User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 694 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 694

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2013
    10
    Whether you like killing everything in sight or using cool abilities and magic to play stealthily and get a lot of gamerscore at the end, this game is perfect for you. It has a sort of BioShock-ish steampunk graphic style and well developed characters. This game is so good that i got all of the achievements not for gamerscore but to experience every aspect of this incredible gaming epic. Once i completed my first walkthrough, i did it again without killing any one and it didn't feel like a chore at all. i like how they didn't put in a points sytem like in Hitman Absolution because the points system forces you to be stealthy. In Dishonored, you choose the way you play. I recommend this game to any gamers out there! Definite 10/10! EPIC! Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Appena completato Dishonored con livello di chaos basso. Davvero un ottimo gioco, con meccaniche stealth che ben si adattano all'ambiente circostante lasciando al giocatore una totale libertà d'azione furtiva o omicida. Nessuna novità particolare introdotta nel genere ma buone idee e ben sfruttate. La trama si sviluppa in modo interessante e coinvolgente ed ha un buon finale (almeno quello che ho visto io). Insomma si merita senza dubbi un'ottimo voto! Complimenti ai ragazzi di Arkane Studios!!! Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. The ratings for this game is low only because of the 78 plus or minus, mentally challenged people who were given permission to review a game they most likely did not even play. This game is great. It has excellent replay value due to the many ways you are allowed to finish a particular mission. I had a blast, I beat the game 4 times. I recommend this game.
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This game was a totally surprise for me. I loved it. The story is one of the best parts, and I totally got into it. There's ways to optionally dive deeper into the story that I won't reveal but the plotline is rich and very fleshed out. The gameplay is very fun too, and the missions which the game revolves around are all well thought out chapters in the overall story. Many of the characters are memorable and interesting.

    I 'keep'd the game from GameFly because I plan on playing through again on a harder level. I'm debating on buying the DLC as well.
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Gameplay is amazing, as is the whole steampunk setting. It felt like a mix between Bioshock (really atmospheric, and the Powers are sort of similar to Plasmids), Hitman (main focus of the game is assassinations) and Deus Ex (open world, different routes available, choice between stealth and carnage.)

    Main problem is the length (I completed it in just over 2 days, admittedly I spent all
    weekend playing it. Also, it would have been nice to be able to replay the game with the upgrades you earned on your last playthrough (New Game Plus.) Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game with multiple paths to completing various missions. If you enjoyed games like Deus Ex: HR with it's mission based structure, you'll really like this game. Although it isn't a truly open world game (it may have benefited from this, who knows), it does have a similar feel. The soft RPG elements, and wonderful artistic style give it a very unique feel compared to other games of this generation.

    It isn't an entirely flawless game, there a few tiny hitches here and there like being unable to take out lights in certain areas, but as a launch game and the first in the series, you can bet it will only get better in future endeavours. I've given it a 10 for the incredible effort the devs have put into the game and it is really evident.
    Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    In Dishonored you play Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher and bodyguard of King Foltest. But when Foltest is killed and you are framed for the murder... oh wait, i'm thinking of a much better game. Dishonored is a pretty game, for what it's worth, but the story line has been done better before. In some ways it plays like a dumbed-down Thief. The main problem I had was that the stealth system seemed to be completely broken. It may have been a glitch, but going into stealth mode alerted everyone in the area. Beyond that the combat difficulty was well, low enough that you could just hack and slash through the entire game. I got bored with it after about 30-45 min. Expand
  8. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    These days, I'm already thrilled by a game that just let's me play. This one offers me the option to play like I want. Being stealthy gives you the best endings, being an assassin might not give you a great ending but it's fun to make some creative kills. Most games only offer you the illusion of choice (yes Bioware, I'm looking at ME3 and Dragon Age 2) I've been let down by a lot of big game series and it has become rather rare that game studios are willing to take risks. This game is by no means perfect but If you are looking for a game that doesn't make you feel like it has been dumbed down for a 6-14 yo target audience by marketing boys, look no further. Expand
  9. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    60 FPS. Has a pretty strong learning curve to really appreciate how to handle certain situations. Read the rest of the reviews they will tell you what else you need to know.
  10. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    The games execution, art style, and Level design were great. But this is the kind of game you want to really make you care about characters and your actions. Really get you into the world and the story of the protagonist. Sadly, this game didn't really do that for me. With how popular its become though I'm sure this is the start of a franchise, so I hope to see improvements in future installments.
  11. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Depends on the gameplay style, Dishonored shows its real values. If run & gun COD style then probably you would complete the game within 8hrs or less and feel some disappointment about its length. But Dishonored is not to be played like that - this title shows its superb qualities with a slower, stealthy walkthrough, while forcing you to plan every step in advance and offering many benefits coming from exploration - above all, you collect the runes & amulets which are a key issue to gain/improve your special assassin skills, furthermore you can find money and many valuable items, which can be spent for equipment/weaponry upgrades afterwards. The stealth gamplay itself is exciting, challenging and can be fulfilled with thrilling encounters with your foes - here there are many ways to get rid of your enemies, with creative kills and bodies disposal afterwards. Obviously you can go into open fights, but to act like a "ghost", kill or knock senseless each foe step by step and remove/dispose their bodies afterwards is much more fun and challenging. Ive clocked more than 10hrs in the game and currently Im in the 4th mission; For sure one of the best games of 2012 Expand
  12. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    A creative IP that is deserving of the critics positive reviews. A high level of creativity, semi-open world, and good mix of powers provide for a unique experience that players can tailor to their play style. The negatives from a high-level perspective are unpolished character models and environment textures. Another negative for some will be the large amount of text required to read if you want to gain a better understanding of the game world. Outside of the game itself I feel this game will ultimately suffer from a less than strategic release date. Today Expand
  14. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    This game isn't perfect. Dishonored has it's flaws and many people, I'm sure, will have found themselves disappointed when playing the game; I can understand why. What I will say however, is I enjoyed Dishonored very much. It's fun. It is predictable at times and the storyline and levels aren't altogether original, but the gameplay and graphics are good and it's an enjoyable experience. My advice: try it out for yourselves, some will love this game and some will not. Expand
  15. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    I find the 8 campaign missions enough for the different ways you can replay this game, plus all the different ways you can play are well supported instead of focus on some. However, some problems I found include textures not loading correctly, which happened fairly often, plus the ending was abrupt; along with the rest of the story, it felt like things were overly explained. Overall a good game, but the story could have been presented better. Expand
  16. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Dishonored lets gamers play how they want. One can be stealthy and never kill a soul, or violently destroy whatever stands in their path (although this is generally discouraged). Dishonored's levels are vast puzzles with the end goal being to eliminate the target. The story is interesting although nothing too original, but the steampunk world is incredibly immerses the player. The game brings the stealth genre to new heights and should be played by anyone who is even slightly interested. Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2012
    2
    I would have expect more than 5.5hrs for my $60. Game mechanics, multiple paths work well. AI can spot you even behind cover making the stealth runs very frustrating at times, and the graphics are awful. When you see trailers, tv spots for this game, the screens are not representative of in game. rent don't buy.
  18. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    A very good homage to the Thief trilogy. Involving world, interesting story, dark vibe. Coming a bit short on the gameplay - the protagonist is WAY too much powerful. Some of the abilities make the game a walk in the park, but the story and surroundings make up for it and you want more and more. The "chaos" mechanic is buggy and the ending doesn't depend on the major decisions you have made during the game, but on a simple kill count. That was a bit disappointing (it gave me a "bad" ending while sparing almost all of my major targets). I'm an explorer and it took me over 10h to finish the game so the length is very decent. Overall a great, great game. Sincere recommendation. Expand
  19. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Anyone that says this game is only 5 hours is crazy and not playing the game called Dishonored. I am in the last chapter (chapter 11) and so far I have over 23 hours of gameplay. The game allows you so many options and choices for each mission and I have been playing a combination of stealth and brute force and this is the most original game I have played since Bioshock. This game is not for children or for unintelligent people. It is a game for thinkers and for people who who like video games that are for adults. This game is exactly what the video game industry needs: original ideas and new intellectual property. I am tired of remakes and sequels and there is a reason games like this sale a ton and that's because some of us have grown up and we want really smart games with choice and well thought out stories. I love multiplayer as much as the next guy but they are not what changes the industry. It is games like Dishonored! Do your self a favor and play this game. It is so much fun and regardless of how you approach the game you will be amazed! Expand
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    A very strong showing of a new IP. It is poised to capitalize on a strong start to probably make a fantastic second entry into what hopefully will continue as a console series. Its flexibility in play-style cannot be overstated... when I was patient I could play super stealth or maybe I wanted a bit more action and to just "move" through the story... Dishonored allowed me to fly around levels knocking out enemies and feeling like the most powerful stealth assassin ever. Awesome fun. Improvements should come with story (fiction is great though) and flow as well as level design could be improved even more. Great job Arkane. Expand
  21. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, nothing bad to say about this game. The rpg elements dont hold back the combat, or vise versa. The characters and lore are well thought out, but dont force you to read everything. If you want to just play, that is possible, or if you want a more immersive time, that's possible too.
  22. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    One of the most creative, original and engaging games that I have played in a very long time. I love having the power to choose what path I take and how to handle the various enemies along the way. You should definitely go buy this game immediately if you are a fan of stealth games (or just good video games in general). Easily the best game I have played this year.
  23. Nov 3, 2012
    2
    This game was so hyped. I was hyped for it too. It was an epic fail. The story was horrible. The character you play never speaks in the cut scenes. You never see his face. I could not get connected with the character or the story. The controls were decent but graphics were sub par. Just a game I was really hoping to like but towards the end of the game, I just wanted to beat it and move on. Wait for it to hit the bargain bin then give it a go. Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! I had high hopes for this title Pre-Launch and it lived up to it for me. Which very few games do these days. A beautiful World with great characters that were wonderfully voice acted. Top that with great game play mechanics that took inspiration from some wonderful predecessors, all brought to you with original art style and solid controls. I hope this game inspires more companies to take a risk on more new IP's instead of spoon feeding us sequels each year. Expand
  25. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the best new IP since Asassins creed . I think the game play is its best asset . They created an awesome world with interesting characters and brilliant story . everything in this game is fresh and its story is enthralling from the moment you played it to the end. Cant wait to see what they do with this series.
  26. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This game makes me proud to be a gamer.

    Its a new IP but its a "spiritual sequel" to the thief series... the best fpsstealth games ever made.

    Its well writte, good dialog, great art, and enough lore to keep you wanting Dishonored 2 :)

    Buy this game
  27. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Introduction
    If I’m honest, I didn’t know what to expect when I picked up this game. I’d heard a lot of praise given to it and decided to give it a try. You play as Corvo, a trusted bodyguard to the empress and her daughter Emily. But then things get nasty when the empress is murdered, her daughter’s kidnapped and you’re thrown into prison framed for her Fortunately, some nice fellows
    help break you out and recruit you as an assassin to get revenge on the guys who ruined your life. The Game
    Over the course of the game you’ll encounter ‘the outsider’. This guy gives you special powers such as teleportation and rat summoning…pretty cool huh?
    The game itself looks amazing! From dark and dingy sewers, to aristocratic house parties, you get a real sense of atmosphere as you stalk your way through the games nine missions. The real highlight of the game is the gameplay itself. Dishonored gives you freedom to choose how you kill your targets. Do you stealthily kill them from behind? Do you run head-on and shoot them? Or do you melt them in a sauna? There is so much variety in this game that I immediately started another playthrough when I finished first time. Also, there are a ton of collectables to find such as runes to upgrade your powers and bone charms, which add slight alteration to Corvo himself. Conclusion
    Overall, this game is VERY well done. The first person camera adds to the adrenaline you feel as you sneak around areas hiding from passing guards and looking around for vantage points to get the drop on them. Although nine missions may not sound a lot, they are by no means short missions. The game inspires multiple playthroughs with many different ways to accomplish your tasks. Although I do wish there was a new game plus option to let me replay the missions with all the powers I acquired during the first playthrough. If you rush through this game, then you’d be missing out on a great gaming experience.
    Dishonored gets an excellent 9/10
    Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I knew, going in, that the game was crafted using the Unreal 3 engine; however, Dishonored looks like it was made in Source. There’s a tell-tale “dustiness” to the colors and textures, and a simple elegance fueling the stylized fire that falls solidly within the purview of Valve’s eight-year-old darling. It adds to the character of Dunwall and its denizens, just as much as the body dimorphism does. Drawn, gaunt faces are severely drawn and gaunt; angular chins and noses look fashioned out of steel-work; and round noses are comically bulbous but still there’s an underlying realism that sells the visuals. Dishonored doesn’t try to compete on detail, instead relying on the intelligent use of creamy colors, highly stylized character art, and brilliant lighting. The game looks as if Tim Burton commissioned, and then oversaw a Norman Rockwell oil painting. It’s enchanting, and it’s used to tell us all sorts of things about the world… but more on that, later.

    The diversity in mission locations is excellent, as well. From falling down industrial districts and whiskey distilleries, to sewers, to towers and palaces, to fortresses and brothels you’ll never grow tired of creeping through the nine chapters. All the while, the soft touch of the graphics applies appropriate amounts of grime and polish where needed, unifying these disparate locations into a single, believable cityscape. This diversity is reflected in your enemies, as well. One minute you’ll be aiming for the High Overseer, battling his masked religious zealots, and the next you’ll be taking out the Town Guard to get to aristocratic twins. Back alley gangs and a clandestine cadre of assassins will also give you plenty of trouble. Provided how unfortunately short the game is, you’d never be able to tell based on this clean, deep presentation.

    The gameplay is just as poetic. For my first play-through, I went non-lethal/stealth. I was determined to make sure no one saw me, and everyone was left alive, if a little worse for wear. I wasn’t afraid of confrontation, I just made sure it was on my terms, often intentionally seeking villains out to subdue, so I could have my run of the place without worrying about anyone spotting me, because they were all unconscious Had I wanted to, I could have avoided everyone, stuck to the rooftops, and not touched a single soul but the high value targets each mission is based around. Or I could have carved a bloody swath through Dunwall in just as many ways…

    If you favor gadgets, you’ll find a array of tinkered items that would make any engineer jealous grenades, pistols, shrapnel traps, explosive bullets, incendiary crossbow darts, sticky bombs and they’re all upgradable. Some you’ll need to search out blueprints for, but even on my stealth play-through, where I was far more concerned with staying out of view, I encountered several as a matter of course. If you prefer a more supernatural approach, you have nine distinct “spells,” gifts from the Outsider, from which to choose some offensive, such as Devouring Swarm, which summons a pack of ravenous rats to consume enemies; and Bloodlust, which allow you to store up power and then unleash it in a storm of steel, blood, and guts. Or, you can use others that aid you in more subtle ways, like Possession, which does exactly what it says; or Dark Vision, which gives you the power to see through walls.

