Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Includes a soundtrack featuring forty plus new tracks, from the disco hits of the seventies to current top 40 dance hits.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    95
    Everything about the game - its preposterous storyline, its madcap multiplayer modes - peels away at the inherent, inextricable humiliation of dancing in front of your peers. To start a dance battle in one of those modes, you have to high-five your opponent in real life. Rest assured, you are in very, very good hands.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    Packed with features and polished to a sheen, Dance Central 3 is a true evolution of what has come before. It hasn't lost focus of the core features that made its initial success popular, but the developers also haven't rested on their laurels. Much more than a simple track pack or yearly update, the latest game is sure to please anyone who plays it.
  3. 90
    More time-travel sci-fi needs heel kicks. [Dec 2012, p.87]
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    85
    While Dance Central 3 is lacking in innovation, it's straight up fun, just as Harmonix's sequels have been in the past.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    85
    Dance Central 3 really is the best dance game for Kinect. It doesn't matter whether you're a good dancer or not, Dance Central 3 is for everybody and it's especially nice at parties.
  6. 80
    A very slick dance floor mover. [Issue#91, p.76]
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    If I was to recommend any installment of the series, it would be Dance Central 2. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.70]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Definitely a must-buy if you liked Dance Central 1 and 2. Improved menus, more voice commands and better voice recognition, terrific trackDefinitely a must-buy if you liked Dance Central 1 and 2. Improved menus, more voice commands and better voice recognition, terrific track list covering songs from the 70s through present day hits. Story mode is a welcome addition as it improves on Dance Central 2's Crew Challenge mode. Alternative outfit unlocks, secret characters, hidden modes. Lots of replay value. Dance Challenges from Dance Central's Facebook app has been added ingame as well and is another mode that will help the online social aspect further. Party Mode and 8 player Crew Throwdowns is for local multiplayer and is definitely an improvement over Dance Central 2's Dance Battles. Minigames like Strike-a-Pose and Make-a-Move are also nice additions to add to the variety in how one wants to play. If you are one of the few who have held out on buying an Xbox with Kinect, Dance Central 3 is one of the reasons you should pick one up now. Dance Central 3 showcases Kinect's capabilities in a fun and addictive way and sure to be a staple of the Kinect stable for a long time to come. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I always playing this game on my Xbox because the graphic is nice,good music and the dance move in this game is very nice but there isI always playing this game on my Xbox because the graphic is nice,good music and the dance move in this game is very nice but there is something I don't like is music got shortened.

    Still a good game to play and worth to buy,I give it 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    it impresses as a game only because there aren't a lot Kinnect-required titles that are as fun as the Dance Central series. among the 3 Danceit impresses as a game only because there aren't a lot Kinnect-required titles that are as fun as the Dance Central series. among the 3 Dance Central titles that Harmonix released, this one has the most number of recognizable tracks despite already having an impressive list of songs that can be exported from Dance Central 1 and 2 (including some DLC's). as an exercise tool, adjusting the difficulty of the songs to at least Medium and keeping up with the moves offers a steady cardio workout. i also noticed a Beginner difficulty in the DC3 songs that even a senior citizen can do. hard core dancers will appreciate trying to imitate the harder moves as well as creating their own moves with that "Make Your Move" mini-game. photo-sharing on facebook is quite limited as it only lets you pick one image, either the finishing move or snap shots from dancing freestyle with the score at the bottom. all in all, Dance Central 3 is the only reason why people should buy a Kinnect (or an Xbox 360 for that matter)... because it's well worth it. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    It's such a fun and addicting game for what it is. I just hope they conisder adding Bee Gee's, Abba, and Gangnam Style DLC. I also hopeIt's such a fun and addicting game for what it is. I just hope they conisder adding Bee Gee's, Abba, and Gangnam Style DLC. I also hope they'll create a character customization mode in the future. Other than that the songs are pretty good, but it's not my personal favorite. However, everyone has different musical tastes. I like how it's so diverse bringing back the classics. The Dance moves are great, and I just love this game. So, yes this is THE BEST DANCE GAME EVER!!!! Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Dance Central still stands as the best Kinect-based franchise to date. Dance Central 3 improves the formulas already laid and shows a littleDance Central still stands as the best Kinect-based franchise to date. Dance Central 3 improves the formulas already laid and shows a little bit of something new. The franchise promises to turn those willing it invest themselves whole-heartedly into choreographic whizzes, something you might take interest in if you're into the club-scene or just like moving around with great flourish! Of course, you can't succeed in this genre without a good setlist, and Dance Central 3 gives great beats to move to (mostly). It's the DLC that makes the game feel flexible, as not everyone will love every song, thus not wanting to learn the dances. So as long as you're willing to drop a few extra dollars here and there for the songs you'd really want, you're in for a lot of fun... and some exercise, too! Collapse
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Definitivamente es el mejor juego de baile que usa Kinect, tiene a favor su ahora gran cantidad de canciones, rutinas para realizar, y el modoDefinitivamente es el mejor juego de baile que usa Kinect, tiene a favor su ahora gran cantidad de canciones, rutinas para realizar, y el modo historia.
    Algo que no tiene a favor es que aún no veo mejoría con la captura de movimiento y comandos de voz en español
    Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    0
    Dance Central 1 with replaced tracks for the same full price which should have been dance central 1's DLC, thats all it is, overpriced DLCDance Central 1 with replaced tracks for the same full price which should have been dance central 1's DLC, thats all it is, overpriced DLC unreleased for DC1 and 2 and repackaged into DC3 Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.