Castle Crashers Xbox 360

Castle Crashers Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this red-hot arcade adventure from the award-winning development studio, The Behemoth. Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers delivers unique hi-res illustrated visuals. Play with up to three friends locally or over[Xbox Live Arcade] Hack, slash, and smash your way to victory in this red-hot arcade adventure from the award-winning development studio, The Behemoth. Featuring hand-drawn characters, Castle Crashers delivers unique hi-res illustrated visuals. Play with up to three friends locally or over Xbox Live and discover the mind-boggling magic and mystery in the amazing world created just for you. Save your princess, defend your kingdom, and crash some castles! Play with more than 20 unlockable characters, 40 weapons to customize your hero, and an arsenal of combos and magical attacks to choose from. [The Behemoth] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. The Behemoth has made one of the best games on Xbox Live Arcade, and it's a 2D beat 'em up that feels fresh from an early '90s arcade.
  2. Overall, Castle Crashers is not only in my opinion, a game that stands up well with the classic greats it’s paying tribute to, but an excellent game that, at 15 bucks, deserves a space in every 360 gamer’s library, despite it’s (small) flaws (that will be fixed soon!).
  3. Regardless of how many join your fight, you’ll find Castle Crashers a content-packed offering, brimming with replayability, buoyed by unlockable characters and just-one-more-level addiction. Plan on crashing plenty castles before the holiday rush.
  4. If you've never liked side-scrolling brawlers in the vein of Golden Axe and Double Dragon, then feel free to move on because the neat little additions and charming art style of Castle Crashers will do nothing to win you over. If your eyes fill with tears of nostalgia at their very mention, though, then don't be put off by the price of 1,200 MS points because it's worth every penny if you have the friends with whom to enjoy it.
  5. Strong sound effects and some great background music make Castle Crashers a great game to turn up the speakers for, despite no audio within the story mode.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    80
    It's essentially "Golden Axe" for the 'more pixels, more joy' age. [Issue#38, p.115]
  7. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    60
    The grind-heavy mechanics may be for online obsessives, but solo players shouldn't bother. [Dec 2008, p.103]

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    One of the best action RPG games I've ever played on a console.
    Too much fun, full of interesting challenges and crazy enemies.
    This game
    One of the best action RPG games I've ever played on a console.
    Too much fun, full of interesting challenges and crazy enemies.

    This game deserves a sequel.
    Expand
  2. NateK.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    A really fun well polished beat em up game.
  3. NathanielC.
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    Though challenging while playing solo, it is without a doubt, my favorite XBLA title to date. A very solid game all around.
  4. MaxR.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Castle Crashers is an awesome game, only made better by the fact that it's made for multiplayer. Get a few friends, and let the action Castle Crashers is an awesome game, only made better by the fact that it's made for multiplayer. Get a few friends, and let the action roll out. The only problem I have is that it's short, but that's okay once you unlock insane mode. Expand
  5. MarcusL
    May 30, 2009
    9
    Remember back the 1990's when we had awesome games like Streets of Rage or Golden Axe? Well, The Behemoth have decided to revive the Remember back the 1990's when we had awesome games like Streets of Rage or Golden Axe? Well, The Behemoth have decided to revive the genre with Castle Crashers. And only one word can express how I feel about the game; amazing. You play as one of four characters, each with their own special powers, but there are other characters to unlock. The controls are very fluid and responsive. It sounds like brainless button bashing, but it's like in Sonic Unleashed. There is more than meets the eye. As your character upgrades, you get more button combinations. The game's soundtrack is really good. It reminds me of 300 for it's epicness. The game's multiplayer is, however, very good if you have the right people, like all online games. One downside is the price. This is too little game for 1200 points. 800 points would be a perfect price for this game. All in all, Castle Crashers is one of The Behemoth's best games. It's fluid, funny and violent. Think a cartoony 300, and you've got it. It's THAT good! Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    Castle Crashers is a fun and addictive game that keeps you glued to the screen until the end. And reaching the end, you immediately feel theCastle Crashers is a fun and addictive game that keeps you glued to the screen until the end. And reaching the end, you immediately feel the urge to start over, with the new unlocked characters. The graphics and gameplay are simple but awesome, like games should be. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2017
    7
    Castle Crashers is very fun and an incredible achievement for such a small team. The main thing holding it back is that it is quite limited inCastle Crashers is very fun and an incredible achievement for such a small team. The main thing holding it back is that it is quite limited in scope. I don't have much bad to say about the game, its really good for what it is but lets be real, its made by a very small team on a limited budget. It's good but it isn't on the same level as AAA action RPGs or platformers. If you are looking for a fun game to play through with some friends over a weekend this is a great little game. If you like casual action RPGs you will most likely love this game. I liked it a lot, but I can't justify giving it much more than a 7 when it is so limited.

    The gameplay is simple but fun and intuitive. The combat is a bit repetitive but each stage offers different enemies and as you progress you unlock new spells and weapons keeping things quite fresh. Menus are all simple and easy to navigate. It plays really smooth and the boss battles are quite creative. The game is not too difficult but there are decent challenges. I rarely got stuck for long but I felt the difficult was high enough to keep me engaged. I didn't get bored of the combat my first play through but I did find it a little repetitive. The multiplayer experience makes this game a lot more fun, especially if you are playing locally with friends.

    The story is enjoyable enough to make you want to continue but not much more than that. Evil villains capture princesses and you have to save them fighting through hordes of enemies. I give the creators credit for adding some great humor though while still making the villains seem cool enough to make you want to fight them. The story is nothing special but it is well paced and the progression through each area always felt satisfying. There were a few really creative scenarios as well.

    The levels are actually one of the standout parts of the game, each one offers something unique, like being chased through a forest by a giant monster cat that claws through everything in its path while you desperately try to escape. There are quite a few areas and while they are pretty brief I felt they all offered something worthwhile.

    The characters are nothing special but at least a lot of them look cool or interesting. There is no depth to them but I far prefer these characters over the ones in Mario games and there is a lot of variety.

    The visuals are clean and the designs of some of the characters are iconic. Some of the bosses also have pretty cool designs. The art doesn't stand out but it doesn't detract from the game either it looks good enough.

    The sound design is fun and appealing for the most part. The sounds of spells and weapon strikes are satisfying and fortunately don't get too annoying. The music is fine but not particularly memorable.

    The game is really short, you can comfortably play through the main story in 7 hours or so but there is some decent replay value since you can unlock new characters and such. I played through it a few times and if you play it with friends that can add to the games longevity. For a ten dollar game it is definitely a good value.

    I think this game is a great step forward for indie games and it proves that you don't need a big budget or a lot of people to make a really good game. It isn't exceptional in terms or story, visuals, or sound design but it makes up for its weak areas by offering fast paced intuitive gameplay, unique environments and overall fun factor.

    I give Castle Crashers 72%

    Gameplay – 8
    Story/Progression – 6
    World – 7
    Characters – 6
    Visual Design – 7
    Sound Design – 7
    Uniqueness/Ideas – 8
    Length/Amount of Content – 6
    Immersion – 8
    X-Factor - 9
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews