Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 506 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: First-person shooter Crysis returns powered by CryEngline 3 and is coming to the PS3 and Xbox 360, as well as the PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. 95
    I absolutely loved Crysis 2 from start to finish. The game looks amazing, sounds amazing and plays like a dream. The singleplayer campaign was a satisfying 10 hours and left me wanting to play it again at a higher difficulty setting. Multiplayer borrows a few ideas from other games but overall is a unique and highly enjoyable experience even if it does force you to put in the time to get the most out of it.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    91
    There will always be room for improvement, but Crysis 2 has managed to surpass its competition in almost every category. There's little here that will convert non-FPS players, but fans of the genre would be doing themselves a disservice if they missed out on the Nanosuit 2.0.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    90
    Even in its console versions, Crysis 2 stays true to its great legacy. Despite a few issues regarding the AI, this sequel is superior to its predecessors in almost every way and offers one of the most immersing campaign modes we've ever seen.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    87
    Fantastic visuals, fast combat and clever nanosuit mechanics more than compensate for some linear level design, a mediocre story and unvaried enemy design. It's not as good as the first game in the series, but it's a great shooter nonetheless.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    85
    An outstanding game. Between the incredibly challenging AI and the stages that reward creative thinking, Crysis 2 distinguishes itself as a thinking man's shooter. Unfortunately, the bland and almost generic story is very weak glue for an otherwise great FPS.
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    Crysis 2 is an amazing game that doesn't live up to its full potential. The storytelling is au contraire to the new action system and amazing visuals, quite horrible. The game plays like a dream though, contains amazing actions sequences and offers enough variation in its somewhat linear missions. But it's the Nanosuit that makes Crysis 2 stand out from the crowd, which is also the case on the multiplayer front.
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    50
    I don't mean to say that Crysis 2 isn't competent. It is. It's a perfectly bog-standard, uninspired, derivative, middle-of-the-road, ultimately incomprehensible, attractive enough, buy-it-used-if-you-must shooter that no one will remember by summer.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 160
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Just like its predecessor, its visuals are top-notch, especially on the machine it's running on; the Xbox 360. As for the core game, however,Just like its predecessor, its visuals are top-notch, especially on the machine it's running on; the Xbox 360. As for the core game, however, I was initially disappointed about the nanosuit's power being reduced to stealth and armour. That quickly changed, however. Having a button for each made switching between the two far more fluid than Crysis 1. On top of this, it adds a lovely twist and breath of fresh air to what is essentially your typical combat multiplayer affair. That being said, it is a step down from the large scale frantic antics of the original. But it's this added layer of depth to the tried and tested 'CoD-style' multiplayer offering that lends it an advantage.

    But it was the single-player, like its predecessor, I bought it for. The original garnered some criticism to its rather basic plot, but having never seen it done so well, or in a videogame for that matter, it didn't hinder the experience one bit. Crysis 2, however, propels the Crysis universe onto a whole new level. It's obvious a hell of a lot more thought has been put into it. It's more complex, deeper and smart and makes for infinitely more compelling game. Couple this with the unique and shockingly-real depiction of an 'apocalyptic' New York and well... I can't even begin to explain how awesome it is.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Pheonomenal! Looks great, plays great, lots of fun. What a relief. Been waiting for something different to come out. Now I know what all thePheonomenal! Looks great, plays great, lots of fun. What a relief. Been waiting for something different to come out. Now I know what all the hub bub has been about. It's crazy to me how people are demanding more and more from FPS's. 9/10 isn't good enough anymore for gamers. 10 hour campaigns arent good enough? If you want length, play FF games or Fallout games. I'll take fun over length anyday. Same feelings I had about Bulletstorm too. Fun as hell. I think the recession is getting to people, and rightfully so. $60 is alot to spend on games nowadays. People want more for their money. Now that we're in the back nine of our respected consoles, the games are coming in fast and furious. Not enough money to induldge in everything. Look for 2 for 1 deals on amazon or other deals of the sort. There are ways to beat the $60 crunch of games that doesn't involve pirating or buying used. Try to buy new people, but be smart about it. Don't always run to gamestop on day 1. Look around, and you'll be surprised what kind of deals you'll find. Stores like Target have been known to pull off a $37 deal for a weekend on newer games from time to time. Other places may give you a $10 to $20 store credit. Together we can do this. Last thing we need is for the days of gaming to come to and end because of our selfish need to save $5. Publishers and developers should meet in the middle as well. Do they want to sell 500,000 copies of a game at $60 or would they rather sell 2,000,000 copies at $45? Do the math. It's the retailers commanding the $60 price tag, not the makers. Eventually the publishers will put pressure on the giants to make a move. I feel it. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Utterly gorgeous game.However,even though the story is well told,there's very little story to tell.Often the difference between a score of 8,9Utterly gorgeous game.However,even though the story is well told,there's very little story to tell.Often the difference between a score of 8,9 or 10 depends on often overlooked parts of a game whether it's story,sound,graphics or whatever.Crysis 2 has everything you could want in an FPS.Except for a proper story.To most I'm sure,it wont matter.But for me,that's what makes this game a 9 instead of 10.
    It seems,in the FPS category at least,no developer has has learnt from the magnificence of Bioshock and continue to make generic shooters time after time.It's the graphics and somewhat tactical gameplay that puts this game above the likes of COD or Halo.
    Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    The game looks fantastic, I can't recall anything looking this good and the musical score is probably the best I've ever heard but if I had toThe game looks fantastic, I can't recall anything looking this good and the musical score is probably the best I've ever heard but if I had to sum this game up in a phrase I would say All dressed up and no place to go. The story just isn't very good and I know this will anger some people but it feels a bit long at points but still a solid game. If they crafted their storytelling and characters as well as they do the look of the game it will be the best game in history. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    Many people thought consoles would ruin this game, but i believe that much as been improved. Graphics are better than ever in this game andMany people thought consoles would ruin this game, but i believe that much as been improved. Graphics are better than ever in this game and the controls always keep you on top of the game. the campaign was a blast with "wow" moments around every corner and gameplay that kept you playing. the multiplayer, however was promised to be a highlight, although i found it a bit disappointing. the multiplayer was halo style but it wasn't as exciting. Besides that this a great game. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    After careful consideration of the Single Player aspects including horrid AI, the incredibly slow frame-rates, and silly linear gameplay. IAfter careful consideration of the Single Player aspects including horrid AI, the incredibly slow frame-rates, and silly linear gameplay. I cannot in good conscience give this game more than a 60. It is so dark as to be unplayable in some regions and the brightness controls do not work in the UI. Enemy is misspelled ENMY Detected? How could Microsoft really pass this thing--as I am hitting rates of less than 20 regularly with not much happening on screen? I tried 3D and my gosh, it is even worse. MP is nothing to write home about. They threw in the kitchen sink--but didn't manage to finish anything it seems. This is too buggy, too boring and too strong on the overbrights and too dark on the shadows. It is too everything but fun. I am headed back to Reach multiplayer. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    This game is terrible, bored of it within 4 hours of playing it. Online is terrible you get a kill then you die then you get a kill then youThis game is terrible, bored of it within 4 hours of playing it. Online is terrible you get a kill then you die then you get a kill then you die. Not to mention that the kill streaks are not even worth it. The nano suit sucks, maximum armor and maximum stealth are stupid as **** everybody sees you when you use stealth anyway and the maximum armor is just useless because whenever anybody gets in a gunfight they just try and get the armor up as fast as possible. Nobody uses any gun besides the SCAR basically because everything else sucks unless you have a modded controller. The game is boring as **** too. You spend half the time trying to get to places and once you finally get there you are out of energy and you get ****ed like Japanese-Americans living in the US during WWII. This game is not even finished, by the way the graphics suck don't get your hopes up. I am not even going to try and explain the cluster **** that is the campaign. I have been playing first person shooters since Halo: Combat Evolved and I have to say this is the biggest piece of **** i have ever owned.
    DO NOT BUY
    Expand

See all 160 User Reviews