Dishonored Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 820 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 820
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    Overall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. OverallOverall, I enjoyed this game very much. The graphics are nothing to write home about, however its still a lovely looking game. The gameplay is fun and fairly unique. Trying to do a mission the stealth way can be frustrating at times and left me (more often than not) just slaying everyone in my path. But its the stealth challenge that gives it at least a little bit of replay value. Overall I enjoyed the gameplay as well as the story, but in the long run, the replay value just isn't there for me. Solid game though and worth a purchase if you enjoy a good story driven game. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    I find the 8 campaign missions enough for the different ways you can replay this game, plus all the different ways you can play are well supported instead of focus on some. However, some problems I found include textures not loading correctly, which happened fairly often, plus the ending was abrupt; along with the rest of the story, it felt like things were overly explained. Overall a goodI find the 8 campaign missions enough for the different ways you can replay this game, plus all the different ways you can play are well supported instead of focus on some. However, some problems I found include textures not loading correctly, which happened fairly often, plus the ending was abrupt; along with the rest of the story, it felt like things were overly explained. Overall a good game, but the story could have been presented better. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    We have all established that Bethesda are well known for unique games that are worth playing. Dishonored is Bethesda's latest game at a new innovative game. And thankfully they have succeeded. Dishonored smart advertising and unique nature hooked us in the game so our expectations were high. The best feature of the game is the sort of Deus Ex feel to it in the means of gameplay. EachWe have all established that Bethesda are well known for unique games that are worth playing. Dishonored is Bethesda's latest game at a new innovative game. And thankfully they have succeeded. Dishonored smart advertising and unique nature hooked us in the game so our expectations were high. The best feature of the game is the sort of Deus Ex feel to it in the means of gameplay. Each mission of the game is a sort of open land were you get to decide what tactics you will take. There are to main ways to play or stealthily or a more kill everyone approach. What is interesting is that there are many ways to play with either option. Interesting enough the outcome of the game drastically changes with each play style so multiple playthroughs are needed to experience the full package. The environments also change according to play style. if you kill everyone there will be more flies and rats than taking the stealth approach. Both play styles are fun but I prefer the stealth approach as I find that there are more options and spells suited for this play style. Another thing I adore about this game is the art syle. It is very interesting, it is cartoon like but is dark which makes the game have an edge. The graphics themselves are not that good but this does not detract from anything. The game is not hard, so not much skill is needed to beat it but it is very rewarding. A problem I found with the game is that the many ways to beat the game can allow you to skip specific areas way too easily but this is not much of a problem. The powers in the game are all very fun and most importantly very useful. These spells are so much fun to wield and as you will see you will use them a lot in the game. The sound in the game is also very good and with ok voice acting. A thing I did not like in the game is the story. The story I found is not that strong, the world is so dark and violent that I really expected to be blown away with the story and I got a very good solid story. Although some characters are really well written and they are really interesting. A think I also really like are the badass enemies and deaths. The enemies are especially cool looking and you can clearly see the work put into them. The game is not that long it took me 18 hours but everyone who plays this game will definitely play this game multiple times so the $60 are worth it for this game. This game really reminds me of Batman Arkham Asylum and it really is a good game. I really enjoyed this game it is unique and i'm sure that many people will enjoy this game. It has a impressive art style fun characters and in my opinion the small flaws diminished by all this games interesting features. It has the most fun gameplay since Dark Souls and nearly as rewarding. You really need to play this game its worth all your hard earned cash. The reason I am not giving this game a 10 is because its amazing but not a masterpiece but this franchise has the potential for glory. Buy this game it's gameplay is sooo much fun it's not difficult to get hooked in this game! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    First things first, I'm sick of people saying that you can clear a level in x amount of time 'if you want to'. The point is that this is ideal for multiple playthroughs, do all the exploration on your first playthrough then when you go through on your second playthough it is quicker. Why are people complaining about the length of the game when they are just trying to make it as short asFirst things first, I'm sick of people saying that you can clear a level in x amount of time 'if you want to'. The point is that this is ideal for multiple playthroughs, do all the exploration on your first playthrough then when you go through on your second playthough it is quicker. Why are people complaining about the length of the game when they are just trying to make it as short as possible? You can actually put quite a lot of time into this game if you want to, and I certainly have, it's not the longest ever but not every game has to be a marathon, it has high quality gameplay and a compelling story to go along with it.

    The best part of this game is the choices it gives you when you are presented with each scenario, finding alternate ways to eliminate key targets is very interesting as is route finding during general sequences, this game gives you a lot of freedom considering it isn't open world, plenty of things to discover including side missions, objects that will help you along the way and looting for coin.

    Another great thing here is the setting, Dunwall has a good art style and is great to look at, among its secrets are many interesting back stories which you can get involved in and it helps you understand the place you are investing your time into, it tells you what life was like for certain people concerning plague, industrialisation and repression from the aristocracy, a great representation of Victorian London.

    I haven't finished the game yet so I cannot judge the ending but I understand the low chaos ending is better than the other. 2 points have been knocked off because I think the stealth lacks variety as the developers have focused more on combat focused techniques and then given you a couple of good abilities for stealth which will get you through the game that way.

    Overall I think I can say that the game lived up to my expectations, I certainly wasn't expecting it to be GOTY like everyone else was for some reason but it was thoroughly enjoyable, I hadn't even heard of Arkane studios before this game so good job to them.
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Very rarely does a game come along that really and truly works on every level. Dishonored is that game this year. Its an amazingly unique game that is also familiar, its part Thief part Bioshock part Deus Ex with little dashes of Fable and Fallout thrown in for good measure. This game excels on every promise it made, I have bounced back and forth between total stealth and all out madman inVery rarely does a game come along that really and truly works on every level. Dishonored is that game this year. Its an amazingly unique game that is also familiar, its part Thief part Bioshock part Deus Ex with little dashes of Fable and Fallout thrown in for good measure. This game excels on every promise it made, I have bounced back and forth between total stealth and all out madman in the same level, and had a blast each time. It makes me really excited to go back and go for the total stealth and no kill playthrough. In fact this game really encourages multiple playthoughs, and for a fun and enjoyable reason. Some games just let you play again with all your items (Batman), or on a new difficulty (Shadows of the Damned), or to get all the collectibles (Alan Wake), but Dishonored one does none of that. The whole purpose of playing again, is because it will be a drastically different game if you switch up your style. Going through as a stealthy assassin and killing who get in your way, provides a different ending, a different world, and different attitudes in the enemies. Playing through as a ghost and killing no one, opens up different paths, results in less guards later, and a different ending. On my first play through, I hacked and slashed and shot and conjured up magic to defeat everyone. As I got near the end of the game, the enemies had wisened up a bit. I could no longer trick them into going through a rewired Wall of Light (an electrified wall that only the enemies can pass through, unless you hack it). I had to come up with a new approach. When getting in a big fight with multiple enemies I would Blink (a feature that allows you to teleport) up on top of stuff to hide. After pulling that off and attacking from above too many times, they started looking for me up top in the later levels. So I again had to think on my feet to make sure I wouldn't get killed. These happen in just one playthrough, and result in levels that drastically change while in them. The total stealth playthrough is going to feel so amazingly different. I have already done parts of levels in total stealth, and it is truly exciting fearing that you will be seen, or an unconscious body will be found, or you will knock a bottle over and alert them. It is truly amazing and wonderful. The last games to fill me with this much excitement were Fallout 3 and Bioshock, and just like in those games, there are moments of amazing beauty hidden in this dark and ugly world.

    Should you buy this game? Absolutely. But just like like this game, that choice is up to you. Make the right choice.

    Visit our site: www.ChurchOfAtom.com for more gaming and movie reviews to come. As well as our articles about Urban Exploring and our podcast.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like you want if you want sneaky you can you want action/FPS you can and thats why this game rules and probably win some game of the year award becaouse like CVG said its the best game in this generation.A perfect 10 from me.
    P.S Sorry for bad english im in a hurry
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    Pretty much open-world, a big plus for any adventurous kind of gamer. A story that is both personal and political, with a dark twist ending that will leave you wrenching and praying for a sequel.
