Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Left for dead on Tau Volantis, Isaac Clarke and John Carver face a daunting journey. As madness takes hold, they find they can't trust their eyes or each other. The trek leads to the ship Terra Nova, now home to a sadistic cult of Unitologists. The horror continues as the Dead Space sagaLeft for dead on Tau Volantis, Isaac Clarke and John Carver face a daunting journey. As madness takes hold, they find they can't trust their eyes or each other. The trek leads to the ship Terra Nova, now home to a sadistic cult of Unitologists. The horror continues as the Dead Space saga enters its darkest chapter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    All of the shooting and stomping and crafting lead Awakened toward a conclusion that left me wanting more, so much so that the original game's ending seems superfluous in hindsight. There's a steady, rhythmic approach to the battles in Awakened that can become repetitive, but they succeed in paving the way for even more future fights.
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    82
    You should absolutely play Awakened if you’ve already beaten Dead Space 3. It’s one of the more original and memorable parts of Isaac’s story… which says as much about Dead Space 3 as a game as it does the quality of this DLC.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    65
    Dead Space 3 would have been well served to include some of the thrilling gameplay featured here, but Awakened‘s convoluted narrative has far too many absurd plot holes—and is far too short—to be worth anything to anyone but the most die-hard Dead Space fans.
  4. 50
    How many more filthy, blood-spattered mess halls, garages and control rooms must we trudge through, in search of loot drops and audio diaries? How many more vents and sinkholes must we wearily inventory on entering an area, in readiness for the moment when the soundtrack jack-knifes and the undead pop into view? Awakened doesn't have answers for these questions.
  5. May 9, 2013
    50
    It's borderline slapstick at times. [June 2013, p.75]
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    45
    Rather than resolving what came before it, Awakened simply shrugs its shoulders for a couple hours before throwing another cliff-hanger ending your way. Sure, it still plays perfectly well, with plenty of intense dismemberment and a pleasingly varied selection of necromorph enemies to fend off.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    20
    Possibly the worst value for money expansion of the modern era, with little more than an hour of generic action, bad storytelling, and zero scares.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Overall, it's a very good DLC but a bit too short. It took me and a partner 1 hour and a half to complete it. This DLC by far has the creepOverall, it's a very good DLC but a bit too short. It took me and a partner 1 hour and a half to complete it. This DLC by far has the creep factor that was missing in the original game. It is three chapters long and make sure to complete the game first before purchasing this DLC! The plot is engaging and has a twist towards the end! If you have 10 dollars to spare, definitely check it out! Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    While short, this was as intense and fun DLC for Dead Space 3. It amps up the gore, language and cultist elements to another level. If youWhile short, this was as intense and fun DLC for Dead Space 3. It amps up the gore, language and cultist elements to another level. If you though the main game was creepy, this is even worse (which is good). Not sure I'd say it's worth $10, but it's a nice addition to a great game. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    Awakened is Visceral's latest story DLC for Dead Space 3, which can be played both solo or with a Co-op partner. It picks up where the gameAwakened is Visceral's latest story DLC for Dead Space 3, which can be played both solo or with a Co-op partner. It picks up where the game ended, so don't play this DLC if you haven't yet beaten DS3. Awakened spans 3 chapters, clocking in around 2 hours. There’s collectibles to find much like in the base game, new enemies to fight and a twist ending you don‘t want to miss! It’s well paced, engaging, and truly scary unlike the original game. This DLC isn’t perfect, though. It‘s a really short and costly piece of DLC, and you find yourself trekking through locations you have already visited, but if you’ve beaten DS3 and want more, then maybe Awakened is for you. Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    5
    This DLC is NOT worth the 10 dollars you will spend on it. Wait until it goes on sale. The DLC took me about an hour to complete, and itThis DLC is NOT worth the 10 dollars you will spend on it. Wait until it goes on sale. The DLC took me about an hour to complete, and it wasn't even an hour's worth of fun entertainment. The DLC takes you to the same locations you've already seen in Dead Space 3 with a few new decorations, but nothing substantial. You literally explore the same hallways you've seen in DS 3, and there aren't a lot of new enemy types or much variety to warrant a full purchase of this DLC. The new enemies you face in Awakened are frustrating beyond belief. At certain points in the game, the player experiences these psychotic delusions that terribly distort the screen, all the while allowing enemies to spawn right behind your back, which makes them an incredible nuisance to deal with. It's not even the fun sort of challenge that's entertaining to overcome; it's the kind that makes you throw your controller away in anger, because of the DLC's poor gameplay decisions. I don't typically write reviews for games, but I was pretty turned off at Awakened's lack of new content and frustrating level design. If I can save one person from spending $10 dollars on this DLC, then I will have done my job. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers. Dead Space 3's story and conclusion is proportionate to its gameplay. You put in some whiteknuckle, 16-20 hours-long gaming and get a hell of ride. AKA, bang for your buck. Not only does Awkened's gameplay fall pathetically short, it delivers a major faux pas: it piles on too much at the end, plot-wise. it confirms that the story basically means nothing. no matter the efforts of the protagonist, nothing is ever resolved. The opposite in fact. Things are far worse.

    To me, this is the development team grinning with satisfaction over how they canoodled their way into extending their employment. The plot needs to make sense. There needs to more creative writing in gaming and after failures like gears of War 3, Assassin's Creed 3. The dialog relationship between carver and clarke is great, but the plot needs to slow down and look at itself or the dead Space franchise is going to end up doing the same campy mistakes GOW and AC did--rely on the gospel of second rate books.

    Awakened introduced what could have been a much cooler scenario if things had been diligently cared for. If the suspense was stretched out The cult leader is a fantastic idea for a nemesis, reminiscent of Silent Hill's Pyramidhead. I was really looking forward to encounters with this invincible baddy in tight spaces, but it didn't go that way.

    Isaac's hallucinations are an excellent variation on the "jump out at you from air ducts" strategy.

    All in all, this felt like a test run. Not a bona fide DLC. I'm grossly disappointed in the cost of this, the lack of endurance the team put into this, and the over-the-top conclusion which felt improportionate to the length of gameplay. If you're a fan of the series, you'll get this no matter what anyone says. I recommend you just read about it and save your money.
    Collapse
  6. Mar 12, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a huge let down indeed. They expect you to pay $10 to continue a story that should have ended at the end of the original 2 disc set, only to have you trudge through an hour and a half of mildly off-setting jump scares. There is very little new content, you battle a few "new" enemies re-incarnated from Dead Space 2 as they throw +3 upgrade circuits at you that you barely have any time apply and use at all. Almost all of the areas that you travel through are from the original game with a new orange tint that somehow is supposed to make it terrifying. If you're a hardcore Dead Space fan that really needs to know the "end" after the end, you'll still be disappointed. Shame on you Visceral, shame on you. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    $10 for about an hour's worth of content? screw you visceral i spent $10 on bioshock 2's minerva's den and got a whole new 6 hour single$10 for about an hour's worth of content? screw you visceral i spent $10 on bioshock 2's minerva's den and got a whole new 6 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on red dead redemption's undead nightmare and got a whole new 8 hour single player campaign. i spent $10 on dead space 3's awakened and got... 1.5 hour expansion that should have been included with the game for free in the first place. what a joke. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews