User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 136
  2. Negative: 24 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2011
    6
    S**t khana.................(I would leave it there if i could, so I'll keep it short) Slightly improved graphics, very pretty cars and maps. Top notch arcade rally action, along the same lines as the previous games. Soundtrack is less annoying than other Dirt games. One new introduction to Dirt 3 is Gymkhana, yes, the Ken Block youtube thing. What seems fun on paper is actually fun for about a minute and then gets forced on you for the rest of the game. Actual rally, awesome, Gynkhana, nope. Expand
  2. May 27, 2011
    7
    Third attempt at a review score, hopefully this one will stick. Beautiful graphics and well chosen music but the major emphasis on Gymkhana based events halts progression.
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    Super game, an improvement over Dirt 2 (which was pretty great too!)

    There's a tonne of game play and the graphics are stunning. I really cant find fault with it.
  4. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game. No longer a Mountain Dew commercial like Dirt 2, Dirt 3 features a stylish new interface that is easy to navigate and looks good as well. Progression is also much better in this game, although I really don't like being told what cars to drive and when. Graphically it is on par with the second game in the series, the only thing missing is all the extreme action sports crap and annoying rivals constantly yapping in your ear the whole game, but that isn't a bad thing. Gymkhana plays a big role here, but there isn't so much that it detracts from the rest of the game, and its actually pretty fun, although not as easy as gameplay videos make it look. Rally also makes a return in a big way. My biggest complaint with Dirt 2 was the almost non-existence of rally events. That is the series heritage and shouldn't have been cast aside just to get a bigger install base. Also, there are plenty of racing games where all you do is race other drivers on circuits, and that's ok, but rally is pretty unique and isn't found in a lot of games, and if it is its poorly represented (the rally mode in GT5 was an atrocity). If you want the circuit stuff it is still in here, there is just a better diversity of race types this time. Snow, rain and night-time racing have been added and are a welcome addition. The handling has been tweaked somewhat, so if you were expecting the slippery arcade feel of the first two games you're out of luck. Cars handle more realistically now, my only complaint is that the e-brake has been rendered almost useless unless you turn the stability control on, if not your car does a doughnut at the slightest press of the button. As a person that is used to driving without assists, it is a little embarrassing to have to flip one of them on, but hey, it doesn't ruin the game at all. Also, a lot of people are complaining about the voices of your agent, crew-chief and announcer-guy. I admit they do grate on you after a while, but it isn't any worse than in GRID and they can be turned off. With a lengthy, diverse campaign, great visuals, good handling, fun additions like Gymkhana and the return of rally, Dirt 3 is the game that Dirt 2 should have been. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed that game but as a rally fan I felt a little shunned. I recommend this game to anyone enjoyed the first two or anyone that is looking for something a little different that the same old road-course multi-car racing in every other racing game. Expand
  5. May 26, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! Top Notch in fact.I'd heard & knew the graphics were going to be good,but this has to be the best looking,& dare i say,most beautiful racing game i've EVER seen.. Fortunately,it plays like a dream too.It has a good variety of racing events,All of which are playable in Split-Screen & Online multiplayer,Which is great! But in Dirt 4,i'd like to see Split Screen & online in career mode too(hey,why not?),with players 2(+3,4,5,6,7 etc if online)take any positions,points & any other unlocks they earn,back with them to their career.As much as i love this game,i do have a couple of niggles,which is why its not a perfect 10.Theres still not as much emphisis on Point to Point rallying I'd have liked.(Would like to see a full Rally Season included ideally).I'm REALLY not feeling Gymkhana at all..I dont find it any fun,it just seems pointless & out of place,& just gets in the way for me..Would like to see that,& Land Rush,maybe scrapped in the next title,in favour of the wide open Truck/Desert events from Dirt 1 & more Rally Stages.Also,i dont understand the games fascination with Youtube!? I cant/dont have a Youtube account,& even if i could,would rather save my replays in their entireity to the Hard disk,in HD.NOT Youtube!? Its also annoying to be constantly told "You should save that 'Awesome' replay to Youtoobe".Especially when i havnt registered a Youtube account with the game.. Another minor point is,It'd be good in Dirt 4(or patched into Dirt 3 too),if you could choose your prefered driver views for each event,from the game menu.For example,for Rally,Rallycross,Trailblazer,& head to head,i use the in-car **** view,& for Land rush & Gymkhana(if i really have to),i prefer Bonnet cam.Those 2 events i wouldnt miss if they were dropped anyway,but if i have to play them,setting views for each event type would be nice.Other than that though,& despite my gripes,I'm greatly enjoying the game,& the love & passion the developers have for all things rally,is evident.For those interested,yes you can configure your own controls & yes you can turn off the racing line.In fact theres ALOT of options for this game.You can play it hardcore,by turning all the aids off & set the AI level,or have them on to the point that even my girlfriend can play the game,with assists with braking & steering! You really can set the game up to how you want to play it comfortably.The great thing is,even when playing split-screen,each player can have their own exact control & driving aid setups.Works great! Have to give one last compliment to Rally Mode in multiplayer.At first i was gutted that it didnt have'Hot Seat',but found that its done even more realistically in Dirt 3,by having the players do staggered starts,just like real rally.this works REALLY well! & would like to see it better applied in future titles by having a full & dedicated Rally season,withSplit-Screen & online multiplayer option).But all in all,This is a quality product. Expand
  6. May 26, 2011
    10
    I got the game today and let me say Dirt 3 Awesome one of the best racing games of 2011 I love racing games and when they as good as Dirt 3 and Shift 2 unleashed then I truly love them and will play them over and over and untill I get bored of it which won't be anytime soon once again the dirt franchise dit a awesome job
  7. May 25, 2011
    10
    There isn't much to say about this game, so I'll be brief. YOU MUST OWN THIS GAME RACING FANS, A GRAPHICAL MASTERPIECE IN EVERY WAY, A RACING GAME LIKE NO OTHER, CODEMASTERS THANK YOU!!!
  8. May 26, 2011
    9
    I've played quite a few racing games over the past few years: Pure, Need For Speed: Shift, Burnout Paradise...Unfortunately for me, all of them bored me to death. Not so with DiRT 3. I never thought I'd actually be able to enjoy a racing game. I've never said to myself "I can't wait to play some more ____" when referring to a racing game, besides with Mario Kart 64 when I was a kid. Dirt 3 is excellent. It's got variety, it's fun as hell, the environments and cars look great...I'm having a blast with it. Expand
  9. May 25, 2011
    0
    For all people reviewing this saying how good it is and what the improvements are they need to get out more.

    Yes the graphics are good, and the game play does present some nice driving. But the interface, car selection, and overall presentation of the game is just a huge step in the wrong direction.

    If you like having to be presented with an annoying voice that shows you the in's and
    out's of the race you are about to do like you the retarded child of a inbred hill billy the go for gold. I seruously wanted to shoot myself having to listen to the BS and be led through the game without being able to skip the crap and get to racing.

    Then there are the options of you cars, they rave and hype about car selection then make you race in there classified box again until you just want to shoot yourself.

    So then you go to the what was once the awesome damage model of the dirt series. Where did it go. The crashes use to be the reason to play, as the car was destroyed from poor or agressive driving. Now your just let down with a lack luster move away from something different to a monkey see monkey do, although visually stunning game.

    All the good has gone, and what is left is a beautiful looking shell of a game.
    Expand
  10. May 27, 2011
    4
    This was of great disappointment to me. DiRT series used to be my favourite racing games. I have all 3 of them now, and I can say for sure that the third is the worst. There will be huge loading times, annoying very slow due to retarded animations menus, ****ed up sounds but that's nothing compared to what this game has done to people who love the series. DiRT comes up in our minds like a very high quality accessible rally simulator. Well nothing from that remained in DiRT 3. I am sorry to tell you that:

    -Physics is screwed up big time. Every move of the car, every turn, EVERYTHING is exaggerated. You pull your controller stick (don't even try to play it with a keyboard) 1 angle, the car immediately starts sliding. Touch a small stone on a road while driving at 30km/h and your car will fly into the sky.

    -Accessibility disappeared with the realistic physics obviously. Playing this with a controller may help on the easy difficulty (though that just plain boring) but to get through the game on intermediate you need a racing wheel.

    -The retarded competitors replicas have been cut out (thank god), but the graphics, however did not improve. As a point of fact DiRT 2 looked better to me. Cars in DiRT 3 look like they are from podium and they remain that way unless you drive through some scripted part of the track, where your card suddenly gets all DiRTy and ****

    DiRT 3 switched sides and is trying to be a rally Gran Turismo now. The thing is: to be a rally Gran Turismo you need to have Japanese love for work and a patience of a tiger. Codemasters have neither. Some people may find the retarded physics "chellenging". Some may claim I am just trolling because the game is too hard. Think what you will. I have completed all DiRT games on highest difficulty. I have played Gran Turismo 5. And I warned you about this one.
    Expand
  11. May 25, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! A perfect blend of visuals, physics and audio to bring the Dirt series to another level. The graphics are amazing on the PC, tracks are life like and the environments are spot-on. The lighting is perfect with each different time period displayed beautifully. I love the fact they focus more on rally events. My only complaint is in single player, I wish there was a way to actually compete in a full rally event. Similar to Richard Burn's Rally where you have different stages in a location and the ability to work on your vehicle in the service area. Otherwise, everything else is great. Now if only Codemasters would get the NASCAR license, what a game that would be! Expand
  12. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game so far. love it. well worth the wait! Make sure your TV is set to game mode so the handling response is at its best. I noticed a big difference after changing this.
  13. May 27, 2011
    10
    Can't believe people have bothered to write reviews giving this a '0'! Felt compelled to write my own to counteract them as that's just ridiculous. Everything about this game is AMAZING, i love it especially with my driving wheel, this has to be the best racer i've played in the last decade and i've played a hell of a lot. Good work guys!
  14. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    This is and isn't an improvement over the previous games. The graphics look better, and it sounds really nice, but man is some of the choices Codies made are annoying. The UI, while a step back in the right direction still favors style over function. Every time you want to select a new event you have to wait for the Sick Triforce of Extreme Awesomeness to unfold, and before each race you have to wait for a cutscene to slowly pan to your car, etc. Not to mention the three stooges who "guide" you through the game who really just waste time with their stupid chatter every time you win an event. By the way I hope you like the X Games, because Codemasters sure does! (Even though the X Games are no different from any of the other events.) Now on the back of the case it states "The most rally content in the series ever!", but in reality it's the opposite, at least as far stages are concerned. The devs only took the time to make one "big" stage per location then they chopped it up and reversed it to make more stages. The different times of day and weather help keep things fresh, but do little to change the track aside from the visuals. It should also be mentioned that the tracks in this game are the widest and easiest in the series. The rally stages are often 3 cars wide and there are many places to cut corners. It's a shame when you look at the game's amazing roster of cars, but have such a limited selection of stages. So instead of adding more rally content Codemasters added in Gymkhana and while it doesn't have as big of a presence as the other race types, they still put quite a bit of effort into it. I found to be pretty fun, but you can skip MOST of the events if you want. There are also optional DC® Challenges to complete, good luck getting those Platinum medals though. As for multiplayer, I found it to be a lot more fun then the previous games. Flashbacks have been added, which give you a running start if you screw up. This makes online races a lot less frustrating and a lot more competitive. The car classes are more balanced too. It seems every car is competitive in it's class. All in all I'd say its a pretty good game, but somewhat rushed. It's not the rally game I had hoped for. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    What a shame a once great title turned into a second rate game. Whilst the rallying is still as enjoyable as ever, especially online the shortage of tracks creates major limitations. Add the awful Gymkhana events create a real schoolboy view of rallying. Whilst more tracks are available via downloadable content they were surely originally to form part of your games purchase price, and look like they were only not included to allow for the lets grab an extra buck attitude which blights a lot of recent 360 releases. If you can pick Dirt 3 up at less than £20 and allow an extra £15 for the missing content to be downloaded perhaps then it becomes a more rounded and satisfying product, but for myself i will not be getting burnt when the inevitable Dirt 4 becomes available. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    After 18 months playing this I had to change my original score of 9 down to an 8, as this game isn't as great as GRID however it has way more options and modes to it. Over time the quality of this game wasn't as good as the gloss made it out to be, frankly I had more fun playing Dirt Showdown. If there is to be a new Dirt please Codies simplify the Gymkhana events or just get rid of them, make handling more like Showdown or make it realistic, GET RID OF THE 'YO DUDE' VOICE ACTING, and cut the padded out livery challenge events. Still a very good game, though it's flaws are too glaring to miss. Expand
  17. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Not bad, I miss a lot of physics and features from Dirt 2. Seems more disciplined and forced to race certain types, Gymkhana I feel should be a separate mode and not forced into tour events. Gymkhana is annoying as hell because of that, the graphics seem a little tighter and better but I miss the old tracks. Feels a little more arcade style than Dirt 2 it seems a little too fast compared to the realistic feeling Dirt 2 had. But I guess a good game, I was kind of disappointed over all. Expand
  18. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun! Definitely the best racing game I've played in the last 10 years; and very possibly a contender for best game, across any genre, in the last 2 years.