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    WOW!! Ok i'm not finished with the game, only about half way through. First if your a Half-life or portal fan you are going to love this. It has the art and some of the look to Half-life but set in a steam punk world. Additionally yes you can go toe to toe with the bad guys but at a world changing cost. I've been opting for a more pacifictic approach in knocking out or tranking my foe's &WOW!! Ok i'm not finished with the game, only about half way through. First if your a Half-life or portal fan you are going to love this. It has the art and some of the look to Half-life but set in a steam punk world. Additionally yes you can go toe to toe with the bad guys but at a world changing cost. I've been opting for a more pacifictic approach in knocking out or tranking my foe's & not getting busted, or just plane avoidence. This is very difficult but rewarding as you must "Blink" from location to location and not get busted. The whole of the maps are very "puzzle" like and in combination with npc movements require you to truely think and plan your course of action. Stratigy really is the common in this game. Additionally the magic really gives a unique flavor to the experince as it's very different from say Skyrim or Dragonage. It's all ment to be combined and tactical. Magic is also very smooth, not at all sticky. The story so far is fairly compelling although somewhat a "been-there" plot but not enough to be boring. The tech in the game seems to be a mix of Fallout meets Batman, meets the 1790's, which for me is all very cool. Appairently you can go through the whole of the game without killing anyone which is very difficult. I would truely recomend this for anyone who wants a very grim, creepy, Batman/Half-life kind of experience. I think this is going to be a ground-breaking game. Very unique and out of the box thinking went into this. Additionally (not that it really makes a difference) some great voice talents in the game. Also if your an Eldar scrolls player or fallout, get your loot searching into gear. Scaviging is a must. This is a great experience!! Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Excellent game if you want you can play in stealth mode or you can play in Rambo mode killing everyone in your path making the next levels more difficult. you have to play this game
  10. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Great Game. Told a great story and gave you the freedom to decide how the story was told and how it ended. Nice to see real craftmanship in a game. At least two play throughs. I'm already on my second one.
  11. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Anyone that says this game is only 5 hours is crazy and not playing the game called Dishonored. I am in the last chapter (chapter 11) and so far I have over 23 hours of gameplay. The game allows you so many options and choices for each mission and I have been playing a combination of stealth and brute force and this is the most original game I have played since Bioshock. This game is notAnyone that says this game is only 5 hours is crazy and not playing the game called Dishonored. I am in the last chapter (chapter 11) and so far I have over 23 hours of gameplay. The game allows you so many options and choices for each mission and I have been playing a combination of stealth and brute force and this is the most original game I have played since Bioshock. This game is not for children or for unintelligent people. It is a game for thinkers and for people who who like video games that are for adults. This game is exactly what the video game industry needs: original ideas and new intellectual property. I am tired of remakes and sequels and there is a reason games like this sale a ton and that's because some of us have grown up and we want really smart games with choice and well thought out stories. I love multiplayer as much as the next guy but they are not what changes the industry. It is games like Dishonored! Do your self a favor and play this game. It is so much fun and regardless of how you approach the game you will be amazed! Expand
  12. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year! The story of the game is simple but good.The art style graphics are great and the gameplay is the most fun ive ever had playing a 1st person game. The AI is awesome especially for a game that is action or stealth. The sound in the game is top notch. Dishonored lets you decide on how you want to play from killing someone in a fun and creative way to the stealth approach,Game of the year! The story of the game is simple but good.The art style graphics are great and the gameplay is the most fun ive ever had playing a 1st person game. The AI is awesome especially for a game that is action or stealth. The sound in the game is top notch. Dishonored lets you decide on how you want to play from killing someone in a fun and creative way to the stealth approach, its your choice! This is its own game and not like any other, its Dishonored and a must buy! Expand
  13. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    Just an amazing game! Visually the game is unbelievable, I stopped more times in this game to admire the art direction, enviorments, etc. than I can count. This game nails immersion and atmosphere, perfectly. Great sound design. The gameplay is excellent, and the combat is fluid - and the different ways you can dispatch enemies and complete missions, gives nice replay value to anJust an amazing game! Visually the game is unbelievable, I stopped more times in this game to admire the art direction, enviorments, etc. than I can count. This game nails immersion and atmosphere, perfectly. Great sound design. The gameplay is excellent, and the combat is fluid - and the different ways you can dispatch enemies and complete missions, gives nice replay value to an otherwise linear game. I know I'm going to do a second playthrough. Highly recommended, especially if you're a fan of the Deus Ex and Thief games. Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Well, there is one main point you should know about this game. Because many people will love the game for it. Other will trash it because of this feature. The huge portion of the game is made by the side locations (whole areas, that you do not have to visit at all), many paths to the target (but you have to use just one of them) and huge amount of details (journals, books, letters, orWell, there is one main point you should know about this game. Because many people will love the game for it. Other will trash it because of this feature. The huge portion of the game is made by the side locations (whole areas, that you do not have to visit at all), many paths to the target (but you have to use just one of them) and huge amount of details (journals, books, letters, or whispers about every npc or location) that can be missed or ignored. So basically quality of this game depends on your favorite gamepplay style. If you like to explore, look for the details and enjoy the world and freedom you will love this game. It can offer you over 20+hours of gameplay and it is real gem. If you like to play "to the point" and just go to finish your mission, you may be able to finish it under 5 hours (Im not talking speedrun here!) and dont see anything special. If you for example choose COD play style, the shooting is actually less fun that in other FPS games. So if you are this kind of player, you will be dissapointed. Expand
  15. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    A truly masterful title that really lets you see how your choices effect how the rest of the game will play out, the gameplay is just awesome, unlocking new powers and abilities and experimenting with them and trying to find new ways to get through levels or new ways to take out enemies. Dishonored is all about choice, want to sneak past every guard and not kill anyone? You can. Want toA truly masterful title that really lets you see how your choices effect how the rest of the game will play out, the gameplay is just awesome, unlocking new powers and abilities and experimenting with them and trying to find new ways to get through levels or new ways to take out enemies. Dishonored is all about choice, want to sneak past every guard and not kill anyone? You can. Want to just go berserk and murder everyone? You can. The combat and the powers also feel very solid, and so does the stealth, sneaking around feels great just as it should. Taking many cues from games like Thief and Bioshock, Dishonored is one of the best games to come out this year and anyone who remotely likes stealth games should go out and purchase this game ASAP Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    I have been playing Dishonored non-stop for the past week, it is extremely refreshing and a blast to play. You definitely see the Bethesda elements here and damn are they good. This game is by no means perfect but it brings a new twist to gaming that I think most anyone will enjoy. - Story (8): the story gets going right away and I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into details.I have been playing Dishonored non-stop for the past week, it is extremely refreshing and a blast to play. You definitely see the Bethesda elements here and damn are they good. This game is by no means perfect but it brings a new twist to gaming that I think most anyone will enjoy. - Story (8): the story gets going right away and I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into details. It is easy to follow, at times a bit bland and similar to other things we've seen, but it keeps you going. The conversations and voice acting are great and the plot can change depending on your choices/actions. - Graphics (8): The Graphics are not the strong point of Dishonored, but they get the job done and present the Victorian style scenery very well. London in this time period is an ideal place for this game and even though it won't stress your card the graphics and surroundings suck you in and make you feel directly involved. - Sound (10): I fully enjoy the background music, voice acting, and all the sound effects from weapons and skills. At times the sound sets a dreary mood and makes the whole thing more enticing. - Gameplay (10): An absolute 10 here, the gameplay is truly awesome and the best aspect of Dishonored. Whether you want to be "stealthy" or not, you are presented with numerous options and abilities that alter your course in the game. Duel wielding weapons, skills such as blink where you can travel to spots unreachable by jumping, or the many bone charms that give you other special perks, all of it is useful and rewarding. Finding schematics and applying upgrades is also extremely pleasing, along with powering up skills depending on what works for you. Depending on how you choose to play there are tons of pathways and choices at your disposal. - Endgame (8): Other than replaying for a different style of play I'd say that the endgame is a bit lacking. I really wish Dishonored was longer and took many hours to complete but that's just not the case. You will find yourself finishing in 10-15 hours and feeling pretty satisfied after your first play through, except if you went totally "non-stealth" and desire to do so. Overall (44/50 = 9): I am certainly glad I purchased Dishonored for the PC and played it all the way through. The entire time it felt rewarding and I loved sneaking my way to the next area and planning my next move. Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Depends on the gameplay style, Dishonored shows its real values. If run & gun COD style then probably you would complete the game within 8hrs or less and feel some disappointment about its length. But Dishonored is not to be played like that - this title shows its superb qualities with a slower, stealthy walkthrough, while forcing you to plan every step in advance and offering manyDepends on the gameplay style, Dishonored shows its real values. If run & gun COD style then probably you would complete the game within 8hrs or less and feel some disappointment about its length. But Dishonored is not to be played like that - this title shows its superb qualities with a slower, stealthy walkthrough, while forcing you to plan every step in advance and offering many benefits coming from exploration - above all, you collect the runes & amulets which are a key issue to gain/improve your special assassin skills, furthermore you can find money and many valuable items, which can be spent for equipment/weaponry upgrades afterwards. The stealth gamplay itself is exciting, challenging and can be fulfilled with thrilling encounters with your foes - here there are many ways to get rid of your enemies, with creative kills and bodies disposal afterwards. Obviously you can go into open fights, but to act like a "ghost", kill or knock senseless each foe step by step and remove/dispose their bodies afterwards is much more fun and challenging. Ive clocked more than 10hrs in the game and currently Im in the 4th mission; For sure one of the best games of 2012 Expand
  18. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    For those who enjoy games, not products. While the game itself doesn't necessarily warrant a sixty dollar purchase, it is just a game that should really be played. Buy it, rent it, just do whatever to get a chance to play it. While the game isn't as fleshed out as possible, it contains as much player choice as the first BioShock. Nothing is scripted, and you actually don't have to killFor those who enjoy games, not products. While the game itself doesn't necessarily warrant a sixty dollar purchase, it is just a game that should really be played. Buy it, rent it, just do whatever to get a chance to play it. While the game isn't as fleshed out as possible, it contains as much player choice as the first BioShock. Nothing is scripted, and you actually don't have to kill anyone in the game to beat it. Highly recommended. Expand
  19. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    This is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incredibly flexible for mixing and matching gameplay styles. They are hard to pick up, challenging to master, but incredibly fun once dash across a roof top, possess a rat, sneak up behind a guard, jump out of the rat, assassinate him, and teleport back up toThis is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incredibly flexible for mixing and matching gameplay styles. They are hard to pick up, challenging to master, but incredibly fun once dash across a roof top, possess a rat, sneak up behind a guard, jump out of the rat, assassinate him, and teleport back up to the rooftop. PHENOMENALLY satisfying. The story is fairly interesting, but there are some inconsistencies and some rather poor design choices that mar the experience. The core of the game gets everything done right: first person assassination with a dose of stealth and run and gun. It's an incredibly exciting game, and a hard one to put down at that. The story is pretty exciting but simple, but it's the rich and dramatic world that will keep you invested for the 15-20 hour run time. There are a couple of truly unique levels, and playing through the game without killing anyone is a gleeful challenge (to an avid fan of Metal Gear Solid). The ending leaves much to be desired, though, as it proves to be sloppy and rushed. Fans of Assassin's Creed or Half Life will really enjoy this game, as it executes first person stealth, exploration, and gameplay very well. It's just the sloppy story and ending that leaves a somewhat negative impression. So, in the end, triumphant and polished gameplay, intriguing world building, but weak and lacking story. Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    It is very refreshing to play this game. At its heart, it is a familiar FPS, but its unique setting and art style turn it into something quite special. The effort hasn't gone into trying to innovate graphics or multiplayer modes, it's gone into making an amazing universe which is a delight to play. It's a breath of fresh air into a very stale genre.
  21. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    The versatility of the combat system in this game is wonderful, so many ways to kill unsuspecting guards and deal with the key enemies. Graphics were great. I didn't notice the audio while playing this game. And story wasn't half bad, but still wanted it to be a bit longer.
  22. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This game has brilliant gameplay, an unique art style and is just really fun to play .The only complaint being the short campaign and questionable storyline
  23. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    A perfect game, If you wished you had Assassin's Creed type assassinations and excellent fps type controls in one game, Then Dishonored is for you. It expertly mashes a beautiful story with fun combat and worth it upgrades that so few games have. The only problem is that there is not enough stealth upgrades, Sure you get a silent walking upgrade, But i would like some better sword upgradesA perfect game, If you wished you had Assassin's Creed type assassinations and excellent fps type controls in one game, Then Dishonored is for you. It expertly mashes a beautiful story with fun combat and worth it upgrades that so few games have. The only problem is that there is not enough stealth upgrades, Sure you get a silent walking upgrade, But i would like some better sword upgrades for stealth. Expand
  24. Nov 27, 2012
    6
    I remember seeing pictures of dishonored in an issue of game informer in 2010 and then reading an article about it in 2011. I remember being very interested in the game. I also remember feeling let down that I couldn't purchase it when it was released and how envious I was at the people on my friends list that were playing it and raving about how great it was. Fast forward 2 months later.I remember seeing pictures of dishonored in an issue of game informer in 2010 and then reading an article about it in 2011. I remember being very interested in the game. I also remember feeling let down that I couldn't purchase it when it was released and how envious I was at the people on my friends list that were playing it and raving about how great it was. Fast forward 2 months later. I borrowed it from a friend and lets just say that I am very happy that I didn't purchase this game. Yeah, the graphics are cool and the combat is kind of fun, but other than that there is nothing special about this game. It feels like I've played this game a million times. The plot is basic. The characters are one dimensional and the fact that the developers try to force emotion on you is annoying. The whole game is one step up above generic. Is this the worst game I ever played? No, far from it, but does it deserve the high praise it's received since it's release? Not really. The whole entire experience so far has been a pretty ho hum, single player fps by the numbers. This is one where you'll forgot you've ever played it a month or two down the road. Expand
  25. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    60 FPS. Has a pretty strong learning curve to really appreciate how to handle certain situations. Read the rest of the reviews they will tell you what else you need to know.
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    When was the last time you played a video game that just let you have fun the way you want to have fun? Dishonored bucks all the trends of an age of games that is dominated by linear shooters and online multiplayer as the only means of achieving any replay value. This is a sandbox assassination game where you can kill everyone - or indeed no-one in a variety of ways. Most players, likeWhen was the last time you played a video game that just let you have fun the way you want to have fun? Dishonored bucks all the trends of an age of games that is dominated by linear shooters and online multiplayer as the only means of achieving any replay value. This is a sandbox assassination game where you can kill everyone - or indeed no-one in a variety of ways. Most players, like myself, will probably strive for a balance of the two, blending the games' sublime stealth system with a combat model that holds up equally as well. This is a game that responds to how you want to play it and that is indeed a rare thing from games of today. Buy this without hesitation now. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  27. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    You can really tell this is an effort from people who were involved with the original Deus Ex and Thief games, and City 17's visual designer. It's the perfect combo; an old school stealth action game with lots of room to explore and get distracted. The universe, characters, environments, and story are all immediately engrossing; one of those rare moments when a new game franchise feelsYou can really tell this is an effort from people who were involved with the original Deus Ex and Thief games, and City 17's visual designer. It's the perfect combo; an old school stealth action game with lots of room to explore and get distracted. The universe, characters, environments, and story are all immediately engrossing; one of those rare moments when a new game franchise feels like it's already matured. I won't spoil any more. Give it a whirl. Expand
  28. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    The most problem is that story ends when you want more! Amazing game with unique atmosphere and incredible gameplay. Reminded me Thief series much, and I'm thankful for that.
  29. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am in love with this game. It's soooo beautiful and the world is so well made. I love exploring the levels and finding everything it has to offer. I am playing a full stealth game and it's so intense and fun. If I get caught I consider it a failure and reload I haven't had this much fun in a game since Deus Ex: Human Revolution!
  30. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    If you were looking for game that rewards you with creativity and choice, than look no further. Dishonored truly feels like the first game to allow players to do a mission their own way. Your style is your own, there is no wrong or right way to play this game. In the end it's all up to you.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Precise and elegant systemic design engenders an absurd degree of player agency, but is marred somewhat by a sloppy, unconvincing narrative and soulless characters. [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    What is there is so compelling that the lack of additional stages can't help but feel like a disappointment. The game's strengths are a double-edged sword. Regardless, this is still one of the best games of this year. With a bit of work, a potential sequel could be one of the best games of any year.
  3. Dishonored is never able complete that transformation from a game into a totally new and exciting world to inhabit. To be sure, our mostly positive rating reflects that this game is well-structured with all the pieces you'd expect and story flexibility will offer up a unique adventure for every player. It's a promising and mostly enjoyable start to what will perhaps be an ongoing series, but it lacks the emotional punch that could make it great.