Dead Space Xbox 360

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 790 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 790
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    I think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I am playing. The graphics are really well done and I often found myself completly "in character" because of this. Everything is top notch! I cannot wait for the sequel.
  2. PaulD
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This game has tremendous entertainment value. The level designs are creative and visually engaging, especially when you consider that most occur on a big spaceship. The 'baddies' are grotesque and frightening at times, but the real fun lies in tearing them to pieces with an array of upgradable weapons.
  3. ChrisH
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    A real contender for Game of the Year awards in 2008, Dead Space is a magnificent new IP from publisher Electronic Arts that both frightens and delights. The graphics and audio are top notch, with incredible attention to detail and solid voice acting. The story may be pretty standard as far as sci-fi horror is concerned (think Event Horizon and Aliens), but it's presented well and A real contender for Game of the Year awards in 2008, Dead Space is a magnificent new IP from publisher Electronic Arts that both frightens and delights. The graphics and audio are top notch, with incredible attention to detail and solid voice acting. The story may be pretty standard as far as sci-fi horror is concerned (think Event Horizon and Aliens), but it's presented well and never detracts from the gameplay. This game is incredible immersive, eschewing the standard HUD interface in most 1st and 3rd person games for health and ammo meters believably placed on the character's suit and guns themselves. It took about 13 hours to beat, but it's a really great ride and I'm glad I dropped the $60 price of admission, which is more than I can say for a lot of games. I can't wait to see more entries in the series! Expand
  4. JamieG.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    a brilliant, terrifying experience. It may have borrowed most of it's ideas from others, but I borrowed from the best, and may be the most complete horror experience on any format.
  5. JoshV.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This is the best survival horror game ever made. There is only one thing I didn't like in this game, the fact the Isaac never says anything. That's forgivable though. if you like sound, or visuals, this is the game for you. if you like games, this is the game for you. if you are human, this is the game for you. Buy it, support it, and pray for a sequel.
  6. May 22, 2011
    9
    I picked this up recently as it was deeply discounted,being an xbox 360 popular game.Once I started playing it,I couldn't put it down as it was a very entertaining game with nice weapons to use.I can't wait to pick up #2 now.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    "Game of the Year"-2008
    A game I can't say enough about to express my love for it. I'll try to make this simple. Dead Space is one of the greatest game ever made! It's the best and scariest horror game you'll ever play. No game brings bigger chills and scares then Dead Space. The story line is great, and very intense. Voice acting is amazing. The game play is great, and just the way it
    "Game of the Year"-2008
    A game I can't say enough about to express my love for it. I'll try to make this simple. Dead Space is one of the greatest game ever made! It's the best and scariest horror game you'll ever play. No game brings bigger chills and scares then Dead Space. The story line is great, and very intense. Voice acting is amazing. The game play is great, and just the way it should be. Like I said, there's not enough I can say to express my love for this game. I'll leave you with this-Dead Space deserves your attention, and hopefully, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  8. May 2, 2012
    7
    A beautifully atmospheric game, but the reliance on jump scares killed my enjoyment many times.

    The, 'huh wonder if some thing is going to jump out of that obvious grate' feeling pops up constantly, yet it still made me jump as fast moving objects tend to do for me, not so much fear as adrenaline.

    I would have preferred more sinking horror and less of a surprise fest.
  9. May 27, 2012
    10
    The new king of survival horror. Like playing in an alien movie. One of the best gaming experiences ever made. The atmosphere in this game is superb and the game will scare the **** out of you and keep you on edge. The boss fights are amazing.
  10. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    All right, you probably came here looking for decent survival horror game, correct? well, you're looking right at it. Very ambitious launch of franchise by infamous EA, despite having very few development time, it stands out as crown jewel of not only horror game fans, but shooter game fans in general. However, you should realize this game isn't really scary at all, but it does doAll right, you probably came here looking for decent survival horror game, correct? well, you're looking right at it. Very ambitious launch of franchise by infamous EA, despite having very few development time, it stands out as crown jewel of not only horror game fans, but shooter game fans in general. However, you should realize this game isn't really scary at all, but it does do fantastic job on unleashing so-called "cheap scare" in right moment, so if you aren't scared by this, it sure will keep you unsettled. That's for sure. Atmosphere of game is very well created thanks for the great sound effects, and the combat is very challenging, as you're forced to do "strategical dismembering" as you're chased by very well distinguished enemies, and trying to aim enemy's limb in intense situation does require great amount of focus. However, game loses its value after first playthrough. You probably got over with all the horror moment and got familiar with it, you probably remember which vent enemies blasted through, and you probably have well-upgraded killing machine at your disposal, and this is moment where game just becomes survival game. However, this game still is pretty good at being TPS zombie shoot-em-up, and harder difficulties really force you to conserve your ammunition, so there are a lot of strategy involved in this game. Even though it has low replay value, many will enjoy playing this game over and over again despite some flaws. So, don't hesitate to pass this game if you're familiar with horror games or TPS games in general. This game will not disappoint you. Expand
  11. JayG
    Feb 3, 2009
    9
    Dead Space is such a clever and unique title. The game takes the behind the shoulder angle like Resident Evil 4 and even improves on it by having your HUD on the character, life, slowmotion, and ammo gauges. The graphics and gameplay are perfect, recomended for anyone who like RE4 or survivor horror games.
  12. EndymionU.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    This game is a great experience for anyone anticipating the next Resident Evil installment. In fact, this could be dubbed EA's attempt at "Resident Evil in Space". Lacking much of anime stylings of the RE series (such as very identifiable characters), EA has done a good job recreating the experience. Another thing to note is their attention to scaring the player regularly. The latter This game is a great experience for anyone anticipating the next Resident Evil installment. In fact, this could be dubbed EA's attempt at "Resident Evil in Space". Lacking much of anime stylings of the RE series (such as very identifiable characters), EA has done a good job recreating the experience. Another thing to note is their attention to scaring the player regularly. The latter quarter of the game seems to loose this benefit, as the majority of their tactics have been used and they prefer to throw more and more enemies at you instead, and also suffers from a very typical, easy, and boring final boss. However, the game is overall worth a playthrough, especially for those who like the the mechanics of the RE series. Expand
  13. HagenM.
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    This game takes everything the RE4 did gameplay wise, nearly perfects it, then adds in the most frightening game ever created. This is the only game I have ever been to afraid of to play it at certain hours of the night. The amazing sound design and the most frightening things I have ever seen, the Necromorphs, saw to that. The story starts out slow but then draws you in as you begin to This game takes everything the RE4 did gameplay wise, nearly perfects it, then adds in the most frightening game ever created. This is the only game I have ever been to afraid of to play it at certain hours of the night. The amazing sound design and the most frightening things I have ever seen, the Necromorphs, saw to that. The story starts out slow but then draws you in as you begin to feel that you are Isaac Clarke. Throw in a completely unexpected twist and you will fall in love with this story. The gameplay as said, capitolizes on RE4's over the shoulder style, but adds in a completely new design mechanic, Strategic Dismemberment. With SD, you must aim at certain areas of certain Necro's bodies. This game also brings and eeries sense of hopelesness, as you search for more ammo when you seem to be running out and must flee from oncoming necro's. Nothing else get's your heart pumping like Dead Space. Expand
  14. PeteB
    May 3, 2009
    9
    Dead Space-where no one can hear you scream.... Dead Space puts you in the shoes of Isaac Clark, an engineer sent to fix communications on a mining ship. But he finds no one on board and soon finds out the horrific truth--an anceint alien species has been released on the ship. Graphics-9/10 very good light effects and great graphics will have you on the edge of your seat(and soiling your Dead Space-where no one can hear you scream.... Dead Space puts you in the shoes of Isaac Clark, an engineer sent to fix communications on a mining ship. But he finds no one on board and soon finds out the horrific truth--an anceint alien species has been released on the ship. Graphics-9/10 very good light effects and great graphics will have you on the edge of your seat(and soiling your pants). Story-10/10 brilliant! full of twists and turns that make a great game even greater I dont want to spoil anything though! Audio-10/10 music adds a lot to the atmosphere, voice acting and gun sounds are spot on and Necromorphs sound as scary as hell! Gameplay-8/10 Controls may take a while to get used to and the map and inventory are crap to be honest but once you get used to them they fit in great with the game. The worst part is that it can get repetitive near the end. Overall-9/10 horror fans will love it and it is worth at least a rental for any gamer trust me-it wont let you down. Expand
  15. Komino
    Nov 20, 2008
    9
    Great creepy atmosphere with outstanding attention to detail, the game oozes polish. Utterly enjoyable, a perfect length and visually top notch. Highly recommended.
