DiRT 3 Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dirt 3 takes Codemasters' off-road series back to its rallying roots.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dirt 3 Compound Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. May 26, 2011
    100
    Dirt 3 is the best in the long running series and a must for any fan, but there is fun to be had regardless of your experience with the genre. Codemasters have taken everything that was great about the previous games and improved upon it.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    92
    Right now, DiRT 3 is one of the best racing titles you can buy.
  3. 90
    DiRT 3 is one of those rare games that delivers both quality and quantity. Everything is laser-engineered to improve on the brilliant previous game. The only misstep is the anodyne Career mode interface - lots of people will be baffled by the decision to replace the bustling 3D service area with something stylish yet hollow.
  4. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jun 28, 2011
    90
    Believability, challenge, intensity and fun - DiRT 3 has the lot. [Issue#73, p.80]
  5. May 24, 2011
    86
    In the end, the slight step back brought the series a nice leap forward. The more realistic handling and greater variety of cars make DiRT3 a definite must-have for old-school rally fans, while the new Gymkhana-Races cater the X-Games-Lovers.
  6. May 26, 2011
    85
    The new Gymkhana free-style event and the inclusion of snow is enough to grant DiRT 3 a pass over the previous edition, even though the old 'Colin McRae' influence is all but covered.
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    58
    Dirt 3 is a fine game and worth playing. But if you take your sequels or your driving games seriously, you're going to be disappointed to discover that it's no Dirt 2.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 12 out of 44
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Super game, an improvement over Dirt 2 (which was pretty great too!)

    There's a tonne of game play and the graphics are stunning. I really
    Super game, an improvement over Dirt 2 (which was pretty great too!)

    There's a tonne of game play and the graphics are stunning. I really cant find fault with it.
    Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun! Definitely the best racing game I've played in the last 10 years; and very possibly a contender for best game,This game is so much fun! Definitely the best racing game I've played in the last 10 years; and very possibly a contender for best game, across any genre, in the last 2 years.

    Tears of laughter and joy, playing the party game modes online - haven't had this much fun on a game since the days of SNES Mario Kart and Golden Eye N64. The damage model is amazing and it needs to be, considering the pounding the cars take during the party games.

    Large range of user options, mean you can make this as sim or arcade as you like - I prefer it on advanced with no assists, the kids preferred it more casual, and we can play split screen together with no loss of visuals - which are simply stunning btw.

    Gymkhana, which I didn't think I'd like was really addictive, particularly the free roam in Battersea - and the kids really enjoy it. The Rally tracks are simply awesome, amazing visuals and exceptionally playable stages. Without a doubt the best rally game available today.

    Without a doubt a 10
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    9
    This is a great game! Top Notch in fact.I'd heard & knew the graphics were going to be good,but this has to be the best looking,& dare iThis is a great game! Top Notch in fact.I'd heard & knew the graphics were going to be good,but this has to be the best looking,& dare i say,most beautiful racing game i've EVER seen.. Fortunately,it plays like a dream too.It has a good variety of racing events,All of which are playable in Split-Screen & Online multiplayer,Which is great! But in Dirt 4,i'd like to see Split Screen & online in career mode too(hey,why not?),with players 2(+3,4,5,6,7 etc if online)take any positions,points & any other unlocks they earn,back with them to their career.As much as i love this game,i do have a couple of niggles,which is why its not a perfect 10.Theres still not as much emphisis on Point to Point rallying I'd have liked.(Would like to see a full Rally Season included ideally).I'm REALLY not feeling Gymkhana at all..I dont find it any fun,it just seems pointless & out of place,& just gets in the way for me..Would like to see that,& Land Rush,maybe scrapped in the next title,in favour of the wide open Truck/Desert events from Dirt 1 & more Rally Stages.Also,i dont understand the games fascination with Youtube!? I cant/dont have a Youtube account,& even if i could,would rather save my replays in their entireity to the Hard disk,in HD.NOT Youtube!? Its also annoying to be constantly told "You should save that 'Awesome' replay to Youtoobe".Especially when i havnt registered a Youtube account with the game.. Another minor point is,It'd be good in Dirt 4(or patched into Dirt 3 too),if you could choose your prefered driver views for each event,from the game menu.For example,for Rally,Rallycross,Trailblazer,& head to head,i use the in-car **** view,& for Land rush & Gymkhana(if i really have to),i prefer Bonnet cam.Those 2 events i wouldnt miss if they were dropped anyway,but if i have to play them,setting views for each event type would be nice.Other than that though,& despite my gripes,I'm greatly enjoying the game,& the love & passion the developers have for all things rally,is evident.For those interested,yes you can configure your own controls & yes you can turn off the racing line.In fact theres ALOT of options for this game.You can play it hardcore,by turning all the aids off & set the AI level,or have them on to the point that even my girlfriend can play the game,with assists with braking & steering! You really can set the game up to how you want to play it comfortably.The great thing is,even when playing split-screen,each player can have their own exact control & driving aid setups.Works great! Have to give one last compliment to Rally Mode in multiplayer.At first i was gutted that it didnt have'Hot Seat',but found that its done even more realistically in Dirt 3,by having the players do staggered starts,just like real rally.this works REALLY well! & would like to see it better applied in future titles by having a full & dedicated Rally season,withSplit-Screen & online multiplayer option).But all in all,This is a quality product. Expand
  4. May 27, 2011
    7
    Third attempt at a review score, hopefully this one will stick. Beautiful graphics and well chosen music but the major emphasis on GymkhanaThird attempt at a review score, hopefully this one will stick. Beautiful graphics and well chosen music but the major emphasis on Gymkhana based events halts progression. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    its not a bad game, far from it. its just not a rally game! gymkhana is just showing off, sliding around concrete in a ford fiesta. where isits not a bad game, far from it. its just not a rally game! gymkhana is just showing off, sliding around concrete in a ford fiesta. where is the dirt?! very hard to do in inside view, and game forces you to do these races to progress. graphics are great and the youtube feature is a novelty, but a good edition. menus are terrible though, way too much effort has been put into making them cool and americanised. not for rally fans, but for people who want to mess around in a few pretty cars Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    What a shame a once great title turned into a second rate game. Whilst the rallying is still as enjoyable as ever, especially online theWhat a shame a once great title turned into a second rate game. Whilst the rallying is still as enjoyable as ever, especially online the shortage of tracks creates major limitations. Add the awful Gymkhana events create a real schoolboy view of rallying. Whilst more tracks are available via downloadable content they were surely originally to form part of your games purchase price, and look like they were only not included to allow for the lets grab an extra buck attitude which blights a lot of recent 360 releases. If you can pick Dirt 3 up at less than £20 and allow an extra £15 for the missing content to be downloaded perhaps then it becomes a more rounded and satisfying product, but for myself i will not be getting burnt when the inevitable Dirt 4 becomes available. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    0
    Dirt 2 was and is a great racing game. Although the physics seem a bit more realistic at times overall Dirt 3 is much less rewarding ofDirt 2 was and is a great racing game. Although the physics seem a bit more realistic at times overall Dirt 3 is much less rewarding of driving skill. Courses are extremely wide to the point of being a bit ridiculous. Car selection is much more limited and confusing often leaving you wonder if your selecting a vehicle with different handling or just different paint. Only one truck and one buggy?!? New modes are all based on crashing into other players and spinning out so if your looking for a racing game look elsewhere. Online play now requires everyone to purchase an add on from xbox marketplace if you don't have a code from a retail purchase. Attempting to play actual races online has often resulted in not finding anyone to race with as they are all either busy playing crash games or perhaps they just couldn't be bothered to get the online play working. Overall it's nice to race new tracks but the online play has been botched by wide tracks, lack of racers and non racing game modes. The number of in game up-sells for cars and tracks is also annoying for such a disappointing title. In the end Dirt 3 is about what I'd expect if Michael Bay had his way with dirt 2. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers