Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 643 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 focuses on Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver who embark on a journey through space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac searches the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. He then puts his engineering skills to the test to create and customize weapons and survival tools. The ice planet hides the key to ending the Necromorph plague forever, but first Isaac needs to withstand avalanches, treacherous ice-climbs, and the violent wilderness. Facing deadlier evolved enemies and the brutal elements, Isaac can choose to team up, not only for his own survival, but for that of mankind’s. Play together with a cohort or do it alone as Isaac Clarke using the seamless new drop in, drop out co-op functionality. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    98
    Dead Space 3 evolves the winning formula into a title not only befitting of the fantastic series, but also one of the best games of this generation.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    86
    Even if this episode has turned the series into a action game – even though there's many survival horror fans out there – we must admit it's a very good game. It provides great closure for the trilogy: long, spectacular and relatively different, but keep in mind that terror is not the main theme any longer.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    This is a game rife with options and flexibility, building on the strengths of the franchise with clever new ideas that let you tailor the experience to your liking. It hits a few sour notes in its story and struggles at times when it steps away from the core combat, but Dead Space 3 is a thrilling and worthwhile sequel.
  4. Feb 9, 2013
    78
    Dead Space 3 is a roller coaster ride. In Space you’ll find interesting missions, a nightmarish atmosphere and a brilliant sound design. But as soon as you land on the ice planet, not only do the temperatures drop, but also the motivation. The further you progress the more irrelevant and run-of-the-mill the game design gets.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    70
    Could've used touch-ups in existing areas, but hey. [Apr 2013, p.64]
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    50
    Dead Space 3 is a let down because it’s not a very good action game, and a really substandard horror game. It is devoid of ideas, hung up on laborious combat and obsessed with making even the exciting seem boring. In truth, it’s a bit of a shocker.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 160
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    So what its not as focused as the "survival horror" as the others it still and incredible game with a great story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. the boss battle thingys can be annoying but its still easily up there as one of the best games to start 2013 so, if you like dead space or third person shooters pick it up!!! Collapse
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    I am a die-hard Dead Space fan. I didn't expect this game to "scare" or "make me jump", that's the experience I enjoyed from the first and second game. Dead Space 3 is a perfect addition to the series, an expansive experience built on the atmosphere and story created by the original two games. All these new "features" that people are complaining about are mostly optional, so as not to deter from solo play, and they were a welcoming change of pace. It's the third game in the series and I found myself taking my sweet time progressing through the story, finding every little hidden item etc., tinkering at the workbench till I felt my weapon was suffiecient for killing even the toughest necromorphs. If you're a fan of Dead Space and it's awesome story, you'll love Dead Space 3. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    This franchise is among my favorite in the entire industry. This first game was one of the scariest thing I've ever experienced and the second one was a great game but I did find my self scared a jump scare or two got me but that was it. This game had quite a lot of attempts at scare but, much like the second, not many got pass. The overall mood of the game is mildly tense in a scary way but there is a large amount tension in not knowing what is going to happen next. The mood of the game best shows through during solo play, save co-op for your second play through. Overall, much like the second game, it does less than stellar in the horror genre, unless you are easily gotten by jump scares. On the earlier mention not of co-op, it works great when you have no one in your game then there is no AI to follow you around leavening the feel of the game intact, rather than making you fell like a babysitter for your AI partner. The combat is as great as ever and the weapon crafting system is easy and one of the most fun this about the game can be making new weapons. If you like the old weapons than have no fear they all make a return. There is even a mode unlocked upon beating the game that is unlocked where you can only use those guns. Speaking of other modes there are 4 in total, not including new game that add in things that make the game more interesting, like hardcore where you have to play the game without dying once or pure survival where you must craft med-kits and ammo as you find none through. This helps to boost replay value even higher which is amassing considering that this games cut-scenes are short and none feel unneeded. The pacing of the story is great if you like to explore your game worlds, if not it might be a little slow, the last two chapters, out of the nineteen in the game, felt a little rush as the story accelerated towards the finale. Exploring is rewarded in this game with not only achievements but in game rewards every time you complete a set, which range from text log to weapon parts and even artifacts.

    So to summarize if your looking solely for a horror game then look elsewhere but that is not to say the game is not great. The combat and mechanics are great and work flawlessly. The atmosphere is mildly tense and will keep you guessing on what will happen next. the graphics and sound design are beyond stellar. Replay value is high.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    8
    -1 for traveling in 1000 elevators
    -1 for lack of boss fights

    On the whole its what fans will want. Another narative with a protagonist
    who builds everything because he's the only engineer going from floor to floor killing necromorphs like a Metroid without having to shoot the doors...oh wait you have to shoot them with your hand. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    It's an action game, no longer a horror survival game. It feels way too much like Uncharted 2. After 30 minutes of playing this, I just wanted to turn on the PS3 and finish Uncharted 2 for the fifteenth time. Good graphics and voice acting though. There's a lot of effort but it just felt like a huge let down. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    Current score is pretty much accurate. I can't even stress how painfully disappointing the second half of this game is, compared to the first. The zero gravity exploration was gold and I thought this game was on pace to be every bit as good as the first...then you land on the planet and this game goes downhill from then on.

    Endless enemy spam, enemies blocking you into corners that spawn right next to you. The axe enemies that take way too much damage but continue to be thrown at you like crazy. Barely any necromorphs from the first game, just these annoying charging super enemies all day. Human enemies that are worthless. I've given up like 15 times during the 2nd half of the game out of boredom/aggravation, but continue on because I paid 20 something bucks for this game.

    Total letdown after the first two, which I thought were tremendous and would rate both of them as solid 9 to 9.5's. This wholly deserves it's 6, at best, rating.
    Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2013
    0
    Gears of War/Halo/Doom.... all games this one copies, no originality, everything happens in threes, you spend more time running around scavenging for on the other side of the level because you need it to open some door or fix something.... Frustrating and forgettable... should have saved my money Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.