Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood Xbox 360

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 95
  2. Negative: 9 out of 95
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Its third act is quite a letdown and some of its gameplay elements are inherently forgettable, but "Call Of Juarez: Blood In Blodd" still adds up to a mostly enjoyable western game.
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    6
    Game is a lot better than it's predecessor and as a western style game is good fun. It runs a better storyline than gun but the game play in that is smoother, I would recommend red dead or call of juarez gunslinger from xbox arcade before this game, but if you are specifically looking for a western genre you may have a bit of fun with this title.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    Decent game pretty solid. Decent storyline, awesome graphics, very addictive. I quite liked the unique cover system felt totally different to alot of other FPS titles. This game is defiantly worth getting, it was released 09 and still in 11' it still feels like a brand new game.
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    If you are looking for an authentic western experience then look no further this game absolutely nails it,the west conjures up images of a landscape that is wild,free and goes on forever and this game does a fantastic job of presenting that image of the west,It has a great story that you will get emotionally invested in. Fantastic game
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    its a good western but at some points feels average but some gameplay concepts such as bullettime and horse riding is cool but few free roam sequences far are few and far between. the story pretty good.
  6. adamsylla
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    I can see a good future for ubisoft with the chome engine i cound say it even beter than the god father engine , hope we see nice GFX game like this with more action , may be is UBISOFT aquire the CHROME engine so the next Ghost recon and ranbowsix will be a hit
  7. rens
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    I originally thought the graphics for this game would be a bit under par but they're very, very next gen. Smooth, beautiful coloration and physics and sound, an overall spectacular aesthetic experience.
  8. VeikkoHynninen
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    This game is like a good thrill ride in an amusement park. The gameplay is pretty linear and you have no freedom at all, but apart from that, I really enjoyed the game. It has some nice innovative features like the dynamic cover system (adds a great deal to the atmosphere if you learn to use it fluidly). Graphics/effects are also superb, but not remarkably improved over Call Of Juarez DX10This game is like a good thrill ride in an amusement park. The gameplay is pretty linear and you have no freedom at all, but apart from that, I really enjoyed the game. It has some nice innovative features like the dynamic cover system (adds a great deal to the atmosphere if you learn to use it fluidly). Graphics/effects are also superb, but not remarkably improved over Call Of Juarez DX10 version. Expand
  9. SimonT
    Jul 2, 2009
    7
    It's an ok sequel to an average shooter. Things get pretty dull after the start and all the missions are just more of the same. It's a shame really, that they didn't put any effort on creating a new plot. This is more like another view on the first game. Some of the graphics are also horrible, especially background and landscape textures. Still, there aren't that many It's an ok sequel to an average shooter. Things get pretty dull after the start and all the missions are just more of the same. It's a shame really, that they didn't put any effort on creating a new plot. This is more like another view on the first game. Some of the graphics are also horrible, especially background and landscape textures. Still, there aren't that many shooters in this genre so i guess this will do. I just hope that the company knows when to quit when they're still ahead as i'm sure that with their knowledge and know-how things aren't gonna get any better than this. Expand
  10. Lloyd
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    Great single player campaign, totally different when played with each brother. Multiplayer is superb aswell, just like Call of Duty but obviously set in the Old West. Wild West Legends is a fantastic game mode.
  11. JimD
    Aug 27, 2009
    5
    Where is the co-op play! The structure of this game begs for that option. Two brothers, two players, to me, that is a very simple concept. I can play either brother, but not both together. I also found the 'draw' ending to the missions annoying and poorly implemented. Unless it was intentional, I found the controls acted differently from session to session. The predictable Where is the co-op play! The structure of this game begs for that option. Two brothers, two players, to me, that is a very simple concept. I can play either brother, but not both together. I also found the 'draw' ending to the missions annoying and poorly implemented. Unless it was intentional, I found the controls acted differently from session to session. The predictable storyline was not very innovative. Expand
  12. AdamC
    Aug 7, 2009
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I rented it, which is what I suggest all gamers to do because the game is quite short, but what it does do, it does right. While the graphics lack sheen, they're more than acceptable, the gameplay is great fun, and never truly frustrating... And... Was I the only one who thought the ending was Heart-wrenching?
  13. Yahtzee
    Oct 14, 2009
    9
    the plot is great. the shooting overall works and is historically accurate. it IS funny. the enviroments are awesome. if any thing this is a semi parody of the old west. if you dont like it, you can fuck right back off to your shitty halo 3. or WoW.
  14. SteveS.
    Jul 14, 2009
    4
    This game is solidly in my top 5 worst game stories of all time. It's one thing to have no story, or a bad story. But to pretend that you're writing something important when you're writing absolute garbage is something different entirely. The only twists you can't see coming are because they're so incredibly stupid that they're impossible to see. I would be This game is solidly in my top 5 worst game stories of all time. It's one thing to have no story, or a bad story. But to pretend that you're writing something important when you're writing absolute garbage is something different entirely. The only twists you can't see coming are because they're so incredibly stupid that they're impossible to see. I would be shocked if more than 1% of the people playing the game couldn't see exactly how the game would end after the first minutes of the opening cutscene. It's THAT cliched. The gameplay isn't anything special, either. Typical FPS, but this one's set in a Western atmosphere. I'd really like for someone to actually get this right at some point, because the setting of the West offers interesting potential. There's an unacceptable amount of draw-in and pop-in, and EVERY SINGLE MISSION AND SIDE MISSION ending in the game's botched quick-draw duel system is beyond horrible. Hang 'em high, boys. Expand
  15. ChristopherS
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Following the sleeper call of juarez comes bound in blood. the first game had a fantastic storyline and a not so much multiplayer. this game follows that up with another great storyline, improved combat controls and an amazingly better multiplayer experience. ubisoft comes with another great game that i recommend for any and every first person shooter. especially those who are tired of Following the sleeper call of juarez comes bound in blood. the first game had a fantastic storyline and a not so much multiplayer. this game follows that up with another great storyline, improved combat controls and an amazingly better multiplayer experience. ubisoft comes with another great game that i recommend for any and every first person shooter. especially those who are tired of the same old military, save the world type shooter. this is so much better and different and you will agree I'm sure. Expand
  16. SeanG
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    Amazingly fun game, and probably the best western shooter I've played. Compelling storyline, with likable ( and dis-likable characters ) will draw you into the game and make you want to keep playing it through to the end. About 6-8 hours of single player, but just long enough to tell the story. Could have done with slightly smarter AI, and leaving out cooperative mode was a mistake, Amazingly fun game, and probably the best western shooter I've played. Compelling storyline, with likable ( and dis-likable characters ) will draw you into the game and make you want to keep playing it through to the end. About 6-8 hours of single player, but just long enough to tell the story. Could have done with slightly smarter AI, and leaving out cooperative mode was a mistake, as the entire game is centered around two protagonists side by side. Expand
  17. DonnaM
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    You
  18. BarryN.
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    I felt compelled to write a short review of this came after reading the average reviews on Metacritic. I urge anyone who is considering buying this game to do so, it is an addictive game with unbelievably good graphics. It has a very enjoyable multiplayer that you will spend hours playing. Please don't listen to those negative reviews, they clearly didn't spend enough time on I felt compelled to write a short review of this came after reading the average reviews on Metacritic. I urge anyone who is considering buying this game to do so, it is an addictive game with unbelievably good graphics. It has a very enjoyable multiplayer that you will spend hours playing. Please don't listen to those negative reviews, they clearly didn't spend enough time on the game to truly enjoy the atmosphere and appreciate the time and effort put into the game by the developers. You most certainly will not regret buying this amazing, niche game. Expand
  19. Oct 24, 2016
    6
    Call Of Juarez Bound in Blood is a decent western-themed FPS.

