• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Dec 29, 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 210

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Couch
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Graphics are a 9. Sound is a 9. Gameplay is a 9. This game is a perfect 9 to me. It has everything you want and expect from a fighting game with the best Xbox 360 graphics to date. The game is perfect on normal for most people. It gives plenty of challenge while still allowing you to beat the computer and make minor mistakes. On normal you can actually get by just button mashing, but if Graphics are a 9. Sound is a 9. Gameplay is a 9. This game is a perfect 9 to me. It has everything you want and expect from a fighting game with the best Xbox 360 graphics to date. The game is perfect on normal for most people. It gives plenty of challenge while still allowing you to beat the computer and make minor mistakes. On normal you can actually get by just button mashing, but if your going to want to be good you'll have to learn the awesome (but hard) counter system. For the pros there is a hard and very hard mode. Some things I hate about the game are the amazingly fast battles and the extreme shifts in difficulty. If your unlucky the computer can take you out in as much as 3-4 hits. Sometimes the computer will be near unbeatable, countering you from the start, while at other times they will be unable to attack you if you are able to slam them into walls long enough. Story mode also doesn't take very long to beat, but is actually pretty satisfying due to its hilarious and beautiful cinematics. This game also has many different characters to choose from. Though I wish they were all a little more different. As it stands there are only really 4 "kinds" of characters: the really fast women, the really slow but powerful men (mostly), people who are in between, and then the crazy drunken fighter who is just hilarious to watch. If you have friends and 2 controllers and you love fighting games go out and buy this title. If you sort-of-maybe like fighting games, or play solo most of the time just rent this title. If you hate getting frustrated at times, want a carefree, easy stress free game, don't like memorizing button combinations, and can not adapt to the fast pace of a fighting game DO NOT BUY IT. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, really surprise, this version of Dead or Alive is the better, the graphics are incredible, the story, the characters, all in DOA 4 is fantastic. And the online is really amazing. I love it.
  3. Goss
    Jan 16, 2006
    3
    Bouncing Breasts lots of bouncing breasts, surly by puting bouncing breasts into a game that is a poomans fighting game it will sell and guess what it does sell only because its the only decent fighting game on the 360, personally if you put dead or alive fighting mechanics up against the likes of Tekken street fighter or Soul Caliber then this game falls flat on its back in the first Bouncing Breasts lots of bouncing breasts, surly by puting bouncing breasts into a game that is a poomans fighting game it will sell and guess what it does sell only because its the only decent fighting game on the 360, personally if you put dead or alive fighting mechanics up against the likes of Tekken street fighter or Soul Caliber then this game falls flat on its back in the first round and it stays down. so if you like bouncing breasts your gonna love this game but if you like fighting games then this is a stinker, again the only reason this game is getting the scores that its getting is only because its the only fighting game out there. Expand
  4. Jay
    Jan 3, 2006
    5
    The graphics are very good. The game play is not so good. All this game does is hit you with combos until you die. It either traps you against a wall or keeps you in the air until you are dead. No real style and if the game starts the combos thing, it's over. If you start get hit with combos, your character stops responding. No blocking , no hitting back, no moving, nothing. Oh... The graphics are very good. The game play is not so good. All this game does is hit you with combos until you die. It either traps you against a wall or keeps you in the air until you are dead. No real style and if the game starts the combos thing, it's over. If you start get hit with combos, your character stops responding. No blocking , no hitting back, no moving, nothing. Oh... and the damage to your character (per punch) is much greater than the damage from your punch to the AI character. Big differnce. Once again Team Ninja has produce another pretty game that substitutes graphics and unreasonable difficulty (cheating in my book) for original gameplay. Expand
  5. JohnnyA.
    Mar 30, 2006
    2
    Yah the graphics are nice for the game but this game sucks. There is no depth in this game. I cant believe this game is being rated over 5. Keep away from this one and rent it first.
