Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    Its greatest strength is its ability to rustle up nostalgia and good, old-fashioned Halloween fun.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    92
    While it is, at its core, an extremely simple RPG, it's art style is just so incredibly vibrant and its concept is so well-executed that CQ is elevated from merely a 'good for an arcade game' to a 'good game, period'.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    91
    So is Costume Quest worth picking up, even if you're not a huge RPG fan? Absolutely. It's great as both an entry point for players that don't have a lot of experience in the genre, and it also serves up a lot of fan for people that aren't really RPG fans to begin with.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    Elegant, succinct, and full of bravado.
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    90
    Games like Costume Quest are a breath of fresh air in a sea of FPS's and hardcore RPG's. I welcome any more games like this.
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    88
    Immediate and funny, Costume Quest is a funny arcade game, one you should really try on Halloween night.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    One word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. IOne word "charming"! This game is so cute its almost sick. What I really loved about this game is how it made me feel like a kid again. I mean come on who doesn't love costumes and trick or treating. Overall the game is incredibly well crafted for a $15 XBLA title. My wife and I played through it in one sitting. This isn't to say its too short. It took us about 6 hours total. Its just incredibly addictive, fun and...charming. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that itI downloaded this game today and was completely hooked from the beginning. The style so perfectly captures the mood of Halloween that it actually made me nostalgic, and the story and characters are top-notch. I have to admit that I am a big fan of Double Fine, but I honestly believe that if you have any fond memories of Halloween, you should download this game. I've read some complaints that it is too short for the price but I have to call total BS on that when most 60 dollar games are only 8 hours long. This game is only fifteen bucks! It is WELL worth the money. Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    A very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyableA very addicting game that is hard to put down. There's a great blend of excellent writing, unique characters you encounter, and enjoyable gameplay to be had. It's charm lies in recreating a typical night of Halloween, but ratcheting it up to 11 with epic turned based battle sequences. Exploration and puzzles round out the game as you work to unlock more costumes, for said epic turn based battles, as you progress to save your sibling. Like Super Meatboy this game is incredibly hard to put down once you start. Easily one of this years best games period. Full Review »