    Tears of laughter and joy, playing the party game modes online - haven't had this much fun on a game since the days of SNES Mario Kart and Golden Eye N64. The damage model is amazing and it needs to be,
    considering the pounding the cars take during the party games.

    Large range of user options, mean you can make this as sim or arcade as you like - I prefer it on advanced with no assists, the kids preferred it more casual, and we can play split screen together with no loss of visuals - which are simply stunning btw.

    Gymkhana, which I didn't think I'd like was really addictive, particularly the free roam in Battersea - and the kids really enjoy it. The Rally tracks are simply awesome, amazing visuals and exceptionally playable stages. Without a doubt the best rally game available today.

    Without a doubt a 10
    Expand
  19. May 27, 2011
    10
    For what the game is trying to achieve, it is the perfect racing game, lots of different disciplines, nothing gets tedious, one off events get introduced to keep it fresh, multiplayer is the best it has ever been in a racing game.
    no idea why people are rating a 0, even if it isn't for you, a 0 is ridiculous
  20. Jun 3, 2011
    5
    DIRT. Well the title says it all, because thats all it amounts to.
    Graphically it looks the business. Thats really about it. Codies have take a once great franchise and put a dodgy American twist and it shows through here, non more than with the gymkhana.....what alot of nonsense. Wheres the mud and dirt in that? Gone are the days of the pure throughabread rally driving and here are the
    days of "Ken c*ck Block. Ken Block failed in his attempt in the WRC as does Dirt. This is more like Tony Hawk meets Shaun White in a Max Power Fiesta. PANTS!! If you like that sorta thing. £40.00 wasted..... next!!!! Expand
  21. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    I am so disappointed.This game is great but Dirt 2 was walking the line of perfection and for every 1 step forward in this game there is 3 steps back.I'm not even going to get into it because its majorly disappointing.Straight 8 nothing more.
  22. May 24, 2011
    10
    This game is dope as hell. Need I really say more? With more rallying than DiRT 1 and DiRT 2 and new inclusions like the DC compound and gymkhana, you'd be a complete fool to pass this game up if you even remotely like racing games. Go buy it, now!
  23. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    PROS:Great visual by far one the best looking racing games. A long tour mode. Great for people who want a racing simulator or only like more arcade racers. Awesome sound track. Multiplayer works flawlessly. RALLY is big part of the game which was absent from DIRT2.
    CONS:In game garage sucks ur not able to see 3D model of vehicle only small pictures with a few facts. Tour mode narrators is
    very annoying Expand
  24. Jun 10, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers. Well, its not a bad game, it should have some more improvements. I also believe that this game could be a little easier to deal with. Because on first impression, who has never played any Dirt, you probably have some difficulties Collapse
  25. Jun 20, 2011
    1
    What a disappointment! The physics are back to the Dirt 1, free-axis, physics and it couldn't be any worse. You SLIGHTLY turn the vehicle and it goes careening EVERYWHERE. Where are the awesome Dirt 2 car physics? Obviously, it went away this year, just like the ability to choose what car you'd like to race in. Now, instead of getting to CHOOSE which ride you'd like to drive in, you're FORCED to drive only ONE ride. Even in Dirt 1 you had the option to choose the kind of ride you'd like to race in (with, amazingly, very similar competition structure). And there is also a lack of actual courses in this game, but it that would be forgiven because of "Gymkhana", right? Too bad with the ludicrous physics, that even becomes MORE of a pain as you never really feel like you have control of the vehicle! To close, I'd like to say to people thinking about buying this game, buy Dirt 2 instead! It has a better structure, an actual choice of rides, more tracks (although Dirt 1 beats Dirt 2 in that category) and the car physics were the best of the current Dirt series (that will actually ALLOW proper car car set-ups). This game just seems like an overly-hyped, shined up turd, and play at the fans of the series by CodeMasters. Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    its not a bad game, far from it. its just not a rally game! gymkhana is just showing off, sliding around concrete in a ford fiesta. where is the dirt?! very hard to do in inside view, and game forces you to do these races to progress. graphics are great and the youtube feature is a novelty, but a good edition. menus are terrible though, way too much effort has been put into making them cool and americanised. not for rally fans, but for people who want to mess around in a few pretty cars Expand
  27. Jan 21, 2012
    0
    Terrible game! Got it for christmas, expecting a quality racing game with customizable cars and fun gameplay. What did I get instead? Dirt 3. The commentator is awful, because you cant understand her and she says nothing even relevant to what you are doing while you are racing. Also, you are only allowed to pick from certain cars pertaining to each race, and you cant upgrade it or even change its color! This game is boring and redundant, and it does not deserve positive feedback Expand
