• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 17 out of 21
Buy On
  1. DARK is frustrating, because that initial feeling of being a zippy blur of a vampire in a world of neon-lit night never leaves you. It's just swamped in frustrating design decisions, a script that lurches from passable to laughable, weak enemy AI, and a vortex of a lead character who's impossible to like or hate.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    59
    The mysterious story sparks your curiosity and the match of vampires and stealth seems like a good concept. But if you take elements from stealth giants like Splinter Cell, Deus Ex or Dishonored you have to make sure that they work well together. And here, they don’t.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 29, 2013
    53
    Awkward design and stiff controls make Dark a royal pain in the... [Sept 2013, p.70]
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Dark isn't very interesting, isn't very innovative, uninspired. The powers of a vampire had a better game around. Realmforge should stay in the fantasy-RPG.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 55
  2. Negative: 32 out of 55
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    I don't usually make reviews, but, having played the game for over 5 hours now, I was baffled by the professional reviews and infuriated byI don't usually make reviews, but, having played the game for over 5 hours now, I was baffled by the professional reviews and infuriated by M9ki score.
    Dark has what I would expect from a stealth game: It's fun to sneak around and find a way to kill without being spotted, all the upgrades seem powerful and useful and the level designs make it interesting to kill and run around.
    About the AI Eventually you actually memorize their movements but if the enemies didnt follow SOME kind of pattern, it would be impossible to come up with a plan of action.
    This game is not as awesome as hitman nor as complex as splinter cell, but I'd recommend this one to anyone who enjoyed those games.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    M9ki its people like you who ruin a games honest score. You cant even spell, you dont make sense. It makes me so mad, thats why I dont rely onM9ki its people like you who ruin a games honest score. You cant even spell, you dont make sense. It makes me so mad, thats why I dont rely on these reviews anymore, so many times have I played a great game that has been rated 60 or less.

    As far as the game DARK goes, its not that bad. They tried to do something a little different here and I commend them for that. I always like a game that is different because it is refreshing from all the sandbox action, fps, gta style games that I get so sick of. Just like REMEMBER ME and THE LAST OF US, although this game isnt on their level (Remember me was way underrated).

    My honest score would be a 7 but I have to wash out that ignorant review. Pick it up if you want to try something a little out of the ordinary. Can be boring at times, but so can a lot of these masterpieces sitting in my collection. Its out for 50 dollars and if you cant swing that wait a few days try it used and return it if you dont like it. For me, i was excited to try it so I did. I wasnt upset with my buy by any means.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    First off I truly wanted to enjoy this game. I been a gamer from the mid 1970's and own over 1 k games so can say I know what I am talkingFirst off I truly wanted to enjoy this game. I been a gamer from the mid 1970's and own over 1 k games so can say I know what I am talking about when I say this is the worst game I have ever played hands down...and I played thrill kill on ps1.. This games logic is so messed up it hurts.. I will say tge graphics are good and sounds are nice as well but the game just is really not worth buying new or even used..maybe a rent if truly want to play something that will irritate the crap outta you. The game dosent even follow vampire lore. Bullets do not kill vampires more so 2-5 bullets kill the player..total illogical. I am pleased Kylapso tried to make this good but IMO failed baddly. Better to stick to Dungeons rather then fail at a game like this again. Full Review »