Dead Space 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 687 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 687
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    4
    I must say i had high hopes for this game. Being knew to the DS series i had decided to take the oldest one i could find on shelves which (unfortunately) was Dead Space 2. While i prefer to always try and start with the first of a series i did some research and found out it is supposedly a great way to start off this series if your new. When i first started this game it seemed okay but theI must say i had high hopes for this game. Being knew to the DS series i had decided to take the oldest one i could find on shelves which (unfortunately) was Dead Space 2. While i prefer to always try and start with the first of a series i did some research and found out it is supposedly a great way to start off this series if your new. When i first started this game it seemed okay but the enemies quickly got old. The jump scares were a bit startling at the beginning but more or less towards the half-way point they mainly were expected. The character of Isaac felt rather generic to me. He seemed to me just a regular horror movie person who is wanted by basically everyone because there is something special about them. The guns were very unique but i feel a major downfall was its multiplayer. While i never had high hopes for a horror genre to go good with multiplayer i at least expected something better than, play a match, try to kill endless waves of necromorphs who usually try to kill you as you spawn, get killed, try again, repeat. It seems as though they just wanted to put in a multiplayer so as people wouldn't complain about there not being one. The enemies are both unique and interesting but towards the end there were barely any new ones and just harder versions of the older version's. Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though???They have done it again, this game much like dead space one is an excellent atmospheric, frightening, anxiety ridden romp. The game plays pretty much the same as the first, with some of your old favourite enemies featuring so if you were looking for innovation from the first you may be disappointed, I however was not having loved the first game I love this too, hard to the core though??? not gonna happen. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Dead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one ofDead Space 2 isn't necessarily better than the first game, it just improves in some areas that weren't necessarily that bad to begin with. The audio is still utterly masterful, creating suspense at all the right junctures, while the visuals and gameplay make Visceral's game one of the finest examples of cinematic gaming at its best. The bottom line however, is that Dead Space 2 is one of the most downright terrifying games that you're ever likely to play. It'll give you nightmares, guaranteed. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Even, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to sendEven, if games like Dead Space 2 aren't scary, this game is still very good. The action is well done, the sounds of the game has been done very well and the graphics are great. The story isin't anything interesting though, making excuses to do some more job alone all the time. The game doesn't really add anything new except multiplayer. Other wise you get few weapons, ability to send enemies to space and able to throw spiky objects to them. The multiplayer is also awful. Playing as necromorphs isin't fun, because human team can abuse slo-mo ability all the time and the combat feels stupid and boring. The unlocks also feel useless. I recommend this game only for the single player, which is short too (Only about 6-8 hours). Pros:
    + Graphics
    + Single player's action is great, especially during some scenes
    Cons:
    - Multiplayer
    - Doesn't add enough new stuff to single player
    Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    the reason i gave it a nine is because i felt there was a little lack of overall variety in enemies,weapons,suits... Else this game is just perfect! Spooky , Thrilling , Fun!!
    Killing Necromorphs is one of the most satisfying feeling EVAR! :D
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The creepy atmosphere is awesome. The graphics are also very nice. The game play is fluid and really easy to pick up. Some of the levels have some of the most twisted settings I have seen in a video game.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    As far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very finalAs far as scary, creepy and atmospheric horror games go, Dead Space 2 is by far the best I have ever played. It is far superior to its predecessor in every way; the mechanics, the weapons, the enemy variety, the challenge and the more various settings. DS2 provides scares and jumps from the start to the finish, and the story is interesting enough to keep you attached until the very final limb is severed. The decision to give Isaac Clarke (the protagonist) a voice was an excellent design choice and allows the player to gain a likeness of the character. The surroundings and sound are both superb; the original was fantastically atmospheric, but this game improves and refines everything. As a rental (or as second hand) you will not get an 'online code' and so this locks away the online multi-player, which is disappointing, however the single player 9-10 hour play through way enough to satisfy me. 4/5, superb. Expand
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It's the game that got me back into zombie video games. Deadrising was ok and Left 4 Dead was great but when this came out, I renewed my faith in the zombie video game. Resident Evil 4 was the last time there was an awesome zombie game.
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Pretty good game but doesnt feature much change from the first game. One of the big set backs for the game is that is lacks variety and it really feels you are just replaying the same parts over and over again. Besides that, Its pretty enjoyable and I had a blast playing it.
  10. Feb 5, 2011
    10
    Bottom line this game has great graphics, sound (esp if you have surround sound head phones) and controls. If your even a bit into action and horror games get this game. Better than the first one and everything from the story to the gameplay has been updated expontially. Do yourself a favor and get this game you wont regret it best 60 you get so far this year.
  11. May 26, 2011
    9
    A fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw theA fantastic game. A shooter with a really good story. The controls, the graphics, the voice acting are all brilliant. I loved the first game and this is even better. The sense of dread as to when the next xenomorph is going to jump out at you had me on the edge of seat. I'm so proud to say that I played on "Zealot" the hardest difficulty. While there where times I wanted to throw the control pad at the screen the payoff for getting past a mass ambush is outstatanding. A must own game. Expand
  12. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly hate hearing about how this game should've been "badass." Dead Space 2 is not trying to make Isaac a hero! That's not his role in the game. Its completely the opposite. Isaac is infected and he is trying to stop what he created and its suppose to be an emotional horror ride not a big explosion bad ass game. Hopefully anyone who has played this game fully has realized how emotional and how dark and deep this addition to the history of console games really is. This is a landmark of a game, combining very emotional moments, some of the scariest pop-ups and eerie places I have ever played a chapter of a game on and some of the best combat controls there are. I don't think this game can be really categorized into a specific genre. It is all around amazing. Expand
  13. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Better than the first game. Very inmerse gameplay and powerfull graphics and sounds. One of the best survival horros of the present generation. Must Have.
  14. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    While I have completed several hundreds of hours gameplay each on titles like Modern Warfare 1 & 2, Oblivion, Dragon Age, Far Cry 2 and Red Dead Redemption; and only around 40 hours total on the original Dead Space, it still remains my favourite game of all time. It was innovative, was a fresh idea, and displayed a polish that no other game could match. Even now, 3 years after its releaseWhile I have completed several hundreds of hours gameplay each on titles like Modern Warfare 1 & 2, Oblivion, Dragon Age, Far Cry 2 and Red Dead Redemption; and only around 40 hours total on the original Dead Space, it still remains my favourite game of all time. It was innovative, was a fresh idea, and displayed a polish that no other game could match. Even now, 3 years after its release I would challenge anyone to name a game that matches the incredibly accurate projectile damage implemented by DS. There isnâ Expand
  15. Mar 7, 2011
    9
    wasnt as good as the first one for scares but they did manage to evolve everything else. controls, level design and any of the clunkiness of 1 is rectified in 2 here. cant wait for part 3!
  16. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    A truly great sequel with great gameplay and story, genuinely scary and fun. It has a large campaign that will keep you busy for at least 15+ hours and the action doesn't die down for the whole ride. Overall a masterful execution of a stylish, brilliant horror survival/action game.
  17. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is the greatest survival horror game to be released since Resident Evil 4......Fact!
    Unlike the first Dead Space, Dead Space 2 is more interested in blowing you away than in maintaining it's image as a scary horror game, which it never really was in the first place. So dead space 2 is more glorious dismemberment and intense action and less walking down dark hallways aiming at
    Dead Space 2 is the greatest survival horror game to be released since Resident Evil 4......Fact!
    Unlike the first Dead Space, Dead Space 2 is more interested in blowing you away than in maintaining it's image as a scary horror game, which it never really was in the first place. So dead space 2 is more glorious dismemberment and intense action and less walking down dark hallways aiming at vents where you just know necromorphs are patiently waiting to jump out and "scare your socks off" for the 117th time since you started playing. Go get Dead Space 2, Tell 'em Phantom-Tommy sent ya.
    Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    Spread across two discs, Dead Space 2 is a fun action game with some horror-driven elements. The story is more streamlined (and linear) this time as you play Isaac Clarke, the protagonist from the first game. Giving Isaac a voice was an excellent decision on the designer's part as you now have a personal connection to his struggles. The controls are also much more responsive and smoothSpread across two discs, Dead Space 2 is a fun action game with some horror-driven elements. The story is more streamlined (and linear) this time as you play Isaac Clarke, the protagonist from the first game. Giving Isaac a voice was an excellent decision on the designer's part as you now have a personal connection to his struggles. The controls are also much more responsive and smooth making playing Dead Space 2 a blast! Unfortunately, like Dead Space 1, DS2 lacks any real scares or fear-inducing elements. Isaac is so beefed up you'll find yourselves chasing down enemies rather than reluctantly pressing on. It's a great action title that still hasn't exploited it's horror elements to it's potential. Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    Disclaiming: I never played Dead Space 1. However, Dead Space 2 really got my attention and I had a great time playing the game. It's a bit repetitive, but other than that the game, story and concept is one that I fell in love with. Well done, well worth the time and money.
  20. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To me, this game is epic.
    First, the survival horror feeling you have, just remember it in games like Silent Hill 1 and 2 and Resident Evil 1 and 2.
    The first Dead Space was good, but undoubtedly far exceeds in all respects.
    If there is any complaint you may get, is the lack of bosses with respect to 1, but the action that has at all times fully compensates without making a boring game.
    Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    I complete improvement from the first game. The story is not terribly eventful, but the characters (particularly Isaac) are far more fleshed out and show development over the course of the game, and this is really what sells the narrative. The gameplay feels finer and more carefully calibrated. Isaac is quicker on his feet and quicker to act. Gone are the tank like movements of the firstI complete improvement from the first game. The story is not terribly eventful, but the characters (particularly Isaac) are far more fleshed out and show development over the course of the game, and this is really what sells the narrative. The gameplay feels finer and more carefully calibrated. Isaac is quicker on his feet and quicker to act. Gone are the tank like movements of the first game. But of all things, the design has been improved by far the most. I still can't call the game scary, but it certainly tries far harder to be then the first game. The audio is beautifully executed, with close and ambient sounds constantly making you guess at what's at the next encounter. The graphics have a slight improvement, and it shows with the sight of enemies, which seem far more nightmarish looking . The setting for the game also helps. Set in The Sprawl, a city on one of Saturn's moons, the game feels far larger in scope then its predecessor and gives the experience and overall grander feel. DS2 is a game that plays with you at times, not just the other way around. All in all, a wonderful evolution from the first game. Can't wait to see what's in store for DS3. Expand
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Compared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly betterCompared to the original, Dead Space 2 is an improvement across the board. The horror in the first game was seriously lacking and though it hasn't changed much in the second game, the larger focus on action held my interest. The Sprawl is a more vibrant location than the Ishimura (the main reason being that every corridor doesn't look the same). The story and characters are slightly better this time around, though it is still hard to immerse yourself in the former and connect with the latter. Isaac has a voice this time around but nothing about his personality rises above "default video game hero". He says and does what we expect he would do, making him merely adequate. The dementia scenes are a nice touch to the game though they don't add much. The gameplay is largely the same as its predecessor except with a few new necromorphs and weapons. This isn't a bad thing considering that the gameplay was the best thing about the first game. Zero gravity scenarios are vastly improved as are the cinematic action sequences. Though it doesn't expand too much on the original game, Dead Space 2 is a game worth playing. Expand
  23. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    When i played the 1st dead space, i went in with not much expectation, that was soon changed as i experienced what has to be a masterpiece of its genre, dead space 2 lives up to its predecessor almost instantly, with more refined game play elements alone side an exciting and horrifying atmosphere that really pulls you into whats and holds you right to the end.
  24. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's surely difficult for a game with the success that the original Dead Space had upon it's release to improve upon itself whilst adding to what has gone before with it's sequel. Dead Space 2 does just that.

    The game itself has many stand out moments and set pieces, down to the very way in which Isaac recovers his equipment from the last game, something that could easily have been more pedestrian in a lesser game and would have gone unconsidered/unnoticed. Overall, well thought out and great fun.
    Expand
  25. CPB
    Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space 2 is slicker and more action packed then it's predecessor, this is both good and bad, and I will explain why. But lets start with the good, the combat is faster, more enemy types, and a deeper narrative. Now for the bad every second a enemy jumps out of a vent and by the fifth hundred time it happens it becomes annoying and dampens the feel of the game. So overall very goodDead Space 2 is slicker and more action packed then it's predecessor, this is both good and bad, and I will explain why. But lets start with the good, the combat is faster, more enemy types, and a deeper narrative. Now for the bad every second a enemy jumps out of a vent and by the fifth hundred time it happens it becomes annoying and dampens the feel of the game. So overall very good game, and a little bit better then the original. Expand
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space is the best recent survival horror game out there. The original game took pleasure in messing with your head and building suspense from just the atmosphere alone. This time around, it seems like EA was going more for terror by numbers and cheap scares. Despite this fact, the story was still very well written and you got the opportunity to get to know what kind of person IsaacDead Space is the best recent survival horror game out there. The original game took pleasure in messing with your head and building suspense from just the atmosphere alone. This time around, it seems like EA was going more for terror by numbers and cheap scares. Despite this fact, the story was still very well written and you got the opportunity to get to know what kind of person Isaac Clark is. Although non-stop action doesn't usually go over very well for most games (unless you are a huge fan of Michael Bay productions, or anything that favors style over substance), it seemed to be pretty well balanced by the events that transpire throughout the game. It pulls you in from the beginning and refuses to let go. Expand
  27. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    I am fed up jumping and screaming,im a grown man for goodness sake....started on disc 2...out of credits meds and ammo...i think i hear something sounds like a baby???....great game....graphics & atmosphere...hollywood take note..bring on deads space 3.....

    '
  28. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I have to admit that I was expecting more from Dead Space 2 during my first playthrough. Despite the rather adrenaline-pumping start to the game, as the shock wore off I realized that I wasn't seeing enough that was new. I had seen a few new guns and enemies, some refined controls, and a faster-paced storyline, but overall the experience felt the same as the first one (andI have to admit that I was expecting more from Dead Space 2 during my first playthrough. Despite the rather adrenaline-pumping start to the game, as the shock wore off I realized that I wasn't seeing enough that was new. I had seen a few new guns and enemies, some refined controls, and a faster-paced storyline, but overall the experience felt the same as the first one (and disappointingly shorter too). Then I started Round 2...and Round 3...and Round 4...and I realized that I loved the fact that the changes were subtle. The first Dead Space was a near-perfect game to begin with, and the sequel improves upon that experience with an incredibly long list of those subtle changes: from the ability to switch difficulty between rounds, to the imposing Hard Core mode, to being able to free-float and fight in space, Dead Space 2 takes everything that was good about the first one and makes it better. Can't possibly go wrong picking this up. Expand
  29. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    Buy. Dead Space 2 brings back the survival horror genre, for me, that I've been thirsting for since original Resident Evil. It takes everything Dead Space did right, fine tuned some things that were weak and made on heck of a late night fright game. The story picks up a couple years after DS1 and is just as gripping and twisted as the first. Playing this late at night, lights out,Buy. Dead Space 2 brings back the survival horror genre, for me, that I've been thirsting for since original Resident Evil. It takes everything Dead Space did right, fine tuned some things that were weak and made on heck of a late night fright game. The story picks up a couple years after DS1 and is just as gripping and twisted as the first. Playing this late at night, lights out, headphones on will make you want to drop your controller more than once. Finished it on Zealot setting after New Game+ completed and had a wonderful time the second time through. Included in DS2 is also MP mode. To be honest, I did not enjoy it for more than one hour, but its a nice addition that will add replayability if you enjoy the MP. Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    It's Ton of fun, huge improvement from the first one. Multiplayer is pretty fun. The campaign lasted, for me on normal, for 14 hours. Long, action packed campaign, which really improved the action from the first one. You will just out of you seat at times. You heart will be pounding into you chest, trying to break through. Great sequel, great action. Highly recommend.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. May 24, 2011
    88
    The transition between CGI and gameplay delivers a great horror atmosphere. Isaac Clarke's got personality and we are only missing some bigger bossfights.
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    88
    With this sequel, Visceral Games has masterfully expanded on the first Dead Space. They've revved up the series with tougher guns, a bigger setting, and online multiplayer, but kept the spirit and, most importantly, the scares of the original in tact.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    100
    I was expecting Dead Space 2 to be a great game, but it exceeded my expectations with beautiful, creative environments and a large array of both enemies and weapons with which to kill them.