Charlie Murder Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A four-player arcade beat 'em up featuring all four members of the revolutionary punk act who are on a crusade to retrieve front man Charlie Murder's girlfriend, Skelekitten, from their chart topping metal rivals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    93
    Charlie Murder is an absolute must for many gamers, especially if you’re looking for a new beat ‘m up or a fun co-op game. By combining simple action with loot and extensive character classes, Charlie Murder offers more depth than you might expect. It pays to think about how to level your character and selecting the right items. With a lot of content and diversity, the cool style and great humour Charlie Murder adds up to a great XBLA title.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    87
    A sizeable package perfectly suited for bustling, loot distributing, sofa-based party play. [Nov 2013, p.69]
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    84
    There's no getting around the fact that Charlie Murder is a blast to play, alone or with friends, and that it's well worth your $10 if you love beating the crap out of zombies and laughing at bloody, disturbing, slapstick antics.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    78
    Unfortunately, Charlie Murder isn’t quite able to live up to its potential. When I first saw the trailer, Charlie Murder seemed like the shot in the arm brawlers needed. Visually, it is, but the sometimes-clunky gameplay hurts it quite a bit. Still, at a mere $10, it’s hard not to recommend Charlie Murder even with its flaws.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    The disruptive menu-tinkering and poor checkpoints cause plenty of frustration, but Charlie Murder can be a blast if you’re playing with three friends who understand the game. Ska Studios has created an entertaining 2D brawler, even if it doesn’t stand alongside the elite entries in the genre.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    The newest game from the creators of Vampire Smile is a "punk-rock" action brawler that has a lot of interesting ideas, but soon becomes quite repetitive due to its weak fighting system.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Charlie Murder represents a studio heading in the right direction, but it still feels like painting by numbers.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret stuff and replayability, outstanding soundrack, Nice art style (similar to The Dishwasher) a beat em up/rpg where you have to think about how you progress your class and what items to use.
    Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    I love this game and Ska Studios. It was nice to see the a references to their other games (The Dishwasher series, I Made a Game w/ Z0mbies,I love this game and Ska Studios. It was nice to see the a references to their other games (The Dishwasher series, I Made a Game w/ Z0mbies, ect.), and the art style is unique and very idenifiable to Ska Studios. The combat system might not be as good as The Dishwasher series, but it was still pretty enjoyable. The leveling system and item collecting is fun, you always fine new items that increase your stats and you level up quite often, which makes you feel like you are constantly progressing and getting stronger.

    The story is simply layed out for you, with not dialogue, but you can follow along easy enough. This game has a great feel, and if you liked any of Ska Studio's other games, you will surely like this one. And if you liked Charlie Murder, I recommend you check out their other games as well. Needless to say Ska Studios is one of my favorite game developers, but I wish they would publish on more than just Xbox 360.
    Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    FINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! TheFINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! The gameplay is addictive! There is really nothing more I can say about this game except.... BUY IT NOW! This game is just amazing! Now if you will excuse me... I just bought this game and I need to play it now!!! Collapse
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Charlie Murder is whats up! The art style is great. The action is non stop! Things have definitely stepped up a notch since theirCharlie Murder is whats up! The art style is great. The action is non stop! Things have definitely stepped up a notch since their Dishwasher games. The multiplayer is great. I love couch coop... wish more games were still doing it. Definitely worth checking out. _m/ Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    Don't play this game by yourself. It's a lot of fun playing with friends though. One of the few games with couch co-op for 2-4 players. It's aDon't play this game by yourself. It's a lot of fun playing with friends though. One of the few games with couch co-op for 2-4 players. It's a bit like Castle Crashers but not as good. A few parts that are a little frustrating but no mayor faults. Sometimes we had to look where to go though, the game isn't always clear about where to go next. Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not a game that anyone should pay money for, it truly does deserve to be free with gold and thats how i obtained the game.

    Its problems begin with non voice acting and a confusing story that makes you guess what is going on through the entire game. If you want to play this game with friends over xbox live, be prepared for serious game lag and glitches. It seems like any time there are a large amount of characters on screen, the game lags out and cant handle itself, special moves dont connect and frustration sets in.on more than one occasion the game has frozen or wont let us out of the pause menu. The characters are not matched for their abilities so you actually have to choose wisely, and the instrumental sections are impossible unless you choose the female who plays the tambourine so she only clicks A a few times. i imagine this is a sexist jab of some sort

    Positives: It was free, it is multiplayer co-op which is hard to find in 2014. some free achievements
    Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    I got this game for free on Xbox Live Gold, and instantly regretted it! This is one of those games that try to act cool to appeal to bigI got this game for free on Xbox Live Gold, and instantly regretted it! This is one of those games that try to act cool to appeal to big audiences, and uses that as an excuse. The game just makes no sense. The plot is all over the place. In fact, there barely is a plot. Most of the time you're just mindlessly punching enemies, and even that is painfully boring. I will say that the RPG elements are alright, but that doesn't excuse it of anything. Don't buy this game, even if it's free. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews