User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 265

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best gaming experiences ever. This game is masterful. Like a dark version of Zelda. It's such a blast to play thru. Can't wait to play darksiders 2. A true under rated gem.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    4
    The combat is boring, repetitive, and lacks originality. The character models look good but the environments look poor at times. Uneven difficulty as well. I just didnt like this game.
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A surprise hit for mine.Take control of War,a horseman of the apocalypse and fight your way through varied and detailed levels in search of the answer of who began the End Times early,and framed you for it.An excellent art style and good combat and upgrades have made me look towards the sequel with anticipation.
  4. May 29, 2013
    8
    Darksiders was a wonderful hybrid of games I love. It combined elements from God of War, Legend of Zelda, and had a unique element of its own. A lot of people call this game a God of War clone and whatnot, but just because it's like God of War doesn't mean it's bad. I think if it's being compared to God of War then that is a good thing. My complaint is the uselessness of key items you get for dungeons. There's the horn, crossblade, gun, mask of shadows, portal gun and abyssal chain, but none of them are particularly helpful outside of dungeon solving. This was disappointing because I had great ideas on how to perform kills with each item, but it's a minor flaw I found with the game. The storyline is okay, but I just enjoyed seeing them utilize the Horsemen in a really cool way. Definitely worth checking out. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    OMFG!! This game is by FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen! Its a **** amazing game.. I dont know why some people hate it, i recommend every "REAL" gamer to buy this AMAZING MASTERPIECE!!!
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    A great game. Perhaps between God of War and Zelda it failed to catch the public's attention, but behind familiar genres lies a completely unique experience. As much as the combat is repetitive, it is fun from start to end, similar to God of War. The game is, for this day and age, quite long, standing at 18 hours. The dungeons are varied. Where the game shines the most is the artistic style and direction. It is filled with captivating cutscenes and unique dungeons which although large, never feel old. As you complete the story you will feel immensely satisfied by the great writing. So, although darksiders doesn't break any new barriers, it is a strong experience I suggest to every player. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is by FAR the most UNDERRATED game this gen! Its an amazing game.. I dont know why some people hate it, i recommend every "REAL" game to buy this AMAZING game
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    still better than god of war
    darksiders show us a great character
    war. yes,this game is a mix of zelda,devil may cry,god of war
    but i love it,it was very cool,it has a lot of good thinks
    its one my favourite games
  9. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    this game is essentially a zelda clone, but is there anything wrong with that? Fun sequences, quick combat, a linear story line which somehow feels open. I guess the only thing holding it back is that.. well it's just not zelda.
  10. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    MOST UNDERRATED GAME EVER!!!!!!

    One of the BEST games ever.. Simply AMAZING! The story is really, the characters are really likeable, and the game is FUN,, i recommend this game to EVERYONE!
  11. May 14, 2012
    6
    Never have I fell in and out of love with a game so quickly! Screen tearing and sub-par graphics aside, the first few hours of Darksiders were absolutely bliss for me - really, really cool and instinctive combat action followed by some truly brilliant puzzles (one set in a Temple of Doom type room is probably the best in-game puzzle I've known - a perfect balance of test and reward). But then it totally loses it's way - instead of giving you time to settle and enjoy your role as War, it keeps endlessly throwing new things at you and breaking the pace up with alternate sections such as a flying on a griffin - there really is no need for it and it just disjoints the game horribly. Then the puzzles start becoming a bit more obscure and laborious too, the combat just becomes more confusing and repetitive the further you get into the game, and the upgrades you purchase hardly feel worth the effort either. Mark Hamill does a great job with the voices though, as do most of the cast - something worthy of a mention as their undoubted class adds to the game. Sadly, that can't save something which just doesn't cut the mustard as a whole. Give it a try - it might be something you can get on with and is definitely worth a look, but it just grew too old too quickly for me. Expand
  12. Jul 4, 2012
    8
    An exceptional game but no one without faults. First of all, Darksiders has a pretty decent story and pretty GOOD characters for all you RPers however the set design is really its biggest down fault. There is so many flaws and a lot of unnecessary obstacles and puzzles that forces you play on its own pace. However like the said the characters are good, the story is good and the combat is good. Looking foward for Darksiders 2 Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    It may borrow heftily from other hack n' slash games, but that doesn't mean I didn't have a hell of a time with Darksiders. Combat is frequently fun and frantic, the monster designs are original, and the puzzles are nothing short of brilliant. Overall, a fun way to spend the weekend.
  14. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    So this game made me feel the same way that Saints Row made me feel, Darksiders has almost the same control skim as God of War and to be honest the one thing that keep me from playing this game back in 2010 was because it was in my eyes just a God of War clone. But, I tried it and I have to say that this game is so much better than God of War. The story is not bad, I feel like War is really bad ass through out the game, the enemies all look like they should be yugioh card also the game looks really cool. The art style works with this game and there is no reason to hate on that part of the game. There is some things that could of been better, the enemies might look cool but for the most part almost half of the enemies can be killed with just hitting one button, no joke if you hit B you can slam the smaller zombies on the ground and the basic bats can be killed in the air with the same button. Other than that, this game is a really great game and one of the best games for the 360. Worth a look at and at least the time of day. Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    Darksiders borrows some things from other games, but does that make Darksiders better than those games? The graphics have that cell-shaded look, which feeds into the comic book story well. I did experience some slow down when the action got heavy. The story is good, not really original, but in new and cool universe. The story starts off exciting, but then disappears for a while during the middle hours of the game. The end brings the story back with full force, as the best moments happen in the final hours. The gameplay elements are borrowed from the God of War and Legend of Zelda franchises. The combat is similar to God of War, but nowhere near as fast and fluent. The puzzles and exploration is taken right out of The Legend of Zelda. You explore dungeons and find new weapons to further your adventure. In the end Darksiders is not as good as the games it borrows from, but Darksiders is not bad. Expand
  16. Aug 13, 2010
    8
    Solid 7.75 game with an interesting story, decent puzzle/platform elements, and fun game play. What brings it down? For one thing the game I played right after this was Bayonetta, and that highlighted the differences between an 8 and a 10 quite effectively. Buy it used, its worth $35.
  17. Oct 19, 2012
    6
    Darksiders follows the path of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. War, who has been falsely accused of tipping the balance of heaven and hell, must clear his name and kill those responsible for this misunderstanding of epic proportions. If that doesn't interest you then the rest of the story probably won't either. Personally, I thought the story was actually pretty interesting and had some pretty interesting. It may not have been the most original story, but it was captivating mainly because of solid voice acting and some interesting dialogue. Unfortunately, that's the only saving grace of this game and it is lucky that it doesn't get buried under the mediocrity that floods the rest of the game. This game borrows aspects from more successful games such as Devil May Cry, The Legend of Zelda, and God of War. The only problem is that everything Darksiders borrows from those games it does much, much worse. Take the incredibly sluggish combat. You start out with one weapon and gradually build up your arsenal, but none of the weapons seem very distinct and are very predictable. You can rack up combos while killing enemies, but there is no incentive for doing so. You can unlock more powers using the game's currency, but really they all boil down to the same thing and they take absolutely no skill to pull off. You also have access to special abilities that War can use that consume wrath. Every time I got one of these I found myself just saying "meh" and going back to regular combat. Then there are the incredibly uninspired dungeons. They are so long and incredibly boring that I found myself begging for the boss so I could just get on with the game. Then when I did reach the boss I found myself sighing, because they were the biggest pushovers and the methods to defeat them were so blatantly obvious that I had to laugh. Unfortunately, this game doesn't live up to the games it borrows from and struggles to rise above the mediocre mess that it ultimately becomes. Expand
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    What happens when you throw in a Blender The Legend of zelda and God of War, you get Darksiders, is a combination of those 2 amazing series, you explore dungeons to collect items and power ups and also you can beat the crap out the enemies but thid game manages to gain an identity of it´s own. The combat is really good yo can use 3 different weapons with different power ups and also the puzzles in this game are well made you´ll need various items to work them out, not only the main item of the dungeon you´re so it makes the game more inmersive and the storyline is also good, the problem with the game is that the map it´s not very clear in the overworld and most of the boss fight are ridiculously easy, most of the time to defeat them you just need to do certain action 3 times and you win they´re not bad but I expected more.
    Besides that this is an amazing adventure game and is way underrated
    Expand
  19. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Darksiders is great. There is kind of an open-world (pretty small compared to sandbox games, but big enough for this one) that you can explore while doing the main story, and as you proceed you will find collectibles that you will be able to get only when you unlock a special kind of gear. The collectibles you will have to get are very worthy, as they help increasing your maximum life, wrath (so you can use special abilities), pieces of Abyssal Armor (if you get all the pieces you will unlock the armor and you can import it for later playthroughs) and artifacts that you can switch for souls (which you also find in chests and killing enemies) and is the game's currency so you can buy upgrades and others with Vulgrim, a kind of demon (?) that is in most of the game's locations. Gears are awesome, there's from a crossblade which you can lock on to enemies to a kind of portal gun to solve puzzles, about 6 different gears. There are a primary weapon, the Chaoseater Blade, and two secondary, the Scythe and the Tremor Gauntlets, and plenty of combos for you to do with them (so the combat is not repetitive as many say), and more that you can buy with Vulgrim. Story is not perfect, but still great, and the main missions take you about 15 hours to do. Graphics are amazing, there is screen tearing but it doesn't bother you much, and the locals are just beautiful, from open places with waterfalls and grass to caves with big spiders. You will find a lot to unlock, the collectibles and some challenging achievements. This game is not perfect (as none is), and may borrow elements from other games, but is incredibly fun and you will find yourself coming back for more. An underrated title and a must buy for every hack and slash fan. Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    I only picked up this game due to a recommendation of my friend. It seemed interesting enough, and I could tell it was trying to be like God of War or Zelda. But the key word in that statement is trying. It isn't necessarily a bad game, it just isn't as good as what it tries to be. The story is cool enough. Horserider of the Apocalypse has to fight off enemies. The character designs are awesome, but the graphics were a bit too cartoony for a game like this. That doesn't mean the graphics were bad... just not great. The combat is a bit too mindless, but I will admit that the enjoyment of combat was better the farther I played. The puzzles are Zelda like and fun, but I have seen better puzzle designs. Ultimately the reason the game didn't score higher, was the game got repetitive after a while to me and just lost its enjoyment. The game is relatively long and is enjoyable, but it just wasn't as fun as I had hoped it to be. Expand
  21. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Great game nothing similar matches it on the 360 for sheer scale, visceral combat and a great story. Reminds me of soul reaver which is a classic. Can't wait for darksiders 2!!
  22. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Great Combat with flashy combos that achieve, with monstrous enemies that hit hard, and your legendary weapons Darksiders is an amazing game. Proceeding as War throughout the very good story makes you feel like a complete bad ass that will kick anybodies ass to find out what he wants. Just some minor flaws of a lack of enemy variety, some puzzles could be too hard or too easy but fun enough to get through and some bosses kinda feel plain while some are a complete stressful nightmare if you haven't played much hack and slash games before. The Ending Result is that it could of been better than it already is, Legendary. Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    Very good game! Button-mashing and puzzle-solving coupled with a weapon upgrading system similar to God of War. Absolutely worth a purchase. Controls are very smooth.
  24. Mar 7, 2011
    8
    I picked it up through Games On Demand to have something to play casually before Dragon Age II, and was really surprised. I have to admit, I expected something God of War-esque, but instead found myself with something more akin to a dark Zelda. The combat is a bit simple, but makes up for it with the sheer number of implements with which you can inflict pain on your foes and scale the environment. The world is very refreshing as well. Many of the other mythologies have been done to death, and getting to romp around inside one of the more lavish and "colorful" Christian mythological tales is a blast. The art direction is top notch as well. Every area is a feast for the eyes, aside from a few dull dungeon crawls. You also get your money's worth. I missed a few nooks and crannies but still clocked in at a respectable 17 hours. Also worth noting is the great voice acting, memorable characters, and excellent sequel-hinting ending.

    There are a few negatives, however. The game drags on a bit at the end, sending you through the same environments a couple more times on artifact-hunts, but it does give players a chance to find a few more hidden secrets with their new tools. Also, I found the puzzles and combat quite easy, with rare and annoying spikes in difficulty at 2 or 3 points in the game. The camera is also a bit picky. It usually stays at just the right angle, and the cinematic lock-on camera is fantastic, but you'll still find yourself missing the occasional jump or ledge when the camera randomly pivots behind a rock or into a wall. Also, don't even bother with the block and counter-attack moves.

    All-in-all, it's a very unique game that's worth a purchase or extended-rental. Check it out!
    Expand
  25. May 14, 2012
    9
    AMAZING. I am obsessed with angles and demons. AND THIS GAME DELIVERS. With great in both the characters and the way you swing your sword. MUST HAVE GAME.
  26. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    This is the best Zelda game I have played in years, as it takes the gameplay that made titles such as Ocarina of Time so great and throws it into a new environment of a violent, war-torn apocalypse of present. The mechanics feel familiar but also refined, due to the more grim atmosphere and vocal characters. A great spin on one of gamings favourite franchises.
  27. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    Penned by legendary comic book artist Joe Madureira (X-Men, Battle Chasers, The Ultimates), Darksiders is set in a Post-Apocalyptic demon-ravaged world where evil forces have prematurely brought about the end of the time. Originally sent to oversee the destruction of Earth, the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse have been betrayed by their master, stripped of their powers and cast down to Earth. Players take on the role of WAR -- the first of the Four Horsemen -- as he embarks on a brutal quest of vengeance and revenge against the forces that betrayed him with the help of his phantom steed RUIN. The first title from new THQ studio Vigil Games, Darksiders: Wrath of War features open-world exploration, a deep combat system and a huge arsenal of modern and mythical weapons. [THQ] Expand
  28. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    By far, one of the most underrated games i can think of, Darksiders, gets almost everything right, and delivers in well worth your money level of quality and length experience. It is long enough to provide great entertainment but not feel too long. The world is beautiful crafted, and the characters are interesting and fun to discover. Combat is fun and challenging. It perfectly balances something that is extremely hard to do especially in action adventure games: making your character feel bad ass and powerful, while still providing a challenge to the game. They do this with many difficult puzzles in the world, as well as having both War, and his Enemies be powerful. Slowly getting more powers and weapons allows for new access to the world. The various enemies also provides for a strategic gameplay. In my top five for sure. highly recommended. Expand
  29. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    While not being a big fan of the hack-n-slah genre I actually like this game. I still didn't find it as entertaining as a FPS, RPG, TBS or RTS. But there were something that appealed to me. I might even try the sequel.
  30. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I loved it! Some people bash it because it feels like a Zelda game but for the grown ups. Which is fine with me because I haven't liked any zelda game since a link to the past, to childish I guess. Good story, again I loved it, and am awaiting the Sequel.
  31. Aug 23, 2012
    6
    combat is a bit boring repetitive, the controls kinda suck which make for **** platforming of which there is too much. i got this game because i was starting to get swept up in Darksiders 2 hype, but the game isn't making me go get it, i'll wait for it to be $20 next summer.

    feels like a trudge, reminds me of L.A. Noire, in that the reach extends beyond its grasp. Not a bad game, but
    its high notes don't make up for the low notes. Really just want to beat it and not think about it anymore Expand
  32. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    There are very few games that I have played that I have found nothing wrong with. This is one of them. Darksiders is one of the best games I have ever played. Compare Darksiders to a similar title, Prototype, and you'll understand why I am impressed.

    The combat in this game is indeed button mashing, but that is entirely irrelevant. Taking on the bigger brutes is not button mashing. You
    have to charge around and avoid attacks and you have to select your attacks very carefully if you want to survive. Furthermore, the massive variety of attacks available require memorization, motor memory, and skill to master. Can you get by just using basic x x x x x attacks? Probably, yes. But the character animations for the various attacks look so good and feel so powerful that I have trouble not wanting to use them.

    This is a game about creativity. You can be as interesting or as dull as you want. If the combat feels repetitive, make use of a different secondary weapon, buy some new attacks for everything, and wait until you get your next big character upgrade. Every little thing you buy or get as the game's story progresses makes it a whole new and exciting experience.

    You fight a lot of the same enemies in this game, and in any other game it would probably be exceedingly boring. In Darksiders, these enemies are presented to you in spectacular ways. Brief cutscenes as the creatures emerge from portals on the floor and huge monstrous brutes crashing through a doorway or a portal really gets the blood pumping. It makes the fights feel very dire, and when you've decimated their ranks, you feel like a God.

    The story is minimal, but excellent as well. Things are entirely focused. You know what you're doing and why you're doing it. You don't always have to follow the beaten path in this amazing open world, but the path is there and easy to follow,

    And guys, you play as a horseman of the apocalypse... Need I say more?
    Expand
  33. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I'm about 80% through the game and this game is like God of War, except I found the puzzles to be more challenging. The graphics are ok. Kinda grainy looking for today's standards. I give it somewhat of a pass on graphics since the game is old. It still is alot of fun. If you are a fan of the God of War games you will like this one. The game doesn't dish out anything original really so you might not be impressed if you have played a ton of video games on the Xbox already. I just got my Xbox about 6 months ago and I think this is one of the better games for this system if you like a challenge, but not too much of a challenge. Other than a couple of REALLY tedious challenge type battles the game is awesome. Controls are a bit off sometimes. And there seems to be a delay with jumping so if you are running towards a cliff you will end up falling off a few times until you get used to jumping a little bit sooner. If it were not for the small negative things I posted this game would have gotten a 10 and that is not counting the dated looking graphics. This game should NOT be getting a 10 as it is not the same caliber as a perfect game and whoever is giving this game a 0 and saying that it is linear is full of crap. Final Fantasy was linear. This game is like Zelda or Metroid in some ways. If you like God of War, Metroid or Zelda try this one out. Just don't have the expectation that this game is as polished as those titles. This is a good one though if you don't have a Wii or Playstation available. Expand
  34. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    I didn't know what to expect when picking up Darksiders, I'd heard things such as "it's Devil May Cry meets Zelda" and after extensive hours of playing that statement is definitely true, however that doesn't make the game unoriginal or stale at all. In fact it combines everything so well that the game feels like a unique experience despite the fact that it barely does anything new. The one-button combat system can be a little frustrating for someone like me where it takes a while to get the rhythm down for different attack moves but once you nail it the combat feels incredibly satisfying. The puzzles aren't too difficult but they do engage you enough so that you actually have to apply some thought which is something that seems to be lacking from most games these days. All in all this is easily one of the best games I've picked up in a while and I'd seriously recommend buying it. Expand
  35. May 1, 2012
    9
    Created by the talented team of Vigil Games and Joe Madueira, Darksiders is a real treat for the senses. The art direction is just superb, the gamedesign well executed, the combat is challenging and satisfying and the main character has just the right amount of "bad ass". The apocalyptic setting is well designed and looks fantastic with its mix of hand painted textures and normal maps, a definite must have. Expand
  36. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This game took me by surprise when I first got it. Zelda mixed with a third person action game what isn't to love? Buying new upgrades for War was a great time as well. The story really well told well always keeping you hooked for the next part. The game also has puzzles mixed in as well which can really test your thinking abilities. The biggest gripe with this game is that it is really easy, almost too easy but playing on the hardest difficulty is when this game shines. No room for mistakes, only success. With the sequel due out soon I can't wait. Truly an amazing franchise. Expand
  37. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Sure is one of the best games of the era. Deep, graphically satisfying, with a length that would put to shame most of the big players. A really good game that deserves its rating. Well, come to think of it it deserves even a bit more. Compared to Mass Effect's (3) more than 90%, it's strange that Darksiders gets ony a 7.7
  38. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    I began playing with pretty bad motivation. I prejudiced this is going to be total crap. After going Darksiders through, gotta admit I was wrong. Especially liked the last quarter of the game. Combat itself is quite simple, but overall it worked least for me. Some puzzles made me pull my hair off, they had quite logical solutions, but couldn't get some of them. Some have referred this to Zelda. Well I'm not big fan of 'em. But Overall this was a positive surprise. Sequel seems to be coming, probably going to least try that too. Have seen better ones, but worse too. Expand
  39. Oct 16, 2010
    3
    This game was far from good. The constant button mashing hurt my hands, the graphics were sub-par, the gameplay was bad, and the story was even worse
  40. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    First of all, I've played games before like Zelda, Prototype, Devil May Cry, etc, and they're all good. Darksiders really surpasses them all though in my point of view. I'm glad that I bought this game because when I started it, it was already great from the beginning. War is such an epic Horseman. He gives his story in this game really well. The length of play is fair. It could be more, but that is not a massive issue about this game. The action, acting, and music are great as well as the graphics in the game. Highly recommended to those people who likes post apocalyptic action games! Expand
  41. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Un buen juego, simplemente entretenido y a veces divertido. No es original en nada. No innova en nada. Un extraño hibrido entre Zelda y God of war, sin llegar a ser tan bueno como ninguno de los dos. Si te apetece jugar una aventura, este es un buen titulo.
  42. May 10, 2011
    10
    Fanboys with the progressive mindset will hate on this game (many, seemingly, without even having played it) just because it doesn't really bring anything revolutionary/new to gamers. And now the big debate seems to surround the comments originally made by a reviewer for IGN, who stated that it's a hybrid of God of War and Zelda. Well here's the deal, folks: this game is Zelda meets Dante's Inferno (or God of War, although I've only played the first installment). Yes, it doesn't bring anything new, but it's classic action-adventure fun. Enjoyed this more than Devil May Cry 4 or Bayonetta, which also seem to draw comparisons to Darksiders, but I found those 2 games to be extremely difficult and not as enjoyable. Yes, there are times where there is screen-tearing but I don't notice it because I don't seek it out to point to as a fault. Any jaggies or visual defects are minor and should, by no means, "ruin your experience" (as one reviewer put it). Play on Apocalyptic mode the first playthrough, IMO, because Easy and Normal are *too* easy. Verdict: If you've read "God of War meets Zelda" and that idea excites you, then play Darksiders. The IGN writer got that comparison spot on, and now that the game is available for $20 brand new, you'll surely find Darksiders to be one of your best value-to-fun ratio purchases that you've had for your Xbox 360. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 86
    Darksiders brings you everything you expect. A beautiful post apocalyptic world combined with excellent audio and a real cool gameplay, deserves nothing less than a high score.
  2. Darksiders looks like the result of a head-on collision between the Zelda and God of War-franchise. But instead of a big mess, both fuse together to form a hybrid with the best elements of both, combined with a great story. The game won’t win any awards for originality, but thanks to its long playtime, strong puzzles and great alteration between elements and scenery we can only conclude that Darksiders is already one of the first great games of 2010.
  3. 75
    At its best, Darksiders plays like an interactive compilation of this console generation's most interesting game mechanics. At its worst, it's like sitting through a mediocre cover band as they fumble their way through your favorite tunes.