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    Pick it up cheap, not as good as the hype behind it, cars feel arcade like and handle like the tires are made of snot...........Still own it, nobdy wants it, Garbage
  29. Jan 16, 2012
    0
    Dirt 2 was and is a great racing game. Although the physics seem a bit more realistic at times overall Dirt 3 is much less rewarding of driving skill. Courses are extremely wide to the point of being a bit ridiculous. Car selection is much more limited and confusing often leaving you wonder if your selecting a vehicle with different handling or just different paint. Only one truck and one buggy?!? New modes are all based on crashing into other players and spinning out so if your looking for a racing game look elsewhere. Online play now requires everyone to purchase an add on from xbox marketplace if you don't have a code from a retail purchase. Attempting to play actual races online has often resulted in not finding anyone to race with as they are all either busy playing crash games or perhaps they just couldn't be bothered to get the online play working. Overall it's nice to race new tracks but the online play has been botched by wide tracks, lack of racers and non racing game modes. The number of in game up-sells for cars and tracks is also annoying for such a disappointing title. In the end Dirt 3 is about what I'd expect if Michael Bay had his way with dirt 2. Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    After running through Dirt 2 several times, I found Dirt 3 to be lacking in many areas. First of all, being forced to participate in Gymkhana events was a waste of time. Handling on the cars was less than realistic compared to D2. Having raced offroad for 30 years, D2 is the closest sim I have found to actual offroad handling. Graphics are worse in D3, also. Where are the rooster tails? Where is the smoke on pavement? Car selection has pretty much been forced upon you for points, whereas D2 gives you the option of several cars for one race, and end points are tallied only on race results, not on type of car driven. Ken Block was annoying in the D2, but having him as the "star" is beyond annoying. Sound is nowhere near as good as D2, either. I have not used the headphones, but through surround sound system or just the TV speakers, it just doesn't have the same effect. I can turn off the music, but I cannot turn the engine and effects sound down past 50%. Even with those at that level and the voice level at 100%, I have to strain to hear the co-driver. If you've played D2, don't waste you money on this disappointment. If you haven't played D2, this would be ok, but even so, I wouldn't recommend it. Expand
  31. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    Codemasters ability to make a good solid racing game seems like it's as easy to them as it is for us to butter a slice of bread (apologies to those who are unable to butter a slice of bread, but you see what im getting at). GRID, Dirt 1&2, and F1 have all proved to be great racing experiences that have garnered a loyal fan base due to the developers sheer love of the genre. Dirt 3 is the best of the bunch to date and a title that any serious racing fan should feel ashamed to not own. Dirt 3 doesn't differ that much from its two predecessors but what it does do is refine its own mechanics and level of presentation to even greater heights. The added inclusion of Ken Blocks unique form of freestyle motorsport 'Gymkhana' is an absolute delight. At first its terrifyingly daunting, but given a couple of events and a no clock practice around the Battersea compound, you soon start to feel like a deity behind the wheel of a machine you can do whatever you please with. Dirt 3 is an exceptional package given to us by a developer who's care and attention is now playing with the big boys of the racing genre Expand
  32. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Where do I start? Let's begin with the graphics. The cars look great, environments & tracks are decent but the driver/spectators' faces and some textures in the interior of particular vehicles don't seem to exist. The frame rate is consistent but not overly high like in Forza, so racing feels more intense. The new interface is much better and easier to navigate, and soundtrack is probably THE BEST in pretty much any racing game out there. There are two new modes- Head 2 Head and Gymkhana. While this style-scoring may seem good on paper, it's nothing particularly exciting or entertaining. Luckily the career mode does include some more variations of it. There are now options for assists and money doesn't exist. It's just liveries and cars combined and you get bonus objectives to complete which level up your driver. These objectives can be obtained in multiplayer and the career, and there is now a limit to the driver level (30) and online rank (50). Multiplayer is the most fun aspect of this game. It's consistently rewarding and there is little to no lag. Again, it encourages and rewards clean racing. This is a game where first place is just another position, and you can easily enjoy the game and have fun regardless of your position or skill. One thing to be aware of is that, because you can now use assists in multiplayer, DO NOT turn off ABS because it severely disadvantages you. The playlists, team events and tracks are much improved on DiRT 2 due to the increased variety- you now get snow, gravel, sand, tarmac, snow, woodlands etc.. As too are the cars. There are around 50 cars and there's much greater variety in them too- you get cars from each decade and trailblazer cars include modern and classic hillclimbs. What this game does so well that few racing games manage to do is capture the sense of speed and make racing feel intense and like you're there. To get the same sense of speed going at 120mph in say Forza, you need to be doing about 210mph. The reason for this is that the tracks are tight and you're never sure how fast you can go without parking up on a tree. When you do crash, you can use flashbacks, but these can now be used online too to respawn your car but without having to accelerate up to speed gain. This encourages you to always try to go for the win regardless of how many times you crashed. I once crashed 4 times more than everyone else but because I took the last two corners perfectly I came within 1 second of 1st, finishing in 2nd place even though I would've been miles in first if it wasn't for the crashes. So really I do think that the multiplayer is very balanced, fair and rewarding regardless of skill level. Anyone can play it and enjoy it even if they don't win. Team events in rallies are improved too, so that it's the combined total time to finish the race for all members of the team rather than just the finishing positions. Sadly this doesn't apply to other modes but that's fine. Overall, it improves upon DiRT 2 in many ways but I somehow prefered the simplicity of DiRT 2 and its cars without assists. DiRT 3 though is much better and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes racing games. I can certainly understand why people may dislike the game but all this game does is add content, not remove it. Granted you need an online pass, but that's how games are becoming these days, and the online is definitely worth checking out. I think what makes this game better than DiRT 2 is the sheer variety. So many more classes of vehicles, so much variety in the environments. You can switch between classic circuit racing like in any other racing game to intense rallying through Kenya, Finland, Michigan and Norway. Or breakneck speeds in hillclimb cars. The Gymkhana spices things up, and what's impressive are the DC compount challenges, including a free-roam mode with interesting objectives and collectibles. Unlike Forza, this isn't a game which is repetitive. You don't just do one thing- drive around a track many times. Here, you get a real taste of speed and style without being bored. Leaderboards are much better here as damage is not taken into account, and because most tracks are point-to-point, you can hit the restart button and instantly get back in the action rather than needing to do another lap to get a rolling start. It's just you, the time, the track and the vehicle. There are hundreds of leaderboards for time trials you can go through once you've finished the game, and the variety of multiplayer events is also endless thanks to the party modes and jan sessions. Despite its seemingly miniscule amount of content when compared to Forza, the variety and how well this content is used and intergrated within the multiplayer and DiRT Tour gives it enough credit to qualify this game as one of the most complete racing experiences of this generation. Expand
  33. May 24, 2012
    10
    In Career mode, there are a number of different rally styles. There are half a dozen rally race styles altogether. You have to get through each and every one of them to complete the mode. It's really a nice touch that the races are so forcefully varied. It keeps things from stagnating, and helps develop your skills in different areas. Looking forward to Dirt Showdown which will have the destruction derby! [Waddup!] Participating in the contests here have made the wait for Showdown bearable - http://www.facebook.com/AMD/app_370166086361523 and on http://www.facebook.com/RelianceHVG. Expand
  34. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    (My PC Review available as well) I was surprised when I started playing this, realizing that it's a racing game where you actually have to have SKILL. I can't tell you how many times I drifted off the track and crashed my car into some tree, wall, or a random object. That's what makes this game so challenging, and also what makes it really fun. You'll be going back to races over and over again just so you can get 1st place on those events. When you finally do, it's a satisfying feeling. Multiplayer is especially fun as well. This game deserves a 10/10. Expand
  35. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Quite simply the best rally game to date and that includes the WRC games and Dirt Showdown (don't buy showdown). I fell in love with this game from the beginning, the tight controls, the brilliant gameplay and the sweet graphics make up for a truly unique experience.
  36. Feb 4, 2013
    3
    Graphics are good, so is the physic engine, no doubt about that. But why is still called Rallye? This fun mods are not what the game should be about(drifting get points and Also The rallye maps are mostly 1 big map, just reversed and/or shorter runs. this maps recycling. Do i drive with my car in my own garden? No!! Disappointment!
  37. Jan 7, 2014
    1
    Terrible. Absolutely terrible. I've read through the other reviews, and played through Dirt 2 several times prior to purchasing this game, but I just had to see for myself. Big waste of money. A lot of people giving reviews have been raving about the "improved graphics" over Dirt 2. Ok, so maybe the background graphics are better, but overall, graphics are worse in this game compared to its predecessor. The physics in this version are absolutely a joke! I played arcade games in the 70's with better physics than this! No matter what car or what course, it's like trying to drive a brick across a half-greased rubber band. Traction goes from one extreme to another with no rhyme or reason. One second you're sliding wildly out of control, the next it bites like the tires are nailed to the surface, and it doesn't matter what simulated surface you are driving on. Controls are way too sensitive, too. The slightest movement of the controller sends the car into a 90 degree turn. A slight tap of the brakes and it slows from 110 mph to 20 mph in a split second. Cornering is more unpredictable than a ping-pong ball bouncing around inside a clothes dryer, with even the slightest little bump in the road sending the car bouncing 5 feet in the air, even at slower speeds (less than 50 mph). Every vehicle in each class handles exactly the same as the others, so choosing which vehicle to drive becomes a moot point. Sound quality is lacking, and what is heard is mostly annoying. The developers' attempt at capturing shouts from the crowd as you pass ends up sounding more like someone choking a chicken or a drunk with Tourette's Syndrome. Rally? Pfft. The co-driver (when they can be heard over the engine that generally sounds like an overweight bumblebee with excessive flatulence) gives terrible information. A corner of the same difficulty, radius, camber, and surface is sometimes a 3, sometimes a 5, sometimes a 2, etc. I raced rally at the semi-pro level for about 10 years, and if my co-driver had given directions like that, I'd have stopped the car, opened the door, and kicked their butt off a cliff. The "witty banter" from Dirt 2, which was annoyingly over-the-top, is no longer a distraction during the race, but the commentary before and after the race is banal and pointless. Upon entering a race for the first time with a vehicle you've never driven before and having your mechanic tell you that you "didn't even put a dent in it in the last race" is just plain.....stupid, for lack of a non-obscene word. After the 3rd or 4th event, I just turned off the sound on my TV (since it is impossible to completely mute the voices, engine, or effects) just so I could finish the game without the urge to jab an icepick into my ears. The programmers should have spent more time perfecting the physics and actual handling (or just go back to the way it was in Dirt 2, which was much more realistic) instead of making pretty trees and clouds, which nobody in their right mind pays attention to while trying to drive their brick. In Dirt 2, as well as most other racing games I have played, the emphasis was on performance. You raced the track and other competitors to proceed through each level. This game, you race against poor coding and the inevitable Gymkhana events. Gymkhana? Really? I bought this game for rally, off-road, and rallycross racing, not to do donuts in a parking lot and smash styrofoam blocks. What are we, in high school again? But unfortunately, it is forced upon you in every stage of the game. Gymkhana has absolutely nothing to do with rally racing. It has nothing to do with racing period. It is a showboat "sport", much like all the other X Games. Racing is about speed, picking the right line, and passing cars. Gymkhana is about spinning in circles for no apparent reason. The opening and closing sequences to each event are mind-numbingly boring, and again, the developers appear to be more concerned with getting you to admire their ability to render landscapes and shiny cars than they are about bringing you a realistic, challenging racing game. Gutted out the game to the end, and now I will delete it from my XBox and try to forget that I ever saw this miserable excuse for a racing game in the first place. Expand
  38. Jun 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Well, its not a bad game, it should have some more improvements. I also believe that this game could be a little easier to deal with. Because on first impression, who has never played any Dirt, you probably have some difficulties Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Some dedicated Dirt fans might feel slighted by the shift, but as a newcomer to the series this was a fantastic place to slip in.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    87
    A very convincing package with stunning graphics and nice feel for arcade'ish racing. There's maybe a bit too much emphasis on gymkhana game mode though. [Aug 2011]
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    90
    Offering excellent driving gameplay to all levels of player skill, Dirt 3 raises the bar for accessibility in a realistic driving simulator. With dozens of unique tracks, cars, and multiplayer games it offers and harassment of content without ever feeling overwhelming. By their very nature racing games are was going to be a little repetitive but Dirt 3 has almost completely succeeded in removing frustration from the mix.