Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    65
    Epic Mickey 2: The Power of two is a real mixed bag. While some of the original's problems have been addressed many of the issues still remain making for a somewhat frustrating experience. The look and feel is back, as are the great characters and locations with some great new content thrown in. Unfortunately however for every step forward Epic Mickey 2 takes, it also takes a step back with issues both new and old. Add to this a flawed co-op AI system and you end up with a competent sequel if not a great one.
  2. 60
    Sequel blazes with colors but any significant advancements since the previous game are hardly noticeable. [Christmas 2012]
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    Other than for the great charisma of Disney's characters and a very good soundtrack, Epic Mickey 2 doesn't shine any more: some inscrutable puzzles and a very bad friend AI management make it a frustrating experience, unsuited both to young and grown up players.
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    60
    Epic Mickey 2 feels like a rushed job, hurried to catch upon the relative fame of its predecessor. It fixes a couple problems from the past and introduces a wonderful co-op system, but falls short in many departments, both story wise and gameplay wise.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    55
    Epic Mickey 2 is disappointing. There is no other way to put it. For a game I was genuinely excited to play, I found myself constantly forcing play sessions.
  6. 50
    Epic Mickey 2 is like a wonderful celebratory book of Disney lore where 80% of the pages have been torn, ripped, doodled over or spilled coffee on. On a base level there are numerous things to love, but the actual playing of the game turns that joy into hard, bitter anger.
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    50
    Such is the disappointment of Epic Mickey 2 that fans of the original will feel that the entire soul of the game has been ripped out and replaced with a cheerier but gormless imposter, while anyone who didn't rate it will find even less to enjoy here.
  8. 40
    Poor controls. [Issue#92, p.88]
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    50
    A charming platformer with lots of references to the Disney universe. Gameplay-wise it's badly flawed though. The camera, controls and AI are below acceptable levels.
  10. 70
    Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two is not the leap forward that many would have hoped and, in truth, feels like it steps back into safer territory for the most part. Having a second character is also held back by the unreliability of the AI and most of the levels feel like they have been designed to look great rather than play well. Good and bad then, rather like a lot of the recent Disney output, but still worth a look.
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Epic Mickey 2 is a textbook example of a bad game made by highly experienced author like Warren Spector. Very bad level design, an incoherent storyline, technical issues, boring cooperative gameplay and a dull AI resulting in fail. The only truly positive thing about the game is its Czech localization, including the Czech voice acting on the PC version.
  12. 68
    The thing to remember though, is that Epic Mickey 2: Power of Two doesn't quite innovate as much as you would expect a sequel to but it's still built on an incredibly stable base of the original game. For this much, anyone into an old school platformer that you would only experience last generation should definitely give this a shot, or any Disney aficionado who wants to be reminded why they love the production company so much.
  13. Nov 26, 2012
    50
    Epic Mickey 2 doesn't live up to the enormous Disney's legacy and atmospheres. The game simply doesn't have enough points of interest to keep the player attracted until the end of the game.
  14. Nov 23, 2012
    60
    No matter if you're six, 26 or 66 years old: Nobody likes a solo mode that's being sabotaged by the co-op game, and everyone can appreciate tight controls and a competent camera. It's basic things that this game just doesn't seem to be able to succeed at. Which is a shame, because creatively Epic Mickey 2 is a small wonder, be it in its imaginatively designed characters, its songs or its world designs.
  15. Nov 22, 2012
    40
    It loses a lot of the adult tone of the original, but it's far too frustrating and convoluted for kids (or all but the most patient of adults). It looks great, and there are some nice ideas, and a few great puzzles, but it's all let down by sloppy execution. Even the songs are miserably bland, which for a Disney title is especially disappointing.
  16. Nov 22, 2012
    40
    Fascinating and frustrating by turn, there's just enough to make you cling to the hope that one day the development team will actually find him. For now, I'd love the big, glossy, elephant folio art book of the Epic Mickey series, but I can probably do without the games themselves.
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    The gap between concept and execution has rarely felt as wide, and the Mad Doc's redemption has only come closer by a smidge.
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    65
    While Epic Mickey is a treat to look at and provides some delight - mostly in the visual nods to older, more forgotten Disney character and environmental design - it finally falls far short of the wondrous, creative, simply magical experience it promises.
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    85
    A great game for parents that would like to have their kids play something nice, colorful and without violence or controversies. Of course - adult gamers may remain indifferent to this game, but if you're one of them and have fond memories of Disney's cartoons and you have an inner child, you could be seduced by the duo of heroes. Who wouldn't want to help save such an interesting and pleasant world?
  20. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    Epic Mickey 2 once again pays heartfelt tribute to animation history, and does it with style and sincerity. As with the original game, anyone who loves Disney, Mickey Mouse, or just animation history in general will find something to enjoy here, and the fact that the game is a superb platformer and co-op title is icing on the cake.
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    65
    Epic Mickey 2 is a good platform but not the ideal sequel for the first chapter. Great level design returns in this second chapter, but many problems in control mechanics and AI programming ruin every piece of the structure.
  22. 70
    Mickey's world-shaping brush is slightly sexier than Oswald's electro-ray, but both cause Goofy an equal amount of pain, so it's hard to complain. Niche then, but nice.
  23. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    Despite its new cooperative gameplay, Epic Mickey 2 is not the epic sequel we were waiting for. The title developed by Junction Point studios lacks real ambition, especially regarding its technical innovations compared to the previous episode on Wii. And yet, Epic Mickey 2 offers enough hints to famous Disney productions and beautiful landscapes to satisfy players, and it will occupy them for hours thanks to its great game length and a amazing world to paint just as you like.
  24. Nov 19, 2012
    65
    The world of Epic Mickey 2 has this new kind of Mickey-charm without having forgotten about the nostalgic past and everything fits naturally in the game's world. Unfortunately it doesn't translate this sensation as successfully to a charming experience. The story starts of slowly and there is little opportunity to get to know all of the colorful characters. Epic Mickey 2's gameplay is also double edged. It's challenging and interesting in some spots, but too little is done with the different options you're given.
  25. Nov 18, 2012
    85
    With solid single-player and outstanding co-op play, the game will provide about 25 hours of exploration during the first playthrough. Wield the power of paint and thinner and choose your path. But remember, choices have their consequences.
  26. Nov 18, 2012
    68
    Epic Mickey 2's new features bring plenty of content and side quest that enrich the original structure but also strengthen many flaws in the gameplay. The Disney universe, however, finds in this game one of the most powerful and charming expressions.
  27. Nov 17, 2012
    80
    Except for a still-finicky camera (and Oswald being an adorable pain in the ass), I really enjoyed Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two. The Rainbow Caverns stage is one of the prettiest I've ever seen, the animation style for the cut-scenes is simply beautiful FMV, and the puzzles-while not terribly difficult-are fun to solve.
  28. Nov 17, 2012
    20
    It's a gormless, chafing, unquestionably horrid little waste of time. Only the hardcore Disney obsessive need look into this one, and I don't advice they look too deeply.
  29. Nov 17, 2012
    82
    It's far from perfect, but it offers a great and fresh experience. If you accept it as it is it'll become and adventure worth enjoying. Absolutely recommended for those who miss the classic 3D platform games.
  30. Nov 17, 2012
    60
    Seeing the Warren Spector name on such a mediocre title breaks the heart. Epic Mickey 2 has a solid nucleus, one with potential, but everything crashes to the ground in the end, due to the bad A.I. and the not-so-great gameplay mechanics.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Despite some flaws, this game exudes pure love for the Disney universe and fantastic art direction. For those who love the medium and seek entertainment beyond the established formula, this a worthy experience. I'm having a lot of fun exploring every nook and corner and often finding unexpected surprises, steeped in the Mickey Mouse lore. Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    Having played the Wii version first time round, I couldn't wait to have a go at this. AND i wasn't disappointed. The good stuff - Oswald! Co-op....fantastic artwork....if you are a Disney fan, you'll love the detail of characters past and present

    The disappointing stuff - the camera angle is the biggest issue for me! having played the first game on the wii, I loved it but the camera made the game feel awkward! Some tricky moments which took some patience

    The game requires some skill at times as there are tricky bits. Its great for kids and adults alike and you will no doubt capture some of that long last childhood fun.

    If you love Disney, you'll love this! If not, you'll still have some fun.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    1
    Wow....where to start...I was really looking forward to playing this game. I'm a Disney fan and I love playing in games that capture the essence of those worlds like Kingdom Hearts did. This game looked promising from Warren Specture's love for Disney and the trailers, but wow...I'm extremely disappointed to say that this game is beyond broken. FIrst of all the when I started off the game, and played the game for about 3 mins I realized that the game was broken because of the camera being ridiculously low and way too zoomed out which makes platforming near impossible and creates this detached feeling when playing the game...the camera is so zoomed out that you don't even feel like you are playing the game and more like your watching someone else play the game...yeah its a very wierd feeling. So I was like alright this game is already 6, but maybe its still playable, from there I attempted to do some platforming which yeah...didn't go too well. I realized then that the game would be a 5 at best since the camera made the game broken....Well being a Disney fan, I pressed on...only to be surprised that the game could get horrificly worse. The next thing the game threw at me was a couple puzzles. There was no clear instruction of what to do and when it does give you a hint, you are so caught up in trying to adjust your camera in a decent angle you weren't paying attention to what it was saying...but don't worry, your ai companion talks in an endless loop, so you'll eventually hear him talking....except again his instructions aren't clear...so you'll still be clueless on what to do. Next, the combat is atrocious. The enemy and your partner, Oswalds AI is horrible and broken. The thing that makes this so disheartening is that the world actually looks awesome to explore and if it weren't for these simple but important design decisions, I could see this game being a blast to play. The voice acting is great too. Perhaps they'll release a patch to fix those issues...I really never thought I would play and rate a game 1 out of 10 this generation that had these high production values. This game was so incredibly frustrating I only could play about 45 minutes before I really couldn't take it anymore and I was really trying to push through it. Its just really a shock considering how much love was put into capturing the essence of Mickey Mouse and his world, but how these simple, important game elements could be so broken...its very mind boggling. Anyways, I wouldn't recommend anyone buying this game unless you want to be really pissed off ;) Full Review »