Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    84
    Even those who only listen to a tune or two are bound to enjoy what this game has to offer, between its simple gameplay and boisterous community features. We had a great time with it, and we don't even wear derbies and gold chains. Well, not yet, anyway. (Just wait until the tour.)
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    82
    In conclusion, Def Jam Rapstar is a fun game and if you are into rap and hip hop, than this is a must have karaoke game.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    80
    If you want to have a good time with friends remembering old rap classics Def Jam Rapstar is a good investment.
  4. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    It's a skill-based game that manages to be surprisingly technical, but never at the expense of fun. It's hugely rewarding, too: after several extended spells on the game, Mr Gaston had the balls to perform Gold Digger on stage in a Croydon nightclub - and round there, they kill people who suck at karaoke.
  5. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    And while it doesn't have the universal appeal of its more mainstream counterparts, the potential of its online feature means it could well become a huge sleeper success.
  6. 80
    Def Jam Rapstar has the potential to go from very good to great. For now, it's very, very good. [Issue#67, p.89]
  7. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    Filling the void in the games market and giving fans enough of everything they could possibly ask for, Def Jam Rapstar is possibly the surprise sleeper hit of the season. It won't appeal to everyone given the genre of music it represents, but for those it does appeal to, appeal to them it most certainly will.
  8. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    There are more rights than wrongs in Def Jam Rapstar, but everything could have been pushed further. Those who've been waiting for a great hip-hop singing game will be at bliss. However, it leaves you wondering if 4MM truly learned something from its predecessors in the genre.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    A great introduction to the realm of Hip Hop based karaoke gaming. As a party game, both viewers and participants will be entertained with the song selection and visuals and most, if not all, of the songs are familiar enough with today's Hip Hop fans to yield entertaining results. The technology incorporated makes the game much more challenging than it looks.
  10. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Def Jam Rapstar may not have the ultimate killer presentation, and 45 songs may not be enough compared to the 80+ songs the Rock Band games carry, but it's a huge step in the right direction for Konami's musical approach, and we certainly hope more follow in their footsteps.
  11. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Some of the trimming around the outer edges is shaky, but the core of Def Jam Rapstar is rock-solid, and the community video feature is sure to provide a lot of entertainment on its own.
  12. Feb 19, 2011
    75
    Overall, Def Jam: Rapstar is a one-of-a-kind karaoke game that fans of rap music will appreciate, despite the censoring of the songs. There's just about enough content in the game to justify a full price purchase and with downloadable content on offer, this could be a title that's around for some time to come.
  13. 75
    Def Jam Rapstar is the perfect rap game for any wannabe rap stars out there. With 40 tracks that span the entire rap genre, Def Jam Rapstar is only let down by a few technical issues and not having nearly enough iconic tracks for us to get our 'gangsta' on to.
  14. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    Pure Rap, that's what Def Jam Rapstar offers. It's the first karaoke-styled videogame that allow players to sing properly. It could be better, what judging it from what it is, it's clearly a must-have for the fans of the genre.
  15. Dec 30, 2010
    75
    If you like rap or hip-hop, this is the game you were waiting for.
  16. Dec 23, 2010
    75
    Def Jam does include a token Career mode but it offers very little difference in the gameplay.
  17. Dec 22, 2010
    75
    Def Jam Rapstar has a nice tracklist that will keep you entertained for hours to come. No longer will you have to be ashamed when you want to spill some lyrics. Def Jam Rapstar is not the best karaoke game out there, but it sure is one of the most entertaining ones.
  18. Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Is Def Jam Rapstar perfect? Hell no. Is Def Jam Rapstar fun? F--- yes it is! As just a party game I've had a blast with it.
  19. Oct 21, 2010
    75
    While you won't see its name on a blimp, cool community features and a great songlist make Def Jam Rapstar a sure bet if you want to get your living room bumpin'.
  20. Oct 21, 2010
    75
    Def Jam Rapstar has some pretty impressive speech recognition under the hood and a great start with its community site but at the same time, some track list omissions and a career mode that feels somewhat tacked on makes this game a good start with plenty of room to grow.
  21. Oct 28, 2010
    74
    If you want to bust out the rhymes of your favorite rap artists, DefJam Rapstar is your only option. By default this makes it the best game of its kind, but that doesn't mean its undeserved. While the package might not be a slick as other music games, the goods comes in the form of its precise rapping.
  22. A solid debut, though the package will be a little over reliant on the community for many. [Jan 2011, p.88]
  23. Dec 23, 2010
    72
    There isn't much to the game's career mode, but this game will certainly be a sure-fire winner at parties.
