User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1363 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Great game, haters aside the new DMC is a great game, solid gameplay and a well told plot, also an awesome design, from foes till scenery details all have a great design, worth buy!!
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    DMC is an excellent combination of old and new. You've got stylish action and the B movie vibe while mixing things up for a more interesting narrative and fun combat that doesn't require you to memorize a list of move sets. The campaign is short but you'll have fun.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    A thoroughly enjoyable game, the combat is smooth with only a few minor flaws and feels refreshing yet slightly familiar. As for the story I found it engaging, this is where to game differs from previous entries the most (for obvious reason) but the main characters and their stories are engaging and the fresh take on Virgil's story alone is worth watching.

    Don't knock it before you try
    A thoroughly enjoyable game, the combat is smooth with only a few minor flaws and feels refreshing yet slightly familiar. As for the story I found it engaging, this is where to game differs from previous entries the most (for obvious reason) but the main characters and their stories are engaging and the fresh take on Virgil's story alone is worth watching.

    Don't knock it before you try it and I can't wait for bloody palace.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2013
    1
    In fact the real score is 7, because is not a bad hack and slash, but is a terrible DMC, the personality of Dante and vergil is a lot different of the original characters in a bad way, in the original Vergil dont use guns, and Dante is a bad ass, the enemys are repetitiveness and the combat or gameplay is not good, is better ninja gaiden 1 and 2, Bayonetta, god of War and Dantes inferno,In fact the real score is 7, because is not a bad hack and slash, but is a terrible DMC, the personality of Dante and vergil is a lot different of the original characters in a bad way, in the original Vergil dont use guns, and Dante is a bad ass, the enemys are repetitiveness and the combat or gameplay is not good, is better ninja gaiden 1 and 2, Bayonetta, god of War and Dantes inferno, for my this is a not DMC, is better the DMC 2 than this Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this DmC game, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about. This is a REBOOT, and it has a different feel than other DmC games -- but the hack n slash combat is still amazingly fun, the old challenge is there, and I found myself laughing many times at Dante's ridiculous bravado... in a good way. The story is straightforward and has a few poignant moments.I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this DmC game, but it turns out I had nothing to worry about. This is a REBOOT, and it has a different feel than other DmC games -- but the hack n slash combat is still amazingly fun, the old challenge is there, and I found myself laughing many times at Dante's ridiculous bravado... in a good way. The story is straightforward and has a few poignant moments. Most of all, this game looks better than any other DmC game, with more color and a dynamic environment that is constantly shifting and trying to kill Dante. I could not imagine this game being more fun to play, plain and simple, and that's what all video games should be about. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This Game is Fantastic.The story isn't Great but the game itself is solid.Great Graphics,great mechanics, really great art direction.This is not only the best devil may cry games, its one of the best hack and slash games of this generation.
  7. Jan 30, 2013
    2
    Good Game.....TERRIBLE Devil May Cry, there's not more fun Dante is complete destroy, Vergil is a gay-worry mankind no more a **** villain who only cares are more power! Vergil is no more, Sparda and Eva don't taste like before....only Kat is a safe character....
  8. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    I played the game since it came out, super excited for it.
    I put the game in my xbox and i was enthralled.
    The game has amazing production value and the oozes style, fighting is fun and fast. I'm still playing the game (currently going through heaven or hell mode) and i'm still loving every second. The only thing i don't care for is the lack of a manuel lock-on system which would've
    I played the game since it came out, super excited for it.
    I put the game in my xbox and i was enthralled.
    The game has amazing production value and the oozes style, fighting is fun and fast.
    I'm still playing the game (currently going through heaven or hell mode) and i'm still loving every second.
    The only thing i don't care for is the lack of a manuel lock-on system which would've been great.

    Dont listen to all the angry reviews it's simply not fair to give this game a 1 or 2, a true 1 or 2 game would be mindjack and so on.
    Expand
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great an fast storytelling. The combat system is well balanced and easy to learn but hard to master. The Reboot was the best Dante could happened (with or without white hair)
  10. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    This is the best Devil May Cry game since before the first game even came out! The game has great art direction that alternates between two distinct worlds with a brilliant soundtrack, and the plot has a kitschy '80s feel about it. I particularly like the design of Dante, who wears a stylish coat and has amazing hair (there's a hilarious moment where Dante tries on a white wig and notesThis is the best Devil May Cry game since before the first game even came out! The game has great art direction that alternates between two distinct worlds with a brilliant soundtrack, and the plot has a kitschy '80s feel about it. I particularly like the design of Dante, who wears a stylish coat and has amazing hair (there's a hilarious moment where Dante tries on a white wig and notes how ridiculous it looks... so funny). And above all, the combat is great fun, with lots of combos spanning across numerous different weapon styles. The game has an extensive range of unlockable difficulty modes and good replay value. An absolute triumph and a real breakthrough for the series. Expand
  11. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    I do not recommend this game for the old fans, as it does not meet the standarts that the old DMC games has offered(excluding DMC2), I am an old fan for this particular franchise myself, I have to say, I do not care about the new Dante or the old one, it is just a skin, it is not something that would make or break the game, the bad thing about this game is its gameplay, well considering itI do not recommend this game for the old fans, as it does not meet the standarts that the old DMC games has offered(excluding DMC2), I am an old fan for this particular franchise myself, I have to say, I do not care about the new Dante or the old one, it is just a skin, it is not something that would make or break the game, the bad thing about this game is its gameplay, well considering it is a DMC game of course, Firstly the jump cancel became useless since even if you jump cancel, you cannot land the majority of Dante's moves while JC-ing, not only that but the lock on system is also not implemented in this game, you would probably think that this is no big matter, but it actually is, it can add many combo possibilities as well. Another negative aspect is the writing, its got degraded so bad that it cannot get any worse and while I'm at it the voice acting is on the same level of the writing, while the bosses had a very little impact on me, nothing would be engraved on my memory unlike the other DMCs. If only this game had a different title then the old fans and the new ones would be satisfied and all of this wouldn't have happened. Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    Well.. this is really easy, the game is not bad, but unfortunately compare to the previous Devil may cry is not. Gameplay is less responsive, it has less combos(and the ones that it have cannot be done between one another make in it repetitive), and the difficulty level is not enough for you to make an effort of fighting. The platforms sections are boring, the "world trying to eat you"Well.. this is really easy, the game is not bad, but unfortunately compare to the previous Devil may cry is not. Gameplay is less responsive, it has less combos(and the ones that it have cannot be done between one another make in it repetitive), and the difficulty level is not enough for you to make an effort of fighting. The platforms sections are boring, the "world trying to eat you" is not exciting and doesn't invite you to run and bosses are easy. Graphic are good, but not enough, to brightly for the style. Story might be good but since I liked the last one more I can't make a proper assessment. And the music is really good, but I like more the previous soundtracks. In overall the game is mediocre because they change it for a more easy and average gamer and has lost its essence and fun for the sake of a better investment as a project. Expand
  13. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Hmmm where to actually start with this steaming pile of a game....Ok lets start at the most noticed, first off...wtf have you done to dante? i mean REALLY!? you completely destroy what was loved about dmc...the characters...i mean why make a game with the same name if your going to well just get rid of the main character that was in the rest of them....i hope your company falls for this,Hmmm where to actually start with this steaming pile of a game....Ok lets start at the most noticed, first off...wtf have you done to dante? i mean REALLY!? you completely destroy what was loved about dmc...the characters...i mean why make a game with the same name if your going to well just get rid of the main character that was in the rest of them....i hope your company falls for this, 2ndly, lol cant even get off the topic of the first, i mean wtf? you expect a more "mature" audience for this game? how so? just because hes non stop swearing? the guy talks more then any other character in any game ive ever played, it wasnt even humorous...it was just plain pathetic, this game is just pathetic, the creators of this game are pathetic and this game needs to be taken off every shelf in any store that sells it and thrown in the trash. If your going to make another dmc, lets hope its not a complete and utter failure of a game, i played it 1 day....and went out and got my money back for it saying it was "broke" and just got another game of the same value....sad how someone has to lie about a game they used to love playing but now it just makes me cringe at the thought of it, Game play not so bad, the graphics pretty sweet, the main character? lol makes me just hate everything all together, first off the original Dante was half human/ Demon, now we have some joke of a half demon angel?.....wtf? lol and the line of "you can call me dante, the demon killer"........idk but it sounds like someones kid wrote that part into his dialog....just please gtfo and dont make another game. K thx for wasting my time on this Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    I really recommend this game, it have a good story, great places.

