Defiance Xbox 360

Defiance Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Arktech. Some will die for it – everyone kills for it. Join a futuristic online open-world shooter where thousands of players scour a transformed Earth competing for alien technology. Hunt alone or with other people as you improve your skills and level up unlocking powerful weapons that helpArktech. Some will die for it – everyone kills for it. Join a futuristic online open-world shooter where thousands of players scour a transformed Earth competing for alien technology. Hunt alone or with other people as you improve your skills and level up unlocking powerful weapons that help you survive the massive battles that await you. Defiance is the first multiplatform shooter MMO which interconnects with a global television program by cable channel Syfy. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    80
    I may not know what other MMOs offer, but something that feels like a single-player game where other people just happen to show up is just about the best possible thing I can imagine. Coming from this perspective, Defiance delivers.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    Despite the ropey opening few hours Defiance settles into its rhythm very nicely and becomes a game that is so easily picked up and played you cannot help but fall for it a little. Yes for every positive there are at least two negatives but ultimately it’s light, fun and most of all an experience that console players currently do not have.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    70
    Defiance is essentially a single player shooter, that has been retrofitted to an MMOFPS. The multiplayer component doesn't really add anything to the game, if you don't count some random back-up crews as such. [Aug 2013]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Much like its own arkfalls, Defiance offers treasure, but you have to battle an array of bugs before you can reap it.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 10, 2013
    60
    With its straight focus, repetitive missions and static world, Defiance shouldn't work as well as it does. There's potential here. [July 2013, p.69]
  6. May 21, 2013
    55
    Defiance isn’t a bad game, it’s just not all that fun to play.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    25
    Defiance can still get its hooks in you in the addictive way that most MMO’s do, but there’s a point where frustration with the various issues will continue to build, and make you put the game up for good. Once those issues are fixed, assuming they will be, then I imagine we’ll have a decent experience on our hands, especially for console gamers that don’t get a lot of MMO love. But until then, I’d suggest saving your time and money for something that actually works and feels complete.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 119
  2. Negative: 23 out of 119
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Finally! Defiance is THE game this console has been missing for a long time. It's like Fallout 3 meets Borderlands meets Final Fantasy. TonsFinally! Defiance is THE game this console has been missing for a long time. It's like Fallout 3 meets Borderlands meets Final Fantasy. Tons of things to do MMO RPG PvP Excellent combat system NO SUBSCRIPTION FEE WIN. Now where is my fish sticks hat? Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Awesome game noting else like it available for console; reminds me of a borderlands, gears of wars and rift mix up. Can be enjoyed with a fewAwesome game noting else like it available for console; reminds me of a borderlands, gears of wars and rift mix up. Can be enjoyed with a few friends or hundreds of players at the same time. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    I am having a lot of fun with this game for the 360! It is a fresh idea to be in sync with the show from the beginning. I am looking forwardI am having a lot of fun with this game for the 360! It is a fresh idea to be in sync with the show from the beginning. I am looking forward on seeing how the episodes correlate with
    The missions! I always enjoy back stories and Easter eggs in movies. This game helps with the Emerson into the defiance universe!

    Few bugs but trion and devs are working hard at addressing issue! Keep up the great work. I also enjoy the events occurring regularly!
    Collapse
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    8
    Defiance is a very fun game. I have played many, many MMOs over the last 15 years and this is a step in the right direction. This is aDefiance is a very fun game. I have played many, many MMOs over the last 15 years and this is a step in the right direction. This is a fantastic blend of 3rd person shooting action with the quest and customization feel of an RPG. The controls are tight and the combat is fun. The graphics do leave a bit to be desired, but they don't hurt the game at all in my opinion. This game is for sure worth a buy if you enjoy MMOs and sci-fi shooters. I am very interested to see how it works with the TV show. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    The MMO elements to this game have failed to convert me. However the overall gameplay is fantastic and I'm hooked. I love leveling up andThe MMO elements to this game have failed to convert me. However the overall gameplay is fantastic and I'm hooked. I love leveling up and getting loot and there's lots of this in Defiance. The gun play is solid and graphics are great for an MMO. Love it. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    6
    Will be a hit or miss. The PC version is much better than the console versions with much less hiccups or lag. Either you're one of theWill be a hit or miss. The PC version is much better than the console versions with much less hiccups or lag. Either you're one of the unfortunate few who buy a $60 game only to be unable to download it, have the patcher work properly, be disconnected frequently, download up to 90% only to have a patcher error continuously. OR you're part of the group that have played it seamlessly without any errors. It's a roll of the dice to be honest, and I dont think this average shooter and outdated graphic-wise game deserves that gamble. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    One of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. NoOne of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. No dynamic voice chat to replace the loss of the chat dialog. I mean typing with the Gamepad seriously? The AI is non existent. NPCs behave very dumb. Quests have no interesting quality and the game is a boring overall experience. It feels like a game from 10 years ago with huge design mistakes. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews