little bit so I know what happens', which is what I want in a game. The multiplayer is yet again a giant leap. It combines all the stuff we loved from the previous titles and improves in every single way. From the simple things like being able to connect with your friends over facebook (simple but brilliant), to the new way in which the kill streaks work allowing you to select assault or support depending on your gaming style, to the new game modes available.

    The game mode that stands out the most to me is without a doubt kill confirmed. I find myself thrown in to a game with complete strangers who I have never gamed with before but who all work as a team. Now to me that is what makes these games successful, the ability to make people work as a team. Of course all of the other game modes are still there so you can play your classic favorites but give the new ones a go, you might be surprised.

    The kill streak system now makes the game a lot more accessible to players, meaning that not only the elite, 30 kills no deaths players, get to use all of the toys that undoubtedly increase there kill to death ratio even more. Now you can choose assault, where your kills reset when you die and the rewards are used for assaulting the enemy, or support, where your kills do not reset when you die and the rewards are used to support your team. My friends who are not as good as some of the players on COD find this great as they don't have their hard earned kills removed from them when they die.

    Overall I think this is a great game and it baffles me as to why it has got such low reviews when you consider the amount of people who have bought the game already and the amount of people playing the game who keep saying that it is brilliant.

    I think people who are expecting a brilliant single player will be more than pleased with MW3 but those expecting a long single player game will be a little let down but you have to take into consideration previous games, and I mean all previous games. I have played near enough every first person shooter imaginable and what you tend to get is a brilliant and long single player experience with a pretty shoddy multiplayer experience, or a rubbish and short single player experience with an amazing multiplayer experience. Now I think it's safe to say that MW3 has a pretty healthy balance of the two which is rare in first person shooter games.

    For those who are not into your multiplayer gaming online and just buying this for the single player: you are missing out and quite frankly foolish.

    Cheers to the development team that worked on this I think you have done a fantastic job.
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    Uggghhhh, I picked up a copy of MW3 on released date and I'm regretting that decision right now!!! I was hopping for something a little newUggghhhh, I picked up a copy of MW3 on released date and I'm regretting that decision right now!!! I was hopping for something a little new compared to previous COD titles but I was greatly disappointed, its just the same old MW2 with new maps and some added game modes. Other than the Survival mode (which is fun), there aren't really anything too exciting to look forward to in this iteration of the series so don't waste your money. This might have been good as a DLC for MW2 but it doesn't cut it as a brand new game, which it definitely is not!! Everything is almost the same down to the menus, game play, and graphics (even had re-cycled building from COD4)!!!! As for all these rave reviews from all these so call critics passing off MW3 as the most exciting and innovative game yet, what a crock of BS! All the misleading reviews from these critics pushed me off the fence and I bought the game. Unfortunately, I fell off on the wrong side of the fence and re-purchased the same game I bought 2 years ago!! Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    1
    Since Black OPS release The Call Of Duty Franchise Became repetitive. Same guns same features. It gets to the point in where im like "why doSince Black OPS release The Call Of Duty Franchise Became repetitive. Same guns same features. It gets to the point in where im like "why do i even buy COD anymore its a waste of $60.00 Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    a bunch of followers and twelve year old kids thinking their cool. such a gay game... it would be a good game if it was the first cod ever,a bunch of followers and twelve year old kids thinking their cool. such a gay game... it would be a good game if it was the first cod ever, nothing like BF3 of course but wow its lack of vehicles and destruction is depressing Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Crap, this is buggy and terrible and should never have been released. The biggest waste of money I have ever spent. Shame on the company andCrap, this is buggy and terrible and should never have been released. The biggest waste of money I have ever spent. Shame on the company and shame on this game for bothering to release this waste of a game! Expand

See all 4535 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.