User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    If you enjoyed the original Dead Island you will enjoy this one too.

    If you didn't like the original Dead Island you won't like this one either.

    The End
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    In no way is this game a masterpiece, but it's still fun. People are too harsh on this game. People need to quit using games like skyrim and black ops as standards for other games in their genres.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if you liked the first one, you're really going to like the second one. The story, and voice acting aren't incredible, but given the zombie slaying action, I could really care less. After all, it's a game, not an action movie. I love that you can target specific limbs during combat. You can beak a zombies arms so they can't grapple with you anymore. This game is great Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    People need to understand a few things about this game. Was it meant for story? No. Was it meant for sound design? No. Was it meant to be a blockbuster to get all the press and millions of fans for the series? No. This game was meant to be played. Not drooled over, not get die hard fans, or the press's panties wet. The game lies where it was meant to be in more important aspects. The environment od a gorgeous island, the weapons that are plentiful, the scavenging of items to sell or give for EXP, the crafting to make the weapons badass and useful, the slaying of zombies by the thousands, and playing with friends to around and enjoy themselves.

    People, you need to look at the finer things, because if you look in the wrong direction it will lead you to an area that has no value or expression, but look the other way and you can find the possibilities and value. But the only value will be the time you enjoyed. Now... would you want to go on the good path or the bad path?
    Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    9
    More of the same which isn't a bad thing. Graphics are still good, killing zombies never gets old, and roaming the island at your own leisure is still a blast. This time around there is a new character who joins the original four from the first game. New weapons, mods, and zombies are in riptide which if you havent played the original should definitely pick this one up first because riptide has wayy more content. New mechanics like a quasi tower defense mechanic have you fortifying bases with gates and help the survivors rid the undead. overall this game is for better or worse the same as the original but with more content, a new island, character, weapons, etc. I loved the first game which means i loved this one as well and you will too as long as you enjoyed the first one if not you probablly wont enjoy this at all, but newcomers to the series should definitely play this version. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    0
    Even worse than the first game.I don't really understand how that's possible.Combat mechanics are even more broken than before,and how about that 2 second rain glitch?Funny stuff.Besides the poor visuals and sound design,and the laughable combat,the voice work is the worst I've heard in some time,probably since the last Dead Island actually.If I was the developers,I'd be embarrassed to release this half-finished(at best) abomination,and would strike it from my resume.I don't care about time constraints,budgets and development problems,this game is not nearly finished enough and I almost binned it instead of returning it.Pathetic...Congratulations on receiving my first zero. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    I loved the first Dead Island, so if you loved the first one you will love this one, more of the same with some extra weapons, alot of different weapons. it makes no sense that the first dead Island got an 80 overall on metacritic, but so far this one has a 60 overall? what the hell? Riptide has better graphics and better gameplay, so how is it getting reviewed like this? There are some glitches here and there, but I'm sure they will get fixed with the next patch. Great game that's worth your money, that's another thing, it's only $50 Expand
  8. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Great game,Is not a DLC cause it has a lot of stuff on it if this was a DLC would be a $40 DLC ,mechanics are great as always,F.o.V totally sucks,weapons and skills are great btw i got this game 6 days ago,my brother works for Deep Silver and I was not on the Official Beta but I was able to provide feedback,great game no more to say only 9 cause F.o.V sucks
  9. May 1, 2013
    2
    This game is bad in so many ways... and to try and explain them away by saying it's not intended to be a good story or the best shooter is ridiculous. Here's some reason why it's awful: - Way too similar to the first one - Graphics so jittery it gives you motion sickness with the water effects - No real changes to combat just a few new weapons - All missions the same - Glitchy to the moon... You'll see zombies fall through things to outright missing physical hits practically point blank with weapons. On one mission I was trying to find the last few assaulting enemies and the dots would spread away every time I headed toward them. Eventually I realized they were stuck on a roof and I had to run outside of the safe zone to get them to drop and attach so I could finish them off

    I played this all the way through anyway to see if anything at all was nifty about it and the only real cool part (IMO) was the ending fight with the last boss. Other than that it was pretty cruddy all the way through and I had no interest it trying to get all the acheivements.

    Since none of my friends kept it (used return policy at EB to get rid of it pretty much full price right away) I can't comment on the multiplayer part of it but I would never go back to it to bother anyway.

    The first one was worth a shot and had a bad story but still made a fun time. This one makes me head for gravol. Avoid and if Grandma gets it for you for your birthday avoid her too.
    Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    After playing Dead Island Riptide for the first two hours... I can already say it is a regretted purchase. It is a rare occasion when a sequel title to an extremely successful game not only fails to correct any shortcomings to the original, but actually surpasses the number by adding even more to the mix. Combat has been tinkered into a new formula seeming to rely more on aim and less on random numbers. Aside from this, expect little to no further originality to gameplay except 4 additional points in the skill tree (to which affects are hardly mentionable), a weapon type leveling system, and two harshly clunky mechanics; one of which is activated by using the same button that is used to loot (a brilliant idea which makes for some hilariously interesting attempts at looting something and inversely sending your character auto-lock careening after an unforeseen foe... Which also usually results in your character snagging on to some clingy graphic edges, and subsequently "stunning" them midair as they attempt to hover back to the ground, inches below their feet). Cut scenes, so far, have also seen slim to non on improvements as well. Audio misques are still normal, and at some points, characters even interrupt each other, predicting the other characters lines and start talking over them. All in all, I suppose if you didn't get enough of the first one, you will enjoy this game, but in a genre where others are running with this similar idea and being wildly successful at delivering fun and original content, I'm looking at you Borderlands 2, this game sadly falls short of expectations. I will still play through it, for the sake of playing a game with my brother and potentially having a good time (the formula isn't so monotonous yet that it's tedious, however it might be by the time I finish). Overall, it just feels like a beta phase testing release. There is still so much work to be done on this game, and it is so painfully obvious, there is no way they couldn't have known; the creators just got lazy for the sake of pushing a potentially great sequel through the pipelines before it was ready.

    Oh, one last final note... I stand corrected, driving a car feels much more enjoyable in Riptide... However this is not because they improved upon the horrible handle controls reminiscent of a hover boat. It is more due to the fact that mowing down hordes of zombies actually grants a successful kill MOST of the time... Rather than reversing and driving back and fourth over the same zombie 20 times to secure the kill.
    Expand
  11. Apr 23, 2013
    4
    this game should have never been sold as a new game, this is an DLC being sold at full blown price disguised as a whole new game, but new? this is a copy paste of the previous game, bugs and glitches that we all hated are back, the story was never great but was ok on the fist game but on this one story well...... theres barely nothing to hold on. no innovation, technically plagues by issues, dull and two steps backwards from the first game. my advice, buy the FIRST GAME, its cheap by now and better!! Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Let's just get it out of the way of why critics hate these games, t hey are pretty repetitive in some aspects, but honestly I don't mind it.
    The graphics and gore aspect remains cool and fun from the original game.
    The only issue i have is that the first level is the same exact island, with like very little detail changed except that it's flooded now and your headed to some new area (I'm
    still playing it so i'm not 100% sure where i'm headed.. Started with an H I believe, I apologize.)
    I don't see much changes in weapons yet except the nailgun (which is hilarious), since i'm not too far.
    My score will fluctuate as I progress, either increase or decrease. as of right now I'm giving the coop experience a 7, i haven't had any problems with the online features.
    Expand
  13. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Poorly optimized for consoles, micro stuttering, lag, slow downs, bugs, game breaking glitches, unbalanced characters and skills, too much camera sway to give someone a headache, slow sluggish movements, rigid collision meshes means getting stuck on simple planks of wood or small steps and areas that should feel smooth not stop you every 3 seconds from running, combat is sluggish and unresponsive, coop players cant run through each other so players get blocked and stuck then killed, outdated visuals and graphics, story and voice acting is terrible, same with the 3d models and animations the only thing that makes this game fake a good look is the post process effects...the list can go on further.

