User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 135

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    An absolute disappointment. The presentation is absolutely amazing (as expected from the creators of the Persona franchise) but the gameplay doesn't hold up in any way. Its frequently boring, frustrating, and uneven. I wanted to love this game, but the sheer missteps taken for the gameplay killed it for me. If I wanted to play a puzzle-block game that was better executed, I'd just play Ilomilo.
  2. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, the Persona team can't be beat.
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    I loved it. If you are a puzzle fan or an Atlus fan in general, I suggest to get it. The story is really great and I loved the subtle use of the moral choices. The main gameplay consists mostly of puzzles so be warned, if you get frustrated easily you can have a hard time in the later sections of the game, but you'll want to pull through to get more of the story. I also enjoyed the use of the cellphone and how you can change your responses for text messages. The game has a great story and I would recommend it just for that, but the puzzle gameplay is really fun and the coop (not online coop though) is really fun if you have a buddy around as well. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I absolutely adored this game. The game takes mature themes, and exposes them in such entertaining but serious manners, that you just want to see the story develop further.
    Vincent really grows as a character, and not just in how he sees things, he grows on you too. After all, you decide the poor guy's fate. The graphics are done very well, and the style fits very nicely. The playability
    was superb, and the puzzles were amazing. Not to mention that the game WAS as hard as the Japanese players reported, Which is always a good thing. Controls were tight and intuitive.
    THIS is what we need, fresh, new games and ideas. No more recycling shooters every year (I'm looking at you, Call of Duty).
    Definitely worth the full price, and an absolute "must" if you want to expand your library.
    Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Exceptional game! Want to play a game with a quality mature story and unique puzzle platforming? Catherine is your game! It's original, genuine, refreshing, and extremely challenging. And it should be appreciated as such. Gamers are always complaining that developers are pushing out the same games and there are no original and creative, fresh IPs. Catherine is a game you should buy not rent. If such titles are not supported with sales we will continue to get Call of Duty/God of War/Oblivion clones. Take a chance and utilize a little patience and Catherine will reward you. And to all those gamers who claim games are too easy these days...play Catherine. I dare you! Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    6
    Catherine is a game I want to like more than I actually do. The style and presentation are great, the voice acting works and the music is pretty good, and while the moving-blocks puzzle mechanics is pretty well fleshed out, I found the gameplay getting in the way of the interactive narrative parts. I would often dread starting a new climb-the-tower sequence and after a while just couldn't wait for it to end. Additionally, I think while it was an interesting idea to have a karma meter for something other than a simple good/bad dichotomy, it just doesn't work. You're asked the question "do you like golf or baseball" and one of these corresponds to Katherine and the other to Catherine. It's completely arbitrary. I did like the story and was genuinely engaged in the mystery surrounding what was going on, but another major problem I had was the way this game handles a key component of its narrative: gender relations. It's the "It's okay to treat and portray women in overly negative ways (over-controlling on one hand and overly flirty on the other) as long as we portrays guys in the same way (all men are cheaters)." The Sucker Punch approach, if you will. I think they oversimplify things for the sake of the game's theme. I have to say, I admire Atlus for really thinking outside the box and pursuing something that surely was a passion project, I just think the pieces don't quite make a cohesive whole. I enjoyed my time with the game, but there was much frustration and confusion along the way. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Probably best described as an interactive story puzzle game Catherine certainly won’t be appeal to everyone but it there is certainly nothing else quite like it.

    The main bulk of the gameplay, the puzzle element, involves climbing a set of blocks in order to reach the top before the blocks below you fall or, as is the case on some occasions, a nightmarish creature kills you. As the game
    progresses further complications, such as slippery ice blocks, are added to up the challenge making the game fairly difficult on anything above the easiest setting.

    In between these block climbing puzzles the game tells the story of Vincent, a man in a serious relationship with a woman named Katherine that finds himself waking up every morning with the seductive Catherine in his bed and no idea how she got there. Depending on the decisions made by the player when asked questions after each puzzle section or when talking to patrons of the Stray Sheep Bar, which acts as a kind of game hub, each cut scene (and the story as a whole) plays out differently. Just how these two separate elements are linked is integral to the story and so I wont spoil it here.

    As I said at the start of this review this is not a game that will appeal to the masses but anyone looking for something a little bit out of the ordinary could do a lot worse than give Catherine a try.
    Expand
  8. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    A unique, well-crafted experience. Not only are the production values are incredible, from the VA to cutscenes, but the core puzzle-platforming is surprisingly fun as well. The game has brains too: the difficulty curve for the climbing sequences is well built, requiring you to use actual techniques the game teaches you, and the story is deeper than the plot.
  9. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This game is really something else. If you're up for a challenging game with a flavor unlike any other games out there, check this game out. It is a serious mind-bender and the story delivery is like a movie. I rate it very highly because of the willingness of ATLUS to go outside of the box and deliver a game that is satisfying in a world of many games that seem the same (at least to an experienced gamer like me). Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The game definitely does live to the expectations that many have put on it. The puzzles maybe difficult, but it definitely pays up with those "Aha!" moments and the story that Atlus presents. It's becoming more rare for a game to choose a story and gameplay such as this during a time where a FPS's are all the rage.
  11. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    This is one creative game. They tried to do something unique and really pulled it off. The only problem I have with it (aside from Vincent being a big jerk) is that the difficulty can get really crazy in some places. If you can't handle frustration then this might not be the game for you, but for fast paced block movement (tower climbing) and a lot of character interaction in between levels, this one is great. Expand
  12. Mar 16, 2012
    2
    I'm still at a loss as to why anyone suggests this game. It's classified action adventure, but I saw neither in the amount of time I could stomach playing it. I'm more a fan of playing games than reading them. If you like reading simulators, and you like Japanese style games, and you don't believe "fun" needs to be included, boy is this the game for you. If you treasure a good time, and playing more than reading, you'll want to skip this one. It has generated a cult following, and that makes sense. You should join a cult if you enjoy this game. The "puzzles" are less interesting than a game of Tetris, and the conversations are more ridiculous than a mediocre JRPG. It was painful to play through the little bit I did. Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    Loved the idea and the story, sucked at the later levels of puzzle solving. By the end I was so unbelievably frustrated that it just wasn't worth it. And that was set to super stupid easy mode. /feelsbadman.jpg
  14. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  15. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Amazing adventure puzzler. If you love good old fashion pure adventure games or visual novel type games this game does that aspect perfectly with amazing presentation, great story, surreal atmosphere and the OST rocks. The gameplay is a very challenging block climbing puzzle. I can see why this can be a deterrent to some as the gameplay is absolutely punishing. Even on normal or easy it's still a hard game. Lucky for people that just want to enjoy the story there is a secret easiest difficulty if you hold select on the golden theatre menu. Also if you are a puzzle fan there are tons more puzzles in extras to continue during or after you complete the main story. If you enjoy adventure games, atlus, great story and puzzle games then check this out the game, it is amazing for it's genre. Even if you want to check it out for story just remember the hint for easier then easy difficulty. Expand
  16. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Wow, this game is something else. To start off, it's got a great style, the locations and nightmares all look and feel great. The characters are done really well so that they're likable even though they can do some bad things. The Freedom/Order meter is a good aspect and allows for the 8 different endings to this game. The story is unique and something I haven't seen in a game. It's very suspenseful and will have you hooked. The puzzles in the nightmares are awesome as well, they're fun and have cool things about them such as the property of edges and the fact you can hang off the blocks. The game also boasts a nice challenge, which a lot of games lack these days. To me, this game seems pretty much flawless. If there was a gripe, it would be that the loading times seem fairly lengthy. This is a definite Game of the Year contender for me and one of my favorite games on the 360. Expand
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    This game has one of the most engaging stories I've seen in a long time in gaming, and I'm very glad that Atlus was willing to stick their neck out and release something fresh/original in today's era of bland, cookie-cutter games. The game looks great, sounds great, and is very involving. The puzzle levels can be hard, but if you scale things back to Easy Mode they are never anything that can't be overcome with some thought...but they add so strongly to the stressful/paranoid vibe the games story portrays. This is something unique in a mediocre world, and is what I would consider a top title to list if arguing that video games can be viable art forms. Great job, Atlus. Expand
  18. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This is one insanely addicting game. Once I started playing I couldn't stop - the gameplay is just insanely fun. I definitely can't say its for everybody, because it can be very frustrating - one slip up (unless you're playing on 'easy') can totally mess you up in Vincent's nightmare block puzzles. Its a game where you need to come up with strategies and techniques, and remember the techniques that other sheep in your dreams tell you. From my perspective, this is an example of a masterpiece. The gameplay is difficult, but not impossibly so, its a perfect blend of a challenge and something you can just fly through. You'll find yourself getting streaks of success until suddenly there's a more challenging obstacle you have to overcome. Also the gameplay outside of the nightmares is fun, it has a very involving story and lots of interesting choices you can make whilst talking to people that can decide the outcome of the story. The game is definitely bizarre and extremely unconventional, its probably the first romantic comedy-psychological horror game I've ever played and maybe even the first ever made. It's insanely original, deeply involving, and, again, really really addicting. I played it for ten hours straight and time just flew by. Sure its not for everyone, but through my eyes its a near perfect game. Expand
  19. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Catherine was hinted at in another Atlus title; Persona 3 Portable and ever since then, it's turned into a [giant] unstoppable snowball full of assumption and hope.

    The assumptions being that Catherine was just some porn game with sexy ladies whom have sex with sheep and there are also dead babies.

    The hope being that this would stand up as well as Atlus' other titles such as DDS or
    Persona.

    And well, it kinda does.

    In the game, you'll control a 32 year young engineer named Vincent Brooks, who has been dating his current girlfriend Katherine for around 5 years. Everything seems to be peachy between the two until Katherine starts talking about marriage with Vincent. Our little Vinnie would rather things stay the same between the two as he is unsure if he really wants to be chained down.

    Then, after a night of drinking at the Stray Sheep bar, Vincent meets a blonde, buxom bombshell name Catherine. This spiels the spell for the arduous tale of Catherine.

    This is a nice change from the normal "these guys are at war with these guys" and "the world is ending."-type games out on the market today. But is it better?

    The answer is maybe.

    The reason for this; the ending is entirely up to the player and everything leading up to is moderately bland. Another thing to note is that the game is comparably short. Being at the 10-20 hour range, it's longer than some games but immensely shorter than, for example, Persona 4 (which took me 120 to complete). Now, there isn't a right or wrong ending, but some are certainly less satisfying than others. Personally, I got the "Bad lover" ending and that kinda made me go "Crap, really?"

    Gameplay is a different thing entirely. At first it seems a little gimmicky and almost as if they added it "just cause", but you will slowly become accustomed to it. And trust me, you'll have a LOT of time to.

    Each puzzle is around 3 to 10 minutes long when played correctly. But to actually beat any level on your first try is near impossible. The game is difficult to say the least. You'll be spending hours and hours on the puzzles and I guarantee you'll need to look up a guide at least one time. And that's not even counting the babel levels (0 people have beat Axis Mundi, the final Babel stage, on the US 360). And getting gold on all stages on Hard? Good luck, buddy. You'll need it.

    All in all, the puzzle sequences are give-or-take. Some people will like them, some won't.

    On to graphics, animated scenes and (model) animation.
    They're....okay... sometimes.

    If you talk to Toby at the bar for example, you'll notice that he uses the same "Aw, come on man!" animation.
    All.
    The.
    Time.
    Even when it wouldn't be appropriate for him to respond that way.
    Also, whenever there is a close up, the facial expressions feel really blocky and awkward.

    As for graphics, they're fairly good, but feel a tad bit dated.

    The trump of the trio is the animation, which is top notch, To be expected of Studio 4 Degrees Celsius.

    Am I missing anything? I dunno.

    The end.
    Expand
  20. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    great plot.
    new game play is cool.
    but trap cube is unnecessary , just wasting time.
    and mystery pillow is stupid....
    still a good game to play. but a got a bad ending : (
  21. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    Catherine, by a surprising number of accounts shouldnâ
  22. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    Catherine is a real head-scratcher when it comes to general recommendation. The challenging puzzles could easily scare off those who might enjoy the story and, on the other hand, some players might not be interested in an anime story about relationships alongside puzzle gameplay. Either way, both halves of this whole are handled very well and it all comes down to preference. Catherine is certainly not a game for everyone, yet it is one that demands a chance by any gamers willing to try something unique once. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a great game. I want Vincent to pick Catherine 100% of the time; I am not a fan of Katherine at all. This isnâ
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I am absolutely ecstatic about this game. I don't want to write too much, but the game is simply amazing (for me). The presentation brought by Atlus is top notch as always, and they keep the story interesting and mature with the moral choices you are given for Vincent. The real meat of the game comes with the different stages of block puzzles you will traverse in this game. Even up to the last levels they introduce new blocks to keep you on your toes against this game's bosses. While I adored the story, presence, and everything Atlus brought to the table, remember, this is primarily a puzzle game. This game is definitely not for everyone, but if you are on the fence, I would suggest to buy it. It's a rich experience few other games have, and a fun crazy puzzle game to add on to the greatness. Expand
  25. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    The best puzzle game I've ever played, my only compliant is that 2 player levels have to be unlocked and tutorials get in the way in additional play through's (8 endings!). When you beat a level it's the most rewarding feeling you'll ever get. Music is decent, graphics are appealing, game play is fast and tight. Buy it now or be a tool.
  26. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    The puzzle aspect of the game is well done, and makes you feel like you could complete each level in a number of ways. The story is engaging, as you are constantly determining your own path through answered questions and text messages, but if you decide to skip the cut scenes you may just end up with a 5 hour game. It does take a turn for the bizarre towards the end (some genuine "Someone had to WRITE this..." moments), but should leave you fairly satisfied. Expand
  27. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    When I first heard of Catherine, I was told it was a game heavily influenced by the Japanese culture, heavily story based, and a puzzle game. While all of these things are correct, I myself was worried when I bought it because I find it very difficult to relate to characters in Japanese games, when they're presented to the western culture, and therefore the story of many of these games simply isn't very good. This is most definitely NOT the case with Catherine. Atlus has done a very good job or combining the physical attributes of the Japanese culture with the feel, and atmosphere of the western culture, and I was able to relate to the characters, and enjoy the story.
    The game play of Catherine is either one of two things: navigating a tower of blocks to climb it, and ultimately reach the top of the current tower, and escape before the tower collapses or the Boss of the final tower of the night kills you. The other segment of game play is in the local bar while the character is awake, talking to the other characters, and uncovering more of the story. Both are very simple, linear, and frankly can get boring, if the tower of blocks being the puzzles aren't kicking you in the @$$ that is. The story is truly where the game shines. Without spoiling the game, I can say that the story is about the protagonist Vincent, and his situation of having to choose between his long-time girlfriend, and accepting responsibility, or going off with this new girl with the same name who appears as Vincent's dream girl. This however is not the entirety of the game as a strange murder mystery is also wrapped into the story, as well as Vincent finds himself being forced to climb or die in his dreams. As as with a common movie myth, if Vincent dies in the dream, he dies for real. Without saying anymore of the story, it is a riveting experience, and while the puzzles are repetitive, and lacking in entertainment, I found myself pushing through each puzzle to make it get further in the great story.
    The graphics are good, with an anime/manga design to everything (criticize all you want over which it is I'm not active in the culture, and you get the gist of what I mean) which while at first may turn off players like myself, I quickly found it to fit with the story quite well, and I didn't mind after a few minutes into the game. The game however is also set up like an interactive movie, which is an interesting decision, which fits well, and helps to set Catherine apart from all the other games (not really necessary though as it is clearly far from the regular). All in all, Catherine is most definitely an interesting experience, but not for those who prefer game play over story. However if you want a good story out of your games, and you don't mind a sometimes annoying puzzler then Catherine is most definitely your game. It should also be noted that buying the game at regular $60 price, I also got the game's soundtrack FOR FREE adding to the dollar value of the game. Great game, Great story. Can't wait to see what Atlus does next.
    Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    When I bought this game, I expected it to be hard, mainly since its Atlus and I hadn't played a real puzzle game in years, but I expected a good story as well. It delivered on both and HOLY HELL did it deliver on both. The story is exceptionally good, with an interesting premise with the nightmares and the protagonist who insists on digging himself deeper every single sentence. The bar is an awesome idea, feels like a mixture of the social links and random civilian stories from Persona, which was my favorite part of that game. The characters are interesting and deep, and never bored me. The soundtrack is incredible, which is kind of expected since it is Shoji Meguro. The puzzles are not as good, and almost made me regret buying the game as 'my first puzzle game in years'. Not because they arn't interesting or complex, but they are EXTREMELY hard, and due to my personal pride, I refuse to turn it down from normal. Usually the puzzles give tons of time to actually solve them however, and the lobby where you get to talk to the other lost lambs (all with some great dialogue) has people who will tell you different strategies to solve the puzzles, and while some are plain obvious (if you hang from the ice blocks, you won't slide along them) others can be extremely useful. What really hurts the puzzles in my mind is the bosses. These are the final puzzle of each day and is where you must quickly solve a puzzle as per usual, but with a very fast monster chasing you, firing it's own unique attack to slow you down. These monsters move WAY to fast, and while their puzzles usually are easier then previous stages, they aren't easy enough to compensate for the giant deformed (literal) quickly coming to eat you, constantly inflicting the charm status (just like in Persona 4 Arena) and generally being an ****.

    All in all, its a great game with a fantastic story, but the actual gameplay in the puzzles is very frustrating and hard, so buy it expecting that.
    Expand
  29. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Not a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much so that there were more than a few times where in my mind I knew I should call it a night, but I always wondered what was going to happen next so I kept going. I am not a puzzle guy so the game was pretty hard in some areas, but with enough practice and online help I was able to make it through the game on normal and view all of the endings without it being too frustrating or easy. If you like games that keep you mentally involved and you are looking for something different, give this a try. The price has dropped down to below 30$ in most places from what I have seen. Expand
  30. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    Catherine is an odd game. No matter if you like the game or not you probably wont have played anything like it before. The game follows Vincent the week after he "accidently" cheats on his girlfriend in a drunken state. At night he must survive in a bizarre nightmare to be able to wake up and at day he struggles to resolve the situation with his girlfriend. The gameplay revolves around Vincent solving box-climbing-puzzles at night while hanging with his buddies at the bar during the day. The story took around 20 hours for me to beat on normal difficulty and there is also additional puzzle challenges outside the main story.

    + The story and the atmosphere is great in this game and the biggest reason why i liked the game so much overall. When i was fed up with the puzzles the drive to find out what happens next in the story drove me to continue. + Likeable characters
    + Challenging puzzles
    + Nice presentation

    - There is only one kind of puzzle in this game and it gets kind of repetitive after a while
    - The puzzles are checkpoint based which means that you need to redo puzzles you already solved if you die. This gets especially annoying later on in the game when the puzzles gets harder and there is less checkpoints.
    - The camera and controls are fine until you try to climb behind the blocks. The camera doesnt rotate and the movement controls goes from reversed to unreversed making it awkward controlling.
    - Lack of interactivity in the story.
    - Your character is only controllable at the bar under the day.
    - Your only means of interacting with people outside the bar is by text. And that is extremely limited
    - Escort mission

    Despite all of its flaws i still had a great time with the game. Primarily for its interesting story and bizarre presentation that revolves around a subject that you rarely see in videogames. Sadly though it has a lot of problems with its gameplay and the game rarely gives you an change to screw up its story. Its still a great game though and i do recommend it for those who want to try out something different.
    Expand
  31. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was sceptical about buying this when I first heard of it, the only reason it caught my interest was because Atlus was developing it, and they created my favourite series Persona. I took a risk, spent the money and boy was I happy, I really like the branching storylines, the texting while in the pub, and the arcades reminded me a bit of Shenmue. The story is absolutely fantastic & dark, just what Atlus is known for. The cutscenes are superb & the artwork is fantastic. The puzzles get increasingly tougher, I often go back to the game just to do a few puzzles, they're a blast to play through. I would recommend this game to anybody. Expand
  32. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Catherine is an outstanding game! If you're looking for a challenging game with amazing visuals, frustratingly fun block puzzles and a mature story line, then I highly recommend going for a ride on Catherine.

    The game has excellent visuals; gameplay, in-engine and anime cutscenes are all as equally impressive as one another. The gameplay is pretty damn hard, even on the easiest setting,
    a welcome change to the hand holders that seem to be taking over the market. Block puzzles, something I didn't really see myself liking. Good news, I loved them, and you will too. When you're not pushing blocks around or escaping from evil butt demons in Vincent's dreams, you're hanging out in the Stray Sheep (Vincent's local bar). From here you can have conversations with the bars patrons, get drunk, listen to alcohol factions, send and receive text messages, speak to the Cryptic Voice in the toilet, and play the Rapunzel mini game.

    Catherine has a mature plot line that is executed so well. The story is deep, interesting, and tackles themes like love and lust. Vincent can either pursue the path of law or chaos, his morality changes how he responds to certain key events in the game and which ending you get.

    There is no multiplayer here, but it's not really necessary. Babel mode provides plenty to do in the game post completion. After completing Catherine, you'll want to go back through it again to pick up the achievements you're bound to have missed, make different decisions and re-experience the story.

    The only issue I have with Catherine is that it ended,. Really, this game was that good! I genuinely can't think of any problems with this game apart from the fact that you can only rotate the camera 90 degrees during the nightmare stages. Catherine is a must have, if you don't own it already, go and buy it now!
    Expand
  33. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe this game is as a breath of fresh air. Catherine is unlike any game I've played, combining puzzle gameplay, horror, and romance together seamlessly. The interesting story along with the creative and soul-crushingly difficult nightmares help to make this one of the best games of this console generation. The presentation is spot on, the characters all unique and interesting, and the soundtrack is golden (they have techno remixes of Chopin songs. Need I say more?). This is not a game for everyone, but I'd recommend everyone at least give it a shot. Expand
  34. May 29, 2013
    7
    When was the last time you play a game about infidelity? Never that's when. And if you did then your either a liar or you just don't know what to say. Well that's understandable. Its what happened to Vincent in "Catherine" the main character has been in a relationship with his somewhat overbearing Girlfriend Katherine for more then a while. But is now scared by her sudden need to take the relationship to go to the next level. But after a hard night of drinking over this revelation, Vincent is sent into a world of nightmares. If you consider sheep men and blocks scary, then this game might be a health risk. Only to wake up the next morning in the arms of some other girl whose also named Catherine and has become attached to the guy. Now he has too chose whether to abandon his current relationship or commit to his girlfriend. There are no easy answer, except if your not a deuce nozzle.

    One cold assume from the title or the description that this is some kind of RPG/Dating Sim, but Its actually a puzzle game. You push blocks to climb up a large tower to reach the top before the clock runs out or you fall to your death. Along the way are extra feathers to raise your score and even an optional game to reach the best time. There is a legitimate strategy to where and when you push a certain block. but that also means that there is a lot of quick with little room to think. Making the game incredibly hard at later points where you have to avoid traps, other sheep me, and bosses who manipulate the blocks to make your ascent even more frustration. But if your patient enough, it can be a fun kind of challenge.

    Its a challenging game with a uncommon story found in games. If your willing to stick with it though the highs and lows. It may come out better then you thought.
    Expand
  35. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This game has an absolutely amazing story line and that is the main thing I look for in a video game so I did enjoy playing this game. However, this game is almost certain to make you want to rip your hair out. The complicated puzzles is enough to make you want to toss your remote at the TV and depending on how you choose to play the game, your ending can be anywhere from spectacular to extremely, extremely disappointing. If you love puzzle games and great stories though, this game is definitely for you. For me personally it was so stressful I am never going to pick it up again. Expand
  36. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    A game that reaches for the stars and can touch the stars, with flawless execution at every level, could only be considered something: perfect. This is the stuff video games are made!. Every level fills you with excitement, and also the characters interactions are amazing and "well developed" specially Catherine if you know what I mean.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    70
    A fresh and unique game, but with a steep challenge that some will find frustrating. But it does feature a giant arse monster. [Issue#82, p.92]
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Catherine will mean different things to different people, a game that runs far deeper than its titillating surface might suggest. And the journey to finding out what it means to you is certainly one worth taking.
  3. 90
    If you hate puzzle games, this certainly isn't for you. But if you decide to throw your time and money at Catherine, you're in for a dream of a game within the genre.