DJ Hero Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RayC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    This is the Best music game out today. The soundtrack and mixes is what makes this game good. The music is main stream mix such as hip hop, rock, pop, electronic, and just plan old scratching. The tracks are just refreshing after countless guitar hero/rock band release after release. The controller is light and well built and design. The only thing holding this down is the price for the This is the Best music game out today. The soundtrack and mixes is what makes this game good. The music is main stream mix such as hip hop, rock, pop, electronic, and just plan old scratching. The tracks are just refreshing after countless guitar hero/rock band release after release. The controller is light and well built and design. The only thing holding this down is the price for the game. They should have price it $99.99 and $149.99 for the Renegade edition. Expand
  2. abigailm
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    OMG! So fresh and fun. Not boring or repetitive like guitar hero. Easy for beginners and when you step up the difficultly, it will even keep hard core fans interested. The music is fresh for mainstream fans and also features classic hits for techno loving fans. Great game A+
  3. LokP
    Oct 28, 2009
    3
    Another leech in the genre. I loved Guitar Hero and Rock Band, but I feel that marketing has gotten the best of the music/game genre. I don't think they will stop until they completely milk it for every last drop. Would it hurt to use some creativity once in a while?
  4. HipHop
    Oct 28, 2009
    2
    This game is a load of crap. The only thing that resembles DJing in the gameplay is the peripheral, Actual DJ duties like Picking samples, timing DPMs and free scratching to a bombbeat are nowhere to be found...CREATIVITY, give me my palettes and let me make the mixes...Thats a REAL DJ HERO!!! Its cool for a Vehicle to hear other DJ's do their thing, but to be a real game, let the This game is a load of crap. The only thing that resembles DJing in the gameplay is the peripheral, Actual DJ duties like Picking samples, timing DPMs and free scratching to a bombbeat are nowhere to be found...CREATIVITY, give me my palettes and let me make the mixes...Thats a REAL DJ HERO!!! Its cool for a Vehicle to hear other DJ's do their thing, but to be a real game, let the user make the mash-ups. Expand
  5. JimS
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    I've waited so long for a DJ game like this to come to the console. All my guitar hero and rock band friends were bashing the game pretty hard; but as soon as they spun a few tracks they were hooked. Hell I'm hooked. Guaranteed months and months of fun.
  6. HagenM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    In a world were we see 5+ Guitar Hero games are copy, pasted, and released yearly, a world where Guitar Hero and Rock Band have become identical except from the amount of DLC, it's great to see a game that is not milked. A completely new experience that is for more addicting than previous music titles. Also, there's no room for milking here, as there is an ORIGINAL soundtrack of In a world were we see 5+ Guitar Hero games are copy, pasted, and released yearly, a world where Guitar Hero and Rock Band have become identical except from the amount of DLC, it's great to see a game that is not milked. A completely new experience that is for more addicting than previous music titles. Also, there's no room for milking here, as there is an ORIGINAL soundtrack of 92 songs, not songs we've all heard before. Props to Freestyle games. Expand
  7. CD
    Nov 3, 2009
    9
    Lost for words. Hook this up to your speakers, crank it up and grin. If you like rhythm games and you have a pulse, chances are you'll be as happy as DJ with an eightball
  8. Rob
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    Super fun game! Can get pretty complicated fast. I enjoy it more then all the rockband stuff, but its more toward my music tastes.
  9. bobl
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    This game has had a bad rap since it was announced due to prejudice towards the music, Activision's reputation, and the onslaught of plastic rhythm games. None of these are fair criticisms to the game itself and if one were to look pass these they would find one of the most satisfying, challenging, and sonically pleasing rhythm games in recent years. The peripheral itself is well This game has had a bad rap since it was announced due to prejudice towards the music, Activision's reputation, and the onslaught of plastic rhythm games. None of these are fair criticisms to the game itself and if one were to look pass these they would find one of the most satisfying, challenging, and sonically pleasing rhythm games in recent years. The peripheral itself is well made and sturdy enough. The mixes are for the most part fantastic. And the actual gameplay is exhilarating on the harder difficulty modes. I would purchase this game if you can afford it and are open-minded to this type of music. Expand
  10. BlakeH
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    As a long-time Beatmania IIDX player, I must say that I am incredibly impressed with DJ Hero. Not only is it a fun game, but it delivers one of the first fresh music gaming experiences with a peripheral in a long time. The gameplay is solid and very addicting. My one complaint with the game is the soundtrack, too much mainstream pop stuff and not enough Trance, DnB or Hardcore.
