User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 85
  2. Negative: 12 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2013
    9
    This game is absolute perfection. The game features a good amount of playable characters, including ones from the Virtua Fighter series. All the old modes are present, with a brand new Story Mode filled with tons of action and quality. My two complaints are the Online Pass, which forces you to pay 800 Microsoft Points to play online if you buy the game pre-owned, and the missing character customization is kind of annoying. However, the game thrives with tons of DLC costumes, and the game even has a free costume pack available at the Marketplace. I prefer this game over SFxT, TTT2, or Injustice. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    I've played DOA since the regular xbox and I'm not a real big fighting game fan but I like the off the wall characters and play style. This game is an online game it isn't a story game or much of a local game. I enjoy playing the story as a character that I want to play but DOA 5 makes you play as every character during the story. You're forced to play as them and the story is basically a tutorial on how to play so you can play online. I didn't like this at all. Online is average. Local is average. I can't justify spending 60 dollars on this. There is variety but there always was. It's not a step forward or a step back in the plethora of games that are out. I don't hate it but I'm not taken by it. If you're a fan of DOA you'll more than likely get it. Then this is another game with an online pass so you'll have to buy new or buy an online pass. That alone makes me deduct a point. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    6
    I felt the story line was very enjoyable however I wasn't pleased with the "improvements" they've made with the graphics. I didn't like how they did the coloring in this particular game. In all the other DOA games the colors were very vibrant and they popped out at you, while in this one the colors seemed rather dull. I also didn't like the changes they made to the characters physical appearances. They paled the guys' skin tone down and it made many of them look rather sickly, and it looked like they pinched in everyone's faces. They slimmed down most of the characters and made most of the men look like creepers, especially Brad Wong and Zack. I also wasn't pleased with the changes they made to the set up, they completely changed the start menus, the DOA games had a specific way the options were arranged and I didn't like that they changed it. Although I don't like the changes they've made to the graphics or the set up, I loved the story in this one. I felt you got a better insight on all of the characters and their relationships with one another in this game. I will continue playing these games I just hope they go back to how they used to make to characters, I think, graphic wise, DOA 4 is the best but, story wise, DOA 5 is the best. I also liked the power moves. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Beware of the Xbox 360s controller, this game really is not suited for it. I love the game but this version is inferior. No one deserves to play DOA with such a horrible controller.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Team Ninja tries so hard to please their fans. DOA 5 is their latest effort, containing a lot of content and tweaked character designs. It's fighting system is actually pretty good and by toning down its sexuality (which is still a main selling point here), it gives players more focus on its gameplay. DOA is always the underdog of the fighting genre. It deserves better recognition. Give this one a chance, folks! Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    The game is very good in game play depth, graphics and characters host. My concerns are:

    - No arcade / time attack / survival ending cut scenes. The ending is your punctuation and ranking;
    - Short story mode that covers all characters. About only 2:30 hours;
    - Story mode with meaningless fights and scenes that do not add anything to the plot. If not all the characters contribute to
    the main story is preferable that each character has their own related or unrelated story mode with equivalent duration;
    - Few scenarios and some of them are boring (some of then are awesome);
    - REALLY BAD replays and screen shots management.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    The DoA series may never have been known for it's depth or "tournament-worthiness." They finally embraced their identity and ran with it as "fighting entertainment," and that's what it is; flashy, glamorous, over-the-top action. Might never show up at EVO or similar tournaments but it's good, stupid fun and there's no crime in that.
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Truth be told this is one of the best fighting games to come out this generation besides mortal kombat. The characters are beautiful as always but this time around it comes with a much more in depth fighting style plus fully destructible arenas to keep the action over the top. Plus this entry has alot more content than the previous entries. And from all these extras there is plenty of fun to be had whether you are a hardcore fighter or just a causal player so dig on in. Don't miss out on the fun! Expand
  9. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    +PROS+ +Best Fighting Mechanism out there. +Brutal and hard hitting, like a Beat em up should be. +Good looking characters. +Long lived through online play and difficult challenges. +Waste diversity in combat styles and customized looks. +A lot of fanservice -CONS- -Require some time to understand the mechanism. -The patch that fixes online lagg has not yet reached the western marked. -Lipsynch to voiceacting in storymode could be a lot better. -CONCLUSION- This game should be graded 8,5-9,5 out of 10 depending on your preferences. - CRITERIA OPEN FOR SUBJECTIVITY - *Fighting mechanism.* This game allows for comebacks and turnarounds, and leave very few pauses for both players. Other mechanisms may rely on X hit combos and airlifting, ultimately making it a 1-player games at 10 sec periods at the time. If you like fast paste and constant thrill, then this is something you'll like. *Good looking characters* - Both the men and women looks above average, however from eider practical, realistic or ideological view this may be viewed as a con. The fighters rarely look battle scared, even though they may turn sweaty or dirty if you put on this function, their faces will never become pummeled, bloody or utterly destroyed. There also is the aspect at practicality as some costumes would be really hard to fight in, (like a clown uniform.) and some may view strong female fighters as unrealistic. Lastly arch-conservatives may view some of the costumes to be too revealing or unethical. Expand
  10. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Dead Or Alive 5 is a solid entry to the series. The fighting mechanics seem flawless and well balanced. Graphics are gorgeous and really exciting interactive stages to fight in. Story mode is somewhat cheesy and short, but its not the main reason i brought it. My only complaint is the online as I keep getting chucked out but i'm hoping this something that will be patched up and sorted out soon.
