User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 640 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    As a 3rd person shooter it's clumsy and antiquated. As a Dead Space game, it is completely out of context with its predecessors, the story and writing are hackneyed, derivative, uninspired, lazy; its just bad, no way around it, cringe inducing. A game developed with a focus on ticking off boxes in order to appeal to a wider audience.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    So what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. the boss battle thingys can be annoying but its still easily up there as one of the best games to start 2013 so, if you like dead space or third person shooters pick it up!!!
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    For better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best Dead Space game. But it stands proud as a worthy entry into the Dead Space universe. I would compare it to the difference between Killzone 2 and 3. 3 was a really good game and technically superior. But 2 had that little extra magic and lore. At the same time, both earned there place on my book shelf and in my system for different reason. Bottom line, if you loved DS1 and DS2, you won't be disappointed in 3. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    Does a video game need to have horror to be good? The answer is no, but people will argue "It's not horror anymore so it sucks!" too which I will disagree. Just because it changed from pure horror to a mix of action and horror doesn't mean it's bad. I bought the game and retrieved it on release day with my friend so we could play it online, and while we have not yet beaten the game, we enjoy the gameplay thoroughly. The customization of weapons is quite fun, along with the need for resources and overwhelming number of necromorphs to keep you on your toes, as well as keep your eye on your ammo counter. The fear doesn't come from unkillable enemies or freaky enemies, but rather from the fact you might die soon and have to start over from that checkpoint. Does it have jumpscares? Yes there are some, but are they needed in mass amount like in DS1 to make it scary? No, the waves of enemies do that for you. Is co-op a necessity? Kind of, and thats why I don't consider it a perfect game because it has a necessity for you to FULLY enjoy the game. With that in mind, you definitely need a friend to team up with. The graphics are great still, and there is an atmosphere just like DS 1 and 2, with the blood and writing on the walls, the side missions that give you a story for places, and rewards you for exploring it, as well as the environment being torn and battered from the damage done. Overall I consider the game to be a new experience, and if you just want horror, go play Dead Space or Amnesia, because by now you shouldn't be scared because you KNOW these enemies, and you KNOW how to kill them, so without mystery the horror could not be repeated, and was instead set to a side with some action and gunplay that makes the game enjoyable and fun for 2 people to get together and in the words of the box art "Take down the Terror Together". Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    A tip to everyone, DO NOT LISTEN TO NEGATIVE USER REVIEWS, people often don't understand the meaning of 10 or 0, so just don't listen. Now to the review, in short, Dead Space 3 is the classic Dead Space you've come to know and love through and through. The story is still excellent, the visuals this time around are impressive, and the gameplay is still as grossly satisfying as ever. The new weapon system provides excellent variety, and the co-op mode is not intrusive. Co-op, in fact, adds to the story line making Dead Space 3 a much more worth while experience. The only problems I had were a few backtracking moments. The game is scary, a little less than previous installments, but is still satisfying. If you are a classic DS fan you will love this, if you are new to the franchise, you will love this game. Worth all the money, and if the game doesn't seem scary enough, play hardcore, you only get 3 saves for the entire game and if you die you go back to your last save. It is extremely intense. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    It is a solid 3rd person action shooter. It is not a step in the right direction for dead space franchise. It is not scary at all and does not create an eerie atmosphere like the first two games. It feels like a bloated attempt to reach more action based gamers as opposed to survival horror gamers. There are very few good survivial horror games that are actually scary and now the dead space franchise no longer fits that category. It is sad. Again a good game just not a good survival horror game. Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    While the scares are nowhere near as abundant as Dead Space 2, we still come out with a solid game. A little more cinematic and action driven game gives a good third entry in the Dead Space series. The graphics are outstanding, the sound is perfect in almost every respect, and the gameplay is familiar. The only thing that stops Dead Space is that its pacing is off, where certain sections keep you on the edge of your seat, and others just drag on, especially towards the end of the game. Co-op works surprisingly well too, at the end of the day it's still a good game, but not as great as its predecessors. Expand
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    It's a really good game. It is NOT a great game though. As a gamer who is a big fan of the first two games, I was excited and willing to give this game the benefit of the doubt since it seemed to carry more action and less horror. Good News? It is a fun game, with some good action and tons of replayability. The Co-Op is fun and actually well done and presented, its hard to find a good Co-Op game in today's market and this game does it right [IN THOSE ASPECTS].

    Cons? There are a few. The horror isnt there. Jump scares do NOT make a horror game and sadly, the game seems to try to rely on this rather than atmosphere. The atmosphere is well done and feels gritty and dangerous, but the hopelessness felt throughout the previous games is lost since all your weapons are there to take down dozens of necros with no problem. You are a badass, and while this doesnt hurt an action game, Dead Space was NEVER about the action, but about the survival. Overall, the story here is pretty good. Its a bit tedious at times since you seem to share the luck of a turd in terms on how anything and everything seems to go wrong, but since this is Dead Space, I can accept this. The story may be cliche for some, but if you accept the universe and story-telling from the previous games, this is honestly fine and quite a bit of fun. The cool parts are the ''insanity sections'' [particularly Carvers] since they do add a depth especially if you do Co-Op.

    What everyone needs to understand is that this is a fun action game with some good replayability. Personally, RE6 shouldve taken a leaf out of this games book in terms of co-op and mission design. But it should be noted that this game is NOT SCARY. It's tense because you can be fighting 15 enemies all at once and getting swarmed and on occasion something might pop out of the ground and give you a jump. The horror, however, the tactical survial is completely gone. It is worth to still play this game. You just need to have realistic expectations on what to expect when you start playing this because this is a fun game. This isnt the Dead Space we have been enjoying before however. Different, still good, but not scary is the short answer.
    Expand
  9. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    First of all this game is not a 10, 9, or 8. But it is definitely not a 0, either. After finishing Chapter 11 today, the game is definitely the worst in the Dead Space Trilogy. However, with that being said, it is still a satisfying game, albeit 'actiony'. Worth a play for fans, but maybe for a cheaper price. I cruised half-way through the game in a morning and afternoon session. Solid 7 score is what this game honestly deserves. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    First off I am a long time, die-hard, 100% Achievement in both DS1 and DS2, faithfull fan. However...
    I cannot wait to see the day when EA crashes and burns like any third installment in their franchises.
    Once again, like so many unfortunate developpers before them, Visceral Games have allowed their beautifully crafted, rich, compelling, niche title to be bastardized, reduced,
    simplified, and "cookie cutter'd" by EA's pursuit of money and sacrificial expediancy. I am writing this review not even having completed the game yet, which is a first. I have about 20 hours in, with a co-op partener, and have experienced everything from intense frustration, to sheer apathetic bafflement in regards to many aspects of the game.
    Atmosphere and Setting: While a serious departure from the previous two titles, DS3's arctic setting is actually quite refreshing in most aspects. The weather is believable and the buildings and ships are satisfactorily done. The best part about Dead Space was suspense about when an attack was coming. While several upcoming encounters were obvious there were always completely unexpected jumps between the snail speed crawls through corridors and corners. The overall feel sufferes intensly at the hands of non stop, almost labourious combat, and LITTERAL "copy pasted" levels such as the side missions. All the same corridors, the same encounter timing, the 3 step lowering of the supply pallet at the end... Even nintendo in the 1980's would facepalm at such repetetiveness. The soundtrack: Both musical and ambient noises, are inaudible over the constant fighting. Dead Space one's elevator and door noises still make me scream in side my head "SHHH SHHH SHHH BE QUIET YOU'RE GOING TO GIVE ME AWAY :S" That sense of trying to sneak around and not be found was epic... and totaly lost when Isaac, now apparently profficiant in millitary weapons and their design, runs around with rocket launchers and bulpup rifles. World credibility: Remember the time when each enemy type had a backstory or at least an origin? The normal Slashers were everyday people, the Lurkers and Crawlers we're infants and toddlers, the Twitchers came from hosts with stasis, The Pack were children... There are so many missing peices to some of these enemies and the world itself. If this was a super top secret military research zone where are the children coming from? Why can't a door malfunction and not be followed by an attack? Or better yet, not magically un-malfunction the second the attack is over? And wasn't this game supposed to be about scavenging? There was a time when I never used the safe, never sold ammo (for the one or two guns I was using), and actually had a chance to run out if I didn't MANAGE MY INVENTORY properly. I remember that being a selling point of the earlier installations. Now, even on Hard, I am leaving stuff behind because I can't carry it all. Other Frustrations: Autosaves vs Save Points: I really hope there are manual save points in single player. Several times now I have been set back two or even three whole missions, yet kept my gear from them... Bugs and glitches: Can't say I've had any deal breaking problems here. But lets say the stories of some other people's bugs are more frightening than the game has been so far. New Weapon system: Took a bit to get used to. Overall I miss when Isaac was an engineer, not rambo with a welding ticket. A lot of trial and error to figure out how it all worked. The blueprints were quite confusing and the lack of a more well laid out tutorial was a setback. But since I'm always complaining about developpers dumbing things down I really can't make a stink about this now can I? Quick time events Instant deaths Enemy Generation Enemy Reactions.
