Deadly Premonition Xbox 360

Deadly Premonition Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to theA third-person survival horror action game which puts you in the role of FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, you will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline’s mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force you to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. Amidst a backdrop of soaring mountains and a town filled with eccentric natives, Agent Morgan must solve the mystery of the ‘Red Seed Murders’ and stay alive in a place where supernatural creatures and a folklore killer seek to end his investigation permanently. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. There is absolutely nothing in this industry that can compare to how weird and wonderful the whole experience is. Judged as a piece of entertainment, as a game that consistently surprises and amazes and leaves jaws hanging, I have no choice but to say that Deadly Premonition goes above and beyond. This game is so bad, it's not just become good. It's pretty close to perfect.
  2. Jan 4, 2011
    84
    Forget the Dreamcast-era graphics and some clumsy mechanics (if you can) and lose yourself in this sick and perverse thriller. You will never forget it.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    Like Twin Peaks, it's as full of as many happy accidents and surreal edges as it is well-engineered shocks and hilarious moments, and while it can't ever hope to match the impact of Lynch's classic, those who take the ride will be rewarded.
  4. Its production values are unquestionably budget, but the game's ambitious level of corny self-awareness makes it a stupidly affordable, must-have cult title for the adventurous set.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    It's an experience like no other, if not always for the right reasons. I adored it, but I couldn't tell you in earnest that you will feel the same. But I will tell you this: you absolutely must play it. How else would you ever know?
  6. If you demand polish, this-gen graphics, and spoonfed plots - well, maybe you need to move briskly along. [Issue#65, p.90]
  7. 20
    Awful in nearly every way. The Twin Peaks meets Resident Evil with a dash of Grand Theft Auto formula sounds pretty great, but it was well beyond the capabilities of this development team. Terrible controls. Terrible pacing. Terrible sound effects. Terrible visuals.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 94
  2. Negative: 16 out of 94
  1. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting andThis is an amazing game. Even leaving aside the value proposition (it's only $20), Deadly Premonition offers an interesting setting and bizzare characters. The catch is that to enjoy what this game has to offer, you have to suspend your disbelief, and possibly your good taste. This is a goofy survival horror romp through a japanese version of Twin Peaks, and while the payoff is immense, getting there can sometimes be a bit of a slog. Expand
  2. JohnF.
    Feb 28, 2010
    10
    Deadly Premonition is by far the single most original and entertaining video game I have ever had the honor of playing. It manages to be Deadly Premonition is by far the single most original and entertaining video game I have ever had the honor of playing. It manages to be hilarious, emotional, and disturbing all at once, and it will never cease to surprise you. Forget the visuals, forget the negative reviews, just play this game. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. MichaelF.
    May 17, 2010
    10
    Never before have I played a game so horribly made that it's something truly special. Every single aspect of this game works with one Never before have I played a game so horribly made that it's something truly special. Every single aspect of this game works with one another to create a unique experience that I've never had with any other game. The story is incredibly well thought-out, and the dialog is hilariously outstanding. For 20 bones, you'll be hard pressed to find another special piece of art like this that will last you a good 20 hours of story time, along with 50 side missions and 64 collectible items, all strewn across a MASSIVE open town that is incredibly believable and loving. Buy this, and don't think twice about it. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    I can only agree whole heartedly with every positive thing all these fans are saying. This was one of the first games I played and I did notI can only agree whole heartedly with every positive thing all these fans are saying. This was one of the first games I played and I did not have a lot to compare it with but loved it. Since then I have played over 100 games and it continues to be one of my absolute favourites, along with Half Life 2, Portal, Bio shock to name a few. It is the most unique and funny game along with being super scary. It does have its flaws, the controls and some wicked hard quick time events but it is so worth your time. If you were a fan of Twin Peaks you must play this game. This is a very special game and you should give it a try. Expand
  5. M
    Mar 15, 2010
    9
    These reviewers who are trashing this game are missing the point...who gives a f**k about "driving physics" in a game that isn't about These reviewers who are trashing this game are missing the point...who gives a f**k about "driving physics" in a game that isn't about "driving physics"? This is not a AAA game, and should not be reviewed as one whatsoever. What it is a quirky and cracked non-mainstream game that has as much to do with the films of David Lynch and Lucio Fulci as it does with Resident Evil and Silent Hill. It's survival horror, but it's a pretty funny satire of those games and their tones. The game as a whole is hilarious, much funnier than most games that are supposed to be comedic. I'm sorry, but if you can't see that the dev team on this game was TOTALLY in on the joke and you think that there's "wrongheaded decisions" then you're stuck up your own a$$ over what a game should and shouldn't be. The game is near-brilliant with surreal characters, dialogue, and situations that are much more creative and appealing than anything in God of War 3 or other big-budget spectacles. Look at this game like an obscure cult film and you'll enjoy it a lot more...b*tch about the graphics and controls not being on par with $60 games with Hollywood budgets, and you'll hate it. Frankly, I think this game is probably more polished than the first No More Heroes- and if this game had Suda 51 or Grasshopper Manufacture anywhere on it, critics would be hailing it as a post-modern masterpiece. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    This is one of, if not the, weirdest, most bizarre game I've ever played. It's awful yet amazing, ugly yet beautiful, boring yet veryThis is one of, if not the, weirdest, most bizarre game I've ever played. It's awful yet amazing, ugly yet beautiful, boring yet very interesting. The controls are horrendous, the graphics are bad, and the sound effects are the worst you'll ever hear! How can a game which does so much wrong and feels and looks so amateurish get so many great reviews. Easy enough. If you'll be able to look through the graphics and mechanics 'n everything, you'll find a pearl of a game. Something so atmospheric and beautiful in it's gruesomeness it'll stay with you for probably quite a while. The characters are quite intriguing and the voice-acting isn't bad at all. At some points the game is slow. Especially when driving around town from point A to B. Just sit tight, give it time and try to enjoy everything the story has to offer. It's not a hard game also but the story is interesting enough to keep you wondering. It'll take you about 20 hours to beat the main story line and besides that there are plenty of side quests and other mysteries to solve. If you're able to have some patience and look through the sloppy graphics and repetitive sound effects you'll experience an great and unique game. I agree that if this would've came out ten years ago, it would've been respected a lot more. Just give it a chance. If not, don't give it a 1 or judge it by just its looks. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    0
    This game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, mostThis game is by far the worst game i have ever played. terrible controls, story & everything imaginable. why did the developers bother, most overrated game ever, of all time plus it has no Three Dog Expand

See all 94 User Reviews