Darksiders II Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 436 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 436

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2015
    6
    So disappointed by that follow up.
    Darksiders 1 was great, with a scenario and twists and novelty. But darksiders 2 is nothing more than a reskin with few innovations. Furthermore, gamelength is artifically prolonged by a second playthrough and a quest for the numerous collectibles (far too numerous, it becomes a pain when you spend more time backtacking and searching around than
    So disappointed by that follow up.
    Darksiders 1 was great, with a scenario and twists and novelty. But darksiders 2 is nothing more than a reskin with few innovations. Furthermore, gamelength is artifically prolonged by a second playthrough and a quest for the numerous collectibles (far too numerous, it becomes a pain when you spend more time backtacking and searching around than playing).
    Not worth its price and the DLC are utter crap ! Just an ok platform/HnS game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    Darksiders 2 is a game that does a lot of things right and several things very wrong. The first game was a mash of different genres and its successor does it as well, from borrowing elements from Zelda, Prince of Persia and even Diablo, it mixes things up in a brilliant way. Going from platforming to puzzle-solving, getting a random new item to equip is a treat.

    The one of the worst
    Darksiders 2 is a game that does a lot of things right and several things very wrong. The first game was a mash of different genres and its successor does it as well, from borrowing elements from Zelda, Prince of Persia and even Diablo, it mixes things up in a brilliant way. Going from platforming to puzzle-solving, getting a random new item to equip is a treat.

    The one of the worst things about this game has to do with the best thing. Mixes things up is very interesting and the variety is nice, but the puzzle-solving tends to change too fast and the platforming never lasts long. You will go from one kind of puzzles to another kind, never fully enjoying them. You would think that the second dungeon would also borrow puzzle elements from the first, but it doesn't. The platforming is great since it gives the world a nice vertical feel where you are not too cramped wherever you go, but its still limited. Prince of Persia would give you a room and the platforming itself would be a puzzle. One of the highlights I had while playing it was getting to a particular place and it is several minutes of just climbing walls and shimming around things. You only really seem to do platforming when you're going from one place to another. The rpg elements are nice but the effects of different items don't really seem to matter. I saw a weapon with the ability to freeze but the percentage was too long for me to care about. Each dungeon roughly has one level higher enemies, so dungeon one has level one enemies, dungeon two has level two enemies...and so on. I would have liked that if the items you get from a chest are random, chests need to reappear, but they don't. Why borrow randomness from rpgs, if the treasure chests don't respawn?

    One unique thing about Darksiders 2 is possessed weapons. They are weapons that gain strength from other weapons. However great Diablo III is, I don't even think that game has this feature.

    The story is not that great and every person is only willing to help you if you do three things or do something for someone else.

    After about ten hours I was officially tired of the game. I thought that there was going to be 7-10 dungeons max, but I was wrong. After you have beaten everything on the first map (the forge lands), you end up in a new are with other things to do. In total, there are four areas that you end up going to. It seems like the designers simply wanted to make the game longer. Its weird how a game can be longer, but then the platforming and everything else never really gets to shine.

    I loved the first Darksiders game and thought it was a bit short, but adding an extra ten hours to a game just doesn't feel right. When I got to the end of the Forge Lands, I thought I was done. The goal was to get to the Tree of Life. I had no idea I still had 10+ hours of gameplay ahead of me.

    The game could have been fantastic, but if it wasn't for its length and not using all elements to the best they could, its only a 7.
    Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty awesome graphics and combat-wise, but the puzzles are way too easy and the last few areas are much smaller than the first few. Weapons didn't seem very broad either. If the makers put more effort into the last two worlds and created a better and wider selection of weapons this game would have been amongst the elite.
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    5
    The motivation to play this game is very low. Apparently, I play a supernatural character, Death, who is trying to exonerate his supernatural brother from a crime of, oh nothing much, just total annihillation of the human race! And to do that, I have to do a very un-death like thing of restoring all of humanity again, as if it never happened. What? And to do that I have to go to theThe motivation to play this game is very low. Apparently, I play a supernatural character, Death, who is trying to exonerate his supernatural brother from a crime of, oh nothing much, just total annihillation of the human race! And to do that, I have to do a very un-death like thing of restoring all of humanity again, as if it never happened. What? And to do that I have to go to the mystical tree of life, which turns out to be a Nordic version of the rainbow bridge to all worlds, which is blocked by "corruption", which to unlock it I have to do favors upon favors, upon favors, upon favors, upon favors....what am I trying to do in this game again? Safe my brother? Exonerate my brother? How am I suppose to do that again because I got lost in all of the favors for other npcs. After 37 hours, I quit playing because my motivation to unlock one more corridor was gone. I can only go down so many corridors, beating down enemy after enemy and solving puzzels for so long before I expect to see progression and payoff. The big problem here is that the game is not so much "big" as it is "LONG". Too long for a hack'n'slash to not have a progressive story to go with it, and what little they do have in story takes waaaaay to long to unfold. Graphics look good, combat is smooth as you'd expect for hack'n'slash a la God of War, although the platforming is a little tricky, riding a horse that causes it's own damages is nice, so the game has all of that going for it. In fact, I would say that this game is the ultimate accumulation of games from the PS2 generation. It's just that they adopted the more open world size maps from the PS3 generation without realizing that those type of games are designed for you to interact with the world and the environments, not just to have space to slay enemies while you make your way to the next checkpoint. In conclusion, it's a game without a plot that kills any motivation to spend much time with satisfying combat and puzzels that become too repetitious. Knock yourself out if your thinking about playing it. Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Had potential but failed.

    Pros:
    Combat.
    Boss fights.
    Presentation.
    Amazing sound track.

    Cons:
    Collect THREE of everything!
    Horrible characters.
    Too linear.
    Repititive dungeon designs- go here climb that fight this, get the key, climb here, fight boss.
    Tries to be dramatic.
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Its ok but the disc I got froze to much so I never really enjoyed it sad...It was a interesting game though its worth the buy but some of the discs fail..
  7. May 29, 2013
    7
    Darksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way to get past a certain scenario was to use your cunning and make a plan for the according situation. So, my problem with Darksiders 2 and the RPG system is when a challenging part of the game comes up, all I have to do is go grind for hours then wail onDarksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way to get past a certain scenario was to use your cunning and make a plan for the according situation. So, my problem with Darksiders 2 and the RPG system is when a challenging part of the game comes up, all I have to do is go grind for hours then wail on the enemies with ridiculously good equipment. Speaking of equipment, there are so many item drops that it makes me wonder what's the point of so many different weapons if I'm just going to get better blades in 2 minutes. This is not a bad game or a bad sequel, it's just not as good as it's previous game was. Expand
  8. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    It's no secret that I found very little to be loved with the first Darksiders but after seeing all the hype surrounding the sequel I found myself getting excited about it more and more as time wore on. Unfortunately, I found myself to be pretty disappointed. The graphics are mediocre, the setting is very uninteresting, and the enemy design is a combination of both. Throughout the game youIt's no secret that I found very little to be loved with the first Darksiders but after seeing all the hype surrounding the sequel I found myself getting excited about it more and more as time wore on. Unfortunately, I found myself to be pretty disappointed. The graphics are mediocre, the setting is very uninteresting, and the enemy design is a combination of both. Throughout the game you will fight the same enemies over and over again and the only enemies that are any different are the complete pushovers of bosses. The bosses are ridiculously easy and very uninspired with one being almost an exact rehash of a boss from the first game. The world is pretty big, but there is absolutely nothing to do in it. Not to mention hardly any enemies. The graphics are just bleh all over and is barely an improvement over the first one. You will consistently see the pixels on everything without even having to look that hard. You play as Death, the brother of War, who is trying to absolve War of his sins. Besides that i couldn't tell you anything else about the story which seemed nonsensical at best. None of the characters are very intriguing and most have the most annoying voices you could ever imagine. Eventually I just started skipping the cut scenes to get to the only saving grace of this game which is the gameplay. Darksiders 2 plays like any other hack and slash games, but has a Borderlands like loot system. This quickly becomes addicting especially once you start growing as a character and finding unique possessed weapons. These weapons devour other weapons and become a force to be reckoned with. Every level you gain a skill point that you can put towards abilities. The necromancer tree seemed cool at first but halfway through I started putting stuff into the Harbinger tree and just used teleport slash non stop. Ultimately, Darksiders II is better than its predecessor but tends to get incredibly dull with only a little bit of fun to be had. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    Darksiders as a franchise is still very much in its infancy the original has to be one of the greatest dungeon crawlers/action adventure/slash-em-up games ever made right after its inspiration Zelda and of course diablo and that in theory should have made the foundation of Darksiders II even more stable but the reality of it is the simple fact that the game
  10. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    Simple fact of the matter is that it is just as mediocre as Darksiders 1. The camera problems have not been fixed, in fact it has been made worse by the fact Death is supposed to be so nimble in combat (standing still = defeat). Its not BAD by any means but there is a lot better out there. Art direction is good but let down by a mediocre (theres that word again) engine. PC version is OKSimple fact of the matter is that it is just as mediocre as Darksiders 1. The camera problems have not been fixed, in fact it has been made worse by the fact Death is supposed to be so nimble in combat (standing still = defeat). Its not BAD by any means but there is a lot better out there. Art direction is good but let down by a mediocre (theres that word again) engine. PC version is OK but again it lacks much consideration that you might not be using the console version! Expand
  11. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the first one was bad, mediocre and sloppy. This one fixes a few stuff, but to be honest, it's incredibly overrated, I won't say it's bad. But I'll go as far and say it's NOT good, I mean, when customizing your character, the textures NEVER appear, it looks horrible, the gameplay is solid, but there's just something about the game that doesn't feel right
  12. Sep 4, 2012
    6
    I initially gave this game a 4 after being forced to restart twice due to game-breaking glitches but now that I've managed to actually finish the game and have had time to reflect on my experience I've raised my score....a bit. Darksiders 2 is a fun great-looking game but is ultimately bland and overly-inflated and does not do justice to the story of Darksiders. The game's story isI initially gave this game a 4 after being forced to restart twice due to game-breaking glitches but now that I've managed to actually finish the game and have had time to reflect on my experience I've raised my score....a bit. Darksiders 2 is a fun great-looking game but is ultimately bland and overly-inflated and does not do justice to the story of Darksiders. The game's story is lackluster, poorly delivered, and barely keeps you motivated to continue your journey. The first game created a great world full of great characters with depth (relative to the genre) but even the reoccurring characters are merely shallow representations of themselves. The larger scope of the game is mostly bland filler, long empty corridors connecting dungeon areas. The first Darksiders game left me with a genuine feeling of excitement and a clear motivation for a sequel whereas Darksiders 2 just left me feeling letdown and slightly confused with no real connection to the first game and no real direction or feeling of motivation for a possible sequel. If there is a future for the franchise I hope they come to the realization that story is just as important, if not more, than improved game mechanics and increased scale. Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2012
    5
    Bigger is not better. This game is basically a 3rd person Borderlands, minus the charm, if Borderlands consisted of nothing more than dungeon crawl after dungeon crawl with an arena and and an annoying amount of collectibles to keep the neurotic completionist gamers playing. Also, the camera issue has not been fixed. The issue being it zoomed in way too close in combat to the point youBigger is not better. This game is basically a 3rd person Borderlands, minus the charm, if Borderlands consisted of nothing more than dungeon crawl after dungeon crawl with an arena and and an annoying amount of collectibles to keep the neurotic completionist gamers playing. Also, the camera issue has not been fixed. The issue being it zoomed in way too close in combat to the point you cannot tell which enemy is attacking you. Overall, I was expecting more and I find myself playing through more of my third run through of Skyrim than I do this game. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I'm having a really hard time getting used to the art style (more specifically the character models). Everyone looks too big and clunky. The same goes for a lot of the secondary weapons. Also, when I'm attacking with X and want to quick switch to a Y attack, there is an annoying delay. And where is the double jump? Maybe you unlock it further in, but I feel like this ability should beI'm having a really hard time getting used to the art style (more specifically the character models). Everyone looks too big and clunky. The same goes for a lot of the secondary weapons. Also, when I'm attacking with X and want to quick switch to a Y attack, there is an annoying delay. And where is the double jump? Maybe you unlock it further in, but I feel like this ability should be present.

    On a positive note. The overall art direction is good. The combat is fun. There is lots of loot to be had. I enjoy the platforming as well as the puzzles and the soundtrack is simply great. I may update my score after playing more, but I'm not seeing this as a 10 like so many others on here.
    Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    PROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, tooPROS: -loot system is very appreciated and works well -agile platforming akin to prince of persia -art style/environments -combat -fresh new feeling and polish compared to the first game -case is shiny just like the first one -well designed dungeons with a plethora of mechanics and some great bosses -large game with plenty of content CONS: -slight technical hiccups (tearing, fps drops, too frequent loading, blinky shadows, sluggish menu, bugs, etc) -menu keybindings are of questionable design -platforming controls could be smoother -quick view of loot outside menu could be slightly more extensive to show you what you are losing, not just what you're gaining -narrative is a little to distant from its connection with the first game and only slightly advances the lore forward -anti climactic boss and unfulfilling conclusion NOTES: Although having noticeable flaws, overall its a good game that manages to focus all its different elements together into a single identity that is bigger, better, and more varied then its predecessor in almost all areas. Expand
  16. Oct 8, 2012
    0
    Darksiders as a franchise is still very much in its infancy the original has to be one of the greatest dungeon crawlers/action adventure/slash-em-up games ever made right after its inspiration Zelda and of course diablo and that in theory should have made the foundation of Darksiders II even more stable but the reality of it is the simple fact that the game
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    60
    While trying to revitalize the Zelda formula with modern developments is an admirable goal, Darksiders II's developers just can't seem to get a handle on how to make such a thing work. For two games now they've tried adding hi-octane combat, a Western-style story, and ability trees, but it's never managed to gel. The things that made games like Zelda, God of War, Prince of Persia, and even Shadow of the Colossus great are all on display here, but the Darksiders series still hasn't figured out how to use them effectively enough to stand on its own.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    A stunning achievement in creative larceny that improves on its predecessor in pretty much every way that matters. A pity about the lacklustre endgame though. [Oct 2012, p.49]