    -QTE's are for games that lack developper talent to create open, intelligent combat scenarios. I'm getting way too sick of "mash (A) to not die" -Instant deaths are a real let down in a game. They fail to reward quick thinking and ingenuity and make you grind through a multi step scenario where you learn from one death how to get to the next death until all the steps are over. The rappelling sections and Snow Beast are perfect examples of this. I've had several occasions where he runs at me undodgeably, hits me, and stomps on me non stop till I die without even the slightest chance of even getting up. -While I've been avoiding the "Gears of Space 3" whining, since when could Stalkers pop out of the ground like locust? -Apparently being hit by anything short of Contact, Force, TK impale, Rocket or Grenade causes no reaction in enemies. Didnt we used to have trouble shooting their limbs off with bullets? Hence the Plasma Cutter, which is unsuably weak despite a plethora of +2 Damage circuits. I'm running out of space here but you all get the idea. While the game is begrudgingly frustrating it's still somewhat fun. But this is NOT my Dead Space. Hey EA, do better, suck less.
    Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    Unfortunately one of my favorite franchises of the last few years has taken a huge misstep. Dead Space 3 followed the recent RE6 model and tried to be much more of an action game. I was maybe scared once or twice during the entire campaign...and I scare very easily. Instead of great pacing and subtle changes throughout the levels, DS3 became a shooting gallery. Tons of enemies is NOT the answer. The story is awful, with a recycled and laughable main villain. Unlike in the past, the secondary characters are paper thin and made me feel nothing for them. Not to mention Ellie was trashed in this, with her magically grown back eye and noticeably enlarged chest....sweet there goes a strong female character! Like I mentioned earlier there was not a single shred of horror in this newest entry in the series. Then there was the new gameplay format. Optional missions were added to obviously inflate a weak, severely lacking main quest. LINEAR works for Dead Space. The first two games proved this with excellent level crafting, pacing, and plot development. The only saving graces about DS3 were the great environments, sound design, and co-op campaign. There were some cool moments, but they were fleeting. The Dead Space franchise should definitely take a break after this game, and should be reevaluated to see what made the first two so fantastic, before moving onto a four or even reboot. RENT RENT RENT Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    i want to start of by saying that if you are playing dead space solely for the horror aspect then you may want to not play it at all. I'm sorry to say but the horror aspect of dead space 3 is just not apparent. when i open a door I'm not crapping in my pants over what lies beyond (although there were some very well placed jumpscares). all of this EA padding and money whoring really does not effect game play at all. neither does co op hell it just immerses you into the story even more. besides horror being dull the good things about it are plentiful: even though its not scary there is a lot of tensions and an eerie ambience. the weapons crafting system is pure genius. i love the fact that i can look for parts and make awesome new weapons with so many combinations and permutations. the combat is immersive and overall amazing. it feels like a top notch sic fi survival. un summation, you should look at dead space 3 as more of a sic fi survival than a gut clenching horror. this game with no doubt deserves a fair 8. only since dead space lives to be a horror game and is not scary. but the combat, tension in atmosphere, (combat can be scary and brutal on you) redeems the quality of the scariness. the story itself feels a little padded with pointless drama but does not detract from the marker lore. such minor details should not keep you away from a great played game like this with so much replay value. a solid 8 from me and is worth your money Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2013
    4
    I'm fairly disappointed with this game. too many bugs and glitches just make this game not fun..infinite ammo just from save quitting from the practice room? how did this pass QA? the scavenger bot going missing, again how did all this miss QA? oh but the micro transactions seem to working just fine.

    it really shows where companies priorities are these days. back then when you couldn't
    hot fix bugs with internet/DLC/online services, your game HAD to be in top condition before release or you suffered harsh criticisms and ratings from the public. nowadays it seems like they care more about monetizing than actually making the game playable because they know they can hotfix it "later"...and that's bullcrap. I do not want the future of gaming to turn into this.

    this game is fun, and i already guessed it'd be coop considering they had to do something different. But there's too many cons that outweigh the pro's in my mind.
    Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I don't understand all the hate that is coming from people about this game. Is it more action? Yes. Does it have the same atmosphere as the original games? More so with Dead Space 2. The first game was amazing, I don't disagree, but people had reservations about Dead Space 2 before it came out. A common comment I would see is, "Oh why has Isaac turned into Iron Man". But when that came out everyone had got past the little things and embraced it. Here in lies the issue that most are having with Dead Space 3. Co-op.... Now don't get me wrong, Dead Space has always been a single player game(with the exception of extraction) but there is always potential to improve an I.P. in many ways and the developers felt that co-op would add to this. What they could have done is make two Isaac's or a throwaway character. Or even more terrifying they could have added an A.I. partner all the way through. But what they did was innovative and had it been a different I.P. I'm sure Visceral would be lauded for it. As it stands this game didn't reinvent the wheel, but it did try to innovate it, and in that respect I feel that this game is great. It improves weapon crafting while also adding a slew of altered enemies to fight in the process. Not only that but it also increases playtime with optional missions to undertake. Expand
  15. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    You're gonna see a lot of negative reviews for this game since some people hate EA so much, but this game does not deserve it, so far I'm up to chapter 4, and having so much fun, great story and the gameplay is very addictive. Dead Space 2 got a 90 overall from the critics, so far Dead Space 3 has a 79. that makes no sense, this game is equal to or better than it's predecessor. Seems that the critics from overseas are giving this game lower scores. Expand
  16. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    this game is great albeit the horror is toned and critics are bashing it but that is expected when they listen to the casual gamers instead of the hardcore fanbase. i dont know why people are hurt u ddnt have to buy the game but i will cause i love the series since its inception
  17. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is not the Dead Space we used to know, but still the same Dead Space that we love
    This time I feel more like watch a horror film rather than playing a game. The research by the dev on horror films surely helped the game in this aspect.
    The crafting system is new, a new way to add more personality in this game.
    The game feel more dynamic and it's really fun.
    One thing is that the
    Necromorphs doesn't seems to get stunned after being attacked. This is a good way to increase difficulty but I'm not sure if it's a good way to do it.
    The enhanced graphic amazed me, especially on the first chapter of the game. It's really a enjoyable game for me, as a hardcore Dead Space series gamer who played every game and most of the comics and novels
    At last, I know that some people may think negative to this game because of the DLC. Just one thing to say, they are not necessary and are addition to an already great gaming experience. I'm pretty sure that you will enjoy what you already have without those DLC suits and weapons.
    Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Is it just me or are fanboys as well as critics really reluctant to change? I feel Dead Space 3 succeeded where RE 6 failed: to provide a good combination between Survival Horror and 3rd person shooter. The control feels better than RE, the set pieces are better integrated into the game. Sure, it becomes more action oriented but Visceral Games have outdone themselves this time by increasing the scope of the Dead Space Universe. I was one of the few people that never got hooked on Dead Space, but now I am. If critics and fan boys are whining so much these days, why didn't they buy critically great shooters such as Binary Domain? or if they really liked the Survival horror genre, why didn't they gave Shadows of the Damned or RE Revelation a chance? Maybe because we're spoiled with choice? Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a perfectly good game, but it could have been so much better. Coming from someone who loved 1 and adored 2, this isn't about the horror aspect of the game and I don't give a about the DLC stuff. This is about the quality of the game and its value.

    Good: 1. Weapons crafting is great and innovative, allows for great variation. 2. Beautiful atmospheric environments. 3.Some great new enemies designs and ideas sprung from Alien3 and the Hal-Life such as headcrab controlling necromorphs, humans turned necromorphs through eating dead flesh, necromorphs growing new limbs through battle if you don't kill them quick enough and necromorphs taking over the dead bodies of other animals. 4. Co-Op is fun and has some great features, once again this isn't about the horror, its about the enjoyability. John Carver is a great character. 5. Story through logs still done fantastic. 6. The design of the 200 year old technology of the Southern Colonies works great in the context of the DS franchise, making it feel very natural.
    7. Side missions are fun and create good little side stories.

    Bad: 1. Big jump in story from DS2. Completely ignoring the tease of the overseer at the end of DS2, DS3 jumps ahead to EarthGov being overthrown by Unitologists. While not a bad idea, seems to be glossing over some other stories that could've come first. It ignores key story components that could've been used to build a stronger story that could've led to this a variation of this one eventually.
    2 Enemy variety is down. While the new designs are appreciated, you only get to see many of the same ones for most of the game. DS2 had great variety all the time, but DS3 throws the same ones for most encounters. 3. The feel of combat is different. Necromorphs are much faster, and the shooting on your end doesn't give the same feel of dismemberment fun. Everything is too high paced on both ends to enjoy the combat as much as you used too. Upgrading both Isaac and the necromorphs abilities makes sense but it seems to have taken away something that made the combat special that I can't quite put my finger on. Still, it's not bad combat, but it feels different from DS1 and 2 in a distinct way.
    4. Too many door malfunctions and quarantines to trap you in rooms to kill more necromorphs.
    5. Norton, just too cliche and I could see where everything about him was heading.
    6. Unitologist fights seems pointless. They're humans so they take damage anywhere.

    Still while it has its faults, its still a good game. Just not the sequel I wanted it to be.
    Expand
  20. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Is it better than dead space 1 or 2 hell no but is it a bad game hell no. Honestly people are over reacting so much with these low scores the game is great fun and just as good as the first 2.
  21. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I love this game!! I just started playing but the beginning already has me hooked, game play is solid, graphics are excellent, the story is toying with my emotions in the best way possible making me hate the villan even more. Was disappointed my gamestop didn't have a midnight release, but my anticipation, and expectations were all met with this amazing game and then some! I play black ops 2 but its hard to believe it has a higher rating even though it has became so repetitive, its boring. Not DS3 though this is a game that will have you on the edge of your seat, wondering what will happen next. A excellent addition to your gamer library. The Dead Space series is a must buy!! Expand
  22. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Dead Space 3 is spectacular to newcomers but I downside to veterans of the series. But, if you are new you will be definitely please with the stunning visuals, awesome sound, excellent game play, co-op and tons of weapon customization and RIG suits. Its absolutely fun to play especially with a friend. All in all I will be playing this game for a while until GTA 5
  23. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    This certainly isn't the Dead Space we used to know. It's much more Action oriented than the first two.
    This paired with the fact that the whole story seemed to be kind of standardized in every way turns this into an utter letdown. Even Ellie, who in DS2 was pretty much the most badass female in any videogame ever has been turned in to a standardized damsel in distress for the main
    characters to fight over, without any significant influence on the story whatsoever. What a disappointment.

    While I at first welcomed the more expansive storyline and universe of Isaacs tale I have to say that it severely dilutes the classic horror aspects of Dead Space. Nothing beats the terror of being in the middle of some horrible outbreak with no idea how to deal with it and no possible allies in reach. Nothing is more horrifying than complete and utter desolation. n DS3 on the other hand everything is explained from the start, and every five minutes one of your buddies calls you and tells you what to do and if you don't play coop it leads to weird situations when carver (the coop PC) suddenly pops up from nowhere, insults you for no reason and then disappears again.

    What's left is a standard actiongame with nice graphics and a standardized and occasionally ridiculous story. The action is solid but soon enough looses its excitement. At least after you have descended to the planet and walked through the 50th recycled bunker-corridor and killed the 500th monster jumping out of a suspiciously placed air vent you just can't help but feel exausted.

    And don't you dare spend any money on the microtransactions! Shame on EA for insulting its customers with crap like that!
    Expand
  24. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    I just want to state the differences between Dead Space 2 and 3, so you can draw your own conclusions. I have only played solo on hard so far. +Graphical improvements +Incredible production value +Replayablity +Upgrade/Crafting system overhaul +Faster, more deadly enemies +Enemy variety +Unintrusive Co-Op +Atmosphere (More like Promethius and 80's thrillers than previous dead space atmosphere)
    +There are a few, though less common chills and scares
    +Environmental variety
    +Side quests
    +It's incredibly fun and addicting

    -Less scares
    -Atmosphere (It's not terrifying)
    -Dementia is not present in Isaac's story arch. (I have not played as Carver.)
    -Isaac's character qualities have changed for the worse. He's less interesting and more generic.
    -Intrusive, guiding story. This is only a negative because the story isn't anything special, and doesn't feel anything like previous dead space games.
    -Frustratingly boring quests. (Go fix this, oh it needs another part, oh wait its still broken, did I mention you needed to gather this for the same broken ship?)
    -The fighting vs human enemies is very poor. The mechanics just aren't there.

    The game overall feels like it was put together to be a blockbuster, and that is probably why the focus on story was added. Even though there have been changes to the game it is an incredible game, that feels that it should be more of a spin off to the dead space franchise to me, than a core game. It is definitely worth playing once, if not a few times for fans of the previous games.
    Expand
  25. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    This game has definitely hopped on the action shooter bandwagon.. What happen to survival horror games The levels in dead space 3 are short with alot ..I mean alot of backtracking and most all indoor levels look identical, just because they have the lights off doesnt make it scarry this is there attempt to scare.....Enemies hardly ever change only a few types in the game What makes the game is the fact that you can upgrade weapons you find parts for this., However most stuff you pick up is worthless and it seems like every 20 seconds your picking up something you have so much of, it becomes exhausting. If your looking for a action shooter to play with a friend its not to bad, the game looks great I just wished i would have waited to get it used.. Expand
  26. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    One major positive aspect is the ability to disassemble and re-use weapon parts, meaning you never have to worry about consuming items in the crafting of a gun. It would have been easy for Visceral to inflict a penalty on players every time they built something, but instead you'll only lose resources by making objects from scratch, not from building guns out of components you already own.
    Read more at http://www.destructoid.com/review-dead-space-3-243873.phtml#GHp9wf1kqS5SrvP6.99
    Expand
  27. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    If you enjoyed the previous Dead Space games, you'll be sure to enjoy Dead Space 3. The most polished, well-paced entry in the excellent sci-fi horror series yet. Bringing a friend along for two-player co-op is a blast. Snow crumbles beneath Isaac’s boots, necromorphs are disgustingly detailed, and the backdrops are stunning. Solid voice acting sells the drama, and the cries of enemies are appropriately unsettling. The new weapon-crafting system and roll dodge make it easy to play the way you want to play. The environments are moody and the gameplay is without a hitch. This is one of the best horror games I’ve ever played. A fantastic game. Expand
  28. Feb 7, 2013
    6
    Sure we could go into this game being the DLC scumbag of the year, but the real star is the fantastic scripting and the wonderful combat scenarios that make the last two games in the series feel like a fever dream. Such rich dialogue, such fantastic love trianglezzz, such amazing encounters that make you feel like you are in action filmzzzz. While I deeply understand that there is a great sense of external pressure from a publisher and the things that they want to be included in a 2013 triple A title, go find your COD's and your MOH to vent your monetary frustrations. (And if you make me pay 60$ again only to find out that you want an additional 5$ for silly robot voices on the scavenger bots, you can go yourself). Expand
  29. Feb 7, 2013
    5
    I really liked Dead Space when it first came out and waited patiently for Dead Space 2 after that, which had a few improvements, but was not as scary as the first game. When EA announced that DS3 will be the scariest game of the trilogy, it immediately became my No.1 game in my wish-list. But what did I get for waiting? MASS EFFECT 1. I have nothing more to add. The game isn't scary at all, Necromorphs just run like crazy at you and do almost no damage, just as Husks do in ME. The game dropped all the horror elements and went full action. Expand
  30. Feb 16, 2013
    6
    Don't get me wrong, I'm a HUGE Dead Space fan, but this one just didn't have the magic that the first two had. The story wasn't as personal this time around and Isaac was flat throughout most of the game. There weren't any 'Wow' moments, clever gameplay moments, or awesome lead ins to the next chapter this time around. Think back to how scary it was when you first encountered a Stalker in DS2, or how disturbing it was when you saw that mother cradling her dead necromorph baby? Or when you finally fought the Tormentor that had been stalking you for half the game? There weren't any of these incredible moments in DS3 that captivated me or had me dying to know what happened next as in DS2. Aside from story complaints, this game was predictable and boring as well. How many times did they make you back track? How many environments looked EXACTLY the same? And just how many times did you walk into a room, and fight a bunch of necromorphs, walk ino another room, fight a bunch of necromorphs, and so forth and so on. Part of what made DS1 and 2 so great in you never knew when or how many necromorphs you'd be fighting... DS3 just made it a tired, predictable formula.

    If there's another DS game in the future, let's hope they bring the magic back.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    There’s also unevenness to the pacing between the high-energy action divided by constant collect-a-thons.
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    70
    A great horror game was turned into a decent co-op shooter. Dead Space 3 is well-made but the uniqueness of the series is gone. Was that really the goal? [CD-Action 04/2013, p.66]
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    73
    An impressive all-out action blaster that betrays its horror roots for a lower common denominator. [Apr 2013, p.64]