  6. ShaneS.
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    DOA4's fighting system is wonderfully complex, and deep. There are over a hundred moves per character. The problem is that the controls are so touchy that it's nearly impossible to perform the same move twice. The result is nothing but button mashing. The game has no special moves of any spectacular effect. No fireballs ala Streetfighter II or anything like that. One of the most DOA4's fighting system is wonderfully complex, and deep. There are over a hundred moves per character. The problem is that the controls are so touchy that it's nearly impossible to perform the same move twice. The result is nothing but button mashing. The game has no special moves of any spectacular effect. No fireballs ala Streetfighter II or anything like that. One of the most annoying things about the game is that there's no jump button. To jump you have to hit punch and diagonall up/back at the same time. The controls are so touchy though that you'll perform a quick jab instead of jump backwards. Ever try to perform a fatality in MKII or MKIII? Imagine trying to do that button input, and distanceing mid combat. Good luck. Expand
  7. MarcusNestor
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Taking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visually beautiful and realistic looking video game to date. Unsurpassed online capabilities via Xbox Live,Taking advantage of the superior technology of the new Xbox 360, Dead or Alive 4 raises the bar in both online and offline fighting. By utilizing the advanced technology of the new Xbox 360 hardware, Dead or Alive 4 redefines 3-D high definition graphics and sound, creating the most visually beautiful and realistic looking video game to date. Unsurpassed online capabilities via Xbox Live, new interactive stages, an all star line-up of old and new favorite characters, and the most complex DOA countering system yet. [Tecmo] I Know its not out yet but am a fan of DOA series so i gave it 10 and by the way TEKKEN 6 is gonna be on PLAYSTATION 3 I HATE Tekken games peace leifang Rules!! Expand
  8. Adultgamer
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games. get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things. 1. the PC version looks better and is smoother 2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games.
    get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things.
    1. the PC version looks better and is smoother
    2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they are also more than £20 cheaper.
    so it has nothing to do with developing the games its all to do with microsoft selling you a cheap consol and charging you an extra £20 for there games just so they can get there money back. I was realy taken for a complete idiot when i got my 360. im just glad i got rid of it before it cost me anymore money.
    Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    Anyone who gives this game less than a 9 is not to be trusted.

    It's simply the greatest fighting games since Tekken 3, or Soul Calibur. This is coming from a guy who would have rated DOA 1-3 as 6's and called them just mediocre. The fighting has been tightened and deepend so much as to allow it to actually stand as a real game instead of just fluff, and it is the first 360
    Anyone who gives this game less than a 9 is not to be trusted.

    It's simply the greatest fighting games since Tekken 3, or Soul Calibur. This is coming from a guy who would have rated DOA 1-3 as 6's and called them just mediocre. The fighting has been tightened and deepend so much as to allow it to actually stand as a real game instead of just fluff, and it is the first 360 game that really seems like it could not be done on a previos generation console. Best 360 game out right now, in my opinion.
    Expand
  10. IanW.
    Jan 28, 2006
    4
    It's not terrible, but it's not a 9 either. I've played it lots over the last nine days, and I want to like it, it's fast it and looks good. But, going back to playing DOA3, and I'm thinking, ok, it's not quite as pretty. So it's not really doa 4 is it, it's more a DOA 3.2 It's prettier, but doesn't really add much to the earliar games. If It's not terrible, but it's not a 9 either. I've played it lots over the last nine days, and I want to like it, it's fast it and looks good. But, going back to playing DOA3, and I'm thinking, ok, it's not quite as pretty. So it's not really doa 4 is it, it's more a DOA 3.2 It's prettier, but doesn't really add much to the earliar games. If you loved them, you'll love this, but if you're waiting for a great fighter game on the 360, then I'd suggest you wait. Expand
  11. Shane
    Feb 7, 2006
    3
    this game is good atm, but when VF5 comes out it will suck. and if l thats the most power of xbox 360 games can do ime going for the PS3.. they have not even masted the hair of the toons and its a bit of a boutton bash. can u realy stay with the xbox 360 for 5 years with them graphics, ime waiting for nintendo rev and ps3:)
  12. JamesL.
    Mar 16, 2006
    3
    I realy liked DOA 3 but this I REALY hated. I dont care what anyone else says I hated this game. One major problem is the fights are over to quick.
  13. MarcD.
    Mar 26, 2006
    6
    The game looks gorgeous. Not in the photo-realistic sense...but, if you like your anime style characters to fight in a lush colourful environment...this game is right up your alley. Sadly...the meat of the game itself...was lacking. I was simply not impressed. Have had a lot more fun with the Tekken, Virtua Fighter and Soul Calibur series of games. Disappointing.
  14. FaTaliTy
    May 5, 2006
    1
    Miong you got this one wrong buddy but this game is terrible. Fights are over to quick, the gameplay is below average and the characters are terrible. I think if you want a crappy fighting game then buy this but if you want your moneys worth save it. Just pure crap.
  15. JaceN.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Once again Tecmo proves that they dont know what the "Easy" difficulty setting is. As a result DOA4 plays worse than their much ciriticised Ninja Gaiden games for its relentless cheap million-attack-a-second gameplay that leaves base human reflexes unable to get a word in edgeways! Theres just no time for moves...no time for throws...no time for counters...theres barely enough time for Once again Tecmo proves that they dont know what the "Easy" difficulty setting is. As a result DOA4 plays worse than their much ciriticised Ninja Gaiden games for its relentless cheap million-attack-a-second gameplay that leaves base human reflexes unable to get a word in edgeways! Theres just no time for moves...no time for throws...no time for counters...theres barely enough time for button mashing...easily one of the best ways to get through the game as it leaves the CPU no opportunity to interrupt with an endless combo! So if you enjoy being so frustrated you could howl...putting down your controller in despair mid-match...and cursing the name of Tecmo and the blue haired japanese gaming gods they exclusively cater for...DOA4 is for you! Expand
  16. JereRinne
    Apr 15, 2007
    5
    Well the game is brilliant, the System is good, graphics are great, BUT Temco HAD to make game so annoying ai that it costs a new conroller per week if you play it. It can make anyone so rageous that household gets new look in no-time. badest is that the AI players can do anything in snap, they respond everything at inhuman speed and percise, and story/time-attack allwys stays stuck inWell the game is brilliant, the System is good, graphics are great, BUT Temco HAD to make game so annoying ai that it costs a new conroller per week if you play it. It can make anyone so rageous that household gets new look in no-time. badest is that the AI players can do anything in snap, they respond everything at inhuman speed and percise, and story/time-attack allwys stays stuck in middle and last opponent, For some weird freaking supernatural Hitting speed. At time, ive ALMOST destroyed a tv, One 1000-paged book to my head, friend Destroyed one controller because i won him 3 imes, and friend won 11 times, My arms hurt for he will to hit first thing that comes into way when playing any 1P mode. The system is way too complex to do EVERYTHING in blink of an eye, all grabs and hrows i made have been success only because it was an accident. And if you try to still get back on your feet after 13-hit combo that ai makes, you can doubt the fact you ket KO:d in instant second you get up.

    IF temco is gonna make DOA5, then they should think twice to make game that only annoys people, it would be fun if it REALLY would have so-great defence system what they say in backcover - infact, you can´t defend at all. Lose the putton for millsecond, and youre ko:d, again. thanks a lot team ninja, for giving more pain!
    Expand
  17. AdamB.
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    The computer AI is impossibly frustrating. The real enjoyment comes from the game's online play, and offline multiplayer, where human players don't have the ability to predict moves two milliseconds after your press the button combo. How well a player will do directly relates to how well and quickly they can counter, giving the game a sort of one-dimensional quality. Although The computer AI is impossibly frustrating. The real enjoyment comes from the game's online play, and offline multiplayer, where human players don't have the ability to predict moves two milliseconds after your press the button combo. How well a player will do directly relates to how well and quickly they can counter, giving the game a sort of one-dimensional quality. Although the graphics and sound are superb, they could have easily been done on previous generation systems; ironically, the most next-gen graphics appear in the pre-rendered end videos. Unless you are a DOA fan or enjoy extremely challenging, near-impossible games, I'd skip this one. Expand
  18. BobX
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Basing my review of the glitchbox 360 title: dead or alive 4 off of the same technique gamepro did for their 100. I'm not playing the game and making it up(the game isn't finished and has been delayed 3 times now since gamepro put together their review). Looks like microsoft does't mind buying their reviews...
  19. Deuce
    Nov 19, 2006
    4
    this game looks really good doesnt it....news flash team ninja..graphics dont make a good game...n i thought games were entertainment(as in they provide fun)...there is no fun in this game except for multiplayer...team ninja slaps half naked girls, good graphics and good cg together n call it dead or alive 4...this game is harder than ninja gaiden black...it doesnt work on skill but on howthis game looks really good doesnt it....news flash team ninja..graphics dont make a good game...n i thought games were entertainment(as in they provide fun)...there is no fun in this game except for multiplayer...team ninja slaps half naked girls, good graphics and good cg together n call it dead or alive 4...this game is harder than ninja gaiden black...it doesnt work on skill but on how well u can counter..the computer is abusively agressive n the seem to know wut move ur gonna do even the perfectly timed grabs...the moment you choose to block you can expect to be grabbed(its rediculous)its an unfair fight..its not challenging its fustrating...im sure the guy whose in charge of team ninja cant play this game either, but hey sex sells so ur gonna see the girls...and ur gonna buy this game and ur blood pressure is gonna rise that itagaki is so full of himself..why dont you make a game thats fun to play and not fun to watch!!!!...i gave this game a 4 because i wouldnt take it for free if i new what was waiting for me. Expand
  20. NickV.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    DOA haters are all ridiculous. This game is pure fun from the instant you pick it up and is still a challenge weeks, months, and possibily years later. In other words, the game is deceptively deep in the long run, but simple enough for any fighting game noob to pick up and enjoy instantly. The bouncing breasts are amusing, but I assure you that the media pays WAAAAAYYY too much attention DOA haters are all ridiculous. This game is pure fun from the instant you pick it up and is still a challenge weeks, months, and possibily years later. In other words, the game is deceptively deep in the long run, but simple enough for any fighting game noob to pick up and enjoy instantly. The bouncing breasts are amusing, but I assure you that the media pays WAAAAAYYY too much attention to this aspect and turns off many of the people you see posting negative comments about this game which they probably haven't even played. This is the 360's must-own title. Anyone who says otherwise is likely a troll or a Sony fanboy....or both. Expand
  21. SadatK.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    Jay doesn't know what he's talking about. The game is actually a lot deeper. Ever heard of counters? Graphics are gorgeous, especially with HDTV. Gameplay has been improved leaps and bounds over previous DOAs. And the online mode will keep you coming back for more. Great game that really shows what the 360 is capable of doing, both now and in the future.