    The gameplay is decent,with good gunplay,decent AI,and decent mission variety.I like how you get to choose which brother you want to play as before certain missions.Each has their own special weaon,like a bow and arrow or dynamite.The game,however,does a terrible job of telling you where to go.The game also gives you far too
    Call Of Juarez Bound in Blood is a decent western-themed FPS.

    The gameplay is decent,with good gunplay,decent AI,and decent mission variety.I like how you get to choose which brother you want to play as before certain missions.Each has their own special weaon,like a bow and arrow or dynamite.The game,however,does a terrible job of telling you where to go.The game also gives you far too little time to reach objectives without saying 'mission failed'.

    The graphics are nice,with a real western look to them,which really makes you feel like you are in this world.The framerate does drop in certain levels,but for the most part is fine.

    The story is interesting and well-developed and the sound design is incredible.However,the soundtrack is absolutely horrible.

    Overall,Call Of Juarez Bound in Blood is an okay western first-person shooter experience.If you like games with deep storylines,you will love this.For the rest of us,it's a decent western shooter.
    Expand
  20. Mar 8, 2017
    9
    Call of Jaurez: Bound in Blood is my favourite theme of the wild west, and does an absolutely tremendous job telling a somewhat cliche love story of two outlaws taking fighting to save a girl also including timeline events such as the American Civil war, and the fall of the indians. The game is smooth, fun, and simple. The online is also a blast, and the whole wild west is represented veryCall of Jaurez: Bound in Blood is my favourite theme of the wild west, and does an absolutely tremendous job telling a somewhat cliche love story of two outlaws taking fighting to save a girl also including timeline events such as the American Civil war, and the fall of the indians. The game is smooth, fun, and simple. The online is also a blast, and the whole wild west is represented very accurately. I can't really flaw the game, however the content is just not there to offer a perfect 10. Overall an amazing game also featuring a goat that can climb ladders! Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. With detailed attention paid to its more lacking qualities, there's no reason why this couldn't burst into a full-fledged contender in the FPS genre. However, such was also the argument made for its predecessor.
  2. The game may not be long but what it lacks here it makes up for in quality. A soild and enjoyable shooter which everyone should experience.
  3. A really fun title. I enjoyed the western setting as well as a couple of the twists that were in the story. In addition the fact that I can go through the campaign a second time and get a slightly different view of events is a great idea.