  16. OlliK.
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Dead Space is a so-called survival horror third-person shooter developed by EA Redwood Shores. The game takes place in a mining out-post, the USG Ishimura, which is the biggest space station devised by humans to satisfy the material needs of earth. When contact with the installation is lost, a group of engineers is sent to see the problem solved. They find themselves stuck in the middle Dead Space is a so-called survival horror third-person shooter developed by EA Redwood Shores. The game takes place in a mining out-post, the USG Ishimura, which is the biggest space station devised by humans to satisfy the material needs of earth. When contact with the installation is lost, a group of engineers is sent to see the problem solved. They find themselves stuck in the middle of a nightmare, after their shuttle crash-lands on the space station. There's a lot of good things to say about the game. The atmosphere is oppressive and keeps the player on their toes and expecting something to happen at all times. This is achieved by (technically up-to-date) appropriate graphics that include skilled use of lights (or lack thereof), terrifying traces of past struggle, good map designs with rather contrasty tones and subdued colors. Still better, however, is the use of sounds that constantly make you turn around and look over your shoulders. Playing Dead Space home alone, lights off, is no mere trifle. It's a scary game. The weapons are relatively original and balanced; the more powerful weapons are useful in some battles, but by no means make the more basic ones obsolete. In fact, I used almost exclusively the two least exotic ones through-out the campaign. The capacity to improve your weapons and other equipment with what are called power nodes adds a nice touch, and since there is only a limited amount of them, forces you to focus on a few weapons and plan ahead. Also, your inventory is not bottomless, again forcing you to pick over the things you want to carry. Kudos Redwood Shores. The combat is enjoyable. The shooting feels like it should, not the Halo-esque smoke and mirrors, flashy ray guns with little kick (or need for brain-use), but sounding and feeling like actual gun-fights. Furthermore, what the developers call Expand
  17. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    "They made this game not as if it were the anchor of some new franchise, but as though they might never get to make another one. It was humbly constructed." -Tycho Brahe That just about says it all. It manages to be awesome, internally complete and, at the same time, not full of itself. More games should be this good. I'm tempted to buy an extra copy or two just to send EA a message "They made this game not as if it were the anchor of some new franchise, but as though they might never get to make another one. It was humbly constructed." -Tycho Brahe That just about says it all. It manages to be awesome, internally complete and, at the same time, not full of itself. More games should be this good. I'm tempted to buy an extra copy or two just to send EA a message to stop making sports games. Expand
  18. AlisonW.
    Jan 9, 2009
    10
    A psychologically sickening story and grusome visual effects added with epic audio, scary lights, and total immursion makes Dead Space one of the most horrifying and terrifying games ever. It puts you on the edge of your seat with suspense and tension, then makes you fall off when the monsters come. If you like blood and guts and violence, buy this game. If you like good programming and a A psychologically sickening story and grusome visual effects added with epic audio, scary lights, and total immursion makes Dead Space one of the most horrifying and terrifying games ever. It puts you on the edge of your seat with suspense and tension, then makes you fall off when the monsters come. If you like blood and guts and violence, buy this game. If you like good programming and a spine-tingling soundtrack, buy this game. If you like a chilling story and a gripping plot, BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  19. FenjenH.
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    This is THE best single player game I've ever played. If you get used to the game it's not that scary anymore but still it's really fun. I'ts the first (single-player) game ever that I played again after beating it. I really can't wait till Death Space 2.

    10 out of 10 because you can't choose 9.5 (it still has some minor flaws)
  20. DaveB
    Apr 6, 2009
    9
    Dead Space was a rough ride from start to finish, in an exceptionally good way. The graphics are stunning and the soundtrack flawless, and the tension created almost made me want to stop playing the game. The storyline is good, if not a bit similar to Doom 3, and I felt a huge drive to finish the game to find out what was going on! The maps, if not very linear, were excellently made with Dead Space was a rough ride from start to finish, in an exceptionally good way. The graphics are stunning and the soundtrack flawless, and the tension created almost made me want to stop playing the game. The storyline is good, if not a bit similar to Doom 3, and I felt a huge drive to finish the game to find out what was going on! The maps, if not very linear, were excellently made with the anti-gravity and limb shooting a unique touch. Very scary and almost a relief to finish but I will definitely be giving it a second go on impossible mode. Expand
  21. Sasha
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played and my favorite single player survival horror game ever!(L4D is fav multi-plyr). the game could have been longer though. i beat it in 10.5 hours, but i roam around and look for things. this game had amazing atmosphere and lighting, and the guns were great, even though the ripper could have been a little stronger. i almost sh** my self so many times One of the best games i have ever played and my favorite single player survival horror game ever!(L4D is fav multi-plyr). the game could have been longer though. i beat it in 10.5 hours, but i roam around and look for things. this game had amazing atmosphere and lighting, and the guns were great, even though the ripper could have been a little stronger. i almost sh** my self so many times it wasn't even funny. the end of the game was incredible. *no spoilers* the last boss was epic, it was like the kinda boss you would expect from Gears. and the last thing u see before the game ends freaked me out so much i had to call it my favorite game ending ever! also, the story was great too and there was a plot twist no one will see coming. Here's waiting for Dead Space 2! Expand
  22. SteveL.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    I love this game.
  23. MackA.
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    This game rocks! It has the 3rd person camera and combat formula of Resident Evil 4, but expands on it. You can customize your weapons even better than RE4 and it's full of scares and cinematic story twists. Even after I beat the game, I went back for more because after completing it, you get military grade armor, 50k credits, 10 power nodes, and even more! This game is my absolute This game rocks! It has the 3rd person camera and combat formula of Resident Evil 4, but expands on it. You can customize your weapons even better than RE4 and it's full of scares and cinematic story twists. Even after I beat the game, I went back for more because after completing it, you get military grade armor, 50k credits, 10 power nodes, and even more! This game is my absolute favorite horror game. Expand
  24. SteveP
    Oct 15, 2008
    9
    I have not played the full game, so this comment is based on the first four hours of play i have experienced. I just wanted to say that this game, so far, is absolutely brilliant. To get the most common criticisms out of the way, yes, the plot is pretty thin. Yes, the theme is 'revisited' alien sci-fi-horror , and yes, it is aparently a short game. Now the rest of it ? Freaking I have not played the full game, so this comment is based on the first four hours of play i have experienced. I just wanted to say that this game, so far, is absolutely brilliant. To get the most common criticisms out of the way, yes, the plot is pretty thin. Yes, the theme is 'revisited' alien sci-fi-horror , and yes, it is aparently a short game. Now the rest of it ? Freaking gold, man, gold. Its polished, its beautiful, its a little scary, but most of all its fun. Stomping the crap out of aliens that startled me has YET to get old, and i doubt it will. I'd vote this a 10 if i'd actually finished it, but for now, a solid, solid 9. Expand
  25. DougH
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    This game is the first really outstanding title I've played this fall. The combat is top-notch, the atmosphere is scary as hell, and the sometimes mundane tasks never seem to get in the way of the action.
  26. DaveM.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    One of the most frightening games I've ever played! I don't scare easily and this game had me jumping. Art design and sound design are absolutely superb. Levels are fun to play and the action and suspense is constant. This game is a refreshing change from all of the androgynous titles that have been released lately. This amazing game has kicked off the gaming season with a bang! One of the most frightening games I've ever played! I don't scare easily and this game had me jumping. Art design and sound design are absolutely superb. Levels are fun to play and the action and suspense is constant. This game is a refreshing change from all of the androgynous titles that have been released lately. This amazing game has kicked off the gaming season with a bang! A must buy, I guarantee it. Expand
  27. MarkN.
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    I honestly had low expectations going into this game. I expected a survival horror game that tries to borrow from the strengths of games such as Resident Evil, Gears of War, Doom while including plots twists of Aliens and the Thing. Just basicly taking the good of gaming and cinema and trying to mesh it all together. This game simply stands on its own. It's rather amazing. This game I honestly had low expectations going into this game. I expected a survival horror game that tries to borrow from the strengths of games such as Resident Evil, Gears of War, Doom while including plots twists of Aliens and the Thing. Just basicly taking the good of gaming and cinema and trying to mesh it all together. This game simply stands on its own. It's rather amazing. This game is truly horrifying. Be prepared to utter some colorful panic phrases at least through the first half of the game. At a certain point.. Call it getting used to the controls.. call it getting used to the horror... but you almost become like a bad arse rambo zombie alien killing machine. The weapon selection/upgrade provides no end in variation on how to dispatch the baddies. I found myself switching up weapons... Not only for strategy sake.. but out of pure fun. This game also requires you to really think. Unlike Doom 3 where you run through picking up weapons.. blowing everything away.. You actually have to THINK about what weapons you use.. how much ammo you carry... How many health packs... If you are overconfident in one way or another (thinking you will blast through it being armed to the teeth without needing extra health or stasis.. You'll find yourself in a bad spot. Balancing everything out.. BASED ON YOUR strengths is what works. I don't think any two gamers will approach this game with the same exact strategy... and that's what's great. THere are no tricks here... No simple right strategy... No sure fire upgrade plan... You just do what works.. I admit that all this game could have included was just a little bit of humor.. Perhaps a wise cracking Isaac.. Not fearless.. but perhaps disquising fear with a tough bravado... Because that's exactly what you'll be trying to do as you progress... Relish in the kick arse moments where you fling a zombie alien across the room and take down another with your flametrhower.... clear the room... feel empowered.. make some jokes.. then be scared to death to enter the next. Expand
  28. beavisbutt
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    This is gaming goodness , great visuals,audio, gameplay and story combine for a solid experience. The no HUD approach works brilliantly keeping you in the acttion finding the enemies a little repetitious but fun factor makes up for this havn't had this much fun since BIOSHOCK quality gaming.
  29. ChrisL.
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    This game is stunning. I couldn't put it down from the first minute I started playing. The atmosphere is more immersive than Bioshock; the graphics are better; I loved the story, and the difficulty scaled up appropriately as the game progressed. (I was worried that I might have to restart on Hard, because the beginning seemed almost too easy, but ammo and med packs quickly grew more This game is stunning. I couldn't put it down from the first minute I started playing. The atmosphere is more immersive than Bioshock; the graphics are better; I loved the story, and the difficulty scaled up appropriately as the game progressed. (I was worried that I might have to restart on Hard, because the beginning seemed almost too easy, but ammo and med packs quickly grew more scarce after Chapter 1...) If it weren't for GTA4 I'd be tempted to call this the best game of 2008. Expand
  30. EmmettS.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Bio-Shock was an incredible game... Half-Life was an incredible game... Gears of War was an incredible game... On the other hand, The Thing was an incredible movie... Event Horizon was an incredible movie... Alien was an incredible movie... Now take both your hands and smash them together! Your left with one incredibly awesome game: Dead Space.
  31. BossJediMonkey
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is the Bioshock of 2008. Takes all the great gameplay elements from other games, Resident Evit 4, Half Life 2, Doom 3, Metroid Prime and makes a game greater than the sum of it's parts. It will scare you. You will have nightmares after finishing it. But you'll want to play it again and again.
  32. EricP.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I love this game to death! I don't play many survival horror games, but when I played this I was taken in by it. The atmospher is great, along with the enemies being gory, polished, and captivating. In my opininon, it has one of the greatest plotlines this year, nay, this decade. The replay value, for me, is better than some people say. Though the ADs Cannon part in level four is a I love this game to death! I don't play many survival horror games, but when I played this I was taken in by it. The atmospher is great, along with the enemies being gory, polished, and captivating. In my opininon, it has one of the greatest plotlines this year, nay, this decade. The replay value, for me, is better than some people say. Though the ADs Cannon part in level four is a huge cutoff, This game still deserves a 10 for its extreme gore, great plot, some hilarious dark irony, awesome enemies, eye-candy graphics and intense shooting action. Bottom line is buy it, buy it now. Expand
  33. ZO
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    The game is almost an exact copy of System Shock 2, right down to the level progression. That being said, since SS2 is my favorite game of all time any game that tries to (and successfully) copies it is ace in my book. The turrent portions are pointless and out of place, though.
  34. RobertM
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Best survival horror game in quite some time; perhaps ever. The graphics are great, with the exception of the shadows which can be pixelated in certain areas. The combat is tight, and can get downright intense. Overall, it's the game Silent Hill, and Resident Evil wishes they were.
  35. Rince
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Biggest surprise of 2008! An incredibly well-made and polished game; a true piece of art that needs to be in the collection of every sci-fi and/or horror fan. Easily can be the winner of many 'Game of the Year' awards. I highly recommend this game to everyone (over 18 :P).
  36. LesterC
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    There were literally moments in playing this game where I felt the need to put down the controller and take a deep breathe. There are so many small elements of surprise that lay uncontested by any other survival-horror game in the market. The lighting is marvelous. With such a large, interface-less screen to work with, this game ripples with sparks and flickers of light while you search There were literally moments in playing this game where I felt the need to put down the controller and take a deep breathe. There are so many small elements of surprise that lay uncontested by any other survival-horror game in the market. The lighting is marvelous. With such a large, interface-less screen to work with, this game ripples with sparks and flickers of light while you search the eerie spacecraft. To barely catch the movement of creatures here and there just add up to an overall terrifying experience that everyone should at least try. As for the plot line..... honestly... who cares about lovers and fighters when there are aliens gnawing at your neck? Expand
  37. AdamD.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    A really good game thats full of scares and frights that will chill you to your bone. if u really want a scare then play it in the dark and it will terrify you. i was worried at first it wasn't going to live up to expectations but wow does it surpass it. a definite must buy for any horror fans out there. don't let this one slip by. its amazing. EA have something special here A really good game thats full of scares and frights that will chill you to your bone. if u really want a scare then play it in the dark and it will terrify you. i was worried at first it wasn't going to live up to expectations but wow does it surpass it. a definite must buy for any horror fans out there. don't let this one slip by. its amazing. EA have something special here which is a rare thing for them. Hopefully they don't drag it out and ruin the magic that is dead space. Expand
  38. AnonymousMC
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    A solid game with tight controls, an engaging story, amazing atmosphere and fun game play. You
  39. SamwiseH.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    This game breaths new life into a stale genre. There are great innovations, for example, the lack of a game HUD is not a new concept, but the way they replace it is the best implementation I've seen. I haven't seen a single bug, and in a new game franchise, this is rare. Great atmosphere, great graphics, and great scares. Sometimes I want to stop playing because the game is just This game breaths new life into a stale genre. There are great innovations, for example, the lack of a game HUD is not a new concept, but the way they replace it is the best implementation I've seen. I haven't seen a single bug, and in a new game franchise, this is rare. Great atmosphere, great graphics, and great scares. Sometimes I want to stop playing because the game is just too intense. If you like to be scared, this is a great game for you. Expand
  40. AdamH.
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best games of 2008 in my honest opinion. I'm on my second round through the game and I can't get over how great the environments are. The USG Ishimura truly has a place in the Sci-Fi horror hall of fame and is definitely the star of the show. Traversing this massive planet-cracking space station is a real treat for the eyes and ears. Character models are This is one of the best games of 2008 in my honest opinion. I'm on my second round through the game and I can't get over how great the environments are. The USG Ishimura truly has a place in the Sci-Fi horror hall of fame and is definitely the star of the show. Traversing this massive planet-cracking space station is a real treat for the eyes and ears. Character models are top-notch and the voice acting is excellent as well. The story is rich and has some depth to it that fans could wonder about long after the game is completed. Combat (particularly aiming) feels a bit wonky at first but once you get used to it it's as effective as any 3rd-person shooter. The dismembering tactic is a much appreciated change to traditional combat as well. All of these elements combined make for a truly fantastic game. If your a fan of Sci-Fi horror or survival horror then do yourself a favor and pick this one up. Altman be praised! Expand
  41. PaulP
    Jan 22, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. Beautiful to look at, with a great story, and a good challenge if played on the hardest difficulty setting. I would go so far as to say its easily the BEST horror game I've ever played. Although much backtracking is required, this adds to the realism rather than detracting from the variability of game-play.