    If you are a fan of Devil May Cry, you should give it a try because is a really fun game, you will play it several times. Don't pay attention to the people says, you should buy it or rent it if you want.
    I'm a great fan of this saga and i have never complain about the characters, so yes play it
  15. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    This game has a lot more problems more than I could describe on a single review is the kind of thing you have to experience to realize how bad it really it is, the funny thing is that some people actually like it that's fine my only explanation for that is that they've never played other DMC games, even so this game should strike fear into who ever plays it for all the wrong reasons, I canThis game has a lot more problems more than I could describe on a single review is the kind of thing you have to experience to realize how bad it really it is, the funny thing is that some people actually like it that's fine my only explanation for that is that they've never played other DMC games, even so this game should strike fear into who ever plays it for all the wrong reasons, I can only advice you to ignore the paid reviewers and focus instead on the community reviews here's my short list of problems with the game, first of all the story by god the story is like the kids at 9gag got together and decided to create a fan fiction piece that was later implemented in to this game who ever wrote it must have been high and if he wasn't he's one of the worst writers I've ever seen with the abundance of deep lines suck as "F*** you" every five minutes. The combat is a complete mess, not only is it baby mode compared to the past games but it is nothing but an unsatisfying button masher that rewards you for doing absolutely nothing. Lastly Dante, lets ignore the fact that the developer for the game thought it would be a great idea to model him after HIMSELF for a second and lets focus on the fact that he acts nothing like the old Dante, its as if he's a different character all together and well he iS a different character all together which lets me to believe that this was just some random mediocre game that at the last minute got DmC put in the title so it could sell, the sad part is that that wasnt the case making the situation even worse. I went optimistic into it giving it a chance and got out wishing I never did. Expand
  16. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is a good game! Graphics are nice, it has a stylish and artistic look. The story suits the style of game perfectly. To those who complain about story this is a hack n slash not and rpg. And the gameaplay is great fun. The controls are super responsive and the combos look and feel great to pull off. The level of difficulty ranges from easy to very challenging to suit most gamers. ToThis is a good game! Graphics are nice, it has a stylish and artistic look. The story suits the style of game perfectly. To those who complain about story this is a hack n slash not and rpg. And the gameaplay is great fun. The controls are super responsive and the combos look and feel great to pull off. The level of difficulty ranges from easy to very challenging to suit most gamers. To all you fan boys of the original series grow up and stop acting like spoilt brats. U got four games, be happy and appreciate that devolpers are trying to stay fresh and inventive. I sure dont want a boring and stagnant gaming world. If the game isnt for u personally thats fine but be more mature and critique the game on its true merrits dont just stamp your feet and cry cause u didnt get what u want. Your ruining the gaming world. U gotta evolve people. Expand
  17. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    The best DMC since number 1. The new developers (Ninja Theory) made it more organic, less twitchy, and much more enjoyable than recent DMC's. Story and writing is also much much better than previous DMC's (not that it ever mattered in this game). Some of the more original level design of this generation. As an older gamer, I rarely complete a game more than once, but I know I will go backThe best DMC since number 1. The new developers (Ninja Theory) made it more organic, less twitchy, and much more enjoyable than recent DMC's. Story and writing is also much much better than previous DMC's (not that it ever mattered in this game). Some of the more original level design of this generation. As an older gamer, I rarely complete a game more than once, but I know I will go back around with this. Buy it to support Dante (in whatever form he takes) Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2013
    7
    Many people are bashing on this game, while yes I admit I HATE the new Dante it doesn't mean the game deserves a 0 it's a decent game, great gameplay, and while it may be easier you have to understand that some of these changes were done to help introduce new players. Overall, if you can get over Dante and you look at the core components of what makes a good game it passes.
  19. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fun action game, with amazing level design and complementary music and sound effects. Story witch is not top notch by any means is good enough to pull you in and make you want to see want is going to happen next, as well as giving a solid ground for character development.
  20. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    when hideki kamiya left capcom this saga died.
    Its kinda sad to see a great game fall like this, cmon EVEN KAZUMA K ANEKO SMT SERIES)hell with dmc3 ,also dmc4 was amazing....
  21. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    I've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal of weapons, good story and likable characters, I really enjoyed the game. Who ever's giving this a bad review, probably doesnt like the Hack and Slash, and the awesomeness of this game.
    I mean just the core awesomness, when slayed Demons with beastly
    I've played the DMC Franchise before, this is totally different.The New game, DMC, is amazing.Hack and slash, great combos, nice arsenal of weapons, good story and likable characters, I really enjoyed the game. Who ever's giving this a bad review, probably doesnt like the Hack and Slash, and the awesomeness of this game.
    I mean just the core awesomness, when slayed Demons with beastly Sword, or other weapons...
    you cant possibly give this a bad score, its mega fun, even if you dont enjoy the story, its mega fun, the combat and jumping around Smashing Demons brutaly awesome.
    Whoever gave the game bad review, obviously doenst enjoy the Genre of the game, dont play it, go play Sims or some "peaceful" games....DMC rocks
    Expand
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Once you get past the fact that this game is a reboot of a beloved franchise you'll find a wonderful game hidden beneath. Combat Is fast, fun and engaging. The story is a combination of the plots of the first and third games but with a lot of fresh new twists added in so that veteran players won't be board. Speaking to Devil May Cry veterans, as a veteran myself, give DMC a chance. It's aOnce you get past the fact that this game is a reboot of a beloved franchise you'll find a wonderful game hidden beneath. Combat Is fast, fun and engaging. The story is a combination of the plots of the first and third games but with a lot of fresh new twists added in so that veteran players won't be board. Speaking to Devil May Cry veterans, as a veteran myself, give DMC a chance. It's a great little gem of a game that by the end manages to capture the true DMC essence even if it has a fresh coat of paint. Expand
  23. Feb 12, 2013
    7
    Ok first thing first, It is a pregnant Demon that gets shot in the belly..... Why this gets failed to mention in every review is crazy and is it not a game about hunting Demons, this kept me from playing the game cause you all make it sound like its a woman that get shot in the stomach....... and thats crap and you all know it. Now to the actual review, story wise it is very much a rip offOk first thing first, It is a pregnant Demon that gets shot in the belly..... Why this gets failed to mention in every review is crazy and is it not a game about hunting Demons, this kept me from playing the game cause you all make it sound like its a woman that get shot in the stomach....... and thats crap and you all know it. Now to the actual review, story wise it is very much a rip off of "they live" but its a good one..... i really enjoyed the story and really if you have played any of the other games the story is no better or worse in those ones, the combat in the game is well done..... my only complaint is your score does not reset until you get hit and it makes it really easy to get a crazy high score with minimal effort but all in all the combat is great. Graphics are great as well and the level design blew me away, you are always changing locations and the levels are highly well done. Now boss fights were amazing but they were all so easy, once you know what to do it is really easy to avoid getting hit and overcome the boss battles. Now the really bad part about this game is DANTE........ He is such an ass in this game, the old Dante was but this one just makes it hard to care about the story at all, really no one in this game is likable..... though towards the end of the game i did start to care slightly, i'm looking forward to what they do with the next game. Really it could have been better but it could have been a hell of a lot worse too. Now you might be thinking why should i trust this guys review....... to that i would say because i am a huge devil may cry fan, so much so that back in 2002 i had a son and i named him Dante...... Though that was after the old Dante. If your a fan i would say wait till it goes on sale and pick it up, still a great game even though no one is likable. Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    This was if not the best hack n slash game to come out since the first darksiders.....im tired of everyone giving false neg feedback ....yea i was on the hate wagon for the whole makeover n my fav series is the classic dmc series but this is a perfect move n u can play as the classic dante if u wana be a cry baby....grat game ,great flow of controls, great story ,only reason i didnt giveThis was if not the best hack n slash game to come out since the first darksiders.....im tired of everyone giving false neg feedback ....yea i was on the hate wagon for the whole makeover n my fav series is the classic dmc series but this is a perfect move n u can play as the classic dante if u wana be a cry baby....grat game ,great flow of controls, great story ,only reason i didnt give a 10 out of 10 is becasue i dnt like that he is half demon n half angel....thats the only part i dnt agree with Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Anyone insulting this game to me seems to still be upset over the "They changed Dante!?" issue from 2010. I say this as I suffered from this and wanted nothing to do with the game, until September last year when I saw the trailers. Even then you have the option of reverting back to the Classic Dante look in the download content. He is even put in the mid-mission cutscenes and almost all ofAnyone insulting this game to me seems to still be upset over the "They changed Dante!?" issue from 2010. I say this as I suffered from this and wanted nothing to do with the game, until September last year when I saw the trailers. Even then you have the option of reverting back to the Classic Dante look in the download content. He is even put in the mid-mission cutscenes and almost all of the pre and post mission cutscenes. For starters I can say I prefer these characters to the old ones. I hate all things hipster and dub-step like, but this Dante seems more of a badass than the old one, he was witty and had a cooler edge that the previous Dante lacked. This Vergil, while more 'nerdy' in my view, is better in almost all aspects. And the leading girl is by far the best one from all the DmC games. I mean on looks alone Kat has them beat, and she also has a better background story. This story makes more sense than the other (especially DMC4 as I am still wondering how Nero came to acquire Sparda's blood and power) That was not really explained well. Really is he his son, nephew, some guy that drank his blood, what happened? The fact I had to replay every mission, location and boss fight in DMC4 made me want to commit suicide and realize how dry the well was for Capcom and how far they went for you unappreciative fans, just so you could use Dante. Really I don't thing you understand what else they could have done with those extra missions. The same with the DMC3 special edition with Vergil. The music is better than the previous two, especially DMC3. I remember trying my hardest after mission 1 in DMC4 to finish all fight scenes to avoid hearing the phrase 'The time has come and so have I.' (First verse of Nero fight scenes.) The music is different in almost all the locations and fight scenes, and get me more geared up for fighting than the other games did. The combat, I have the feeling it turned out like this because everyone wanted the iconic style ranking system and combo system, and then criticised Ninja Theory for not doing anything but make it slower and that they just copied it from the old ones, even though it was largely requested that the combat system should remain the same, or else. The 'lack of locking on' for me is a good thing, even though it is still there and they just got rid of the annoying ring. Locking on made it too easy, or too restricting, because i found I could change targets for abilities, such as Drive, by changing by flicking the stick/d-pad in the direction of the target you wanted to hit instead, either during the charge or just before the attack. Yeah it got slower, but when i played the other games afterwards, i didn't find that it got that much slower. The only down with the combat for me was the ease in which I could fill the progress through the style ratings to SSS. Nobody should complain about the mixed attribute fights being chore like, as those create the best combo atmosphere. If you want a challenge, complete those on Heaven or Hell without taking damage, especially the mixed Rages. I also read that someone said the fights were too easy on the harder levels, even though he didn't complete the game. This made me want to punch my hire a team of agents to find whoever it was, so I could kick them in the balls, because...YOU HAVE TO COMPLETE THE GAME TO UNLOCK ANY OF THE CHALLENGING DIFFICULTIES. That was directed at you Wesker500. I recommend completing this game on Nephilim level and then going up from there for the challenging fights. And Dante pretty much gets the same amount of weapons in this DmC as he did in DMC4, the weapons are pretty similar to those in all the other Devil May Crys but then again, the weapons are repetitive, and repeat themselves over and over, but in different colours. I love the half angel, half demon angle, and the weapons and powers as this made linking combos, cooler and fun, and doing so made me feel the style rank was earned, even though I think it was just put in there because, all the fans wanted it there to judge it, and the producers probably didn't. The environment is better, I enjoy that it changes a lot throughout the game, but I do miss some of the gothic themes. I didn't experience any glitches or framework problems, when I played it, so maybe it depends on the owners console/platform. I found it to be a great gaming experience, far better than its predecessor, as it was enjoyable for longer, and has better replay value. Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Somewhere in time I lost my love for rapid action hack n slash games but this game is insane! My love is back! The controls and gameplay are so well balanced. It's has a very understandable control system that lets you chain all the moves with all the other moves to combine wicked combos. The enemies are very diverse and challenge you to come up with different tactics. Always changing itSomewhere in time I lost my love for rapid action hack n slash games but this game is insane! My love is back! The controls and gameplay are so well balanced. It's has a very understandable control system that lets you chain all the moves with all the other moves to combine wicked combos. The enemies are very diverse and challenge you to come up with different tactics. Always changing it up. The music is very cool too and the environment design is very very good. Gorgeous locations and inventive levels make sure you'll never have a dull moment even if there are no enemies around. That brings me to the pacing which is just just perfect. It's fighting, climbing, resting, jumping, running at just the right speed.

    I really like this game. highly recommended.
    Expand
  27. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Most of the reviews about this game are biased and uncalled for. DMC is exactly what a devil may cry should be; a wise cracking gun toting sword wielding anti-hero out to defeat the demons.

    Story is well written if a little predictable. The combat system is easy to get used to but difficult to master, which i suppose is one of the replay values in a DMC game. However all the other
    Most of the reviews about this game are biased and uncalled for. DMC is exactly what a devil may cry should be; a wise cracking gun toting sword wielding anti-hero out to defeat the demons.

    Story is well written if a little predictable. The combat system is easy to get used to but difficult to master, which i suppose is one of the replay values in a DMC game. However all the other stuff you'd expect in a DMC game is there too such as Dante Must Die mode etc... The only differences between this and other entries is that Dante is a) younger b) has different colour of hair and is not overly using the colour red as past incarnations did.

    And none of this is a bad thing I like the old Dante and I like the new one. The new Dante is not a middle finger to the DMC fans he's an evolution. He has the same charm and wit of the old Dante, just more attitude. Which basically boils down to an overuse of bad language and gestures but i like this as i think it makes sense when you consider the psychological aspects of Dante's character in DMC.

    Change should be embraced; so what that Dante now has black hair instead of white; that he is more Punk Rock than Glam Pop the game itself is a good game. Does what its supposed to and offers up what a DMC game should.

    My final point is this if you think the combat system is "bad" or "clunky" or anything else go back and play the first Devil May cry on ps2 or HD collection and then try DMC. As DMC has a fast paced easy to pick up combat system while the original DMC has a very clunky combat system.
    Expand
  28. Feb 15, 2013
    0
    They ruined the characters. Emo-tized everything. The white hair wig joke was a slap in the face and I hope that capcom goes out of business!!
  29. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    Combat Controls
    One thing that DMC was always about was C&C, smooth controls and crazy combos. And to be honest its somewhat here not at previous titles levels(i'm looking at you three), but still fast and furious. you'll notice old favorites like stinger and Helm breaker, and maybe some new ones like karma and double jump. as said before i did have issues with the controls, if you have
    Combat Controls
    One thing that DMC was always about was C&C, smooth controls and crazy combos. And to be honest its somewhat here not at previous titles levels(i'm looking at you three), but still fast and furious. you'll notice old favorites like stinger and Helm breaker, and maybe some new ones like karma and double jump. as said before i did have issues with the controls, if you have tried the game on the 360 you'll probably know what i mean, but for those that don't its the weapon change. yes one of the core elements of this game holds you back right at the start, but in the beginning it wasn't that big of a deal, later on however this becomes a big issue later on when weapon change matters. you have to hold the shoulder buttons while attacking to use the weapon, and not just a little tap to cycle them but thought the whole combo, which make the combat later on tedious at best, also the lack of lock on would seem like a problem in other DMC games here, not so much. also why are their so many dodges one is fine, with out lock one their really wasn't a need for so many making for an even easier game. And the game while full of cool combos feel shallow with how predictable and easy the enemy AI is. For most part i didn't even lose half a life bar until later on when I had issues with the controls. Even bosses fell a tad to choreographer to simple grunt expose your weak point after attacking AI. And Devil trigger is only really used to fill up health meters.All in all a very different feel from the origins of the series but not so bad that i couldn't stop playing. still in my preference for a DMC game its disappointing. way to forgiving and hands out to many S ranks in my tastes.
    5 out of 10 (on PC i would give it a 6.5 only because of key binding)
    Story and Dialog
    Now this is where i have real issues with this game. i know that DMC is not know for its moving plots and life changing writing, but this one by far is most carbon copy plot ever. no really its just like They Live, go watch this. Now i like They Live, but not its video game rehash. Why, not so much that its bad idea, no its a pretty good concept. it all come down to a connection, between me and the characters and the world its in. Dante is like a a kid who tries to hard to convince me that hes his older cooler brother, Virgil's dialog was every emotionless and uncharismatic, and Kate wasn't that bad but she seamed to perfect, some how falling in love with Dante even though their wasn't much to love.he wasn't to witty, nor was their a deeper person on the inside with complex feelings and showing his though subtle hints like the old DMC. no he was just a person that is angry at something and never really get that resolved in game. his dialog is bad, and reduced to cursing and very predictable evil banter with the enemy.also the whole half angle/demon thing left me feeling that he to unrelatable, being a mere meager human. they even use the term Nephilim which are human/angle hybrids. also putting bill o'reilly in any type of media is wrong.
    4 out of 10 (Kate really save you here DMC)
    Platforming and Puzzles
    Not bad, considering the controls. The whole holding the shoulder buttons thing was what brought this down for me. because i have to hold the shoulder buttons it make it very arduous to say the least. too many times have i plummeted to my doom because of this,(Doom is a relative term here, like i said this game is way to forgiving) the delay between switching weapon is ridiculous and frustrating. the only reason i didn't really care about mastering this is, again, how forgiving it was .puzzles are at DMC2 level so its not so bad but nothing really jumps out at you. but overall i, its meh.
    6 out of ten(meh)
    Graphics
    Let me be the one to eat my hat on this one, the game looks fantastic. crisp, clear, and vibrant. the levels are varied and while at time frustrating the platforming was beautiful. the enemy's look great, lots of variations of them, their attacks look amazing, so amazing in fact that i would some times let Dante get hit just to see what would happen. Limbo is just as breathtaking as they said it would be and they delivered on it spot on. i am amazed on what Ninja theory did. also on a side note the enemy's looked very much like the one in DMC2, which i liked(yeah i know is bad, but played like an adventure so i liked it), and so dose parts of limbo.
    8.5 out of 10
    Over all a 6 out of 10
    Did DMC: Devil May Cry win the heart of the hard core, probably not. Did it get new blood in the sires Yes it did. for me i prefer the old DMC to this but in all honest it wasn't that bad of a game, it just wasn't what i wanted to a game called Devil May Cry.
    Expand
  30. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    *Sigh* *Sigh* *Sigh* This game is absolutely horrible and a smack to the face of the real Dante. According to the game designers "If the old Dante walked into a bar he would get laughed at." If that is their argument the same goes for all video game characters, right? Mario and Luigi would get "laughed at in a bar" may as well change them.... What about Pacman and Link? May as well change*Sigh* *Sigh* *Sigh* This game is absolutely horrible and a smack to the face of the real Dante. According to the game designers "If the old Dante walked into a bar he would get laughed at." If that is their argument the same goes for all video game characters, right? Mario and Luigi would get "laughed at in a bar" may as well change them.... What about Pacman and Link? May as well change them too.

    Now getting into the game, the combat is so easy your average aborted fetus could master it, the taunt button is removed and you can get an SSS on the style meter by using a few oversimplified "combos."

    The dialogue is absolutely ridiculous, I find myself laughing at it's childishness, especially in the Succubus boss fight (A complete rip off of Slurm in Futurama as somebody else mentioned) where Donte and the Succubus yell you" back and forth.

    Some redeeming things about the game are that they added in Nero's arm mechanic (The angel lift and demon pull) which was one of my favorite thing in Devil May Cry 4, also the graphics were nice and the combat flowed smoothly.

    One of my biggest problems with this game and why I hate it so much is the games director "Tameem" claimed old Dante wasn't cool and then went on to design the new Dante to look like him, take a look lmfao, real sexy there bro. ****ing ****

    https://lh3.ggpht.com/-m-5V65dnQrU/T4hcbMWm1AI/AAAAAAAAADc/V3PCEmPz6GE/s1600/tameem+v+dante.jpg
    Expand
  31. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    when did virgil began to use sniper, he dislikes guns. the whole game play is totally broken compared to other games and story sucks. Oh boy. There is so much to say about this game, and next to none of it is good. From the absolutely convoluted, asinine, and downright insulting plotline to the poor writing, voicework, and general pacing of the game itself, DmC falls flat on its face atwhen did virgil began to use sniper, he dislikes guns. the whole game play is totally broken compared to other games and story sucks. Oh boy. There is so much to say about this game, and next to none of it is good. From the absolutely convoluted, asinine, and downright insulting plotline to the poor writing, voicework, and general pacing of the game itself, DmC falls flat on its face at almost every turn. Expand
  32. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    First things first anyone giving this game less than 6/10 is really stupid. This game isnt perfect, only reason i gave it a 10/10 cause the user score is ridiculous. Ive played and loved all the dmc's (exclude 2) and i gotta say that this reboot is a fresh change. The combat isnt as great as 3 or 4 but i have a feeling it"ll surpass them in the sequel (if it gets one) The only problem iFirst things first anyone giving this game less than 6/10 is really stupid. This game isnt perfect, only reason i gave it a 10/10 cause the user score is ridiculous. Ive played and loved all the dmc's (exclude 2) and i gotta say that this reboot is a fresh change. The combat isnt as great as 3 or 4 but i have a feeling it"ll surpass them in the sequel (if it gets one) The only problem i had with the game was the boss battles they werent terrible but they werent amazing either. The environments in the game were jaw dropping gorgeous and i love how it changes around. The old series will forever be in my heart and i still play 3 and 4 but i pull off some pretty sick combos in the new one. Final note guys give this new dmc a chance it has alot of potential. Play it dont watch it on youtube. Plus vergils downfall is awesome!!! Expand
  33. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. while the story was botched and Dante's re-design was questionable, the gameplay was excellent and addictive. One thing that annoyed me however was the fact that Mundus transforms into your typical generic behemoth, while he could have had a more interesting fight. Expand
  34. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    I felt the need to sign up and finally post my own review just because of the negative ones i have seen. Ok, I am a HUGE devil may cry fan. But i didnt really get into the series until DMC 4, so maybe thats why i dont feel as betrayed as some of these other people do. But i own ALL of the dmc's now and have played them all. And love them all, the second one a little less though. But youI felt the need to sign up and finally post my own review just because of the negative ones i have seen. Ok, I am a HUGE devil may cry fan. But i didnt really get into the series until DMC 4, so maybe thats why i dont feel as betrayed as some of these other people do. But i own ALL of the dmc's now and have played them all. And love them all, the second one a little less though. But you all are totally wrong on this game. Yes, it is weird having this version of Dante. But this is still a very good game. I am just over half way through it, but thats enough to see the quality here. The game is also loaded with content. With multiple game modes and multiple secret missions. And a ton of upgrades. The game isnt perfect, but you people giving it 3s and 4s are out of your freakin minds, I LOVE the combat system in this game. Yea, i wish you could lock on targets still. But honestly the control scheme wouldnt work with a lock on button. And i love how every button can be remapped. This is a very high quality game. The only problem i have with it so far is sometimes it gets a little too neon-y in color lol. But i can live with that. All in all its a very fun game with alot of content, and well worth the money. And personally i kinda like the new take on Dante. Granted, i loved old Dante MUCH more. But this game is still awesome. Expand
  35. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    For everyone who is giving this game a 0 doesn't even know what a 0 rated game is. This game is NOT that bad. But if you are a hardcore Devil May Cry fan I would honestly not recommend picking this up because you would be disappointed. The problem that I have with this game was that it was too easy and the music could get annoying at some parts and on my console it froze a couple of timesFor everyone who is giving this game a 0 doesn't even know what a 0 rated game is. This game is NOT that bad. But if you are a hardcore Devil May Cry fan I would honestly not recommend picking this up because you would be disappointed. The problem that I have with this game was that it was too easy and the music could get annoying at some parts and on my console it froze a couple of times (it may had just been my x-box). But overall I like the gameplay and the bosses are unique. The characters aren't that memorable. Is it worth sixty dollars? In my opinion it isn't worth that much considering that it only took me ten hours to beat the entire thing on Heaven and Hell. It is just a game that you would have to pick up and try out for yourself. Either you would love it or hate it. Expand
  36. May 19, 2013
    7
    Its a great game the story is really good compared to some other hack and slash games I've played I wish the new Dante was more like the Dante in previous games but other than that and few combat issues I had it was a really good game I'd highly recommend
  37. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a bad game.

    The story is bad. The characters are unlikable. The protagonist shoots a pregnant woman in the stomach, then kills her, then later mocks the antagonist about it. A minor character makes magical portals with squirrel semen. The game rips off the Slurm Queen from Futurama, except does it entirely seriously. It thinks you are dumb, too. It's not enough that you're fight
    Expand
  38. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Wow, how pathetic are people to flood metacritic with 1's simply because they're upset over Dante not having white hair..... People need to grow up, and metacritic needs to filter the BS user scores for this game because having an 86 for critic rating, and a 4.8 for user ratings makes it painfully obvious that the reviews are not rating the game, they are trolling it.
  39. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    I hate these fan boys of the past Dante and say how the story of this game is bad. The story for me is like one of the best stories of devil may cry it makes sense and is compelling, it feels more realistic for a story line, but don't get me wrong the old DMC's are great but I prefer this story line. Everyone seems to talk about the downs of this game what? where's the ups like how theI hate these fan boys of the past Dante and say how the story of this game is bad. The story for me is like one of the best stories of devil may cry it makes sense and is compelling, it feels more realistic for a story line, but don't get me wrong the old DMC's are great but I prefer this story line. Everyone seems to talk about the downs of this game what? where's the ups like how the combat is much more fluent and combos feel great to get and how swapping between weapons is so easy. The writing for this story was serious but at some points hilarious, the new Dante may be a "emo-tized" but you grow to like him towards the end as he comes from that don't care attitude to a more I do care attitude and me with the shooting the baby thing its a game its trying show that Virgil is corrupted with evil necessities and also his lust for power, overall the game is great I enjoyed intensely and was not bored through one bit of the game. Expand
  40. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    very solid gameplay and it has a great storyline. fans need to stop whining about how they changed dante's look (even though i miss the old one) and how they dramtically changed some of the personality. Vergil still wants power and mundus is still cold hearted and evil. Kat is an ok female character but not lady/trish good. What they got right was gameplay and style and how amazing it feltvery solid gameplay and it has a great storyline. fans need to stop whining about how they changed dante's look (even though i miss the old one) and how they dramtically changed some of the personality. Vergil still wants power and mundus is still cold hearted and evil. Kat is an ok female character but not lady/trish good. What they got right was gameplay and style and how amazing it felt to fight the bosses. The final boss was amazing in away how it complicated dante's growth and his caring to try and redeem the boss and protect humanity. V Expand
  41. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    personally I loved this game, I suspect the majority of negative reviews have come from devil may cry fanboys who are unable to move on from past games. If you like fast paced action games and aren't stuck in the past and are able to accept change give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
  42. Jul 22, 2014
    0
    This is the **** game I have ever seen ever in 15 years of gaming. Whoever gives money to the **** at Ninja Theory studio, know that I will find you and **** on your face.

    I wanted to vomit after seeing the trailer and kill myself after seeing some gameplay.

    This is the truth, I am not exxagerating. Peace out!
  43. Dec 21, 2014
    8
    A really solid HnS game. Nice visuals, and an intriguing storyline.

    If you're looking for a game you can spend some time just blowing off stress with, here you go
  44. Dec 23, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where to start about this game? Well first off I want to say that DMC fans don't dislike this game because ''they don't like change''. If that were true, DMC would've died years ago, since each DMC has been pretty different from the last. Each Dante was different too. I'll explain just why this game fails objectively and subjectively.

    The plot isn't all that logical. Mundus (the demon king) wants to control the world through debt, but... why, exactly? Because he hates humans? He wants them to be enslaved? And why would he want that? Why not kill them altogether in his demon form, or let other demons do it for him? Where did this Mundus even come from, and why would he send demons after Dante if Dante never posed a threat? Mundus didn't even know about Vergil, so it's possible Dante would just leave Mundus alone.
    The plot, in my opinion, is kinda childish. Like somebody else said, it's a typical 'corporations are evil, government is bad' story.
    The characters are pretty unremarkable, not likable. Kat goes from shy to annoying and passive-aggressive in the blink of an eye. Vergil comes across as whiny and generally insane. If we're supposed to feel bad about his fight with Dante and his fall from grace and transformation into a wannabe dictator... well... I don't. It doesn't work because Vergil was unlikable in the first place. He stabs people in the back, shoots them in the stomach and lets it sink in... he's honorless.
    Dante is an uncaring and obnoxious guy. His character would've worked better if it allowed for drama; if Dante's demeanor were contrasted with bouts of emotionality. As it is, Dante never inspires you to love him or to laugh at any jokes he makes. He's unethical and disturbed just like Vergil, and that never really changes.
    And the plot ending makes little sense. Dante decides, based on his interactions with Kat (who was useless, ran away, got caught, etc) that humans can rule themselves and aren't useless in any way. Why is Kat a character when Dante could just interact with local humans? Maybe some humans could be part of the Order, so that Dante can get to know humans better? Naah, of course not, that would make too much sense. Vergil's revelation that he wanted to rule the humans (with Dante) wasn't a revelation... we already knew he had plans, it was telegraphed multiple times in overly obvious ways.

    The gameplay's poor. You've got no styles, which means fewer moves than in DMC3 and 4. You've got no lock-on mechanism, making you randomly target enemies (usually the one closest to you, though). The angel weapons are underpowered, while the demon weapons are overpowered. Some enemies force you to use angel/demon weapons only, which limits your combos. Those weapons just don't have large enough movesets.
    Almost every combo finisher sends enemies flying, meaning you're forced to use the Demon Pull or Angel Lift if you want to keep attacking.
    The bosses are so easy it's insulting, and it comes down to being forced to exploit their weaknesses with platforming. Devil Trigger only makes it even easier because it's a slow time function.
    Platforming, by the way, isn't platforming at all. It requires no skill, and little timing. All you do is press the same button over and over.
    Overall, the game's too easy. You get SSS rankings like candy.

    The soundtrack and the acting are okay, not much else. The guy voicing Vergil sounds believable, if a bit annoying. Tim Phillips (Dante) sounds thoroughly bored, even when the writing tells him to be shocked or angry. When he yells, he sounds like he doesn't mean it... just bad acting. The best voice actor would be the one who voiced Kat, whom I can find very few faults with.
    The music is okay, though like the game, overly edgy. It comes across as trying too hard, and it would've been nice if it were more like songs rather than anthems.

    Graphics are nice, it looks surreal and menacing. That said, all the color and contrastlessness (yeah a new word) really got to me. Got a nice headache souvenir from Limbo. The characters sometimes look weird too - Kat's face shape seems to change with each cutscene, and V&D occasionally look like mannequins or something.

    I don't see why this game gets high grades from some people. It's not even as good as DMC3, a game from 2005. Bayonetta 2 is far superior to DmC in almost every way, and in the end, it's more similar to DMC too. DmC threw everything (except gameplay) that defined Devil May Cry in the trash. And yeah, I am a DMC fan, but that also makes me a good critic of new products in the franchise. I advise you not to support this game. Get the HD Collection and DMC4 if you want a 'fix'. This game's only decent.
    Expand
  45. Feb 8, 2015
    5
    I'll start with the conclusion: this game's pretty bad. And I'm not even a DMC fanboy... I only got into DMC with DMC3 back in 2005, and I decently enjoyed DMC4.

    - Story is bland, rehashes DMC3's plot along with DMC1's, and the ending is very similar to DMC4, only with a more negative or neutral connotation rather than 100% positive. Weird inconsistencies that cause the entire story to
    I'll start with the conclusion: this game's pretty bad. And I'm not even a DMC fanboy... I only got into DMC with DMC3 back in 2005, and I decently enjoyed DMC4.

    - Story is bland, rehashes DMC3's plot along with DMC1's, and the ending is very similar to DMC4, only with a more negative or neutral connotation rather than 100% positive. Weird inconsistencies that cause the entire story to lose cohesion, such as when Dante's local strip club suddenly has no memory of him, and he's not on the list of approved guests, even though he was there at the start of the game.

    - The writing is hamfisted and you can clearly tell the game tries too hard to be cool. Edginess. Edginess everywhere: 'f*** you', 'me a God VS you a piece of s***', one boss trying to puke on you while saying f*** you, Bill O'Reilly ripoff calling you a ''little S-word''. Mundus's concubine saying ''the world is at last your b-word... as am I'', which not only makes no sense since she was always his b-word, but her saying that was completely irrelevant to the situation and tasteless. It felt like the concubine was explaining her relation to Mundus to you, which was unnecessary and makes for a terrible script.
    Devil Trigger gives you red veins and... white hair? What happened to the white hair joke of ''never in a million years''? Blatant fanservice even though the fans were blasted and insulted multiple times by Ninja Theory.

    - Gameplay has done away with lock-on function, limiting your combo potential since you have no directional input combos anymore. Some enemies can only be killed with certain weapons, which limits your combo potential too, and it's annoying when you're accidentally another enemy with the wrong weapon (no lock-on, remember?)
    You can button-mash your way through all battles, still being able to get high 'S' scores. You just need to damage enemies, you don't need to be stylish while doing it, which was a Devil May Cry staple.
    The game has nowhere near as many combos as DMC3 and DMC4, and the attacks are visually underwhelming. Sound effects are equally weak.
    You're often forced to fight in the air. Guns are underpowered just like Angelic weapons, and demonic weapons destroy the entire freaking world.

    - Enemy design is interesting, but utlimately every enemy looks too much alike, and their attacks are often very similar too. I also felt that enemies could've used a bit more color and more imaginative designs than just 'demonic porcelain puppet with chainsaw attached to shoulder'. Designs like Berial and Credo from DMC4, and DMC3's bosses are just way better. Getting past enemies' defenses often comes down to wailing on them with an overpowered demonic weapon. Angelic weapons are weak as hell.
    All bosses can be beaten in pretty much the same way; get behind/beside them with platforming, wail on them, rinse and repeat.

    - Cutscenes can be overly 'emo', even though that wasn't the angle the game was going for. Things like Dante looking for his 'heart' (emotions and humanity) by cutting himself open and checking if he still had his literal heart... it's just stupid and childish and incredibly cliché.

    - Graphics are okay, characters look pretty realistic, though level design color gets annoying after a while, since everything's just red, red, red. And then blue, blue, blue. Green, blue, orange. ''Alright, level design = finished. Great job, everyone!''

    I almost feel obligated to rate this game lower just because of Ninja Theory's insulting comments that old Dante isn't cool anymore, as though taste is now suddenly objective. As though they get to decide what we should think. Comparing old superhero-ish Dante to the cowboys from Brokeback Mountain lying in a grassy field... no. Just no. That was a blatant attempt to make old Dante look lame, and they took a boring picture to represent that. I even got the feeling that they were insinuating Dante was gay (probably not though), and I guess homosexuality is synonymous with 'uncool' nowadays.

    The game is mediocre. It rips off the movie They Live, it's got a half-baked conspiracy story, boring characters, it mashes DMC3 and DMC1's plots together, and it doesn't really feel like Devil May Cry. Its gameplay is restrictive and sometimes very dull. I can't believe a Devil May Cry game from 2013 is actually worse than DMC3, from 2005. Yeah, it's better than DMC1, because DMC1 wasn't very good yet, it was just scraps of RE4. Besides, it was a 2001 game. Any reviewer worth their paycheck can't compare this to DMC1. If they *must* compare it to anything (I honestly hate comparing new games to old games), compare it to the best in the series, DMC3.

    And no, the fans can't be the cause of DmC's financial failure. The fanbase is far too small and fluid to make much of a difference. DmC was made for a huge, western audience, and it was supposed to sell great regardless of the fanbase. It only sold 1.1 million. Even general gamers didn't like it. Glad to hear DMC5 is a possibility now.
    Expand
  46. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    Simply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you'reSimply one of the best Hack-n-Slash games ever made. If you don't like this game, you either A, don't enjoy the genre, or B, you're an old DmC fanboy that has a problem with the series getting a much needed overhaul. Everything about this game is awesome. The art is insanely cool. The music matches the style and pace perfectly. The combat is smart, fun, and challenging (as long as you're playing on the harder settings) and the new Dante is way cooler. The only part I didn't like was the "F*** You" line. But other than that I loved the new characters. If you like Bayonetta and old DmC games but aren't a stupid fanboy, you must play this game. I literally have play almost every game in the genre and I can honestly say that this game is near perfect. Ninja Theory hit this one out of the park. I only hope the dumb old DmC fanboys don't ruin the chances of a sequel for us real gamers. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    85
    A worthy rebirth of the franchise as it possesses fast-paced chaotic action, which is diversified by the several weapons that make up Dante’s arsenal, an engaging soundtrack, and a story worthy of the DmC franchise.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Beyond the near-perfect controls and satisfying combat, Ninja Theory has clearly sweated the game's atmosphere and visuals.
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory have against all odds created something fresh; a creatively superb and in places fantastic action adventure game. It will not be for everyone and is certainly more mainstream than previous efforts but DMC is a rip roaring start to 2013.