    This is a pure example of developers not caring about QA of a game and for the time it took to make...not even a full game, this is complete garbage and indy developers put dev's like this to shame.

    for those reasons above, I'm sure you would also give this game a 1...and that's being generous.
    Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    I really had fun with the first game and I completed it to 100%. The thing is, Riptide is just a crappy version of the original. Game is a buggy mess that runs and looks worse than the first game. I just dont have the time or patience to waist on this mess.
  15. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    This game is fun, just like the original. and people don't see that, It's the fun in video games, where it mostly on depends, and in the case of Dead island: Riptide, that certainly is true.
  16. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    I love this game. It has everything that made the first game great and fixed several of the inconsistencies and polished the entire thing up. This is a VERY hit or miss game though. You will either love it or hate it.
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Something very important is missing from this sequel; the setting of the first game. The Resort setting in the first game led to a great adventure. It made Dead Island stand out from other 'Zombie' games. There were other areas to explore in the game too but the Resort stood out. Riptide is missing that great set piece. Now you're on a random island that lacks any unique setting. When you take away that fun and unique set piece, you're left with an okay zombie killing game full of fetch quests on a largely uninhabited island. Expand
  18. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. yo recomiendo este juego, no les den importancia alas malas calificaciones que le ponen, en verdad esta buenisimo. ofrece muchas horas de diversion. bueno yo le puse 10 de calificacion para justificar las malas calificaciones que le ponen los demas usuarios, pero en realidad merece un 90, tiene nuevas mejoras de bugs que tenia el anterior. Expand
  19. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Just like Dead Island, this game is a lot of fun to play and gets better with friends, But Just like Dead Island it's also plagued with little annoying issues, Like the scarily low FoV, Causes some serious motion sickness unless i'm playing on my 42" in my living room, Sitting at my desk I get really disorientated playing this, when will developers realize it's not just PC gamers that need a fov slider, ironically Dead Island Riptide doesn't have one on PC either, So it's a fail all round in that regard. As for the game, there isn't much new from the original, there's some new mods, new weapons and a new class, But it feels like your starting this game half way through, kinda means you need to play the first one to get all the benefits of this, So it's difficult, I wouldn't recommend this to new users, Get Dead Island 1 First, it's a great game, Then wait for this to be about 10 Pounds, as it's exactly the same features wise, Apart from a touched up HUD, nothing is really new with the engine, The zombies can still hit through most of your moves and knock you over REALLY easily, Weapons still cost $30000 to repair and get damaged WAY to quickly, but despite all this, I am really enjoying it, It is a good solid game, if you liked Dead Island, Get this, you will be satisfied! Expand
  20. Jun 23, 2013
    3
    I am just disappointed with this one. The reason I give this game such a low score is because it is the SAME EXACT THING AS THE FIRST. Almost nothing changes with this game, Its almost even the same plot, the first games plot: stuck on an island, trying to get off. Second games plot: stuck on an island, trying to get off. There is nothing new with the combat either except for different variety in weapon upgrades. All they added was a new character and this rage mode where your attacks are stronger and faster. Also the game just feels depressing overall with some gloomy music in the background, and you know how long games are good, playing this made me wish it was over with, and it went on for such a long time that it annoyed the out of me. I just don't like this game, way too similar to the first game, should of been some kind of expensive DLC. Expand
  21. May 27, 2013
    6
    I can say I've thoroughly enjoyed this game after playing it for 3 days without changing game, however it is really only a fixed version of the original. Sure there is changing weather but really the environment hasn't changed, it runs smoother but I don't see many changes really. My advice: if you enjoyed the first one, this is for you!
  22. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    Not to sound like a broken record buuut, if you liked the original, you'll like this. And hey, next to The Walking Dead Survival Instinct, this looks brilliant.
  23. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    Like the old sayings goes, if it ain't broke then don't fix. To me the first one was great, realllllly great. Sure It had its moments with glitches but what game does not. All in all, if you liked the first one then this one will be what you are expecting with some new weapons and new zombies thrown into the mix. If you did not like the first one then you won't like the second one either.

    Sure it does feel like a big expansion but at least it is marketed at $49.99 only.
    Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Ok first off I have to say I now prefer this and left 4 dead over how resident evil is nowadays as a zombie game.
    The bad reviews are laughable and I hate it when people talk down good games for no reason.
    I admit that there can be improvements (hence the 8/10 I'm scoring it) but just simple things like voice acting/a more in-depth story however with that said its the same as the first
    (gameplay wise) so people who enjoyed the first and say they hate this I can't understand, I actually think that the graphics are good!
    Yeah it's no MGS4 graphics but its no bubsy 3D either.
    I think the first part of the game looks worse graphically (mission that lasts 10 minutes) and then it's good again.
    People who call this DLC are just being stupid its a whole new island not just an add on!!!

    Please don't be swayed by the fools and just try it if you like the first, no I don't work for deep silver before any moron claims that either just don't let people make you doubt your own opinion.

    Like someone else said, like the first then get it if not then don't.
    Expand
  25. May 29, 2013
    4
    I don't understand why publisher's these days get to keep releasing games for $50-60 and they're not done, polished or QCd. After playing this game for a few minutes the sound completely dropped out. Dashboarding helped that problem, but when my friend who was playing had the same thing happen at the same point that seems to be a glaring problem. Also zombies respawn in thin air, if you're fighting in the water the game slows down to a crawl and I could go on and on. Expand
  26. May 6, 2013
    7
    Dead Island Riptide is a mixed bag; this sequel has glossy new graphics and plenty of fun gore with great new mods on weapons and improvements on combat including slightly less annoying depth problems. But this new instalment has a dull story less interesting than its predecessor and has plenty of bugs and glitches. If there is a new Dead Island game, I think that they should equally focus on improving the story as well as gameplay since interviews with the game's creators revolving this instalment implied that they were focusing more on gameplay in this instalment. Take it this way; Dead Island Riptide technically improved version of more of the same, but it is narratively weak. In other words; if you liked the first you will like this, if you hated the first, you will hate this. Expand
  27. Jun 15, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only two zones to explore this time also no sewer systems. The Devs couldn't figure how to make the game better so they just made it harder in a ham fisted way. Prepare to be spammed at the start by faster stronger zombies in larger groups. Personally I found the most dangerous Zombie in the game was not a special type but a low level type who could hurl a knife and get a instant kill no matter how high you levelled up WTF!? Their are special events that occur in the game which you can tell are designed for online MP teams. I SP these type of games and I found those events to be a boring frustrating grind.

    The first game felt like an epic SP adventure with optional MP. The second game is more geared to co-op and plays like a DLC that's been bloated up so it can be released seemingly at a full price. Rip Tide, nawh more like RIp Off,
    Expand
  28. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    A continuation of the first dead island, anyone who loved that game will find more enjoyment here. There are some changes and new things but nothing of major note. It is still a solid zombie rpg
  29. Aug 6, 2014
    6
    This game is definitely not a DLC to the original dead island. It is a copy/paste game which is long enough to be called as a standalone game (more than 10 hours for me) if you want to finish all the quests and collect everything. The story and game setting , however, is even dumber than the original game. Although I enjoyed the gameplay, I despise deep silver to release such a "zero effort" game as a retail game. Expand
  30. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Well this game is alot better than the last one the weapons last alot longer which i like and the island is much better too and the weapons have improved alot.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. May 30, 2013
    59
    Serviceable co-op romp which goes out of its way to irritate. [July 2013, p.72]
  2. May 29, 2013
    65
    The combat and weapons are fun and the levelling systems keep things interesting and give an air of replayability to the title if your Xbox is starting to get a little dusty. If we see a third instalment though, the game needs to step up a little to keep up with the competition.
  3. May 24, 2013
    50
    Dead Island: Riptide is an unnecessary addition to the franchise and it has nothing to offer when compared to the first title of the series. Two years was a long time for a company like Techland to improve upon the experience of Dead Island, but nothing was done about it.