  42. Rob
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Scary in a way not seen since Fatal Frame combined with next gen graphics and controls make this game a must play. This game provides new and unique perspective in the survival horror while reinventing certain aspects that seem at home in the genre. This is simply a game not to be missed by Sci Fi/Horror/Survival enthusiasts anywhere. It's Event Horizon meets Aliens.
  43. michaelk
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Terrifying at times and breath-taking at others. Dead Space also has an emmersive story. The best part of the game however, for me, is the power node system for upgrading weapons. Basically power nodes are very rare to come by and they can be used to upgrade weapons. Once you have a decent arsenal of weapons the choice of where to spend them is probably the most difficult a have ever had Terrifying at times and breath-taking at others. Dead Space also has an emmersive story. The best part of the game however, for me, is the power node system for upgrading weapons. Basically power nodes are very rare to come by and they can be used to upgrade weapons. Once you have a decent arsenal of weapons the choice of where to spend them is probably the most difficult a have ever had to make in a game. And to all you 'call of duty' or 'fifa' gamers who would never go for a single player games, trust me, the gameplay is equally exciting and the experience is by far more satisfying. BUY NOW!! Expand
  44. Dos
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    I normally do not play horror games of any sort so this is VERY different for me. I'm sure there are many of you who do not believe games that make you jump can be fun or enjoyable to any degree but this game is going to suprise all of you. This is true because I was the same way. My interest in games brought me to this game's trailers and reviews and soon enough to my friends I normally do not play horror games of any sort so this is VERY different for me. I'm sure there are many of you who do not believe games that make you jump can be fun or enjoyable to any degree but this game is going to suprise all of you. This is true because I was the same way. My interest in games brought me to this game's trailers and reviews and soon enough to my friends to see if this game was worth the decent review it kept getting. Expecting nothing more than a thriller, I played the first two levels and found that the game was enjoyable while at the same time effin scary. The graphics are amazing and the way things are so quiet one moment then screaming in your ear the next, sets a hype in the game that you don't often get with your typical game. The gameplay itself is easy to learn and adds to the creepy feeling that you always get when walking down a dark, gloomy hallway. But the one thing that caught my interest the most was the enemies. With the deformed limbs of the necromorphs squirming and wriggling as they sprint at you while swinging at the air with whatever those things are coming out of their hands, it just makes you want to shoot them all the more. The only thing that keeps this game from becoming the best game i've ever played which is still CoD 4 modern, is the somewhat lessened thrill towards the end of the game and the lack of multiplayer. Other than that, Dead Space deserves much more than an 8.9 and is worth the money to buy. Expand
  45. PL
    Sep 2, 2009
    10
    While at a friends house we decided to run down to Hollywood Video and rent this game. A friend had told me about how much he loved it, but after playing the demo, I was skeptical. However, I soon realized just how amazing this game actually is. It starts off relatively simple with only 1-2 enemies at a time, however it grows steadily throughout the game to the point that you really While at a friends house we decided to run down to Hollywood Video and rent this game. A friend had told me about how much he loved it, but after playing the demo, I was skeptical. However, I soon realized just how amazing this game actually is. It starts off relatively simple with only 1-2 enemies at a time, however it grows steadily throughout the game to the point that you really understand the "Survival" part of this genre. This game is a blast to play, and takes a completely unique look at this genre that has had few successes in the recent years. It forces you to think of unique ways to kill your foe. The unique story line, weapons, and combat of this game makes it one of my favorites. The difficulty of the game scales well, and the puzzles in the game are challenging, yet doable. Another feature that has made this game "too easy" in some peoples eyes is your ability to project a path of light showing you what route to take to your objective. I cant count how many times I've played a game, stopped to pop off someones head, and end up going the wrong way. Dead Space is an absolute blast to play and I highly recommend it. Expand
  46. MichaelB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Wow, this game absolutely blew me off my feet! It has amazing graphics, awesome gameplay, a great story, lots of blood, and many good scares. Buy this now! You wont be disappointed.
  47. OliverH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing, definitly one of the best games out there. And IS the best survival-horror out there no doubt in my mind. This games definitely deserves recognition. The gameplay was not repetitive but if you think it is the story in the game keeps you playing because you just want to know what happens next. This game has a lot of excellent elements such as the weapons, the weapons This game is amazing, definitly one of the best games out there. And IS the best survival-horror out there no doubt in my mind. This games definitely deserves recognition. The gameplay was not repetitive but if you think it is the story in the game keeps you playing because you just want to know what happens next. This game has a lot of excellent elements such as the weapons, the weapons in this game are superb you'll love every single one of them of course if you have enough credits, the graphics are stunning with magnificent lighting and awesome looking body parts floating around in zero g or watch them break off from the necromorphs, but anyway i shouldnt add anymore because nobody wants to read long comments but just get this game buy, rent it, anything its an amazing game trust me. Expand
  48. steveterry
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    got this gane this morning and cant stop playing..although the fact that all these reviews say I should finish it in 10 hours makes me feel inadequate. Seriously though,..this game just doesnt get old..I LOVE TO DIE!!! SOO GRUESOME... ok maybe thats why I havent beaten it in 10 hours. This game rocks tho..
  49. RobD.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    I was very skeeptical of this game up till recently. Ea has let me down more times than I can count (army of two most recently) however all the developer interviews I watched really made me wonder if this was something special. Luckily I had a best buy gift card burning a hole in my pocket and I am not sorry I used it. THIS GAME KICKS MAJOR A$$!!! I got it this morning and havent been I was very skeeptical of this game up till recently. Ea has let me down more times than I can count (army of two most recently) however all the developer interviews I watched really made me wonder if this was something special. Luckily I had a best buy gift card burning a hole in my pocket and I am not sorry I used it. THIS GAME KICKS MAJOR A$$!!! I got it this morning and havent been able to put it down. I can hardly wait for it to be night time to play it in the dark. KUDOS EA for not messing up something really special...do I smell game of the year?? Perhaps. Expand
  50. TimR
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    Dead Space is a truly atmospheric game. It is incredibly immersive and story driven, and it will send you on one hell of a ride from beginning to end. With its superb voice acting, spine tingling audio, and lack of a heads up display, Dead Space will get you to believe in its universe and characters, and you will scream for Isaacs
  51. julestartring
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    I really really love this game, I was a big fan of Bioshock and I think this game is far better. ITs the best looking game I have ever seen on any console, and watching Issac get killed in glorious ways was GREAT!!! Best game I've played in a long time.
  52. JackW.
    Oct 19, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played from any gaming generation. It literally has the best sound on the 360, which is frightening at all times. I believe it also has the best visuals ever in a 360 game, although I'm sure that can be debated. But what will make this game last for years on end including future sequels, is the extremely deep story and beyond excellent This is one of the best games I have ever played from any gaming generation. It literally has the best sound on the 360, which is frightening at all times. I believe it also has the best visuals ever in a 360 game, although I'm sure that can be debated. But what will make this game last for years on end including future sequels, is the extremely deep story and beyond excellent gameplay. I begin to wonder if this game maybe even outshines RE4 and possibly RE5. Other survival horror games are really gonna have to step it up if they honestly want to compete. Expand
  53. DavidB.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Dead Space provides the best of two worlds; the best of atmospheric horror, and the best of an action-shooter. Gripping, atmospheric, and graphically stunning, Dead Space is easily one of the best games of the year.
  54. NateB.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    A brilliant cross between Resident Evil 4 and Bioshock. What more needs to be said? Great sound, graphics, action, scares, atmosphere and a system that forces you to think wisely about your choice of guns and ammunition. I've read some about ammo difficulties. I'm almost at the end of the game and have more health packs and ammo than I know what to do with. Just don't go A brilliant cross between Resident Evil 4 and Bioshock. What more needs to be said? Great sound, graphics, action, scares, atmosphere and a system that forces you to think wisely about your choice of guns and ammunition. I've read some about ammo difficulties. I'm almost at the end of the game and have more health packs and ammo than I know what to do with. Just don't go firing off your gun like this is a typical FPS and learn to use both stasis and kinetics to your advantage. Expand
  55. LeonardoS.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    Great. I kid you not. This might be GotY. Sure you've got the 'free-roam' of GTA4, but even then, you can only blow up a police chopper so many times before you start to say 'meh'. Dead Space, on the other hand, keeps you on edge throughout multiple playthroughs. Trust me on that one. Alright, there are flaws. That asteroid shooter part of level 4 was utter Great. I kid you not. This might be GotY. Sure you've got the 'free-roam' of GTA4, but even then, you can only blow up a police chopper so many times before you start to say 'meh'. Dead Space, on the other hand, keeps you on edge throughout multiple playthroughs. Trust me on that one. Alright, there are flaws. That asteroid shooter part of level 4 was utter bullshit, the story has a giant plot hole stamped through it, and the cliffhanger ending is certainly more than it deserved, but Dead Space's gameplay was stunning, the atmosphere was pantwetting, and the death animations were brutally delicious. I was decapitated on a stairwell and my head bobbled realistically down the stairs. It was some time later smashed off by a tenticle attempting to immitate the 'FALCOWN PAUNCH', as Issac Clarke's hands desperately tried to grasp his head in the empty space where it once was. Pros: -great gameplay -fun -beautifully animated -greatest death animations in the history of gaming -scary -better than Resident Evil, hands down Cons -crap story -Some obnoxious enemies (Tall, dark, and splits into multiple enemies, anyone?) -Tedious portions that cut away from the action. Expand
  56. ughtheboot
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This game is a HUGE milestone imo, not since Magic Carpet & Syndicate have I actually cared about what EA were doing but when I saw this game on the horizon I knew it was something I would have to look out for but...WOW...this has far exceeded my expectations. Capcom have always made my fave game/series (Resident Evil) and they've always been my favourite developer but it looks as This game is a HUGE milestone imo, not since Magic Carpet & Syndicate have I actually cared about what EA were doing but when I saw this game on the horizon I knew it was something I would have to look out for but...WOW...this has far exceeded my expectations. Capcom have always made my fave game/series (Resident Evil) and they've always been my favourite developer but it looks as though my least fave developer (EA) might have catapulted itself to the top of the list with this game (i'm torn) because it is absolutely phenomenal! It is easily the best game this gen and may be my favourite game EVER!! It's amazing the difference a real horror experience can make. I thought Resident Evil was always top-tier in this department but Dead Space puts it's to shame! Infact Resident Evil is not even a horror game compared to this, I would class it more action/adventure and I would class Dead Space as real horror. Every step I take is overly cautious, (not only because of the horror element but because the game is so immersive, atmospheric and downright gorgeous and also because I just don't want it to end), every bullet, health pack and power node is absolutely priceless, the enemies and characters, the look and feel of the game are completely grounded in reality...yes I know this is a game set in space involving aliens...but the situation and the environment are completely believable, the ship really seems like a place people have lived and worked in especially if you've seen lots of horror sci-fi like Alien/s, Event Horizon, Sunshine.....this game just nails it, more than anything else out there. I was so hyped for Bioshock but for some reasont hat game kinda fell short of my expectations, I can't really put my finger on why, the atmosphere and gameplay were exactly what i was expecting, maybe it was the story....who knows? All I know is that Dead Space is it! It's shown me what a real horror game should be like. The game is just so solid, upgradeable weapons/suits/abilities and the graphics are absolutely amazing. I cannot stress enough what this game has done for EA's image imo. I'm just amazed! The main character and his suit are one of the highlights of this game, when you upgrade the tiny little details in your suit helps keep you immersed like never before. The shops, the work bench, the stasis and kenesis powers....EVERYTHING....seriously everything in this game is absolutely rock solid and that's not even touching on the enemies because the less you know about them the better, they're completely terrifying, smart and able. I honestly could go on and on about this game but if you like survival horror or action games then this is it guys! Seriously i've rambled enought and this is my first post at Metacritic because I just had to get it out therte! Make no mistake this is THE game this gen! EA you've done it!! Expand
  57. MichaelS.
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    This is a must buy. Dead Space has great gameplay, is extremely immersive, has thought-provoking puzzle and RPG elements, and has a very strong and well told story. The only minor issue keeping this game from a 10 is the repetitive nature of the missions; however, the repetition makes sense due to the story because of the protagonist's occupation.
  58. GR
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    This game is extremely underrated. It's one of the best games I've played on the 360. The story is incredibly well told, the gameplay is well-paced, and the graphics are gorgeous. Doesn't get any better than that.
  59. CalvinK.
    Oct 31, 2008
    10
    I am Dead Space's ultimate fan! I have been playing the game sneakily since the project's x slice. I remember playing through the first working level of the game in sheer awe. Its gameplay is superb and the audio quality rates next to none - easily the best incorporation of sound into a video game I have yet to see (that includes those pansy guitar hero games - dead space >!) I am Dead Space's ultimate fan! I have been playing the game sneakily since the project's x slice. I remember playing through the first working level of the game in sheer awe. Its gameplay is superb and the audio quality rates next to none - easily the best incorporation of sound into a video game I have yet to see (that includes those pansy guitar hero games - dead space >!) And for all you survival horror fans living in your mom's basements playing resident evil on repeat- repeat no more! In fact, throw out your used and overspun RE discs and hail in a new age, and a new disc to be worshiped and kept in your safe next to your Kerrigan posters. Dead Space is here, people, and it reigns. Expand
  60. Will
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    I am not a big first person shooter fan, but I can safely say this is the best I have ever played. To anyone knocking the graphics.. you must be from the future or something, because they are the best that technology has to offer. And those knocking it's repetitiveness must have A.D.D or something, because I was blown away at how fun, interesting, and freaky it was. What games are I am not a big first person shooter fan, but I can safely say this is the best I have ever played. To anyone knocking the graphics.. you must be from the future or something, because they are the best that technology has to offer. And those knocking it's repetitiveness must have A.D.D or something, because I was blown away at how fun, interesting, and freaky it was. What games are you using for comparison? Perhaps Virtual Reality. Anyway, those interested in the "Space-horror" type movies will love this game.. it is like being able to play instead of watch movies like Aliens or Event Horizon. The story line is awesome, maybe not 100 percent original (as it does take a lot from space-horror movies) but interesting, and engaging. The enemies are fun as hell to kill. The puzzles are just difficult enough to NOT take away from the FPS experience.. in other words, you don't get lost in trying to solve puzzles like in Silent Hill. I didn't give it a 10 only because one thing did annoy me slightly about it: the ammo/items supply. At times, you have to really conserve on ammo when all you want to do is blow stuff away. Other than that though, AWESOME game. Will buy Dead Space II as soon as it is available. Expand
  61. RicO
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    A brilliant Survival horror game, blowing all of it's competition out of the airlock (excuse the pun). This is a brilliantly put together game with great graphics and gameplay. I was sourly disappointed with Resident Evil 5, but Dead Space grabbed me by the collar and never let go. It is claustrophobic and genuinely disturbing in places. The character and monster animation is A brilliant Survival horror game, blowing all of it's competition out of the airlock (excuse the pun). This is a brilliantly put together game with great graphics and gameplay. I was sourly disappointed with Resident Evil 5, but Dead Space grabbed me by the collar and never let go. It is claustrophobic and genuinely disturbing in places. The character and monster animation is absolutely brilliant. And to boot, the storyline is great too, and the game really makes the most of the fact that it is set in space. All in all, this is a solid classic in my book, and the best survival horror game to date. Expand
  62. StevenK.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I bought this game instead of buying bioshock since the stores i've been to didn't have bioshock. However, i really liked this thrilling&gore game and i think it's way more interesting than bioshock.
  63. DavidT
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    Great game. Loved the atmosphere. Very exciting and fun.
  64. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    An epic, atmospheric game that sets a new standard for survival horror. I haven't had so much fun being scared in space since I watched the first Alien movie. The only complaint I have is that the only downloadable content packages are all just new suits of armor that don't change the gameplay much. However, since Dead Space 2 is coming out within the next month I won't have to wait longAn epic, atmospheric game that sets a new standard for survival horror. I haven't had so much fun being scared in space since I watched the first Alien movie. The only complaint I have is that the only downloadable content packages are all just new suits of armor that don't change the gameplay much. However, since Dead Space 2 is coming out within the next month I won't have to wait long to get a second dose of this awesomeness. Expand
  65. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    Dead Space is an amazing game, and undoubtedly, one of the best horror games of all-time. The graphics are truly amazing, the A.I. is challenging, the combat is tense and as gory as it is possible to be; the story is mysterious and intruiging and is similar to Bioshock with its audio and text logs. Anyways, the only faults I had with the game was the inventory system, the lack ofDead Space is an amazing game, and undoubtedly, one of the best horror games of all-time. The graphics are truly amazing, the A.I. is challenging, the combat is tense and as gory as it is possible to be; the story is mysterious and intruiging and is similar to Bioshock with its audio and text logs. Anyways, the only faults I had with the game was the inventory system, the lack of character development(i.e., Issac) and scarcity of ammo, which counter-acts itself because thanks to the low amounts of ammo, the tension rises expentionally. The ending was good and well-timed, but it wasn't scary. I do like how it managed to open up the sequel very well, and that it didn't turn into a cliched conclusion to a an amazing game. I urge you to buy this game. Give it a chance. Go into the claustrophobic atmosphere of the Ishimura. And don't bother screaming because no one can hear you scream in Outer Space. A 9.9/10 Expand
  66. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is the best single player horror action shooter game ever made. Wow, kind of a lot of things on that genre. But, as it stands, I have never been gripped so tightly by such an atmospheric game before. At first, you're scared, but then after that, you start to realize how much fun it is -- there's a great deal of storyline mixed with tense action moments, and overall it has the kind ofThis is the best single player horror action shooter game ever made. Wow, kind of a lot of things on that genre. But, as it stands, I have never been gripped so tightly by such an atmospheric game before. At first, you're scared, but then after that, you start to realize how much fun it is -- there's a great deal of storyline mixed with tense action moments, and overall it has the kind of pacing that kept me coming back for more. Expand
  67. Feb 11, 2011
    9
    This is the first game I've played in a while. It was cool being 'into' a game again. The story line was good, and the graphics and levels were great. Very good controls and audio. My only thing with it was maybe a little bit drawn out, but after beating it, it didn't seem so bad. I really liked the safe/inventory feature. I'm working on unlocking all the achievements now. I don't count onThis is the first game I've played in a while. It was cool being 'into' a game again. The story line was good, and the graphics and levels were great. Very good controls and audio. My only thing with it was maybe a little bit drawn out, but after beating it, it didn't seem so bad. I really liked the safe/inventory feature. I'm working on unlocking all the achievements now. I don't count on getting all of them! Looking forward to playing the sequel. Expand
  68. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    On my list of top 5 games. I am a sucker for survival horror games and it doesn't get much better than this. The atmosphere, the jump moments, and the freaky looking monsters all add to the tension. Add in some thought provoking puzzles, fun combat, and a good storyline...and what else could you ask for?
  69. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    Atmospheric.Immersive.Chilling...A leading light in the dying Survival Horror genre and the best since Resident Evil 4.Investigate a crippled starship then crap yourself while cleverly dismembering a horde of diabolical creatures.Best played in the dark with surround sound.Alone.
  70. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    First off I didn't really fancy Dead Space hence its took me this long to play it. Its a total breathe of fresh air which the survival horror genre needed so much a different take on the classic genre which has been dominated by Resident evil personal favorite of mine. As for the game well the graphics are brilliant and the atmosphere is the best ive come across in any game from the soundFirst off I didn't really fancy Dead Space hence its took me this long to play it. Its a total breathe of fresh air which the survival horror genre needed so much a different take on the classic genre which has been dominated by Resident evil personal favorite of mine. As for the game well the graphics are brilliant and the atmosphere is the best ive come across in any game from the sound effects to the lighting it has everything going for it. The game just feels so complete and very fluid, you can tell they spared no expense with this title a must buy for any console owner. And if your put off because the game is scary well you sort of adapt to the game as you progress and get use to the random scares and monsters you encounter. Expand
  71. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Dead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startlingDead Space is an enjoyable but flawed survival horror game. The gameplay is solid, with the need to shoot limbs serving as a nice twist. Graphics are excellent and the music perfectly suits the action. However, the biggest problem I had with this game was that it just wasn't frightening at all. The game lacks the atmosphere of better games like Bioshock and chooses to rely on startling tactics instead of trying to create true fear. These tactics consist of instances like flashing lights and an enemy masquerading as a corpse. They are so overused that they become predictable and wearisome. Devoid of personality and speech, it is hard to sympathize with Isaac and his pursuit of his wife. The two other characters are unlikeable because we are never given a chance to like them. Their function is just to bark orders at Isaac to journey to another part of the ship. The bulk of the game consists of running around from A to B with no real idea of what you're doing. As previously mentioned, the ability to shoot off limbs is a nice deviation from the norm but the enemies faced and the process of execution become monotonous. I liked Dead Space but the horror and story disappointed. Expand
  72. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    This game is near flawless and this is considering that I have played it a 4 years after release. There are very few titles that have managed to live up to the original Resident Evil and Silent Hill mantle of a truly scary game. Dead space whole heartily brings the survival horror genre to the current gen in style and mixes in a great sci fi story to boot. It also looks fantasticThis game is near flawless and this is considering that I have played it a 4 years after release. There are very few titles that have managed to live up to the original Resident Evil and Silent Hill mantle of a truly scary game. Dead space whole heartily brings the survival horror genre to the current gen in style and mixes in a great sci fi story to boot. It also looks fantastic throughout and remember again... 4 years on i write this review. These days games need to entice people into multiple play throughs with new game plus and other such devices but for me, very happy to finish the game and go straight back through again for the frights and fun that is DEAD SPACE! Can only imagine what i will say of the sequel when i get round to playing that. Expand
  73. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    Scary as hell and worth every last cent. Atmospheric, claustrophobic, and that sense of "the unknown menace" around every corner made it hold its own. A new classic horror-survival franchise for years to come (here's hoping at least).
  74. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Won't say much, except for few things: this game was very fun to play, the shootings were exciting, the monsters are very scary and the story behind it's actually good! With that said, I never EVER got scared once in the entire game, so to me it's more of a shooting game than a survival horror. And for last, weapons aren't all useful, since you have to dismember the monsters and not fillWon't say much, except for few things: this game was very fun to play, the shootings were exciting, the monsters are very scary and the story behind it's actually good! With that said, I never EVER got scared once in the entire game, so to me it's more of a shooting game than a survival horror. And for last, weapons aren't all useful, since you have to dismember the monsters and not fill them with lasers, or bullets, or whatever. Very good game: try it if you're curious of the first dead space. Expand
  75. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Dead Space is a fantastic game. The atmosphere it evokes when you are slowly walking down a dark corridor is intense, dramatic and completely immersive.
    If I were to describe this game in a sentence it would be: "Resident Evil 4 in space with even more thrills"
    Resident Evil 4 is one of my favourite games of all time so that is high praise indeed coming from me. The developers have managed
    Dead Space is a fantastic game. The atmosphere it evokes when you are slowly walking down a dark corridor is intense, dramatic and completely immersive.
    If I were to describe this game in a sentence it would be: "Resident Evil 4 in space with even more thrills"
    Resident Evil 4 is one of my favourite games of all time so that is high praise indeed coming from me.
    The developers have managed to create quite a promising game universe within only two games which is impressive given the amount of time Dead Space has been around compared to other franchises.
    They have managed to create likeable characters, a gripping story that haunts you even after playing and have evoked a sense of never being safe in-game. The player can be walking towards a door that leads to a supposedly "safe" zone, hear an ominous sound in the walls and have an enemy burst from the vent next to them. It is hard to describe the atmosphere this game evokes. It's chilling, to say the least and I definitely recommend playing this game with some sort of surround system, be it headphones or speakers.
    The gameplay is a fluid blend of Resident Evil 4's over-the-shoulder perspective and that of a big budget action game. While some have said this detracts from the "survival-horror" element of the game, I argue that these people have not tackled it on the hardest difficulty, where even the responsiveness of the controls do not help. This game is definitely one of my favourite games ever and I can't resist another revisit at least once a year.
