Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    92
    Hints at a great future for Kinect. [Jan 2011]
  2. 92
    The dancing rhythm genre is likely set to explode next year on Kinect. I think Harmonix is going to make a killing off this software, and we're likely to see a deluge of me-too shovelware come along once publishers get a whiff of that money.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    91
    Dance Central is the game to have for anyone who is skeptical of Kinect's abilities. A great crowd puller and a hit to have at parties.
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    91
    Not only is Dance Central is the best dance game I've experienced thus far, but its also the game that truly showcases Kinect's potential and sets the bar high for any upcoming games in the genre. An almost-flawless body-controlled experience that every single Kinect buyer needs to have, whether they're dancing aficionados or not.
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    91
    It's a challenging game that manages to not feel frustrating, and it gives you a great workout as well. There's also that nice element of feedback to let you know how you can improve, and if you've ever wanted to pick up a dance move or two, then you should probably check this out.
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    91
    None of its flaws, though, detract Dance Central from justifying Kinect and revolutionizing the rhythm dance genre. It spearheads not just a movement in new video game technology, but also the inherent connection between dance and downright fun.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    91
    The selection of jams, from Pitbull's "Calle Ocho" to M.I.A.'s "Galang '05", are all bootie-bouncing material. The range of dance routines vary considerably and feel legit -- I'd feel comfortable doing "the jerk" at a club.
  8. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    In the end, Dance Central is definitely the best dance game on the Kinect and really showcases the Kinect quite well.
  9. Nov 12, 2010
    90
    But while I wouldn't have minded a bit more MC Hammer, Dance Central has managed to get me to wave my hands in the air like I just don't care. No mean feat. And it keeps the wife laughing, and whatever makes her happy, makes me happy. Sort of.
  10. Nov 4, 2010
    90
    I've never played anything quite like it, and I think I'm ready to retire my DDR dance pads permanently, because this is the real revolution.
  11. 90
    Ultimately, if you've invested in a Kinect, this is definitely the game you must pick up to showcase to your friends and justify your purchase.
  12. Nov 4, 2010
    90
    Despite my frustration with what Dance Central can't do, I'm giving this game a high score for what it can. It can get me off my couch and sweating more than Wii Fit ever did. It can bring my friends and coworkers together for thirty minutes while we try to figure out what a "real" Cabbage Patch is. It can tempt non-gamers into giving it a go because unlike you maybe they actually can dance. And even if it can't wave a wand and make me a good dancer, it can inspire me to at least try.
  13. 88
    Dance Central is as close to a killer-app that Kinect has to date and Harmonix has gone and proven that they're not a one trick pony. If you're looking for an excuse to get Kinect, ladies and gents, may I present to you, Dance Central.
  14. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    We haven't seen a dancing game that's looked this fun since the old days of Dance Dance Revolution and the dance-bot. If anything here truly shines, though, it's the soundtrack.
  15. Nov 4, 2010
    88
    Investing hours in a game that rewards you for some degree of athleticism and coordination is not only an incredible workout, but ultimately makes you feel like a better dancer in the end. Dance Central shines among Kinect's otherwise bleak launch lineup and is undoubtedly a step in the right direction for the hardware.
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    87
    A real revolution in dancing rhythm games, entertaining and enjoyable by everyone. Too bad for a lacking multiplayer with the absence of online play support.
  17. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    This is without a doubt the best Kinect launchgame. Dance Central makes sure there won't be a single boring moment when you are having friends over. Make sure to buy this game when you're getting Kinect.
  18. Dec 15, 2010
    85
    Even though it can feel a bit threadbare at times, Dance Central is still worth picking up, as it is a great way to experience the Kinect sensor.
  19. Nov 30, 2010
    85
    Dance Central just isn't the life of the party – it IS the party, and a total blast if you are willing to shed your inhibitions and bust a move.
  20. Nov 29, 2010
    85
    Dance Central is the best of the Kinect launch line-up, and with ongoing support promised for what is already a solid and well-executed concept, this inspires faith that developers are capable of great things with this hardware in the future.
  21. Nov 22, 2010
    85
    A blueprint of how Kinect games should be made. It combines a solid and reliable implementation of the tech with enough gameplay meat to keep you coming back after the novelty wears off.
  22. Nov 10, 2010
    85
    We are surprised by Dance Central. It truly is the best Kinect launch title your should spend your money on. Assumed that you like dancing games or games with motion. Otherwise you should wait on buying Kinect until some core games are on the way.
  23. Nov 10, 2010
    85
    Dance Central is not perfect, but at its core there is plenty of enthralling entertainment to be found.
  24. Nov 9, 2010
    85
    The new game developed by Harmonix and MTV Games is a fun and inmersive experience only available on Kinect, with lots of complex dance moves to master, featuring artists such as Lady Gaga in the soundtrack. Best played with friends.
  25. Nov 4, 2010
    85
    Dance Central welcomes wallflowers and hot steppers out on the dance floor with great routines and engaging visuals.
  26. Nov 15, 2010
    84
    This is the game you must pick up if you're interested in Kinect and love to dance.
  27. Nov 15, 2010
    83
    While Dance Central may not be for everyone, if you have a Kinect and some friend that regularly come over, definitely pick this up and see how many people get into it.
  28. Nov 12, 2010
    83
    Dance Central is probably the best dancing game ever made, as it captures all of our movements, allowing us to dance with our legs and feet. But it not only has a technology that works, but also a great presentation and lots of content.
  29. Dec 15, 2010
    82
    Dance Central busts on to the scene becoming this holiday's "must have" game for Kinect. Not only does its perfectly blend the hardware with the software, Dance Central is fun, lots of fun.
  30. Nov 19, 2010
    82
    That's one hell of a party game! Fans of dancing will definitely pick this up, although there are some minor bugs and glitches. In our opinion, a must-have for Kinect owners.
  31. Kinect's best launch title. [Feb 2011, p.102]
  32. Nov 7, 2010
    81
    Much like the original Guitar Hero, Dance Central nails the essence and charm of its ambitious format in its very first act.
  33. Jan 5, 2011
    80
    If you have a Kinect and are looking for a fantastic party game, don't hesitate to pick up Dance Central and start shaking your booty!
  34. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Dance Central is obviously the first of future iterations of a new franchise, with very slim pickings when it comes to features. Don't let that throw you off though, as it's one of the must own game of 2010.
  35. Dec 10, 2010
    80
    Even if Dance Central is a bit thin on multiplayer options and single player campaign complexity, Harmonix' game is among the 3 best kinect titles and a landmark when you think about motion controllerless gaming.
  36. Nov 26, 2010
    80
    Dance Central is a typical Harmonix game. Great gameplay combined with a nice and well selected track list, works in a great way to create a funny and balanced experience. The lack of any kind of Career Mode is the main problem of a globally great experience.
  37. Nov 24, 2010
    80
    The best Kinect title to date. Great movement detection and a fairly good tracklist (allthough a little skinny). The lack of a story mode is still a shame, without it Dance Central is no more than a (very funny) party game.
  38. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    When Dance Central works, the feeling is borderline euphoric - in the blood-pumping, serotonin-inducing way that only dancing can be - as you find yourself stringing moves you learnt individually into coherent routines. [Christmas 2010, p.94]
  39. Nov 20, 2010
    80
    Dance Central shows what Kinect can do for gaming. The gameplay is forgiving enough t o ensure even players without any sense of rhythm stand a chance, and the Break It Down-mode can teach virtually anyone the dance moves required. The menu controls need some work, but even the sporadic problems with recognizing more subtle moves, the fun isn't spoiled.
  40. Nov 19, 2010
    80
    Even with some flaws, Dance Central is the best dancing game you can buy. Harmonix has done it again, creating the best launch title for Kinect.
  41. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    Dance Central will surely be a success. The simplicity with which puts people dancing, and even teaches to dance is one of the strongest points.
  42. Nov 11, 2010
    80
    Dance Central feels very basic and leaves a lot of room for future expansion, but it's also a lot of fun in its current state. It's also one of the best Kinect games out there, so if you've got one of those, make sure you pick up one of these, as well.
  43. Nov 10, 2010
    80
    Dance Central succeeds thanks to its sexy playlist and design (especially its interface), but its movement recognition as well. Pro dancers and rythm-disabled alike will have fun playing it. Some will find challenge in reproducing all the choreographies, others will put the hip dancing moves tips to good use. Too bad the game doesn't have a lot of modes, a way to create our own choreographies, not a larger playlist (fewer than 40 tracks). But Dance Central works: it makes us dance and laugh.
  44. 80
    By far the best Kinect game so far. Harmonix delivers both a great party game and something for the hardcore players prepared to break a sweat.
  45. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    Dance Central is a great entry into new realms for Harmonix and those who have picked up Kinect.
  46. Nov 7, 2010
    80
    Dance Central's strength, like many respectable "casual" games, is that it does one thing, and it does it really, really well. It doesn't overextend itself trying to be too videogamey, or trying to be an exercise game, or anything other than purely a dance game.
  47. The only regret is that it's so approachable as to make it less effective as a dancing tutor: the ability to muddle through moves and still succeed, and the lack of a hardcore boot camp that shows what you actually look like, means Jacko-esque proficiency isn't guaranteed.
  48. 80
    An amazing showcase of how Kinect can be used. This is a competent dance trainer in your home. Amazing moves and a good track list. It is lacking in multiplayer options and at times feel more like a trainer than a party game.
  49. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    There's room for improvement in terms of what the game offers, but Harmonix nailed the core experience, and that goes a long way towards making it one of the most compelling Kinect launch titles.
  50. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    There are hours of fun on offer here for serious solo players and groups of drunk idiots alike.
  51. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    It's got a decent array of songs, with both modern hits and dance classics forming a well rounded track-list (doing the Soulja Boy dance to 'Crank That' is a personal favourite of mine). It looks great, too, polished to a shiny finish with excellent visuals and an accessible interface. But above all else, it works.
  52. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    Great fun, it gets you moving, and it's absolutely perfect for parties. Although it's disappointing to see so few features and unlocks included, the actual song selection, dance routines, and the accuracy of the Kinect implementation is what makes Dance Central worth a look.
  53. Nov 4, 2010
    80
    Ultimately, Dance Central's greatest shortcoming is that it can't actually teach you how to dance. But, it's greatest triumph is that -- against all odds -- it will make you want to.
  54. Nov 12, 2010
    78
    One of the best launch title for kinect, Dance Central is intriguing and funny to play. Too bad it won't let you play with a friend at the same time. The tracklist is good but not excellent, and the Downloadable tracks are too expensive.
  55. Nov 24, 2010
    75
    Dance Central is by no means a perfect game. A disappointing multiplayer and a music selection with no real sense of fun detract from the experience. Even so, as a release title there are hours of entertainment to be had alone or with friends.
  56. Nov 22, 2010
    75
    An excellent starting point that contains a 32-song setlist with a good variety of dance moves to perform.
  57. Nov 14, 2010
    75
    Overall, Dance Central has all the necessary ingredients to make a fantastic dancing game. Fantastic tunes, slick looking visuals and an enjoyable experience for all, pretty much sums up Dance Central. This being said, Dance Central is light on features, offers up no single player story mode and a 32 songs out of the box is simply not enough in this day in age. So to say Dance Central has a lot of room for growth would be an understatement.
  58. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    Dance Central is a lot of fun, and it'll make you appreciate dancing more, but the lack of worthwhile multiplayer is very disappointing.
  59. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Harmonix have boldly stepped into the world of dancing-games and lived to see it through. The game looks good and the controls work nicely with learning you a variety of dances. But the game itself would have turned out much better with an improved multiplayer. It's supposed to be a party game, but the fact that you can only dance one at a time drags this game down.
  60. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    Dance Central is an accomplished start that could well herald a series of follow-ups. The Kinect technology is used effectively and whilst it appears basic at first, is quite possibly one of the hardest launch titles if you have no rhythm. Overcome the initial fear of looking a fool and you'll find the fancy footwork and body movements are the perfect way to enjoy some drunken tomfoolery with your friends.
  61. Nov 12, 2010
    70
    If you're buying Kinect anyway then Dance Central should be your first port of call, but its limited lifespan for more grizzled gamers means it shouldn't be a reason alone to splash £130 or more.
  62. Nov 10, 2010
    70
    It's not a new idea, the feature set is thin and the presentation is mediocre. But it's still the best dance game - and the best Kinect game - so far.
  63. Nov 8, 2010
    70
    Well polished at every level, whether the playlist or lining, Dance Central boasts an exemplary degree of finish and a great recognition of movements.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is most definitely the best display of what the Kinect can do. Not only that, but it is the best dancing game ever made. Sure, the options may be light, but it actually works. I'm glad the folks at Harmonix decided to focus on making the core gameplay great. Looking forward to Dance Central 2 and the inevitable Career Mode that will come with it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    So i bought Kinect with Kinect Sports and DAnce Central.
    Firt i played Kinect Sports and it was horrible. It was like 2006 i started playing
    Wii and back than it was something new.
    The firt try was great, amazing and fun. Now with Kinect it was a pain in my ass when i tried boxing, soccer and the other sports.
    Okay i was shocked first but i said to myself:
    Not so bad maybe Dance Central will be better.
    I started Dance Central and i was shocked. Again some very poor rehash from a Wiigame with a few better graphics and awfull control. So i bought Kinect for 150 bucks with a game for 200 to get a god damn copy of a system i allready have.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    this game is the only reason why people should buy a Kinect. despite minor glitches with trying to capture motion, the potential of controller-less gaming is on full display with it. Dance Central has a fairly good choice of songs to dance to and the DLC's are worth paying for. it's the perfect party game for spacious living rooms with solid entertainment systems. it won't improve one's dancing skills or work up a sweat (unless you play 2 hrs straight on hard), but i like how it teaches simple dance moves and i bet users of this game will spot gym group class instructors or party-going clubbers who have stolen a few moves by playing Dance Central. Full Review »