Dragon Age II: Legacy Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon Age II: Legacy is the first major story-based DLC for the PS3, 360, and PC.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dragon Age II: Sir Isaac of Clarke Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    85
    Legacy seems to have taken quite a few cues from Dragon Age: Origins when it comes to interesting settings, characters, and plot details and thrown them in with the fast paced action of Dragon Age 2.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    80
    Simply put, Legacy is a taste of what Dragon Age II's story could have been, and anything that is truly wrong with it is a result of spillage from the main game's faults. Legacy is a fine first DLC offering from Bioware, and hopefully a sign of things to come in Dragon Age III.
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    70
    For the price, it's not a bad addition, but as a fan of the game's narrative and someone who followed the 'press A until you're done' method of combat, there wasn't much for me. Fans of dungeons and battles will, of course, vary, so whether Legacy is worth your dollar depends very much on what parts of the game you enjoyed.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    65
    Playtime vs. price is the major deterrent here, but if you miss your Dragon Age II and want something new, you'll likely enjoy your time exploring the Grey Wardens' prison, even if it's only for a brief moment.
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    59
    Legacy is full of good intentions, but the final presentation feels bland and rushed.
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    58
    Unless you're a completionist, I see little need to spend your precious sovereign on this one.
  7. Aug 2, 2011
    50
    A passable addition to the game, but one that doesn't do anything to make itself essential. Better than a lot of BioWare DLC packs, but nowhere near as satisfying as their best work.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Wow, it looks like the haters and trolls are still bitter that Bioware didn't make an Origins clone. Anyway, I am giving the DLC a 10, toWow, it looks like the haters and trolls are still bitter that Bioware didn't make an Origins clone. Anyway, I am giving the DLC a 10, to counter the unfair reviews by people who didn't actually buy/play the DLC and are just leaving low scores to be jerks. In reality this DLC is more of an 8. If you loved DA2, like I did, and you have been wishing for more, you will enjoy diving back in to play this DLC. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    Greetings all!
    My first review! I am a massive RPG and Bioware fan from the Baldur's Gate era and have always felt confident that I will get
    Greetings all!
    My first review! I am a massive RPG and Bioware fan from the Baldur's Gate era and have always felt confident that I will get my money's worth when purchasing one of their titles. Purely from an entertainment perspective, I always compare video game investments to movie theater pricing. Where I live, a movie ticket will run you $12 or more for 2-hours of entertainment (assuming you don't spend the additional obligatory $20 on soda, popcorn et al). So spending $60 on a Bioware game that provides 80+ hours of solid entertainment and story-telling that is often better written and voice-acted than most movies today...it is kind of a no-brainer. I personally feel that DA:O was the best RPG ever made (yes...Nostalgic Ones...better than BG2!). Was DA2 perfect? No. It did feel rushed and the repetitive environments did drive me crazy but...the characterization, story-telling and continued world-building was fantastic. I played it twice and (based on my movie theater comparison) felt I definitely got my money's worth. The amount of time, effort and finesse that goes into making these things is astounding to me. The almost rabid vitriol surrounding DA2 makes me concerned that Bioware will throw up their hands and abandon this great story. Removing myself from the maelstrom of herd-mentality negativity surrounding DA2 and comparing Legacy in an objective manner to other similarly-priced DLC, I thought it was great! I paid $10 for 3-hours of enjoyable entertainment. I recently spent $13 (before snacks) to see Captain America. By comparison Legacy was was a far better entertainment value.
    Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    A great addition to Dragon Age 2. If you like me play on nightmare, don't use cheats to make your game easier and you use a save that's notA great addition to Dragon Age 2. If you like me play on nightmare, don't use cheats to make your game easier and you use a save that's not with a top-geared character it will take you 6+ hours. The story is nice and most of the fights seem refreshing, not to mention the bosses. The ending boss is a little too techical so in other words easy, but there is also another HIDDEN boss who is quite fun. All the companions talk which is a first for a Bioware DLC allthough the items you get are a little sub-par ( something i don't care about) Best Bioware DLC to date, better even then Shadow Broker and i like ME2 more then DA2 Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    Well disappointed. Especially since the folks on Bioware Social Network raved about it. I must of forgot I was listening to biased fans inWell disappointed. Especially since the folks on Bioware Social Network raved about it. I must of forgot I was listening to biased fans in denial about a mediocre game and now a DLC to go with it! Anyway 800 points for little over two hours play. I just bought Old World Blues for New Vegas for the same price tag and got almost 8 hours. Ok maybe its a bit unfair to compare two different games like that. However for gimmick weapons and enemies that should have been included in the main game makes me feel disappointed. Bioware did take note from some feedback from DA2 very negative opening. No longer are we seeing rehashed environments and some thought looks like its been put into it. Its everything DA2 should have been on release. So why such a low scored review. Well the DLC doesnt redeem the game. As said its what DA2 should have been on release and the flaws of that should have been made into this DLC to make it good. You can tell a lot of it is cut content, or should I say unfinished content that never made the launch. Massive flaws are still apparent and other then for lore and a couple of new swords the DLC isn't that great. It was nice to see they put in effort of bringing back each voice actor. But all they get is a couple of extra unique lines. An Improvement no doubt. But still a mediocre DLC for a very mediocre game!! Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    3
    The bad models and gameplay still infect what could have been a good DLC. Unless Bioware makes a real expansion that fixes some of theThe bad models and gameplay still infect what could have been a good DLC. Unless Bioware makes a real expansion that fixes some of the underlying problems of the sequel, this game will never be appreciated... rightfully so. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2011
    2
    Bioware missed a major opportunity to win back some fans that were disappointed with DAII. Not that this wasn't a good attempt at DLC, but theBioware missed a major opportunity to win back some fans that were disappointed with DAII. Not that this wasn't a good attempt at DLC, but the fact that Bioware expects us to pay $10 for the DLC after the majority of us felt cheated. If it were a free release, as sort of an apology for the redundancy of the main story, no question that I would give this a 10. But as a $10 download, it's linear and unimaginative an give little incentive to play as it doesn't really involve your characters (except Varric) or give reference to the original game whose character we all felt a more personal connection with than the Hawke character because of limited choice. I'm you're wondering whether or not this is worth it, pass it up and wait for the Witcher 2 on 360. All Witcher 2 dlc has been promised as free. Hint, hint Bioware. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    0
    Bioware has not learned it's lesson. Drop DA2, its a pathetic game. The storyline, again is garbage. It is obvious that Bioware will beBioware has not learned it's lesson. Drop DA2, its a pathetic game. The storyline, again is garbage. It is obvious that Bioware will be putting out an inferior product from now on. Dragon Age 3 will not be an improvement if they do not start from scratch and drop all aspects of DA2. Is Bioware serious, the blood of Hawke. Who cares about Hawke. Talk about the worst main character in the bioware universe. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews