Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Block focuses on innovative defensive gameplay in which the few remaining survivors, Jack Foster (a construction worker), Foxy Jones (a traffic warden), and Mike Bacon (a perpetually hungry boy scout) have formed an unlikely alliance to protect themselves from the invading undead.Dead Block focuses on innovative defensive gameplay in which the few remaining survivors, Jack Foster (a construction worker), Foxy Jones (a traffic warden), and Mike Bacon (a perpetually hungry boy scout) have formed an unlikely alliance to protect themselves from the invading undead. Hiding in various shelters around town, they avoid Zombies by building blockades, setting fiendish traps or – as a last resort – using their weapons to fight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 9 out of 20
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    83
    While Dead Block would be a perfect game for online co-operative play, it is sadly limited to split-screen.
  2. Jul 15, 2011
    79
    Dead Block is a fun and fresh proposal, although a bit simple and not very lasting. Hilarious and very fun between friends, it is a good game to enjoy this Summer.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    70
    In many ways this game is like a zombie. It's not too bright, nor does it require much effort to defeat, but it's still fun to toy with every now and then. If you're a zombie aficionado, Dead Block isn't a bad way to kill time while prepping for the next zombie gaming apocalypse. For everyone else, just hunker down and wait.
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    50
    Dead Block is a building defense game with a lot of potential, but ends up being too shallow and repetitive.
  5. Jul 11, 2011
    45
    Dead Block takes a popular genre that thrives on increasingly manic gameplay meant to evoke higher and higher tension levels, and turns it into something dull. It may have had the beginnings of a genuiningly fun game at some concept stage, but the end result is a repetitive game that you'll likely get tired of before it ends.
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    40
    With just a smidgen more subtlety it might have worked, but the cod 1950s B-movie horror shtick is rammed home in CAPITAL LETTERS and SHOUTY VOICES at EVERY OPPORTUNITY to the point where you just want to tell Digital Reality to just PLEASE SHUT UP.
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    20
    Poor graphics, poor sound, and half-hearted game design makes this a tragic clunker. Skip It.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    I don't understand why people hate this game, it's a tower-defense game, with a little humor, and zombies. The characters are good too, myI don't understand why people hate this game, it's a tower-defense game, with a little humor, and zombies. The characters are good too, my favorite was Mike, the fat one, he was the most fun to play with. Oh, so your problem that it keeps getting boring? Well, the game can be done in 2 - 4 hours if you run like an idiot, and not searching for power-ups, and stuffs. I think you need to play 2 - 3 levels/day, and you won't think it's boring. (I've bought it yesterday, played it 4 hours already, and I'm only done with the first 4 levels on Normal difficulty.) The price is very good, I saw pretty crappy XBLA games for 1200 MS point. Anyways, I like this game, if you don't know you will like it, or not, just try out the demo. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Especially in co-op mode. Just love the unique humor of the game. The music is not my style but matches with the game.Absolutely amazing! Especially in co-op mode. Just love the unique humor of the game. The music is not my style but matches with the game. Wanna Rock tha Zombies!!! The traps are amazing, wondering what developers took to find these out. Gr8 stuff!!! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    It's fun and unique take on tower defense. At least I was having fun with it. I can see how people might hate it, but I suggest giving it aIt's fun and unique take on tower defense. At least I was having fun with it. I can see how people might hate it, but I suggest giving it a chance because this could be a love it or hate it type of game. At the end of the day, it's fun, and that's all that matters from any game. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2011
    8
    I play alot of Zombie games(Dead Rising being my favorite), so i thought i would check this out, i am glad i did. Its a Zombie defense game,I play alot of Zombie games(Dead Rising being my favorite), so i thought i would check this out, i am glad i did. Its a Zombie defense game, not really a tower defense though, more like a barricade survival game and thats where the charm comes it, there is nothing really like it in the Zombie Genre. Its really fun barricading windows, and putting up traps to keep the zombies at bay. The single player is pretty good, but gets somewhat repetitive, but the game really shines in mutiplayer. Barricading and trapping are super fun when you have 2 or 3 friends along side you. There is no online co-op, but i think thats ok, at least for me. The other problem is that there are only 3 characters, so 2 people in co-op will have to be the same character for 4 player. I think a Rockabilly character would have fit in with the whole 50's style it has going for it.....also the song 1999 Hot by Vampyre State Building, the main theme of the game is awesome. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    As a single-player game it's a little repetitive, but 4 player local co-op? Simply fantastic, especially with the difficulty turned up. TheAs a single-player game it's a little repetitive, but 4 player local co-op? Simply fantastic, especially with the difficulty turned up. The characters are pretty distinctive skill-wise, and let me give you the biggest recommendation of all: my wife and my brother's girlfriend absolutely love it and beg us to play it, and they are both barely-gamers who almost never play anything that involves moving the camera in a 3D space. I can see why critics reviewing it as a solitary tower defense game wouldn't like it, but 4 friends on a couch, and it's east-to-learn-hard-to-master nature make it a perfect party game. Highly recommended. Collapse
  6. Jul 11, 2011
    5
    This game is tower defense meets nazi zombies. The game is overall a good game, but once you master the melee mechanics the game becomes farThis game is tower defense meets nazi zombies. The game is overall a good game, but once you master the melee mechanics the game becomes far to easy. By the 3rd mission I rarely even used traps and just decided to melee groups of zombies on the hardest setting. The lack of Online multiplayer is also another hit to this game, had this game had some online multiplayer and harder settings it would have been a gem. Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2011
    0
    I bought this game. It was horrible. Storyline makes no sense. It is one of the weakest tower defense games out there. There is no onlineI bought this game. It was horrible. Storyline makes no sense. It is one of the weakest tower defense games out there. There is no online play? I would spend money on Plants versus Zombies, South Park instead or better yet wait for Dungeon Defenders which I think is supposed to be really good. I would not spend money on this game. Graphics were also average and the fat kid seems cool at first but becomes really annoying the more you play. I wish I could get my money back even though it is only $10. I'd rather take it and buy some pizza instead. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews