Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island Riptide brings us to the island of Palanai on the Banoi archipelago, infested with bloodthirsty Zombies and only a few remaining Survivors still clinging to their lives. Introducing new terrifying enemies, deadly weapons, a new playable character, inter alia, Dead Island Riptide draws players back into a world that has grown corrupt - with the last vestiges of hope vanishing in rising tides. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Despite its propensity for insignificant plot points, I can’t wait to play Dead Island Riptide again. I’ll return for the desperate bid for survival, and stay for the stories that emerge as a result.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    More of the same is literally what Dead Island: Riptide has to offer. The original's strengths and weaknesses return unchanged but inside a wider open world that greatly increases exploration, quests and things to do. It's still very enjoyable, especially in multiplayer, but the original's sense of freshness is almost lost.
  3. May 3, 2013
    70
    There’s no reason at all to play it alone, but if you can round up a consistent crew to run through the game together, it’s well worth the price of admission.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    It’s a shame that Riptide couldn’t have been a bit more given how much opportunity there was here for improvement, but as it stands, it’s basically the same flawed game we got nearly two years ago — for better or for worse.
  5. May 1, 2013
    55
    This sequel feels like a huge expansion. The game doesn't really offer anything new apart from a few new zombies and weapons. It has a lot of bugs and suffers from frame drops when things get busy.
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    50
    You're only a few minutes into this, before you realize that "more of the same" was all they aimed to achieve with Riptide. The devs didn't seem to care about anything else, not even ironing out all the kinks of the original game. There will be people who think this was enough, as the basic lot of zombie killing and looting is still intact. In a week where Capcom gives us a Dark Arisen that encompasses all of the original game – Dragon's Dogma – for a much, much lower asking price, you really can't help but feel like someone's having a laugh at your expense.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    30
    Even ignoring all those failings – something at which Dead Island fans will have had plenty of practice – Riptide’s biggest flaw is that it never justifies its existence in terms of plot or new ideas. It’s not simply yesterday’s game, but a time capsule from 2011, a time when zombies weren’t as overplayed and games such as Far Cry 3 and Borderlands 2 weren’t around to cast their long shadows over the action.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 69
  2. Negative: 13 out of 69
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if you liked the first one, you're really going to like the second one. The story, and voice acting aren't incredible, but given the zombie slaying action, I could really care less. After all, it's a game, not an action movie. I love that you can target specific limbs during combat. You can beak a zombies arms so they can't grapple with you anymore. This game is great Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. I have no idea why people are judging this game so harshly. First of all, if you love killing zombies, you'll love this game. If you liked the first Dead Island, you'll like this one as well. I played the first one, and I have to say this game met most of my expectations. I'm 24 hours into the game, and have completed 62% of it.

    There are new weapons and mods, although not as many. s I would have liked. Of course every game can use more weapons, right? However, the amount and variety of weapons was satisfactory (7/10). One new feature they added, was the ability to lvl. up your skill in each weapon class (bladed, blunt, fist, firearms) based on how much you use weapons in that class. With each skill lvl you gained, you also gained a benefit for that class of weapon, such as extra dmg. or crit. (8/10)

    Some of the new weapons include mines of different sorts, along with throwable bombs and knives, harpoon and stun guns, a few new melee weapons, and some unique weapons. Some new mods include AoE attacks amongst a few other mods. Like I said earlier, every game can use more weapons. But they did implement some new ones. (7/10)

    Combat is much of the same, but each character has their own unique fury weapon they use when you go into fury mode. Skill trees are different, but not as choice oriented as I would have liked them to be. Like the first game, you eventually fill up all the trees. So the only real choice presented regarding skills trees is what you would like to be proficient at early on in the game. (6/10)

    Graphics are much better than in the first game. Yes, there are some gliches, one of them being a very rapid change from clear weather to rain in the blink of an eye. But being a game this size, graphical gliches should be expected. (Just look at skyrim.) Combat is smooth, except for when you skull stomp a zombie underwater, the game suddenly slows down for a couple seconds, then resumes as normal. It's nothing that's awfully inconveinient, and it's not going to cause the game to crash. More than likely, these issues will be fixed next patch. (8/10)

    Continuing on combat, you can also get assisted targeting for limbs, which is a nice addition. I don't know why people are saying combat is slow. To me, it's realistic and you can "feel" weight behind the weapons. It's not like Halo where the rocket launcher is as manuverable as the pistol. Weapons swing at different speeds and have different effects based on if they are one or two handed or bladed or blunt. I think combat for as far as weapon "feel" is top notch. However, I wish there were more moves you could have via button combinations or unlocked via skill tree. Which in turn could be improved by larger, more expansive skill trees. (9/10)