    Verdict: ++Good (9.5 out of 10) Though not a sandbox title at it’s core, Dishonored successfully introduces sandbox elements to the FPS genre (much like its spiritual predecessors Thief and Deus Ex) while maintaining a focused purpose and plot. You really only have two outcomes to choose from (lethal, or non-lethal) for any given mission, but the way in which you get there is entirely in your hands. The powers, weapons, and gadgets are fun and diverse, and the city of Dunwall is exquisitely rendered and realized. Though the plot is predictable and rather short, the visual narration and player influence come together to make Dishonored a lesson the industry can learn from.
    Expand
  29. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    You know what? I freaking love this game. Now I never give an opinion on a first play through, unless the game is so kick*** or terrible that the deal is sealed. If it's middling I play again, now that I have a good handle on the mechanics and environments. Dishonored is really fun and can be played with very different strategies through each play through and if you do you will be rewarded with significantly different dialogue and ending. On my second play through the last scene had different dialogue and took place in a different location! Nice surprise that. You can go killer commando, stealth, non-lethal, or ghost and have a really different experience. Once you understand your powers you can be whatever kinda Corvo you want to be and do things totally different. Each play through for me was really fun. It's the kind of game that I would go back to like a good book on a rainy day.The acting is good, the set design interesting, the story, I think is a really good one, the universe cool. Combat just fine. One level I played three different ways, finding a different way to make my way around every time. Love it. If you give it a chance, there is so much to here to be had...good game. Expand
  30. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Sure the story is short but where this game is at its greatest is its replay value didn't want to kill anyone in one mission but did replay it. My point is that giving the control to the player means it can be fun for however long you want.
  31. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    dishonored is a great game and one of the best stealth games out there
    pros
    -great art style-great enemy variety-tons of freedom (can choose your own path go in anyway you want level up any powers do side objectives-kill or dont kill)-fun levels-interesting to explore-very memorable locations-ending without spoilers makes you feel like what you did was for something-powers are fun to
    use-great combat-cool gadgets-you can read minds with a beating heart creepy but fun-assassination targets make you want to kill them-some branching dialogue
    cons-story is unoriginal get revenge and save someone whos very important-twist at the end is just thrown in for filler with no explanation to why its there-some missions have no sidequests so you will have less of a reason to explore-games a little easy-not enough environmental kills like gassing a room with people in it
    Expand
  32. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    Dishonored was my first game after beating new Bioshock. So it has a hard nut to crack. Locations in Infinite was smashing my balls off. Dunwall in Dishonored is quite well designed, but it's ugly, boring and it has no climax. Main characters in Dishonored doesnt have any traits they are furniture, so you dont feal emotions when you kill them. Even little Emily was not an incentive to be a good person in this game. All main characters looks thesame even The Outsider, who is the one of most important characters in the game looks common. I agree, game is well scripted and it's not boring. Quests are designed in the good way, but the plot doesnt give you satisfaction after beating one. Maybe there's more options in deducing quests, but hell there is no story in this game! Even if gameplay is very expanded and it has lots of options in it, the game becomes simple game to pass the time. I've sitted to it, just to kill some more people, but not because i wanted to discover Dunwall story or to see what is going to be next. But there are also vices in gameplay. Thereare about 5 types of enemies. AI of all this foes are in retarded dog degree. Sometimes enemies are just that stupid, so they can't see you standing next to them. Probably most overrated game of the year. Expand
  33. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    I deeply enjoyed the game, it had a different approach to gaming. One thing that appealed to me was that Corvo isn't forced to kill everyone he sees. You can make it though a good portion of the game without killing anyone. A second is combat is more realistic. In battle, you can't just take out 50 people with ease. Games do that. Dishonored doesn't. Most often, you can only take 4-5 people with your sword. This provides a strong sense of realism in gameplay. Great game with a few flaws. Expand
  34. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Gran juego, pense al principio que no iba a ser divertido y me atrapo por completo, Tengo ganas de jugarlo con otras opciones para ver los otros finales, Vale la pena,
  35. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Excellent game if you want you can play in stealth mode or you can play in Rambo mode killing everyone in your path making the next levels more difficult. you have to play this game
  36. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Great Game. Told a great story and gave you the freedom to decide how the story was told and how it ended. Nice to see real craftmanship in a game. At least two play throughs. I'm already on my second one.
  37. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    An original first person fighter, different from any other. The powers you earn are what make it interesting. I choose the path of choking people unconscious and hiding them in the trash at first, and then when I got to the end I just murdered everyone. I'm not sure what this means, but one path is darker at the end. Mine didn't seem too dark. This game is good not great but I'd recommend it. The ending was eh. Expand
  38. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    WOW!! Ok i'm not finished with the game, only about half way through. First if your a Half-life or portal fan you are going to love this. It has the art and some of the look to Half-life but set in a steam punk world. Additionally yes you can go toe to toe with the bad guys but at a world changing cost. I've been opting for a more pacifictic approach in knocking out or tranking my foe's & not getting busted, or just plane avoidence. This is very difficult but rewarding as you must "Blink" from location to location and not get busted. The whole of the maps are very "puzzle" like and in combination with npc movements require you to truely think and plan your course of action. Stratigy really is the common in this game. Additionally the magic really gives a unique flavor to the experince as it's very different from say Skyrim or Dragonage. It's all ment to be combined and tactical. Magic is also very smooth, not at all sticky. The story so far is fairly compelling although somewhat a "been-there" plot but not enough to be boring. The tech in the game seems to be a mix of Fallout meets Batman, meets the 1790's, which for me is all very cool. Appairently you can go through the whole of the game without killing anyone which is very difficult. I would truely recomend this for anyone who wants a very grim, creepy, Batman/Half-life kind of experience. I think this is going to be a ground-breaking game. Very unique and out of the box thinking went into this. Additionally (not that it really makes a difference) some great voice talents in the game. Also if your an Eldar scrolls player or fallout, get your loot searching into gear. Scaviging is a must. This is a great experience!! Expand
  39. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    If you were looking for game that rewards you with creativity and choice, than look no further. Dishonored truly feels like the first game to allow players to do a mission their own way. Your style is your own, there is no wrong or right way to play this game. In the end it's all up to you.
  40. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resembles the open Action RPGs of the past, but has the disgusting dumbed down casualized gloss that all multiplatform releases must have these days. Expand
  41. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    One of my favorite games of the year. Other than what has already been said the game allows you to choose your upgrades to fit your playing style first and become stronger second. Not at any moment do you feel underpowered if you decide to take one path over another. The approach to how you complete missions is also a huge plus with stealth, guns blazing or anything in between available to you at any moment. I look foward to going back to each level and trying different approaches to see how the missions play out. Expand
  42. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Playing this game feels great. The textures and colors are uncommon yet very good looking and the atmosphere is just as good. The sanbox gamepleay may not be the best but it's satisfying to see such a open and variate options through the game It was really good
  43. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    Wow. Dishonored shattered my expectations. Someone in my advisory class said something about 'Bioshock" meets "Assassins Creed" so I was instantly curious. I got this game for Christmas and beat it in only 2 days; I was hooked. The story was amazing. At parts I felt enchanted, nostalgic, and betrayed. It was so memorable and so well done. The characters were vibrant and engaging, I fell in love with Samuel the boatman, you actually can feel a level of compassion for them. It was a lot of fun to find every way around Dunwall, being as stealthy as you can be. The combat and powers system was one of the best I've had the pleasure of experiencing. (And I can say so for the rest of the game.) Expand
  44. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    I've played the game through three times now and each time has been a interesting walk through Dunwall. The game offers so many different ways to complete missions and infiltrate locations that you could play through each mission more than once and still feel the suspense of finding and killing or saving your target. I played the game through on hard all three times, each being semi-challenging. The game shines with its use of supernatural powers; allowing fun combos and unique ways to move around each level. I found myself using different combinations every time I played through, as well as trying to get to my targets in different ways, and it kept the game fresh. Dishonored also has books and notes scattered around the city that help provide some lore and back story to help immerse yourself in the world. I'm a sucker for this stuff. It adds time to the game trying to find all of them, and brings the world to life. My first run of Dishonored took around 12-13 hours or so (with subsequent runs each being around half that time) and I never once felt like pacing was a problem or that the story was starting to die out. The game offers multiple endings, each of which have an interesting cut scene that ends the game and wraps up the future of your character and the city of Dunwall. As far as characters go voice acting is sub-par, but gets the job done. I never had any strong connections to any of the characters, but instead I found myself enthralled in the city. I wanted to make sure the city had a positive outcome for the princess, your character, and all the citizens I had read about in their left-behind journals. The graphics remind me of Bioshock's in a way. They're cartoony, but provide a realistic enough looking setting. All in all it's a great game, and for the price you could get it for now it's a must play. Expand
  45. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    I found Dishonored to be a bit of a slow burner and after an hour of two of play time, I was almost ready to throw this game on the scrap heap but I persevered and I am glad that I did.

    The most notable thing about Dishonored for me is the fantastic attention to detail that has been put in to the gameplay. Every map and level is unique from the next and there are so many different ways
    for you to navigate the game. If you find a gung-ho approach rewarding or the stealthy approach, there is something for everyone and whilst I found the stealth takes a while to get used to, I also found it highly rewarding.

    The plot is decent and due to the open nature of the game, you can almost write your own story from it. Are you a vengeful sadist who kills everyone and everything on the path to revenge? Or are you a pacifist master of stealth that won't hurt a single person? Every major point in the game offers you the chance to ally yourselves with different individuals or the chance to "destroy" your opponents in unique ways, ranging from a knife to the throat through to propaganda, kidnapping or backhander deals.

    The graphics are okay but nothing too special compared to some of the other games available on the 360/PS3. The art style is unique though There is also a Bioshock-esque feel to the world with its dystopian setting and audiologs aplenty. There is also a lot of literature also available as you'd expect to find in other Bethesda games too.

    All in all, I thought Dishonored was a very strong game. The only flaws I had with it is that I sometimes found the levels a bit tedious (especially a level just before the end that included the staple 'retrieve-your-stolen-items' mission which is also a chore) and it was quite a short game but due to its variety, it has plenty of replayability.
    Expand
  46. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    The thousand ways to complete a part of a mission make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure gameplay, while the Talks between Guards, the look of the city and more make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure atmosphere. Sadly the story is only a 7/10, aswell as the graphics, but the most important (the Gameplay itself) is kinda like a 20/10, which makes me giving this game a 10/10. Last drop of bitterness: The game is too short and waaay to easy (even on hardest grade), exspecially if you try to stealth.
    The playagainworth is phenomenal: First time=stealthy, but fighting-not every side mission/rune, Second time=stealthy+every mission for complete run, Third time=aggressive or stealthy, but killing many people for different ending and experience, fourth time=nihilistic, stealt, no kill & every side-mission, fifth run=different magics for different experience, etc.
    I have worked a long time to finally have 90% of all achievments and can just say best gameplay ever. The handle of the weapons and magics are just perfect and after 2 hours you just feel like corvo and use the magic you want in the right way at the right time, to get through a hidden way into the building. Whoa!
    10/10 for sure and a must-have for stealth-gamers and fans of Deus Ex or Hitman, but I would say even for aggressive gamers like CoD to for the great feeling of the sword-battle and more.
    Expand
  47. Aug 21, 2014
    7
    I think of this game as a combination of lots of game so its basicly, Bioshock + Skyrim + Assassins creed = Dishonored but it doesn't make it the perfect game it was a short story with 10 missions (Not counting DLC) But I just didn't get that much gameplay out of it. I give it 7/10 it had good voice acting and good characters but not as good as some of my favorites.
  48. Oct 22, 2012
    7
    A very easy game, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play. The gameplay feels like a mix between Thief, Bioshock, and a Deus Ex game. Not a terribly great story, but not bad either. Not great graphics, but acceptable enough. The hub worlds could use a little bit more activity within them, but I'll give that a pass as well seeing as most people are dead or dying from the plague. Anybody giving the game a 10 or a 1 is a moron. I think 7 is a fair score and I look forward to seeing the improvements in the next game. Expand
  49. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Wow. Breath of fresh air. Amazing game, and something NEW for once! Must buy for anyone that is on the fence... it has depth, and some of the most unique gameplay I've ever experienced.
  50. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    I'm a great fan of the games Bethesda softworks make I loved fallout 3 and the appocoliptic wasteland they created bustling with unique and interesting characters and spent many an hour going round the waste land doing mission and side missions/ quest, hunting for big and better weapons, gathering resources and random stuff to sale so I could make more money to buy better armour or guns. I love both the elder scrolls oblivion and skyrim and still spend many an hour playing these games due to they are excellent in quality and replay ability. So when I herd that Bethesda were making dishonored I was really excited at the chance to explore another new and huge city that Bethesda had created so I bought it on day of release. I started to play dishonored and saw that this could have the potential to be a brilliant game even maybe game of the year but as I progressed thought the game I became quite disappointed with it, the game lacks the scope of any of Bethesda's previous games and in some parts feels rather disjointed in the way it plays, it also fells like Bethesda took some ideas from the bioshock franchise mixed it with a bit of assassins creed and created a game that doesn't live up to the expectations of previous Bethesda games, I would say rent this game and give it a try and maybe you will like it but for me this is one of those games I hate and got rid of soon after buying it. Here's to Bethesda for hopefully continuing their amazing dlc for skyrim and hopefully to a new fallout out game maybe fallout 4 for the next generation of console but sorry dishonored wasn't for me Expand
  51. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Honestly I am never usually a fan of these type of games, not many games let you choose between stealth and action but this game does. I have played all new releases and lately I have been wondering if the gaming industry can offer something that is different (a change of pace, if you will). Dishonored delivers and though the achievements are a bit 50/50 (for me, because I'm picky on when to use stealth). the game itself is absolutely great. Cannot find a fault with it. I signed up just to recommend it, be open minded when picking it up and you will be impressed. 9/10 (only taking the 1 away for achievements, but it's each to their own, if you are used to being stealthy then it won't be a problem, but I was never a fan of that type of game and this is really the first I've played since Splinter Cell). Expand
  52. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    Its a great game in world of the same old, this game shows that there is still creativity left. It start slow as you learn the controls and how the world works in general. But with all the things to collect and see the game rewards you at every corner. The gameplay is takes time to master but that to me is a good thing. I love games like this a new IP that take some brain power and skill. Comparing this game to bio shock or anything else is not a respentation of this game. Love the sound and graphic style. At first I was not blown by the graphics but the art style makes me feel totally immersed and the graphics seem to get more impressive as you play. When the sun and moon pop threw trees and buildings the game looks absolutely stunning it really grows on you. The game length is about 20 hours. My first play threw took me 24 hours. I looked for all runes and charms on hard I did not know about the paintings you have to find so I will do a play throught on super hard to find those. So for me this game is the right length. I love this game because its not COD or Halo or uncharted, not to say those are bad games but I love to crack a beer, sit in peace and play something totally new that is not tailored to the 16 year old that takes gaming to seriously trying to prove his toughness to by screeming in his mic. The only let down for me is that there is no Game+ feature and is the only thing that keeps this game from getting a 10 in my book. Why developers take it on them selves to make such decisions in games drives me nuts I would loved to play the early levels all powerd up but Its not a game breaker. Expand
  53. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    An amazing game!
    The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is)
    But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge and
    everything will fix itself." it still kept me interested.

    And the reason I didn't give this game a 10?
    Well, it's for petty and small reasons for the most part. I mean, the game felt...short. I would have loved to explore more of Dunwall and meet or have more targets to hunt after. I also would've loved to know more about the city and its people, and not just through books. And honestly the "character" I liked the most was the Heart that told you about the city, I didn't feel all that connected to anyone else.

    And finally, the lights.
    Why couldn't you destroy them? Or at least pull a switch or destroy a whale oil tank to make them go out.
    It is a small thing, I know. But I kind feel that something like that belongs in a stealth game.
    Expand
  54. Nov 3, 2012
    2
    Ah my first review.

    The Negative; I have to say after all the hype i expected Dishonored to be a far better game. My first major complaint is the playtime, its too short many websites say that if you think it's short you aren't playing it right however a game shouldn't force you too play it in a certain way to make it last. The Positive; I Enjoyed the story however there are ways it
    could've been improved as the last few missions felt rushed. The graphics are also one of the games best features.

    In all not the best game especially after all the hype
    Expand
  55. Dec 4, 2012
    5
    Dishonoured has a strong start and a great art direction, but I felt as the game progressed it began to wear thin. Later areas of the game feel rushed, and lack the same level of detail and emphasis on player choice as shown in earlier levels.
  56. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Great stealth elements. I like how they catched the feeling from the Half-Life series. The different approaches to each mission gives a lot of replayability. The steampunk setting is refreshing, and as the debut of the franchise it's an awesome entry.
  57. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This game has brilliant gameplay, an unique art style and is just really fun to play .The only complaint being the short campaign and questionable storyline
  58. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    I think Dishonored will be remembered as one of the most innovative games of 2012. The ideas behind the world of Duwall and the Outsider are very well fleshed out and researched. The links to ancient mysticism and beliefs are almost striking and the dystopia steam punk universe is beautifully put together.

    The stealth aspects of the game I personally found to be too difficult to
    attempt, I kept getting caught and then it turned into a bloodbath! It is a little bit buggy with textures not appearing properly etc but overall it is a spectacular game.

    I really enjoyed this game and for me it deserves GOTY 2012 for its innovation and the fact that it is so different to everything available on the market.

    PS Granny Rags is by far one of the scariest old ladies I've ever come across!
    Expand
  59. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    As a fan of stealth games i can positively say without a doubt that this game is nothing short of amazing. First off, its art design is charming and gritty to say the least and the city of Dunwall and it's lore are beautifully fleshed out. The game caters to anyone's specific play style whether you prefer to kill from the shadows, go outright with a sword in one hand and pistol in the other, or simply sneak by unnoticed, never taking a single life in your entire playthrough. The game also highly rewards exploration in its levels and offers many secrets to find and other "creative" ways of dispatching your foes (lethally or non-lethally.) I highly recommend this game to any stealth fan, especially one that desires less linearity in their games. Expand
  60. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    I could not put this game down. The levels are interesting, the powers are fun, and the story line is enjoyable. If you played batman arkhamill asylum or city and like the dectective mode and stealth fighting, you will love this game.
  61. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    We have all established that Bethesda are well known for unique games that are worth playing. Dishonored is Bethesda's latest game at a new innovative game. And thankfully they have succeeded. Dishonored smart advertising and unique nature hooked us in the game so our expectations were high. The best feature of the game is the sort of Deus Ex feel to it in the means of gameplay. Each mission of the game is a sort of open land were you get to decide what tactics you will take. There are to main ways to play or stealthily or a more kill everyone approach. What is interesting is that there are many ways to play with either option. Interesting enough the outcome of the game drastically changes with each play style so multiple playthroughs are needed to experience the full package. The environments also change according to play style. if you kill everyone there will be more flies and rats than taking the stealth approach. Both play styles are fun but I prefer the stealth approach as I find that there are more options and spells suited for this play style. Another thing I adore about this game is the art syle. It is very interesting, it is cartoon like but is dark which makes the game have an edge. The graphics themselves are not that good but this does not detract from anything. The game is not hard, so not much skill is needed to beat it but it is very rewarding. A problem I found with the game is that the many ways to beat the game can allow you to skip specific areas way too easily but this is not much of a problem. The powers in the game are all very fun and most importantly very useful. These spells are so much fun to wield and as you will see you will use them a lot in the game. The sound in the game is also very good and with ok voice acting. A thing I did not like in the game is the story. The story I found is not that strong, the world is so dark and violent that I really expected to be blown away with the story and I got a very good solid story. Although some characters are really well written and they are really interesting. A think I also really like are the badass enemies and deaths. The enemies are especially cool looking and you can clearly see the work put into them. The game is not that long it took me 18 hours but everyone who plays this game will definitely play this game multiple times so the $60 are worth it for this game. This game really reminds me of Batman Arkham Asylum and it really is a good game. I really enjoyed this game it is unique and i'm sure that many people will enjoy this game. It has a impressive art style fun characters and in my opinion the small flaws diminished by all this games interesting features. It has the most fun gameplay since Dark Souls and nearly as rewarding. You really need to play this game its worth all your hard earned cash. The reason I am not giving this game a 10 is because its amazing but not a masterpiece but this franchise has the potential for glory. Buy this game it's gameplay is sooo much fun it's not difficult to get hooked in this game! Expand
  62. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Dishonored feels like a game that inherits 75% of its history from Thief and 25% from a mix of System Shock/Bio Shock games. As such its certainly a first person game, and you can shoot guns but I would personally not call it a "first person shooter'.

    I almost didn't buy this game based off of some reviews, but I took a chance and I was well rewarded. Much of the depth of this game
    comes from playing it the way you want your character to work and how you want the end game outcome to be influenced.

    If you are simply playing the game to beat each level as fast as possible the game will certainly feel short. You can hit the primary objectives in quite a few levels relatively quickly. Mow down a few guards with your guns and knives and complete the objective next level up.

    If however you want to play a more stealthily game and play towards certain goals; like no one being alerted/alarmed during a level or completing a level with minimal (or perhaps no) deaths you can do that as well. This may require you to take the rooftop route, and find a secret back balcony entrance to the building instead of a front door but the designers will reward this alternate route taking with story interjections that you would otherwise miss, extra loot, and some times even side-quests.

    Whichever route you take you can upgrade your character similar to system shock bio shock with steampunk like upgrades to your characters abilities and equipment. Want to stabilize your cross bow and improve its range and damage? No problem. Want to be more stealthy and have bodies dissapear in a puff of smoke to leave no trail for your enemies to discover? Earn enough points and these skills will be yours.


    My personal feeling is Dishonored is a top notch game for what it wants to be: a worthy fusion sucessor to the Thief/Bio Shock genre.

    For those people looking only for a run and gun shooter it is going to feel a bit of a disappointment. Some of those players may make the switch in mentality early in the game and find themselves having fun anyways. Otherwise if you dislike anything that doesn't focus purely on action you might pass this up or wait until its on sale so you don't feel cheated.
    Expand
  63. Oct 10, 2012
    6
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo.

    It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on
    originality and potential. Trouble is, the game doles out information in a decidedly non-engrossing fashion and the first hour or so is just an on-the-rails game of hit-all-the-steampunk/fantasy-setting-tropes. The TF2, exaggerated art style is cool, but I can't help but feel that a more realistic look would benefit an urban game of gritty, moralistic conflicts. The stealth (like most FPS that try to incorporate it) can be fairly hit-or-miss and though you can blast your way through from hell to a whalemeat breakfast, the game suggests fairly heavily that the most virtuous path through it is a non-violent one. Not to mention that more than 3/4 of the unlockable powers are all used for killing or facilitating killing, meaning that you're going to waste a lot of runes if you want to go the no-kill route. The combat is simplistic but can be punishing early on and there are a few cool synergies between your powers and your weapons, but good luck to you if you think the game is going to prompt you much in that regard. There is a definite emphasis on "choose-your-own-path" at work but the narrative (and the assassinations involved in it) is broken down into discreet levels and you are graded and given the option to replay each one upon completion, so say goodbye to a fully immersive, open world experience. In a nutshell, the game is best described as a "steampunk Deus Ex" and yes, that would be Square Enix's recent "re-imagining" of Deus Ex, with all the connotations that entails. It's a competent action game with an interesting backdrop, but nothing that you'll be talking about 6 months from now. Expand
  64. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    So close, just so damn close. At first I feel like this game does everything right. It has some of the smartest AI I have seen, some very intriguing and well made characters, a story that at first seems cliched but later reveals some mind catching points, a setting that awakens the deepest parts of my mind to simply go "wow" and gameplay that made me not want to stop playing. But as I play I noticed for every amazing point this game had, something was left to be desired.

    I'll admit right now, Playing this ganme the first time was extremely fun, but a lot of that was taken away by the Chaos system. While I believe it is an improvement on the now overused morality system we see in many multiple path games, the chaos system took a lot of fun out of my subsequent playthroughs. It is annoying trying to be stealthy or not killing people, especially when it truly is a lot more fun to try out your gadgets (most which cause some awesome looking deaths) and powers than to try to hide in a corner until no guard is looking (which in some cases took long minutes of just standing, walking, and teleporting until nobody could see), this made the game very dull in trying to lower my chaos rating and getting more achievements. However, there is a more rewarding and "good guy" sense in completing a chapter without killing anyone (although by then I'm bored of playing the game and switch to something that makes me think beyond where I can hide so I can choke somebody without being seen).

    In terms of character and story, at first you will think it to be great, but grows cliched very quickly. I will not go into details as to avoid spoiling anything, but one does not buy this game for the story, especially at a short length of 5 to 6 hours per full playthrough (FYI, the real money's worth comes in the achievements, not in the story or the characters, but in the replay value). One thing that does slightly disappoint me is the lack of a new game plus equivalent, which i feel would have made new runthroughs more fun rather than playing from scratch each time and having to recollect collectables rather than just focusing on new achievements.

    The grahics are not ground breaking, but are enjoyable and add to the athmosphere and setting of the game, which is the one thing that will leave you breathless. This world is a world that certainly would host the "perfect game" *fingers crossed for future* and makes you go "wow" as you explore it and see it's technology.

    Aside from Chaos system, the gameplay will also have you smiling greatly, as it has a great combat system with rapidly responding AI that make u think rather than just spamming a button to attack. And the ways to kill the guards become fun as the game advances, with abilities to even turn their weapons on them. (of course, this all still increases your chaos rating)

    I highly recommend this game if you don't mind heavy repetition and short stories, because boy it's short. But fair warning again, the real "money's worth" (aka $60) comes from how many times you're willing to replay and be patient in order to get all the achievements.
    Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    This game seemed to have everything going for it. Great setting, characters, story, game-play elements, etc. Then I played it. This game is SO short and had absolutely no replay value to me. The alternate story options (killing a target/letting them live) were no where near interesting enough for me to replay the game to find out what would have happened had I not killed/let my target live. Usually a game like this I would replay just to experiment with the powers however, in one play through I managed to get enough runes to have all the powers I wanted. Most of them aren't very interesting, or useful. All you need is Blink and that is given to you fairly early into the story. Once I had completed the game I felt like I played a beta version. Short and unfinished. Expand
  66. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    It is very refreshing to play this game. At its heart, it is a familiar FPS, but its unique setting and art style turn it into something quite special. The effort hasn't gone into trying to innovate graphics or multiplayer modes, it's gone into making an amazing universe which is a delight to play. It's a breath of fresh air into a very stale genre.
  67. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    Certainement le jeu de l'année. Il n'est pas le plus beau mais l'ambiance qu'il s'en dégage avec des moments mémorables qui resteront longtemps, vivement le deux.
  68. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    THIS GAME IS THE EPITOME OF A GAME THAT IS HYPED SO MUCH BUT ENDS UP A COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT. There is nothing great about this game, anyone who gives it over an 8 is bias and doesn't know what they are talking about. First of all this games stealth is horrible all you do is just hide behind something want for people to pass and then run pass them. The cartoony art style is kind of dumb personally I would prefer a more realistic feeling to the graphics. There is barely even free roam, the environments are so dull, plain, and boring. There is barely even a story AND THIS IS A FRIGGIN ROLE PLAYING GAME. All it is that this person gets killed right next to you and since you were at the scene everyone thinks you did it. You go to jail and the guards literally give you a key to escape the jail. After that you try to find out who killed that person. Combat is dull just plain and simple melee combat, some guns and skills to use. That does't sound worthy of a 8, 9, or especially a 10 does it. Trust me you will be disappointed if you make the mistake and purchase this turd. At least I got it half off, but then it still wasn't worth it. Expand
  69. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the game i was expecting, good idea, good control, great powers, but still, it's not a bethesda game, if you play other games, you know what i mean...!!!! Expand
  70. May 16, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. I started it out like a typical noob and started off killing the badies. Then I realized it was way more fun to avoid detection and not kill and also way more challenging. The fact that it allows for multiple play throughs because of it makes it a well thought out game. One of the best given the XBOX360 lifecycle.
  71. May 9, 2014
    10
    I've never played a game of this kind. You feel so unique, so special when you play it in your own style. Kill your enemies or be merciful and let them live? Every mission is a opportunity to find alternative way to complete your objective. Of course game rewards you with different endings (every ending depends on style you play) and changes of scenery in the world. By the way, presented world is very unusual. A bit like Victorian London with unusual technology and a bit of magic. I was impressed.
    All in all, I think it is very good game and it deserves a 10. Check it out! In my opinion playing this game is a pure pleasure!
    Expand
  72. xa4
    Nov 3, 2013
    8
    I simply adore this great stealthily FPS. One of my favourite titles of 2012 which I had lots of fun unlocking each and every achievement. I would love to write a full review on Dishonored but I don't have time at the moment. In short... Pros: -great stealth dynamics -neat and beautiful graphics (like Bioshock's infinite) -multiple different ways to complete each mission
    -excellent atmosphere and background
    -springrazor!!

    Cons:
    -good storyline, but weak approach to get the player interested in it
    -must have skills to play it (not hard but also not easy if you don't know what your doing)
    -not meant for everyone's liking
    -a few other stuff but not something major..

    If you love stealth, this is the perfect game for you
    Expand
  73. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Honestly really love this game so much. Played through it three times in two weeks. I think an assassin game in which you can choose not to kill anyone at all is pretty awesome. I really don't feel that this game got nearly the amount of recognition it deserved.
  74. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Good game with a great art style but nothing to really make this game stands out. Textures loading is extremely slow and this can be really annoying at some points.
  75. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    Beautifully crafted and artfully written, Dishonored takes us to a Whale-oil-punk dystopia known as Dunwall. Our protagonist must prove his innocence by killing or otherwise neutralizing the group who framed him for the murder of his charge, the Queen. The game uses a leaning system to allow the player to sneak around levels filled with guards, plague-infested civilans and traps. The player can choose whether to rely on stealth or combat, and their actions affect how the story develops. I gave this game a 7, because it looks great, has an awesome story, great mechanics and awesome style. However, replay value is almost nonexistent. The game is design to be played twice: once by sneaking and killing no one, and buying no powers, and a second time buying all the powers and murdering everything. After you do that, theres not much more to do. Expand
  76. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    While it has a few quirks here and there, Dishonored delivers on almost every admirably/crazily ambitious promise made by its creators. Its impeccably crafted gameplay and exquisitely haunting and detailed world stand in loving tribute to all of the iconic and acclaimed franchises that inspired it, and yet it still has a soul and style all its own.
  77. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Very rarely does a game come along that really and truly works on every level. Dishonored is that game this year. Its an amazingly unique game that is also familiar, its part Thief part Bioshock part Deus Ex with little dashes of Fable and Fallout thrown in for good measure. This game excels on every promise it made, I have bounced back and forth between total stealth and all out madman in the same level, and had a blast each time. It makes me really excited to go back and go for the total stealth and no kill playthrough. In fact this game really encourages multiple playthoughs, and for a fun and enjoyable reason. Some games just let you play again with all your items (Batman), or on a new difficulty (Shadows of the Damned), or to get all the collectibles (Alan Wake), but Dishonored one does none of that. The whole purpose of playing again, is because it will be a drastically different game if you switch up your style. Going through as a stealthy assassin and killing who get in your way, provides a different ending, a different world, and different attitudes in the enemies. Playing through as a ghost and killing no one, opens up different paths, results in less guards later, and a different ending. On my first play through, I hacked and slashed and shot and conjured up magic to defeat everyone. As I got near the end of the game, the enemies had wisened up a bit. I could no longer trick them into going through a rewired Wall of Light (an electrified wall that only the enemies can pass through, unless you hack it). I had to come up with a new approach. When getting in a big fight with multiple enemies I would Blink (a feature that allows you to teleport) up on top of stuff to hide. After pulling that off and attacking from above too many times, they started looking for me up top in the later levels. So I again had to think on my feet to make sure I wouldn't get killed. These happen in just one playthrough, and result in levels that drastically change while in them. The total stealth playthrough is going to feel so amazingly different. I have already done parts of levels in total stealth, and it is truly exciting fearing that you will be seen, or an unconscious body will be found, or you will knock a bottle over and alert them. It is truly amazing and wonderful. The last games to fill me with this much excitement were Fallout 3 and Bioshock, and just like in those games, there are moments of amazing beauty hidden in this dark and ugly world.

    Should you buy this game? Absolutely. But just like like this game, that choice is up to you. Make the right choice.

    Visit our site: www.ChurchOfAtom.com for more gaming and movie reviews to come. As well as our articles about Urban Exploring and our podcast.
    Expand
  78. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  79. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    WOW, all I have to say is that I've never played a game that feels so unique and right at the same time. They perfected it to the point where they want you to feel exactly like they intended it to be; putting you in a situation where anything is nearly possible and you get to do it your own way. The environments in this game could be the greatest thing I've ever seen in gaming. I'm not talking about textures and graphics, but pure detail, to the point where a suit a man is wearing or a room looks like it belongs in a painting. I fell in love with this game 15 minutes after I played it, and that I can't say for many other games I've played. I want to congratulate Arkane Studios for developing such a badass **** game!!! Expand
  80. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like you want if you want sneaky you can you want action/FPS you can and thats why this game rules and probably win some game of the year award becaouse like CVG said its the best game in this generation.A perfect 10 from me. P.S Sorry for bad english im in a hurry
  81. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    When was the last time you played a video game that just let you have fun the way you want to have fun? Dishonored bucks all the trends of an age of games that is dominated by linear shooters and online multiplayer as the only means of achieving any replay value. This is a sandbox assassination game where you can kill everyone - or indeed no-one in a variety of ways. Most players, like myself, will probably strive for a balance of the two, blending the games' sublime stealth system with a combat model that holds up equally as well. This is a game that responds to how you want to play it and that is indeed a rare thing from games of today. Buy this without hesitation now. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  82. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    This game has a lot of detail and fun gameplay, but the exclusion of new game plus cripples it. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, but since there is so much to collect and the game is extremely short for an RPG I feel like they just kick me in the balls at the end of the game. The story and environment is what saves it. Also I feel like with all the advances in the game industry there is no reason to have a silent protagonist and that comes off as seeming like laziness on the developers part. Expand
  83. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    This game has a wonderful campaign and game-play. You truly feel the consequences of your actions and I got really depressed by them at one point. Also you are always tempted to kill the evil military and your targets but you feel that it's better not to do so but sneak and remain unseen (which is a lot harder than shooting them all). Just do not rush some things as you'll get fast in trouble.
  84. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    This game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) is genuinely interesting. Unfortunately, on the Xbox 360 version at least, the graphics are pretty shoddy (probably due to the poor/non-existent anti-aliasing), and it's very distracting when the scenery has clipping artifacts when you look side to side. In addition to the poor graphics, this game is really short. I've done a few playthroughs, and it ranges from a low of 5ish hours for a "killing whatever and ignoring the optional objectives on easy" run to around 20ish hours for me to run the entire game on the hardest difficulty, finish all of the optional objectives, and collect all of the runes and bone charms. On top of all of this, the storyline really is just not very compelling. The game feels like way more thought went into the setting and lore than went into the actual events and dialogue that you're playing through. In summary, Dishonored is a game that has an interesting setting and some really neat gameplay options, but it's let down by graphical problems, story length, and some poor writing. In my honest opinion, if they would have made this game an open-world RPG, thrown more content into it, and given you a few more options as far as abilities and customization goes, this game could have been great. Such as shame, really. Expand
  85. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Although i own the PS3 version i have put the review in this section as the ps3 section is full of biased fanboy ratings, probably down to bethesda messing up the dawngaurd release on ps3, and them being the publisher of this game. Anyway, this game is a breath of fresh air for console releases and makes a change from the generic FPSs that come out on a yearly basis. It has a great setting, great atmosphere and actually makes you care for the characters, especially the young girl that you are sworn to protect. The game lets you tackle your objective how you wish and usually has various routes which you can use, as well as letting you decide if you want to sneak to your target without anyone knowing you are there or blast your way through the front door crossbows blazing. You can even play through the game without killing a single person if you have the willpower.

    The game seems takes inspiration from the original bioshock in the way it plays (which isnt a bad thing) but thankfully doesnt have all of the go to here and collect 3 of these before you can progress missions that plagued that game. With the numerous upgradeable powers and weapons available you really can play the game the way you want to, and with different endings depending on how you played, it has plenty of replay value. If you are looking for an action packed game and want a break from the usual modern day shoot em up then you can't go wrong with dishonored. Just remember to save often =p
    Expand
  86. Oct 15, 2012
    1
    Im going to be painfully honest here this game is just Meh,it is absolutely nothing special;If it were released any other part of the year it would have been insulted and ignored like the painful mass of mediocrity it is.But sadly it was released in a gaming drought so all the short sided kiddies swarm it and praise it like crazy when there's truly no redeeming factors about the generic mess.
  87. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year! The story of the game is simple but good.The art style graphics are great and the gameplay is the most fun ive ever had playing a 1st person game. The AI is awesome especially for a game that is action or stealth. The sound in the game is top notch. Dishonored lets you decide on how you want to play from killing someone in a fun and creative way to the stealth approach, its your choice! This is its own game and not like any other, its Dishonored and a must buy! Expand
  88. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    5 reasons why Dishonored fails to meet expectations: 1. Bait & Switch; In the initial launch trailer, Corvo Attena (sic) is revealed as fallen icon of a dis-topian alt. universe who is granted supernatural powers by a mysterious zealot with a personal vendetta to those in power. The entire tone of this trailer suggests that Corvo is some sort of agent of darkness, beyond any rule of law. This brings with it the idea that although you may be part of the whale-infused non-Victorian world you inhabit, the character has his own motivations for killing these people; a grander purpose severing a darker master. Not only is Corvo a silent character, but also not the supernatural wraith we thought. His motivations are driven by in-fighting generals and politicians who stop the game's progression after every mission to 'request' another takedown of some dubious individual. And the mysterious figure whom you are supposed to be servings is display in a series of hallucinations and dream sequences which are completely separate from the games main narrative. 2. The skill trampoline; Within most Expand
  89. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Great game, great story, but, is short, and the graphics are not the best, you could finish the game in one day, however, if you like games in first person, you should play it
  90. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dishonored is a Game of the Year candidate for a reason. Its amazing great graphics excellent storyline and it has multiple outcomes depending your course of action Expand
  91. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This is a game that not only uses quick thinking but also a wide display of weapons, whether the story line is obvious or not, it is made a complex game that makes you think. I see that most of the critics on this website, either do not play video games, or they are whiny people that don't like the challenges of games. Play Timeshift and if you like it, you have a right to comment on these types of games, otherwise keep them to yourself! Expand
  92. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    I had to log on after reading the negative reviews. These trolls have obviously never played a Bethesda game before. This game was amazing. If you like stealth games that reward you if you take your time, you will love this game.
  93. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Il gioco ha una trama originale, l' ambientazione curata e Londra del 1800 ha un fascino incredibile affiancata alla tecnologia dei nostri tempi. L' approccio stealth il più divertente e i poteri sono equilibrati, i checkpoint sono frequenti, peccato per una grafica non molto dettagliata, ma il gioco resta ottimo.
  94. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Excellently made game; the game-play is fresh in its approach but not dauntingly new, the basic concepts are familiar from games like those of the the Thief and Batman: Arkham series, but with enough original concepts to keep you interested. The plot is not as strong as I would have hoped but you always know what you are working towards in the game and this makes missions more rewarding. Furthermore, the way in which you carry out missions is great; either stealthily and without killing or simply killing everyone you see (or a mixture of both) gives a lot of replay value to Dishonored. Buy it. Expand
  95. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    This is a pretty good game. I actually loved it for about the 5 hours I played it. It was too short. Another thing i didn't like was that your character never spoke so it never felt like you were fully immersed into the game
  96. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    i my self thought this game was well thought out but to be this short and you have to play $60 just for it i was not that happy the gameplay was good though storyline was really good i like the decision making it gives you over all i was happy about this game just sad it was so short
  97. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all, I believe that this particular should have never been introduced to the Xbox 360 in the first place. The most relative reason being game-play, the various abilities and powers you receive throughout the game are somewhat difficult to manage, i find myself using several different powers one after the other, and because of the wheel system that is activated by the left bumper, i find myself tediously switching out powers all day long which definitely takes away from the game-play. The story itself seems like nonsense, all we know is that you are Corvo, special agent to the queen, who is then attacked and killed by people with strange powers, then you are locked up and nearly executed being the person accused of the crime. After the escape, the characters motive seems non-existent, it just seems as though you are led by the other characters, not by vengeance, the story doesn't make you like the characters enough for you to care. However, the game concept is something i find enjoyable, something about a technologically advanced victorian era i find intriguing. All in all, the game isn't worth the $60 i paid for it, not for the Xbox anyway. Expand
  98. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has conquered the spot as one of my favorite games of all time, but I think I want to get down to what is good about it first before going into the more negative aspects.
    Starting off, the gameplay. This is the core, pure reason for playing the game and it is done fantastically. The stealthing is VERY viable and fun to maneuver as you pass around or behind unknown enemies to give them what for. Their is a WIDE variety of weapons, if you choose to go that route, such as your sword, crossbow, pistol, grenades, etc. As a major part of the story to help get you through the game, there are various powers you unlock through the use of runes, such as a teleportation move called Blink, a powerful Windblast attack to knock out or kill enemies, Devouring Swarm to summon large swarm of deadly rats, and much more to play with. The gameplay and environment go hand-in-hand, making it highly adequate to both sneak around or eliminate all the enemies.
    On top of that, the graphics and musical scores used for the game are fairly adequate and get across their job as they are supposed to. The lore of the world itself and the mystical element is well done, with much intrigue about The Outsider, the being who delivers your powers to you in the game.

    Now, onto the more poor aspects of the game. While the lore of the world CAN be interesting, it is true that the story is not something to be given many praises and that it can be a bit boring to hear the mediocre voice-actors merely spout of their lines without much passion. It truly comes down to an acquired taste, but it doesn't do much compared to the gameplay, along with have the downfall of a silent protagonist in such an eventful game. Also, the final straw that hurts the game: multiple endings.
    In a game all about revenge being everything, you only get the praised good ending by going throughout the game as non-lethal as possible and it hurts the game in the story-telling aspect truly more.

    But, overall, Dishonored is definitely an experience to be picked up and enjoyed. It earns a solid rating and if it convinced me to go through multiple playthroughs, I'm sure it can do the same for you.
    Expand
  99. May 15, 2013
    4
    4 Is for the new kind of gameplay bethesda offered us. The rest is and this is the last time i buy some bethesda game. I still don't get why so many people are fond of game like this one or skyrim but this is clearly a stepback. Bored the entiere game, no matter hardest way or not, just bored. When you see the character at the begining you almost know who's going to betray you, you can say it's written all over their faces. A hero we are not able to just see for few second in a game with no voice, no personnality, no charism is not a hero. Please next time bethesda, let us use your tool i'm pretty sure that anyone with a brain can do better than this.
    You'll begin the game excited but at the end you'll be disapointed
    Expand
  100. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    simple and frustrating at first but once you gut the hang of it it evolves into a complex, never repetitive, highly enjoyable game. with a detailed environment that adds depth and ambiance to the experience
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Precise and elegant systemic design engenders an absurd degree of player agency, but is marred somewhat by a sloppy, unconvincing narrative and soulless characters. [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    What is there is so compelling that the lack of additional stages can't help but feel like a disappointment. The game's strengths are a double-edged sword. Regardless, this is still one of the best games of this year. With a bit of work, a potential sequel could be one of the best games of any year.
  3. Dishonored is never able complete that transformation from a game into a totally new and exciting world to inhabit. To be sure, our mostly positive rating reflects that this game is well-structured with all the pieces you'd expect and story flexibility will offer up a unique adventure for every player. It's a promising and mostly enjoyable start to what will perhaps be an ongoing series, but it lacks the emotional punch that could make it great.