Costume Quest Xbox 360

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Its greatest strength is its ability to rustle up nostalgia and good, old-fashioned Halloween fun.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    92
    While it is, at its core, an extremely simple RPG, it's art style is just so incredibly vibrant and its concept is so well-executed that CQ is elevated from merely a 'good for an arcade game' to a 'good game, period'.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    91
    So is Costume Quest worth picking up, even if you're not a huge RPG fan? Absolutely. It's great as both an entry point for players that don't have a lot of experience in the genre, and it also serves up a lot of fan for people that aren't really RPG fans to begin with.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    Elegant, succinct, and full of bravado.
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    Games like Costume Quest are a breath of fresh air in a sea of FPS's and hardcore RPG's. I welcome any more games like this.
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    88
    Immediate and funny, Costume Quest is a funny arcade game, one you should really try on Halloween night.
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Costume Quest is a fun, well-presented Halloween tale well worth the purchase.
  8. Jan 4, 2011
    83
    All-in-all Double Fine's Costume Quest is rather straightforward on paper, but it's the excellence of the game's design that brings it to life and gives the world around you character.
  9. Oct 22, 2010
    83
    Double Fine recently made the decision to break up their team into small groups, allowing them to release a number of smaller titles, rather than one big game every few years. Costume Quest is the first of these sort of games, and if the quality is any indication, they have made an excellent decision. I can't wait to see what's next.
  10. Jan 15, 2011
    80
    From the first moment that Custom Quest takes us to a world that we love meeting.
  11. Jan 13, 2011
    80
    It is difficult to evaluate Costume Quest, as it is to put it into a concrete genre. It is a simple, very short and almost no replayable game, but also one of those whose charm, variety ans style make you stick to the console for hours.
  12. Oct 27, 2010
    80
    It's a fairly simple adventure with equally basic RPG combat, but that's exactly why it works.
  13. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    If you need a distraction from all the testosterone currently being pumped out in disc form, Costume Quest's charm will make you wish you were hitting the streets in your snazziest cardboard-robot costume come the 31st.
  14. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    If Costume Quest was a full-retail game, we'd recommend it with a few caveats. But seeing as its fifteen bucks, fans of RPGs/Halloween/Neglecting their children should pick it up without hesitation.
  15. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    The camera angles could have been placed better. The characters could have been more developed...But damn is it fun.
  16. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Sure, it may drag on at times, especially for those accustomed to more cerebral RPG fare, but it's also kind of magical, and I'm not convinced you're ever old enough to pass that up.
  17. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    This is an easy game to lose yourself in for as long as it lasts, and, by the end of the adventure, all I could think to myself was how much I'd like to see these characters again come next All Hallows' Eve.
  18. Oct 28, 2010
    78
    Elegant, simple and fun. Costume Quest is a fairly simple adventure that works well as a digital download.
  19. Jan 2, 2011
    77
    Never has a game dealt with the subject of Halloween so charmingly. What ultimately lets Costume Quest down is not its simplicity but its decision to barely skim the surface of its own premise. The game can be bought, downloaded and completed in an afternoon.
  20. Dec 22, 2010
    76
    Costume Quest works better when the emphasis is on action. The "collect all candy to unlock next world" variation may get a little tired by the end of the game, but it's a lot of fun to collect new costumes (and discover their abilities).
  21. Jan 15, 2011
    75
    Costume Quest is a fun game that will make a lot of people happy with its simplistic style and its witty conversations. The only downside of this game is the lack of variety.
  22. Jan 4, 2011
    75
    If you're looking for a great holiday-themed adventure game with laugh out loud funny writing, look no further than Costume Quest!
  23. Official Xbox Magazine
    Jan 4, 2011
    75
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  24. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Costume Quest does a lot of things right – it's humorous, has a great art style that fits the childish theme, a decent battle system and costumes that double as super powers. But despite these qualities, the game does have its shortcomings -- the campaign feels, well, short, side-quests can get repetitive, there isn't much in the way of character customization and $15 seems a bit steep.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    One word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. IOne word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. I mean come on who doesn't love costumes and trick or treating. Overall the game is incredibly well crafted for a $15 XBLA title. My wife and I played through it in one sitting. This isn't to say its too short. It took us about 6 hours total. Its just incredibly addictive, fun and...charming. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that itI downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that it actually made me nostalgic, and the story and characters are top-notch. I have to admit that I am a big fan of Double Fine, but I honestly believe that if you have any fond memories of Halloween, you should download this game. I've read some complaints that it is too short for the price but I have to call total BS on that when most 60 dollar games are only 8 hours long. This game is only fifteen bucks! It is WELL worth the money. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyableA very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyable gameplay to be had. It's charm lies in recreating a typical night of Halloween, but ratcheting it up to 11 with epic turned based battle sequences. Exploration and puzzles round out the game as you work to unlock more costumes, for said epic turn based battles, as you progress to save your sibling. Like Super Meatboy this game is incredibly hard to put down once you start. Easily one of this years best games period. Full Review »