    Voice acting and voice animations were mediocre. Sometimes the voice animations were slightly off. However, most of the script was good. Given the setting, most of the script seemed to be appropriate. (7/10) Maybe it's just me, but i find the story much more interesting than in the first one. You are with a larger group of survivors, and some are at odds with each other, which makes things interesting. (7/10)

    One feature I thought was a great addition was zombie "dungeons". Some of which you're required to go into for certain quests. They have special zombies inside with unique names, not to mention a horde of zombies with enhanced and rare loot laying around. There are a multitude of these "dungeons" throughout the game, but they are somewhat small, usually only 2-6 rooms. Great new feature. (9/10)

    Maps are decent, with changing environments in different areas. You change areas a few times, but there are only 2-3 sizable areas that really make you explore. You become familiar with them, enough to know your way around just like the first game. Graphics are great for environments. (8/10)

    Aside from me wanting "more of everything" from this game, it did meet my expectations. It is a Dead Island game. I'm not sure what else people expected. It's definifely better than the first one, but only marginally so. Still a great game, not perfect, but it's worth buying for 50 bucks, and definitely worth renting if you're not much into zombie killing. For zombie killing fans, it's a must have. If that's not your thing, you'll probably get bored after a few hours of play. I've enjoyed every second of the 24 hours I've played. They could have done a few things better (more weapons, bigger skill tree, more combat moves, bigger maps, better voice acting/animations), but almost every game can improve on those catagories in some way. To me, it's very fun, very replayable, and well worth the money.
    Collapse
  3. May 2, 2013
    9
    More of the same which isn't a bad thing. Graphics are still good, killing zombies never gets old, and roaming the island at your own leisure is still a blast. This time around there is a new character who joins the original four from the first game. New weapons, mods, and zombies are in riptide which if you havent played the original should definitely pick this one up first because riptide has wayy more content. New mechanics like a quasi tower defense mechanic have you fortifying bases with gates and help the survivors rid the undead. overall this game is for better or worse the same as the original but with more content, a new island, character, weapons, etc. I loved the first game which means i loved this one as well and you will too as long as you enjoyed the first one if not you probablly wont enjoy this at all, but newcomers to the series should definitely play this version. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Ok first off I have to say I now prefer this and left 4 dead over how resident evil is nowadays as a zombie game.
    The bad reviews are
    laughable and I hate it when people talk down good games for no reason.
    I admit that there can be improvements (hence the 8/10 I'm scoring it) but just simple things like voice acting/a more in-depth story however with that said its the same as the first (gameplay wise) so people who enjoyed the first and say they hate this I can't understand, I actually think that the graphics are good!
    Yeah it's no MGS4 graphics but its no bubsy 3D either.
    I think the first part of the game looks worse graphically (mission that lasts 10 minutes) and then it's good again.
    People who call this DLC are just being stupid its a whole new island not just an add on!!!

    Please don't be swayed by the fools and just try it if you like the first, no I don't work for deep silver before any moron claims that either just don't let people make you doubt your own opinion.

    Like someone else said, like the first then get it if not then don't.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Is a vicious game but has a lot of bugs, is repetitive
    The game is fun if played with friends but is a game to play one time and its over

    But waiting for Dead Island 2
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    It would have been a better score if they added new scenerys but this time its only the island and the city.

    While the first had THREE huge
    open areas to explore the island, city and jungle. Plus all the small areas like supermarket, police station, prison etc.

    so Riptide is less than half the size of Dead Island 1 and so its a fair 6/10. Its not a bad game (1/10) but its pretty LAME to be honest (i would give it a better score if i would receive advertisement-money from them as all the other reviewers).

    Hope I could help you with your decision if you should cancel your pre-order or not. If you liked the first and love to get ripped off with the same engine but less content, you need to buy this TODAY.
    Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    This is almost too awful. I am bewildered with this high rating this has received. Dead Island was a half ass game with many bugs and an awful story, but it was filled with enough action to make it a kinda game. I wanna ask what they were thinking when they were beginning for part two. I didn't buy Riptide for a couple months because I wasn't interested and I had other games to play, but eventually I got to it. I played this with a friend and it still was god awful. With all the bugs and animations in the world in this one game, you could tell I wasn't having fun. Plus most of the action was gone. Now the zombies seem like more of a distraction from getting a f***ing boat engine. Basically no new or unique weapons and we get a s****y map compared to an alright one in the original. This game must have taken a week to make because I see no effort here. I have never given a 0 before but this game takes the cake for worst game of 2013 so far. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews