Costume Quest Xbox 360

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    72
    Costume Quest is a bit shallow and repetitive, but if you're looking to get into the Halloween spirit with a bizarre sense of humor, it's not a bad pick for 15 dollars.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    It can be quite exciting to assemble a new costume and get to grips with its special abilities. [Issue#67, p.104]
  3. 70
    A cute and fun little Halloween-game about kids playing dressup and having cool-looking Final Fantasy-style battles in their imagination. Short enough not to outstay it's welcome, but long enough to justify the price.
  4. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    Costume Quest is sweet and addictive like the sugary goodness the game is about, but sells itself short in terms of gameplay.
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    70
    Overall, Costume Quest is a fun, good game that lacks anything that can really make it great. It's a bit expensive for its length at 1200 Microsoft points, too, so you may want to wait for it to go on sale before you commit.
  6. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    70
    While the characters are charming, the quest itself grows tired very quickly. [Issue#232, p.85]
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    A short, but sweet little game with quirky writing and simple combat, Costume Quest is yet another charming treat from Double Fine Productions and a very promising sign of things to come.
  8. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The result is a game that may not leave you full, but it'll taste pretty sweet while it lasts.
  9. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    If you had a brother or sister growing up, then Costume Quest will speak to you whether you like it or not, much like that pesky sibling. Not only does it capture the spirit of Hallowe'en, but it perfectly encapsulates the brother/sister relationship into a short, six hour period.
  10. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    A few fundamental problems sour a game that exudes delightful personality.
  11. Jan 15, 2011
    60
    Despite all the the good premises, this last game from Tim Schafer proves to be a small project with short and repetitive gameplay.
  12. Oct 27, 2010
    60
    Costume Quest makes it clear that Double Fine may not be used to developing games for the little ones : the humor and gameplay seem shy. It dares, but not too much. If you have a 10 years old kid wandering next to your game console, Costume Quest would probably be a better fit for him than GTA IV. That said, when I was that young, I was playing Ultima II.
  13. Oct 20, 2010
    60
    Costume Quest is cute and funny, so it may look like a good game for kids. Let me assure you: After completing the adventure (which took me about five hours), I can't recommend Costume Quest to gamers of any age.
  14. games(TM)
    Jan 11, 2011
    50
    More than any other tweak, Costume Quest is in dire need of an alternate progression mechanic. Sure, ticking off all front doors is authentic, but lends the title a stale air. [Christmas 2010, p.120]
  15. 50
    If Costume Quest is a success, it's because it looks cute, it's instantly appealing, and it's very funny. But it's not a very good game. [Issue#66, p.88]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    One word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. IOne word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. I mean come on who doesn't love costumes and trick or treating. Overall the game is incredibly well crafted for a $15 XBLA title. My wife and I played through it in one sitting. This isn't to say its too short. It took us about 6 hours total. Its just incredibly addictive, fun and...charming. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that itI downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that it actually made me nostalgic, and the story and characters are top-notch. I have to admit that I am a big fan of Double Fine, but I honestly believe that if you have any fond memories of Halloween, you should download this game. I've read some complaints that it is too short for the price but I have to call total BS on that when most 60 dollar games are only 8 hours long. This game is only fifteen bucks! It is WELL worth the money. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyableA very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyable gameplay to be had. It's charm lies in recreating a typical night of Halloween, but ratcheting it up to 11 with epic turned based battle sequences. Exploration and puzzles round out the game as you work to unlock more costumes, for said epic turn based battles, as you progress to save your sibling. Like Super Meatboy this game is incredibly hard to put down once you start. Easily one of this years best games period. Full Review »