  22. Brandon
    Jan 9, 2006
    5
    Game looks amazing , plays well against friends , but the single palyer modes are just terrible . blocking system is garbage and so is the counter system against the computer .
  23. GaborA.
    Dec 30, 2005
    5
    Major Halo 2 syndrome aka better graphics worse game. Its not a complete button basher but has taken a handful of steps in that direction and not one fluke from the last one was fixed. Huge dissapointment.
  24. JoshW.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    Give it a chance, it just gets better every time you play it!
  25. KelR.
    Jan 9, 2006
    5
    This game is way over-rated, it was barely better than DOA3, just because of online multiplayer. How about those crazy endings to each fighter? they were obviously made for the japanese because they made no sense and were cheesy. I need more in a game than big bouncy breasts... I also agree with brandon that the countering system was damn near impossible. Yet, what takes the cake is the This game is way over-rated, it was barely better than DOA3, just because of online multiplayer. How about those crazy endings to each fighter? they were obviously made for the japanese because they made no sense and were cheesy. I need more in a game than big bouncy breasts... I also agree with brandon that the countering system was damn near impossible. Yet, what takes the cake is the pitiful ending character. This game is weak, and yes I did beat it in about a day. Expand
  26. TuomoH.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Amusing reading some of the hater comments. This game is deep. There is a deep stun system. There is a deep system FOR ESCAPING THE STUNS. There is a deep counter-hold system. But counter-smashers will be thrown. There is a deep grap/throw system. Throws can be escaped or countered with a different type of hold. There is a deep launching/juggling system. There is a deep combo system. Amusing reading some of the hater comments. This game is deep. There is a deep stun system. There is a deep system FOR ESCAPING THE STUNS. There is a deep counter-hold system. But counter-smashers will be thrown. There is a deep grap/throw system. Throws can be escaped or countered with a different type of hold. There is a deep launching/juggling system. There is a deep combo system. Combos can be cancelled. Finishing the combos can be punished with blocking/dodging/countering. There is a deep movement/dashing system. There is a deep ground game/getting up game. Expand
  27. AnthonyV.
    Jun 9, 2006
    7
    The only way to appreciate this game and have legitimate fun with it is to invite people over your house and play it that way. And make sure you know how to actually play this game and make sure your friends do as well, otherwise your experience will be horribly uneven. This game is NOT friendly to newer players - seasoned vets can throw, counter, juggle, cancel, dodge and mega-combo The only way to appreciate this game and have legitimate fun with it is to invite people over your house and play it that way. And make sure you know how to actually play this game and make sure your friends do as well, otherwise your experience will be horribly uneven. This game is NOT friendly to newer players - seasoned vets can throw, counter, juggle, cancel, dodge and mega-combo their opponets into bloody oblivion and reduce newer players into whiny invalids like no other fighting game out there. Worse, the well-documented online problems are downright dealbreakers and the single-player Story Mode is an unbalanced, uneven nightmare with terrible AI and one of the most poorly-utilized and unapologetically CHEAP boss characters in videogame history second only to Tekken 5's Jinpachi Mishima. Consider yourself warned. Expand
  28. KevinW.
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    I'm honestly not a huge fan of fighting games. I'm usually pretty bad at them. That said, DOA4 is an awesome game. It's the first one I bought with my 360 and let me tell you, the reader who said that these graphics could have been "easily done on previous generation systems" needs to get an HD TV and see this thing in its full glory. The graphics, level and character I'm honestly not a huge fan of fighting games. I'm usually pretty bad at them. That said, DOA4 is an awesome game. It's the first one I bought with my 360 and let me tell you, the reader who said that these graphics could have been "easily done on previous generation systems" needs to get an HD TV and see this thing in its full glory. The graphics, level and character detain in HD are absolutely amazing. If Spartan looks as good in Halo3 as it did in DOA4 I will crap my pants. Yes, the AI is pretty hard and can be frustrating, but that is how they get you to practice offline! If you could plow through offline mode so easily there wouldn't be much depth to the game at all. I'm not too good at fighting games but with some persistance I was able to beat the story mode with every character and unlock the Spartan. I can also tell you that the game fighting is deeply layered. In summary: Awesome graphics, good sound, mediocre story, great gameplay. Expand
  29. leonbayman
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    the only people that think this is a bad game are those who suck at it and get their ass kicked every time because they dont understand the gameplay.
    this is not tekken
    you have to understand the importance of countering and high counter throws, if you dont get it and get fooled and always counter middle punch ofter every hit, you get your ass kicked this game is all about dirty
    the only people that think this is a bad game are those who suck at it and get their ass kicked every time because they dont understand the gameplay.
    this is not tekken
    you have to understand the importance of countering and high counter throws,
    if you dont get it and get fooled and always counter middle punch ofter every hit, you get your ass kicked
    this game is all about dirty tricks and tactics. if you suck at the game then you hate the game,
    Expand
  30. Llost
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I've had the game for nearly 2 years, it's awesome. It's got the fastest and most fluid combat of any fighting game, a great counter system, varied fighting styles, plenty of playable modes, online play (a little laggy at times though) and great graphics. I can't even stress how beautifully designed this game is. Does have some cons ofcourse, AI can be very difficult I've had the game for nearly 2 years, it's awesome. It's got the fastest and most fluid combat of any fighting game, a great counter system, varied fighting styles, plenty of playable modes, online play (a little laggy at times though) and great graphics. I can't even stress how beautifully designed this game is. Does have some cons ofcourse, AI can be very difficult (a pro if you like a challenge though), online is laggy and the endings can be a little underwhelming. Expand
  31. EugeneD.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    I don't think i have ever played a game so captivating both graphics wise and through its story. this is by far a must own for anyone who has an xbox360 and is manditory for ongoing Dead or Alive fans... you will be pleased.
  32. LanceM.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Incredibly cool backgrounds, and the return of hilarious cutscenes when you complete a characters story. Fun Fun!
  33. LouC.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    theres a reason why this game recieves ONLY amazing reviews. its an amazing game thats why. Ignore the haters.
  34. JustinK.
    Jan 21, 2006
    9
    Well, Goss, maybe you should play the game before you give it a really bad review. Lets go over the facts: the dea dor alive fighting mechanics have always been better than tekkens, and soul calibur has gone to S***, soul calibur 3 was a pretty big disappointment. So i believe that makes dead or alive 4 fighting game of the year.
  35. ACE5
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    You gotta give it to Team Ninja, when they create a game, they do it right! In a gaming world where developers create gamesthat are easy to beat, (because most gamers hate a real challenge) DOA4 is willing to push gamers to work harder for a victory. Most gamers are used to games that give you a special power that you can rely on, to dominate the game and just give the game away so the You gotta give it to Team Ninja, when they create a game, they do it right! In a gaming world where developers create gamesthat are easy to beat, (because most gamers hate a real challenge) DOA4 is willing to push gamers to work harder for a victory. Most gamers are used to games that give you a special power that you can rely on, to dominate the game and just give the game away so the player can feel a sense of false accomplishment. When in the real world no one just gives things away that easily. " You gotta work for it". And thats what the DOA series has tried to teach. I had fun with this game from beginning to end, and can honestly say it "IS" the greatest fighting game ever created at this time. Expand
  36. ChrisL.
    Feb 15, 2006
    9
    This game is god aweful IF you do not spend time learning how to play. This is the most frustrating game I have ever played. It pissed me off to no other until i slowly learned how to play. Once i learned basic counter moves and blocking tequniques (as long with a few combos) the game became extremely fun very quickly. If you're looking for a challenge, pick this up. If you are not This game is god aweful IF you do not spend time learning how to play. This is the most frustrating game I have ever played. It pissed me off to no other until i slowly learned how to play. Once i learned basic counter moves and blocking tequniques (as long with a few combos) the game became extremely fun very quickly. If you're looking for a challenge, pick this up. If you are not willing to learn a very complex game DO NOT PLAY THIS. If you are willing to learn, this game will be at the top of your list. Expand
  37. SpencerH.
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    The best D.O.A. yet and a really well rounded fighting game for those of you who like to kick some butt.
  38. MiongJ.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    This fighting game treads down all fighting games that came before it and hyped up (Tekken 5, Soul Calibur 3), the fighting system is overhauled and startegy is much more integrated to the game than before. The fact that this game is superbly executed on online play and the only 3D fighter with online play, how can you go wrong with playing from a stranger 10,000 miles away and smack talk This fighting game treads down all fighting games that came before it and hyped up (Tekken 5, Soul Calibur 3), the fighting system is overhauled and startegy is much more integrated to the game than before. The fact that this game is superbly executed on online play and the only 3D fighter with online play, how can you go wrong with playing from a stranger 10,000 miles away and smack talk while bashing his ego out? Excuse me fighting purist but DOA4 is way ahead in the 3D fighting genre. Those who do not like this game are either Sony fanboys or scrubby noobies or both. A must buy. Expand
  39. WyattG
    Oct 28, 2007
    7
    This game came with my 360 as part of a package deal, and under normal circumstances it is not the type of game I would buy. So what's to like about the game ? The fighting is intense, the number of moves each fighter can do is incredible, the sound is great, the graphics are top notch, and the huge variety of modes you can play in is a real credit to the developers....so why 7 out ofThis game came with my 360 as part of a package deal, and under normal circumstances it is not the type of game I would buy. So what's to like about the game ? The fighting is intense, the number of moves each fighter can do is incredible, the sound is great, the graphics are top notch, and the huge variety of modes you can play in is a real credit to the developers....so why 7 out of 10 ?...Well to be really good at the game you have to be able to remember not only a large number of different moves that each fighter can do, but also the ridiculously long button combinations that are required to pull off some of the moves. I have enough trouble remembering the password at my local video store let alone having to remember the correct sequence of 10 buttons to pull off a special kick or punch ! Of course you can just mindlessly bash buttons and that will get the job done in many cases, but in story mode you will really need to learn some special moves if you are to beat every fighter. I will admit though, when you beat a fighter that you have lost 20 times in a row to you can't but help to yell out in delight (that's if you haven't thrown the controller through the tv or had to put it down because the blisters on your hands are starting to really hurt). To me the real value of this game has been when I have had people over and you can play 2 player versus mode. The fact that it is easy to play and the matches are quick, means that in a group of people you can share the controllers around which makes everyone feel involved. Expand
  40. MichelB.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    I've been playing this games for hundreds of hours and I still enjoy it as much as I did in the beginning. The fighting system is challenging and deep. And although I played against over 500 different players online, I still haven't seen all the moves yet. As for the difficulty - well since I'm a fan of the DOA series and Ninja Gaiden Black - it's just fine for me. TeamI've been playing this games for hundreds of hours and I still enjoy it as much as I did in the beginning. The fighting system is challenging and deep. And although I played against over 500 different players online, I still haven't seen all the moves yet. As for the difficulty - well since I'm a fan of the DOA series and Ninja Gaiden Black - it's just fine for me. Team Ninja really did another great job! Everyone who bashes this title just hasn't understand the way this game is meant to be played - it's fast, it's thrilling, it's exciting, it's challenging and it looks still amazing. Sure - it offers no weapons, special moves like flying fireballs, bloody fatalities or a series of lighting effects every time you've been hit - if you're looking for such things - DOA4 won't be your game. But if there is anything serious I would complain about than it's only the amount of costumes you can unlock and the fact that there are only three TagTeam Stages. Still I give this game a 10 - since there is no better fighting game out there (until DOA5 will be released). Expand
  41. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    This is my second favorite game from the Dead or Alive series. It's much faster than the older DOAs and there are many more moves and new characters. Every match on Xbox Live is different. It looks really detailed and sharp and the moves are fun to watch. The only thing DOA Ultimate had that DOA4 lacked was the wide variety of costumes. I also don't like how the four ninjaThis is my second favorite game from the Dead or Alive series. It's much faster than the older DOAs and there are many more moves and new characters. Every match on Xbox Live is different. It looks really detailed and sharp and the moves are fun to watch. The only thing DOA Ultimate had that DOA4 lacked was the wide variety of costumes. I also don't like how the four ninja characters are overpowered and everyone uses them online. Expand
  42. kyuudmc
    Dec 18, 2008
    8
    Don't expect it's anywhere near a Tekken ... but this is solid well balanced fighting game with amazing graphics and hotter babes XD don't miss this if you have an Xbox 360 ... oops! now I remember! the 360 D-pad is too bad sooo ... you have to spend an Xtra 60 bucks >_> I wouldn't do that.
  43. MathewB.
    Dec 26, 2005
    10
    Wow this is the best game in the world in all the fighting games i have layed this is the best of all of them this game was the only reson i got an xbox360 it was only because of this game and im so happy cause it was worth it but this game is still the coolest game ever.
  44. DerekB.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Great game, outstanding graphics and addictive gameplay. Great job Team Ninja!
  45. NicholasS.
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    Despite waiting and waiting for this game to be released. It is very good. I own an hdtv widescreen. The graphics are very crisp. The sound is nice as well. The gameplay is perfect. Well excuted game.
  46. TomH.
    Dec 30, 2005
    6
    Decent, but mostly shiny. Rent to impress, but won't last you long.
  47. JoeyD.
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    It's the fastest and best looking fighter out there. The counter system adds so much depth, and the stages and characters are great. Plus the online mode means nearly infinite replay value. Don't listen to the haters who resent DOA (and proabably haven't even played this game). It may use sex to sell, but it has a deep, engaging combat system to back it up.
  48. LeroyR.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest fighting game I have ever played this is a must have is you have the 360 that edge magazine, well thier idiots if i ever got a job in one oof those magazines I would show them a thing or two this game is spectacular just look at all the other reviews.
  49. WayneTheGamer
    Feb 11, 2006
    0
    Possibly the most poorly thought through DOA in the series. They basically mash as many characters as possible into one story line, which they give you absolutely no background to, so it makes no sense. Then the remaining characters don't really have a story, they're just they're because the new Teken 5 would have way more characters if they weren't in the game. ThePossibly the most poorly thought through DOA in the series. They basically mash as many characters as possible into one story line, which they give you absolutely no background to, so it makes no sense. Then the remaining characters don't really have a story, they're just they're because the new Teken 5 would have way more characters if they weren't in the game. The game play is very poor. It's nothing more than a button basher and nothing else. Anyone claiming you need skill to play it is delusional! The computer can hit you when, where and for however long it wants to, regardless of weather or not you block, try to reverse or, god fore bid, actually attack! If you throw a quick two punch combo, the first will land, but before you can even land the second one, the computer will block, reverse the on coming attack, punch quicker, or just simply teleport behind you and just destroy you. The computers strikes always takes more energy than you can, and can generally keep combos going for an unrealistic time length. It gets to the point where you can't even fall over you're being hit so much. Winning each round is simply a question of weather or not the computer lets you or, you just get lucky and win by accident. Fighting the boss will involve many, many continues. It is obvious that Microsoft just wanted a new DOA for the 360, no matter how rushed and awful it was. To be honest the whole 360 experience is a bit of a let down. It has the potential to be good, but Microsft ignored us Europeans again. I live in Ireland, the second biggest consumer of games and electronics in the world, per capita, second only to Japan. And what do we get with our Platinum 360's? A smaller remote that only works the DVD player and a very sever price tag! Expand
  50. AlexL.
    Feb 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on learning the game by the reviewers - picking up a controller and mashing buttons hoping to win in DOA4 as you can in other games will work exactly 0% of the time. Taking a few minutes in exercise mode with some characters will give you a basic handle on One of the best and most engaging fighters I've played to date. All of the negative reviews here clearly evince zero effort spent on learning the game by the reviewers - picking up a controller and mashing buttons hoping to win in DOA4 as you can in other games will work exactly 0% of the time. Taking a few minutes in exercise mode with some characters will give you a basic handle on the game, and if you persist a bit and get the hang of it it's a tremendous amount of fun. Expand
  51. Bass
    Jun 21, 2006
    9
    This is by far the best installment in the DOA series to date. Every aspect of the game has been developed and fine tuned in order to create a pure and sophisticated fighting experience. The counter system has been revised heavily allowing for more strategic battles, and the difficulty level has been raised dramatically. Although frustrating at first, DOA4 is an incredibly engaging title This is by far the best installment in the DOA series to date. Every aspect of the game has been developed and fine tuned in order to create a pure and sophisticated fighting experience. The counter system has been revised heavily allowing for more strategic battles, and the difficulty level has been raised dramatically. Although frustrating at first, DOA4 is an incredibly engaging title that rewards the players hard work and effort, and after a few hours of play and practice combat becomes intuitive and satisfying. Online play is where the game shines and Team Ninja have really set the bar for how online multiplayer in beat 'em ups should be done. It goes without saying that this game is gorgeous to look at and really showcases what the 360 can do. Overall this is one of the best fighting games on the market today and comes very close to matching the brilliance of the Virtua Fighter series. Expand
  52. AndrewD.
    Dec 31, 2005
    9
    I've only played this game for about two hours, but I can assure you it's the best game I've played on the X-Box 360 yet. It's not exactly an evolution for the series, but the updates do really make for a new experiance. My only gripe is that it's not as pretty on a standard television.
  53. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite fighting game of all time. I was there when Team Ninja released Dead or Alive 3 on the original Xbox at launch, and I played it everyday. The incredible countering system got me to play more and more just to master each characters movements and play-styles. Now, DOA4 rises to the challenge and delivers a crisp, fast paced fighter that is pretty much perfect. I have aThis is my favorite fighting game of all time. I was there when Team Ninja released Dead or Alive 3 on the original Xbox at launch, and I played it everyday. The incredible countering system got me to play more and more just to master each characters movements and play-styles. Now, DOA4 rises to the challenge and delivers a crisp, fast paced fighter that is pretty much perfect. I have a few gripes however that made me give it a 9/10. THERE AREN'T ENOUGH MODES. WE NEED MORE FIGHTERS. That's it. Otherwise, DOA4 is a very unique fighter that will keep fans happy and newcomers posted for more. Expand
  54. Apr 5, 2011
    9
    6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Raises the bar for DOA fans. If you're a DOA fan returning to DOA, many aspects will be familiar to you. Attacks, grabs, and holds have all carried over from the other DOA games; and you will be familiar with those mechanics. Most of your combos you used from the previous DOA game should carry over to DOA 4, but that isn't a guarantee. However, there are6 Word Review from Familiar Fan: Raises the bar for DOA fans. If you're a DOA fan returning to DOA, many aspects will be familiar to you. Attacks, grabs, and holds have all carried over from the other DOA games; and you will be familiar with those mechanics. Most of your combos you used from the previous DOA game should carry over to DOA 4, but that isn't a guarantee. However, there are some new additions. Beside new characters, some characters not returning, and new/modified move lists there are bigger additions. Some sort of "rebound" mechanic as been added to combat, most characters have a "sub-stance" in their move list and the final boss might seem cheap when compared to DOA 3 or even DOA 2 boss. IF you're new to the DOA series, the game mechanics aren't impossible to learn in DOA 4, but WITHOUT an EASY mode and practicing only on AI will cause learning game mechanics to be challenging, but not impossible. If you have a buddy with DOA 4, 3 or even DOA 2 Ultimate play Versus with their copy and see if you can pick up the game mechanics from them. That way, they will pose a challenge yet can tone it down in difficulty when needed. If you didn't pick up game mechanics when versing with them, don't try the series. Expand
  55. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    Maybe the greatest trademark of the series is the hot babes, that are in lol. But it is a fast paced action fighting game, which relies on your reflexes, also. But the DOA Series had their best moments with the second installement.
  56. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    The first 7th generation fighting game, DOA4 is not only a very solid game in just the fighting mechanics, but also offers a complete package which even some fighting games lack today. The gameplay is very easy to pick up and understand without the need for a tutorial, yet it is difficult to master. The controls are excellent and combat not only looks cinematic but plays fast and fluentThe first 7th generation fighting game, DOA4 is not only a very solid game in just the fighting mechanics, but also offers a complete package which even some fighting games lack today. The gameplay is very easy to pick up and understand without the need for a tutorial, yet it is difficult to master. The controls are excellent and combat not only looks cinematic but plays fast and fluent too. In addition, stages are dynamic and serve as more than just a pretty background- they can be used against your opponents. There is very little stopping you from enjoying the game. Time attack, survival, versus, team battle, online, replay channel, an in-depth training mode as well as an amazing story (for a fighting game anyway) which is unique for each character make this easily one of the best fighting games around. You can play 1v1 or have 2v2, so if you prefer using just one character you can. By far the easiest fighting game to recommend for newcomers to the genre. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    If looks could kill, DOA4 would be called Murderer's Row. This game is beautiful; even while you're beating the tar out of your opponent, you'll notice that your surroundings are among the finest you've seen in any fighting game... Hands down the best installment in the series. [Jan 2006, p.38]
  2. 90
    The counter system is less forgiving and will definitely challenge fans of the series, especially those fond of DOA3. This affects every other area of the game. The harder characters to master are even more powerful now, and there is more of a ground game, in addition to careful use of the backgrounds.
  3. 90
    It's still "just" a fighting game, albeit an incredibly polished and finessed fighting game, but it won't open your eyes to things you've never seen before. It will bring the fighting game community together, however, thanks to its online functionality, and that's a good thing.