  11. MadAndy
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    The music here is amazing. I've never heard such fine mash-ups. Oh there's a game here too!
  12. PicoJ
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    Great game and fantastic mixes Some people complain about not making your own mixes and to them I say this game is not for you. You should be on the lookout for Scratch the Ultimate DJ. That said I'm kinda happy you can't make your mixes because typically when you do the mixes sucks because believe it or not most people aren't good at being a DJ. Lots of fun and very high Great game and fantastic mixes Some people complain about not making your own mixes and to them I say this game is not for you. You should be on the lookout for Scratch the Ultimate DJ. That said I'm kinda happy you can't make your mixes because typically when you do the mixes sucks because believe it or not most people aren't good at being a DJ. Lots of fun and very high in the production value for such a unique game. Also, if you were one of the pompus, uptight people who believes every song you ever listen to has to have a guitar and some idiot yelling to be a good song then this also not the game for you. This is a game for the person who likes all kinds of music and not just for a niche crowd. Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    A very fun game if you really are into hip-hop, such as Mobb Deep, ODB, Jay-Z, Eminem etc. Though the game doesn't deliver to its fullest because of some poor mixes that sound bad. Rihanna's voice is after a while very tiring, and some of the rock songs doesn't fit in to the DJ-ing. The game may seem very easy on medium difficulty after a while, but brings a large struggle on the expertA very fun game if you really are into hip-hop, such as Mobb Deep, ODB, Jay-Z, Eminem etc. Though the game doesn't deliver to its fullest because of some poor mixes that sound bad. Rihanna's voice is after a while very tiring, and some of the rock songs doesn't fit in to the DJ-ing. The game may seem very easy on medium difficulty after a while, but brings a large struggle on the expert level. All in all, a good game where you and your friends can have days of fun. Expand
  14. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    I ended up getting this game like a month late, but I LOVE this game. I don't play this game as much as DJ Hero 2 or the L4D games, but this game had some unforgettable tracks and loved how you get to choose your dj, venue, turntable, and etc. I'd recommend this to anyone, it's great fun.
  15. Feb 10, 2016
    8
    Dj hero is a fun music game developed by FreeStyle Games, and Exient Entertainment. The game opens up with a tutorial that is help full, it will teach you the basic and advance techniques for playing on harder difficulties if you wish to use them. In the tutorial Grand master flash lends his voice to teach you on how to dj, which is a nice added addition. The gameplay consists of usingDj hero is a fun music game developed by FreeStyle Games, and Exient Entertainment. The game opens up with a tutorial that is help full, it will teach you the basic and advance techniques for playing on harder difficulties if you wish to use them. In the tutorial Grand master flash lends his voice to teach you on how to dj, which is a nice added addition. The gameplay consists of using the turntable controller however some songs allow use of the guitar hero guitars to play unique segments. The player will have to learn how to scratch, use the button prompts, crossfader and dial. There is also a black button on the controller that glows red when Euphoria can be activated (same as star power in guitar hero). Dj hero starts out challenging but once you get use the controller interface it becomes a breeze. The sound track has a a lot of fun tracks however others not so much, this may differ depending on your music preference. However I did enjoy most of the tracks served to me. There is a quick play mode were you pick your tracks and play them in your orderly desire, a career mode were you play threw each setlist with the tracks assigned to them, you also get the option to switch the track in the order desired. As you play threw the career you are granted stars, which unlock new setlists, costumes, dj boards and clubs. Since the player will be focusing on the notes being handed to them, the cosmetic stuff is not really the highlight but a good overall edition if interested in using it. Their is also multiplayer which is fun to play with a friend however unlike guitar hero or rock band both players will be playing the same notes unless one is playing the guitar and the other is playing the turntable which is kinda lackluster. All in all dj hero is a good game and at the time of release added a fresh taste to the music genre of games, it was a fun and a good starting fondation for the series. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. 90
    In an overcrowded genre of music games, DJ Hero resides at the very top with the best of 'em. The original mixes are stunning and scratching the turntable is just as fun as it seems.
  2. 93
    DJ Hero is a beautifully structured experience that understands the rhythm-action genre thoroughly enough to appeal directly to progression-obsessed fans, yet knows how to juggle its goods to offer a music experience that's never frustrating and wears its unpretentious accessibility with pride.
  3. A well made title that even old farts can enjoy. From the quality set list, accessible turntable peripheral, and generally nicely implemented mechanics, there's a lot for any gamer to enjoy. On the downside, the multiplayer elements aren't nearly as convincing as they should be, making this a game you'll likely play alone.