  24. Dec 29, 2010
    71
    Loads better than you'd expect. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  25. Jan 20, 2011
    70
    It has its flaws, but if you like rap or hip-hop, you'll surely have fun, especially in multiplayer.
  26. Dec 29, 2010
    70
    A surprisingly fun karaoke game, with a strong community and good online options. Unfortunately, censorship in many tracks brings down the overall experience.
  27. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    For some, the game will be a chance to get a bit drunk and mess about singing Gold Digger while pretending to be the wiry-haired teacher off of Glee. And to that end, the game satisfies rather than dazzles.
  28. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    Basically a Singstar game with rap. The scoring system in the game is surprisingly good and the game has some really good songs, even though some are crap. It's a little short on game modes and the carreer mode is finished in an evening, but if you like hip-hop, Rapstar is going to be a blast.
  29. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    Def Jam Rapstar confidently captures the swagger of the hip-hop genre with a slick combination of old-school and new-school tracks which are sure to delight any funky monkey.
  30. 70
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  31. Dec 13, 2010
    70
    Overall, Def Jam Rapstar is an excellent entry to the rap karaoke genre and goes some way to achieving what fans would have been wanting from the game. With a little bit more fine tuning here and there, Def Jam Rapstar has the potential to be a very serious contender within the music game market.
  32. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    Rapstar is a solid singing game that would benefit from more fleshed-out features in future installments. More on-disc songs, more video display options, a more robust career, better editing functions, and an improved presentation would go a long way toward moving this title from an "on point" rating to "off the chain."
  33. Dec 23, 2010
    67
    While it may just seem like glorified Karaoke, there is more going on here than meets the eye and a sequel could be even more fun if they polish up the interface.
  34. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    Thanks to Rapstar we now finally have a karaokegame that makes us rap instead of sing. The problem is Rapstar can't decide if its for the hardcore hiphop-fan or the mainstream listener. And why on earth is the foul language edited out?
  35. Dec 25, 2010
    60
    It's a fun alternative to Lips, but Rapstar is let down by a limited amount of content and bland presentation. [Issue#66, p.84]
  36. Dec 23, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    5
    As a massive games and Hip-Hop fan I was really looking forward to DefJam Rapstar. The pre-release statement from the game's producer that they used PS2 title 'Get On The Mic' as an example of what not to do (thugged out avatars rapping along to your performance in exchange for bling and rims) was also music to my ears. Unfortunately what DefJam Rapstar is, is another badly produced rap-game. I think the decision to include the singing parts in your performance takes away from the essence of the game, this is made worse by the fact you have to unlock songs by playing the 'career mode'. As I own the UK copy of the game it is this last point which is most frustrating; in order to unlock Hip-Hop classics such as Big Poppa, Fight The Power, It Takes Two and Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Could See I have to endure performing wack-songs like Devlin - Giant, Tinchy Stryder - Number 1 and Soulja Boy - Turn My Swag On, none of which I even consider to follow the continuum of Hip-Hop music. Whilst I can accept these songs being part of the game I don't like being forced to play them just so I can get the content I originally bought the game for. I do enjoy playing the songs I like and for the most part the game does what is says on the box but all in all it is a low effort production. Other annoyances include the absolutely terrible main music loop that you can't turn off and the fact you cannot check your position on the leaderboard immediately after performing a song. What will really save this game for me is the DLC, especially if they drop classic albums like other music games. More classic 90s artists like Slick Rick, O.C., Jeru, Scarface, ATCQ, Lord Finesse and Big L and less mainstream pop music will be Rapstars saviour. Full Review »
  2. jdo
    Oct 13, 2010
    10
    THIS. GAME. IS. THE. SH*T!! I've been playing the game non-stop since I bought it this weekend at Gamestop. So much fun. Always wanted to have a hip-hop game since that's what me and my friends listen to. I like Rock Band/Guitar Hero, but like Jay says - we off that. The track list is hot -- some old school stuff I'd never heard -- and they've already got more hot DLC up. Plus, you can record you and your boys playing around and then put it up on the web -- hilarious. If you like Hip-Hop, you need this game. If you like fun, you need this game. Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    I have been waiting for this game since forever, and it delivers. From Wu-tang and Beastie boys to Kanye and Soulja Boy, there is something for everyone. Best karaoke style game Ive ever played by miles, and has an awesome online community where you can rap against others, gain fans, gain rivals, and/or just make a music video!! AND if you got 2 mics then 2 people can play and the game, for example on "nothin but a g thang" players 1 and 2 choose who is snoop and who is dre..... this game is great Full Review »