Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks on a journey to redeem his brother's name. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    100
    It challenges you, it gives you room to breathe, but also a purpose and of course it´s fun for every minute of it, which is all that counts in the end. You don´t have to invent everything again to get that. Not, if you have mastered the craft like Vigil Games obviously has.
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is better than we expected, we just loved it. It offers tons of content to keep us playing for many many hours, and proves that you don't need to reinvent the wheel to create something new and full of personality. As a game it is excellent and generous with the player, so if you liked the first game, then you should now the wait was worth it. If you miss the original Darksiders, please give this a try. To sum up, it's just one of the adventures of the year. A must-have.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    88
    The first Darksiders rightly garnered itself a cult following, but it's barely fit to hold a candle to Darksiders II. Bigger, bolder, more creative, more interesting, deeper, smarter, better... Hurl all the positive adjectives and adverbs you want at this action-adventure sequel and they'll stick good and tight. [Oct 2012, p.73]
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    85
    Darksiders II is a great follow-up aimed mainly at the fans of the first game. Fortunately it can easily appeal to players unfamiliar with War's adventures, players simply looking for a good slasher. The game offers lots of fun, making the player not only show off his/her skills in fighting and jumping, but in logical thinking as well. The game's quality suffers a tiny bit because of its graphics and lack of a really "big" ending. But remember - these small flaws are not enough to discourage anyone. Darksiders II is a great investment that will keep you glued to the screen for a long time.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    A smart, original evolution of the previous game's concepts with plenty of new things to see and do, from its new protagonist to its faster combat and engaging loot system.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    60
    Though this might seem like a gripe, Darksiders II is not a bad game. Its mechanics are tightly crafted and there are plenty of exciting battles and twisted puzzles to work through. But don't be surprised if everything feels very familiar, and don't feel ashamed if you're inclined to simply turn it off. After all, you've probably played this game a hundred times before.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 100
  2. Negative: 16 out of 100
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war
    who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there
    the story line is epic and we feel immersed in it. the music score in the game is best ive listened to in a game the setting is wonderful courtesy of Joe Mad a must buy game for all action adventure fans
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    I've been Playing games since MS DOS days so I do not understand why people have to complain about games and focus on one thing. This game really inspires me. I played the first darksiders and really enjoyed it and the second darksiders really improves the stoyline and fills in gaps that was left out in the first game. well done THQ and Vigil. DLC is a great idea. and so far I am very impressed. Collapse
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Played this for several hours already, can hardly put it down! The original Darksiders was great, but they took it to the next level. Death is awesome, the story is cool, and the gameplay is tons of fun, I haven't fully figured out the loot system yet, but it seems cool so far. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    A brilliant follow up to the first Darksiders - A gamer's game that deserves to be in the top tier of titles. I just hope the public supports it so they can make bother one Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    Wonderful combat, the most satisfying platforming I've ever played, and in depth and intriguing story, lovable and ever changing characters, and boss fights up the arse! It's a shame a few technical issues keep it from being perfect, but still well worth the price. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    (Im sorry for all english/american guys but i wanted to write this critic in German because of my bad english)

    Als ich Darksiders 2 zum
    ersten mal eingelegt hatte war ich voller Vorfreude, da ich mir den Test von GameStar angeschaut hatte und es wirklich gut aussah. Leider wurde ich ein wenig enttäuscht da es nicht das war was ich erwartet hatte. Ich fühlte mich am Anfang ein wenig alleine gelassen da man die ganze Zeit nur durch Gegner und Rätsel musste und es kaum Gesprächspartner gab. Ich war halt Spiele wie Skyrim oder Dragon Age gewohnt und das war meine erste Berührung mit so einem Spiel. Aufgrund
    dessen hatte ich das Spiel mehrmahls einfach für 5-6 Tage liegen gelassen aber immer wieder den Drang gehabt es wieder in meine Xbox zu werfen und ein wenig weiter zu schnetzeln. Irgendwann fing es dann doch an richtig Spaß zu machen, ich ließ mich einfach darauf ein das ich hier kein Traditionelles Rollenspiel spielte wie es mir vorher am liebsten war, sondern einen richtig guten Mix aus verschiedensten Genres. Ja sogar ein kleines bisschen Portal ist hier vorzufinden. Das Spiel packte mich Regelrecht ich wollte in die neuen Welten gegen große Bossgegner kämpfen und vorallem das fenomenale Artdesign betrachten. Es entwickelte sich zu dieser Zeit zu meinem Absoluten Lieblingsspiel und ich blieb manchmal sogar bis zu fünf Stunden am Stück dran, löste Rätsel und verprügelte meine Gegner. Leider kam dann das, wie Ich finde, grauenvolle Ende. Ich hatte gerade wieder einen großartigen Hauptgegner besiegt, überlegte in welche Welt mich die Entwickler diesmal schicken würden....vorbei. Vom einen Augenblick auf den anderen war das Spiel zuende und deswegen bekommt das Spiel von mir 8 von 10 Punkten da es auf der einen Seite wirklich überragent ist und auf der anderen Seite nicht fertig erzählt wurde. Ich glaube sie konnten die Geschichte nicht mehr fertig erzählen da THQ schwarze Zahlen geschrieben hatte. Das ist natürlich nur meine Meinung. Trotzdem von mir eine klare Kaufempfehlung!
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag, horrible camera that me over multiple times. The story is total crap "hey go run some errands for me and ill help you" HE IS DEATH NOT AN ERRAND BOY. At least i didnt blow 50$ on it and bought it during the steam summer sale, but jesus christ could you have done any worse THQ? sure as hell wont be buying any more of your games ever again. you failed hardcore, DO NOT buy this game its crap. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews