DmC: Devil May Cry Xbox 360

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1384 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2017
    9
    El control del personaje es buenísimo así como la cantidad de combos que hay para hacer, la dificultad es buena, la duración del juego es buena, el personaje de Dante es buenísimo y esta muy bien acompañado, los bosses me gustaron y los enemigos también.
    No entiendo el odio hacia este juego ya que su calidad es muy buena, muchos simplemente se guían por lo que dicen haters, prueben el
    El control del personaje es buenísimo así como la cantidad de combos que hay para hacer, la dificultad es buena, la duración del juego es buena, el personaje de Dante es buenísimo y esta muy bien acompañado, los bosses me gustaron y los enemigos también.
    No entiendo el odio hacia este juego ya que su calidad es muy buena, muchos simplemente se guían por lo que dicen haters, prueben el juego ustedes yo lo recomiendo totalmente.
    Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    eu levei um susto quando eu vi a media do jogo no User Score, como assim 5.1? eu achei o jogo excelente, um Hack and Slash de primeira, tudo bem que teve a polemica do visual do Dante mudar, mais eu acredito que esse nao seja o motivo dessa nota tao baixa, o trabalho de voz é excelente, o grafico é bonito, a jogabilidade é muito boa, bem fluida, tem chefes muito grandes, alguns sao bemeu levei um susto quando eu vi a media do jogo no User Score, como assim 5.1? eu achei o jogo excelente, um Hack and Slash de primeira, tudo bem que teve a polemica do visual do Dante mudar, mais eu acredito que esse nao seja o motivo dessa nota tao baixa, o trabalho de voz é excelente, o grafico é bonito, a jogabilidade é muito boa, bem fluida, tem chefes muito grandes, alguns sao bem dificeis, o jogo tem uma jogabilidade boa, o antagonista do game é apenas ok, eu achei que ele deixou um pouco a desejar, o Dante continua um grande personagem, a trilha sonora é excelente, foi um jogo que foi muito bom passar o tempo, eu gostei demais. Nota 9.4 Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    I've put about 130 hours into this game (more than even DMC 3), getting triple S on all Dante Must Die (the hardest difficulty without a gimmick) missions. Still haven't gotten that for the expansion though, but someday I'm sure I will. Now this is an action game: to have hours played competing with an RPG is deserving of extreme praise.

    Everyone hates the main character (I think he's a
    I've put about 130 hours into this game (more than even DMC 3), getting triple S on all Dante Must Die (the hardest difficulty without a gimmick) missions. Still haven't gotten that for the expansion though, but someday I'm sure I will. Now this is an action game: to have hours played competing with an RPG is deserving of extreme praise.

    Everyone hates the main character (I think he's a great fit personally), but if you can get 130 hours out of an ACTION game, you really should not care about the story, or characters. The combat is most important.

    This game's combat is riveting, except maybe against the Ice knights. Fights are just far more intricate in this game than in the other Devil May Cry games. Hitting large groups at once, juggling enemies in the air, dodging in the air, parrying by attacking into an opponents attack. I like the combat in this DMC much better than in the others, but a big part of that is just having an easy to use dodge. Also, as I said, I got triple S (the highest score rank), but what I didn't add is that I did that without a lock-on system. You're really fine without it, unless you love the guns I guess.

    One thing I should note, and advise about, is that it is better not to figure out the key to each enemy type (I'm specifically thinking about the fat guys and the ninjas). You could just crush enemies by putting your key in the hole, but it is better to let the enemies fight back. Do not always fight just to get the high score, or easy kills. In this way, the game will be significantly more fun for those trying to get fun out of it, and less fun for the rest. Also, make an effort to keep your camera on the enemies, as only the ranged ones attack from off screen. This last thing is a major flaw in my opinion.
    Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    Devil May Cry uno de los juegos mas iconicos del PS2, por esa razón este juego obtuvo tanto hate por parte de los fans de Dante, se puede ver reflejado en la critica injusta de los usuarios, dividiendo a los fans en los que les gusto y a los que ni siquiera le dieron oportunidad. La verdad este juego logra ser impecable uno de los mejores Hack and Slash de la ultima década, un sistema deDevil May Cry uno de los juegos mas iconicos del PS2, por esa razón este juego obtuvo tanto hate por parte de los fans de Dante, se puede ver reflejado en la critica injusta de los usuarios, dividiendo a los fans en los que les gusto y a los que ni siquiera le dieron oportunidad. La verdad este juego logra ser impecable uno de los mejores Hack and Slash de la ultima década, un sistema de combate rápido y frenético, excelente soundtrack, buenos personajes y una trama seria en ocasiones muy bien lograda que a la vez parodia en forma de critica la sociedad actual, llena de empresarios y monopolios donde los medios de comunicación se encargan de desinformar a la gente. El nuevo Dante respeta demasiado al DMC 1 y DMC 3 siendo un chico inmaduro con gran sentido del humor. El reboot no era necesario, pero le sentó muy bien después de los mediocres Devil May Cry 4 y 2, ademas de lograr que el publico se interesa por la saga en general. Seria glorioso que Capcom mantuviera ambos universos. Excelente juego lo recomiendo seas o no fan de la saga. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2016
    10
    This is the best Slasher of 2013. Best gameplay of the series and fantastic
    atmosphere. One big minus is a characters and story, but story was never best side of the franchise.
  6. May 7, 2016
    10
    I played Devil May Cry 4, but I like to new design of Dante. I enjoy this DmC more, I feel DMC4 a little boring and this is much more fun. The environment design is pretty awesome too.
  7. Mar 2, 2016
    8
    As a not diehard Devil May cry fan i enjoyed this game very much.The best of hack and slash.But the bad is that the Devil May Cry franchise has never been full hack and slash,had more puzzles and sharper story.I understand that the change of the main characters also brought some negativity,but overall i find this game amusing for me.
  8. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    The game looks stunning,Dante is really hot character,secondary characters look really nasty but awesome as well,the gameplay is fun when it comes to fighting with different weapons to extend combos,the platforming could of worked a bit better though.A game you'll probably have a blast with i know i did.
  9. Dec 19, 2015
    8
    Very addictive combat, if nothing else. If you've played devil may cry 4, or bayonetta, you'll feel right at home with this game. I loved bayonetta, but I have to say, this game edges it out in terms of action and visuals. It is almost on par with arkham city for action
  10. Dec 2, 2015
    8
    Really enjoyed this, I mean I can get why people were hating the new take on Dante and Virgil, I hated the whole hipster look and attitude and the girl was very irritating. However the fighting system was simple enough to get into but getting more abilities could up the challenge of combo moves which made fighting enjoyable. The last boss sucked big time but most of the others wereReally enjoyed this, I mean I can get why people were hating the new take on Dante and Virgil, I hated the whole hipster look and attitude and the girl was very irritating. However the fighting system was simple enough to get into but getting more abilities could up the challenge of combo moves which made fighting enjoyable. The last boss sucked big time but most of the others were amazing, and some of Dantes dialogue was actually pretty funny, the fanboys will always cry when something in 'their' game changes, I hated this game when it was first announced myself but found it much later on sale a while after it had been out and was very surprised when i played it, I completed it three times and will probably buy it again for the Xbox One. Basically, don't make the same mistake as me and judge the game before playing it. Expand
  11. Jun 26, 2015
    8
    I went in to this game with fairly high expectations, and i went out satisfied with the game. With some complaints of the weak story, weak characters and such other. But hey, this is DMC we are talking about, since when has strong characters and story been a selling point for the series? The main selling point of this series has always been the fast paced combat and the ability to play theI went in to this game with fairly high expectations, and i went out satisfied with the game. With some complaints of the weak story, weak characters and such other. But hey, this is DMC we are talking about, since when has strong characters and story been a selling point for the series? The main selling point of this series has always been the fast paced combat and the ability to play the game after your own style. Although they did remove the style system from earlier games, the combat is still very fluid and fun to play. They have added in a fluent weapon switching system (thank god) as i felt the previous system was clunky and hard to switch in combat. I also feel like Ninja Theory did a good move with moving all the combat to Limbo, which allowed some of the best level design i have ever seen in a Hack N Slash game. Dante also moves more realistically in combat compared to the earlier games. Although a lot of people complained that the game is too easy, they probably only played it on Nephilim (Hard) and did not take the time to play/unlock the higher difficulties, because that is where the challenge lies. You can complain about how they changed Dante, Since i played the earlier DMC games, i got very confused when Dante screams "NO" when he is thrown out the window. But then again, we play this game for the combat, and they managed to nail that in a good way. Then there is the whole DLC known as Vergils Downfall. I didnt care for the story much, i found the combat system very fun to use. The only major complaints i have about it is that the level design is weaker than the main game, the campaign is a bit too short, only 6 missions, and you cant play Vergil in the Bloody Palace. I would have also loved some weapon variety from Vergil other than just his katana, Yamato. Other than these flaws i found the game very enjoyable, and i am still playing it to this very day Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you'reSimply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you're playing on the harder settings) and the new Dante is way cooler. The only part I didn't like was the "F*** You" line. But other than that I loved the new characters. If you like Bayonetta and old DmC games but aren't a stupid fanboy, you must play this game. I literally have play almost every game in the genre and I can honestly say that this game is near perfect. Ninja Theory hit this one out of the park. I only hope the dumb old DmC fanboys don't ruin the chances of a sequel for us real gamers. Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2014
    8
    A really solid HnS game. Nice visuals, and an intriguing storyline.

    If you're looking for a game you can spend some time just blowing off stress with, here you go
  14. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    In my opinion, the most important thing in a game is the gameplay, and I liked that in this game. It is true that the story is not very interesting and it gets boring at some parts, but I do not care about it, because the gameplay makes me feel that I am "The Boss". I finished the game like four times because I wanted to play every game difficulty and complete every secondary mission and IIn my opinion, the most important thing in a game is the gameplay, and I liked that in this game. It is true that the story is not very interesting and it gets boring at some parts, but I do not care about it, because the gameplay makes me feel that I am "The Boss". I finished the game like four times because I wanted to play every game difficulty and complete every secondary mission and I did not get tired. Expand
  15. ECU
    Jul 17, 2014
    8
    DmC does nearly everything right. Fast action, cool characters, dynamic levels they are all great and well tought. But there are some minor issues too. There are few too many platforming levels and they are not working well. This is an action game so controls and camera are designed for slashing, not for jumping around trying to land on the perfect spot. But the point where the game trulyDmC does nearly everything right. Fast action, cool characters, dynamic levels they are all great and well tought. But there are some minor issues too. There are few too many platforming levels and they are not working well. This is an action game so controls and camera are designed for slashing, not for jumping around trying to land on the perfect spot. But the point where the game truly shines is level design. All levels follow the same design elements though they are never dull or repetitive. Fighting your way through a dynamicly changeing level is too fun to miss out. Expand
  16. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic game. The game play is amazing. The level design is one of the best I've ever seen. The only criticism I have for this game is that it was on the easier side, for the first play through at least. The difficulty of course ramps up as the harder modes are unlocked. As for the characters, I for one liked them but i'm guessing that many didn't that's why they are judgingThis is a fantastic game. The game play is amazing. The level design is one of the best I've ever seen. The only criticism I have for this game is that it was on the easier side, for the first play through at least. The difficulty of course ramps up as the harder modes are unlocked. As for the characters, I for one liked them but i'm guessing that many didn't that's why they are judging this game entirely on subjective terms. Expand
  17. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Yes it takes a bit of a darker tone with Dante, but come on. The visuals are amazing, the voice acting is alright, the combat was awesome, and who could forget Combichrist! I can literally sum up what I loved most about the game with one word. Combichrist!
  18. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Ignore all the flack that this reboot gets. It's fun, and really, that's all that should matter with a video game. Only problem I had with it is that it's far too easy. Literally the ONLY gripe I have with it.
  19. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    This game is fantastic.. and i do mean fantastic! Best fighting out of the entire DMC series, bosses are great and fun to battle the story.. well there actually is a story unlike the other DMC games and theres no needlessly long puzzles its a 10/10 fighting game and a 10/10 DMC game.. All the haters are little **** pissed about the hair being short.. He doesn't act emo at all in the game,aThis game is fantastic.. and i do mean fantastic! Best fighting out of the entire DMC series, bosses are great and fun to battle the story.. well there actually is a story unlike the other DMC games and theres no needlessly long puzzles its a 10/10 fighting game and a 10/10 DMC game.. All the haters are little **** pissed about the hair being short.. He doesn't act emo at all in the game,a patch of his hair turns white after he accquires demon form thats the explenation to why he has white hair in the others and its a decent one.. Do not listen to the idiots complaining about this game.. I never tought id say this but i agree with the reviewers way more compared to the public.. Expand
  20. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Quick lesson on me. 1: I've played all 4 of the previous Devil May Cry games. 2: I've beaten and liked 1-3 (finished 1 at least 10 times)

    When playing this game with the other games in mind you must remember one important thing: you play Devil May Cry games for the action, not the story. And personally, I believe DmC is amazing when it comes to the action. The story and characters arent
    Quick lesson on me. 1: I've played all 4 of the previous Devil May Cry games. 2: I've beaten and liked 1-3 (finished 1 at least 10 times)

    When playing this game with the other games in mind you must remember one important thing: you play Devil May Cry games for the action, not the story. And personally, I believe DmC is amazing when it comes to the action. The story and characters arent absolutely terrible like many believe. The art style for the game is actually pretty interesting and I like it a bit.

    Like I said earlier, you play for the action in this series. Really, I believe the action is the best in this game out of all 5 of the games in the series. When you fight a large amount of enemies it is fun and exhilarating. The tracks that play during the fights add to feel of kicking ass in my opinion. When you get a new weapon you feel awesome and want to just destroy everything. I like the way to combat system works and I believe it is done well here. There are only a few exceptions where I feel the game is a bit unfair (Im looking at you Tyrants and the final boss!) but besides that it doesnt feel like you are out-matched when fighting. It feels nice when you hit a bunch of enemies and watch your combo meter skyrocket.

    For a hack-n-slash fighting game it does it's job well and pretty amazingly I would have to say. It's my favorite Devil May Cry game in the series when it comes to the action (you know, that thing Dmc games are known for). When I first played this game, it reeled me in with it's high octane fighting and soundtrack. I ended up not putting down the game until I finished it. It's a great game for people who like simple hack-n-slash with a little secret collecting.
    Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2014
    9
    I want to say upfront that this is the first Devil May Cry game i have picked up and played. What first drew me to this game was that fact that it was a hack n slash game which is a genre i really enjoy, and its visuals. But when i started to play the game i got really hooked on its gripping story, its facial animations, and many more. Now just because this is my first Devil May Cry game iI want to say upfront that this is the first Devil May Cry game i have picked up and played. What first drew me to this game was that fact that it was a hack n slash game which is a genre i really enjoy, and its visuals. But when i started to play the game i got really hooked on its gripping story, its facial animations, and many more. Now just because this is my first Devil May Cry game i have played does not mean i don't know what is going on. In this game you are Dante who you just suspect first as a lady's man who enjoys partying but after he is attacked by a demon in the first level he gets drawn into a secret war where demons walk among the human populace. Within the first level you meet Kat who becomes very instrumental in helping Dante on his journey. Then after Kay helps get him out of limbo she takes her to meet another character named Vergil who is the leader of this group that may seem like a terrorist group but you will find out that they are actually fighting the demons that walk among the humans. When Dante meets Vergil, Vergil tries to convince Dante to join but at first Dante refuses but when convinced Dante goes into limbo where he discovers his origins which i won't spoil for you because it is very interesting. Anyways after that Dante agrees to assist Vergil's cause which is too help humanity in a certain way against the demons. Now i want to talk about some of the games positives, first the Unreal Engine makes this games visuals extremely fun to look, in this game you will be spending most of your time in limbo, and thats where visuals come into play, the level of detail in this game i believe can compete with some of the other hack n slashers out there such as Dante's Inferno, and the God of War series. You will see constantly the environment breaking apart and reshaping itself. The boss battles are another big positive to this game because not only are they really cool characters but again they use the visuals really well so when the bosses use their attacks they are just a wonder to look at, there really is no way to fully describe them. Another really strong positive to this game is the voice acting and facial animations, all the characters are believable they sound like they actually put hard work into their characters, and the facial animations are just spot on, no lip syncing problems, i would go as far to say that these facial animations are on par with LA Noire, YES they are that good. I may have said this before the story is really well written, its worth a ride and it is simply a fun roller coaster ride, there is one major plot twist at the end which brings me to my next point, this games ending is both action packed and emotional with a sense of morality. Now i will say without spoiling it the final boss battle will not end with who you think. It is so rare to find now a days a good game ending that is so satisfying it sticks with you in your mind, which this ending will do to you, because all of the characters are really memorable. One of the final positives for this game is the weapon selection and combat system throughout the game you will be introduced to at least 7 or 8 weapons, and each of them have their own visual flare, plus the best thing with this weapon and combat system is that yes the game gives you some standard combos but if you want to put some imagination into it you can switch weapons mid combo to create some really insane looking combos. This combat system is not repetitive in any major way, because the enemies in the game provide a challenge in a way that they don't just use one attack over and over again just like you they will mix and match their attacks. Now i have found no major glitches, no drop of the facial animations, and thankfully no drop in the frame rate. Now it may seem like this game in my mind is perfect with no significant flaws but there is just one flaw in the story, and it deals with the context of a certain scene in the opening cut scene. What it is, is that in the beginning Dante is in a strip club, and he is with two of the girls there, he has fun with them then takes them back to his trailer and the scene that results is that the two girls are in the trailer with Dante and he has more fun with them, and you will see the trailer bouncing up and down implying that Dante and the two girls are having strong sex. Well i didn't have a problem with he club scene because Dante was just there watching and charming the girls, and i also didn't have a problem with him taking them home but after that i think they should have cut it off there then resume when Dante wakes up the next morning. I just believe the scene i described when Dante takes them into the trailer did not have much context to be in there. So to me that was just a small disconnect from the story. I would like to say i am not against sex in video i just prefer it when it has context. In conclusion i would highly recommend this game to anyone, and my final score is really 9.75 Expand
  22. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    personally I loved this game, I suspect the majority of negative reviews have come from devil may cry fanboys who are unable to move on from past games. If you like fast paced action games and aren't stuck in the past and are able to accept change give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
  23. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    It is fun that people dosent know that this game is a REBOOOOOOOT and not a continue of the other games. Please dont care about the 0 givers they dont know what they are talking about. Combat is amazing BUT they made Dane a douche
  24. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Forget what the haters say, this ones here and its awesome!

    Having played all the other DMC games I was at first not attracted to this game because, like everyone else I didnt like the character style. However once I played the demo I was over it as I knew the gameplay was solid. Graphics: These are the best the series has had to offer. Ninja Theory defiantly steps up their game and
    Forget what the haters say, this ones here and its awesome!

    Having played all the other DMC games I was at first not attracted to this game because, like everyone else I didnt like the character style. However once I played the demo I was over it as I knew the gameplay was solid.

    Graphics: These are the best the series has had to offer. Ninja Theory defiantly steps up their game and shows off some amazing visuals. The stages are not only the best i've seen in the series, they might be some of the coolest and best i've seen in a action game ever. Whats even more impressive is how great this game looks and its running on such an outdated game engine unreal 3 ).

    Audio: The audio is kick ass. However this time is licensed music. Its all perfectly chosen and fit the game perfect. Its a blend of metal, rock and techno depending on the stage. Since its not just game music its actually stuff that you'd probably wanna just listening to for hearing pleasure too.

    Gameplay: The game plays is awesome. Dante feels more like nero from part 4 in this one with his angelic and demonic grabs working just like neros arm grab. Imho this is fantastic as nero is my favorite DMC play style in the whole series. The game does suffer from some flaws however. Its vastly too easy. You're gonna just instantly wanna start on the hardest difficulty thats available from the start. Another thing it it seems impossible to cancel out of a move mid action.

    Story: DMC has always had terrible stories. This one at least tries and it does much better than any previous entry. However its still nothing to write home about.

    Over all this is the best DMC period. I really think people are missing out because they dont like Dantes new look and more "edgy" personality. Even though I honestly think his more edgy personality is more realistic than his over the stop shannagins of previous games.

    If you're a fan of the genre its a must have! Go pick it up now.
    Expand
  25. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    There has been a lot of controversy about DmC. The design of Dante was especially criticized. In all honesty however, being this my first Devil May Cry, I gotta say that is actually a really good game, and doesn't deserve the low rating half the users are giving it.
    First, the visuals. They look really good, and are pretty smooth. Some were complaining about it being in 30 fps instead of
    There has been a lot of controversy about DmC. The design of Dante was especially criticized. In all honesty however, being this my first Devil May Cry, I gotta say that is actually a really good game, and doesn't deserve the low rating half the users are giving it.
    First, the visuals. They look really good, and are pretty smooth. Some were complaining about it being in 30 fps instead of 60, but it doesn't feel clunky at all. I've got to say that, personally, I prefer the original DMC's designs, but there is actually an explanation revealed during the story. While the character's design aren't as good as the original, the environment is gorgeous and polished. The soundtrack is not really memorable. Too many heavy metal songs. The voices aren't memorable either, but do their job.
    The story feels like an afterthought, but I guess those who wanted to know Dante's backstory (at least, what WAS Dante's back-story until this game became part from an alternate universe), it will entertain you. I've got to say that I didn't laugh that much to this new Dante. Everyone I know says that Dante cracks a lot of jokes and trash-talks his enemies almost constantly. The only problem is that, these aren't that funny. He says a lot of and it's just not entertaining.
    The gameplay is what makes this game truly worthy. The combos are quick, fun and really entertaining to watch. The multiple attacks with different attacks give you a huge amount of variety in combos. There are some moments of basic platforming, but the gameplay is entirely based on combat. And I'm not complaining at all with that. The bosses maintain the fun factor of the game, through some can get a little repetitive. Overall, I'm excited to try on other Devil May Cry titles, and a little sad to see this title being left behind by a bad design choice. Luckily, it will be vindicated over the time.
    Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    It actually pains me to see a game under-sell and do poorly just because a bunch of childish fangirls dont like the style and new story. Its just annoying. The game is fabulous. From the amazing combat and superb visuals, and not to mention the heart pounding soundtrack. I enjoyed every second of it. And the only reason its getting so much hate is because dante looks different. Get overIt actually pains me to see a game under-sell and do poorly just because a bunch of childish fangirls dont like the style and new story. Its just annoying. The game is fabulous. From the amazing combat and superb visuals, and not to mention the heart pounding soundtrack. I enjoyed every second of it. And the only reason its getting so much hate is because dante looks different. Get over it. Ninja theory deserved so much more from the people for making dmc matter again. Ignore all the hate, and if you haven't already, play it. You wont regret it. Expand
  27. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    DmC: Devil May Cry is one of thee best games of 2013. In fact, it kicked the year off in January as the first best game of the year. Fast paced, heart pounding, intense, fun as hell action, and a awesomely crafted and intriguing story line, including amazing, beautiful level design make DmC one of the best games in the genre. And one of my favorite games of all time. I LOVE this game. AndDmC: Devil May Cry is one of thee best games of 2013. In fact, it kicked the year off in January as the first best game of the year. Fast paced, heart pounding, intense, fun as hell action, and a awesomely crafted and intriguing story line, including amazing, beautiful level design make DmC one of the best games in the genre. And one of my favorite games of all time. I LOVE this game. And I really hope we get a sequel to it soon. Expand
  28. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    I hate these fan boys of the past Dante and say how the story of this game is bad. The story for me is like one of the best stories of devil may cry it makes sense and is compelling, it feels more realistic for a story line, but don't get me wrong the old DMC's are great but I prefer this story line. Everyone seems to talk about the downs of this game what? where's the ups like how theI hate these fan boys of the past Dante and say how the story of this game is bad. The story for me is like one of the best stories of devil may cry it makes sense and is compelling, it feels more realistic for a story line, but don't get me wrong the old DMC's are great but I prefer this story line. Everyone seems to talk about the downs of this game what? where's the ups like how the combat is much more fluent and combos feel great to get and how swapping between weapons is so easy. The writing for this story was serious but at some points hilarious, the new Dante may be a "emo-tized" but you grow to like him towards the end as he comes from that don't care attitude to a more I do care attitude and me with the shooting the baby thing its a game its trying show that Virgil is corrupted with evil necessities and also his lust for power, overall the game is great I enjoyed intensely and was not bored through one bit of the game. Expand
  29. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Seeing the bad score i had to write a little bit on my own.

    I played some of the older DmC games, but none realy that extensively. I like dante´s new look of, the action is great, the music is awesome like the best game soundtrack i can think of right now) the jokes are actually kind of funny, the story is not toooo bad. Compared to other games of the prox genre playing Asura´s
    Seeing the bad score i had to write a little bit on my own.

    I played some of the older DmC games, but none realy that extensively.
    I like dante´s new look of, the action is great, the music is awesome like the best game soundtrack i can think of right now) the jokes are actually kind of funny, the story is not toooo bad. Compared to other games of the prox genre playing Asura´s Wrath now, or what was that Resident-Evil-kinda Ninja game called?? I LOOVE the lack of QuickTimeEvents All in all a very enjoyable game and there is no way it deserves a 4.9 rating
    Expand
  30. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    This is a great game and perhaps the best hack-and-slash game I have played. The story is well written, the characters are believable(Dante even more so than in previous DmC games) and the atmosphere is fantastic. Throw in some fun, easily controllable fast-paced combat and fantastic boss battles along with 9 different difficulty levels to play through, and you have yourself a completeThis is a great game and perhaps the best hack-and-slash game I have played. The story is well written, the characters are believable(Dante even more so than in previous DmC games) and the atmosphere is fantastic. Throw in some fun, easily controllable fast-paced combat and fantastic boss battles along with 9 different difficulty levels to play through, and you have yourself a complete package. This game is well worth it and I highly recommend that you pick it up. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Beyond the near-perfect controls and satisfying combat, Ninja Theory has clearly sweated the game's atmosphere and visuals.
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory have against all odds created something fresh; a creatively superb and in places fantastic action adventure game. It will not be for everyone and is certainly more mainstream than previous efforts but DMC is a rip roaring start to 2013.