Dead Island Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 632 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    If you like Zombies this is the game to get, yes it does have a lot of flaws but it's still one of the most fun Zombie games I've ever played, and isn't how fun the game is that matters? sure you could complain that it has some bugs and could use polish in several areas, but when you only focus on the negative you'll never realize how fun this game is, it play like a mix of Left 4 Dead andIf you like Zombies this is the game to get, yes it does have a lot of flaws but it's still one of the most fun Zombie games I've ever played, and isn't how fun the game is that matters? sure you could complain that it has some bugs and could use polish in several areas, but when you only focus on the negative you'll never realize how fun this game is, it play like a mix of Left 4 Dead and Borderlands with a touch of Fallout 3 and Dead rising 2, so in other words it's a lot of fun, tons of quests, fantastic co-op multiplayer, and the ability to play through it again with your leveled up character means this game could keep you busy for possibly hundreds of hours, my only real complaints are that the story and cutscenes are not very interesting, and the four main characters you have to choose from all come across as selfish, unlikable jerks, and it could use a better save system, one like Fallout 3's would be nice, but even with it's flaws this is still a fantastic game that I can recommend to any and all gamers and Zombie lovers. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Thanks in large part to the misleading trailer released a few months before the games arrival Dead Island has come in for a lot of criticism. Leading gamers to believe that it was going to aim for a more mature and emotional narrative than other games in the genre it becomes apparent with five minutes of actually playing it that this is simply not the case. In typical unimaginative videoThanks in large part to the misleading trailer released a few months before the games arrival Dead Island has come in for a lot of criticism. Leading gamers to believe that it was going to aim for a more mature and emotional narrative than other games in the genre it becomes apparent with five minutes of actually playing it that this is simply not the case. In typical unimaginative video game style virtually every mission is little more than a glorified fetch quest, most of which are set up by poorly scripted cut-scenes, and even more disappointingly the overall plot involves little more than trying to escape from the titular Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    Good graphics, good combat, beautiful environment to explore. Yet. it really lacks in terms of narrative. As a survival horror it actually works quite well. But it really is a series of hubs, loaded with pointless fetch quests. A real shame that it did not live up to the emotional depth of the trailer. Overall: It is well worth a go simply for the visuals alone. But don't expect too muchGood graphics, good combat, beautiful environment to explore. Yet. it really lacks in terms of narrative. As a survival horror it actually works quite well. But it really is a series of hubs, loaded with pointless fetch quests. A real shame that it did not live up to the emotional depth of the trailer. Overall: It is well worth a go simply for the visuals alone. But don't expect too much in terms of depth and meaning in this game. Just another mindless action horror that just does not live up to its potential. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2016
    7
    Lacking the emotional punch of the game's announcement trailer, as well as succumbing to zombie game cliches and clunky controls, Dead Island is a disappointment. However, the game serves as relatively fun, albeit disposable entertainment, even though it should have been greater.
  5. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game more than I thought I would. First of all, if anyone thinks this is just a Left 4 Dead clone, then know that there's a bit more emphasis put on the single-player and you aren't forced to play what amounts to a multiplayer only game like L4D. However it is similar to L4D enough that if you liked that game, then you will like this one. If nothing else this will sate yourI enjoyed this game more than I thought I would. First of all, if anyone thinks this is just a Left 4 Dead clone, then know that there's a bit more emphasis put on the single-player and you aren't forced to play what amounts to a multiplayer only game like L4D. However it is similar to L4D enough that if you liked that game, then you will like this one. If nothing else this will sate your need for a new zombie game and the open-endedness is kinda refreshing for this type of game. Especially now that the price has dropped, if you were thinking about taking a chance on this game, go ahead and do it. You should enjoy what it has to offer you. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    Dead Island is an extremely addictive and fun cooperative game. While the story is weak, the gameplay is fun for the most part, containing some glitches here and there. This is definitely a zombie game to play.
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    3
    This game is so bad. I wanted to like this but it's so broken , treble graphics, coop is so bad and it took them 5 1/2 years to make it. It should never come to the stores.
  8. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    Dead Island is not a perfect game, but you don't expect that coming into the game for the first time. I looked at the cover art, and expected it to be a pile of crap. However, it was actually a relatively good game, with an ok story, good controls, ok characters, ok graphics and good gameplay.
  9. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Dead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game thatDead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game that shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as those titles. Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game, first and foremost. It's an original spin on the zombie outbrake. The combat system in this is very different, and can put a lot of people off. The most fun in this game is playing it with people, that's when I think the best comes out of this game. Average in parts but overall I enjoyed it!
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Good game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill allGood game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill all zombies/collect all goodies without their teammates.
    A second playthrough may give some further depth to this game and perhaps the upcoming DLC will show something different but either way this is recommended for anybody who enjoys basing zombies to pieces.
    Expand
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    I loved playing dead island, it got me playing non-stop for hours on end, being able to smash those zombies into pieces with my weapon was really damn fun, the character animation (cinematics) weren't too bad, and neither was the voice acting, but they weren't exactly top notch. I liked the character interface and the fact that I could choose what weapons I could use and what skills toI loved playing dead island, it got me playing non-stop for hours on end, being able to smash those zombies into pieces with my weapon was really damn fun, the character animation (cinematics) weren't too bad, and neither was the voice acting, but they weren't exactly top notch. I liked the character interface and the fact that I could choose what weapons I could use and what skills to use, its a great game to play with friends and on your own too. Overall, I really liked it and would recommend it. Expand
  13. May 8, 2012
    10
    This game is pure genius!In the end after you analyze this game in every way,put in over 30 hours,you realize that other zombie games are in the dark ages compared to this game.Left 4 dead 2 and Dead Rising:Off the record are the #2 and 3 next best zombie games ever, but this game trumps it,Ace of spades style!10
  14. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    this game where do i begin. i am a huge fan of this game ive played it for a total of 50 hours and still trying to unlock everything and max my level. this is one of the funnest zombie games ive ever played. the graphics, gameplay, openworld, etc are all awesome and beautifully designed. the gunplay is a bit unbalanced as some guns look stronger than they really are and the human enemiesthis game where do i begin. i am a huge fan of this game ive played it for a total of 50 hours and still trying to unlock everything and max my level. this is one of the funnest zombie games ive ever played. the graphics, gameplay, openworld, etc are all awesome and beautifully designed. the gunplay is a bit unbalanced as some guns look stronger than they really are and the human enemies are few and not really smart, but these are minor complaints of a game that is truly unique and fun as hell. if you like zombie games, openworld rpgs, skyrim, you definitely need to play this! Expand
  15. May 30, 2013
    6
    Dead Island falls a little above average, but not by much. The trailer showed us an epic-packed survival horror adventure, but turned into a zombie rpg. Now, there isn't anything wrong with that, it's just the trailer was misleading. Looking at the game as a whole, it's not nearly as exciting as I hoped. The story might've been interesting if the characters had any characters at all. MyDead Island falls a little above average, but not by much. The trailer showed us an epic-packed survival horror adventure, but turned into a zombie rpg. Now, there isn't anything wrong with that, it's just the trailer was misleading. Looking at the game as a whole, it's not nearly as exciting as I hoped. The story might've been interesting if the characters had any characters at all. My problem is if you don't have characters we can connect to or like, it won't matter how good your story is because we don't care about them. Beyond poor character development, it is just an average rpg with zombies thrown in the mix. Sure, it has co-op, which I am a fan of, but if a game is only fun in co-op, then that just comes off (to me at least) as an excuse not to make the single player nearly as exciting. Overall, you might want to check it out, but I'd recommend you get yourself a discount on this game. Expand
  16. May 10, 2013
    7
    As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game,As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game, it is a total failure. Most of the quests are ridiculous and pointless, all the characters have no depth, the story is crap and the ending is lame. Expand
  17. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I want to start by saying that this is an easy 8/10 game at least. In my opinion,this is THE most definitive Zombie game ever made,& by far best does the iconic Zombie justice,better than any other game to date,bar none,& does exactly what it says on the tin.The game does have alot of bugs & glitches at launch though,it has to be said,which is unecceptable.I'm sure they'll be fixed,butI want to start by saying that this is an easy 8/10 game at least. In my opinion,this is THE most definitive Zombie game ever made,& by far best does the iconic Zombie justice,better than any other game to date,bar none,& does exactly what it says on the tin.The game does have alot of bugs & glitches at launch though,it has to be said,which is unecceptable.I'm sure they'll be fixed,but thats not the point.Also,to get one more thing out out of the way.Enough of the complaining that the game is not like the 'CGI' trailer!.. Honestly,what game IS like their CGI trailer? But i dont hear complaints about them. I'm not sure what kind of game some where expecting due to this trailer,but as the trailer suggested,this game is about a Zombie outbreak on an Island Resort.Moving on though,the game itself is great fun to play.Not sure why people have criticised the graphics,they are as good,if not better than just about every other free roaming game out there.The frame rate is solid,with no noticable slowdown & sound is great,with those Zombie growls causing tension,especially when they're chasing you.
    Where this game excels though,& what sets it apart from any other Zombie game,is the combat,& the pace of it.I never really got on with Left4Dead,because the pacing was too fast,meaning there was no tension,& it was all about 'pray N spray' shooting,mowing down Zombies sprinting at you.Thats not a proper Zombie game as far as i'm concerned.I much prefer Dead Rising(Moreso No2)myself.It was closer to that Zombie game i always wanted,with its slower pace,& 'Proper' slower Zombies,with much more emphisis on melee weapons.Still wasnt my ideal Zombie game though,due to its slightly zaney & cartoony violence,& the humour with things you could wear,& the music.
    No,Dead Island is the real deal! It is LITERALLY that Zombie game i always wanted.The Zombie,as an enemy,is treated with respect,& is a genuine threat if taken lightly in this game.In fact with the excellent combat mechanics in this game,every Zombie is kind of a fight in its own right.When taking on a Zombie,you have to go in,get in a hit or two,then get out before it hits you back,or get it to swing at you first,THEN attack.Theres more to it than that though,as you can target anywhere on the Zombies limbs or body,by having your crosshair on that part when you attack(its easier than it sounds),Which gives you options in every single fight you have.Do you go for a tricky head blow,to take the enemy out quickly,or try to break or sever(depending on wether your carrying a blunt or edged weapon respectively)an arm to make their attacks less effective,or legs to slow them down? Or risk kicking them to the floor to pound them while they try to get up.Kick them into some water,or off the edge if there is one.The choice is yours,depending on your circumstances,like how many enemies you are taking on.Running is also a very real option if things get too hot,or your heath low.Now if all that sounds very cool,then believe me,it is.The Zombies visually show damage where your hitting them too,which is awesome,especially when you've cut a limb off,or you've broken it,& their limb flopping about,rendered impotent.Guns do come into the game later on too,so if you like shooting your Zombies too,you can,though its not the focus of this game.
    This is a BIIIIG game too,with a big play area,& many main & side quests thrown at you Borderlands style,& i havnt even gone into the leveling up of your character,gaining skills,Finding,trading,repairing,upgrading & constructing weapons.. Being able to trade objects & weapons with the other players,& heal them,& the great 4 player Co-Op in general.
    So yes,this is by far the best Zombie game to date,but as i said,at time of launch(& writing this)theres bugs to fix,some are worse than others,but once they are fixed,the game will be one of the best experience to be had out there,& so for that reason,it gets a 9 from me.Should've been released without the glaring bugs & glitches though,theres no getting around that..Tut Tut Techland.
    Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't get the update your save game goes away and you have to start over. Not early in the game though. Really, really late. Imagine how many hours you put in and then your save is just gone. This happened to me and it was infuriating. But I've since
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't get the update your save game goes away and you have to start over. Not early in the game though. Really, really late. Imagine how many hours you put in and then your save is just gone. This happened to me and it was infuriating. But I've since upgraded my rating to reflect the fixes.

    2. The game can be extremely frustrating at times. There are points where you play and it's just completely unfair (it seems). You get surrounded and you're attacked with no way to defend yourself.

    3. Your weapons break down rather fast. It's pretty unusual that a sword breaks down. Some people may not like this feature.

    All in all though this is a good first person Zombie killing game if you ignore some of the flaws.
    Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2016
    7
    Dead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento do excelente Left for Dead, os personagens que são jogaveis nao chegam a ser profundos, mais sao personagens legais, e cada um tem a sua vantagem, o grafico é bom, mais eu sofri muitos bugs, a dificuldade é boa, tem momentos dificeis, o trabalho de voz é bom,Dead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento do excelente Left for Dead, os personagens que são jogaveis nao chegam a ser profundos, mais sao personagens legais, e cada um tem a sua vantagem, o grafico é bom, mais eu sofri muitos bugs, a dificuldade é boa, tem momentos dificeis, o trabalho de voz é bom, a fisica é bem fraca, e a trilha sonora é legal, é um jogo legal. Nota 7.2 Expand
  20. May 2, 2014
    8
    It's a shame this wasn't a Rockstar or Bethesda game or the like. It would've gotten better reviews. Personally, I didn't experience any bugs playing it. I bought it after the first price drop. Games like Skyrim (which I love as well) get a 9.5 and game of the year but are UNPLAYABLE on certain systems for the first year or two. I found this game to be quite enjoyable. It didn'tIt's a shame this wasn't a Rockstar or Bethesda game or the like. It would've gotten better reviews. Personally, I didn't experience any bugs playing it. I bought it after the first price drop. Games like Skyrim (which I love as well) get a 9.5 and game of the year but are UNPLAYABLE on certain systems for the first year or two. I found this game to be quite enjoyable. It didn't reinvent the wheel, but for an open world, melee-based first person zombie slasher with RPG and loot elements it is 1st in it's class. I found the gameplay systems and quest set-up similar to Borderlands. You "honest and fair" reviewers out there make me wanna sew your Mom's gaping hole shut for birthing you, assuming there's enough yarn. Expand
  21. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    A great concept ruined by tons of glitches. The game is fun. But there are too many glitches to make it worth the $60. A patch is coming, but you're probably wise to wait. The problems will be fixed and the price will drop.
  22. Jan 16, 2013
    2
    In the 7 years this game was begin developed, every single idea in this game was done and done better. This is the mutant offspring of Borderlands, Dead Rising, and Left for Dead. The game is a mess. If you want to shoot things with crazy weapons get Borderlands. If you want to kill zombies with crazy weapons get Dead Rising. If you want to just kill zombies get COD for all I care justIn the 7 years this game was begin developed, every single idea in this game was done and done better. This is the mutant offspring of Borderlands, Dead Rising, and Left for Dead. The game is a mess. If you want to shoot things with crazy weapons get Borderlands. If you want to kill zombies with crazy weapons get Dead Rising. If you want to just kill zombies get COD for all I care just avoid this game like the zombie plague.

    On a side note, I ignored the story through the entire game and was still left unsatisfied with the ending. The story is bad, the gameplay is awful, and the game is one of the few titles I've actually sold back to Game Stop in the past 5 years.
    Expand
  23. May 11, 2014
    0
    Really terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaboration of design flaws. The trailer for this game also shows the problems with videogame marketing as it made the game look quite arty but no.
  24. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    I have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in aI have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in a world with zombies. The zombies in this game are super scary. If they see you they sprint at you and make the most terrifying noises. If you want a shooter though...this isn't the game for you. Use mostly melee weapons. So i do recommend this game, but just want to warn everyone that....it is very sloppy, and defiantly needed more development. Expand
  25. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    I really loved this game. I get why people hate it at the moment, having bought the shoddy version the minute it got out and then screamed in unison because of it's innumerable and crippling bugs. In my honest opinion, they should have just waited a week or two, for the patches to get out instead of just whining to high heaven. Again, i must say I completely understand the frustration ofI really loved this game. I get why people hate it at the moment, having bought the shoddy version the minute it got out and then screamed in unison because of it's innumerable and crippling bugs. In my honest opinion, they should have just waited a week or two, for the patches to get out instead of just whining to high heaven. Again, i must say I completely understand the frustration of buying something only to be let down in the worst manner possible. No game to date, that i'm aware of, came out "Gold" right away, so you just needn't be so hasty to throw it away without even a second glance.People seem to forget that buying a game nowadays tends to be a risky and ungratifying endeavor, because of the impossible terms the publishing companies impose on the developers who in turn rush the unfinished games to stores. In all fairness, rarely does it happen for a game to stay shoddy and not get patched. Usually a patch follows shortly.

    The game itself is fun and engaging, showing a more realistic approach towards the whole zombie apocalypse shindig than i've seen so far. And you can preach to me about Left 4 Dead and the likes as much as your fingers can bear. Truth is, Left 4 Dead and Dead Island only share a theme. The gameplay mechanics are completely different. So it's dumb to compare them in the first place. After installing all of the patches i haven't had any trouble with the game, and i just finished my first playthrough. The story is a little bland and cliche, as is the case with many other games that have lately come out. But at least this game doesn't kid it'self and the player that it's something more than it shows. It's a simple, yet complicated, thrill ride, packed with action segments and rewarding gameplay. Many have described it as "Borderlands with zombies", but there are some key features that distinguish the game from Borderlands a little bit. The main feature being it's "Weapon Modification/Creation" feature. I expect there will be more weapons and mods in future DLC, which I think will only add to the whole experience of the game. To those who have played Borderlands the system will be quite familiar and will have no problem adapting to this game. Those who have played Resident Evil 5, will notice a similar atmosphere when they arrive in the city of Moresby. Not saying the game is original, but it's implemented features, be they action or rpg oriented, work surprisingly well as a whole.

    I will end by admitting that this is one of the better games I've played lately, better even than "Deus Ex HR". I anxiously await any and all DLC of this game, and recommend anyone that hasn't played it yet to do so, but only after patching it up properly.
    Expand
  26. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Wow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll after playing the game they were right. You're 1st weapon is the only thing available at you're feet= a stick. Butt hat lasted 5 mins and that begins my review--
    To help the undecided decide---
    ---this game was SOO much fun in a borderlands Meets fallout kind
    Wow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll after playing the game they were right. You're 1st weapon is the only thing available at you're feet= a stick. Butt hat lasted 5 mins and that begins my review--
    To help the undecided decide---
    ---this game was SOO much fun in a borderlands Meets fallout kind of way.
    --the leveling is identical to borderlands. I love the impact the new perks have in combat and explore,
    --character diversity. You have you're tank,ranged, badass sword Chinese chick, and a black female no nonsense cop(firearms specialist..
    ---the game is hit or miss it seems. I played it 3.5 times. I didn't finish the cop chicks run through,,but 4 months and I was done with D. I.
    --chest/rare uber weapon chest farming is soooooooo addicting,,and the internet is loaded with guides and tips and tricks and routes to farm..
    --never ending respawn means you can grind exp and resources anywhere and anytime..
    --the game consist of 3 Main maps, and 2 other maps..
    -the 3 are
    The island tourist attraction suburbia, think Disneyland beach type beauty..starting map
    --second is the games bread & butter. The urban city of Moserby.. Buildings and homes galore. The people are holed up in a church and you do is ions for each person you come in contact with for either money,exp or a rare weapon..
    --the 3rd map is the str8 up jungle. Where the zombies are more advanced,numerous and the humans are tribal pirates like Vos pirates from farcry3...

    --weapon custom--every weapon you get gets upgraded permanently at a workbench.. You use materials you buy or scavenge.. And you can level the weapon 4 times(usually all at once) and then you use the hundred schematics you find in the game like a Zeus baseball bat,. A wooden bat with metal wires hooked up to a invisible power source.. The zombies get whacked and they shake and you can watch or easily decaputate em.. And there's perks for mega exp or money for everything. Like 100 decaputate ones,,then 500 on and on and on.. I think it's infinite like borderlands2...

    Look this is a pretty awesome game. It confuses me why a open world tropical paradise with awesome 1st person mechanics isn't rated higher.. The bugs are NOT game altering.. I never used any glitch to cheat besides classic luring zombies onto a mine or whatev....

    Riptide continues in the same exact mold. So that's a dream come true for fans of dead island and a complaint of some. Riptide uses same exact everything only slightly enhanced. Think of maddens improvements. That's how riptide is.. So that's another incentive IMO..
    --I'm hoping I can motivate 1 person to play this game.. They will repay the debt by convincing another to play and so on.....
    Expand
  27. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Pros:
    Long. 20 hours or more.
    Fun.
    Addictive in a way.

    Cons:
    Repetitive.
    Cheesy.
    Bad voice acting.
    Bad story.
    Too easy.
    Not scary what so ever.
  28. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Dead Island is not a game for everyone. Some may be turned off by the constant texture pop in, spikes in difficulty, and ugly cut-scenes. However, if you ignore these and find yourself immersed into the enormous landscape and brutal combat, you might find a very fun game to be had. Killing zombies feels very satisfying, and the brutality of it all adds more flavor to it. Upgrading weaponsDead Island is not a game for everyone. Some may be turned off by the constant texture pop in, spikes in difficulty, and ugly cut-scenes. However, if you ignore these and find yourself immersed into the enormous landscape and brutal combat, you might find a very fun game to be had. Killing zombies feels very satisfying, and the brutality of it all adds more flavor to it. Upgrading weapons is also a nice touch because it gives players a chance to experiment and try new things. There's also a lot to discover on the island, and the skill tree adds more to the overall package. Expand
  29. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system.Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system. Seriously, I have to spend my time in a sewer system of slum! Then we go to the jungle. It's mostly a closed off fixed path but at least it's no sewer. Now we end in a prison, with a brief jaunt in the prison's sewer. What started out as an open world game ended as a corridor shooter. Not cool.

    The game's weapon system is also somewhat of a lie. You can modify any weapon you like, assuming you have scrounged or traded for all of the necessary parts. I used about 15% of the possible modifications because that was all I had available. That means the developer wasted 85% of its efforts on weapon art assets and balancing. It also means the weapons were 85% boring. Here's a tip for first time players: pick the character who uses guns. A majority of the necessary fights are against NPCs with guns and the toughest zombies are easily taken out at a distance with guns and grenades.

    Also, the synopsis for this games says "A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash." This does not describe the game at all. All the player characters are drunken party goers with awful fashion sense and even worse personalities. I skipped most of the cut scenes to avoid them, and I really should have skipped the final cut scene as well. Most of the cutscenes and some of the dialogue assume you have a party of 4 co-op players. The game will seemlessly match you with players working on the same mission. This cuts both, though, because sometimes a random person will finish your mission and take the mission reward. In the later levels where you are grinding through sewers and prisons, there are no other players to offer help. Based on my observation, I hypothesize that most players give up on "Dead Island" shortly after the excellent beach resort segment of the game.

    Let's recap the lessons to be learned. For the developers, do not turn your fun open world game into a boring corridor shooter; co-op is a nice addition to single player but not a feature of single player; and if you let characters specialize in blunt weapons, do not populate the world with pistol shooting militiamen. And for the players, never leave the beach resort.
    Expand
  30. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Dead Island has to be one of the best games out this year. It's on a different setting as in media Zombies outbreak occur in either cities or countryside, and putting it on a tropical island is original. The graphics are amazing, you feel like your actually on the fictional island on Banoi.

    The combat, the gore and the general game play make this game very enjoyable. Well worth getting.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    55
    A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.