• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2010
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Anyone can jump in and enjoy DanceMasters instantly, but those looking to truly master the game will find a long, rewarding process ahead of them.
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    85
    With some killer moves, excellent Kinect tracking, some decent dance tracks and whole lot of attitude; Konami's dance game offers accessible and encouraging entertainment for solo or a group of players. The only real let downs are a lack of recognisable tunes and no learning mode.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    Dec 15, 2010
    85
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    A great dancing game, a very direct and frantic arcade which will entertain us since the very beginning, without having to learn complicated choreographies.
  5. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    For now, Dance Evolution takes advantage of the Kinect and if you're looking for a fun game and like dancing, well my backing dancers... you've come to the right place!
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    77
    Compared to its closest competitor, DanceMasters may suffer from a few questionable and incomplete gameplay mechanics but remains fun, challenging and appealing enough to warrant a purchase. Needless to say, those who preach for the DanceDanceRevolution church will get immense joy out of it.
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    If you like the music, DanceMasters is a great companion game to Dance Central.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    This is the best dancing game for the Kinect as far as I am concerned. Dance Masters, the true sequel to Dance Dance Revolution. The game isThis is the best dancing game for the Kinect as far as I am concerned. Dance Masters, the true sequel to Dance Dance Revolution. The game is very easy to jump in and play, starting with the easy difficulty you basically just match some of the poses, as you do this keep an eye on the main dancer because eventually you will have to mimic most of their moves. I found the extreme mode to be the most fun mode in the game, it is so fun trying to follow all the moves the onscreen character does.

    The Music in the game is what you would expect from a Dance Dance Revolution game, so if you like the music there, you will like the music here as well.

    I feel the graphics and animation is top notch, some of the best animated dancing in a video game I have ever seen.

    There is also a tutorial that will teach you the basics of the game.

    I give this game a 9 out of 10 for being the best dancing game I have ever played.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    3
    This game has moves that are too difficult for people who don't have a dancing background. My daughters have a very difficult time keeping upThis game has moves that are too difficult for people who don't have a dancing background. My daughters have a very difficult time keeping up with the changes. It obviously wasn't meant as a family fun game. Just Dance 3 works well for children because the moves aren't as complex. Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    I know Dance Central is much more appealing to the mass audience due to its much bigger and more familiar library of songs on top of beingI know Dance Central is much more appealing to the mass audience due to its much bigger and more familiar library of songs on top of being much easier to jump into BUT those looking for a work out and a more legit dancing game would find DanceMasters to be a better fit. Sure on the easier difficulties you can cheat on the moves and don't technically have to dance, but even going to standard (and obviously Extreme, Stealth and Master) requires you to do the dance. The visuals are great and I like out the markers add some flare to the game you're playing. Now let's get to the meat, the dancing. I'm a dancer and comparing both DanceMasters and Dance Central's choreo, I highly prefer DanceMasters, one reason being the the hardest routine I learned on Dance Central was not that challenging for me, while I've yet to master the most difficult routine on DanceMasters. The routines are much more realistic (these are dances you'd most likely see in music videos and such) and for the most part the music is great and very catchy. There are some odd balls (like this one very slow R&B) but the variety of music and styles make this a much better dancing game than most people give it credit for. I await the sequel. Full Review »