User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 185

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrandonY
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Reviewers were harsh on this game because It was to similar to the first crackdown. But this game is great fun and if you never played crackdown 1 or loved it, then this is for you.
  2. GregS
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building and dodging zombies is all of a sudden made substantial when you look up and realize that the smashed building you're climbing used to be Shai-Gen headquarters. As for story, there is more to this one than the last, but that's not saying much. Crackdwn is not about story, you need to be self-motivated to have a good time with it. If you get bored after the first ten minutes, then you missed the best parts. The audio logs are the new hidden-orbs, a review I read earlier lamented trying to find them all. The reviewer complained that the lack of story was critical because there was no motivation to complete the mission. How did that reviewer get through the first game? I don't know. I find it interesting that most of these reviews seem to be from people who only bought the first one a few weeks ago. They didn't understand the game back then, and they don't understand it now. Co-op is driving this second game, and with three friends, it is an absolute blast. Expand
  3. GregJ
    Jul 12, 2010
    9
    I loved the first and Crackdown 2 improves on everything the original had to offer. Killer new speciel moves, bigger explosions, harder to find orbs, bigger weapons, better co-op, 16 player online, plus it's crazy addictive. Go buy it!
  4. JesusChrist
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Story,...well, meh. It's good enough. Controls... eh, seen better. When it comes to fun though this game scores big. When I can steel some poor schmo's beat up jalopy and proceed to drive up and down a street running over fucking zombies, that is a good day.
  5. IanG
    Jul 9, 2010
    9
    I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no flaw. A poor storyline? It does not matter, the Crackdown series has never been about a story. It's about creating your own mayhem with the tools Ruffian have provided you with. No freedom? It may not have the freedom of RDR, but then where in RDR can i attach a mag grenade to a helicopter, and another to a vehicle occupied by a friend, then watch them as they are carried off helplessly? You need to look at different games and apprecitate the differences, not draw crazy irrelevant comparisons from them. At the end of the day, Crackdown 2 is a lazy sunday afternoon pick-up that makes you want it to be Sunday everyday! Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2010
    6
    Crackdown 2 was entertaining for the first few hours hours until you realize this is it.... and the credits roll. The game is short, the content is weak, the orb chasing is tedious and even on (Sadistic) it is far too easy. I rate it a 6 only because I enjoy mindless games from time to time otherwise I'd say its a 4 or so. I'm not saying it isn't fun for a little while but you will soonCrackdown 2 was entertaining for the first few hours hours until you realize this is it.... and the credits roll. The game is short, the content is weak, the orb chasing is tedious and even on (Sadistic) it is far too easy. I rate it a 6 only because I enjoy mindless games from time to time otherwise I'd say its a 4 or so. I'm not saying it isn't fun for a little while but you will soon get bored then furious when you realize you've wasted another $59.99. Expand
  7. ChrisS
    Jul 12, 2010
    4
    If you liked the original then you will like this one since its not very different. They improved a few things but failed in some areas too. I would recommend waiting till it drops to the $30 price range since it will be dropping soon...believe me.
  8. RyanM
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    very refreshing gameplay experience, it may not look amazing but it's a cut above the rest in every other aspect. I'm loving playing co-op with friends. Well done Ruffian Games.
  9. Oct 16, 2010
    0
    This game is truly terrible. I wish I had not rented it and donated my money to charity. Go here, stand on this blue thing and repeat 1,000 times. There, I just saved you 9 bucks at blockbuster. Finding a way to get to the rooftop where the blue beacon was became a nightmare. The best part of the game is the leaping, it's like the game didn't want you to have fun. I hope RuffianThis game is truly terrible. I wish I had not rented it and donated my money to charity. Go here, stand on this blue thing and repeat 1,000 times. There, I just saved you 9 bucks at blockbuster. Finding a way to get to the rooftop where the blue beacon was became a nightmare. The best part of the game is the leaping, it's like the game didn't want you to have fun. I hope Ruffian Games goes out of business after this one.

    I have had more fun at church.
    Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2011
    3
    A truly pathetic sequel.A rehashed,rushed abomination and THE example how not to make a game.Set in the same,unchanged city as the first game,C2 fails on every level.Stick to the first game please.
  11. SteveS
    Jul 10, 2010
    10
    Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw in an otherwise great game. So, despite what others have said, Crackdown 2 is definitely worth buying! Expand
  12. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    After loving the first and thinking great a sequel should really move things ahead and get some great action, graphics, gameplay and movement in all the right directions. I was graced with a expansion pack that was delivered as Crackdown 2. It mad no moves forward and yet just provided you a name of what was a good game. Not worth the time or effort on any level.
  13. May 20, 2011
    7
    I expected a lot more from Crackdown 2. I expected a lot more introduced from Crackdown, first and foremost. Crackdown 2 doesn't do much new, but it makes everything from Crackdown more AWESOME. You'll love it even more if you haven't played Crackdown as well. Still, like I said previously, Crackdown 2 does make everything more AWESOME. In keys to the City mode, you can be a super powered,I expected a lot more from Crackdown 2. I expected a lot more introduced from Crackdown, first and foremost. Crackdown 2 doesn't do much new, but it makes everything from Crackdown more AWESOME. You'll love it even more if you haven't played Crackdown as well. Still, like I said previously, Crackdown 2 does make everything more AWESOME. In keys to the City mode, you can be a super powered, invincible, tank driving, zombie spawning GOD. It is incredibly fun, and fairly big, but it's not exactly clever. You'll have fun in Crackdown 2, but it could have been so much more. Expand
  14. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game that got low rating from players who really didn't understand that they bought a sandbox game. This is not a first or 3rd person shooter game, it is a sandbox style game which means the point isn't to focus on completing the storyline off as quickly as possible but rather the opposite. The point is to just play in the world where you are just like kids do in aThis is a fantastic game that got low rating from players who really didn't understand that they bought a sandbox game. This is not a first or 3rd person shooter game, it is a sandbox style game which means the point isn't to focus on completing the storyline off as quickly as possible but rather the opposite. The point is to just play in the world where you are just like kids do in a sandbox. Ok, that said all the elements of a good sandbox game are here and work well. Suffice it to say you will enjoy this game a lot if you just want to mess around and do stuff and eventually finish the game and you will likely hate the game and thinks its way too short if you play it any other way. But, that is the whole point of sandbox style games, you make your own entertainment and play any way you want. If you want this to be a shooter yeah it will be 4 hrs, if you want it to be a playground, it will really entertain you. Expand
  15. Oct 16, 2010
    2
    i felt the original Crackdown was good, but too short. I was anxiously awaiting the release of Crackdown 2. I could not have been anymore disappointed. The 2nd one sucked and was too long. too many repeatative missions to drag out a long inevitable end. I completed the game w/o getting the helicopter because my agility wasn't high. and the movie at the end made me say "WTF" who wasi felt the original Crackdown was good, but too short. I was anxiously awaiting the release of Crackdown 2. I could not have been anymore disappointed. The 2nd one sucked and was too long. too many repeatative missions to drag out a long inevitable end. I completed the game w/o getting the helicopter because my agility wasn't high. and the movie at the end made me say "WTF" who was that chick? Expand
  16. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    It's a worthy sequel, as fun as the first with some new toys to play with. New story, new powers, new vehicles, and weapons make Crackdown 2 quite a treat for fans of the first installment.
  17. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    They took Crackdown and removed features, and didn't add ANYTHING. The entire game is just the one mission, go stand on 9 different pads for 30 seconds each. That's it. That's the whole game.

    Have fun.
  18. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    I don't feel like any aspect of this game was in any way better than the first, the controls were outright worse, a very bad sequel to what was a pretty enjoyable game.
  19. Nov 14, 2014
    8
    An enjoyable follow up to Crackdown. The story wasn't as fun as the first but the addition of co-op definitely makes this a fun romp. If you get this, make sure you try out the first too.
    If you think it gets too easy, just wait until the uber mutants show up and fling you around like a rag doll.

    Bring on Crackdown 3!!!
  20. FraserA
    Jul 11, 2010
    7
    This is a difficult game to rate. How much you like it will depend largely on what you want from it. The reviews are polarised, but there is a telling pattern to them: negative reviews tend to focus on the simple and repetitive missions, the lack of changes from the first game and the dark-n-gritty graphics; positive reviews tend to focus on the simple joys of exploring, climbing, This is a difficult game to rate. How much you like it will depend largely on what you want from it. The reviews are polarised, but there is a telling pattern to them: negative reviews tend to focus on the simple and repetitive missions, the lack of changes from the first game and the dark-n-gritty graphics; positive reviews tend to focus on the simple joys of exploring, climbing, collecting, co-op and generally jumping around. Crackdown 2's strengths and weaknesses are the same as its predecessor's: climbing is just as fun (and sometimes frustrating), missions are only marginally more varied, combat remains nearly identical and orbs are still the most mindlessly entertaining collectible in all of gaming. This is a game to relax with and play in short bursts, preferably with friends. It's a game that rewards experimentation: see a tower and figure out how to climb it, drive a car over a cliff and dive out at the last second, jump on a civilian vehicle and surf across town while blowing out other cars' tires, chase a renegade orb around a rooftop for five minutes before getting distracted by something on another building, connect a whole lot of objects together with magnetically linked grenades and dangle them off a building before turning the whole chain into one long rolling explosions, stick five enemies to a car with the harpoon gun and drive it into the ocean. Dumb, pointless, fun stuff. If you consider the missions to be the central purpose of the game, they're disappointing. There is a wider variety of missions than in the original game (contrary to some perplexing reviews), but they all boil down to "kill everyone in this area" and are repeated with little sense of progression or significace throughout the game. To enjoy the missions, you have to treat them as one dish in a buffet; something you can do in between collecting orbs, building up your skills, completing races and generally mucking around. The auto-aiming is frequently off target. It didn't bother me that much. YMMV. I'm focusing on the positives, but the flaws are very real. So how should this game be rated? As a sequel to a great game, it's a bit limp. As a game of story and linear progression, it's positively floppy. As a toybox and adventure playground, it's pretty great. It's no better than Crackdown, but Crackdown was a great game, and most of what made it great is still in the sequel. On its own merits, it's a good game; don't sell it short by expecting it to be something it's not. Expand
  21. firesnotrose
    Jul 7, 2010
    1
    The graphics were huge disappointment and I agree with the other commenter that the game feels rushed. No polish no shine, very very bad controls/targeting system.I have never played a game so awful. Bad guys from across the board shoot you while you choose cover. Vehicle placed haphazardly, Come on a in a rigg that so happens to be placed on a side of a building? Bad story bad voice The graphics were huge disappointment and I agree with the other commenter that the game feels rushed. No polish no shine, very very bad controls/targeting system.I have never played a game so awful. Bad guys from across the board shoot you while you choose cover. Vehicle placed haphazardly, Come on a in a rigg that so happens to be placed on a side of a building? Bad story bad voice overs. I am so glad i didn't buy this game!!! Avoid this at all cost, seriously!!! Expand
  22. Mark
    Jul 7, 2010
    10
    Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or melee attacks. Mowing down hordes of freaks in a car is fun and rewarding as their greenish blood splatters. Lastly is co-op, it now allows for up to 4 players drop in-out co-op, meaning that 4 players can tackle 4 seperate missions, at once, or create as much mayhem or destruction as possible. Expand
  23. NathanP.
    Jul 7, 2010
    8
    Crackdown 2 is just like the first game, but it's still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the orb collecting and ability upgrades. Sure the violence is mindless and repetitive, however I'm still having a lot of fun with the game. Gameplay hasn't changed, but you get a couple of new abilities and there are some new weapons. The graphics are cel-shaded, like a comic Crackdown 2 is just like the first game, but it's still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the orb collecting and ability upgrades. Sure the violence is mindless and repetitive, however I'm still having a lot of fun with the game. Gameplay hasn't changed, but you get a couple of new abilities and there are some new weapons. The graphics are cel-shaded, like a comic book. They look a bit dated but they're not N64 graphics as another reviewer stated. It's fun to explore the city and just do crazy stuff. There are some races you can complete if you like that sort of thing. Once again, the orb collecting is the real star of the show. Expand
  24. AndrewT
    Jul 8, 2010
    4
    Crackdown 2 was a big dissapointment for me. Ruffian in my opinion was a poor choice for a game franchise like crackdown. I'll start on the pros since there are not too many of them... It had a good base story, freaks all over the place and rising terror group. okay, cool. I get to play dead rising and grand theft auto in one game! unfortunately, the actual plot did not meet my Crackdown 2 was a big dissapointment for me. Ruffian in my opinion was a poor choice for a game franchise like crackdown. I'll start on the pros since there are not too many of them... It had a good base story, freaks all over the place and rising terror group. okay, cool. I get to play dead rising and grand theft auto in one game! unfortunately, the actual plot did not meet my expectations. I also liked flying the helicopter, but thats about it. There were no boss battles (dont even tell me that freak agents were bosses because they werent anything special), renegade orbs were just stupid, i beat the game in 8 hours, gameplay was too easy. oh and the ending. people dont even need a summary since it was 15 seconds anyway. "Nice job agent!" oh s**t, its catalina thorne! get her! *slice splat boom* game over". Expand
  25. KyleM.
    Jul 11, 2010
    9
    While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of missons, they get repetitive as you go through the game. a new batch of vehicles, like the agency chopper and the battle bus, a truck with multiple mounted turrents, along with new ordinance like the uv shotgun, flocket launcher and a rubber duck shaped grenade with an explosive power of a nuke known as the quacker, creates an immense amount of mayham that is boosted with the additons of 16 player versus and 4 player co-op. Nevertheless, Crackdown 2 is a hell of a lot of fun, especially with friends. In the words of that annoying sarcastic disembodied voice, it's a hot time in the old town of Pacific City!! Expand
  26. ChrisH
    Jul 11, 2010
    8
    Okay i see alot of reviews bashing this game, and most of it is justly deserved. This game is far from perfect but its still fun as hell to play. If you liked the first Crackdown there is no reason why you wont like the sequel even if its really just Crackdown 1.5. Heres to hoping Ruffian gets their shit together or the franchise get handed to a more proven developer.
  27. Luke
    Jul 6, 2010
    9
    Crackdown two may be referred as 1.5, but the new toys, orbs that have been added make it even bigger. Plus 4 player co-op is brilliant. In crackdown 2 you play how you want, in which order you want, the choices are up to you. You could do the missions, or go orb hunting, or even create as much havoc as possible.
  28. Justin
    Jul 6, 2010
    0
    This is a horrible game, that is actually worst than the first game. It literally looks like a N64 game on the XboX 360, are you freaking kidding me Ruffian Games? How could Microsoft let this crap come out, in this day and age? Its nothing but a quick cash-in sequel, which doesn't even live up to the low standards of the first game!
  29. KyleC.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Okay, it's more of the same. Did you like the first one, though? It would have been nice if certain things were improved, a little better graphics, a new city, and better targeting, but this is a game that delivers what matters most: fun. It's addicting and just nonstop fun. It probably doesn't help this comes out after better open-world games Just Cause 2 and Red Dead Okay, it's more of the same. Did you like the first one, though? It would have been nice if certain things were improved, a little better graphics, a new city, and better targeting, but this is a game that delivers what matters most: fun. It's addicting and just nonstop fun. It probably doesn't help this comes out after better open-world games Just Cause 2 and Red Dead Redemption, but it's much better than last summer's Prototype. I would say this is a really good game. It's not great, but it's not average, and it's certainly not bad. Expand
  30. Alex
    Jul 6, 2010
    5
    First off if your looking for a good sandbox game will lots to do this is not the game for you. The graphics are cell-shaded which doesn't look very good, along with the low resolution textures. Overall this is a game for only the hardcore Crackdown fans, it has no story at all which takes even more away from the expierence. The combat is the same as the first, the city is the same First off if your looking for a good sandbox game will lots to do this is not the game for you. The graphics are cell-shaded which doesn't look very good, along with the low resolution textures. Overall this is a game for only the hardcore Crackdown fans, it has no story at all which takes even more away from the expierence. The combat is the same as the first, the city is the same as the first, and basically the game is the same as the first. Expand
  31. EricM
    Jul 6, 2010
    2
    This game is not what everyone was saying it was going to be. this game is horrible, its crackdown1.001. crackdown with monsters and same graphics and gameplay. this game goes nowhere.
  32. Gypsygib
    Jul 6, 2010
    6
    The game is completely average. As a sand box game, the shooting is boring, the enemies have virtually no A.I., the story is...well, hardly exists, the graphics are fairly poor and the sound is uninspired. The only fun part of the game is collecting the orbs and using some of the more creative guns, but that's not enough to make this game great, in fact it becomes tedious. While The game is completely average. As a sand box game, the shooting is boring, the enemies have virtually no A.I., the story is...well, hardly exists, the graphics are fairly poor and the sound is uninspired. The only fun part of the game is collecting the orbs and using some of the more creative guns, but that's not enough to make this game great, in fact it becomes tedious. While it's just a superior form of item collection compared to collecting feathers in AC or shards - it 's pretty lame to make item collection the staple gameplay mechanic of any game. Sadly, Crackdown 2 ignored making improvements to gunplay (which is really horrible) and story or graphics and made the best part of the game about jumping around collecting orbs. Really this isn't a true sequel, it's just a cashin - you can tell few resources (creative or financial) went into this game. Expand
  33. HurpJunior
    Jul 7, 2010
    0
    Horrible compared to the first one. And look at the reviews which are giving it 80+ scores, most of them are Xbox 360-based magazines and stuff. They're totally biased because it's an exclusive. But compared to Crackdown 1, it's really just quite bad.
  34. RonaldD
    Jul 7, 2010
    0
    You have to be borderline insane to buy this piece of sh%t at full price. Officially the WORST sequel ever created by not only failing to produce any significant improvements....but also by ruining things that worked in the first one. I've learnt my lesson the hard way, do yourself a favor and avoid the same fate.
  35. calebr.n
    Jul 7, 2010
    8
    Honestly it is kind of hard to review this game fairy. I mean sure it is as fun as hell and the new features such as the online multiplayer modes and the mutants and other stuff are awesome. But the game is little more than an expansion that should be dlc for maybe 20-30 dollars. Paying 60 dollars is pretty absurd. But overall I love it. My suggestion though don't buy it unless you Honestly it is kind of hard to review this game fairy. I mean sure it is as fun as hell and the new features such as the online multiplayer modes and the mutants and other stuff are awesome. But the game is little more than an expansion that should be dlc for maybe 20-30 dollars. Paying 60 dollars is pretty absurd. But overall I love it. My suggestion though don't buy it unless you were OBSESSED with the original (like I was) otherwise you will be dissapointed. And to those who have never played the first one I would buy this one as there is alot more features in this and the game is easily worth your money and worth a 10 out of 10 if you haven't played the first game before as it takes the original which is one of the best games of all time and makes some subtle improvements and adds a bunch of new content (also to those complaining about the targeting issues Ruffian has already stated they are working on a patch for it and should be out shortly). Expand
  36. Jay
    Jul 7, 2010
    7
    Crackdown 2 is fun but it the same game with more stuff to do and looks a bit better than the 1st and is a bit glitchy, still a fun game, but like the 1st the story sucks, AI can be a asshole, more cars and more guns than the 1st, coop is great, death match is okay Gameplay 7.3 Looks 7 Story 5.5 Sound: Good Fun 8 Online: 8.5 ___ Over All 7.3 Out Of 10
  37. Effuself
    Jul 8, 2010
    7
    The game is and can be lots of fun. It's most fun online with 4 people, but fun if your alone as well. It is a lot like the first one. Collect orbs, power up your agent and so on, but they did improve a lot of what was wrong with the first IMO. Your car no longer morphs, but instead when you lvl up your driving you unlock more vehicles. There are helicopters and the glide suit The game is and can be lots of fun. It's most fun online with 4 people, but fun if your alone as well. It is a lot like the first one. Collect orbs, power up your agent and so on, but they did improve a lot of what was wrong with the first IMO. Your car no longer morphs, but instead when you lvl up your driving you unlock more vehicles. There are helicopters and the glide suit function at max agility lvl. When you do pick up melee weapons, you can actually swing then around instead of only being able to toss them. It feels more like an expansion though than an actual new title and the hefty price of $60 is another reason I gave it a 7. I hope the DLC will add more features to the game. However it is a ton of fun with friends as previously stated and I think the hate coming down on this title is more disappointment from hopes and dreams than anything else. It is fun,but maybe wait for a price drop. If you played the demo you pretty much know what the entire game is about. Expand
  38. BlayneW
    Jul 9, 2010
    8
    Game is a lot of fun. Missions are cut & paste, but creating havoc and wading into HUGE groups of enemies can be a blast... or jumping in a car and mowing down tons of freaks. Driving is much improved. New weapons are cool.
  39. MarkW.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    If you enjoyed the first Crackdown, you'll have a blast with the sequel. Yes, it's more of the same! But, it's everything I enjoyed from the first one. Besides How many 4-player Co-op games are you gonna play this year?
  40. JeffJ.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Yes, it's almost the same game as Crackdown (1). So what? Crackdown was one of the funnest games ever. Four player coop, gliding, and zombies just put Crackdown 2 over the top.
  41. francoisd.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Better than the last one. Most of these scores are depressed because they wanted even more, not because what we got is bad.
  42. DonaldS.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    This game is very much like Crackdown 1, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. Multiplayer is a nice diversion, but not entirely fleshed out. If you like the last Crackdown you will like this one.
  43. MattS.
    Jul 6, 2010
    0
    How can someone give this game more than a 5? The first game is by far more superior and fun. This game obviously looks rushed. In Multiplayer there are lock on targeting, which makes to game extremely unenjoyable. Don't waste your time buying this atrocity, it belongs in the trash.
  44. RichardT.
    Jul 6, 2010
    8
    Don't trust reviews.....this game is fun as hell. Yes it has some issues, but every game does. This game however is more then worth the money if you have 3 friends to play with. It seems reviewers these days are so tied up in what is wrong they forget what is right.
  45. Dr.Matta
    Jul 6, 2010
    5
    Not a sequel, just an "expansion". It improves nothing on the original; not even small things that annoyed people in the first, like the targeting system. The 'additions' are laughably bad, like Orbs that run away from you and some silly 'added gameplay elements' such as the all new WAVE DEFENSE. The game doesn't have story at all (like the first) but they try so Not a sequel, just an "expansion". It improves nothing on the original; not even small things that annoyed people in the first, like the targeting system. The 'additions' are laughably bad, like Orbs that run away from you and some silly 'added gameplay elements' such as the all new WAVE DEFENSE. The game doesn't have story at all (like the first) but they try so hard to bring one by including tons of unskippable dialogue and cutscenes. Stuff that annoys you like tutorials for EVERYTHING; they reckon no one has picked up a game before. It gets tedious and boring. What is also don't understand is why all the critics seem to (justifyingly) pan this game, but still give good grades. "YEAH WELL THIS GAME IS BORING AND NOTHING IMPROVED AND THE GRAPHICS ACTUALLY GOT WORSE - 8 out of 10" I'm thinking Microsoft had a hand in this, since normally they hype games weeks before release with their review scores. 8 months development time just isn't enough to create a compelling sequel, and this game proves it once again. If you loved Crackdown 1, just keep playing it, because 2 isn't any different. In fact, it's just worse. Expand
  46. JenK.
    Jul 6, 2010
    0
    Okay. So bought the first game last week, in anticipation for this. Not happy. It's the same... but worse? I've just spent like 20hours on the first, so I can make a fair assessment, and say this game is much worse. You lose a lot of freedom, and the combat is well - a lot more boring. It's just repetative, kill everyone here... kill everyone there... that's it. Sure Okay. So bought the first game last week, in anticipation for this. Not happy. It's the same... but worse? I've just spent like 20hours on the first, so I can make a fair assessment, and say this game is much worse. You lose a lot of freedom, and the combat is well - a lot more boring. It's just repetative, kill everyone here... kill everyone there... that's it. Sure the first game didn't offer much else either but the assassination vs human missions at least offered a decent element of strategy in the approaches. This is just mind numbing, tedium at this stage. Seriously! It opens up with killing crap for 10minutes... I was bored, at the end of that 10 minutes. Hopefully I can get some kind of refund. Expand
  47. PWarren
    Jul 7, 2010
    9
    Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down in a bunch of cut-scenes and tedious storytelling. Hop in, Hop out, play when you can, enjoy the "Splosions" and become a collect-a-holic, good times ahead. Expand
  48. EmoryH
    Jul 8, 2010
    8
    Let's be realistic people this game is just crazy fun to play. Is it a revolutionary change in gaming? Of course not but it's a blast to throw down on. The co-op play is insane and makes for a strange mix of randomness that will keep you laughing all throughout the game. Nothing says unity like throwing your partners from the highest heights and then going down and reviving them Let's be realistic people this game is just crazy fun to play. Is it a revolutionary change in gaming? Of course not but it's a blast to throw down on. The co-op play is insane and makes for a strange mix of randomness that will keep you laughing all throughout the game. Nothing says unity like throwing your partners from the highest heights and then going down and reviving them or hitting their lifeless body with a car. All around good times and shennanigans! Expand
  49. JoshC
    Jul 8, 2010
    4
    I was so excited about this game and couldn't wait to play it but now that I have, I wish I rented the game. This is such crap to sell a game like this and charge full price. Should of been an add-on. The only thing that is fun about the game is the orbs, and the wingsuit thats sad. I would rather buy the first one again and play it than this. Its the same game. The only reason I can I was so excited about this game and couldn't wait to play it but now that I have, I wish I rented the game. This is such crap to sell a game like this and charge full price. Should of been an add-on. The only thing that is fun about the game is the orbs, and the wingsuit thats sad. I would rather buy the first one again and play it than this. Its the same game. The only reason I can stand playing it is because of the co-op. Don't buy this game, just rent it. Don't give money to companies that do a sequel thats worst than the first one. Collapse
  50. JasonK.
    Jul 8, 2010
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It's a lazy Cash-n-grab from Ruffian and Microsoft. You people are out of your minds that have rated this 2 or above. THE ONLY REASON YOU FIND IT FUN is because there is nothing else out. Or you have awful tastes. You people are the reason Hollywood keeps remaking movies. "I thought Karate Kid was good, the critics are dumb". Right, did you like how he was in DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. It's a lazy Cash-n-grab from Ruffian and Microsoft. You people are out of your minds that have rated this 2 or above. THE ONLY REASON YOU FIND IT FUN is because there is nothing else out. Or you have awful tastes. You people are the reason Hollywood keeps remaking movies. "I thought Karate Kid was good, the critics are dumb". Right, did you like how he was in China and he would have learned KUNG FU, a totally different fighting style. This is the laziest effort I've seen in my gaming history outside of Wolfenstein and Bioshock2. No car transformations, useless hordes of zombies ( Jesus, come on gaming industry with the freaking zombie thing). Oh, and did I mention ORBS are sometimes in the exact or close location they were in the original?? Try and argue that. One thing assured, this game is getting traded in quickly and there probably won't be a Crackdown 3 because hopefully it will create a poo storm that will swallow Ruffian. Microsoft- not so much. As indicated by the mindless slugs who gave this game a decent score. Expand
  51. SamJ
    Jul 8, 2010
    7
    It's more of the same, though that's not necessarily a bad thing. The content is still plentiful: it will take you hours to complete all the things to do in this game, but most of it begins to feel a little tedious after a while. I like the darker atmosphere, and plowing through a horde of zombies with your buggy is immensely satisfying. If you loved the first one or are new to It's more of the same, though that's not necessarily a bad thing. The content is still plentiful: it will take you hours to complete all the things to do in this game, but most of it begins to feel a little tedious after a while. I like the darker atmosphere, and plowing through a horde of zombies with your buggy is immensely satisfying. If you loved the first one or are new to the series buy it now. If you liked the first one wait till it drops in price, but at least give it a chance to work it's charms. Expand
  52. RielC
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    It's just as good and as fun as the original, I have no idea what people are blabbing on about there. I had a great time playing single player, the only complaint I have is it's a bit short. The online is epic, and I can't wait to do it all over again when my friends get the game.
  53. CodyF
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they built upon that and turned it into what will remain one of my, and many other's, favorite and most played game to date. The controls have been improved, melee combat has more variety than the first game, the vehicles control MUCH better and are unlocked as you level up your driving skill rather than transforming, weapons are plentiful and there's one for every style of play, the edition of 4 player co-op is just amazing, the new benefits for leveling up your stats (wing suit, ground strike, etc) give new purpose to trying to level up every stat, the explosions have increased in size, and the fact that you can change your armor color gives some extra variety and makes it easier to tell your friends apart when playing online. There are some bad things though, the cell shaded look doesn't appeal to a lot of players, the story is still kind of weak, minor bugs occur when playing online, and sometimes while climbing a building your agent will not grab a ledge and you will fall. I don't care about the graphics and story because i feel the gameplay is all that matters, and the minor issues with the online and climbing are scarce and negligible for the most part. Overall, I would say this game is well worth the price and the wait, and i would recommend it to anyone who likes a good third person action game, and even to those who don't. Expand
  54. JD
    Jul 9, 2010
    6
    I was disappointed in this game, I loved crackdown 1 because it had a small storyline lots of fighting so on and i thought oh sweet 2 will be slightly improved at the least. It wasn't the game was like the first except they cut the story out of it, as the ending came I was left with many questions on key points in the game. If you want a game that's just fun killing and blowing I was disappointed in this game, I loved crackdown 1 because it had a small storyline lots of fighting so on and i thought oh sweet 2 will be slightly improved at the least. It wasn't the game was like the first except they cut the story out of it, as the ending came I was left with many questions on key points in the game. If you want a game that's just fun killing and blowing shit up Crackdown 2's your bet. If however you want indept storyline or at least a storyline don't get it. Expand
  55. JamieL
    Jul 9, 2010
    1
    One of the worst sequels in the history of gaming. And THE worst sequel of this generation. What I don't get is that they thought the original was such a great game. In reality, most people bought this to play the Halo 3 Beta. And Ruffian actually made this one WORSE! This game is a total RIP OFF! DO NOT BUY!!
  56. HeavyD
    Jul 12, 2010
    7
    Agreed, this game is basically a patched version of the original with a few twists. But it is still a fun game in its own right! I was able to pick it up for $20 at GS and at that price I am extremely pleased with my investment!! If you have never played Crackdown, get it!! If you have ... Go into it knowing it pretty much how you remember it in the core gameplay, with few multi-player Agreed, this game is basically a patched version of the original with a few twists. But it is still a fun game in its own right! I was able to pick it up for $20 at GS and at that price I am extremely pleased with my investment!! If you have never played Crackdown, get it!! If you have ... Go into it knowing it pretty much how you remember it in the core gameplay, with few multi-player offerings and four player co-op (FINALLY!!). Expand
  57. Aug 20, 2010
    5
    Intro:
    It's been 10 years since The Agency put Pacific City right again. But in this short space of time it's become even worse than before. All the buildings have suffered collateral damage. Vast populations of freaks (Shi-Gen's failed attempts to make supersoldiers) have escaped from PCN Institute of Research. An omnipotent criminal gang called the Cell have taken over the role Los
    Intro:
    It's been 10 years since The Agency put Pacific City right again. But in this short space of time it's become even worse than before. All the buildings have suffered collateral damage. Vast populations of freaks (Shi-Gen's failed attempts to make supersoldiers) have escaped from PCN Institute of Research. An omnipotent criminal gang called the Cell have taken over the role Los Muertos, The Volk and Shi-Gen used to play. That is to say they cause general anarchy.
    Gameplay:
    There is more to do on Crackdown 2 as opposed to its predecessor, instead of just going about killing gang bosses, you either recapture Cell strongholds or activate absorption units. When all three areas have been captured in a stronghold, the stronghold reverts to agency control. Similarly, once three absorption units have been activated, a solar powered bomb can be deployed inside a Freak Lair (usually found in old Crackdown gang boss locations) which, when fully charged, will emit a burst of solar energy which destroys the lairâ
    Expand
  58. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    I almost overlooked this game for a dumb reason. Most of the critics of this game say are giving it a low score because they feel that it is like playing the first game only with a co-op component. While I feel this is good to know, I think the giving it a low score based on this seems inconsistent with other reviews. For instance, GTA IV received great reviews (deservedly so), but was itI almost overlooked this game for a dumb reason. Most of the critics of this game say are giving it a low score because they feel that it is like playing the first game only with a co-op component. While I feel this is good to know, I think the giving it a low score based on this seems inconsistent with other reviews. For instance, GTA IV received great reviews (deservedly so), but was it a great departure from other GTA games? Nope. So to rate this game low because not much changed from the original game is baseless. It is good to know if you have already played the original game (you may not want to spend $59 dollars for something that closely resembles a game you already played), but it is not a reason to score something low. Since I never played the first Crackdown, I feel that I am able to render a more objective opinion of the game. Overall, it is very good. A few graphical glitches here and there (One notable moment when a Freak walked several hundred feet off the edge of a cliff and then vanished). Also the AI can be a bit dumb (sometimes the Enemies just ignore you). But overall I am having a lot of fun playing the game, collecting orbs, and trying to score some achievements. So if you like open world games and have never played the first Crackdown, I highly recommend this game because it is fun. Some minor flaws, but nothing that is a giant let down. Expand
  59. Aug 31, 2010
    7
    If you like crackdown 1 then you will like crackdown 2. The gameplay is similar and the game is pretty fun. It has some problems, the gangs are not as fun as crackdown 1. The zombies can sometimes be a headache to deal with. Overall this game is fun. When the price drops to 29.99 I would recommend you pick this one up.
  60. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And CellI almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And Cell can be very tough, especially when there are a lot of snipers and guys firing rockets at you. I've played a lot of games like Gears of War, Fallout, Dead Space, Starcraft II, and I can honestly say I really enjoyed Crackdown 2 just as much as those other games. There is something really addictive about the game - collecting all those orbs, trying to get all your skills to the max, and those boot thrusters are awesome. Well done Ruffian Studios, don't listen to those fussy grumps who don't like this game. Can't wait for Crackdown 3 - YeeHaw! Expand
  61. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    This could have been so full of win, but it fell short on many counts. I still like the game a lot though, I had fun with it. But the hype machine made me expect too much. it's just a standard game with an average vibe.
  62. Mar 13, 2011
    4
    The mindless ground stomping and car throwing is fun for a little while but as with many sandbox games, when you are done causing chaos what do you do? This isn't helped by the fact that the city is the exact same city that featured in the original Crackdown. Speaking of which, the city is given a brown tinge that is sickening to look at and seeing how the game is not visually impressive,The mindless ground stomping and car throwing is fun for a little while but as with many sandbox games, when you are done causing chaos what do you do? This isn't helped by the fact that the city is the exact same city that featured in the original Crackdown. Speaking of which, the city is given a brown tinge that is sickening to look at and seeing how the game is not visually impressive, succeeds in dragging it down further. The three groups from Crackdown 1 are replaced with one gang, robbing the game of the personality given by the variety of villains. Crackdown 2 has the feel of a rushed game and does not have enough new ideas to justify its transition into a full priced game. Expand
  63. May 31, 2011
    8
    I'm kind of in two minds about this game.. As theres ALOT i like about this game,& indeed Crackdown 1.That it has Co-Op(Shame theres no split-screen too though),its free roaming,the leveling/improvment system,& the fun of the combat & jumping & climbing from rooftop to rooftop.Its great that this game offers 4 player Co-Op,over the first games 2,but the thing that brings this second gameI'm kind of in two minds about this game.. As theres ALOT i like about this game,& indeed Crackdown 1.That it has Co-Op(Shame theres no split-screen too though),its free roaming,the leveling/improvment system,& the fun of the combat & jumping & climbing from rooftop to rooftop.Its great that this game offers 4 player Co-Op,over the first games 2,but the thing that brings this second game down for me sumwhat,is that this games set in the same city(though its kind of interesting to see the contrast of whats happened to the city,& all the places you recognised from the first game).& the mutants that come out at night.Nightime just feels ridiculous & TOO over the top,with all these mutants about everywhere,You would think their numbers would start to dwindle,as you exterminate them in huge quantities throughout the game,but they dont seem to.. I know the ultimate aim of the game,is to eridicate them completely,with these light bombs,but being able to reduce their numbers significantly during the course of the game,would've been nice.. Expand
  64. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    After the excellent original I have to admit that Crackdown 2 was a little bit of a let down with very few new features really adding anything to the experience. There is of course plenty of enjoyment still to be had for fans of the first game, especially when playing in co-op, but this is very much a sequel by numbers.
  65. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level with Saints Row 2.There are hours of play to be had across the games multiple game modes and if you are going to pick up a second hand game to play soon , I recommend this one.
    Expand
  66. May 8, 2013
    8
    They say the original is always best in most movie and video game franchises. Crackdown 2 is no exception to that saying. While I loved the first Crackdown so much, Crackdown 2 is basically just more of what you love. The super-jumping, orb-collecting Agents are streamlined to be more fluid and easier to control. The non-stop action is the real fun of this game. Crackdown 2 is one of thoseThey say the original is always best in most movie and video game franchises. Crackdown 2 is no exception to that saying. While I loved the first Crackdown so much, Crackdown 2 is basically just more of what you love. The super-jumping, orb-collecting Agents are streamlined to be more fluid and easier to control. The non-stop action is the real fun of this game. Crackdown 2 is one of those few games where "Do anything and go anywhere you want" has real meaning. Trust me, this game consumed me for 3 months after it's release. Expand
  67. May 29, 2013
    7
    Crackdown 2, despite its flaws, was a worthy successor for Crackdown and adds many more hours of destruction. The downside is it's almost a near identical copy and paste game from Crackdown. Same city and same powers. While in that aspect it was disappointing, it was still really fun to be in a different setting. I enjoyed fighting the giant gang known as Cell and bringing on them deathCrackdown 2, despite its flaws, was a worthy successor for Crackdown and adds many more hours of destruction. The downside is it's almost a near identical copy and paste game from Crackdown. Same city and same powers. While in that aspect it was disappointing, it was still really fun to be in a different setting. I enjoyed fighting the giant gang known as Cell and bringing on them death and destruction. The zombies added in made it even more entertaining killing things as they are mostly cannon fodder. There are new racing challenges and orbs to find, but overall this is near identical to Crackdown 1. If you're a huge fan of the series, then you'll still enjoy it, but it's disappointing to see Crackdown 2 suffer despite being an awesome game. Expand
  68. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A lot of people say this game is more of the same, and it is partially true. here is my review:
    SINGLE PLAYER- 6/10. very basic story, not as good as orginal
    GRAPHICS- 7/10. almost identical to original, with few new additions (i.e. bigger explosions) SOUND- 7/10. nothing special. serviceable, but not outstanding GAMEPLAY- 8/10. similar to OG, but with fun new additions CO-OP- 9/10.
    A lot of people say this game is more of the same, and it is partially true. here is my review:
    SINGLE PLAYER- 6/10. very basic story, not as good as orginal
    GRAPHICS- 7/10. almost identical to original, with few new additions (i.e. bigger explosions)
    SOUND- 7/10. nothing special. serviceable, but not outstanding
    GAMEPLAY- 8/10. similar to OG, but with fun new additions
    CO-OP- 9/10. fun 4 player co-op, drop in and drop out
    FUN FACTOR- 8/10. similar to OG, but still very fun game
    TOTAL SCORE: 8/10
    Expand
  69. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    I love this game, all the comparisons to the first game are void, this one has a better more detailed world, a new challenge, better physics and more weapons. Need I say more. Much better than the first one (which was amazing btw.)
  70. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    This game is a 7 for me. It could've been an 8, but the game HURT me. I loved Crackdown (check out my review) but it feels like they stripped away the what made the game a blast, and just left the core. Granted, you can still have a ton of fun (I know I did) but it doesn't feel as fun as the original. I thought the recurring missions in the first one were fun, but these ones actually FEELThis game is a 7 for me. It could've been an 8, but the game HURT me. I loved Crackdown (check out my review) but it feels like they stripped away the what made the game a blast, and just left the core. Granted, you can still have a ton of fun (I know I did) but it doesn't feel as fun as the original. I thought the recurring missions in the first one were fun, but these ones actually FEEL REALLY repetitive. And boring. That's what the game is, it is just a stripped down copy of the first Crackdown, and one I can't recommend. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
  1. Crackdown 2 looks sharper, the action is fiercer and the increased number of players pays dividends. Despite all this, we can't shake the feeling that it isn't the monumental sequel that the series deserved. The over-familiarity of Pacific City and the cropping of key features like the gangs and transforming vehicles will leave some Agency veterans feeling a little bit disappointed.
  2. It's gets a tad dull by the end of the game, and as your character levels up, it becomes less of a challenge as well (unless you're on harder difficulties, naturally).
  3. If you're coming into the series afresh, Crackdown 2 is well worth checking out, but for those of us who have patiently waited over three years for a sequel, it's a mild disappointment.