  11. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    The game brings in the classic style of fighting from the original Dead or alive games and performs very well. Graphics are great and the stage effects are nice. Old and new comes will enjoy
  12. Sep 30, 2012
    2
    Missing characters, Missing any acknowledgement to the past 7 years of inventive ideas in Fighting Games, Missing any redeeming qualities as a fighter with dozens of bugs, issues, and missing features. Everything about this game defies the previous Dead or Alive games, never mind **** on what is widely regarded as the pinnacle of 3D fighting games, Dead or Alive 4. Dead or Alive 4 paved the way for almost every fighting game release in the past 7 years. Fighting games have adopted one thing or another from Dead or Alive 4 and incorporated them into their own design, be it the "bounce" combo mechanic, Online ranked lobbies and network inspiration, or even Motion Blur as a detail enhancing visual feature. In one way or another, nearly every fighting game made in the past 7 years has taken notes from Dead or Alive 4 in hopes to compete. Dead or Alive 5 doesn't aim to be better than, or even as good as Dead or Alive 4. It lacks features from previous DOA games, it lacks network capabilities from previous DOA games, it lacks balance from previous DOA games, it simplifies combat immensely by **** the **** out of Counter-Holds making them relatively useless, thereby ruining the "Triangle System" brand of combat that DOA is famous for. It's buggy, rushed, highly in favor to the over-sexualization of it's female characters (even more-so than previous DOA games) so much as to be called misandry. Dead or Alive 5 is the biggest fighting game scandal in the history of fighting video games. Please understand that the Team Ninja that made the previous four DOA games no longer exists. In 2008, Tomonobu Itagaki and over 36 key members of Team Ninja quit and sued Tecmo for business malpractice. leaving Tecmo's Team Ninja with a shell of what once was a development studio. The publicized departure of Itagaki and around 40 people caused a stir up that dissuaded prospective engineers, programmers, animators, artists, and designers from choosing to work for Tecmo/TeamNinja, and because of that - they could only end up hiring people who were not entirely capable. This game is as much of a bastardization to the Dead or Alive series and fighting games as a whole as Ninja Gaiden 3 was to the Ninja Gaiden series and action-adventure hack-n-slash games. Anyone who praises this game either doesn't play fighting games or is simply lying through their teeth. This is one of the cheapest Lie Detectors available, while still being the most expensive Fighting Game without content. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2012
    1
    DoA from what I remember was about boobs. This version do not give what DoA fan would expect. It does not offer big breasts and gameplay is not better than any other fighting game. There is absolutly no reason to play this game.
  14. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Best fighting game ever since SFII. Great graphic, simple gameplay and best of all great fanservice. The story mode is much better this time with everything being canon instead of a bunch of fake ones with only one ending being canon.
  15. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Dead or Alive 5 is a solid game if you can open your mind and see past the fan service. The game is loaded with modes of play. Solo/Tag Arcade modes, Survival/Time Attack, Online Ranked and Player matches, stat tracking and tons of unlockables will keep you busy for a long time to come.

    Watch my full video review here - http://youtu.be/jLvHlkAsQhQ
  16. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    A nice addition to the fighting game genre. The game is faster paced than Dead or Alive 4 and overall is put together better. There is better balance and the story isn't as absurd or confusing as DOA 4. The best part of DOA 5 is definitely the graphics. Characters pick up dirt on their clothes when thrown to the ground and you can see sweat on the fighters. The game looks absolutely fantastic. This a good buy for fighting game fans and even novices to fighting games such as myself. Expand
  17. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    In response to @Overshine: Online passes are account specific, and can be re-downloaded free of charge from any console as long as you are using the same Xbox Live account, simply recover the gamer profile onto the console of choice, go to your download history, and click "download again". As for the game, it's a lot of fun and there's enough fanservice and asskickery to make one hell of a great fighting game! Expand
  18. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    it was exactly what I wanted... some balance tweaks... a broader story. still a little goofy, still fast paced. Thank you team ninja, after what you did to ninja gaiden, I see this as redeeming. I'll see you bama's in the ring!
  19. Sep 25, 2012
    0
    it was exactly what I wanted... some balance tweaks... a broader story. still a little goofy, still fast paced. Thank you team ninja, after what you did to ninja gaiden, I see this as redeeming. I'll see you bama's in the ring!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    Dead or Alive 5's a very good game, but one that also seems slightly confused in its intentions-the neat new mechanics and impressive environmental interactions seem to be butting heads with Team Ninja's desire to make it a more competitive fighter-and by extension, a more traditional one. That said, it's still the best game in the series and incredibly enjoyable, regardless of whether or not it'll finally appease the hardcore fighting gamers out there.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    Dead or Alive 5 is a serious contender for the best fighter of the year with interesting characters, an in-depth fighting system which is easy to play yet hard to master so appeals to a wide range of players and also brings something new from its predecessor. If you're only buying one fighting game this year, Dead or Alive 5 would find a perfect space on your shelf.
  3. 70
    Dead or Alive 5 is still enjoyable for the dedicated fans.