    Expand
  76. May 27, 2011
    10
    Most games, especially shooter affairs, I pick it up...play for 20-30mins...then say "yeah, that was cool...what's on TV?". This game really had something going on, right from the beginning. The story, mood, and pacing just come together to create a very intense product. It has a creepy feeling and it really triggers your natural survival instincts as the character on screen seamlesslyMost games, especially shooter affairs, I pick it up...play for 20-30mins...then say "yeah, that was cool...what's on TV?". This game really had something going on, right from the beginning. The story, mood, and pacing just come together to create a very intense product. It has a creepy feeling and it really triggers your natural survival instincts as the character on screen seamlessly becomes a representation of yourself. You don't want to be eaten and you will run or shoot and pant and gasp and lean...just real nail biting stuff here. The controls or over the shoulder view don't feel quite perfect, and the bits of zero-g navigation get a bit clunky at times, but it just doesn't matter. I rarely give out a 10 for anything because it leaves no room to go, but I think this sort of artistic creativity grabbed what is best about single player gaming and that is about an environment that lets the player lose themselves. Its almost too good because I would laugh at myself by how carried away I would get with my own gasps and seat jumping. But after a brief moment of self realization, there I was again on a spaceship, clinging to whatever ammo filled weapon I could find...searching around and walking on eggshells trying to anticipate what horror or challenge lurk around that next dimly lit corner. I played nothing else but this until I beat it, and when I did...I started a second play through. Bottom line...best horror/suspense game I have ever played, groundbreaking and beautiful in all of its horror and insanity. Expand
  77. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Dead Space is a much needed breath of fresh air to the survival horror genre. There is hardly anything this game didn't do right. The graphics are on par with the best in the industry and do a very good job creating a dark, mysterious, and all around scary atmosphere. The sound is done very well and further enhances the atmosphere. The controls are the best out of any third person shooterDead Space is a much needed breath of fresh air to the survival horror genre. There is hardly anything this game didn't do right. The graphics are on par with the best in the industry and do a very good job creating a dark, mysterious, and all around scary atmosphere. The sound is done very well and further enhances the atmosphere. The controls are the best out of any third person shooter I have ever played. Lastly, the story is pretty solid, as long as you pay attention to it. I see a lot of reviews that criticize this game for lacking in story, which I simply do not understand. The game is full of logs and audio diaries that tell perfectly how everything came to be. Simply put, this game is spectacular. Frankly, I don't understand how anyone could say otherwise, but I guess it is just a matter of opinion. This game actually exceeded my expectations and definitely deserves a 10/10. Expand
  78. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    While it doesn't make for the best survival horror game and has zero pacing it makes an excellent action horror game with a good plot and very good combat plus great boss fights makes this a must play of our generation.
  79. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    It's really rare to get a game which makes you jump out of your seat SEVERAL of times. I constantly found myself doing this. This game holds one of the most atmospheric environments ever seen in a video game and is a truly remarkable game with a great story tied up to it.
  80. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the scariest games i have played and i am never scared.
    Every time your playing the game you know that a thing can just jump in front of you with out knowing it and slice you open so this is a awesome and scary game.
    Expand
  81. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    This game scared the S*** out of me! That is a statement I have never used to describe a video game. Granted the scares were mainly of the "make you jump" kind rather than the "building tension" type, but I couldn't help but be impressed with the entire game. The graphics and sound are top notch. The gameplay is smooth and unique. The story is engrossing as well as the voice acting (evenThis game scared the S*** out of me! That is a statement I have never used to describe a video game. Granted the scares were mainly of the "make you jump" kind rather than the "building tension" type, but I couldn't help but be impressed with the entire game. The graphics and sound are top notch. The gameplay is smooth and unique. The story is engrossing as well as the voice acting (even though our hero never says a word). I found myself waiting for a time when I could play this game without distraction, with the light out and the surround sound turned on. This game is a must buy for all those survival horror fans, or just someone who is looking for a good scare. I can't wait to play the sequel. Expand
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is the definition of Fear....there no another word to described it....silenti hill and resident evil can say "Good Bay". Please, if you like (well this its a contradiction) to enjoy a game but suffer at the same time this is the best choice: Dark Corners...Monster sounds in every level....Scary Babys....an the ghostly feelling of being watched by the evil itself. Friendly Advice: goThis is the definition of Fear....there no another word to described it....silenti hill and resident evil can say "Good Bay". Please, if you like (well this its a contradiction) to enjoy a game but suffer at the same time this is the best choice: Dark Corners...Monster sounds in every level....Scary Babys....an the ghostly feelling of being watched by the evil itself. Friendly Advice: go to the bathroom before to play it!!!!! Expand
  83. May 1, 2012
    9
    Dead Space, as a survival horror sci fi game, is what You would call the next, more casual iteration of a scenario that System Shock 2 has greatly established: tight atmosphere, mutated enemies, quasi-religious story background, a voice that guides You...only this time with next gen graphics, less RPG and puzzles and much more engaging combat. Not only are Visceral Games undenieableDead Space, as a survival horror sci fi game, is what You would call the next, more casual iteration of a scenario that System Shock 2 has greatly established: tight atmosphere, mutated enemies, quasi-religious story background, a voice that guides You...only this time with next gen graphics, less RPG and puzzles and much more engaging combat. Not only are Visceral Games undenieable masters of their craft as storytellers and directors, they also show a splendid talent for lighting, timing and texture. This game doesnt get old, instead it binds You to Your controller and doesn't let You go. Expand
  84. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game of EA Ahhhhh!!!......................................................................................................................
  85. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Dead Space is a perfect horror game. It blends elements from System Shock 2 with references to other great films and games. It is thick with atmosphere and emotion, and is very good at surprising the player with it's surprisingly good storyline. The gameplay is fun and frantic, as you race to dismember the attacking Necromorphs. This game is excellent, and is worth a look next time you areDead Space is a perfect horror game. It blends elements from System Shock 2 with references to other great films and games. It is thick with atmosphere and emotion, and is very good at surprising the player with it's surprisingly good storyline. The gameplay is fun and frantic, as you race to dismember the attacking Necromorphs. This game is excellent, and is worth a look next time you are stuck for something to play! Expand
  86. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    The real survival horror in the 7th generation. Not expecting much from this game, but turned out to be one of the best Xbox 360 games. Sublime atmosphere
  87. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite games of all time, if not my favorite. The atmosphere is unbelievably terrifying, the necromorphs are beautifully designed, the storyline is deeply compelling, I love everything about this game. I could go on for days about how amazing this game is, but my favorite aspect is a tie between the atmosphere and the character development. Granted, Isaac Clarke never says a word in the game (he's basically the Link of Dead Space) you can still get a sense of dread and regret from Isaac. When Isaac is separated from the rest of his crew, fighting for his life, you can never really tell who's helping and who's hindering. I loved the fact that you had to shoot the limbs rather than shooting directly at the head (as everyone is inclined to do), and it never ceased to freak me out when I would shoot off a head and it was coming right back at me more pissed off than before. The fact that necromorphs crawled through the vents was a perfect way to keep players on their toes and jumping at every little noise. The weapons in the game are beautiful and the upgrades just make them sexier as the game goes on. Of course the biggest shocker came at the end when you found out that Isaac's girlfriend Nicole has actually been dead the whole time, meaning Isaac has been slowly going more and more insane as the game goes on. It still terrifies me when I walk into a room, and then a giant tentacle would swoop from around the corner and drag Isaac down the hall until he reached the hole in the wall the tentacle made and would be ripped to shreds. The death scenes in Dead Space were spectacularly well done, very detailed and still make me cringe. Anyone who loves horror-survival should DEFINITELY give this game a try. Expand
  88. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Atmosphere is everything in horror games, Dead Space has plenty of it. Even though the game never offers any real scares, only fleeting shocks that pass in a second the game has a great story and gameplay mechanics. You are Isaac Clarke, a CEC Engineer sent to repair the mining vessel USG Ishimura after its communications went down. Once aboard you find that a routine patch job is not asAtmosphere is everything in horror games, Dead Space has plenty of it. Even though the game never offers any real scares, only fleeting shocks that pass in a second the game has a great story and gameplay mechanics. You are Isaac Clarke, a CEC Engineer sent to repair the mining vessel USG Ishimura after its communications went down. Once aboard you find that a routine patch job is not as simple as it seems, with an alien parasite loose on the ship that turns all corpses into zombie aliens its your job to repair the ship to send out a distress signal and escape with your life. It is an action horror game NOT a survival horror as it is commonly misconceived and a damn good one at that. Expand
  89. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    A frightful experience on par with the 1980's The Thing movie. Every corner that must be turned is a potential death or waiting horror. Everything from enemy design to music adds to a atmosphere that keeps you holding your breath for safety, something you may never find. The only bad part, something that happens to plague many horror games, is that subsequent playthroughs loose their fearA frightful experience on par with the 1980's The Thing movie. Every corner that must be turned is a potential death or waiting horror. Everything from enemy design to music adds to a atmosphere that keeps you holding your breath for safety, something you may never find. The only bad part, something that happens to plague many horror games, is that subsequent playthroughs loose their fear as enemy placement and spawns are set and easily remembered. Despite that, it seems that any time Dead Space is mentioned , someone, somewhere will have the urge to sit down and fight for survival. Expand
  90. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Is Dead Space a horror game with action, adventure, and 3rd Person Shooter elements or is it mainly a 3rd Person Shooter with the aforementioned elements? This identity crisis actually gives this game an extra edge just as you have no idea what is happening on this ship. Everything is constantly in question and you only have only yourself and your handy upgradeable weapons to rely on.Is Dead Space a horror game with action, adventure, and 3rd Person Shooter elements or is it mainly a 3rd Person Shooter with the aforementioned elements? This identity crisis actually gives this game an extra edge just as you have no idea what is happening on this ship. Everything is constantly in question and you only have only yourself and your handy upgradeable weapons to rely on. Dead Space delivers exactly what the feeling would be like on a giant derelict ship. The atmosphere is what makes this game stand out. It isn't overly creepy, but keeps you on edge. It does perfectly what movies can't do and that is immerse you in that environment where you could be that person that blatantly walks into the death trap. Tread lightly and keep your plasma cutter pointed forward. There are plenty of save points and the game never becomes overly difficult. The story unfolds at a clean pace and the upgradeable armor/weapons allow for steady progress. The story never feels too long and the story isn't marred with long cutscenes like most games nowadays. I am not a big fan of the horror genre, but this game was the real deal. Expand
  91. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game was delicious from start to finish. I love the tension and combat. Environment, atmosphere, sounds... necromorphs... all brilliant. Even read one of the spin off fiction novels. Great scifi
  92. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    I like scary stuff, and this is the scariest game I personally played. Give me a daunting atmosphere, isolation and looming dread. Give it to me! I don't want no coop buddy. I don't need no blockbuster action movie music in the background. And I certainly want the cheesy unnecessary dialogue kept to a bare minimum. Dead Space did all that for me. I thank it for that. If you plan onI like scary stuff, and this is the scariest game I personally played. Give me a daunting atmosphere, isolation and looming dread. Give it to me! I don't want no coop buddy. I don't need no blockbuster action movie music in the background. And I certainly want the cheesy unnecessary dialogue kept to a bare minimum. Dead Space did all that for me. I thank it for that. If you plan on only playing one of the series to check it out, this is the one. 2 is alright and 3 got a heavy dose of the new age Resident Evil treatment. Expand
  93. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    I was really surprised by this game, considering who it is made by. But it is definitely solid, and is a real competitor for RE4. Heavy on the shooting side, but it is still very atmospheric. Story is simple but engaging - you are shipwrecked in space, and there are parasitic aliens taking over the remains of your crew! Oh no! But they are also breeding and trying to alter theI was really surprised by this game, considering who it is made by. But it is definitely solid, and is a real competitor for RE4. Heavy on the shooting side, but it is still very atmospheric. Story is simple but engaging - you are shipwrecked in space, and there are parasitic aliens taking over the remains of your crew! Oh no! But they are also breeding and trying to alter the atmosphere within the ship to suit themselves. It's up to you, as the engineer, to survive and fix various parts of the ship whilst fighting for your life. Great elements include having to shoot the limbs off enemies, rather than go for head shots, a brilliant holographic menu system (everything is in-game, there are no menu screens. Even your inventory is handled on screen, and when people contact you, a hologram of them is rendered in front of your character, to talk to them), a variety of interesting weapons and abilities to upgrade including telekenisis and stasis (grabbing and throwing stuff, and slowing down enemies), and also there are some great atmosphere touches like parts of the game where you have to go into damaged areas of the ship which have no air, and therefore your hearing is diminished, and your own heart beat and breathing is pretty much all you hear, besides ominous thuds. Most of the time the game is awesome, and feels rewarding and satisfying as you collect loot from around the place, and sell what you don't need at the stores within the game. Some of the boss battles are not very interesting - which is standard in these kinds of games unfortunately. Also, the game suffers from the same problem as all survivals - either you do well and then the game is just too easy as you are overflowing with ammo, health and money. Or, you are not doing so well, in which case you struggle for ammo, heatlh and / or money, and then you have to reload from a check point. Not sure how games can fix this issue. Luckily for me I found the game slightly on the easy side - but still found it good fun. By the end of your first run, you will not have unlocked and upgraded everything, so you can start your game+ and shred some enemies with your powered-up stuff, and continue your upgrading. Expand
  94. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a masterpiece that can satisfy both real survival horror fans and RE4 players alike. Visceral absolutely nailed the environmental design in this game, down to the last detail. The sound design is wonderful, and the smallest enemy will make the most frightening of sounds. All of the zero-gravity and zero-oxygen sequences are brilliant, making it harder to hear, and harder toDead Space is a masterpiece that can satisfy both real survival horror fans and RE4 players alike. Visceral absolutely nailed the environmental design in this game, down to the last detail. The sound design is wonderful, and the smallest enemy will make the most frightening of sounds. All of the zero-gravity and zero-oxygen sequences are brilliant, making it harder to hear, and harder to survive lulling you into a false sense of security just to scare or concern you even more than you already were. The story is solid and while not incredibly original, is very well done and does not subtract from the gameplay. When I played DS1 I had the brightness in game turned down very very low, as the instructions say. This game will seriously mess with you if you have your brightness that low on a nice LED television.
    Unfortunately there is something that keeps the game from being a 10, which is also one of the things that made it work, but I have to hold it against the game because it is an actual factor. The ready availability of shops, ammo, and money to upgrade weapons and equipment with makes the game progressively easier and more care-free until you are no longer scared or worried about anything. It detracts from the horror environment and Visceral understood this in DS3 when they made a hardcore mode. Though that holds it back, Dead Space is still one of the best games I've ever played.
    Expand
  95. May 28, 2013
    10
    A horror game is hard to come by and usually get bad ratings. However, Dead Space out does all of them. Inspired by Resident Evil and Doom, mix them up into one game and it becomes a true masterpiece!
  96. May 30, 2013
    7
    Dead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to beDead Space is a great Survival Horror game and is worth your time. This game sets up great atmosphere and has a good many scares. It does get predictable over time, but the gameplay is fun. You can replay through the campaign with all your equipment so there is some replay value there. It tends to turn more survival action, but it's still nice to see a game that is at least trying to be different from the mainstream. Overall, I'd recommend it. Expand
  97. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people constantly say "Go there, make that," etc. Well, this is not the first game with a dumb hero, so I'm fine with that.
    Bottom line: if you love horror-action games, you should try this one.
    Expand
  98. May 8, 2014
    10
    Even six years after its release, Dead Space still looks and sounds great. Dead Space was one of the best survival horror games, if not the best, of the last generation consoles. The atmosphere is perfect, the health and ammo is limited, and the enemies are terrifying. If you haven't played it yet, you need to get on that.
  99. Sep 6, 2015
    10
    A true survival landmark with amazing graphics and gameplay, the environments are creepy, the creatures are eerie and the overall execution is a satisfying horror experience.
  100. Sep 13, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably the greatest game of previous gen. Last time Silent Hill 1 made me this scared of a game as dead space. I finished it like 5 times on PC an another 3 times on the 360. The only reason I am not giving it a 10/10 because there is no new game+ where you can start the game all over on a harder difficulty with the gear you achieved, only on the same difficulty. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. The very fact that we wish Dead Space included more of its original features and less content pulled from the last generation's greatest game speaks volumes for the quality on show. [Issue # 71]
  2. 87
    Call it science fiction survival horror, but Dead Space does the genre proud with an engaging story; action that's tense, fast-paced and extremely violent; as well as atmospheric qualities that will get under your skin and make you jump.
  3. 100
    It's easily the best survival horror game since the masterful "Resident Evil 4" and it sets the bar high for graphics, sound, and scares in its respective genre. Dead Space is an artistic nightmare clearly designed for survival horror fans by a passionate and dedicated team of like-minded gamers. Just be sure to play it with the lights on.